Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 customer booked 8 Glan Ysgethin in the last 24 hours

1 of 30 View Larger Image
  • 8 Glan Ysgethin - North Wales - 1025412 - photo 1
close

8 Glan Ysgethin

Barmouth, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 1025412)

3.8

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 3

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

14 Customer Reviews

  • "We have recently returned from a very relaxing holiday in this delightful bungalow."

    It was clean and tidy and very well presented. The kitchen was especially well equipped. We spent a lot of time in the brand new conservatory which was extremely comfortable. There is also a large patio and very private garden. There are plenty of beaches nearby and good walks and an excellent Inn at the end of the road if you don’t want to cook. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return.

    Reviewed by EdwardJun 2022

  • "An absolutely lovely bungalow on the edge of a tranquil woodland/river valley."

    Bungalow has been modernised to a high standard with a fabulous new conservatory and recent work done on all other rooms with new floors throughout. It also has a mature well-kept secluded garden. It was very clean throughout and had everything needed for a great home-from-home experience. Kitchen had loads of equipment to cook meals from scratch. Beds all very comfy and a lovely bathroom. Some of the north of Wales' best beaches nearby (Morfa Dyffryn) and paths (leading up to the Rhinogydd mountain range) direct from the front door - via ancient woodland around Afon Ysgethin. Hollol prydferth / Totally wonderful. :-) We will 100% return and would recommend to anyone. Diolch yn fawr.

    Reviewed by RobJun 2022

  • "We stayed here recently as a party of 4 plus a little dog."

    Lovely comfortable little bungalow with everything we needed to make the most of our stay and a perfect base for exploring this part of Wales. Nice little secure garden for our dog with outside seating etc. Great Pub at bottom of road as well . My only "constructive " comment would be possibly to supply a 4 slice toaster as opposed to 2 and perhaps some blinds for the conservatory as the SW facing garden makes this area extremely bright at times especially if eating at the dining table....

    Reviewed by BrianMay 2022

  • "Beautiful bungalow, we had a wonderful stay."

    Everything you need for a lovely holiday and so much space. The large conservatory was lovely to sit in and just take in the view.

    Thank you so much for your feedback and glad you had a great holiday. I am still continuing to update the property further so am pleased the improvements have been appreciated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnneApr 2022

  • "Went last year and went again this year, hopefully if the prices don't go ridiculous will go next year"

    Reviewed by PaulSep 2021

  • "Although there had been some negative reviews about the cleanliness of this property, we found it to be very clean."

    There was a musty odour in some of the rooms, I feel this may be due to the property not being heated for some time during the lockdown. The property does need some TLC there are a few areas that are a little tired and scuffed but it is coming to the end of the season, so needs to be addressed. The conservatory was ok, we spend some time in there so the dog could be in the garden. It was pleasant enough. Overall it will be a nice cottage once spruced up.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the issues you had during your stay. We are currently renovating the property addressing all of the problems you have highlighted as well as installing a new conservatory for everyone to enjoy. We have also employed new cleaning staff which will ensure that the property is kept to a high standard. The works will finish by the end of march 2021 , we would love to have to back so you can see the difference as we are investing a lot of time and effort to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay that matches the beautiful surroundings we have to offer Property Owner

    Reviewed by HeatherSep 2021

  • "Shouldn’t be on the market – DO NOT STAY – and if you already have CLAIM COMPENSATION I was very concerned to read the Reviews below of this Property a few weeks before we were due to visit (the last week of August 2021) This was obviously a “4 tick” rated listing and booked in good faith of expecting that standard of accommodation."

    In response to said concerns, I contacted Sykes requesting assurances that the Property would be clean and of the standard expected. Despite internal communication issues (don’t bother with the messaging service, it’s useless – use the phone) a response was received, stating the Owner was carefully monitoring the cleaning regime. I accepted said assurances. On arrival I had been left a voicemail (whilst driving) by Sykes, requesting I contacted them immediately as there had apparently been an issue with the hot water (there were no issues with this during our stay- but it obviously had been only the day before) This gave me the opportunity on returning the call, to raise concerns at the condition of the Conservatory, which was covered in pet hairs (previous reviews have already covered the overall condition) An offer from Sykes to “get the cleaner back” was declined as I would rather do this properly for myself. Ironically the Cleaner “popped in” later and stood taking to me(!), whilst watching me shaking off the pet hair ridden cushions. It should be noted I was offered a 10% discount on my booking during the aforementioned telephone conversation - which I accepted at the time. The bungalow is tatty and in a poor state of repair which cannot be blamed on COVID – it clearly has not been maintained over several years. The “4 ticks” rating proves Sykes cannot be trusted. The Conservatory in not habitable – the tiresome excuses that this is “due to be replaced” is obviously of no interest to Guests staying in 2021. It is shameful and disgraceful to continue with the COVID excuse, as when booking in good faith in December 2020, said condition was never mentioned. The property smelt of damp; with electric heating – and no timers on the radiators, this is no great surprise (i.e. if said Property is empty there is no method of turning on the heating remotely) There is a patch on the carpet between the two single beds in Bedroom 3, which is clearly damp and by the smell throughout I suspect there is a serious damp issue across the entire plot. Light switches/sockets are hanging off the walls (be careful behind the lounge TV) Of most concern, was half of the folding shower door falling off – inches from injuring my 4 and 6-year-old children who were bathing at the time. Fortunately, my Wife caught it before it smashed over the floor – the results of her failure to do this, I would rather not think about it. The issues were raised with Sykes during my stay – they did respond - though I decided I had wasted enough of my holiday already speaking to them – and would deal with this on my return. After all what can be done when a Shower door has ALREADY fallen off, almost seriously injuring young children? On August 31st having returned home, I re-iterated the issues with Sykes by telephone, emailing across photographs on request of the issues. By September 15th I had received no response (Sykes Customer Services are very poor) so contacted the latter again – apparently the Owner had been in touch stating no further compensation would be forthcoming. In fact, not even an apology. Shameful. Disgusting. Utter contempt. Why Sykes continued – and still continue – to market this property is appalling. They are fully aware of the condition of the Bungalow and the dangers involved. I waited until Sykes had responded before leaving this review. In response I will shortly be commencing Legal Proceedings.

    We are sorry for the issues you had during your stay, we did attend to get someone round to resolve the issues but you would not let us do this whilst you were in the property. We are currently renovating the property addressing all of the problems you have highlighted as well as installing a new conservatory for everyone to enjoy. We have also employed new cleaning staff which will ensure that the property is kept to a high standard. The works will finish by the end of march 2021. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by StevenAug 2021

  • "I did raise concerns to Sykes about previous ratings of this bungalow and was assured problems had been rectified."

    Unfortunately there were too many problems to rectify. It was such a disappointment….awful place…should not be let out in present condition. And I paid £1600 for one week! On the plus side, it was in a lovely location and we enjoyed our walks and the beautiful beaches. Pub excellent. Also Sykes customer service was very good and understanding. I was given some refund very quickly. I have used Sykes before and have confidence to do so again.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the issues you had during your stay. We are currently renovating the property addressing all of the problems you have highlighted as well as installing a new conservatory for everyone to enjoy. We have also employed new cleaning staff which will ensure that the property is kept to a high standard. The works will finish by the end of march 2021 , we would love to have to back so you can see the difference as we are investing a lot of time and effort to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay that matches the beautiful surroundings we have to offer Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeeAug 2021

  • "We have just returned from 8 Glan Ysgethin."

    The property itself was quite a disappointment and, in our opinion, not worthy of the sykes four tick rating. While efforts have been made to update the property everything is superficial. Wallpaper is lifting from the walls and holes remain in the walls where curtain poles etc have been changed and certain upgrades have been left unfinished. The kitchen units have been painted to modernise them but this is starting to chip and flake. The property is in need of a big deep clean and smelt damp on arrival (we bought fragranced candles to try and combat this). The bed in the master bedroom is also broken and propped up on bricks and should be addressed. The drive is very steep as others have said but we knew that when we booked. That said, the location is excellent and we have had a great week exploring North Wales. We will definitely be back to the area but not necessarily to this property unless the issues are addressed.

    The double bed base has been replaced, the owner was unaware that the base had collapsed until the feedback and wholeheartedly apologises for the inconvenience this has caused. The cleaning issues have also been addressed and are being monitored closely. With regards to the general condition that has been criticised the owner is looking to replace the conservatory in the autumn once Lettings allow and to generally make improvements that said the bungalow is roomy and comfortable and well equipped. The covid pandemic has meant the property was unoccupied due to Welsh govt instructions that meant no upgrades or maintenance could be done until days before the Lettings commenced. The owner is sorry for any bad experiences and is keen to address the concerns that have been raised. Property Owner

    Reviewed by VictoriaJun 2021

  • "When we entered the cottage we were disgusted at the uncleanliness of the cottage."

    The floors were filthy, the kitchen sink was covered in bits of food and the oven was absolutely filthy with grease and gravy running out so we could not use it and had to eat out every meal. The conservatory blinds were all broken, with no lights or fan working. The shower was over the bath which for us was impossible to climb over so we were unable to wash ourselves all week and had to make do with an all over flannel wash. My husband is 80 years old and I am in my late 70’s and having to go out for every meal was a problem. After paying almost £1000 for this holiday we did not expect to be so disappointed.

    "Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry for the issues you had during your stay. We are currently renovating the property addressing all of the problems you have highlighted as well as installing a new conservatory for everyone to enjoy. We have also employed new cleaning staff which will ensure that the property is kept to a high standard. The works will finish by the end of march 2021 , we would love to have to back so you can see the difference as we are investing a lot of time and effort to make sure everyone has a wonderful stay that matches the beautiful surroundings we have to offer Property Owner

    Reviewed by IJun 2021

  • "Fan in conservatory didn't work as small lights in bedroom, one of the single beds very lumpy although this did not spoil anything."

    Coming from a flat area the steepness of the drive took us by surprise.

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "The property was well appointed and in such a beautiful location."

    We were all suitable impressed and have already booked the same spot for 2021.

    Reviewed by MikeSep 2020

  • "The bungalow is in a very quiet area with a steep downward sloping shared drive."

    The gardens are fabulous. New modern kitchen and bath with shower. Beds are a bit hard for me but that's personal preference. Comfy seating in the living room, excellent WiFi and Netflix available. There's a separate dining room and a large conservatory. The latter is a bit dated; fan and tv don't work and some of the vertical blinds are missing. On arrival I found the floors not cleaned properly and tiles in bathroom need a good scrub. On the whole this property is excellent value for money just 10 minutes from Barmouth and 15 mins to Harlech, both with great beaches. If you want a quiet comfy place to stay, I'd recommend this property

    Reviewed by JackieAug 2020

  • "The accommodation was excellent in every way."

    The only reason I wouldn’t rebook is purely the very steep drive which my parents struggled with. Otherwise the setting was lovely, far reaching sea views and the garden was well manicured with a BBQ. I would recommend if you’re not holidaying with elderly parents or you have limited mobility.

    Reviewed by TracyJul 2020

Show more

Summary

  • All-ground-floor
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Conservatory with TV
  • Electric central heating and woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, nespresso coffee machine with aeroccino milk frother with complimentary selection (you will to bring your own pods with you), fridge/freezer, dishwasher, washing machine, 3 x TV and WiFi
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for three cars on shared driveway
  • Front patio and rear patio with pond, furniture and barbecue
  • Two small, well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 mile, pub 0.3 miles
  • 15 minute walk away from Talybont beach
  • Note: Though the pond is covered with a Diamond Deck safety grid system, children and pets must be supervised at all times in the rear garden
  • Note: The driveway is steep so please be careful when reversing
  • Note: This property has recently refurbished and updated the conservatory and kitchen - new photos will be available soon

The property

Barmouth 4.5 miles.

A characterful cottage, ideally situated to a family of six or group of friends in pursuit of a countryside retreat, 8 Glan Ysgethin can be found in a quiet and secluded area, perfectly positioned for exploring the wonder of Snowdonia National Park, as well as benefiting from being in close reach of the excitement of the coast.

Just half a mile to the Tal-Y-Bont train station, where trains along the Camrbian Coast run every two hours, 8 Glan Ysgethin is central for a great many days out.

Resting peacefully in the village of Tal-y-bont, surrounded by wonder of the Rhinogs mountains of Snowdonia, you'll find a plethora of walking routes from your doorstep.

Enter inside your all-ground-floor dwelling and discover the delights of the bedrooms to settle down your belongings; take your pick from a master double, with its own television and plenty of space for all of your belongings, this pretty blue room is perfect to retreat to after a day of excitement.

The other two bedrooms consist of a further double decorated in bright and inviting yellow, and a twin room in an elegant grey, offering each guest a homely spot to rest their head.

The bedrooms are served by both a convenient cloakroom and a bathroom, hosting both a P-shaped bath and overhead shower, so you can choose how best to prepare for your day.

Retreat into the sitting room to unwind amongst the pretty, peacock themed wallpaper, where a woodburning stove awaits to warm you up following an afternoon ramble, or, for a quiet moment to yourself, head to the suntrap of the conservatory where you can watch your favourite shows on the television, delve into a good book on the plush sofa, or enjoy a board game around the dining table together.

For more formal occasions, the dining room makes the perfect spot to toast to your terrific holiday, with the modest but well-equipped kitchen holding every essential you could need on a self-catered stay.

Outside the wonder continues, where you can enjoy dining alfresco with the help of the barbecue in the summer months, the seascapes in the distance making a beautiful backdrop, and the little ones are sure to love exploring the pond with you by their side!

Explore the local area by packing up a picnic and taking a stroll along the River Ysgethin, with plenty of woodland walks around where you can spot nature and uncover some of the most beautiful hidden gems.

Venture towards the pub to enjoy a hearty lunch, followed by an ice cream bought from the local shop, before making your way down to the golden sands of either Tal-Y-Bont or Dyffryn beach for a day of family fun which are just 1.2 miles away from the property.

Harlech can be found within easy reach, boasting a wider range of eateries from traditional fish and chips to indulgent Indian, as well as rich history surrounding its impressive castle and the World's Steepest Street being well-worth exploring too.

Head to Barmouth for another beautiful beach and scenic rambles along the Panorama Walk amidst the wonder of the Mawddatch Estuary, or tackle one of the many mountain peaks of Snowdonia National Park for unrivalled views and an unforgettable experience.

In the perfect place for exploring both the coast and countryside of Wales, 8 Glan Ysgethin makes a wonderful holiday home at any time of year.

View on map

About the location

BARMOUTH

Harlech 10 miles; Dolgellau 10 miles.

One of the most picturesque resorts on the Welsh coast, Barmouth is surrounded by the unrivalled splendour of the Snowdonia National Park. This traditional seaside town boasts an enormous sandy Blue Flag beach, perfect for families. A variety of shops, pubs and restaurants combined with the mild climate, make this an ideal destination for a holiday, even out of season. A paradise for walkers, climbers and cyclists, Mount Cader Idris is nearby. An abundance of wildlife along the Mawddach Estuary, trout fishing in mountain lakes, Harlech Castle, St David’s golf course and Portmeirion Italianate Village are just a handful of the many superb attractions within easy reach of this lovely spot.

View more holiday cottages in Barmouth

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas