Secure your holiday for just £99

Offer ends 30th June. Available on breaks arriving 1st September - 31st December.

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Grove House

Witherslack, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 1067503)

4.9

Outstanding

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 12

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 5

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

20 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a fabulous week celebrating an 80th birthday with 4 generations, ranging from 5 months to 83 years old, so we needed somewhere large enough to accommodate everyone, plus dogs."

    The Grove lived up to all of this and more. Great outdoor and indoor space for everyone to enjoy. We also had some great days out on and around Lake Windermere. Would definitely recommend. The hot tub was a bonus and I appreciated the friendly phone call from the owner who was happy to help with any questions.

    Reviewed by RebeccaJun 2022

  • "We loved our stay at Grove House."

    The location and surrounding area is beautiful. The house is lovely inside and each room has its own theme / decor. Everything was lovely and clean inside and out. The outside space is amazing and the gardens and patio areas are stunning! We’ll definitely be returning in the future.

    Reviewed by GaryMay 2022

  • "An amazing couple of nights away as a surprise for my partner!"

    House was stunning and well furnished and equipped for 12 people ages 21-23 - location was perfect - house was easy to find. Owners were well organised and accommodating! We will definitely be booking again and for longer next time! Would recommend!!

    Reviewed by MeganMay 2022

  • "We absolutely loved our stay at Grove House."

    The location was so peaceful and quiet and we loved hearing the lambs on a morning. The beds were really comfortable, although the pillows were a bit too soft - would have been good to have some alternative options as a few of us preferred a firmer pillow - only a small detail when everything else was so good! The house was well equipped with the majority of things we needed and we were delighted to receive a generous welcome basket on arrival. We loved how much space there was and of course, the hot tub was the highlight of the weekend. We would definitely come back and stay again. A fantastic place to stay for a relaxing weekend in the Lakes. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by FrancescaApr 2022

  • "A very nice house, stylish decoration, exactly as the pictures."

    Well kept, lovely quiet location yet easy to get to from the main road with walks both from the house (a nice walk to the pub and village shop) and a short distance by car for more challenging climbs. The house is very comfortable with everything you need. Communication with the owner is great to arrange keys etc. No complaints at all, we had a great stay with 3 generations under one roof.

    Reviewed by BenApr 2022

  • "We had an amazing time at Grove House, the house was beautiful and immaculate and overall exceeded our expectations."

    We felt completely at home in the comfortable and spacious rooms and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. Everything we needed was on hand with an added bonus of the games cupboard which kept everyone entertained. The hot tub is a great feature and the rural location is perfect for star gazing. We visited Grange-over-sands, Windermere and walked up The Old Man of Coniston (quite a challenging walk with plenty of elevation) but we were rewarded with fantastic views and would definitely recommend. We could not fault Grove House in any way. Peter was helpful and easily contactable. We loved every minute and will definitely be back, it is a great place for a family get together.

    Reviewed by RosieMar 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay."

    The house was immaculate when we arrived. Everything that we could need from shampoo/body wash to extra pans for making breakfast for everybody. We had a slight problem with the hot tub due to a power cut (nobody’s fault) and they sent someone out within half an hour to make sure it was working so that we could make use of all the facilities. Beautiful home, would definitely come back.

    Reviewed by IzzieJan 2022

  • "We booked Grove House for a family get together during the Christmas period."

    The house is amazing, very classy and plenty of room for the whole family. In a very beautiful part of the lakes. Positives: Amazing views Separate cottage which provides extra privacy Stylish rooms, well spaced out Christmas decor Fully equipped kitchen Plenty of towels Hot tub was a great hit Games cupboard was great for extra fun Dark sky location The Welcome pack was a lovely touch Negatives: None- however we would at a push mention: Perhaps we missed it - apologies if we did, a tumble dryer would be a great help Ensure you download any directions/Sat Nav before you set off- although the remote location adds to the experience. Thank you so much for a great stay, we had such a great time. It was a great treat for the whole family.

    Thank you for your great feedback following your stay. We are so pleased you enjoyed it. I can confirm since your stay we have now added a tumble dryer in the property. We hope you consider returning to The Grove again in the future. The Grove Holiday Home Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by ColinJan 2022

  • "We have had the most relaxing time at Grove House."

    The accommodation is situated in the most idyllic surroundings, perfect for local walks but also close enough to visit other areas. We had a visit to a climbing centre in Kendall, the Aquarium at Newby Bridge and a potter and lunch in Grange over Sands and Bowness. We spent lots of time relaxing in the house, the log fires, hot tubs, coffee machine and vast selection of board games were enough to keep all of our party happy. Everything was very comfortable and the welcome pack was a thoughtful surprise. The only thing missing was a guide to local walks from the house. We hope to return in the Summer months.

    Thank you for your great feedback following your stay. Thanks also for mentioning the local walks from the house - we have now added a local guide map to the welcome pack. We look forward to you returning to The Grove in the future. The Grove Holiday Home Team Property Owner

    Reviewed by RachelDec 2021

  • "Grove House is simply stunning!"

    As a family of 12 we had the most fantastic holiday. Everything was perfect. Absolutely loved the welcome pack, such lovely goodies. I enjoyed learning to cook on the Arga. We will definitely be returning. Oh and if we win the lottery, we’d love to buy it!!

    Reviewed by MichelleOct 2021

  • "We had a fantastic week at Grove House."

    The property (including the annex) and gardens exceeded expectations. We were lucky with the weather so spent a lot of time outside in the garden, exploring the barn and relaxing in the hot tub. The added touches including the welcome gift and family games were greatly appreciated. We also made the most of the surrounding areas visiting Grange-over-sands, Cartmel and Bowness and even managed a lovely meal at the local pub, kayaking and tree climbing. Loved every minute and will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by SusanOct 2021

  • "Quite an adventure!"

    A week of unprecedented rainfall caused a short section of road to flood near the house (its never happened before, and it disappeared in a couple of days). Peter, the owner, was immediately in touch with us, despite being away on holiday himself, and was incredibly helpful and willing to be flexible with our booking. Communication was excellent throughout the week. A special mention goes to Jim from Orian, the company that looks after the house, who personally went above and beyond, meeting us in his 4x4 to ferry us across the flood, and then waiting hours late at night for the final group to arrive. Sykes were utterly hopeless and never contacted us once, despite promises. I am very disappointed in them. But with Peter, Jim, plus Gemma on Orian's 24 h phone line, there is nothing to be concerned about. As for the house, I cannot speak highly enough of it; it is in a class of its own. Completely relaxing, spacious, peaceful and comfortable. The excellent hot tub was the icing on the cake. We had a wonderful and memorable week for a "special" birthday and family reunion. We would be back in a flash given the chance. Its a great place for visiting the Lake District too. Lovely views, and a lovely area. 5 stars.

    Thank you for your brilliant feedback following your stay and we are so pleased you had a week to remember! We will pass on your thanks to our great team at Orian Property Services. We apologize on behalf of Sykes for the lack of contact from them on the day of your stay (I am assured this has been looked into and is not the norm) however pleased that between us we were able to manage the situation following the extreme rainfall in the area. We hope to see you return to The Grove again in the future. The Grove Holiday Home Team. Property Owner

    Reviewed by WilliamOct 2021

  • "This was a fantastic place from where to explore the Lake District."

    We had an extended family group aged 18 to 80 and the house and gardens in mid September were truly fantastic for us. The entertainment through the grand piano, BBQ's in a very scenic location and evenings in the hot tub for the younger ones made it a memorable family holiday. Minor issues identified were quickly sorted and the 'Welcome Pack' was the best I have ever encountered. I could not recommend this place highly enough and it is a credit to the owners - thankyou.

    Reviewed by GeoffSep 2021

  • "Great holiday, fantastic house in a great condition."

    Only downside was that the hottub did not work when we were there.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are very pleased you all enjoyed the house and had a great holiday. We are sorry there was an issue with the new hot tub during your stay. Please be assured we take we take any maintenance issues very seriously.We were informed there was a problem via our maintenance team, we then had an engineer on-site with you within 24 hours to fix the issue.We hope to see you return in the future.The Grove Holiday Home Property Owner

    Reviewed by RossSep 2021

  • "The property was fantastic and the location unbeatable."

    Perfect for dogs and humans alike! The house had everything you could need and more - and the hot tub was a welcome relief at the end of the day. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants a break in the area - the night skies are amazing, the views incredible and the house first class.

    Reviewed by GeorgeSep 2021

  • "We were so fortunate to have fantastic weather and we particularly enjoyed the peace and tranquility at Grove House and the outside areas."

    The sofas at the back got the sun during the day and the barbecue/dining area in the evening, so perfect for us, with lovely sunsets on many nights! The hot tub was a real bonus. And it was easy to walk or take a run from the house, with or without the dog! We also made use of the yoga/pilates room. We enjoyed the area in general, particularly Grange Over Sands with its fascinating Victorian Promenade, Cartmel and the Priory, Holker Hall and Sizergh Castle. The Derby Arms served us a great pub meal one evening and we also made use of the seasonal pizza outlet in their yard. We hope to be back!

    Reviewed by CathyAug 2021

  • "This is a lovely house."

    We had a fantastic holiday. The property is enormous, and very well equipped, and is ideal for an extended family get together. The grounds are extensive, with good views from the house. It was very clean and Peter from the maintenance team was really responsive. The piano was an added bonus!

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2021

  • "A cosy place in a remote destination amidst the hills."

    We just got back only a few days back from Grove House. The property was clean and perfect for our stay. It catered for all ages. The owners have really given it some good thought to make if comfy for guests in every aspect from having a piano to a walk in shower that was perfect for my elderly Mother. Even as a large group we found that there was more than enough space to enjoy ourselves. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who looks for a self catering place in the Lake district.

    Reviewed by KanagasingamAug 2021

  • "The property is wonderful, set in beautiful surroundings, very well presented with all the facilities to enable a great holiday."

    The WiFi was an issue but I understand that was because of a storm damage and the team were responsive in getting the BT team twice to the property to set it right. We were a group of 9 (3 families) and we truly enjoyed a relaxing vacation. I will definitely recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the city and spend sometime in a country setting.

    Reviewed by JayakumarJul 2021

  • "Absolutely amazing place to stay."

    Cannot fault in anyway. We were a party of 10 (6 adults, 4 kids & 2 dogs), and there was plenty of room for us all to have our own space when needed. Location is perfect, as are the gardens. The kids and dogs had plenty of fun running around the large lawns. We stayed for a week and would highly recommend staying here. Everything you need is catered for in the house, and it has been renovated to a very high standard. Such a lovely relaxing and peaceful place to un-wind, we even managed to catch a glimpse of the barn-owls that are nesting in the barn.

    Reviewed by LauraJul 2021

Show more

Summary

  • Main house - Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size with Jack-and-Jill access to shower room, 1 x king-size, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, basin and WC
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/living room with woodburning stove
  • Dining room with a wood burning stove
  • Sitting room with wood burning fire
  • Snug with wood burning stove
  • Annexe - Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with en-suite bathroom with bath, handheld shower, basin and WC, 1 x double with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility
  • First-floor sitting room
  • Main house: Oil central heating with woodburning stoves
  • Oil fired AGA, electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Smart TV, WiFi
  • Hot Tub
  • Annexe: Oil central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available on request
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Garden with lawn, patio and furniture
  • Pet-friendly
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.2 miles, pub 2.2 miles.

The property

Tucked away in the quiet village of Witherslack, at the end of an unadopted lane, is this charming and imposing holiday home.

Grove House is a tranquil and homely setting for your next group adventure to the Lake District.

A truly special location, offering incredible...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location

WITHERSLACK

Cartmel 6 miles, Grange Over Sands 9 miles, Windermere 16 miles.

The small village of Witherslack lies tucked beneath Whitbarrow Scar, in a lovely area running south east from the shores of Lake Windermere, encompassing fell, woodland, river and valley bottom. The village consists of a huddle of fine, stone built traditional houses, cottages and barn conversions surrounded by unspoilt countryside, with varied flora and fauna and a nature reserve providing beautiful walking country. Nearby Lindale has a true 'Lakeland feel' with its narrow streets, traditional dwellings and quaint old pubs, while Cartmel, with its famous annual horse race meetings, and the pretty coastal resorts of Arnside and Grange-over-Sands are all worth a visit. With Lake Windermere, Bowness-on-Windermere and Hawkshead a short drive away, this attractive village makes an inspiring choice from which to enjoy the whole of a magical area.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas