Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th September '22. Available on breaks arriving 1st January - 30th April '23.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 10 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 31 View Larger Image
  • Wansfell View - Lake District - 1081866 - photo 1

Wansfell View

Limefitt Park near Troutbeck, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1081866)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

9 Customer Reviews

  • "On first arrival we were pleased with lodge, spacious, well facilitated, good layout but though it seemed clean we did soon notice that the cleaning was not up to standard."

    Windows badly smeared with hand prints, duvets not on properly, towels were not fresh and actually stank! And food left in cupboards. The most disappointing factor was it’s the first lodge we’ve stayed in where we didn’t get a welcome hamper. This would’ve been very helpful as we arrived late due to heavy traffic jam with a two year old and had no milk or bread or coffee and the shop on site shuts at 6. Apart from that we had a super time. The lodge is located in a good area and even had a booster seat which came in handy for our toddler to sit at the table. The Haybarn Restaurant and pub is amazing, we loved the hot tub and the park was fab for our granddaughter. The park dean was friendly and helpful. There were a lot of dogs and sometimes it was noisy with all the barking but the runaway sheep kept us entertained. We will definitely be back.

    Thank you for staying at our lodge. As mentioned in our other responses we endeavour to provide the best experience possible and appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with some aspects of the lodge and would have tried to address any issues or concerns had you contacted Sykes’s during your stay. We are glad you had an enjoyable holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IreneJul 2022

  • "We really enjoyed our stay top notch lodge everything was perfect the only ..."

    We really enjoyed our stay top notch lodge everything was perfect the only downside the pub was on top of a hill no carparking and my wifes scooter would not make it up the hill

    Thank you so much for choosing our lodge and taking the time to send us your feedback because we care about your opinions. We also strive to ensure you enjoy the same standards that we would expect from a holiday and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in our lodge. Take Care and keep well. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidApr 2022

  • "The log cabin was absolutely perfect, only downside was the cooker was dirty but we just ate out so wasn't a big issue for us."

    Apart from that everything was great.

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our lodge. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and letting us know about the cooker. As previously mentioned we appreciate all feedback in order to ensure our guests have a lovely holiday at our lodge. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ZoeMar 2022

  • "Excellent lodge - great check in at reception and key in key safe."

    Lodge has great facilities including WiFi- very clean and well heated throughout. Hot tub is a great feature. The site is well located and has a fully enclosed dog walking field. We will definitely book this lodge again could not find fault - One of the best lodges we have ever stayed in.

    Christmas is a special time of the year, especially the past two years (due to the pandemic) so we are delighted you enjoyed your Christmas at ‘Wansfell View’ and thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Have a wonderful New Year, stay safe and we are thrilled that you would consider returning to the lodge in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DianneDec 2021

  • "Fantastic property with a fantastic hot tub only thing we found missing was an ..."

    Fantastic property with a fantastic hot tub only thing we found missing was an outside light near hot tub, although there was one at front door this was on a sensor so kept going out we loved all the little Christmas touches

    Thank you for your feedback and we are always thrilled when people have enjoyed their stay. There are two external bulkhead lights under the canopy (at the front of the lodge), the light switch is inside next to the patio door/tv, these provide light to the front and part of the side of the lodge. We have LED lights to install along the roof line, this is part of the upgrade planned for the future. We have debated the best type of lighting. Too much causes light pollution and spoils the view of the sky/stars. When we are able to stay at the lodge we like to use the lights in the hot tub and leave the curtains open in the lounge to ensure we have a nice balance of ambient lighting and enough to see where you are going without affecting the view of the night sky. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AvaDec 2021

  • "We have stayed at the Lodge whilst it was under previous owners and we were concerned after reading more recent reviews."

    However we couldn't disagree more with what has been mentioned about this property. It has been done up beautifully, immaculate inside with all ammenties needed. A man came round to check on the temp and cleanliness of the hot tub twice daily which was a wonderful addition to our weekend. The owner had decorated the lodge for Christmas and it felt like the perfect pre family Christmas weekend.

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at the lodge! We are lucky to have a good team of people to help. Gary, Debbie and Nicola do a brilliant job of keeping the lodge lovely and clean. Jamie visits the lodge twice a day during your stay to check the chemicals and top up the water in the hot tub. He then drains, cleans and refills it between guests. I am sure he spends more time at our lodge than his own home! The upgrades are due to continue in the annual close down in January. We aim to provide the same standard for our guests that we would expect for ourselves. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SamanthaDec 2021

  • "Due to recent feedback I was very concerned before starting the holiday but I can honestly say everything was clean and comfortable."

    The lodge is a bit dated and 3 star it should be graded rather than 4 star accommodation. We had an issue with the hot tub being too cold whilst on our stay and it was fixed promptly. The beds are very comfy too and there’s loads of games for children which was a plus. In future it would be good to provide a rubber Mat in the bath for children and bath mats to step on getting out the bath or shower as there were non and the floor was slippy. Anyway we had a great family holiday and loved the site particularly the pub.

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback, especially your suggestions which we will be implementing for the next guests. As previously mentioned we took over the ownership of the lodge on 13th August 2021 and have spent a lot of time, effort and money replacing the majority of furniture/ furnishings and working our way through every room and cupboard. The beds and bedding are new so we are pleased you found them comfortable! The decking and kitchen are being replaced on 1st-12th November 2021 and other renovations are also booked for the near future. Thankyou again for taking the time to give us your honest feedback as it is important to us and will allow us to offer our guests the best experience possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlisonOct 2021

  • "No aftercare or follow up , accommodation filthy and no key left to secure property , left on first night and came home ."

    . no refund very upset with the whole experience !!!

    I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the responses following your complaint. I was disappointed that you did not raise any issues that you had with the property to me when you arrived nearly an hour early. I showed around the entire property and you chatted to me as I finished tidying having replaced furniture, curtains and blinds. I certainly would have worked to resolve these immediately. Our inspection upon your departure showed no cleanliness issues or problems with the lock to be present (as per video evidence submitted to Sykes). I understand that the proximity of the property to the bars, takeaways and restaurant’s in the area and both of you being smokers in a non-smoking lodge played a main part in you choosing to leave and I apologise if this is not what you were expecting, but is made clear in the listing so would not warrant a refund. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TomSep 2021

  • "Numerous maintenance issues, below standard cleaning when in the covid climate it should be enhanced cleaning, this had definately not hapoened."

    We were told new owners has recently bought however this is not an acceptable excuse. We paid for 4 star accommodation and found what we felt was 2 star

    We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the lodge. Having purchased the lodge two weeks prior to your arrival we had to honour all bookings as per instructions from the previous owner (in the sales agreement.) Many major improvements were made to the lodge prior to your stay and many more improvements are being made on a weekly basis and the larger jobs have been booked for the coming weeks. Thank you for your feedback as it is important to us, good, bad or indifferent it will help us ensure our guest’ experience is as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. I also think it important to mention that Limefitt Park is a place of beautiful surroundings, peace and tranquillity, away from everything other than nature. It is perfect for people who want to be away from the towns and villages. Ideal for walking, cycling, horse trekking or just sitting back and relaxing in our hot tub. I highly recommend the ‘Hay Barn’ pub/ restaurant on site, Mandy and the staff are wonderful. If you want to to venture further away for something a bit more lively you can visit the other bars and restaurants are situated in Windermere (3 miles) and Ambleside (4 miles). Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarolSep 2021

Show more


  • Single storey
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x king-size double with TV, dressing room and en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher
  • 2 x Smart TV with Netflix and Amazon Prime (own account required), 1 x TV with Freeview, CD, WiFi, selection of book and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available on request
  • Off-road parking for 2 cars
  • Enclosed, front decked area with hot tub, furniture and barbecue
  • Shared use of on-site outdoor games area and children's play area, laundry facilities and pony trekking at additional charge
  • On-site shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: Property accessed via four external steps
  • Note from the owners: We want our guests to enjoy their well earned holidays at our lodge, unfortunately some previous guests have not treated the lodge with respect, their actions and the damage has affected the enjoyment and safety of our other guests and owners of the surrounding lodges
  • We would therefore politely request that our guests be considerate of the following requests. One well behaved dog; Any damage caused by your dog is to be reported and any mess is to be cleaned up immediately please. Prior to leaving the property on checkout day, please ensure the lodge is left tidy and all kitchen rubbish disposed of. Due to previous complaints, damage and disruption no rowdy behavior and parties to be held at the lodge please. No smoking in the lodge or on the decking please. Only disposable BBQs are to be used please, they can be placed on the existing BBQ, fire lighters and lighter fluid are not to be used due to safety issues and the fire risk.

The property

Troutbeck 0.6 miles.

This well-maintained, detached lodge is situated in a private position, at the end of a quiet cul-de-sac, in the heart of the delightful Limefitt Holiday Park, less than a mile from the small village of Troutbeck in the Lake District National Park.

This welcoming Troutbeck lodge is ideal for walkers and cyclists, or as somewhere to simply sit back and relax.

Accessed via four external steps, enter this homely dwelling into the open-plan living area, where you can flick on the electric fire before getting settling down on the sofa, tuning into your favourite shows from the Smart TV.

Allow the chef of the group to get acquainted in the kitchen, fitted with an electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer and even a dishwasher to assist with the washing up!

As you start to yawn, retire to the bedrooms at the other end of the lodge, offering a king-size with en-suite shower and a dressing room, a double and a twin, accommodating perfectly for a family.

There is also a lovely bathroom where you can prepare for the day with a quick shower or enjoy a lazy soak in the evening.

French doors lead to the outside decking where further amenities can be enjoyed, including the patio furniture which is perfect for an alfresco meal, followed by a dip in the sunken hot tub under the stars.

There are walks straight from the doorstep at this lodge near Troutbeck, plus on-site there is a pub, which serves excellent food and real ales, a children’s play area, an outdoor games area, pony trekking facilities, a large dog walking field that leads through woodland and up onto the local fells, and a stream which runs through the bottom of the park.

Take the short drive into Windermere, home to a variety of shops and restaurants, while Lake Windermere itself can be explored on board the iconic Windermere steamer, providing access to the towns of Bowness and Ambleside.

Spectacular Lakeland fells surround this beautiful valley; scattered with historic Lakeland houses and pretty woodlands, along with two great pubs: The Mortal Man and the Queens Head, both known for their tasty menus, Cumbrian produce and cosy fireside ambiance.

Explore the Troutbeck Valley into Ullswater via the towering Kirkstone Pass, providing an unforgettable area with sublime scenes around every corner.

Wansfell View is a delightful Troutbeck base that makes an ideal home at any time of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Windermere 3 miles; Ambleside 4 miles.

The small Lakeland village of Troutbeck can be found between its more famous neighbours Windermere and Ambleside, close by the Kirkstone Pass. A mixture of houses, cottages and farms, the village is scattered along a narrow lane bordered by a drystone wall. Many of these buildings date back to the 17th Century with features such as mullioned windows and heavy cylindrical chimneys and the northern end boasts its own 17th century inn. Close by, the bustling towns of Windermere and Ambleside are popular with visitors, providing a range of amenities to suit all tastes. Lake Windermere offers boat trips, including the lakeside ferry to the Lakeside Aquarium and Grizedale Forest Park. The ‘Windermere Steamboat Museum’ displays a fascinating collection of boats whilst children will enjoy the ‘World of Beatrix Potter’ in Bowness, where technology brings her characters to life. Within easy reach of destinations such as Coniston Water, Kendal, Keswick and the Lakeland Mountains, Troutbeck is ideally situated for exploring all that the region has to offer.

Region Information

Please note that dogs are not to be left untended and no wet dogs on the coaches please.

Limefitt is ideal for holiday makers looking for a quiet location away from busy towns.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas