Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 35 View Image Gallery
  • Meadowsweet - Lincolnshire - 1109052 - photo 1
close

Meadowsweet

(Ref. 1109052)

Anderby Creek, Lincolnshire Show on map

4.0

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (13)
  • garden (9)
  • location (9)
  • little (8)
  • dog (8)
  • beach (8)

24 Customer Reviews

  • "Just returned from a weeks holiday at Meadowsweet and I have to say that we had a very comfortable and enjoyable week."

    The property was clean, tidy and well laid out. Yes it’s a little dated but that adds to the character. The problem with access to the garden has been addressed with new steps and the garden was lovely and secure for our curious dog. Bonus points was the wildlife. One evening we had rabbits coming up to the front door followed by an asthmatic Badger and then a Muntjac! Like a scene from Disney! Very peaceful place, fantastic dog friendly beach and cafe and pub within 50 yards. If you want rest and relaxation far from the madding crowds, this is it.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. You really captivated the spirit of Meadowsweet, and we're so happy you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2024

  • "What a dirty untidy cottage, everywere we found dirty, smell of damp, and the rear garden is no better, long grass ect ect."

    .no very disappointed. I’m glad we only stayed two nights, any longer and we would of gone home..

    We're so sorry to read your comments. Pity you didn't contact Sykes or us as we could have sent someone over to rectify things. There has been an unusual amount of rain recently, and being below sea level, this could account for the smell of damp, for which we can only apologise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Malcolm1.3May 2024

  • "Lovely little cottage, which was perfect for our toddler and dog."

    Being a bungalow meant we didn't have to worry about stairs for the little one and the fenced garden was great for our bouncy doggy. The house was spacious and had all the comforts we needed for our little weekend break. Proximity to the beach and cafe was second to none, and being close to nearby towns meant we could duck out for a meal and to see other parts of Lincolnshire. When we can, we would definitely love to return.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We're pleased you got to explore Lincolnshire too, as it really has some wonderful places to visit. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Roz4.1May 2024

  • "Had a great week there,was lovely and warm on what was a cold arrival day,and was nice and clean."

    Only have two gripes,the parking is,let’s say tight,and the step down to the garden is decidedly dodgy!,top step is far too narrow,which is such a shame,as it’s a very easy fix. That said,we enjoyed our stay. Paul & Denise(Nise)

    Thank you for your feedback, and we're very pleased you enjoyed your stay. The bungalow was built in the 1930s when people had smaller cars! We have now removed one of the posts so the driveway entrance is wider. We are also going to make improvements to the rear steps. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul4.1Apr 2024

  • "Very dated, wood chip on the wall, a lot of cobwebs and dust everywhere."

    Had to wash all the crockery & cutlery before we could use them. Really difficult parking as the space is so small and the metal posts do not help. Close to the beach but the place needs a complete renovate

    Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, and we're so sorry our place did not meet your expectations. We always endeavour to make everything clean and comfortable. The place had been empty for almost a week, and there's been some work in the area recently, which might account for the additional dust. We can only apologise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael1.6Apr 2024

  • "We found it was fine except for the steps at the front door and the back door was even more of a trial."

    I missed the item saying not recommended for elderly people but it could be improved by the use of slabs on the concret steps. this would help the health and safety situation.

    Thank you for your feedback. We do indeed point out that access to the property may be difficult for people with limited mobility, but it's not always easy to see everything when booking. The access is something we hope to improve in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey4.4Mar 2024

  • "It was nice and clean."

    The beds and pillows were comfortable. The sofas were clean and comfortable and not covered with throws. It was warm. All good things. Parts were a little dated but overall a good place to stay. Parking was a little difficult with a larger car, it would be better if the two posts at the front were removed

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. We're pleased you found our place warm and comfortable, very important for an early spring break on the East coast! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Feb 2024

  • "Not at all disabled friendly, I have a disability."

    The listing did not state that this listing is not suitable for people loving with a bissnikity or people with mobility issues. I could not step out into the garden due to a very high step! The beds /mattresses were extremely uncomfortable/ hard as well as the sofas The furniture was very old and dated, I did not see this as charm or vintage! It was more like thrown together and bought from a charity shop and old! There were no drinking glasses in the cupboards No hot water coming through from the kitchen tap However the location was fabulous My parents stayed here back in April and agrees with all the above

    Thank you very much for your feedback on Meadowsweet. I was very sorry to hear that Meadowsweet did not match up to you or your parents' expectations.  The property is not advertised as being suitable for those with limited mobility, but following your comments we will amend the description to show this.  I do apologize  about the  issue with the hot water tap. If you had contacted us at the time, we would have been more than happy to send someone round to rectify this immediately for you.  I have contacted my cleaners and they have confirmed that there is a full set of drinking glasses available to use at Meadowsweet. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah1.9Sep 2023

  • "On arrival and opening the front doors we were immediately hit with a fusty smell like the property hadn’t been aired out for weeks."

    Once inside the property it was hard to believe a cleaner had been inside other than changing the bedding. The kitchen was filthy with worktops clearly not cleaned (best case the cleaner wiped ‘around’ things), the plastic table cloth on the dining table was covered in crumbs, there was weeks worth of dust settled on bed frames and lounge furniture, the outside furniture hadn’t been wiped. However, the absolute worst was the bathroom which had a rubber non-slip mat in the bath, when this was moved the bath had a lot of sand and hairs, presumably from the previous occupants. The property itself is in desperate need of modernisation as it is dated and tired, with broken fittings, the location is the only good thing about it.

    Thank you for your feedback. We're very sorry Meadowsweet didn't meet your expectations. Had we been made aware at the time we would have asked the cleaner to come over immediately to address the issues. You don't specify which fittings were broken, but again we could have arranged for our maintenance chap to pop in. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola2.2Sep 2023

  • "The bungalow was immaculately clean, comfortable, cosy and perfect for me and my two little ones."

    I’d love to return, though I was disappointed to find that the tv was not a smart tv/had no internet connection as stated in the confirmation email from Sykes Cottages. My two are in bed at 7pm so I’d have liked to be able to access Netflix/Prime in the evenings. The TV provided only had two accessible channels due to poor signal, so I resorted to using my sons fire tablet. Despite this, we had a wonderful stay, and know to bring a fire stick with us next time!

    Thank you for your lovely comments and we're delighted your little ones enjoyed it! The TV is listed as LED (not Smart) and has no internet connection. We may look to change this in future, and would amend the property information accordingly. We're sorry you were disappointed this time, but would like to thank you for raising it as this may be helpful for other guests booking Meadowsweet. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Fern4.7Aug 2023

  • "Fantastic location, the property was spotless the smell of freshly washed bedding on entering the property was lovely, everything we needed was in the property and the garden was perfect for our dog, lots of places to eat close by and the beach."

    The property is a credit to the owners and I would like to thank them for letting us stay there, we will definitely be back.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. It's lovely to hear that you and your dog enjoyed our little place so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely cottage and very clean, however the internet was so slow we ended up using my phone as a hotspot, also the tv is not a smart tv and doesn't tune in many stations as it just has rabbit ears as the main aerial and we were constantly moving them trying to get a picture."

    Thank you very much for your feedback comments. Sorry to hear the internet was slow - we'll check with the broadband supplier. With regard to the TV, we don't currently have smart TV but it's something we could look into in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brent4.7Jul 2023

  • "You have a lovely garden, just a little tlc."

    The location is great the cottage is lovely we would dearly love to go back

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you at Meadowsweet again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.1Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay In Anderby Creek and there was everything we needed for a quiet peaceful dog friendly holiday."

    Meadowsweet was adequate for our needs, could have been a bit cleaner, there was a throw covered in dog hairs on the floor at the back of the setee and we were unable to find a dustbin. All in all though a lovely stay and perfect location.

    Thank you for your feedback, and great to hear you had a peaceful break. The dustbins are located in a fenced off area in the car park opposite the beach café. This info is in the welcome pack, but the area may not be so visible if there are a lot of vehicles. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Bryn4.1Jun 2023

  • "Lovely bungalow, very peaceful location, close to beach for our dog walks."

    Would recommend to anyone, hopefully may book again sometime.

    Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We look forward to welcoming you back. Property Owner

    Reviewed by H5.0Jun 2023

  • "Meadowsweet was a perfectly sweet holiday cottage."

    No complaints - except that the weather could have been better :)

    Thank you for your lovely feedback - we'll arrange better weather for you next time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Jun 2023

  • "A lovely little place to stay, very cosy, perfect enclosed rear garden for dog to play in."

    Stone’s throw from beautiful beach. Very quiet street. Really enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you for your feedback, and we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicholas3.8Jun 2023

  • "Meadow sweet is a lovely place and convenient for walks along the sea front We did find the cottage to be very comfortable."

    It was easily accessible with the key left in the lock box. Although we were not tv watchers when we did put it in one evening there wasn’t a good signal for most of the channels.. also when we first entered the property on the 10/5 there were muddy dog footprints on the tiles near the front door from the previous occupants luckily the rest of the cottage was clean ..There was also not any fairy liquid for washing up, and we hadn’t packed any..however we had a lovely break .. thankyou

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback. There should have been washing-up liquid available for you, so we can only apologise for that, and also the muddy dog footprints. The TV signal can be a bit temperamental in The Dell - maybe there was increased demand with the Coronation. We hope these things didn't spoil your stay too much, and thank you for bringing them to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melody3.4May 2023

  • "Had a lovely few days here, first time to Anderby creek, this little bungalow ..."

    Had a lovely few days here, first time to Anderby creek, this little bungalow is in perfect location, has everything you need for your holiday,definitely recommend and will be booking again,thank you for letting us stay

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback, and we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.7Apr 2023

  • "Great location."

    Thank you! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline3.8Mar 2023

  • "Cosy bungalow, in a very quiet village 5 minutes from the beach"

    Thank for your lovely feedback, and pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at the cottage which is set in a quiet private road."

    The location was excellent with easy access to the beach and a local shop and cafe nearby. The enclosed garden was safe for our dog and well maintained. We would have appreciated a mop and bucket to help clean the floor especially with having our dog, but otherwise an enjoyable break.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We can certainly make a mop and bucket available. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helena3.8Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, fully equipped for a holiday and nicely decorated."

    However, as an 80 year old with arthritis, I found the furniture extremely low, the thresholds at both doors impossible to navigate and the beds were impossible for the two of us to get in and out of easily (ended up in separate beds and bedrooms). Also, the bathroom needed a chair. The cottage would be vastly improved with the addition of a high-seat chair, useable steps back and front and bed change around in bedrooms. An able bodied person would have no difficulty and it really is a lovely little cottage in a fabulous place and a good price.

    Thank you very much for your feedback. Your comments may well be helpful for others viewing our cottage, so we thank you for highlighting these points. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley4.1Mar 2023

  • "I’m a regular customer with Sykes, I wouldn’t go anywhere else, always a great service and price ranges to suit would highly recommend."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Dec 2022

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Single-storey
  • Two double bedrooms
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, separate basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area with open fire
  • Electric storage heaters and plug in radiators
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer
  • LED TV, WiFi
  • Electricity included in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. In rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed garden
  • Strictly only one well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking anywhere on property
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.1 miles
  • Please note: the property only accepts check ins on Friday, Saturday & Monday
  • Please note: there are steps in and out of the property and may be unsuitable for those with limited mobility.

The property

Meadowsweet is a charming little bungalow situated just a stone's throw from the beach, in the holiday village of Anderby Creek.

Easily accessible to a number of sandy beaches and just a scenic drive from the Lincolnshire Wolds AONB, Meadowsweet is an ideal base for families or two couples seeking a great location in Lincolnshire.

Step into the open-plan living space, furnished in a traditional style, here you can spend your down time beside the alluring open fire, switching on the TV or getting lost in a favourite book.

Step into the kitchen and rustle up a tasty feast, equipped with an electric oven and hob, microwave and fridge/freezer, whilst the dining area is perfect for mealtimes.

Move to the bathroom to begin your nightly routine, equipped with a bath and shower over with basin.

And separate WC and bidet.

To the outside of this Anderby Creek cottage is a delightful, enclosed garden, furnished with seating and a garage for bike storage.

When you’re ready to explore, the local area boasts a wealth of attractions to keep you busy; spend some time at Huttoft's beach basking in the sun and building sandcastles, then explore the area's nature reserve for breathtaking vistas.

Discover the nearby Lincolnshire Wolds, with various walking and cycling routes and even a walking festival, its well-worth a visit for unrivalled views and its wonderful nature waiting to be discovered.

For a change of scenery, the city of Lincoln is worth a visit, steeped in history and wonderful architecture.

Meadowsweet is a superb base for the perfect holiday to Lincolnshire.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

ANDERBY CREEK

Chapel St Leonards 3.1 miles; Sandilands 3.7 miles; Ingoldmells 5.8 miles.

Anderby Creek is a lovely beachside hamlet resting between Chapel St Leonards and Sandilands at the heart of Lincolnshire Country Coastal Park. The hamlet is well-known for its seven miles of golden sands which stretch from Sandilands to Chapel Point, providing a haven for those seeking an escape to a wildlife rich coastal destination. The hamlet offers a glorious beach, a well-stocked convenience store, a lovely Beach Café and Poppa’s Bar. Just outside of the town is Chapel St Leoonards, the best places to eat here are the famous Marina fish and chip shop, be sure to try their home-made tartar sauce! And the wonderful La Piazza Italian Restaurant with its lovely ambience and food, there is also a leisure centre, where you can hire motorbikes, quad bikes and try your hand at crazy golf. Further afield you will find Ingoldmells, where you can find further amenities and attractions including Fantasy Island, Ingoldmells Beach, and the welcoming eateries of Woody’s Bar & Restaurant, The Moody Cow and Vincent’s Restaurant. The coastal park with its coastal paths, art installations and brilliant beachside cafes offers couples, families and friends wonderful options to explore, enjoy and relax.

Please note: the property only accepts check ins on Friday, Saturday & Monday

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas