Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Larger Image
  • Pentney Lodge - Norfolk - 1040300 - photo 1
close

Pentney Lodge

Pentney near Middleton, Norfolk, Norfolk (Ref. 1040300)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 2

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

16 Customer Reviews

  • "First impressions, this lodge looked lovely inside."

    Unfortunately all the little things add up: The basket near the sink included Tea & Coffee bags, dish cloths, a packet of biscuits and loose dishwasher tablets? Kettle furred up also mentioned in a review in 2021 Cupboard above microwave full of cobwebs One bin liner and one very old tea towel is not enough for one stay. The dates on PAT tested electrical items were either out of date or so faded you couldn’t read the dates. I’m sure most of this could be resolved quite quickly and easily for a lot better stay.

    We are sorry you didn't find the lodge in 100% perfect condition. We have corrected some of your points immediately, and are working on others subject to tradesman availability. Hopefully you did enjoy the rest of the lodge, our garden, Pentney Lakes, and surrounding areas somewhat during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by GarryJul 2022

  • "Fantastic very relaxing and comfortable in beautiful surroundings so many lovely ..."

    Fantastic very relaxing and comfortable in beautiful surroundings so many lovely places to visit in surrounding areas will return

    Thanks for your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by RosalindJun 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Pentney Lodge, it was clean and really comfortable."

    The park opposite was great for the children to play and have a bit of freedom whilst in sight of us. The bar opposite has recently been taken over and the owners were warm and welcoming. The information sent to us by the owners on days out and places to visit were great. Highly recommend.

    Thanks for your positive feedback; glad you all enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by GeorginaApr 2022

  • "Comfortable, great location for Abbey."

    Mostly clean but needed freshening up morning of our arrival- dead flies, furred kettle. WiFi was great. Warmed up nicely. Overall very nice accommodation and we are probably being picky.

    Reviewed by RichardDec 2021

  • "Only problem was actually finding the site"

    Thanks for your comment. I am sorry you found it difficult to find, but we generally find that people use a satnav which takes you to the site, and I always send further instructions in the welcome letter before your holiday just in case. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay whilst you were there anyway. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DSep 2021

  • "We had a fantastic week at Pentney Lodge, the lodge was beautiful and set on a wonderful site."

    Great recommendations from the owners of local beaches and pubs. Would definitely recommend visiting.

    Thanks for your feedback and for booking our lodge. We are really pleased that you had a good time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by CatherineAug 2021

  • "We had a very nice time at Pentney Lodge and our Grandsons, aged 7 & 8, enjoyed themselves immensely."

    There was plenty of outside space within the boundary of the Lodge and more on the recreation area just opposite. They took advantage of the junior lake and managed to do some novice fishing - the Bailiff of the lakes was most helpful. We found people we met on site to be friendly and chatty and we took advantage of the Bar on site to enjoy a drink or two when it was open. Nearby pubs offered a friendly welcome along with good food and drink. We traveled further afield most days but also enjoyed a long walk in nearby West Bilney Wood.

    Thanks for your comments and for holidaying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquelineAug 2021

  • "The general cleanliness of the lodge lets it down."

    As soon as we got there we found a huge brown stain on the mattress topper, this was sorting the next day with the delivery of a new mattress. Brilliant. There was stains on the carpet, cobwebs, dead spiders and dead flies, behind the curtains( there was a previous complaint about this) The en-suite shower had a problem with the u-bend which meant that the shower backed up! Dirty baking tray in the oven, top of the oven hood was disgusting - dust and cobwebs. Blinds dusty, skirting boards dusty. The lodge is fabulous when walking in, it is not until you have a closer look you start to notice the problems. Would not recommend or return. We had contact with Colin regarding the mattress which he sorted straight away, but why was the bed made when you could see the stain through the sheet? He did offer us £150. which we refused. I was a lot of money for a dirty lodge.

    Thanks for your feedback and I apologise that you did not find the lodge up to standard. We had several calls/texts about resolving the issues, with which you were very helpful. We use a Sykes approved cleaning company and the cleaner who had been cleaning the lodge is no longer with the company. There is no excuse for the oven hob etc being dirty; this should have been cleaned and checked between lets as part of the company's protocol, along with the other points you mentioned. I fully agree that the bed should not have been remade as it was. As you saw, when we were made aware of the problem, we replaced the mattress and mattress topper with brand new ones within a couple of hours. The cleaning company spray for flies and clean up after most of them have dropped, but unfortunately you do get some that linger and drop after they have gone. As a general point the carpets were in immaculate condition at the start of the summer so they have clearly been abused and will be replaced as soon as we are able to arrange it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClaireJul 2021

  • "Disappointed with the general cleanliness, lots of dead spiders and flies on the carpet."

    Oven and microwave quite dirty. Only half a roll of toilet tissue. No batteries for the remote so had to buy these as well as toilet rolls.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not find the lodge up to standard, and we exchanged emails on this. I also sent you the date and time stamped video that our cleaner does after each clean, which appears to show a very clean and well serviced lodge, though admittedly it doesn't show behind the curtains where you said the flies were, nor inside the oven. We have asked them to redouble their efforts in this, but it remains a mystery as to what happened. We had offered to send a man out to replace the batteries and check the system, but you declined and said you were were happy to get new ones at the time.' Regards Colin Property Owner

    Reviewed by SandraJun 2021

  • "We were disappointed to discover the property was located on what could best be ..."

    We were disappointed to discover the property was located on what could best be described as a building site with biulders vehicles passing from 7am The appliances were not up to standard particularly the washing machine and oven

    Thank you for your feedback, which is welcomed. We exchanged emails on this, and I explained that there had been a hold up with some building works along the lane which I understand from the owners should be completed by early July. We have had the appliances checked, and they are working well now. You replied and said that this 'did not detract from the good points of your stay' and that 'the lodge itself was delightful, immaculately clean and comfortable', and 'the lodge itself was great, as was our holiday'. Thanks again for visiting us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TonyJun 2021

  • "Lovely setting with some great walks from the site."

    The small bar on the opposite side of the green had a live band playing saturday night which was loud but was only 1 night and they finished at 11pm. Loved the lodge. Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Would recommend the local pub The carpenters arms. Great sunday roasts. We had a lovely week here.

    Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you had a good time and made the most of the facilities Property Owner

    Reviewed by GlenMay 2021

  • "Beautifully decorated, well stocked lodge in a peaceful setting, grateful to Sykes for hassle-free last minute change of location due to lockdown restrictions and very prompt and helpful response from the lodge owner when we had an enquiry; lovely holiday, thank-you."

    Reviewed by SusannahOct 2020

  • "We found the lodge the ideal escape from the restraints of the Covid rules."

    Beside being very comfortable with great fittings and furniture the lodge was surrounded by lakes and woods which provided endless walks with only the occasional dog walker to be seen. Stock up with provisions before you arrive and you can leave the car in the drive all week. However if you want to explore further there are many interesting sites in this area. No light pollution from street lights so the stars are so much brighter. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by JohnOct 2020

  • "Our stay was friday to Monday with an early departure of 10am, perhaps this could be changed to a later time."

    Email & txt sent very early on the Sunday regarding the cleaning before leaving felt a tad pushy, making last day slightly uncomfortable. Instructions for dvd would be helpful for future visitors as we were unable to operate.

    Thanks for your feedback, which was very helpful. We immediately changed the departure time to 11 a.m. and check in time to 4 p.m. This should make things a little easier for guests in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChrissyOct 2020

  • "Very satisfied with the lodge thanks"

    Reviewed by MartineSep 2020

  • "The property was as per the photos and very clean and tidy."

    The property is situated right on a roundabout, and the roads are more of a dust track. There was construction taking place somewhere on the site which meant large construction vehicles driving by in the morning and in the evening. There was some noise disturbance from the works, but not too intrusive. There are a lot of dogs on the site and when one starts to bark they all barked. The neighbours were very nice, they had a very noisy dog. We tried to befriend the dog but to no avail. Be careful of how much you use the WiFi, it’s quite shocking how quickly it gets used when you are used to unlimited. Overall the property was lovely and well equipped.

    Reviewed by DianeSep 2020

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with a double bed, 1 x twin with two twin beds
  • En suite shower room to double bedroom with large corner shower, basin, WC
  • Bathroom with a bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating throughout
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, washer/dryer
  • TV with Freeview, DVD player, stereo with CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for up to three cars
  • Fairly enclosed garden with decking and furniture
  • No smoking and no pets
  • Note: There is a clubhouse on-site open several times throughout the week, please note however that no food is served here
  • Note: There is a range of water sports available on site, including fishing and water skiing, which can be booked locally at additional cost

The property

Pentney Lodge is a fabulous luxury lodge resting on a unique countryside site, close to King's Lynn and the beautiful Norfolk coast, offering you and your loved ones every home comfort, sleeping four guests in two bedrooms.

Enjoying delightful views overlooking the front garden, the master bedroom contains a double bed, bedside cabinets and bedside lamps creating a lovely sleeping spot, with a walk-in wardrobe providing ample space for your things, as well as boasting an en-suite shower room with a spacious shower enclosure.

The second bedroom is a twin room, overlooking the rear garden, it too benefits from a bedside cabinet and lamp, along with a double wardrobe and a chest of drawers.

Feel at home in the large open-plan living space, with views of the decking outside, and the garden and playing field beyond, it’s a well-equipped and attractive room.

Find all you need in the kitchen for a fantastic self-catered stay, including an electric oven and grill, gas hob, dishwasher and washing machine, and even a wonderful Nespresso coffee machine, perfect for a morning caffeine fix on the decking.

Sit on one of the plush sofas before the wide screen TV and settle into your evening with a film playing on the DVD player, or gather around the elegant dining table by the decking doors, and play one of the board games from the selection at Pentney Lodge.

Feel toasty and warm in the colder months thanks to the full gas central heating and double glazing, but when the weather is good, make sure to step outside and make use of the spacious wrap-around decking or large lawn, perfect for finding your favourite spot on the outdoor furniture, whether sunny or shady.

Pentney Lodge is located at Pentney Lakes, just south of King's Lynn, it is a glorious privately owned and managed site of approximately 300 acres, with each lodge enjoying its own garden, with the dwellings set well apart, to create a private haven for each.

Pentney Lakes is set amidst some of Norfolk's most beautiful countryside, offering a diversity of leisure pursuits appealing to all ages; whether it’s picnics and adventures in the woodland areas, meandering around the tranquil lakes, or enjoying a thrilling watersporting activity on one of the larger, open lakes, such as kayaking, windsurfing, jet skiing or even water skiing, there is something for everyone here.

Delight in scenic walks through the grounds, admiring the wonderful range of migratory and native wildlife, before heading to the on-site bar, which is small yet well-stocked, home to a pool table and darts, it’s a great place to wind down at the end of the day, open variously during the winter for two evenings a week, and during the summer months for about four evenings a week.

The historic town of King’s Lynn, about 8 miles away, has a wide range of shops, banks, bars and restaurants, as well as popular live music and arts venues, with The Corn Exchange, as well as the Fermoy Arts Centre, home to the annual King’s Lynn Arts Festival.

There is a good road network locally, and the main train line that runs between London King's Cross and King's Lynn can also be taken from Downham Market, which is about 10 minutes drive from Pentney Lakes.

Spend a fun-filled and relaxing escape at Pentney Lodge.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

MIDDLETON, NORFOLK

King's Lynn 4.4 miles; Waltington 6.8 miles; Hunstanton 18.5 miles

A civil parish resting in the county of Norfolk, Middleton is a quaint and quintessential village resting close to the popular seaport and market town of King's Lynn. The village boasts a scatter of amenities to cater for all of your needs, including a post office and store, a steakhouse and grill, a salon, a village hall, and even a golf club with its own professional shop. The main historical landmark within the village consists of the Middleton Mount, a mound where the impressive castle founded by William d'Ecouis once stood, offering a great spot to explore when rambling through the countryside lands of Norfolk. The nearby town of King's Lynn offers even more history surrounding its maritime past, with evidence of it being prominent within its traditional architecture, landmarks and enticing museum. In reach of the coastal towns of Hunstanton and Cromer, Middleton is positioned ideally for exploring the wonders of both the coast and the countryside of Norfolk.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Christmas