Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Lock Cottages - Norfolk - 914371 - photo 1
close

2 Lock Cottages

(Ref. 914371)

Honing near East Ruston, Norfolk Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (56)
  • lovely (34)
  • walks (29)
  • our (22)
  • comfortable (22)
  • location (20)

74 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely cottage with clever use of limited space."

    Could make more of the tiny outside space as it is in such a peaceful & beautiful location.

    Good evening thank you for choosing Cottage for your stay we’re glad that you enjoyed the peaceful and beautiful location. All the best Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith4.7May 2024

  • "We will be back."

    A lovely little cottage in a great location (if you want to be a little remote). You open the door to pheasants and muntjacs in the neighbouring fields, a a range of walks of varying distances around. The bed was really comfortable, as was the living room, and the kitchen had everything we needed. Only confusing point was a range of DVDs, plus a DVD player box, but no DVD player (at least that we could find), but in the end the afternoon we thought was going to be really miserable turned out ok and we took a 30 minute ride to the wonderful Horsey beach to see hundreds of seals there for molting season.

    Good evening firstly on behalf of Mark myself would like to thank you for booking our Cottage for our stay. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay we’re sorry about the DVD player situation as we recently changed the TV over all the best Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Apr 2024

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 2 Lock Cottages."

    The field with the deer was a wonderful surprise & the peace & quiet was exactly what was needed for a romantic recharge. Location was ideal for exploring the area; somewhere we'd never been but intend to return for more exploration. The sofa is a little uncomfortable with the wooden arms but nothing a few more cushions wouldn't sort out. TV is a generous size which can sometimes be an issue in holiday lets. Wifi was strong & reliable thankfully as its so far off grid there's no mobile data. Lovely! The bathroom was very clean with good water pressure & nice reliable hot water to the rainfall shower. We thought an awning over the little yard would be a nice addition with perhaps a bench under to just soak up the quiet & fresh air. It rained a lot during our stay so that would also have been nice to sit under and listen to the rain. The bed was very comfortable - we slept very well. The information leaflets & book were a nice addition too to help us plan our visit. Great holiday rental property for a couple. Would definitely recommend.

    good evening on behalf of Mark and myself would like to thank you for booking our Cottage for your holiday and we are glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet and the wildlife on the doorstep we would welcome you back any time all the best Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Apr 2024

  • "Great walks on hand dog loved chasing dear ,in mornings there munching on sugar ..."

    Great walks on hand dog loved chasing dear ,in mornings there munching on sugar beat in field by window Good venue for going out and about loads of seals close in on beech 15m away Heat on a lot bit warm some days May I suggest a sheet about recycling for food waste A very comfortable cottage good TV pack for dark nights in Thank u

    Good evening, thank you for choosing our Cottage for your stay. We’re glad you enjoyed the wildlife on our doorstep. all the best, Terry and Mark. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2024

  • "Absolutely lovely cottage."

    Couldn't ask for better. Nice dry place to park. Well equipped kitchen, lounge and bedroom. Sower room great too. A drier would be useful but understand space is a problem. Walks for the dog, right from front door. . Nice circular walk too. Map in cottage. Would definitely re-book for next year if those dates are available.

    Good evening on behalf of Mark and myself we’re glad you chose our Cottage for your stay and we will welcome you back any time all the best Terry Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Jan 2024

  • "The property was comfortable but there was a few things that disappointed us."

    The saucepans were in a damp cupboard and were not clean so put us off cooking. Although there was a year's supply of cleaning sponges. There was no foil available or cooking oil. Not major but would have been nice. There was only 1 and a half toilet rolls which was not enough for a 5 night stay. We ended up using the kitchen roll, which was not ideal. It would also have been nice to have some liquid hand soap in the bathroom. As the property accepts dogs it would have been really nice to have a gate so the dogs could be let out safely, but reading other comments this is not going to happen, although it was ok for the calor gas man to come and completely disrupt the front area without putting things back where they were. The bedroom had not been dusted or cleaned for quite a while because on the red headboard you could clearly see the accumulation of dust. It would have been nice to have a bin upstairs in the bedroom. On the plus side, it was really helpful having the torches at hand to be able to let the dogs out in the evening. The TV facilities were excellent but could not find the DVD player. Lovely location, no mobile signal but good WiFi and landline for emergencies.

    On behalf of my self and Mark we are sorry that you found our cottage did not meet your standards .As you can appreciate we are a self catering establishment and only supply the basics to get you started .As for you using kitchen roll I hope that you haven’t blocked our system we have a sign up stating toilet roll only to be put down the toilet .I’m not sure where you have seen in the description that we have a DVD player . Both myself and Mark we’re the last people to stay in the cottage before you so I know we left it really clean and ready for you .Also we are very proud of our cleaning team . All the best Terryann and Mark . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen3.1Oct 2023

  • "What a delightful place to stay."

    Clean, comfortable and quiet, just what we wanted. A decent reading/standard lamp in the living room would be useful as my wife does a lot of sewing. But that is just nit-picking really.

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to say thank you for choosing our cottage for your holiday we are both glad you enjoyed your stay all the best Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ian Mark5.0Oct 2023

  • "Property in a great place for dog walks on your doorstep."

    sorry but did find the bed a tad hard gave both of us a little back ache otherwise a loverly cottage we enjoyed our stay there

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to thank you for choosing our cottage for your holiday.we’re also sorry that you both didn’t enjoy our supper king size bed best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Oct 2023

  • "Excellent holiday cottage, has everything you need."

    Stayed here quite a few times now which says it all. In this day and age, I find it very reasonably priced which is refreshing. Lovely part of Norfolk ideal for cycling and walking. Highly recommend.

    On behalf of Mark and myself thankyou for choosing to stay at our cottage. We’re both so happy that you enjoy our cottage .with the tranquil setting’s that Norfolk has to offer hopefully see you next year all the best Terryann and Mark . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip4.7Sep 2023

  • "We had a fab week at the cottage, it had everything we needed for our holiday and lots of walks nearby for our dogs"

    Good evening on behalf of Mark and myself thank you for choosing our cottage for you holiday and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Jul 2023

  • "Very nice cottage in a quiet and peaceful area, easy access to most attractions and walking areas."

    Lots of great places for seal and bird watching. Beaches worth visiting are Horsey ( seal watching ) and Sheringham has lovely beaches for soaking up the sun and going for a dip. Lovely area thouroughly enjoyable would recommend to anyone.

    On behalf of myself and Mark thankyou for choosing our cottage we are glad you enjoyed your holiday best wishes Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth5.0Jun 2023

  • "Firstly this is a lovely cottage well maintained and with a super comfy bed."

    It’s beautifully situated with some good walks for you and your 4 legged friend and a good base to explore this part of Norfolk. On the down side no garden or secure outdoor area for your dog. I would recommend a stay here but if you are taking your dog then I would only go if your happy for your dog to be indoors when your at the property. Also you need to be aware there are a lot of potholes and unfortunately my partner tripped and fractured her ankle which meant a early return home.

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to say thank you for choosing our cottage for your holiday and we wish your partner a speedy recovery best wishes Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Jun 2023

  • "We loved the cottage, rural environment perfect for our needs."

    Walks from the cottage, deer in the fields opposite and a very comfy bed what more could we want. Wine and biscuits on arrival much appreciated.

    On behalf of myself and Mark thank you for booking our cottage and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by J5.0May 2023

  • "A fantastic little cottage, clean, well maintained and had absolutely everything we needed."

    Walks right from the front door, perfect setting! Idyllic!!!

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to say thank you for booking our cottage for your holiday and we are glad you enjoyed your stay . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Al4.7May 2023

  • "With it being dog friendly it is in need of a gate"

    On behalf of my self and Mark we would like to say thank you for choosing our cottage for your holiday unfortunately we won’t be putting in a gate Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen4.7Apr 2023

  • "A wonderfully situated cottage for peace and quiet and lovely walks."

    The cottage is very comfortable, warm and welcoming with a well equipped kitchen and an extremely comfortable bed. Couldn't ask for more!

    On behalf of myself and Mark thank-you for choosing lock cottage we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maxine5.0Apr 2023

  • "We throughly enjoyed our stay in the cottage."

    It was exactly as described and I would say even more cute and cozy, also, biscuits and wine was a nice welcome touch, we appreciated it. The cottage is a perfect getaway from busy daily life to a more quiet and idilic location. The locals were very friendly and we enjoyed socialising with them in the evenings after all day exploring the seaside. We would definitely recommend and will be returning in the future.

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to say thank you for choosing our cottage and we’re glad that you liked it and we look forward to having you stay in the future all the best Terryann and Mark. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Inga5.0Apr 2023

  • "The cottage is warm and comfortable."

    This is our second stay here and we remarked last year that a teapot would have been useful. Unfortunately, still no teapot or milk jug.

    On behalf of myself and Mark thank you for choosing our cottage for your your stay. We are looking into getting a tea pot .We hope to see you in the future all the best Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Feb 2023

  • "A lovely little cottage with everything we could want."

    Good walks straight from the front door. This was our second stay and once again did not disappoint in anyway. Would strongly recommend if you are considering a stay in this beautiful part of the world.

    On behalf of myself and Mark we would like to thankyou for your lovely feedback and we’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay once again all the best Terryann Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Oct 2022

  • "Perfectly peaceful bolthole."

    Good quality fixtures and fittings like touch lighting and comfortable furnishings - slept oh so well! Well situated for many parts of Norfolk coast and lovely country walks on the doorstep.

    On behalf of myself and my husband thankyou for choosing our cottage for your holiday Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Sep 2022

  • "The cottage was very well presented and had everything to make it a comfortable stay."

    Lovely quiet location with just the wildlife for company. Well located to visit plenty of locations with not to much travel time.

    On behalf of myself and Mark I would like to say thankyou for choosing our cottage for your holiday and we are glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terry Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Sep 2022

  • "Although compact this cottage had everything you needed - from a full size hob and oven to the good sized fridge/freezer."

    The allocated parking space was great and the location VERY quiet and relaxing. Lots of quiet little lanes to get to the cottage and to explore as well. The Weavers Way long distance path is only about 200 yds from the cottage and there are a number of circular walks in the area as well. All in all good value, great facilities and quiet location.

    On behalf of myself and my Mark we would like to say thank you for your feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage. Best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Sep 2022

  • "A very clean well presented property offering good home comforts and well equipped kitchen, although a tea pot would be welcome."

    The property was well prepared and comfortable. Slightly off the main road in a very quiet location, with its own allocated parking area.

    Reviewed by Allan4.7Jun 2022

  • "Very nice place, but for elderly people it is not suitable with the toilet downstairs and no chairs to sit outside when the weather was as good as it was."

    Needed shower mat as it was slippy in the shower. Directions were poor on the Satnav, needed Lock Road not Lock Cottages for us to access properly.

    On behalf of myself and my husband thankyou for choosing our cottage we are sorry that you didn’t enjoy our cottage as the description on Sykes website you would have seen the toilet was down stairs the post code given should take you straight to the cottage and unfortunately we don’t supply chairs for out side but you could of taken one of our chairs out side Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor4.4Jun 2022

  • "The cottage was very clean indeed with an extremely comfortable bed however the sofa bed in the Living Room is not ideal to use as a permanent sofa."

    We felt the upstairs balustrade was too low and a light fitting (2 way switch) at the bottom of the stairwell would be practical particularly when making nocturnal visits downstairs to use the bathroom facilities. One of the hot plates on the hob (left hand side front) was usable but when turned off the indicator light remained on. In effect the hot plate did not turn off at all. The only way to turn it off completely was to use the main electrical switch. The setting, where the cottage is located, is absolutely gorgeous and so very quiet. The local residents are kind and friendly, and yes they do speed down the lane in their vehicles - so beware. There are lots of places to visit, walk and enjoy.

    Firstly thankyou for choosing our cottage for your holiday. Thank for letting us know about the sofa as for the balustrade we have never had any issues as it is a standard height. Unfortunately with the issues regarding light switches there is nothing we can do about it .As for the hob all hot plates are working as they should and when turned off red light stays on as a warning to remind you that it is hot so there was no need to turn off at mains . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Penelope2.8May 2022

  • "Very nice cottage Lovely peaceful location Very clean and cosy we visit ..."

    Very nice cottage Lovely peaceful location Very clean and cosy we visit Norfolk every year and this is a cottage we would book again

    Thankyou for choosing our cottage also thankyou for your feed back all the best Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely cosy cottage."

    Well equipped. Nice area for walking our dog. Thanks for sharing your place with us!

    Good evening thankyou for choosing our cottage and thankyou for your feed back we are glad you enjoyed your stay .all the best Terry & Mark . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kamila4.4Apr 2022

  • "Nice cottage, great bed."

    Beautiful walking. Hopefully will return.

    Good morning Anne on behalf of myself and Mark thank you for choosing our cottage and we are glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.7Apr 2022

  • "A Gem of a cottage."

    Lovely dog walk at the end of the lane. Very comfortable, exceptional value and well equipped. It has internet which is not stated in the advert which was a bonus. Bed also very comortable so it has every thing you need. Would recommend this cottage to all.

    On behalf of myself and my husband we are glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Mar 2022

  • "The cottage was very warm and comfortable."

    Very nicely decorated and furnished throughout. It is in a lovely quiet position with plenty of walks. We did miss having a teapot and milk jug but we coped!

    Good morning. on behalf of myself and my husband thankyou for your feedback and we’re glad you enjoyed your stay at lock cottage all the best Terry and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Feb 2022

  • "The cottage and location was perfect and the welcome pack was a lovely gesture ..."

    The cottage and location was perfect and the welcome pack was a lovely gesture the cottage was clean and cosy and we would definitely return and recommend it for a lovely holiday anytime if the year

    Good evening Susan thankyou for your feedback we are glad that you enjoyed your stay we will welcome you back anytime best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2021

  • "A lovely cottage that suited both of us and our dog perfectly."

    We arrived a little early just as the cleaning team were finishing , they were pleasant and had done a very thorough job. The cottage had everything we required and the welcome pack was appreciated. Lovely walks directly from the front door and ideally situated for exploring the Broads and coast. More things we wanted to do than we could fit in in a week. We have all ready booked Lock Cottage for a return visit next year to explore further. Highly recommended by us.

    Thankyou for your feed back Mr Hines we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back next year all the best Mark and Terryann Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Oct 2021

  • "Lovely cottage bathroom had mold growing near shower and had damp /sewage smell ..."

    Lovely cottage bathroom had mold growing near shower and had damp /sewage smell in bathroom could do with a dust and sweep under table in front room

    Reviewed by Nicola3.4Aug 2021

  • "In contrast to last couple of reviews the cottage was immaculately clean and we arrived slightly earlier than intended but it was ready for us."

    The information sent in advance said we should bring our own tea towels but they were provided and we would have expected to find a cafetiere and a hairdryer but there was neither. Everything else we wanted was there including some DVDs we'd never seen and some good books. The bed was wonderfully comfortable.

    Good evening Mrs Howdle thankyou for your feedback. Unfortunately we will not be putting a cafetière in the cottage as we did have one and it didn’t get used .However we will be putting a hairdryer in . Best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill4.1Aug 2021

  • "A little disappointed that the cleaners were there at 16:20."

    The bathroom was left quite dusty, therefore we felt it was not deep cleaned. They told us there should have been a welcome pack, but they did not have access. I appreciate there have been problems with getting people to clean, but when you are paying good money & the measures Sykes have put in, I find this unacceptable.

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Jul 2021

  • "Cottage could have been cleaner."

    Was not adviced of step stairs. There was no gate on the little space outside so the dogs could wander. On the morning of leaving someone flashed our car tyre in the night had to towed away by Green Flag. What a long day that was by the time the tyre was replaced. Worst hoilday glad to get home. Dont think you would want to publish this feedback.

    Good morning Mrs Janet Beck thankyou for your negative feedback. Firstly thankyou for booking our lovely cottage via a telephone call with Sykes .Our stairs are a standard angle staircase we also do not advertise a gate on little space out side .Also if you believed that your tyre was slashed while parked at our cottage why didn’t you contact the police? As this is a criminal offence. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janet1.9Jul 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage in idyllic area, would happily stay there again."

    Ideal for two people.

    Good evening Mrs Clarke thankyou for your feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Valerie5.0Jun 2021

  • "Love the cottage it was great and nice loved it , I would buy it if I could"

    Good evening Mr Richardson thankyou for you lovely feedback we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Mark & Terryann Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2021

  • "It was a fantastic cottage well equipped ideal location for a peaceful break and ..."

    It was a fantastic cottage well equipped ideal location for a peaceful break and amenities enjoyed every minute will go book it again

    Good morning Mr Richardson thankyou for your feed back and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann and Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2021

  • "Beautiful setting, lots of wildlife and pleasant county walks."

    Would definitely come here again. .

    Good evening Mrs Davies thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay. Best wishes Mark & Terryann Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0May 2021

  • "The cottage was a perfectly hideaway for two (and our dog), close to the Norfolk broads and the coast enabling us to enjoy walking and canoeing."

    The cottage is small and there is no garden, but we expected that from the description and there is plenty of space around the cottage, just not for sitting outside. The cottage is compact but cleverly laid out with everything you might need for staying in to cook. Thank you, we loved it.

    Good morning Mrs Leonard thankyou for you feed back we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ingrid5.0May 2021

  • "First evening had problems using modern style electric hob with fingertip touch controls and makers "user unfreindly" operations manual."

    (My age related reduced skills). Mark and Terry came out and checked all was working properlyand gave me advice on hob control. Next day, (Sunday) all worked but I was unable to master the fine controls. Mark and Terry came over in the evening with a brand new "user friendly" style modern hob which they fitted, gave me all advice on use. They were very good under the covid circumstances (travel, rain, working space avaiolable, masks and distancing, cleanliness and disposal of packaging etc.. They were a charming couple. The location was ideal for our needs.

    Good morning Mr Hayward thankyou for your feedback.It was lovely seeing you both . We are glad that we was able to solve the oven issue.We are Also glad you both enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charles5.0Oct 2020

  • "A nice cottage in a really good location."

    This is the second time we have been there so it speaks for itself. A couple of drawbacks is there is NO mobile signal in and around the cottage but the owner has provided a BT phone for I assume guest use which is good. Also both visits we personally had trouble using the electric hob was it just us? Who knows but I did mention it in feedback. But would we stay there again a YES from us!

    Reviewed by George4.4Sep 2020

  • "We'd been there before, so knew to expect a wonderfully rural setting and meticulous cleanliness, etc."

    Good morning Mrs Guite thankyou For your feedback best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Aug 2020

  • "Lovely cottage had everything we needed, very clean and comfortable"

    Good morning Mr Hubbard thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann &Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Aug 2020

  • "First class accommodation, everything you need."

    Well thought out, lovely peaceful area. 4th time visit so says it all.

    Good morning Mr Fitzgerald thankyou for your feedback we glad that you enjoy staying at our cottage best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage and location as to be one of the best we have found as dog owners we couldn't have found a better spot ."

    .Literaly loads of walks on the doorstep especialy the weavers way,also a small walk to the church as well ..Quiet and peaceful and the cottage had everything you needed as we found as we forgot our dog bowls and we found the cottage had some ..Already looking forward to when we can return ..

    Good morning Mr Greenwood thankyou for your feedback we are glad you enjoyed you stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Jul 2020

  • "Wonderful the photo of the front of cottage does not do justice to the inside."

    Spotless inside and very well stocked with useful items for people to use while staying.An ideal retreat if you want a rest and enjoy holiday with your dog .Right in middle of countryside but within reach of places to go easy . Only 10 miles from Cromer beautiful sea side and beach -while lots of places small towns and villages. Excellent

    Good morning Miss Merrilion thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann &Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Mar 2020

  • "Very quiet and peaceful with plenty of wildlife to see."

    It was nice to find the little extras for us ( biscuits wine etc ). Great place for two.

    Good morning Mr Goldswain thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2020

  • "Great little place all you need for a lovely stay"

    Good morning Mr Gooch thankyou for your feedback glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Nov 2019

  • "The cottage was lovely & cosy & very quiet."

    Thought the pictures didn't do it justice.Great walks straight from the door my dog thoroughly enjoyed himself.

    Good morning Mrs Fletcher thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Oct 2019

  • "Super little cottage."

    The owners had provided everything you could need. Only slight niggle .There was no gate at front of property so very tricky letting dog out to do her business.

    Good morning Mrs Hensley thankyou for your feed back we’re glad you enjoy your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Sep 2019

  • "We've been to Lock Cottage before and was not disappointed again this year."

    It's very comfortable and situated in a good place for exploring the Norfolk coastline. There are wonderful walks just behind the cottage which are great for walking the dog. All in all a wonderful little gem and hope to return again in the future. Will definitely recommend. Gill and Peter Castle

    Good morning Mrs Castle thankyou for your feedback we’re so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our cottage best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Aug 2019

  • "Our fourth break at this lovely cottage."

    The weather was bad for most of the week but we still had a wonderful, relaxing time. The local walks from outside the front door are perfect for our two 13 year old dogs.They get really excited when they realise where they are.

    Good morning Mrs Ainsworth thankyou for your feedback we’re glad you enjoyed your stay best wishes Terryann & Mark Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jun 2019

  • "A cosy and well equipped cottage in wonderful countryside with pet friendly walks."

    Nice welcoming touches for adults and pets. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0May 2019

  • "Bathroom heater exceptionally good."

    Lots of coathangers in wardrobe. Lots of cupboard space. Good information in cottage. Good wi-fi connection. Bit tricky getting TV to work. Parking area meant vehicle covered in sticky sap and bits from trees which took 2hrs to clean off. Vehicle vandalised whilst parked right near cottage drying off, not on road and not blocking access to anyone. Would advise parking on verge 30-50m away. Great area for cycling round country lanes and to seaside.

    Reviewed by Judith4.4May 2019

  • "When we used the cottage last year the weather was good and we enjoyed our holiday and the cottage with our dog, Rosie."

    Sadly we lost Rosie at the end of last year but used the cottage anyway. Everything was as last year except the weather. It was very cold and we felt the central heating wasn't adequate. One evening I had 3 pairs of socks on to try and get my feet warm and had my fleece jacket over my legs. Likewise, my sister had a spare cardigan over her legs. Although the CH was set at a top rate of 22 degrees our clock barometer never read more than 16 degrees. If we put the electric fire on the CH went off and therefore, sadly, we were cold the whole time we were there which downrated our holiday. Apart from that the cottage is usually comfortable and certainly adequate but we were disappointed this time.

    Reviewed by June3.4Mar 2019

  • "I feel the cottage WAS really well equipped but I did find things like the hob, microwave and light switch in the bathroom were TOO complicated for the normal person."

    Plus one thing that I feel MUST be added on the cottage advert is you CANNOT get a mobile phone signal when you are in the cottage! This might be VERY important to some people!

    Reviewed by George4.7Mar 2019

  • "We have stayed in Lock Cottage twice before & so had no hesitation in booking again this time."

    We have booked again already for October 2019! Lovely location, lovely walks for dogs, great pubs nearby & towns for shopping. Beach only just over 5 miles away.

    Reviewed by Gary5.0Mar 2019

  • "Great little cottage for two (and dogs) A real bolthole with great walks from the doorstep"

    Reviewed by Pete4.4Feb 2019

  • "A peaceful, relaxing Christmas break, the tree and decorations were lovely and the cottage as cosy as ever."

    When the dogs recognised where we were they dragged us off for a walk before we could even unpack the car. Looking forward to going back next June

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Dec 2018

  • "This is a really nice holiday let, it has everything you need and is in a very quiet rural location."

    It is the second time I have stayed there which says it’s all. It is dog friendly and I took my bicycle as the area is perfect for cycling. Nice and clean and a nice welcome pack. All in all for the money - excellent.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Sep 2018

  • "We enjoyed our week at this comfortable cottage and would stay there again without any hesitation."

    The bed was fantastically comfortable which is very important when spending a week somewhere! There were nice big bath sheets and we were grateful for the washing machine! We have reduced our marks in some categories simply as the utensils in the kitchen could be better and we did struggle a little with the hob but got there in the end! The cottage was clean but a few things need attention - there was some mould in the bathroom and the windows were quite dirty. However this did not detract from us enjoying our time there. It’s located in a lovely quiet lane with walks right on your doorstep. Value for money we would give 10/10!

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.4Sep 2018

  • "Lovely, quaint, comfy cottage."

    Very well equipped. Only request would be bath sheets instead of Bath towels and bath mat. And it would be lovely to have a gate out the front so you could leave front door open and dogs could sit out there without fear of them running off as there is no garden.

    Reviewed by Letitia4.7Jul 2018

  • "We booked this cottage as an urgent week away in Norfolk to attend my Mum's funeral."

    We only choose this cottage because it was in the same village as the church and could not believe our luck to find it available, but what a delight it was. It was so peaceful and allowed us to chill and reflect before the funeral, taking quiet walks with our dog along the nature trails. The bed was amazing and the cottage very comfortable. What could have been a horrible week turned into quite an experience. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jul 2018

  • "Lovely little cottage in very peaceful area."

    Clean, comfortable and well equipped. Stairgate at bottom of stairs would have more useful than stairgate at top....to stop dogs going up stairs. Also a small gate outside to prevent dogs from going in road would have been useful.....we used boot rack for this purpose! Bath towels were very small....would have taken our own if I had known. Also there was no bath mat which was a shame. On plus side the bed was most comfortable we have ever slept in during years of self catering!

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Jul 2018

  • "Having not booked a cottage before we didn't know what to expect."

    What a surprise! A little Gem. We took our little yorkie (Millie) who had a wonderful time exploring the local walks. The cottage exceeded our expectations. Thank you so much. Gill & Peter Castle

    Reviewed by Gillian4.7Jun 2018

  • "Our second visit to this lovely cottage."

    Little touches like the milk,cake and wine are very welcome. Lovely walks from the doorstep and so peaceful. We will be back for Christmas and have already booked for next year

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Jun 2018

  • "We had a great relaxing time!"

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2018

  • "2 Lock Cottages is a fantastic cottage."

    It was clean and comfortable and had all the facilities that we required. As we stayed there over Christmas there was a lot of festive touches including a lovely Christmas tree. The location was perfect for us and our two dogs, being so close to many walks and the Norfolk Coast. Have already booked another holiday there.

    Reviewed by Lesley5.0Dec 2017

  • "Lovely cosy and well equipped cottage."

    Such a peaceful location. We booked to go back next year before we left

    Reviewed by Lynn5.0Sep 2017

  • "Delightful accommodation, as described on your website - brilliant"

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Sep 2017

  • "Great for long walks in lovely rural location."

    not far from beaches. Good base for local attractions. Cottage has every thing you need and more. Extremely comfortable and spacious bed.

    Reviewed by L5.0Sep 2017

  • "Very quiet location in the norfolk countryside -good for walks in the country -deer spotted -not very far to the coast -national trust properties nearby -short distance to norwich and the broads."

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Jun 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • One king-size double bedroom
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Calorgas Heating.
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with FreeSat, WiFi, selection of books, games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 mile
  • Check in - 4pm
  • Please note: This property only accepts Saturday changeovers. Please note: The property only accepts two small dogs.

The property

East Ruston 2 miles.

This lovely end-terrace property is situated on the outskirts of the Norfolk village of East Ruston.

An ideal holiday home for a couple wishing to explore the surrounding area of this beautiful part of the country.

When you step inside the front door there is a well-equipped kitchen to the left and then through to the sitting room with sofa bed and dining area.

There is also a shower room with shower, basin and WC on the ground floor.

Upstairs is a comfortable king-size double bedroom.

Just a short stroll away is the Museum of the Broads, one of many activities available just a stroll from the cottage.

A little further afield is Hickling Broad, the largest of the broads and a haven for wildlife such as dragonflies, cranes and kingfishers, so why not hire a boat out for the day and explore the waterways?

There are many fishing, boating, walking and cycling opportunities close by, as well as some splendid nature reserves.

Alternatively, visit the town of Wroxham, the historic city of Norwich and many other thriving towns and small villages along the coastline.

View on map

About the location

EAST RUSTON

Wroxham 9.5 miles, Norwich 16.5 miles.

The unspoilt scattered village of East Ruston is located in the north-east of Norfolk, and sits on the edge of the Norfolk Broads and is just a few miles from the Norfolk coast, offering lovely sandy beaches. The village of East Ruston has a pub serving food, access to the Weavers' Way footpath, which passes through the village, lovely lakes, including a fishing lake and common areas enjoyed by walkers and wildlife. East Ruston is home to the acclaimed East Ruston Old Vicarage gardens, offering stunning garden rooms, a must-visit for anyone with a liking for gardening! Just a short drive and you can enjoy the beaches at Sea Palling and Waxham, both of which are dog friendly. NT Horsey Wind Pump is also nearby, as is Witton, an ancient wood ideal for walking, biking or picnics. In the local towns of Stalham or Wroxham you can hire a motor boat cruiser for touring the broads waterway. Wroxham is the capital of the Norfolk Broads offering shops, restaurants, waterfront bars and, just outside the town, the award-winning children’s attraction Bewilderwood. From the market town of North Walsham you can take the train to the Victorian seaside town of Cromer or the city of Norwich, with its array of cultural and leisure facilities.

Note: Babes-in-arms only

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas