Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • The School - Lake District - 1042842 - photo 1

The School

(Ref. 1042842)

Keswick, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map


Tourist Board rating Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon Tourist Board ratings icon

  • 10 Guests

  • 5 Bedrooms

  • 5 Bathrooms

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • well (11)
  • no (11)
  • house (10)
  • lovely (8)
  • kitchen (7)
  • property (7)

23 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely conversion in a great location with many walks to take straight from the property but near enough to a nice local pub."

    Keswick only 15 mins away by car. A few minor points, one bedroom on main floor not en-suite and no toliet on that floor and very little by way of garden furniture. However, the place was very well stocked and all in all excellent for a family holiday.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Mar 2024

  • "A stunning property set in idyllic surroundings."

    Exceptionally well equipped and tastefully furnished. Very comprehensive property manual. Warm and comfortable with gorgeous views. I cannot recommend this property highly enough.

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Mar 2024

  • "A wonderful house, very suitable for a group of friends of a certain age."

    Plenty of space to avoid each other, if needed but also large enough social spaces for everyone to be together when required. Kitchen very well equipped beds lovely and comfortable, log burner beautiful on a cold evening. Local pub, the Mill Inn, very accommodating and very satisfying food. One minor improvement would be to have 2 toasters!!

    Reviewed by Pam5.0Mar 2024

  • "Booked The School for my 70th birthday along with our three 'little ones' and their partners and was not disappointed."

    It is the best holiday rental we've ever had fantastic layout, really well equipped and space for everyone to socialise yet also have some private space. In my opinion well worth the money and the bonus of walks from the back door. We didn't want to leave and have already discussed having another family get together there. Had the bonus of being able to accommodate four cars on the drive.

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Jan 2024

  • "It would have been good to have more basic condiments."

    There was a cruet set but the salt cellar was empty. A bigger log stack by the fire and information that there were additional logs in the garage. Slightly more generous in and out times would have been nice considering it was out of season and at a high price level.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7Nov 2023

  • "Fantastic house, in a fantastic, quiet location."

    The house was lovely and warm from the second we walked into the property. Multi level bedrooms which worked really well for our aging limbed party of 9. No shortcomings in the kitchen, there was everything you needed, plenty of utensils etc, fully working electrical items. The house flowed really well for social gatherings after a good walk in the surrounding area....from the kitchen to dining area and continued into the main fire/seating the TV area at the end. Good WiFi signal so no issues there at all considering the location. Bedrooms and bathrooms spotlessly clean and excellent utility facilities for those muddy clothes after your walk. There was room for 5 cars as we put one in the garage. Having stayed in several properties like this in the Lake District, this has to be the best so far and would 100% rebook this property. Only negative and it is tiny, but definitely needs sorting, is the gate to the rear that takes you on to the fell. The wooden post that holds the gate has completely rotted and needs when you open the gate, the whole thing falls away from the stone post.

    Thank you for your comments and we are encouraged to read that this is the best so far you have stayed in in the Lakes. We are aware that the wooden post on the fellside gate is rotten and are in the process of getting this replaced. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Nov 2023

  • "We had a fantastic stay at this property, it was the perfect setting in a quite village with a quaint little pub."

    With walks starting straight from the back garden you won't find anywhere better. The house was very cosey all rooms were clean and the fire was a lovely place to sit around with the family.

    Reviewed by Benjamin5.0May 2023

  • "Excellent facilities however outside seating to enjoy the garden and scenery would make it even better."

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Apr 2023

  • "Our 4 th visit to the School."

    We love the location and find that it works so well with our family ranging from 4 to 79! Weather was a bit mixed this time but we were able to do plenty of hiking.

    Reviewed by Garth5.0Apr 2023

  • "A fantastic house."

    Every comfort and everything provided. We couldn't wish for more.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jan 2023

  • "We love this place."

    Every room is immaculate and well presented. The kitchen has every piece of equipment you need and plenty of crockery. The house is always warm. Can’t wait to come back.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Dec 2022

  • "We booked The School in November 2021 and again this November."

    We love it there and admire the thought and planning to convert the house from its previous structure and to provide so much room and levels of comfort. We found the games room this year and that proved to be very useful on one particularly bad weather day. We may be back again.

    Reviewed by Godfrey5.0Nov 2022

  • "The only problem was the TV in the main lounge which we were not able to use."

    We did contact the owner who referred it to you and you told us that the people in the previous week had been fine with it. This is just not true according to the housekeeper who told us they had not been able to work it.What ashamed for otherwise it is a lovely property which lives up to its billing

    I am very sorry to hear you and Mrs Hall (who stayed the week before) were unable to use the TV in the main lounge. This seems strange as this TV is new and clear instructions are provided. I am visiting the property myself in a weeks' time, so will check it then. - John, June 2022 Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.7Jun 2022

  • "Great house."

    Lovely location. Perfect for two families. Only comment - there’s a really annoying alarm on the freezer which comes on intermittently. As it’s in the kitchen, you really notice it when relaxing after a days walk. Would recommend getting this sorted as it was the only annoying thing about this lovely house. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Yasmine5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful home in a stunning location."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2022

  • "Our mixed group were delighted with The School at Mungrisdale."

    Most definitely the best place we have ever stayed at. The fact that it appeared to come with its own red squirrel was a bonus. We loved the way the building has been converted and the details like the long curtains. There was so much room there that our group of seven could easily disappear into their own parts of the house. Generally it was equipped for most things (maybe add a couple of large cooking dishes), very well heated and comfortable and supportive furniture and beds. The rooms were all of a good size and the bathrooms too. Perhaps the only consideration would be for people who are limited in their movement as the house is on three floors. However the ground floor is self contained with its own kitchen and lounge area The area is good for walking with Blencathra and The Cumbria Way nearby - in fact there is a lovely lower level walk into Keswick via Mosedale and the Cumbria Way.

    Reviewed by Godfrey5.0Nov 2021

  • "Very well done for such a large complex property."

    Reviewed by Stewart5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lock on garage side door defective."

    No security for bikes.

    We would like to thank you for your feedback. The owner has let us know that there is a key for the garage which is located in the key safe. We are sorry you were unable to find this during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David4.4Oct 2021

  • "No champagne glasses Poor outside seating/ eating area both outside kitchen and downstairs bedroom ."

    Weather was beautiful I would have loved to sit out and watch the sunrise etc. Sess pit and flies a pain a bad smell for several days . Not nice for my guests . I was there 2,weeks no sheets left to change beds so I had to do ! No offer of a interim clean which I would have expected as I was paying too rate . Asking guests to take recycling with you is a ridiculous request . I had 27!guest in a fortnight ! Might have considered it if the book suggested where the recycle was ! Need to by a handheld Dustin for kitchen / breakfast table etc . Hoovers there are very heavy . Thank goodness I met the cleaners hard house to navigate on your own ! Table tennis table was filthy as was the garage freezer, totally unusable .

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you were unhappy with certain aspects of The School. You clearly had good weather - which is always a bonus in the Lakes. Our housekeeper would have willingly changed the sheets/cleaned after week 1, had you asked. I have noted your points re cleaning and will rectify for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patsy4.7Sep 2021

  • "Property was not properly cleaned in important areas, Kitchen and bathrooms."

    Kettle not fit for use as rusted inside. No radio, limited TV channels, garden overgrown

    Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that. We have replaced both kettles (although the rust is in fact peat from the fells). We have a gardener who comes on a weekly basis - so I am not sure why you found the garden was overgrown. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick2.5Jul 2021

  • "Had a fantastic time and the School was superb, very clean and exceptionally well equipped"

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2021

  • "A lovely warm house, well equipped with lots of thoughtful extras."

    The size was ideal for 8 in the party with plenty of room to spread out.

    Mrs GardnerDec 2019

  • "All excellent."

    Quality of products and equipment were first class.

    Ms GoldstrawDec 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Lakelovers collection.
We have properties to suit every occasion throughout the southern and central Lake District including; Ambleside Cottages, Bowness Cottages, Coniston Cottages, Grasmere Cottages, Hawkshead Cottages, Lakeside Cottages, Langdale Cottages, Troutbeck Cottages, Ulswater Cottages, Windermere Cottages and smaller hamlets between, which although seldom heard of are none the less equally wonderful. With hundreds of properties available, all of which are inspected and graded by the English Tourism Council, Lakelovers are sure to have a property to meet your needs.


  • Over three floors
  • Five bedrooms: 2 x king-size with en-suite bath, shower over, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor twin with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin.Cloak/Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen with breakfast bar
  • Utility room
  • Living/dining room with woodburner
  • Lower ground floor: Kitchen/diner and sitting room.
  • Oil central heating with underfloor heating and lower ground floor woodburner
  • Electric range cooker with double oven, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Free Sat, Wifi - please note speeds may vary due to the location of the property
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair provided
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Secure bike storage
  • Enclosed garden and terrace with seating
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking.

The property

This luxurious five-bedroom holiday home spread over three floors, has been lovingly and skilfully crafted from an early Victorian, Grade II listed property, built from local stone and slate.

The property is full of character, previously being used as the village school until it was changed to a private dwelling with dual use as the village post office in the 1960s.

Look out for the post box at the end of the drive.

The whole interior has been professionally styled, using designer fabrics and furnishings, oak flooring in the main living areas, carpeting in the bedrooms and tiling to bathrooms.

This really is a hidden gem, set in an idyllic location.

It is ideal for a family or group of couples. The property is in the small village of Mungrisdale, nestled in the northern fells of the Lake District.

It is two miles from the A66 which links the bustling market towns of Penrith and Keswick and is set in walker’s paradise, with stunning trails up to the high fells of Blencathra and Skiddaw from the doorstep.

This really is idyllic walking territory.

The much-loved Mill Inn, famous for its hearty welcome and good food, is in the village. From the garage walk around the side of the house to the fell at the back, step into the entrance hall and store your outdoor gear.

Walk up a couple of steps to the main level, to find a large and elegant double-height sitting and dining room featuring enchanting large fan-shaped windows, sumptuous furniture and an impressive fireplace with multi-fuel stove.

From the dining area you will find a cutting-edge kitchen with cream, shaker style units and granite worktops, a breakfast bar and a large range cooker.

You will also find a twin bedroom with views to the rear on this floor, which has sole use of the shower room down one flight of stairs, which also acts as the main cloakroom.

Walk downstairs to find a second, beautiful open plan lounge area with full height and full width windows, situated in harmony with its own contemporary kitchen with dining table.

A sliding, patio door leads to the garden from here.

Also find two lovely bedrooms at this level: a twin bedroom with en-suite shower room and a double bedroom with king size bed and en-suite bathroom with separate shower cubicle.

This floor can be used as a separate apartment.

Climb to the top floor to find two spacious master bedrooms, both having ingenious glass gallery windows enabling you to look out over the lounge area below.

Both bedrooms have king-size beds, comfortable seating and en-suite bathrooms.

You will love the large south-west facing landscaped garden with flower beds and shrubs, and terrace with garden seating and lovely fell views.


Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Bassenthwaite 7 miles, Ullswater 16.6 miles; Cockermouth 13 miles.

The popular town of Keswick is the holiday centre of the North of the Lake District and has plenty to offer the visitor at any time of year. The town boasts numerous shops and restaurants to suit all tastes, as well as offering miniature golf, excellent parks, the famous Theatre by the Lake, a charming cinema, the Pencil Museum, a climbing wall, fishing and great mountain biking opportunities, whilst the beautiful lake of Derwentwater at the head of the stunning Borrowdale Valley is only a few minutes walk from the town centre. Nearby, between Braithwaite and Buttermere is the beautiful Newlands Valley, while picturesque Bassenthwaite Lake is well worth a visit. From a gentle countryside ramble to a challenging hike up Skiddaw or the famous Catbells, there really is something for everyone. Visit Castlerigg Stone Circle, the Jennings Brewery and Mirehouse, a grand house and gardens on the shores of the Bassenthwaite Lake, or take a fabulous boat trip around Derwentwater. With plenty of attractions for the kids, lovely parks and the nearby Lake District Wildlife Park this is a great Lakeland destination whatever the time of year.

View more holiday cottages in Keswick

Note: Fuel for wood burning stove can be purchased locally.
Note: Guests are welcome to use the Keswick Leisure Pool for the duration of their holiday.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season