Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 0 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 32 View Image Gallery
  • 2 Cae Mattw - North Wales - 1077175 - photo 1
close

2 Cae Mattw

(Ref. 1077175)

Betws Yn Rhos, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (26)
  • views (23)
  • our (22)
  • stay (20)
  • great (19)
  • cottage (17)

50 Customer Reviews

  • "A beautiful property."

    The fixtures and fittings are lovely. We were left a welcome pack that had bread, butter, milk and eggs. There were also tea, coffee and sugar and other cupboard stock. The house was lovely and warm. The view is amazing and the little settee in front of the window was so nice to sit at. The beds are comfortable and clean. The WiFi was great and the living room settee had an added bonus of reclining. Parking was easy and very spacious. We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Eve5.0Feb 2024

  • "This was the first time we'd opted to go away from an hotel stay in favor of a cottage & were delighted we did!"

    Cae Mattw both met & surpassed our expections.... a real home from home property, beautifully set up with everything you could possibly need & stunning views to die for. location was perfect for what we had planned we were perfectly placed centrally. From early morning beach walks with the dog while our teenage children slept in building up enough energy to go tour the magnificent castles, beaches, historic landmarks & the high octane Zip world! As each night drawn in we sat in peace & tranquility gazing out the large windows with a glass of wine. we've already recommended the place to several friends & would definitely revisit ourselves in the future. Our dog was very disappointed on our return having to swap beach walks to being back pounding the pavements.

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Feb 2024

  • "This is a lovely property in a great area, and this was the 3rd consecutive year we booked , but this time there were a few issues which significantly impacted comfort and have been raised in previous reviews dating back some months, but sadly not rectified."

    You cannot get hot water in the main bathroom, the water runs warm for only a few minutes. The switch that changes between tap fill and shower head on the bath is broken, so you cannot get water from the tap, only the hand held shower. The ensuite wet room shower drains very slowly, after 3 very quick showers the water was almost to the door, and the water was cold by then end of the 3rd shower. We contacted the owner and were advised to turn the heating down in order to get more hot water. We attempted to alter the thermostat, but it didn't work as per the instructions we eventually found in a drawer. On the 2nd morning we had no heating and the house was very cold. Again we made the owners aware and the only response received was that it seemed they needed to call a plumber. We had booked for 3 nights, but did not stay for the 3rd. We were left very disappointed having enjoyed our previous 2 stays and won't be back next year.

    Thank you so much for the feedback and as mentioned it is an oil boiler which heats differently to a combo boiler but like all heating once the room has reached the desired temperature it will switch off. I mentioned turning down the radiators for a time to allow the water tank to refill for your showers. The house would have got cold if the radiators were not switched to the on or on very low. In your text you did not mention you were cold as I would have fixed this - I am sorry you decided to go home without contacting us first as this could have been avoided. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lindsay2.8Nov 2023

  • "Such a lovely holiday cottage, we really enjoyed our stay."

    We were lucky to have a couple of really nice days, and the views from the sitting area were fantastic. The garden was secure for our dog, and we even managed to save a couple of pears from going to waste :-) The Wheatsheaf Inn is less than a 5 min walk away and definitely worth a visit.

    Reviewed by Natalie5.0Oct 2023

  • "Fantastic"

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Sep 2023

  • "An amazing house very modern great views lovely and clean had everything we needed"

    Reviewed by Nicola4.4Sep 2023

  • "Beautiful house, lovely views, my family and I had a lovely time, very thoughtful welcome pack"

    Reviewed by Natalie4.4Sep 2023

  • "This was third visit love the house and village."

    Stayed at new year and in April. However we were very disappointed the garden had still not been cleaned up. Grass had not been mowed and weeds everywhere other visitors had not picked up pooh in the garden. This would not be ideal for young children to play in. Wasn’t even nice to sit in the garden. Bins are overloaded outside when we arrived and no room for any more rubbish.

    Thank you for your feedback and I am very disappointed to hear of the state of the garden - we are in the process of recruiting a new gardener as our current gardener has been having personal problems. As you will be aware the bins are emptied every Monday if recycled correctly - this could have been resolved with a quick text for this to be removed and the previous guests charged for the private collection. Many thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen2.5Aug 2023

  • "Beautiful house, lovely village with friendly people in local shop and pub."

    A good base for exploring nearby attractions. Very good hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Jul 2023

  • "Upside down layout was great."

    Superb views. Ideally placed for everything we wanted to do. Great local store. Well equipped kitchen. Bedside table would have been useful in twin. Bins needed downstairs and toilet brush in en suite. No welcome book/details. Would have been useful. We did bins as instructed but bin men did not empty. We later thought maybe we should have moved bins to nearer edge of property but no instructions left to tell us this. Enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend.

    Thank you so much for the feedback - appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maureen4.4Jun 2023

  • "Sink plug in the bathroom needs replacing, not working properly."

    Could do with instructions for equipment such as microwave and TVs etc. Head rest on one of the recliners needs fixing. Could do with sunshades on large windows to keep the rooms cooler. Really a great place to stay, but just needs tweaks to make it perfect.

    Reviewed by Margaret4.4Jun 2023

  • "We found that the washing machine was filthy in the dispenser and the drum."

    With a 6 month old baby,this was unacceptable.my son in law cleaned it the best he could.the knives were very blunt,we bought our own.no bins in the bathrooms,we used a carrier bag.could do with more cutlery and crockery.and a pizza cutter! The balcony was very dirty,could do with a good scrub.and the grass was very long.the worst thing was the strong smell of oil,where it was so bad that the doors were shut ,this was reported while we stayed there. The good points is that it was a lovely house,in a nice area and very peaceful.

    Reviewed by Shirley3.1Jun 2023

  • "We visit family in the area and this was our first visit to the property and we weren’t disappointed."

    It’s a well appointed and comfortable property. Even down to the decor, including ornaments which have been carefully thought out and makes it very homely. The outlook is beautiful across countryside down to the coast. There is a local pub and very well stocked store within a short walking distance which is really nice to have. The only thing we found was the double bed was a bit small. I am 6’2” and used to a king size bed, so found it a bit cramped. As a suggestion I wonder if the twin room could have 2 singles that push together to make a King if required. But it will not put us off staying again, having booked for another week in September. All in all a lovely, clean, well appointed property in a lovely part of North Wales. Highly recommended.

    Thank you so much for your comments and we really will consider your feedback - very much appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clive5.0May 2023

  • "The positives to the property were spacious and good quality furnishings."

    Great village location. Stunning views from upstairs. The negatives were on arrival main tv was not working we had to try various leads into back of tv as some had been pulled out and pins bent. Working eventually. No batteries in remote for dining room tv and batteries not working in kitchen tv. No replacements. Both hoovers were full upstairs one was damp with smelly dog hair so had to empty both before use. No property folder to advise how appliances work. Only one sharp kitchen knife which was so large impossible to cut salad items with. In en suite only one bulb out of three working. Shower control broken so unable to turn to regulate temperature very hot. Bath only able to have about 5 inches of hot water before it ran cold. Shower attachment on bath switch broken. The grass was really long so did an inspection before our dog went out and found four lots of old dog poo. General garden untidy and needed attention. Having said that we had a lovely holiday and the village and neighbors were friendly.

    Thank you for your comments and as requested we do ask guests to make contact if any issues - we resolved the issue with the TV but swearing down the phone is not acceptable. I agree the garden was unruly however we were unable to do this due to such wet weather we have encountered prior to your stay. I could have easily explained the water and heating had you rang to ask but I guess you were a little embarrassed about your language to me in front of my children. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon3.1May 2023

  • "Loved this cottage clean and tidy and had everything we needed"

    Reviewed by Gail5.0Feb 2023

  • "It's a lovely place and we were very pleased with the cottage overall."

    Few things we noticed and would like to pass on to you as a suggestion, more than criticism, were that there were no bins in the bathrooms, and it would be better if we had some. The hot water in the main bathroom is not enough to fill the bath or have a 5 min shower as it gets cold after that, so we all ended up using the shower in the en-suite which was not ideal but it wasn't a problem either since the shower is great! The en-suite shower drain is quite slow and might need some cleaning. As a family, we're very keen cooks, so as a suggestion, it would be nice to have a sharper knife. It would also be helpful to have larger pots since the ones available were not really enough for five guests – mainly over Christmas. Spare bowls would be nice to avoid having to wash them straight away or with a half full dishwasher. It might be helpful to other guests If you informed them that bedrooms can get quite noisy if someone is walking upstairs. The cottage is really beautiful, very well decorated and really well located, and we were very impressed with the cleaning standards. The instructions were quite clear, we had no problems at all – thanks for that! We would most definitely recommend and would love to come back again in future.

    Reviewed by Sueli5.0Dec 2022

  • "The accommodation is lovely with fabulous views."

    The twin room would benefit from a bedside table and lamp and a bin somewhere downstairs would be helpful.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Dec 2022

  • "Lovely cottage well presented."

    Nice and clean, well equipped. Great base for exploring North Wales.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our second visit to 2 Cae Mattw and we just love this accommodation and being able to look out at the scenery."

    There was everything needed to make our stay perfect for us and it was especially nice to be welcomed with milk, butter, bread, eggs and a bottle of wine. We had our usual trips to Llandudno and once again had a wonderful holiday.

    Reviewed by Audrey4.4Oct 2022

  • "The property is absolutely stunning we loved everything about it, the area was so picturesque we didn’t want to leave."

    Plus the added touch of milk, eggs and bread was so thoughtful thank you so much

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Sep 2022

  • "Spacious, family accommodation Beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean Comfortable Peaceful, quite location Within an easy drive of most attractions and beaches we wanted to visit."

    Reviewed by Nigel4.7Aug 2022

  • "The cottage was beautifully and brightly decorated with fantastic views across fields to the sea from the lounge and dining areas."

    All the mod cons were provided, including a wine fridge. Beds were very comfy, clean, great shower and plenty of towels. Balcony was amazing to relax on in the evenings. Only drawback was that most of the footpaths in village (some have disappeared!) had an impassable stile for our dog - too high to go over and/or no space to go under. This meant we could only do short walks from cottage- not a fault of cottage owners, but useful info if you have energetic dog like ours. Would recommend the cottage, just be prepared to explore away from the little village.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jul 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Beautiful house and perfect for our family of 5. Would definitely go back again and will recommend. A second pillow on the kids beds and bigger towels would be my only suggestions but that is only personal preference

    Reviewed by Claire3.8Jul 2022

  • "A fantastic place to stay, and great location, we would love to come back again!"

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jul 2022

  • "Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location , the views are amazing We had a ..."

    Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location , the views are amazing We had a lovely week and loved it that much we are booking again for next year

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Jul 2022

  • "Had a great week at this lovely cottage."

    It was very central for all the things we had to do. The hosts were very attentive and we had everything we needed. Would recommend this cottage to anyone coming to the area.

    Reviewed by A5.0Jul 2022

  • "An ace place."

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Garry5.0Jun 2022

  • "There was an issue with the vaccum cleaner not charging also no potato masher ..."

    There was an issue with the vaccum cleaner not charging also no potato masher had to mash potato's with a fork, could do with a info book giving details of refuse collection other than that: I would highly recommend 2 Cae Mattw, lovely views,Spacious would book again xx

    Reviewed by Julie4.4May 2022

  • "This is undoubtedly a lovely house."

    The views are spectacular, it’s beautifully decorated. It has lush Roman blinds on most of the windows and the beds are comfortable. The Wi-Fi is fast and all 4 televisions work well. The drive is spacious, easily fitting our two cars. The furnishings are fine. There was always plenty of hot water. I filled the bird feeders and enjoyed watching sparrows, blue tits and finches dropping by. The welcome pack was useful although we did bring most of what was provided with us anyway. We’ve always been happy with just a pint of milk in the fridge. Having stayed in lots of Sykes cottages we did think this property lacked in some areas given its rental cost and rating. We were a party of 4 adults and one infant. Usually there is an information folder about recycling, waste collection, nearest doctors, dentists etc. There were no instructions for any of the appliances. Obviously we could have asked the owner if we’d really needed assistance. We could only find 1 back door key. There were no bedside tables, cabinets or lamps in the twin room. There were no shelves, toothbrush holders or hooks in the bathrooms. A waste bin anywhere on the ground floor, perhaps in the utility room would have been useful as would a seat in the hallway to sit and remove outdoor shoes. Each single bed had only one pillow although there were decorative cushions. There were 3 saucepans and 2 lids. We could have done with some more crockery, glassware and cutlery. For a house that sleeps 5, 6 mugs, 3 wine glasses, (one of which was chipped) 5 bowls and 6 sets of adult cutlery seemed very sparse. We had to wash up after every meal and drink rather than filling the 12 setting dishwasher. The towels, while of good quality, were too small, even for my size 8 daughter-in-law. The vacuum cleaner was left full. The house was very peaceful with very little passing traffic at night. I would recommend buying from the Dolwen farm shop nearby, their lamb was delicious, and a breakfast at Bryn Williams at Porto Eiras.

    Reviewed by Marion4.7May 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cae Mattw, the house is in a great location with fantastic views across the beautiful Welsh countryside."

    Clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated, a real home from home. The owner Lucy was most helpful at the start of our week, many thanks. We definitely recommend staying here and would love to visit Wales again.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2022

  • "A really lovely cottage, well designed and equipped."

    Lovely distant views over farmland towards the coast. A good local shop/post office/ off licence rolled into one and great pub (The Wheatsheaf) within a 5 minute walk. Great location for getting into both Snowdonia and the coast. Highly recommend and would definitely re-book.

    Reviewed by Colin Geoffrey5.0Apr 2022

  • "We recently stayed here and had the best ever time the cottage has everything you need and so much more, the location is fantastic the village is lovely and friendly."

    The children loved having the garden to play in and the balcony was a truly fabulous wow factor with stunning views I would stay here again in a heart beat and I'd reccomend to anyone. A true gem of a cottage miss it miss and you have missed out!

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2022

  • "There were five of us and it was a very nice cottage with lovely views in a nice village setting with shop, garage and pub."

    Plenty of televisions, ample parking off road, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher. The welcome pack was a nice touch and there was plenty of tea, coffee and sugar. We found a few missing that would have been handy:- there was no teapot or potato masher and no pegs for the outside drying line. There was a battery vacuum cleaner however after trying to use it we found the head was totally blocked, it took me 15 minutes to clear it, only to find that on an overnight charge it lasted 10 seconds!

    Reviewed by Martin4.4Apr 2022

  • "Great accommodation, nicely decorated, spotlessly clean, lovely views from the balcony weather was amazing during our stay so was lovely seating on the balcony with a glass of wine in the evening, after a day of exploring local area of Conwy."

    Garden was great for our little dog, although as seen in other reviews dog poo was left from previous clients which as a responsible dog owner was not nice but no fault of the owners. Lovely bottle of wine, bread, eggs etc left which was a nice welcome to this beautiful cottage. Highly recommend a stay in this lovely village, in a beautiful area of Wales

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Mar 2022

  • "The property was actually better than described, very well appointed and probably one of the most comfortably furnished holiday cottages we've used."

    There were many small touches that really put this property above others, for example we stayed over shrove Tuesday and the owner had left a recipe to make pancakes. I would really recommend this property for a stay in a small but well located village away from the crowds but not too far from really good places of interest.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Feb 2022

  • "On first arriving the property looked a little tired outside, but it was February, unfortunately one of the first sights was dog poo in the garden."

    The cottage was nicely presented and looked to have everything we needed. After a long journey the first stop for us both was the bathroom , unfortunately there was no toilet roll in the en-suite which was a bit awkward. The mattress on the small double bed was so soft it felt like a water bed so we ended up sleeping in single beds!. The kitchen would benefit from a few more utensils, like a bread knife or at least sharpen the two knives that are there. Also at least a couple of dishwasher tablets to get started with. The rubbish bins outside were full so we had nowhere to leave the rubbish. There was no holder for the toilet roll which we had to buy in the en-suite also no shelf to put shampoo etc on or anywhere to hang clothing up. There was still food in the freezer and the cupboard. Very disappointed !!!

    Apologies that you have not had a great stay but thank you for your feedback - much appreciated. However may I add as you know as a dog owner yourself we allow dogs to stay and our cleaner regularly checks our garden for those guests that may have forgotten to pick up for themselves but this can be an oversight snd I have fed this back to our cleaner. Toilet roll was in the main bathroom for you to make use of. The bed is a regular double bed that I bought from John Lewis when I lived there and cost over £1k - unfortunately soft medium hard is personal choice and I cannot accommodate everyone but again apologies that you decided to stay on the single beds. I said in my welcome pack please give me a ring if you had any questions and I would have rectified the knives - thank you for your helpful feedback.l I will rectify the knife concerns. All the pans, serving dishes, wines glasses were for my family of 5 when I lived there and I have not had any complaints so I am surprised there were not enough utensils for the 2 of you? With regards to the bins - you arrived Friday - the bin men come on a Monday hence the bins being full. May I also comment that this is self catering so rolls of toilet roll, dishwasher tabs (which are available)don’t have to be added to my welcome pack of wine, milk, eggs, tea, coffee, sugar and butter which you were happy to have. Once again thank you for your feedback Property Owner

    Reviewed by Keith2.5Feb 2022

  • "Really lovely stay, excellent quality and beautiful views."

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Feb 2022

  • "Just returned from short stay in North Wales."

    Our stay at this accommodation was very comfortable and met all our needs. Good views and excellent location from exploring this area .The home was very clean, warm and inviting with all facilities we required.Thank you

    Reviewed by Heather4.4Jan 2022

  • "I'm always reticent when booking dog friendly cottages."

    Shouldn't have worried! This is the best cottage we have ever stayed in. Clean modern comfortable and handy for Abergele and the North Wales coast. Can't recommend highly enough. Our friends are going in March on our recommendation. Thanks to Lucy for a great holiday and for the welcome pack and bottle of red.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Jan 2022

  • "We had such a great time, sad to leave!"

    ! The property was extremely clean, high spec, had everything a family needed which included a dish washer, washing machine and tumble drier, the log burner was amazing too. Very comfortable beds. The welcome pack was very much appreciated, perfect after our long journey and for next morning breakfast. The layout in property was perfect and great storage provided. Netflix was great to have too. 4 TVs throughout property. Views absolutely stunning! The person in the little local shop down the road (5mins walk)was so helpful and small shop was well stocked and even gave our son a Christmas prezzie (chocolates) and free hot chocolate drink as mummy was poorly with cold. So friendly and welcoming. Overall, we loved the holiday let and village. Location perfect for walks and distance to get to coast. We will be back as soon as we can!

    Reviewed by Llinos5.0Dec 2021

  • "Beautiful, clean and modern property."

    Easy to find and instructions were clear. Everything you would need was to hand and we instantly felt at home and comfortable. The log burner is a lovely cozy touch. The only criticism - and it's minor - was no DVD player but so glad there was a modern TV enabling us to login to our Netflix account! The views across the fields are stunning, the wine, milk, bread, welsh cakes, welcome card with number should we have any issues, were all thoughtful and lovely touches. Must also mention the pear tree with an abundance of delicious fruit! We definitely recommend this holiday property and would love to stay again.

    Reviewed by Pierrette5.0Oct 2021

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at 2, Cae Mattw, it certainly had the 'wow' factor for us."

    The views were wonderful and being able to see the sea whilst sitting in the dining or lounging areas were an added bonus. The property is stunning and was extremely comfortable for us. We hope to return in the future. Llandudno is a favourite place of ours to visit and we found it easily accessible.

    Reviewed by Audrey4.7Oct 2021

  • "The house is beautiful, I loved everything about it."

    The views were fantastic. I would deginitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at 2 Cae Mattw the cottage is in a great location, it is situated in a lovely village with a shop and pub within walking distance."

    We visited Llandudno, Conway and Llanwrwst. The living accommodation benefitted from the lovely views of the countryside and sea in the distance. Highly recommended!

    Reviewed by Jacqueline4.1Sep 2021

  • "A very comfortable property with plenty of places to visit nearby."

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Sep 2021

  • "We had a lovely break in Betws yn Rhos at 2 Cae Mattw."

    One of our lasting memories of the holiday will be the view from the windows of the dining area and lounge down toward the coast. It is tremendous and always changing. It would have been so frustrating if the living and dining areas were on the ground floor. The balcony was great too for al fresco breakfasts, star gazing and much in between. The way that we were made to feel so welcome, even though there was no one there to welcome us, was pretty marvellous too. All aspects of the house seem to have been put together to a high standard and we have come away inspired with a few ideas which we might employ in our home. We could definitely have stayed longer!

    Reviewed by Les5.0Sep 2021

  • "Lovely peaceful rural setting and very helpful hosts."

    Located in an ideal location to relax but also access the beaches and activities in Snodownia ( this was important for us as we had kids of various ages). We enjoyed our stay!

    Reviewed by Fadzai4.4Aug 2021

  • "It was a peaceful location but near to beach and outdoor activities."

    The cycle routes and running trails are perfect. The cottage was homely and spacious with great WiFi. We are booking this cottage again for next year. The

    Reviewed by Fiaz5.0Jul 2021

  • "Initial impression was excellent, a beautiful property, well presented and in a lovely quiet location and the items left by the owners were a lovely touch and welcoming on arrival."

    Once we settled in though we identified a few problems, particularly in the kitchen. Main problems were with the fridge that wasn't working properly (not cooling), the dishwasher which was also not functioning properly (didn't seem to work every time it was used) and finally the TV reception was very intermittent making it unwatchable. The general cleanliness was OK at a surface level but in corners and under the reclining sofa needed a very thorough clean, as did the balcony. It seemed clear that the property hadn't been used much recently, the washing machine smelled and the vacuum cleaner also smelled when in use. The kitchen looked beautiful but would benefit from a few more items such as serving bowls, oven trays and more cutlery to make it more versatile. The en-suite bathroom would benefit from some hooks to hang clothes on, the only option was to leave things draped over the sink or on the toilet. Also no toilet roll holders so again these had to be placed on either the sink or the cistern. Given the floors were all laminated it would have been useful to have a mop and bucket to hand in case of spillages. Some waste bins in the bedrooms or utility room would have been useful. It was a lovely property but when paying £1000 for a week we wouldn't have expected to have had these issues, hopefully the owners will be able to address these. We wish the owners well, once these small issues are addressed this will be an amazing property.

    Reviewed by Charles3.4Jul 2021

  • "What a beautiful cottage sitting in the most beautiful of rural settings we couldnt have asked for more."

    We loved our stay here, it was definately home away from home was so so peaceful & comfortable, just what the Dr ordered. Lucy the owner was very kind & welcoming we had wonderful food & wine package on our arrival, so covenient if your too tired to unpack. We would definately plan a return holiday here.

    Reviewed by Daljit5.0Jul 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Reverse-level
  • Three ground-floor bedrooms: 1 x double with TV and en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • First-floor open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility
  • First-floor sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Balcony
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Gas range cooker and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • 3 x TVs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Garden with lawn
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.1 mile, pub 0.2 miles

The property

In the rural village of Betws Yn Rhos, rests this semi-detached cottage, 2 Cae Mattw.

This reverse-level cottage has beautiful views of the countryside and the sea, and sleeping up to five guests, 2 Cae Mattw is a charming setting for your next family getaway to North Wales, within easy reach of Abergele and Colwyn Bay.

You are greeted to the property by a large private driveway, where you take a few steps up to the front door and enter via the utility room, which has a handy washing machine and tumble dryer.

Moving through the ground-floor there is a sweet single bedroom with great storage space to unpack personal belongings, a twin room allowing for flexible sleeping arrangements and a well-decorated double bedroom with a wall-mounted TV, an en-suite shower room so you can get ready in style and patio doors out to the garden.

To complete the ground-floor, there is a spacious bathroom with the choice to take a long soak or a quick freshen up under the shower.

Climbing up the glass-panelled staircase in this reverse-level cottage, there is a well-equipped and contemporary kitchen with black marble work tops, a dishwasher and a small TV, adjoining to this is a dining area where you can gather round the table to enjoy a home-cooked meal, or head out the patio doors to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony whilst admiring the views.

The dining area also has a colorful feature wall with a sofa to enjoy the views through the large windows, which also makes the space very bright and airy.

To finish the property there is a sitting room where a feature fireplace takes centre stage, with its woodburning stove adding warmth to the room and a great amount of sofa space, making it a perfect place for the whole family to enjoy a movie night.

Outside there is a spacious enclosed garden, with plenty of lawn to impress your fur friend and a patio so you can enjoy an evening under the stars.

Betws Yn Rhos is a peaceful village, just set back from the hustle and bustle of Abergele, and is home to a shop for any essentials you may need during your stay, a post office, a pub which serves real ale and food, and has a dog-friendly beer garden, and The Silver Birch golf course which has an 18-hole course, and is home to the first 18-hole Footgolf in Wales, which makes for a great afternoon out.

A short drive into the market town of Abergele, you will find the Manorafon Farm Park which is a great animal park for children, the stunning Gwrych Castle and its surroundings gardens and walks with a view, a long beach which offers safe bathing waters and watersport opportunities, as well as ample shops, bars and eateries for when you feel like enjoying an evening away from the kitchen.

For a more active holiday, the area is great for walking and cycling with a coastal path going from Colwyn Bay, through Llanddulas and into Abergele, the 177-mile Offa's Dyke pathway, which runs from North to South Wales, the beautiful Clwydian Hill Range and the village of Betws-y-Coed, which is known as the "gateway to Eryri (Snowdonia)'', offering attractions like Zip World and Surf Snowdonia, an artificial wave pool.

Also nearby are the beautiful castles of Rhuddlan, Bodelwyddan, Conwy and Caernarfon, and the delightful Victorian town of Llandudno, which is home to shops, eateries, a fantastic dry ski slope and cable car rides over Great Orme.

This area makes for an action packed and picturesque holiday, so choose 2 Cae Mattw as your base.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location

BETWS YN RHOS

Abergele 4.5 miles;

Betws yn Rhos is a peaceful Welsh village with a local village shop, Post Office and friendly village pub which offers quality dining, real ales, games room and dog-friendly beer garden. The Silver Birch golf course is a welcoming Pay and Play 18-hole course, which is also home to the first 18-hole Footgolf in Wales, suitable for all ages and skills. Within 4 miles you will find the sandy beaches and coastal path leading from Colwyn Bay, through Llanddulas and into Abergele, which is a pleasant seaside town on the lovely North Wales coastline and is ideally positioned between the stunning Vale of Clwyd and the lovely Conwy Valley. Renowned for the impressive Gwrych Castle which overlooks the town and its enormous sandy beach, the whole area offers safe bathing waters and excellent watersports facilities. There is also a coastal cycle path which runs along the Abergele seafront, and for walking enthusiasts, the Offa's Dyke pathway, the Clwydian Hill Range and beautiful Betws-y-Coed known as the "gateway to Snowdonia" with Zip World and Surf Snowdonia all within easy travelling distance. The beautiful castles of Rhuddlan, Bodelwyddan, Conwy and Caernarfon are not to be missed, and the delightful Victorian town of Llandudno, offering quality shops, restaurants, a fantastic dry ski slope and exciting cable car rides over the Great Orme is nearby. There is plenty to do in this wonderful region at any time of the year!

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas