Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Castle Lodge - North Wales - 1050080 - photo 1

Castle Lodge

(Ref. 1050080)

Harlech, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (22)
  • lovely (18)
  • castle (17)
  • cottage (17)
  • no (14)
  • great (13)

37 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely house which is much bigger than we expected."

    Hosts were v helpful with advice on restaurants etc. And the location is unbelievable. Would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Mar 2024

  • "A fantastic spot and spacious accommodation with great views- we loved the cottage for location and parking was ok - we have a big SUV and managed ok We will defiantly be back the only critical thing I would say would be it needs better cushions on the beds and maybe a mattress topper (we are so used to our own comfy beds!"


    Thank you so much for your honest feedback! We are staying at the property ourselves in a few weeks and will take on all your feedback and see what we can do to address the issues. Thanks for choosing to stay at Castle Lodge and we hope to see you again in the future! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Mar 2024

  • "This is a beautiful property, well located and equipped."

    There were lovely welcome gifts and the cottage was dressed for Christmas. Plenty of room for off street parking which was very welcome and a castle virtually in your back garden. We feel relaxed and refreshed, a perfect location for our family get away, including our fur baby. Thank you

    Reviewed by Dean5.0Dec 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in the perfect location, well equipped, clean and comfortable."

    View is out of this world! Just a couple of things to mention, as everyone else has said very tight entrance to park but with some manoeuvring we found it easier to reverse in. One thing that let it down was two ashtrays full of cigarette stubs swilling in brown water outside on the table which hadn’t been emptied. We would definitely stay again though and would highly recommend.

    Hi Julia Thank you so much for your feedback and I am SO sorry that you had dirty ashtrays outside. They should have been emptied / cleaned out during the clean and I will make sure that this oversight doesn't happen again. Thank you for choosing to stay at Castle Lodge. The parking is tight and one day we hope to be able to improve the access gates. Glad you enjoyed the incredible views! All the very best. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Sep 2023

  • "This was our fourth stay at Castle Lodge."

    We love it there. It’s clean and comfortable and is in such a fantastic location right next to Harlech Castle. The house has everything we need and more. The views are incredible and it’s lovely just to be able to pop to the shops. The walks in the mountains and on the beach are fantastic. Such a beautiful part of the world. We’ve booked again for next year!

    We love having you and can't wait to welcome you back next year! It is wonderful to see returning guests who love the property and location as much as we do! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely property and great location but let down by small things."

    In spite of my earlier enquiry about cleanliness, the oven and cooker hood were thick with grease; the frying pans were rusty (and yes, I spent some of my holiday time cleaning them for use); the kettle leaked and I would consider it to be actually dangerous; the 'Information pack' was 3 years out of date with the previous owners details in it (the TV wasn't working when we got there and only when I'd phoned the previous owner, and then got the present owner's number, did someone come round and set it up. ) We were left a tiny pack containing just 2 dishwasher tablets, one J-Cloth and one black bin liner for the week; No towel roll or floor cloths etc - after the brilliant cottage in Bellingham last year and the house we had previously rented (twice) in Harlech this was a bit of a disappointment. On leaving the key safe jammed and as we left at 0700 we couldn't contact anyone about it. It is also worth mentioning that several of the bowls and plates were already chipped and we (and subsequent users) do not want to be held to account for that.A perfect location that just needs attending to

    We are glad you liked the property and location and thank you for the top comfort score, much appreciated. We do give our contact number to guests pre arrival and Sykes Cottages also have a dedicated helpline for any guests who need help. If I had known when you called me about the TV of any other issues (or if you had contacted me subsequently as you got familiar with the property), it would have been addressed immediately. Unfortunately, I was only made aware that you needed help with the TV operation and not the oven, pans or kettle. The TV was operational on your arrival and as we discussed, you just needed to use the guide button to explore channels. The TV has multiple channels on Freesat and the property has fast wifi to allow for streaming from smart devices via wifi to the TV, and there are also many DVDS, games and books at the property for guest use. We do strive to maintain high property standards as can be seen in many of our positive reviews. The pans/trays are being checked and replaced as required and I will of course discuss the oven hood with our cleaning service. The kettle was replaced immediately as soon as we were made aware on your feedback, - unfortunately after you had checked out. If only you had let us know! The property info pack has our current owner contact information on the top page. We visited the cottage shortly after you and found the info pack next to the TV with our details on. I am sorry there were historical details for the previous owners - we are not sure how these got there and this has now been removed! I am glad I could help regarding the TV when you called me and I also sent our maintenance person to the property to check you were ok using the TV following my explanation of how to use the remote control. He would have gladly helped with any other issues you may have had if you had let us know. We do provide a starter pack of two dishwasher tablets/j cloth/bin liner, there is also washing up liquid under sink, and of course further dishwasher tablet can be purchased form the very nearby local shop. I have checked the key safe to make sure it is operational and it works as expected. The code needs to be re-entered to allow the lever to close the door to the key lock and I will add this tip to the property information pack. Thank you for letting me know about the crockery- we have been through every plate and found three chip items amongst the many crockery items. We will be replenishing our crockery accordingly. It was lovely speaking to you on the first evening of your stay and wish you happy stays at Sykes holiday properties in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew2.8Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage but felt a bit sterile !"

    !, lovely setup and great views.lovely out back with view of castle, but could do with sun loungers to sit on (was outside dining table and chairs) but needed something comfy also didn't find the bbq. Just be warned if arriving by car the entrance to property is on steep hill with lots off cars around and very tight fit between gates, I have a small suv and struggled to get in. But was a great holiday and very good accommodation with some good eateries close by.

    Thank you very much for your feedback! We have taken on board your points for improvement. We are constantly investing in the property (double glazing installed throughout last year for example) and try to create a homely feel but will look again at what we can improve. Yes! We do know parking can be tight for large vehicles and hope to get the stone wall gate widened in the future. Many thanks for choosing to stay at Castle Lodge and we're delighted you enjoyed the special views from our property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1Jun 2023

  • "A lovely well equipped property in the centre of Harlech, right by castle."

    We did have a slight problem with getting the oven to work but this was soon resolved.

    Hi Susan - thank you so much for the lovely feedback and it was lovely speaking to you. Thank you for getting in touch during your stay. We have now updated the guest info with extra guidance around the oven. Thank you for choosing to stay at Castle Lodge! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2023

  • "The property is in a great location and is spacious."

    Unfortunately the property requires some significant TLC. On arrival the first thing you notice is two plant pots on the doorstep containing long dead plants which isn't very welcoming. Then unlocking the door is a problem as you have to jiggle the key around and push and pull the door in order to get the key to turn. It's the same on the inside so potentially a H&S issue. In the kitchen the microwave was filthy with burnt on food so not used. On some of the pans and a baking tray the non-stick coating had been rubbed down to the base metal and on some it was lifting so not good to use. The dish washer was, like in the microwave, dirty. In the downstairs shower room one of the shower doors was hanging loose on just one of the rollers so at risk of falling off. The toilet brush there and in the upstairs bathroom were both absolutely filthy - stained and with dried faeces. It was impossible not to notice that because they were the cheap plastic kind in open containers. The full length mirror in one of the bedrooms was covered in stains as if someone had spat on the mirror and it had run down. The pillows were either old and worn out or were new and cheap as they were completely flat. The electric heaters were inadequate for the size of the house and came on at odd times. I found it impossible to either alter the temperature or the timing as they displayed a "blocked" notice when that was attempted. The starter pack for the solid fuel fire that is mentioned in the listing was absent. The furniture in the lounge was however comfortable and the outside space was very good. Harlech is one of my favourite places in the world so I was pleased to be there. The property however was a let down but it only needs a relatively small amount spent on it to bring it up to a decent standard and also for it to be cleaned and maintained by someone with more commitment than is evident at the moment.

    We are so sorry that this has been your experience and we are very grateful for your feedback. Unfortunately, we have not been able to visit the property this year and we are reliant on our local maintenance and cleaning team to keep an eye on things for us and report back. In this case it looks like a series of maintenance issues have been overlooked and the standard of cleanliness you report is not what we expect from our (normally reliable) team. We sincerely apologise and hope that it did not ruin your stay in Harlech. We too love the town and want our visitors to enjoy their stays there as much as we do. We have already contacted our maintenance and cleaning help and fed back your concerns asking for all issues to be addressed. I am only sorry that you did not let us know earlier in your stay and we would certainly have done what we could to rectify the situation immediately. We will be addressing every element of your feedback in detail to see where we can improve. Thank you - and apologies - once again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geff1.9Apr 2023

  • "Fantastic cottage in a great location"

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Dec 2022

  • "Castle Lodge is the most amazing place in an amazing location with its stunning views of Harlech Castle and out to sea."

    Harlech also has everything you could need for your stay and all the people are incredibly friendly, although I think that was helped by the fact I had my dogs with me :). It certainly is a dog-friendly place. Castle Lodge itself is wonderful and it was a lovely surprise to find bread, milk, butter, and a lovely fruit cake waiting for us when we arrived. It is extremely comfortable and inviting; a definite home away from home feeling, even more so when we got the log burner going. The facilities that have been made available at the Lodge are great for making your stay as hassle-free as possible (once we'd worked out how to use the icemaker :)). The two main bedrooms are incredibly spacious and comfortable. One of the rooms has the of facing the Castle and seeing it lit up at night is spectacular! All in all, we had a fantastic stay at Castle Lodge and would not hesitate to go back. Will more than likely be booking for next year! Highly recommend.

    Thank you so much for such positive feedback! You were wonderful guests and I really do hope we see you again! It is so rewarding to share Castle Lodge with lovely guests who appreciate this special area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charis5.0Oct 2022

  • "Really loved the property and it’s situation and settings the only problem was ..."

    Really loved the property and it’s situation and settings the only problem was the rear gear access which needs sorting, this was left open by delivery’s for the Resturant next door and my dogs where let out onto the car park and road It needs an extra Fence and gate

    Thank you so much for your feedback and our sincere apologies for the neglect of delivery drivers to shut the gate. I will take steps to remind them of the need to shut the gate and we will also get extra signage put up. Apologies again and thank you so much for choosing Castle Lodge for your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Sep 2022

  • "Beautiful and well-equipped cottage in a very wonderful location next to Harlech Castle with the most stunning views."

    Reviewed by Chris4.4Sep 2022

  • "Absolutely fantastic."

    The cottage has everything you need with not a detail missed. Castle lodge turned out to be the highlight of our stay and we are already looking forward to booking again.

    Thank you so much for such wonderful feedback! It really makes our day and we can't wait to have you back! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Aug 2022

  • "We greatly enjoyed our stay at Castle Lodge."

    It is comfortable, well-equipped and the location is excellent. Our kids enjoyed the X-Box and the grown ups enjoyed a glass of wine watching the floodlit castle! Only word of warning is the tight entrance for cars - if you own some huge SUV you might struggle to negotiate the gate.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! Yes - the parking is a bit tight for larger vehicles and it is on our list to widen the gates one day! We hope to welcome you back in the future. Wishing you a lovely summer ahead. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great stay, some points are : the woodburner needs the rope seal replaced as you ..."

    Great stay, some points are : the woodburner needs the rope seal replaced as you can see directly into the top RH corner and it is very difficult to maintain a burn, and the use of mats with pets (a bit smelly after others had been in before) and the shared access was a pain for dog with people coming and going without any partition, otherwise was a great stay, good facilities, nice bedrooms etc, would book again :)

    Reviewed by Ian4.1Jun 2022

  • "Beautiful lodge in such a stunning location."

    Very spacious and homely, enjoyed every minute.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are always making improvements to Castle Lodge and look forward to the possibility of inviting you back another time. Have a lovely summer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Jun 2022

  • "This was a wonderful location with spacious, well designed accommodation with great facilities."

    The lighting and Netflix were very nice additions as was the welcome basket. There was everything you could need and we had a fabulous holiday. Thank you. The icing on the cake would be a new cafetiere as current one leaks coffee grounds. Other than that all was perfect and we would highly recommend.

    Thank you so much for your feedback Wendy and sorry for the delay in responding. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we have now replaced the cafetiere! Thank you for spotting it and letting us know. Wishing you a lovely summer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Apr 2022

  • "We absolutely LOVED our week in this cottage."

    We have no complaints at all re the cottage itself. It is just perfect and we plan to return again next year. The local shop keepers and castle staff were so welcoming and patient with us and our little boy who happens to have extra needs. This made our stay even more special after a very long and hard couple of years. Thank you for sharing your beautiful cottage with us. We are all missing it already. Julie, Dee (grown ups), Jack (12), Harry (10), Charlie (7 who happens to have Down syndrome. The ability to go in and out of the castle in small doses and the very lovely caring people of Harlech made this the best holiday ever for this beautiful boy and therefore ours too). Thank you, thank you, thank you xx

    Thank you so much Julie for your generous feedback! We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay and really hope we can welcome you back in the future. We are always making improvements to the property and so hopefully any future stay you have with us will be even better! Thank you for embracing the lovely Harlech community. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Apr 2022

  • "Had a really lovely stay at the lodge with our friends, young kids & dogs."

    Lovely large spaces so that we never felt crowded. Beautiful sunsets from the bedroom and terrace. Would definitely recommend. There’s a small foodshop over the road that was brilliant and meant we didn’t need to go far to get supplies.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and apologies for the delay in reply! The sunsets are beautiful aren't they...?! We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Felicity5.0Mar 2022

  • "Lovely cottage exactly as described."

    It's in a great location, literally a ten second walk out of the back gate to the castle visitors centre. There is also a shop just up the road for bits and bobs, a bistro within a minutes walk and you are about a minutes walk from the high street. The living room is big but very cosy, the kitchen is well equipped with a little utility room just off it with a washer, dryer and a dish washer. Next to the kitchen is another room with a two seater sitee a TV and a PlayStation. I can imagine this would be a good place for children to have there own space away from the main living room. Upstairs there are three bedrooms, one with amazing views of the castle, a small room with a set of bunk beds in, definitely a kids room as it's got a book case with some children's books in. There is also another bedroom, the biggest of the three, you have also got a nice veiw of the mountains from this room, though its not a full veiw as other houses are in the way, but from the bed you can lay there and see the mountains. There are two bathrooms, one downstairs with a toilet and shower and a bigger family bathroom upstairs with a bath and an electric shower over it. We had a welcome pack of milk, bread, butter and biscuits . Parking as stated is for two cars, just a note that it's quite a tight squeeze through the gates though. Apart from that though, I can't actually find any fault at all. We would definitely recommend and we will definitely go again.

    Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! You were excellent guests and very kind to have got in touch before you left. We look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Lodge in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jonathan5.0Mar 2022

  • "The situation of this property is the best that we have ever had."

    The castle is just next door and you can go there anytime free of charge, also it is dog friendly. There is a restaurant the next door on the other side of the property, called AIS. Delicious food. Highly recommend. The lit lounge was lovely. The only downside, and the reason that I wouldn't go again, is that I was absolutely freezing most of the time. When you picked up your pyjamas, the elastic of the bottoms was freezing as well. We tried all different types of fuel ( also available at the shop next door, on the third aspect of the house). Maybe underfloor heating or more robust radiators ?). Off road parking was excellent, just outside the property and had a wrought iron gate to close the space.

    Reviewed by L3.8Feb 2022

  • "A perfect cottage."

    Spacious, comfortable, very nicely decorated and the views of the castle were breathtaking. The few niggles we had were trivial and not worth listing. We would love to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Feb 2022

  • "Ideal location very spacious perfect."

    Would definitely book again.

    Dear Janet Thank you so much for your feedback following your stay at Castle Lodge. We are so glad you enjoyed it. We are always looking to make improvements, so if there is anything that could have helped improve your stay, do let us know. We hope to welcome you back to Castle Lodge again in the future. Anthea & Jon Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Jan 2022

  • "Arranging the booking was straight forward."

    No unexpected issues so not able to comment on how Sykes Cottages would manage these.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2021

  • "A superb location and excellent quality accommodation."

    A peaceful stay and a garden with full sun into the evening with a stunning backdrop of an historic castle illuminated until late. Thoroughly recommended. Though Harlech is small there are some good shops and food available just a very short walk away. The Premier supermarket is in Lower Harlech. If you are feeling lazy the castle visitor centre is literally next door and has a great cafe for a cooked breakfast (and friendly staff too).

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Sep 2021

  • "This was our second stay at Castle Lodge and we had such a lovely time again."

    It’s a great house in a beautiful location right next to Harlech Castle and with wonderful walks to the beach and the hills. Would completely recommend and we’ve already booked to return for a third time next year!

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Aug 2021

  • "Had a lovely time at Castle Lodge in August."

    Very centrally located and phenomenal view enjoyed every aspect to it. Loved going around the castle. Even had fantastic takeaway food delivered over the gate from the restaurant next door. A very relaxing break.

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Jul 2021

  • "The previous weeks laundry was left in the bathroom."

    The oven in need of a good clean and light switches needed wiping with some disinfectant wipes, also crumbs left on the sofa, to say extra cleaning is carried out due to covid is a joke.

    We are sincerely sorry that this was your experience at Castle Lodge. We ave looked into the matter and discussed it with our cleaning team who have taken responsibility. Apologies on behalf of all of us at Castle Lodge. Every guest's stay is important to us and we hope that it did not cast a shadow over your holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angela3.1Jul 2021

  • "Lovely location and cottage."

    Fabulous view from the bedroom window. The cottage was comfortable and well equipped for cooking and there are also lots of local places to eat out or have take aways.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Jul 2021

  • "Castle Lodge was descibed on Sykes website as having an enclosed courtyard."

    On arrival, notes left by the owners informed us that there was shared acess through the courtyard to the next door property/business. At 5.30 am on numerous days the refuge men arrived to empty the next door properties bins, it was very noisy and they left all gates open. Deliveries through the day caused distubance when using the courtyard too. If we had known about the access we would not have booked the cottage. The gates were very narrow for large cars. The hoover did not hold a charge. Having said this the property itself was clean, comfortable and well equipt, although some better cooking utensils would have been appreciated. The owners had kindly left cake and fresh bread and milk which was greatly appreciated. This booking was originally for 2020 and had to be moved due to covid restrictions we were disappointed that Sykes only offered an alternative dates and not refunds at the time.

    Apologies if the shared access to the neighbouring property was not made clear. We have not had issues previously and can only apologise that your stay was interrupted. Unfortunately, being located in the centre of the town does mean that deliveries and refuge visits to neighbouring properties can be expected. Our own refuge collection is organised privately and currently takes place around 8am on a Thursday. Thank you for letting us know about the hoover! We hope to one day get the gates widened. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you enjoyed visiting this beautiful area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel4.1Jun 2021

  • "We have stayed in several Sykes properties, but this is in our top two favourites."

    Lovely cottage and beautiful surroundings.

    Reviewed by Diane4.7Jun 2021

  • "The cottage location is perfect and the facilities are excellent."

    It is both cosy and practical for a young family. We had a great week and look forward to returning in the near future.

    Reviewed by Matthew5.0May 2021

  • "Real home from home feel and wonderful views of the sea and the mountains."

    Lovely surprise of fresh bread and cake when we arrived. Extremely comfortable cottage with all the mod cons of today’s life but still has a traditional cottage feel. Perfect location for days out and sightseeing. Fully enclosed courtyard, so no worries about letting the dog out. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Debra5.0Apr 2021

  • "We have a Ford transit camper van and we had no problem with the parking, in ..."

    We have a Ford transit camper van and we had no problem with the parking, in fact it was nice to have a driveway and secure parking, loved this place, can we come back for a few days please ❤️

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Nov 2020

  • "Spacious comfortable cottage in an incredible position adjacent to Harlech Castle."

    Two couples in our party and bedrooms very nicely separated giving good privacy....there's also a twin bunk room should you need it. Parking in a large 4x4 was a little challenging. We'd suggest going into the castle car park on arrival( it quietens down after 430) and having a recce on foot so you can plan your manoeuvres! Cosy lounge with wood burner lovely for autumn evening's. (Shop at top of street supply fuel ) Pleasant courtyard garden very lovely on a summer night. House very well equipped and owners couldn't be more helpful if any issues. Great location for exploring this corner of Wales. We would definitely recommend Castle Lodge.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Sep 2020

  • "We absolutely loved the house and the magical location and can’t wait to return!"

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Aug 2020

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king-size, 1 x double with castle and sea view, 1 x adult bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Garden room with sofa bed, games console and TV
  • Sitting/dining room with woodburning stove.
  • Electric heaters and woodburning stove
  • Dual fuel cooking Range, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and tumble dryer
  • Smart TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels (and beach towels) inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop within 0.1 miles
  • Note: Dogs are not allowed in the bedrooms and downstairs only, please bring own dog beds and towels, dog fleecy blankets are provided
  • Note: There is a slope and step in the garden, children and pets to be supervised at all times
  • Please Note: This property is not suitable for and does not permit Electric Vehicle charging - if this is a facility you require during your stay, you will need to seek out local conveniences that provide the service
  • Please note: As a self catering property, fuel for the wood burning stove is not provided, There is a shop next door that sells firelighters, kindling and fuel but we recommend planning ahead if you are arriving outside normal shop opening hours, The owners recommend smokeless fuel which tends to burn better in the stove.

The property

Castle Lodge is a well-presented, semi-detached stone cottage, and occupies what can only be described as one of the most enviable locations.

Situated just at the top of one of the oldest hills, known as Y Llech in the town of Harlech, just a stone's throw from the main high street and next to the beautiful and impressive 13th century castle.

This is a delightful property that’s perfect for friends, two couples who wish to holiday together or a family looking to explore the area.

This charming cottage is well-presented throughout and has a lovely homely feel and a warm and welcoming ambiance, full of character features, such as exposed stonework and ceiling beams.The sitting room, with dining area, has a warming woodburning stove and is a lovely relaxing room to gather together at the end of the day, particularly in the cooler months, while the garden room with a sofa bed, offering flexible sleeping for that occasional guest, will be the hub of this holiday home, with patio doors leading out to a wonderful block paved courtyard and an impressive view of the Castle.

A modern and well-equipped kitchen with granite worktops and a cooking Range caters for all your needs and will appeal to the chef in your group.

Three individually styled bedrooms are arranged over the first floor, all serviced by the family bathroom with a second shower room on the ground floor, a welcomed addition to this cottage.

The largest bedroom boasts a king-size double bed and is lovely and spacious, whilst the second bedroom, a double has the most amazing view of Harlech castle, encompassing the Snowdon mountain range and Harlech beach.

The bunk room is ideal for the younger members of the family.

The enclosed courtyard is the perfect place to relax and unwind after a busy day out and about, dine alfresco and in the evening, when the Castle is illuminated, will be an amazing sight, leaving you mesmerised long into the night.

Walks are in abundance from this delightful cottage and a visit to Harlech Castle and the new visitors’ centre, as they are on the doorstep are a must.

Harlech offers a good selection of independent shops, tea rooms, pubs and restaurants, along with a magnificent sandy beach and less than a mile away is the famous Royal St. David's Golf Club, one of the finest links courses, Harlech swimming pool and climbing wall both great places for children and adults alike if the weather isn't playing ball!

Barmouth, Porthmadog, and the world-famous Italianate village and gardens of Portmeirion are all within easy access.

This superb cottage provides an excellent Snowdonia base anytime of the year.

View on map

About the location


Barmouth 11 miles; Porthmadog 10 miles.

Situated in a magnificent position between the mountains and the sea, the delightful small town of Harlech is dominated by its majestic 13th century castle. Harlech Castle is recognised as the most impressive of all those built in North Wales by Edward I and has World Heritage status. The town is very popular with golfers, who come to enjoy the famous Royal St. Davids course, whilst the beautiful sandy beach is wonderful for family fun and long walks. Harlech offers an excellent variety of amenities including some good quality restaurants, whilst the whole of the Snowdonia National Park, together with the sandy beaches of Cardigan Bay, are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Harlech

Note: There is a slope and step in the garden, children and pets to be supervised at all times.

Note: This property is not suitable for and does not permit Electric Vehicle charging - if this is a facility you require during your stay, you will need to seek out local conveniences that provide the service.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas