Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Pentney Lodge - Norfolk - 1040300 - photo 1
close

Pentney Lodge

(Ref. 1040300)

Pentney near Middleton, Norfolk, Norfolk Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lodge (15)
  • lovely (11)
  • site (10)
  • our (10)
  • stay (9)
  • clean (9)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Perfect place to enjoy peace and quiet."

    Tea, coffee and milk were very welcome after long journey but flowers on table were sadly long gone and smelly. Nice bright position of lodge that got plenty of sun. We would definitely return to this lovely lodge

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Oct 2023

  • "Very peaceful,."

    Lovely place. We really enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely log cabin,& in the dining room area,also having a washing machine aswell as a dishwasher,the cooker and microwave was easy to operate."

    The site for our meals was perfect, Lovely walking area.

    Thank you for your great feedback; we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joyce5.0Sep 2023

  • "Lovely peaceful stay"

    Thanks for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Sep 2023

  • "This lodge is absolutely beautiful in a stunning location surrounded by woods and lakes."

    We had the best week here and would thoroughly recommend it if you’re interested in exploring Norfolk. The tea, coffee, milk and biscuits left for us on arrival was greatly appreciated after a very long journey, thank you. I’m not sure if some of the residents in the other lodges are permanent residents or if they were holidaying too, but our neighbours had 3 very noisy dogs that barked at everyone passing and one barked all night one of the nights! As it is a dog friendly site, this made other dogs bark too. This has no impact on the lodge, but something to be mindful of if you’re looking for a peaceful location.

    We are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday and thanks for the detailed feedback. I blieve we have just had one other recent comment about dogs so will check this next time we are there and have a word as necessary! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2023

  • "The lodge was very good inside and very clean, there was a shortage of clean towels,the garden and drive needed a lot of attention, 2 very large dogs next door were very noisy with continual barking."

    We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time. Hand and bath towels are provided for each guest we are expecting. We have asked our caretaker to redouble efforts on the garden and drive. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Leslie3.8Aug 2023

  • "A very comfortable place which was well equipped and clean."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here

    Thanks for your nice comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Aug 2023

  • "TV definitely needs updating Entry gate is very difficult to open urgently needs attention Salt and rinse aid in dishwasher Bedding is poor."

    Sheet didn’t fit double bed. Quilts and pillows need changing. Windows need cleaning inside and out. Sticky finger marks on doors. Garden needs maintenance very scruffy.

    We are sorry the lodge did not meet your expectations but we do wish you had contacted us on arrival when some of these things could easily have been sorted out. Our cleaner said she met you when you were leaving and you commented how nice the place was and what a good time you had had, so we are pleased you enjoyed your holiday anyway. The gate was hit by a delivery driver recently and was repaired but must need some further adjustment so thanks for pointing that out. The TV is a modern HD one with a wide range of channels available through FreeSat. Salt and rinse aid are available under the sink, but we will ask our cleaner to check it is topped up between lets. All of the sheets, duvet covers, pillowcases and mattress protectors were replaced in April this year and were the right size for the beds. The pillows are replaced annually, and spare pillows were available in the dressing room if you found the ones on the bed uncomfortable. We have asked our window cleaner to go more regularly now so thanks for pointing this out, likewise the garden. The grass and shrubs have been a problem on the sandy soil which dried out during the recent drought and do need some remedial work. . We allocate a lot of time to cleaning so there is no excuse for sticky finger marks. We will redouble our efforts with our cleaning and garden maintenance. Regards. Colin Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew3.4Jul 2023

  • "Over all brilliant would benefit from a handle in shower and a bath mat and ..."

    Over all brilliant would benefit from a handle in shower and a bath mat and maybe a couple of throws for cooler evenings this is just are opinion we are both in our 60s

    Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your holiday at the lodge. We will look at the practicality of a handle for the bath; it is a good idea with safety in mind, and will also consider the idea of throws so thanks for your ideas. Regards. Colin Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine4.7Jun 2023

  • "Everything was very clean and comfortable."

    We didn't use the oven or microwave as it was too hot for the whole week but there were plenty of places to eat . The only downside was there were no bushes in front of the lodge, alongside the fence, which I think would help to deflect the heat a little. We had a glorious week!

    Glad you enjoyed it! We did plant shrubs all along the front but they all died in the heatwave last year, sadly! As the soil is so sandy it doesn't retain moisture well. Thanks for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Timothy5.0Jun 2023

  • "The site has know got a restaurant and the food was very good."

    Reviewed by Kathleen4.7Jun 2023

  • "A well equipped and comfortable lodge with everything you need located on a nice quiet site"

    Reviewed by Gary4.7May 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay All people very helpful."

    Pub and cafe 1st class.really enjoyable holiday .

    Thanks for you lovely feedback. Glad you enjoyed it! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2023

  • "We stayed at Pentney Lodge for the weekend as we were attending a wedding at Pentney Abbey."

    The accommodation was very clean, comfortable, and well equipped, on a grey and wet weekend. We didn’t have time to explore the area unfortunately. Good spot near the park cafe. Great welcome letter was emailed before we arrived. Thanks!

    Thanks for the positive feedback Amanda. Glad you enjoyed the stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Mar 2023

  • "Super accommodation, perfect location & helpful host"

    Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the feedback! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diana5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a problem with the heating and hot water which meant for the first twenty hours we were very cold as it was an extremely cold night."

    The fault was rectified by a plumber the following day but we had to cancel a family lunchtime gathering as we didn’t know when the plumber would arrive. All this aggravation meant we lost a day of our holiday. The oven was filthy and hadn’t been cleaned for a very long time, so much so we did not use it. On the last day we stripped the bedding only to find a nasty stain on the mattress cover. It was almost a two feet circle and couldn’t have been missed. Overall other than the above mentioned problems the place was clean and tidy with a good selection of items in the kitchen, if the owner of the property could address the above problems it would have been a perfect place to stay. Sykes were very helpful to us and we appreciate all they did to sort out our heating issue.

    We are really sorry about the problem with the boiler, which was working perfectly for the people before your stay so could not have been foreseen. You phoned me to report it just before 7pm on your first evening and I immediately contacted our gas fitter. He was unable to attend that evening but he did come the next morning, Sunday, to fix it. We have already asked Sykes to refund the first day of your stay as compensation. There is absolutely no excuse for a dirty oven which has to be checked and cleaned every time. Likewise a stain on the mattress protector. I have taken both of these issues up with our cleaning company in no uncertain terms. Once again, our sincere apologies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pete2.8Sep 2022

  • "First impressions, this lodge looked lovely inside."

    Unfortunately all the little things add up: The basket near the sink included Tea & Coffee bags, dish cloths, a packet of biscuits and loose dishwasher tablets? Kettle furred up also mentioned in a review in 2021 Cupboard above microwave full of cobwebs One bin liner and one very old tea towel is not enough for one stay. The dates on PAT tested electrical items were either out of date or so faded you couldn’t read the dates. I’m sure most of this could be resolved quite quickly and easily for a lot better stay.

    We are sorry you didn't find the lodge in 100% perfect condition. We have corrected some of your points immediately, and are working on others subject to tradesman availability. Hopefully you did enjoy the rest of the lodge, our garden, Pentney Lakes, and surrounding areas somewhat during your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Garry3.4Jul 2022

  • "Fantastic very relaxing and comfortable in beautiful surroundings so many lovely ..."

    Fantastic very relaxing and comfortable in beautiful surroundings so many lovely places to visit in surrounding areas will return

    Thanks for your feedback, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rosalind4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Pentney Lodge, it was clean and really comfortable."

    The park opposite was great for the children to play and have a bit of freedom whilst in sight of us. The bar opposite has recently been taken over and the owners were warm and welcoming. The information sent to us by the owners on days out and places to visit were great. Highly recommend.

    Thanks for your positive feedback; glad you all enjoyed your stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Georgina5.0Apr 2022

  • "Comfortable, great location for Abbey."

    Mostly clean but needed freshening up morning of our arrival- dead flies, furred kettle. WiFi was great. Warmed up nicely. Overall very nice accommodation and we are probably being picky.

    Reviewed by Richard4.7Dec 2021

  • "Only problem was actually finding the site"

    Thanks for your comment. I am sorry you found it difficult to find, but we generally find that people use a satnav which takes you to the site, and I always send further instructions in the welcome letter before your holiday just in case. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay whilst you were there anyway. Property Owner

    Reviewed by D4.4Sep 2021

  • "We had a fantastic week at Pentney Lodge, the lodge was beautiful and set on a wonderful site."

    Great recommendations from the owners of local beaches and pubs. Would definitely recommend visiting.

    Thanks for your feedback and for booking our lodge. We are really pleased that you had a good time! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a very nice time at Pentney Lodge and our Grandsons, aged 7 & 8, enjoyed themselves immensely."

    There was plenty of outside space within the boundary of the Lodge and more on the recreation area just opposite. They took advantage of the junior lake and managed to do some novice fishing - the Bailiff of the lakes was most helpful. We found people we met on site to be friendly and chatty and we took advantage of the Bar on site to enjoy a drink or two when it was open. Nearby pubs offered a friendly welcome along with good food and drink. We traveled further afield most days but also enjoyed a long walk in nearby West Bilney Wood.

    Thanks for your comments and for holidaying with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacqueline3.8Aug 2021

  • "The general cleanliness of the lodge lets it down."

    As soon as we got there we found a huge brown stain on the mattress topper, this was sorting the next day with the delivery of a new mattress. Brilliant. There was stains on the carpet, cobwebs, dead spiders and dead flies, behind the curtains( there was a previous complaint about this) The en-suite shower had a problem with the u-bend which meant that the shower backed up! Dirty baking tray in the oven, top of the oven hood was disgusting - dust and cobwebs. Blinds dusty, skirting boards dusty. The lodge is fabulous when walking in, it is not until you have a closer look you start to notice the problems. Would not recommend or return. We had contact with Colin regarding the mattress which he sorted straight away, but why was the bed made when you could see the stain through the sheet? He did offer us £150. which we refused. I was a lot of money for a dirty lodge.

    Thanks for your feedback and I apologise that you did not find the lodge up to standard. We had several calls/texts about resolving the issues, with which you were very helpful. We use a Sykes approved cleaning company and the cleaner who had been cleaning the lodge is no longer with the company. There is no excuse for the oven hob etc being dirty; this should have been cleaned and checked between lets as part of the company's protocol, along with the other points you mentioned. I fully agree that the bed should not have been remade as it was. As you saw, when we were made aware of the problem, we replaced the mattress and mattress topper with brand new ones within a couple of hours. The cleaning company spray for flies and clean up after most of them have dropped, but unfortunately you do get some that linger and drop after they have gone. As a general point the carpets were in immaculate condition at the start of the summer so they have clearly been abused and will be replaced as soon as we are able to arrange it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Claire2.8Jul 2021

  • "Disappointed with the general cleanliness, lots of dead spiders and flies on the carpet."

    Oven and microwave quite dirty. Only half a roll of toilet tissue. No batteries for the remote so had to buy these as well as toilet rolls.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed you did not find the lodge up to standard, and we exchanged emails on this. I also sent you the date and time stamped video that our cleaner does after each clean, which appears to show a very clean and well serviced lodge, though admittedly it doesn't show behind the curtains where you said the flies were, nor inside the oven. We have asked them to redouble their efforts in this, but it remains a mystery as to what happened. We had offered to send a man out to replace the batteries and check the system, but you declined and said you were were happy to get new ones at the time.' Regards Colin Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra3.4Jun 2021

  • "We were disappointed to discover the property was located on what could best be ..."

    We were disappointed to discover the property was located on what could best be described as a building site with biulders vehicles passing from 7am The appliances were not up to standard particularly the washing machine and oven

    Thank you for your feedback, which is welcomed. We exchanged emails on this, and I explained that there had been a hold up with some building works along the lane which I understand from the owners should be completed by early July. We have had the appliances checked, and they are working well now. You replied and said that this 'did not detract from the good points of your stay' and that 'the lodge itself was delightful, immaculately clean and comfortable', and 'the lodge itself was great, as was our holiday'. Thanks again for visiting us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tony4.1Jun 2021

  • "Lovely setting with some great walks from the site."

    The small bar on the opposite side of the green had a live band playing saturday night which was loud but was only 1 night and they finished at 11pm. Loved the lodge. Very comfortable, clean and spacious. Would recommend the local pub The carpenters arms. Great sunday roasts. We had a lovely week here.

    Thanks for your feedback and we are glad you had a good time and made the most of the facilities Property Owner

    Reviewed by Glen4.7May 2021

  • "Beautifully decorated, well stocked lodge in a peaceful setting."

    Grateful to Sykes for hassle-free last minute change of location due to lockdown restrictions and very prompt and helpful response from the lodge owner when we had an enquiry; lovely holiday, thank-you.

    Reviewed by Susannah5.0Oct 2020

  • "We found the lodge the ideal escape from the restraints of the Covid rules."

    Beside being very comfortable with great fittings and furniture the lodge was surrounded by lakes and woods which provided endless walks with only the occasional dog walker to be seen. Stock up with provisions before you arrive and you can leave the car in the drive all week. However if you want to explore further there are many interesting sites in this area. No light pollution from street lights so the stars are so much brighter. We really enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by John5.0Oct 2020

  • "Our stay was friday to Monday with an early departure of 10am, perhaps this could be changed to a later time."

    Email & txt sent very early on the Sunday regarding the cleaning before leaving felt a tad pushy, making last day slightly uncomfortable. Instructions for dvd would be helpful for future visitors as we were unable to operate.

    Thanks for your feedback, which was very helpful. We immediately changed the departure time to 11 a.m. and check in time to 4 p.m. This should make things a little easier for guests in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chrissy3.8Oct 2020

  • "Very satisfied with the lodge thanks"

    Reviewed by Martine5.0Sep 2020

  • "The property was as per the photos and very clean and tidy."

    The property is situated right on a roundabout, and the roads are more of a dust track. There was construction taking place somewhere on the site which meant large construction vehicles driving by in the morning and in the evening. There was some noise disturbance from the works, but not too intrusive. There are a lot of dogs on the site and when one starts to bark they all barked. The neighbours were very nice, they had a very noisy dog. We tried to befriend the dog but to no avail. Be careful of how much you use the WiFi, it’s quite shocking how quickly it gets used when you are used to unlimited. Overall the property was lovely and well equipped.

    Reviewed by Diane3.8Sep 2020

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with a double bed, 1 x twin with two twin beds
  • En suite shower room to double bedroom with large corner shower, basin, WC
  • Bathroom with a bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating throughout
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, dishwasher, toaster, kettle, washer/dryer
  • TV with Freeview, DVD player, stereo with CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for up to three cars
  • Fairly enclosed garden with decking and furniture
  • No smoking
  • Note: There is a clubhouse on-site open several times throughout the week, please note however that no food is served here
  • Note: There is a range of water sports available on site, including fishing and water skiing, which can be booked locally at additional cost Note - One well behaved dog available

The property

Pentney Lodge is a fabulous luxury lodge resting on a unique countryside site, close to King's Lynn and the beautiful Norfolk coast, offering you and your loved ones every home comfort, sleeping four guests in two bedrooms.

Enjoying delightful views overlooking the front garden, the master bedroom contains a double bed, bedside cabinets and bedside lamps creating a lovely sleeping spot, with a walk-in wardrobe providing ample space for your things, as well as boasting an en-suite shower room with a spacious shower enclosure.

The second bedroom is a twin room, overlooking the rear garden, it too benefits from a bedside cabinet and lamp, along with a double wardrobe and a chest of drawers.

Feel at home in the large open-plan living space, with views of the decking outside, and the garden and playing field beyond, it’s a well-equipped and attractive room.

Find all you need in the kitchen for a fantastic self-catered stay, including an electric oven and grill, gas hob, dishwasher and washing machine, and even a wonderful Nespresso coffee machine, perfect for a morning caffeine fix on the decking.

Sit on one of the plush sofas before the wide screen TV and settle into your evening with a film playing on the DVD player, or gather around the elegant dining table by the decking doors, and play one of the board games from the selection at Pentney Lodge.

Feel toasty and warm in the colder months thanks to the full gas central heating and double glazing, but when the weather is good, make sure to step outside and make use of the spacious wrap-around decking or large lawn, perfect for finding your favourite spot on the outdoor furniture, whether sunny or shady.

Pentney Lodge is located at Pentney Lakes, just south of King's Lynn, it is a glorious privately owned and managed site of approximately 300 acres, with each lodge enjoying its own garden, with the dwellings set well apart, to create a private haven for each.

Pentney Lakes is set amidst some of Norfolk's most beautiful countryside, offering a diversity of leisure pursuits appealing to all ages; whether it’s picnics and adventures in the woodland areas, meandering around the tranquil lakes, or enjoying a thrilling watersporting activity on one of the larger, open lakes, such as kayaking, windsurfing, jet skiing or even water skiing, there is something for everyone here.

Delight in scenic walks through the grounds, admiring the wonderful range of migratory and native wildlife, before heading to the on-site bar, which is small yet well-stocked, home to a pool table and darts, it’s a great place to wind down at the end of the day, open variously during the winter for two evenings a week, and during the summer months for about four evenings a week.

The historic town of King’s Lynn, about 8 miles away, has a wide range of shops, banks, bars and restaurants, as well as popular live music and arts venues, with The Corn Exchange, as well as the Fermoy Arts Centre, home to the annual King’s Lynn Arts Festival.

There is a good road network locally, and the main train line that runs between London King's Cross and King's Lynn can also be taken from Downham Market, which is about 10 minutes drive from Pentney Lakes.

Spend a fun-filled and relaxing escape at Pentney Lodge.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location

MIDDLETON, NORFOLK

King's Lynn 4.4 miles; Waltington 6.8 miles; Hunstanton 18.5 miles

A civil parish resting in the county of Norfolk, Middleton is a quaint and quintessential village resting close to the popular seaport and market town of King's Lynn. The village boasts a scatter of amenities to cater for all of your needs, including a post office and store, a steakhouse and grill, a salon, a village hall, and even a golf club with its own professional shop. The main historical landmark within the village consists of the Middleton Mount, a mound where the impressive castle founded by William d'Ecouis once stood, offering a great spot to explore when rambling through the countryside lands of Norfolk. The nearby town of King's Lynn offers even more history surrounding its maritime past, with evidence of it being prominent within its traditional architecture, landmarks and enticing museum. In reach of the coastal towns of Hunstanton and Cromer, Middleton is positioned ideally for exploring the wonders of both the coast and the countryside of Norfolk.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas