Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 27 View Image Gallery
  • Haka Lodge - Mid Wales - 988160 - photo 1
close

Haka Lodge

(Ref. 988160)

Devil’s Bridge, Mid Wales & Cardigan Bay Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • views (29)
  • lodge (23)
  • amazing (18)
  • lovely (17)
  • stay (16)
  • beautiful (14)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "A beautiful hidden gem."

    Exactly what we needed to reset. Great amenities, amazing views, perfect home from home. Would definitely recommend and would definitely be back!

    Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing to stay with us at Haka Lodge. We look forward to seeing you return some day soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Feb 2024

  • "Another wonderful stay in this beautiful area (and lodge)."

    So clean, warm and cosy. The view was just as awesome in the winter as the spring! Will definitely recommend (and return).

    Thank you for your feedback, happy to hear your return stay was an enjoyable as your stay in the spring. We do appreciate your recommendation to friends and family and look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Dec 2023

  • "Totally out of this world!"

    ! We arrived after dark the day we were due to arrive so could not see the beauty of the view and in fact looked quite eerie as the ground fell away into pitch black darkness. After waking though the views were just out of this world, especially as the day woke up and the view evolved with the passing weather. We were all including my dog were in awe as we pulled back the curtains. This place was a total reset fo us and utter sanctuary as we stayed in the whole few days we were there apart from dog walks. Suggestions for the owners. The house sign was not legible in the dark as we drove past it several times till we found it and an outside security light that can light the way from the parking to the gated entrance as arriving in the dark and unpacking was hair raising in the dark due to the slippery stone and wooden steps. Also a handrail for the steep wooden steps as they are a bit lethal in the rain.

    Thank you for your wonderful feedback. So pleased you and the family enjoyed the views and tranquility. Taking your suggestions into consideration we will definitely look into getting a sign for the end of the driveway for those arriving in the dark, appreciate not everyone can arrive during daylight hours. With regards to the security lighting, because it is a national “Dark skies” location we like to try and keep the light pollution to a minimum, we also have Barn owls in residence and the outside lighting can deter them from the area. Having said this we will take your comments into consideration and see what alternatives there are available to remedy this issue. All the best Debbie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Samuela5.0Nov 2023

  • "Wow, the view from Haka Lodge is just amazing."

    Everything is exactly as the listing and we highly recommend this to anyone wanting a total escape from the outside world or looking to go walking and use this as a base. We will be back in the summer months to make the most of the longer days and outside space

    Thank you ever so much for your kind review. It sure is a special place. We look forward to your return visit in the summer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tammy5.0Nov 2023

  • "Property owners not present to solve any of the issues that we had,although we are dog owners and our dog was with us there seemed to be an awful lot of black dog hairs around the property, also it seemed damp and smelt musty."

    Directions into the property door was not very clear.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, as it helps us improve our services. We apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay. However, we would like to clarify a few points raised during your stay. Firstly, directions and entering the property haven't been an issue for previous guests. We have received positive feedback regarding our clear instructions and efficient check-in process, I do apologise if this was not clear enough for you. Regarding the dishwasher, we had informed you before your arrival that we were awaiting delivery of a replacement dishwasher. We had taken steps to arrange the necessary replacement, but unfortunately it was still out of use during your stay. We apologise for this inconvenience and assure you that the replacement is due to be delivered by the middle of December once the appliance store has the particular item back in stock. Regarding the issue with the TV, though you did not have live TV, the apps were still available for you to access and watch. We have a TV technician coming out this afternoon to rectify the situation as this is the earliest date we were able to get a technician to come out to our remote location. We apologise for this inconvenience and assure you that it will be fully operational for future guests. With regards to the dog hairs around the property, as it is a dog friendly property we do expect a little dog hair about, however we did inspect the outside of the property and cleared any dog hairs away that we came across. Most importantly I'm pleased that there was not an issue with dog hairs inside the property as we do like to keep a very high standard of cleanliness inside the lodge. Lastly, we take guest complaints seriously, and upon receiving your report of no hot water we immediately called out our plumber to assess the situation. The plumber confirmed that the hot water was indeed working fine. As a result, we incurred a charge and call-out fee, which we covered on your behalf. We understand that your stay did not meet your expectations and we apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope that in the future, you find a holiday accommodation that perfectly suits your needs. Thank you again for your feedback, and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Best regards Debbie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan2.2Oct 2023

  • "Beautiful property, stunning views!"

    !!! Hala lodge is AMAZING!, our 2 day stay was fabulous. Remote location giving you a peaceful and relaxing way to unwind and disconnect from the hustle and bustle of daily life. My dog Xena loved running around the grounds and exploring, the weather wasn’t great for our stay but that didn’t stop us exploring the local area and coming back to picture perfect views of the valley was incredible. The lodge itself is gorgeous and cozy, it has everything you might need for your stay. Me and Xena will definitely be returning in the future ☺️ Thankyou for a lovely stay Nicola and Xena x

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. So pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We very much look forward to seeing you return. Debbie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Oct 2023

  • "Lovely remote lodge with outstanding views."

    Plenty of facilities. It was perfect for our four legged friend. We explored all of Wales and loved the views from the mountain roads.

    Thank you for your review. Pleased that you found the lodge facilities adequate. It’s certainly the perfect location if you’re into walking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Sep 2023

  • "Me and my 2 children had a lovely stay here !"

    It’s was peaceful , yet easy to commute to some beautiful beaches ! The view was perfect; to sit with a glass of wine in the evening outside was bliss! Will definitely return . Laura . Nottingham

    Glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura4.1Aug 2023

  • "A bit late writing this review as we visited Haka Lodge in the summer."

    We also stayed last November. It’s a beautiful place, cosy and comfortable. The location is fabulous. Very isolated with incredible views. Although we never met the owner as they weren’t around during our stay, they were incredibly helpful. I left my walking shoes on my last visit and the owner was quick to contact me to ask if I wanted these sending to me, which she did promptly. I have recommended this lovely lodge to family and friends and a friend has already booked a visit. I’m hoping we too will return again. Julie, daughter Rebecca and Pip the dog

    Hi Julie. Thank you for your fantastic feedback and for recommending Haka lodge to friends and family. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you on your return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2023

  • "Haka lodge is peaceful, cosy and perfect place to relax or take trips to either north or south Wales."

    The stunning views are the wow! factor x

    Thank you for your great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Jun 2023

  • "Great property, Lovely views, didn't see owners or anybody which was a shame."

    Thank you for your kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0May 2023

  • "Wow! What a view!"

    Peace and quiet, beautiful location. I couldn't fault it. I would have liked a freezer in the fridge but everything else was perfect. Plenty of dvd's, games, and books. Very comfortable lodge.

    Thank you for your kind review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrian4.4May 2023

  • "Haka lodge was one of the cleanest properties that we’ve stayed in, so cosy, everything worked, and it had a well stocked kitchen."

    The views were amazing and it was a fantastic place for bird watching. We would definitely recommend and hopefully we’ll return in the future.

    Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Apr 2023

  • "Great place to stay, perfect for local walks and as a base to explore the area."

    Lovely views from the decking and cosy inside. Would be somewhere we’d come back to in the future. Totally relaxed week away.

    Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steven5.0Apr 2023

  • "Perfect Stay"

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Mar 2023

  • "Stunning views from the decking great play area for our lively collie ."

    Lodge was comfy and well equipped x plenty of great walks nearby x secluded and a great romantic break for us x loved it back next year we hope x Sue and Keith x

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Pleased to hear that your both and your collie enjoyed the freedom and peace and quiet of the area. We hope to see you return one day soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Feb 2023

  • "An excellent, atmospheric place to stay."

    Fog rolling down from hill sides, beautiful skies and a clean, well-designed and comfortable lodge. Very good value for money, with nice little extras (reclycled toilet roll, environmentally sensible cleaner etc). Just lost one mark - Facilities and Maintenance - because the hob stopped working during our stay. These things happen. I hope that it's sorted. A brilliant place to watch the stars and breathe fresh, clean air.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Haka Lodge. I do apologise about the issue you had with the hob, and thank you for bringing it to our attention, our electrician has since been in and replaced it with a brand new one. We hope to see you return one day soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tom4.7Dec 2022

  • "I had a amazing relaxing time, the property is a hidden gem I will be going back"

    Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Haka Lodge. We hope to welcome you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tom5.0Oct 2022

  • "I have never left a review before on anywhere I have stayed but I feel like I definitely have too with Haka Lodge."

    Me and my family just got home from the most incredible week staying at Haka Lodge. The lodge itself was extremely clean, modern, safe, the beds were very comfortable. It was well equipped and had everything we needed and more, such as games and dvds for the kids. On the nights it was a little cold outside, the lodge was extremely well insulated and we were all very warm and cosy inside. The views were absolutely unbelievable. It is situated in such a beautiful, rural, safe location where you feel your children can play safely. The hosts were also very welcoming and friendly. I could not say one bad thing about our stay, it was perfect. Will definitely recommend and return again. Thankyou

    Thank you for your review, it’s very much appreciated. So pleased you enjoyed your stay, Cwmystwyth is certainly a special place. Your boys were adorable, and thank you for being the perfect guests. We hope to see you return one day. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ellen5.0Aug 2022

  • "Holiday was a last minute booking for us before our baby arrives and it was amazing."

    Out of the way, with lovely views and amazing weather! On a night the peace and quiet is what you need! There is no phone signal which is a bonus as you stay off your phone to actually enjoy your holiday! Host was nice and friendly on our arrival but didn’t bother us during our stay which is what we prefer… we also had an owl land right by us on the last night as we kept all lights off and sat with the night sky.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay, and how lucky to have one of our resident owls pay you a visit, I’m very jealous. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte4.7Aug 2022

  • "We had a wonderful & relaxing stay at this beautiful lodge."

    The cottage is comfortable and has everything you need (although some egg cup holders would have come in handy for us). The views are just amazing as is the wildlife - red kites, hare & cuckoo all seen from the lodge. The owners & caretaker made us feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend this place, it’s a gem!

    Reviewed by Leona4.7May 2022

  • "We just returned from a very relaxing week at Haka Lodge."

    The property was clean and well presented. The bed was really comfortable. The views were truly amazing. The property is well located for visiting lots of nearby attractions. The owner left recommendations for lots of places to visit which were utilised and appreciated. We took our dog along too, nice big garden, although not entirely secure for her to explore alone. Would not hesitate to recommend and would consider returning in the future.

    Reviewed by Marion4.7May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at Haka lodge."

    Reason for lower score on facilities: Lack of draw space. Only two small drawers available for clothing. No rack/space in shower to put body wash or shampoo. Had to use the floor of the shower and bend down. No reading lamp had to use the main spot lights to read. Nowhere to hang coats, would be difficult if weather was wet. Luckily we were only two so used spare bedroom for coats and clothes. No freezer draw in fridge. Given distance to shops this would have been useful. Everything else good and lovely area.

    Reviewed by Alison4.1Mar 2022

  • "Would recommend to others."

    Clean, tidy and covid safe. All the facilities you need and more. The views are absolutely outstanding. Plenty of walks and things to do in the local area.

    I’m really pleased you enjoyed your stay at our Lodge. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Steffan5.0Jan 2022

  • "Lovely Location, nice view threw the windows."

    Accommodations was ok, WiFi works ok. Dish washer wasn’t be working (very sad). Apart that was beautiful stay.

    I’m really sorry that the dishwasher wasn’t working at the time you stayed, we have now replaced it as we were unfortunately unable to repair it. So it’s up and running again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Audrius4.1Dec 2021

  • "It was unfortunate that the dishwasher was out of order, but we appreciated the advance warning on this matter."

    Also the bifold doors not working was a bit of a shame (for the few occasions where the weather relented), but the lodge and it's stunning views were generally excellent. The only downside I would encourage the owners to look at is the bed/mattress which really wasn't very uncomfortable - 'first world problems' I know, but such a lovely holiday rental with such amazing views really does lend itself to a good quality mattress for a good nights sleep. I personally really struggled to get comfortable (and my wife suffered as a result, as with that type of mattress she could feel my every movement) in the end I slept half of our stay on the sofa as it was more supportive and comfortable.

    I’m so sorry that you found the mattress so uncomfortable, I wish I had known sooner so that we could have addressed the issue before your stay. . We just wanted to say that we have now replaced it with a brand new luxurious mattress so hopefully this issue won’t arise again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Oct 2021

  • "Amazing views, great cottage."

    Peaceful, we all loved the stay. Beautifully walks on the doorstep. Very helpful owner. We enjoyed hiking and the beautiful scenery.

    Thank you kindly for your feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our little piece of paradise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Monika5.0Sep 2021

  • "Wonderful, comfortable cottage with the most amazing views."

    Beautiful walks nearby and the beach 45mins away was a beautiful white sand beach and very quiet. Owner so friendly and hospitable. Viewing deck for evening drinks and meals was a treat.

    Reviewed by Janine4.7Jul 2021

  • "We stayed here during the hottest week of the year so it was more like Tuscany than Wales!"

    We couldn’t have chosen a better place to stay, as with the 30 degree temperatures, it was too hot to visit many places, (especially with our elderly dog), so we mostly relaxed on the deck and enjoyed the beautiful view. The parasol was missing from the table when we arrived, but after contacting Debbie, it was quickly delivered to us by her caretaker, Jo, from which point onwards we were able to eat al fresco from breakfast to supper. It was a lovely, peaceful location, with only the sounds of the birds & the sheep softly drifting across the valley. (Except for two days when several fast jets on their way to the Mach loop went over – which was thrilling!) The cabin was very comfortable, though we did have to buy a large fan to keep us cool day & night in the exceptionally hot un-Welsh weather. Everything you need for a short stay is there so don’t let the size of the accommodation put you off. In fact, with the cabin opening out on to the large deck outside, it all felt quite spacious. Debbie told us we could use their hose to cool our dog down, and how to get down to the stream, which was literally a five minute walk up the road. This turned out to be a regular evening walk for our dog, who due to the heat, actually enjoyed paddling in the shallow water, (as usually he’s a bit of an aquaphobe). Notes for other stayers – Tesco & Asda deliver to the village, so we were well stocked up for our week in the sun without having to find a local shop. Like others, we couldn’t get a TV signal, but it wasn’t an issue for us given the weather. Also we couldn’t get a phone signal, so did feel a little cut off at first. (The lodge has great wifi, but unfortunately neither of our current phones has calling over wifi available.) However, Debbie advised us to walk up the hill a little, which did indeed solve the signal problem. And Jo said to give her landline number to anyone that might need to contact us, as she is just down in the village. Our week’s stay was heaven and I’d thoroughly recommend it, as it is an idyllic rural location and the lodge has all the home comforts you need to enjoy your time there.

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Jul 2021

  • "Clean, modern and comfortable property, it has the wow factor for its views of the countryside and the owners made us feel very welcome, they are lovely."

    Definately take some insect repellant if visiting in the spring/summer months as the midgies are out in force (thanks to the owners for letting us know this before we left home), superb walks in the area and we had a show every day by Kites flying around the lodge, was also treated to sheepdogs rounding up the sheep on a nearby field. TV did not have a signal the whole time we were there but the internet was great so we just watched things online, not that it’s needed with the view. Amazing.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jun 2021

  • "Incredibly clean with fantastic views - the road up to the lodge needs seeing to (holes)."

    Owners very helpful - ice machine or freezer needed - hated the midgies - couldn’t open the french doors - but a fantastic holiday all the same.

    Reviewed by Amit4.7Jun 2021

  • "Lovely lodge in a nice location with amazing views."

    Short drive to a number of local attractions including devils bridge and the waterfalls.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0May 2021

  • "You book this place for the view and setting - and it exceeds any expectation you may have."

    Windows carefully placed around building to offer views from every position. Incredibly private. Peaceful. Beautiful finishing touches - all very thoughtful and stylish. Loved every moment

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0May 2021

  • "Amazing place must visit , one of my fav trip❤️❣️"

    Reviewed by Vidhi4.7May 2021

  • "The location was fantastic."

    Comfortable and extremely clean lodge with stunning views. Our kids loved playing outside. We would love to go back one day :-)

    Reviewed by Petra5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely lodge with stunning views."

    Warm and friendly owners. Lodge is compact but has everything you need and the children loved the outdoor space and freedom. Brilliant for walks and dogs if you have one. Lodge was very warm and cosy despite the cold weather.

    Reviewed by Jordan5.0Apr 2021

  • "This accommodation lived up to expectations in terms of spec and facilities."

    The view from the veranda of the valley with a few farmhouses and sheep over all the hills was so lovely and relaxing. When the sun is shining its on the veranda for most of the day. Take your binoculars so you can see the farmers and their amazing dogs round up the sheep. The owners were terrific as were their cute dogs!

    Reviewed by Tom5.0Apr 2021

  • "Amazing place to stay, was immaculately clean on arrival and had all facilities needed for my two weeks."

    Stunning views from the decking and some lovely local walks. Hosts communicated in the run up to my stay and we’re very accommodating.

    Reviewed by Cassandra5.0Dec 2020

  • "Quiet,relaxed views,ideal for exploring valleys etc,you do need to travel for facilities so entry of food and drink in stock an idea."

    Reviewed by Daphne5.0Aug 2020

  • "The location is amazing."

    Views are stunning and photos cannot do it enough justice. My 4 and 6 year old daughters loved exploring the various area of the garden, the wild flower meadow, the natural area below the lodge, the pond and decking and they made the AstroTurf area into their gym for practising their PE skills! The accommodation is excellent. A freezer, even if small would have been useful. There was no mobile reception and no tv signal but lots of dvds and surprisingly 49mb broadband for our iPads. Although the accommodation is quite simply three rooms it serves everything you could wish for. The lodge surpassed my expectations and we had the most enjoyable and memorable quality time family holiday. My girls have already asked to go back. I’m sure we will!

    Reviewed by Alex4.7Aug 2020

  • "Lovely views and lodge was really nice too"

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Aug 2020

  • "The views are amazing!"

    The location is brilliant. The wildlife is unbelievable, and the sight of 2 pairs of Red Kites near enough permanently overhead is unreal. A must for people who like the natural environment and wildlife. On top of this Ynneslas, Borth, Aberystwyth etc are only a stones throw away. A fantastic relaxing holiday.

    Reviewed by Carl4.4Jul 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One-bedroom studio layout: 1 x king-size bed, 1 x bunk beds, kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, dishwasher, TV and WIFI
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Decked veranda with seating
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 8.4 miles, pub 4.5 miles away in Devils Bridge
  • Note: The owners live next to the property and they have dogs so dogs are to be kept under control
  • Please note: This property hosts a maximum amount of 4 people, including infants.

The property

Capel Bangor 11.9 miles.

Set upon a hillside looking out over the Ystwyth Valley is this beautifully decorated property, Haka Lodge.

Situated in a remote part of mid-Wales, next to the owners house this lodge has a modern studio layout with a vibrant and stylish decor.

Have your breath taken away by the views before you step onto the veranda and come through the bi-fold doors into your home-from-home for the next few days.

Enter into the open-plan living space where you will spend your time relaxing after your exploration of the stunning Welsh countryside, rest your feet by snuggling up on the sofa and putting the TV on, make a round of hot drinks in winter to warm those cold hands, and settle into your evening.

While the film plays, someone can start getting the evening meal prepared in the kitchen area, where an electric oven and hob, fridge and dishwasher can be found, a great range of appliances for a modest space.

In the summer sit out on the veranda with the most beautiful backdrop, especially when the sun is shining and enjoy a refreshing drink.

Settle into the king-size bed at night, while a bunk bed lies at the end of the lodge for two more guests to catch their rest.

A contemporary and beautifully fitted shower room provides a sparkling place to refresh yourself in the morning to prepare for another exciting day.

Get your bikes out and hop onto the National Cycle Network which runs through Cwmystwyth and head all the way to Aberystwyth, a lovely seaside town bursting with treats and delights in the form of pubs, restaurants and shops, among pebbled rocky beaches and rugged coastal views.

Not far from the lodge is Devil's Bridge, a village and community in the heart of the Cambrian Mountains, home to the world famous tourist attraction of Devils Bridge Falls in the Rheidol Gorge, visited since the 18th century.

Haka Lodge is a quirky and homely place to base yourself to immerse in Wales' natural beauty.

Please note: This property has a £100 good house keeping bond

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

DEVIL’S BRIDGE

Aberystwyth 12 miles.

Nestling between the Cambrian Mountains and the Cardigan Bay coastline, Devil's Bridge has been a tourist attraction for centuries and was celebrated by author George Borrow who wrote Wild Wales in 1854. This famous bridge spans the Mynach, a tributary of the River Rheidol and is unique as it is actually three bridges in one, the original built around 1100, the second above this in 1753 and the third in 1903. The bridge is at a point where the River Mynach drops 90 metres (300 ft) in 5 steps down a steep and narrow ravine before it meets the River Rheidol. The set of stone steps leading down to the lowest bridge at the waterfall are known as Jacob's Ladder. The attraction offers viewing points and after the steep walk there is a hotel and cafe for refreshments. Devil's Bridge is served by the Devil's Bridge railway station on the historic narrow-gauge Vale of Rheidol Railway, which opened between Aberystwyth and Devil's Bridge in 1902 and provides wonderful scenery along the ride to the coast. This whole area boasts stunning scenery and wildlife and is renowned for walking, cycling, fishing and bird watching as well as trips to the beautiful Cardigan Bay coastline with its wild cliffs and sandy beaches.

Please note: This property has a £100 good house keeping bond
Please note: This property hosts a maximum amount of 4 people, including infants.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas