Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Butterfly Lodge - Lincolnshire - 1070385 - photo 1

Butterfly Lodge

(Ref. 1070385)

Thorpe-On-The-Hill, Lincolnshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (22)
  • everything (19)
  • lovely (18)
  • stay (15)
  • no (15)
  • our (14)

44 Customer Reviews

  • "Loved the lodge and the site."

    Liked the kitchen, but wasn't tall enough to reach the cooker hood. Think a new toaster would be a good idea as only one side lifts up. Minor points, but would certainly book again.

    Reviewed by Linda3.8Mar 2024

  • "Had a lovely stay."

    Property was lovely and homely. Husband enjoyed the fishing and the ground keeper, Paul, was friendly and helpful. Very peaceful and relaxing. Only a suggestion but not a real issue was the oven was requesting a cleaning cycle and some sharp knives would be helpful. But it didn't affect our stay and we will definitely go back. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Janet4.4Mar 2024

  • "Had a fabulous long weekend everything was perfect, lovely welcome pack - thank you."

    We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2024

  • "Overall cleaning not great cooker hood dirty and greasy and oven,hob plates very ..."

    Overall cleaning not great cooker hood dirty and greasy and oven,hob plates very greasy also dirty frying pans greasy had to clean before use main bedroom mattress protector not great looked like blood as you could see it through the top sheet locks on all doors hard to lock very stiff

    Reviewed by Jack4.1Feb 2024

  • "This lodge is fantastic and very comfortable."

    Like a home from home.

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0Dec 2023

  • "Absolutely stunning lodge even better then we expected, very clean, comfortable, gorgeous surrounding."

    Had absolutely everything you needed. I would 100% return. What would of been useful was some little pots of shampoo and conditioner as we did forget those so maybe something on the wall in the showers would be helpful. Could not find the wifi password so signal was a pain sometimes (but again it would not stop be coming back) The photos of this property do not do it justice i would definitely put better photos online to draw people in

    Reviewed by Abbie4.4Dec 2023

  • "The lodge was lovely, and we had everything we needed for a stress free break."

    The welcome pack was very much appreciated and enjoyed by us and our dogs. The hot tub was great but didn't quite feel private enough as the lodges are very close to each other, apart from that, it was perfect.

    Reviewed by Michelle5.0Nov 2023

  • "Loved it so much ,."

    . had brought bbq food to cook & wasn’t one ,.. but we had a lovely week here & can’t wait to return,..loved the hot tub & the owners seemed to have thought of everything ,.. amazing place & loved the wildlife

    Reviewed by Pamela4.4Nov 2023

  • "Lovely stay, thoroughly enjoyed it."

    Great for our small dog with the enclosed area. Very clean and we were welcomed with a bottle of Prosecco and some other bits and bobs. Would definitely come back, some lovely views. Kids loved the Wii console :)

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Oct 2023

  • "The property was perfect and amazing in every way."

    The owners have thought of everything. Thank you for the beautiful welcome gift for us and the dogs. Maintenance staff were friendly and professional. Aleady booked for next year

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Oct 2023

  • "Lovely place had everything we needed and would visit again."


    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2023

  • "Absolutely wonderful property and site."

    Loved every minute of our stay. Just a couple of minor niggles. Electric chair doesn’t work, walk in shower control very unreliable (either cold or scorching hot). Smart TV performance very patchy.

    Reviewed by Clive4.7Sep 2023

  • "What a beautiful cottage with high quality appliances and everywhere was clean with a new fitted kitchen."

    My daughter especially liked the new sofas with the extending foot rests. The hot tub was excellent and the dog enjoyed the free run of the place, due the enclosed front porch. The maintenance staff were extremely approachable and friendly and we will definitely be booking again for next year.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Aug 2023

  • "This property is amazing!"

    They owners have thought of everything. We had a great holiday and will be back!

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Aug 2023

  • "Butterfly Lodge is absolutely lovely."

    Very comfortable, has everything you need for your stay, although could have done with some nice plastic wine glasses for the hot tub. Didn't give full marks for cleanliness as there was a dirty glass left down the side of the settee. No other issues though. Plenty of pubs close by to eat out. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the fishing, was in double figures every day. Biggest carp caught was 10lb 9oz.

    Reviewed by Gillian4.7Aug 2023

  • "I can highly recommend this beautiful lodge."

    It is well equipped and spacious. The fishing was most enjoyable. Great dog walking at Wisby nature reserve. Shops, pubs and everything you need is near by. There are a few things which need attention. The double bed leg supports need repairing, the extraction fan in the twin ensuite doesn't work. We had issues with the shower thermostat but I know this is being sorted out. Due to the above I had to give 4 stars but once these are done it would definitely be 5 stars. Overall a wonderful lodge, home from home. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for 2024.

    Thanks for your feedback, we take all feedback seriously. The bed supports have now been repaired and the extractor fan in the second bedroom has been replaced. The shower has also been repaired. Great to hear you have booked again for next year and hopefully you won’t have any issues on your next stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey4.4Jul 2023

  • "The lodge is overpriced, wasn’t clean, broken utensils, dirty hoovers, unuseable barbecue and unsleepable bed."

    Very dissapoonted.

    Thanks for your feedback, we take all feedback seriously. We’re sorry to hear that you feel the lodge was overpriced and you had issues with the bed. If you’d reached out to us during your stay then we could have addressed these issues and improved your stay whilst you were there. We have now visited the lodge and there was an issue with the leg supports on the bed, this issue has now been rectified. The BBQ has now been removed and the hoover has been serviced. Hopefully the changes we have made will help future guests have an enjoyable stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip2.2Jun 2023

  • "The lodge was very comfortable, but we downgraded to 4 stars due to a collection of small issues."

    For instance the cutlery wasn't very clean on arrival. The crockery has a number of chips in plates and rims of beakers. The hot tub is showing its age and the jets either wouldn't work or would start and then couldn't be switched off, despite attention from the on-site chap. The vacuum cleaners hadn't been emptied in ages and are totally clogged. The lounge rug was very dirty and a mass of white dog hairs, so we didn't feel that the lodge had been well prepared.

    Thanks for your feedback, we take all feedback seriously and have now visited the lodge and addressed the above issues. We have replaced all of the chipped crockery and will try to ensure any newly chipped crockery is replaced as soon as possible. The cleaners have been spoken to about the above issues and they will be taking extra care to ensure this doesn't happen in the future. The vacuum cleaner has been serviced and will be checked by the cleaners in the future. We are looking to replace the broken jets on the hot tub and give it a service. We hope the above didn't effect your stay too much and hopefully the changes we have made will improve things for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen3.4Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay very much, was a beautiful lodge and lovely surroundings."

    The only thing we would like to suggest is the nearest pub which was 0.4 miles away as advertised was not really accessible across the carriageway for walking. We did find the local pub in the village "The Railway Inn" 25 mins walk and was very accommodating. Also just a tiny, tiny thing both our toilets were not really working that well, the buttons seem to have disconnected slightly but overall we loved it and so did our dogs - the lodge was very well equipped for dogs and families including all accessories - would recommend highly A*

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Jun 2023

  • "Butterfly lodge is just super, everything you could ever need and more, there really needs some maintenance on the lake but I must say it’s very pretty and caught loads of fish big and small, the reeds need cutting down near the swims."

    There is lots of walks in near by Wispy Park and my dog enjoyed swimming in the lake, also loads of places to visit with Lincoln on your doorstep.

    Reviewed by Jean4.7Jun 2023

  • "We enjoyed our stay at butterfly Lodge."

    Everything we needed was their a real home from home. Lovely comfy sofa and soft furnishings with an added hot tub.( we would recommend a further willow fence for privacy when using it as next door if using thier decking makes it not private for either loges) but we did not have this issue while we stayed. Great place to visit lincoln from and we recommend the castle , cathedral and the cities independent shops. Doddington Hall and farm shop also great place and is 5 minutes away, local produce is top notch. We loved the location and the lodge and would certainly recommend it and return again. Thank you to the owners for sharing their place and allowing dogs into the home which is always a big plus for us.

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0May 2023

  • "Great layout and spacious rooms made for a comfortable stay."

    The lodge had everything we needed and more. We made good use of the Jacuzzi despite the time of year. We especially enjoyed the bird feeders and the feeling of seclusion despite being within arms reach of numerous places to see and eat.

    Reviewed by Marzena4.7Mar 2023

  • "Spot on cabin , I would recommend to everyone."

    I deal location as well.we will be booking again

    Reviewed by Roy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Excellent accommodation, very well equipped had everything you need for an enjoyable stay."

    Location is good alot to do nearby.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Feb 2023

  • "Excellent accomadation, site could have been ideal but too many lodges crammed around lake ."

    Accessibility to Lincoln and area attractions very good.

    Reviewed by John4.7Feb 2023

  • "Would recommend lighting around hot tub Will definitely recommend and be back in the future"

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Feb 2023

  • "Lovely lodge well appointed and comfortable, we had a very pleasant stay with the exception of the weather."

    Lovely position over looking the lake, especially liked the bird feeding station outside the window attracting a plethora of wild birds. Couple of observations that may be of interest to the owners (These are not complaints) 1. Decking where subject to rain is covered with green slime which is like an ice skating rink when wet (which it was for 5 of the days we were there) really really needs a good power wash to avoid possible falls and slips. 2. Flush mechanism in twin bedroom toilet needs attention as does not work well and extractor fan in ceiling has a hard time starting and extracting air probably needs a clean! Will definitely like to return for another stay during summer time.

    Reviewed by Doris4.7Nov 2022

  • "Amazing place, we absolutely loved this property, and we will certainly be returning."

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "We had a great time at butterfly Lodge."

    So much better than listed, lots of extras we did not expect. Very high quality. We will be back.x

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Oct 2022

  • "An amazing place with everything you could need."

    The welcome pack was beautiful and we enjoyed our stay with fishing and everybody was friendly and welcoming. Beautiful surroundings but weary of when the chalet next door is finished. We will be looking to rebook.

    Reviewed by Kay5.0Oct 2022

  • "An excellent property which was immaculate on arrival."

    Extremely well equipped in kitchen and loved the smart tv. Welcome pack was superb thank you. My only complaint was the terrible noise during the night when acorns were blown off the trees and smashed into the roof. Kept me awake.

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful lodge exactly as the description stated."

    The only negative is the new Lodge next door which is overpowering and encroaches on the privacy of Butterfly Lodge when using the Hot Tub or sitting outside. Please pass on to the hosts our thanks for allowing us to share their beautiful lodge we had a fabulous time .

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2022

  • "What a lovely cottage, the finish inside was excellent, one of the best we have stayed at."

    The welcome pack was a nice touch, and we loved the hot tub. The fishing was the best I've ever had, we would love to come back sometime Keith & Tina

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Sep 2022

  • "Hot tub was kept lovely and clean the Person who looks after it is a very polite and Helpful."

    The lodge is Well equipped And comfortabl There was a nice welcoming gift of wine biscuits and even dog treats. The only Small criticism Would be the bedding And the duvet Where a little worn and under the bed was quite Dusty Only noticed this as I put my suitcase under The bed. These are only 2 Small points And should not put You are booking the lodge Me and my family have rebooked for next year already.

    Reviewed by George4.4Sep 2022

  • "Lovely property - just what we wanted for a relaxing weekend with friends and our dogs."

    One comment - hooks for towels by the hot tub would be really useful

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Jul 2022

  • "Firstly, I never leave feedback, but on this occasion I feel it is necessary."

    Everything has been very well thought out, for a truly memorable experience, I can see that a lot of hard work has gone into making sure that the guests stay in a home from home. It is clean, lovely comfy bed. The Prosecco and biscuits hit the spot, with a personal welcoming card, attention to detail was exceptional. Highly recommended and looking forward to returning again soon

    Reviewed by Jules5.0Jun 2022

  • "Excellent holiday property in a great location."

    The downside is the property is advertised with fishing included. But there is nowhere provided to store fishing tackle and bait. Also required is a proper information pack in one folder with all the relevant information required inside. Existing information is one folder containing oven hob and microwave instructions, plus one half of a note pad sheet with address and wi-fi password written very lightly in pencil. We found another folder hidden away in the cleaning cupboard with the hot tub instructions in that.

    Reviewed by Leslie5.0Jun 2022

  • "Couldn’t fault our stay."

    We had a wonderful time and Butterfly Lodge and the surrounding were beautiful and fulfilled all out needs.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jun 2022

  • "A lovely welcome gift of Prosecco and biscuits- thank you."

    Butterfly Lodge is so very comfortable. - a real home from home. Little bit of a nuisance as workmen were working in the large new lodge next door. Shame they’ve squeezed it in - surely it will affect your privacy.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0May 2022

  • "Fantastic lodge in a really nice spot, overlooking the fishing lake."

    Clean and bright, has got everything you need. Only a short drive to Lincoln. A really nice touch by the owner was the welcome pack of biscuits and prosecco, which were delicious. We will certainly be coming back. Thank you for letting us use your fantastic lodge.

    Reviewed by Craig5.0Apr 2022

  • "What a find!"

    Beautiful , spotlessly clean cottage right on the lake. The Cottage is really well equipped with everything you could want. Really lovely gesture from the owners who left a bottle of fizzy, some lovely biscuits and treats for our dog....what a lovely welcome. Highly recommended, we'll definitely be back.

    Reviewed by David5.0Mar 2022

  • "Very clean, comfortable property."

    We all, including our black lab, had a lovely relaxing break in this lodge and surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Jacqueline5.0Feb 2022

  • "From the moment we walked in wow,wow,wow."

    Really loved the lodge,cleanliness,surroundings . The table set up and thougthtfull basket with champagne, biscuits and doggy treats was a lovely thought. Everything and everyone was thought about including toys and bowls for dog. We were absolutely blown away by all of it. Would definitely recommend to friends ,family or anybody who would listen.... If we had to rate this holiday and lodge, then we would gladly give 15 out of 10. Looking forward to our next stay here.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Dec 2021

  • "This is an awesome place to stay, a beautiful hidden little holiday park with 30 well spaced bungalows around a lake."

    Butterfly Lodge is spacious with 2 good sized bedrooms both with en suites. The kitchen is big and the owner has thought of everything including a latte making machine and dog bowls for the dogs. We had such a fantastic week and all the better for this beautiful, well equipped home to come home to each day...would recommend to everyone!!!

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Single storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with Smart TV and en-suite shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC, 1 x twin with en-suite bath, shower over, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, 2 x Smart TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for four cars
  • Wrap around decking with hot tub and furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: Guests are welcome to fish on the lake Note: Property cannot accommodate bookings with a Sunday arrival

The property

This delightful, modern lodge is resting on a holiday park just outside the village of Thorpe-on-the-Hill in Lincolnshire.

Offering contemporary living over one floor, Butterfly Lodge welcomes families or a group of four who wish to spend time in this delightful part of Lincolnshire.

After a day of walking, look forward to unwinding in the open-plan living area, where you can lounge on the sofa infront of the Smart TV, or prepare the dining table for a hearty feast whilst the chef of the group gets acquainted in the kitchen.

Offering a modern range of appliances, including an electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer and even a dishwasher and washing machine, you are sure to be equipped throughout your stay.

As you begin to tire, head off to the bedrooms, comprised of a double and twin, each benefitting from en-suite facilities.

Step under the rainfall shower and enjoy a rinse before drying yourself off with warm towel, while there is also a bath for those who love to soak.

Outside the lodge rests an extensive wrap around decking, complete with furniture for alfresco dining, along with a private hot tub where you can truly relax under the stars.

Enjoying a peaceful setting, this is a lovely spot to sit back with a good book, or for the eager anglers, the onsite lake has fishing rights, which can be used free of charge.

Within the local area there is plenty to do; take a scenic stroll around the beautiful Whisby Nature Park, tee off on the adjacent Lincoln Golf Course and driving range, or visit the Newark Air Musuem and immerse yourself in aviation history.

Venture into Lincoln and explore the rich culture and heritage of the city, wandering around a number of quaint shops, quirky cafés and welcoming pubs, while visiting attractions such as the imposing Lincoln Cathedral and the Georgian prisons, or even take a peek at the famous Magna Carta, positioned in the Castle.

Nature lovers will appreciate the beautiful landscapes of the Lincolnshire Wolds, with a number of walking trails, high peaks and outdoor activities to take advantage of.

A tranquil retreat to be enjoyed any time of year.

View on map

About the location


Lincoln 6 miles.

Thorpe-on-the-Hill is a small quiet village 6 miles from Lincoln, an ideal location from which to explore the many attractions that both Lincolnshire and Nottinghamshire offer. Nearby is the 300-acre Whisby Nature Reserve, including a visitors centre with balcony offering breathtaking views over the Lake. Spend a day visiting Lincoln, home to one of the finest medieval gothic cathedrals in Europe, the beautiful 11th century castle with tower offering a birds eye view of the city, or shop till you drop, enjoying the quaint quirky independent and high street shops, also stopping for a break in one of the cities many restaurants catering for all tastes. Lincoln is also famous for its large Christmas Market held on the first weekend in December. Other local attractions include Doddington Hall with its lovely gardens, Museum of Lincolnshire Life, Transport Museum, Woodside Falconry & Conservation Centre, Dambuster Heritage Centre, Sherwood Forest, or further afield visit the coastal town of Skegness.

Note: Property cannot accommodate bookings with a Sunday arrival