Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

8 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Bwthyn y Mor - North Wales - 1007285 - photo 1

Bwthyn y Mor

(Ref. 1007285)

Borth-y-Gest near Porthmadog, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • lovely (15)
  • location (12)
  • our (12)
  • everything (10)
  • bed (10)
  • clean (9)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "We enjoyed our stay ."

    The house was very dusty and needed a deep clean . The seal around the shower was not very clean it could have done with a good bleach . The dryer part of the washing machine didn’t work

    Thanks for your feedback Rhiannon, we’re glad that you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the issues you had, we do wish that you had got in touch during your holiday, which would’ve given us the opportunity to address them while you were there. The cleaner usually does a great job (witnessed in our overall 92% cleanliness score), so we will investigate this. We regularly use a bleach cleaning spray on the shower seal, it will be renewed over the winter. Thanks for letting me know about the dryer, that has now been repaired. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rhiannon3.1Sep 2023

  • "Lovely cottage in a perfect location."

    Owner very helpful over minor query. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and hope to be back next year!

    Thanks for your feedback Wendy. Glad that you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you next year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely cottage ideal for our small family."

    Entertainment and essentials were appreciated and the location was perfect for a relaxing break that was in close proximity to beaches and attractions by foot and car. Recommended.

    Thanks very much for your feedback Adam. Great to hear that you enjoyed the cottage and your holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adam5.0Jul 2023

  • "We were disappointed with our holiday."

    We were told to enjoy complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits & milk there was none! There wasn't a facility to charge my toothbrush. The garden/ patio area was unkempt. The pillows on the bed were as flat as pancakes. I don't understand why we have to bring our own tea towels as well as towels, COVID has long gone. There was nowhere to buy a newspaper & milk as stated in the write up.

    Thanks for your feedback Elaine, we’re sorry that you were disappointed with your holiday. I do wish that you had contacted us while you were there, which would’ve given us the opportunity to address most of your issues:- 1) Apologies for the tea, coffee, milk, biscuits and tea towels, which will have been an oversight by the housekeeper. 2) There is a 2 pin adapter for shavers/electric toothbrushes in the main bedroom drawers. 3) I will ask the gardener to look at the patio. 4) The pillows are fairly new but I will check them, there are 2 per person with extra pillows available as required. 5) Apologies, the property description on the website is out of date, as the nearby cafe no longer sells milk and newspapers (nearest shop is 1 mile away). I will get the description updated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Elaine3.4Jul 2023

  • "Property was as described and suited us fine."

    We had stayed nearby previously so knew the area and facilities well. This property was better than the previous one and had a few more amenities. A few minor problems were dealt with very quickly by the owner. Looking forward to a further visit.

    Thanks very much for your feedback John. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John5.0Jun 2023

  • "A lovely home."

    Clean and well equipped. Had everything we needed. A very enjoyable stay, thank you. We loved the area Borth-Y-Gest. Will definitely be returning!

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Oct 2022

  • "A clean, well-equipped cottage in a beautiful location."

    No complaints.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Oct 2022

  • "We first visited this property 5 years ago."

    Nothing has changed since then except for a lovely new shower room. The rest of the property including the bedding looks tired and in need of refurbishing. No Toilet roll holder in downstairs toilet. Just a hole in the wall where it had fallen off. The front garden was overgrown so much that we were getting wet brushing against the hedge using the front door after it had rained. The owner did cut it down after our initial feedback submission but it was still too close to front door. A big problem with this property is the open garden. Many properties have enclosed the garden with a small picket fence. This should be an essential addition to the property as guests with small children and dogs cannot open the French doors into the garden when it’s hot and as it’s south facing and there are no other opening windows in lounge it can quickly become uncomfortably hot. It could be a lovely property in a lovely location. It was clean and there were lots of helpful items left in the property like hand wash, dishwasher tablets, dishcloths etc but it’s very much in need of a refurbishment,

    Thanks for your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your holiday. A few notes regarding your comments:- 1) The property was refurbished in March this year. Most of the rooms were re-decorated, the shower room refurbished (new shower panels, shower and flooring) and new landing/stairs carpet. 2) The bed linen was recently replaced. 3) As you say, the hedge was cut during your stay, in response to your complaint. I called in today and cannot see an issue with access to the front door. 4) The toilet roll holder was on the wall 2 weeks ago when I called in and I only became aware of it during your stay. It was replaced today. 5) The website is quite clear, stating that the garden is not enclosed. You would’ve known this from your previous visit Property Owner

    Reviewed by June3.8Jun 2022

  • "A fantastic stay at Bwythyn y Mor which is comfortable, clean and has everything that you want."

    The home is bright and airy and had plenty of space for us as a family of four with an infant and two dogs. The beds were comfortable with plenty of storage space and tbe lounge was huge with two large sofas. The separate loo downstairs is a bonus and the kitchen is stocked with everything you need for your stay and to cook for the whole family. Set in a perfect location, just a stones throw from the beach, with a lovely restaurant (which does a great breakfast) the location is fantastic and there is a lovely cut through walk into Porthmadog via the harbour. Unfortunately (and we don't get to say this often in this country) the weather was too hot so with the dogs and the little one we weren't able to do the coastal path walk to Black Rock Sands but we have heard it is well worth doing so will try to do on our next trip. The only thing I would say could do with upgrading at Bwythyn y Mor would be the patio area at the back could do with making bigger and the flags laying again as they move. Having dogs and a little one, if it perhaps had a small fence around the patio with a little gate, it would be a perfect area to relax and enjoy the outdoors. All in all we had a brilliant time and would definitely return to Bwythyn y Mor and recommend it to others.

    Thanks for your feedback, we’re glad you enjoyed your holiday at Bwthyn Y Mor. Good to hear that you would recommend and would like to return. The loose patio flags have now been re-set. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Jun 2022

  • "First time staying here and what a lovely property in a perfect location, tucked away in the beautiful Borth-Y-Gest with easy access to the beach and coastal walks and near by Porthmadog."

    Lovely property to stay in to celebrate New Years eve with friends, warm, welcoming and comfortable for six of us to stay together for a few days. Well equipped kitchen, very clean property, with comfortable couches and beds, bedding was supplied and of a good standard. We will definitely be back to stay again!

    Reviewed by Nichola5.0Dec 2021

  • "Had a fabulous week at Bwthyn Y Mor."

    It had everything I needed with a well equipped kitchen , good wi fi, which enabled me to work for the first 2 days and the addition of the smart TV fabulous for a couple of rainy nights including storm Barra. The only thing missing was a torch/ candles as the village had a power cut during the storm but hardly a normal occurrence ! I wanted a weeks relaxing with my dog and the accommodation and Borth Y Gest delivered.

    Reviewed by Eleanor4.7Dec 2021

  • "Unfortunately, whilst this property was adequate for our needs the general standard of maintenance we expect from Menai Property holidays below the standard expected."

    e.g. the paintwork required upgrading throughout. Bathroom floorboards need attention as there appears to have been a leak which has also badly stained the landing carpets. The ceiling in the kitchen needs a repair The sofa covers in the living room are very grubby and need cleaning. The carton of milk left in the fridge for us was out of date.

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry that the cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately we were unable to travel (due to covid travel restrictions) after October 2020 until April 2021 to do planned winter maintenance. Since re-opening in April 2021 we have been fully booked with insufficient time between lets to address what you have mentioned. We are planning to refurbish accordingly during the quieter winter months. As you have mentioned, we did have a leak, the visual effects of which are fairly minor and hopefully didn’t detract from the enjoyment of your holiday. We apologise regarding the milk error, there must have been an older carton at the back of the storage cupboard that we missed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine3.4Oct 2021

  • "Overall the property is very tired and desperate need of repainting throughout."

    .carpets need changing and bathroom floor. Main bed creeks everytime you move...overal not up to our expections... We still enjoyed our holiday as borth y gest is beautiful and lots to see and do

    Thank you for your feedback and we’re sorry that the cottage didn’t meet your expectations. Unfortunately we were unable to travel (due to covid travel restrictions) after October 2020 until April 2021 to do planned winter maintenance. Since re-opening in April 2021 we have been fully booked with insufficient time between lets to address what you have mentioned. We are planning to refurbish accordingly during the quieter winter months. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tracey3.4Sep 2021

  • "Great cottage location, we've found everything we needed."

    Beautiful place and lovely people. Would love to come back.

    Reviewed by Maria5.0May 2021

  • "We had a lovely holiday in Bwthyn y Mor."

    The house is very comfortable and the area is very quiet. Despite the fact there is no fenced in garden you can still sit outside in a seating area. This backs onto a very pleasant grassed area where we saw squirrels and lots of different birds - we even had 2 ducks calling at the house every evening waiting to be fed! Borth-Y-Gest is a lovely place to stay with walks from the doorstep and is within easy reach of everywhere you would want to visit. I would definitely recommend it.

    Reviewed by Jennifer5.0May 2021

  • "A delightful cottage in a most delightful location."

    Most courteous communications from owner.

    Reviewed by Pat5.0May 2021

  • "The terraced home is good size, nice kitchen and sitting area, and good touch to have all channels on TV including Netflix films."

    Just a very short walk to beautiful bay area with walks to beaches. Beautiful areas all within 20 miles or so. Garden needs some attention as it is very open to playing field and other properties. Owner has already said he is looking at this area for upgrade. GS - Wells, Somerset

    Reviewed by Geoffrey4.1Apr 2021

  • "Everyone we met were very friendly and all took notice of the social distancing."

    There is a really good Bistro 2 minutes away on the seafront which served excellent takeaways, from 9 am breakfast through lunch to evening dinners. Beautiful coastal walking.

    Reviewed by Jean5.0Oct 2020

  • "We had a lovely time at the cottage, found everything we needed."

    It is a shame they have had to put ornaments, books, leaflets, etc away, but it didn't spoil our enjoyment. The cottage is in a lovely quiet position within the pretty village. There are many lovely surrounding walks from just outside the doorstep. There are two cafe / bistros in the village both doing takeaways - which were very nice. Lovely holiday, thank you .

    Reviewed by Dee4.4Sep 2020

  • "Lovely house in a great place, especially if you like walking as the coastal path is just round the corner."

    Very clean and well maintained, comfortable sofas and beds. Super part of Wales to visit, would recommend this accommodation

    Reviewed by Bev5.0Sep 2020

  • "Had a lovely time staying in Bwthyn y Mor at Borth y Gest."

    The accommodation had everything we needed. Had a few queries, contacted the owner who answered them quickly. I was glad that we stayed in Borth y Gest rather than was very busy there. However there were some nice shops in Porthmadog...good to see a number of independent shops rather than the usual. Its a great place to stay for touring the area. I didn't want to cook in the the evening so had a takeaway each evening form the Bistro, 1 minute walk away. Altogether a lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Shelagh5.0Sep 2020

  • "It was an excellent base for us although rather small."

    The little bedroom was just big enough for the bunk beds but the children managed. The area is beautiful, so close to the sea and a 20 minute walk into Porthmadog. We loved it.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Aug 2020

  • "Great location, loved beautiful Borth y Gest and it's views."

    Great for walks directly from the property, inland and coastal. Property on the surface tidy and clean, could have done with a deep clean. First impressions in doorway needed a lick of paint and other areas ie bathroom.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Jul 2020

  • "We had a lovely time in this cottage."

    It's perfect for walking the dog and has everything for a great holiday. Very comfortable accommodation and the tea, coffee, milk and biscuits were very welcome on our arrival and a lovely touch

    Reviewed by Isla5.0Oct 2019

  • "I felt that the accommodation was a bit grubby."

    The floors, especially in the shower room, did not seem to have been cleaned. There was dust on all the skirting boards, and on the wall hangings. The shower room would benefit from a few additional items. A bigger mirror with a shelf below for toiletries over the sink, some tiling at the back of the sink, and an extractor fan to combat the condensation problem. Also, a hairdryer would be a useful item in the bedroom. Having said all that, we did enjoy our holiday. The location was perfect for access to the coastal walks and beaches.

    Due to this we have changed our cleaners from 5th October to ensure that this doesn’t happen again Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jean3.4Sep 2019

  • "We most enjoyed finding a lovely beautiful beach that we had in 60 years never found."

    The owners had recommended it. It was also a very peaceful house for me to have solitude, but with easy access to beach and town without a car. Thank you

    Reviewed by Amanda4.7Aug 2019

  • "This was our third visit to the property and it was just as lovely as ever."

    It is pretty, comfortable, in a wonderful location and has everything we need. Judging from the visitors' book, lots of other guests return year after year, so it is clearly a popular home, and justifiedly so. We're looking forward to coming again soon.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Aug 2019

  • "An enjoyable first visit to Borth y Gest in a comfortable holiday property."

    Everything ran smoothly. The property was comfortable, and liked the quirky seaside theme decor. It was clean and well equipped, with comfortable beds. Appreciated the large bath towels, which were big enough to wrap yourself in after a shower - so often not the cast in hotels and holiday lets. Only a very short level walk to the sea, about 2 minutes, and think this should be mentioned in the particulars to encourage booking.

    Reviewed by Geraldine5.0May 2019

  • "Lovely location , house everything you need so close to the beach , lovely walks with the dog !"

    ! Black rock sands a must on a nice day , would defiantly go again ..

    Reviewed by Geoffrey5.0May 2019

  • "Everyone in our party were impressed with the comfort & cleanliness of the property."

    It is ideally situated for walking & the kids ( and us ) loved the nearby beaches.

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0Apr 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x bunk
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Sitting room SMART TV & electric flame-effect stove.
  • Gas central heating with electric flame-effect stove
  • Double electric oven with induction hob, microwave integrated fridge/freezer, integrated washer/dryer, integrated dishwasher, SMART TV, DVD, CD player, iPod dock, WIFI, selection of games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot (no linen) and highchair
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Garden with patio and furniture overlooking communal green
  • Two well-behaved dog welcome with a £20 charge for the 1st dog
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1.2 miles
  • 1 Minute flat walk to the sea
  • Restaurant and cafe 0.25 miles and actual pub 1.1 miles
  • Note: The garden is not enclosed and rolls directly onto the communal green.

The property

Bwthyn y Mor is a lovely coastal-themed holiday cottage, decorated in muted, relaxing colours to aid you in a relaxing break.

It has a sunny south-facing garden and overlooks a pretty village green in the popular seaside village of Borth y Gest on the Llyn Peninsula.

Within walking distance are several beautiful sandy coves leading to the glorious and well known Black Rock Sands beach.

Visitors to Borth y Gest return time and time again.

It has a pretty bay and a popular bistro and tea shop, both with stunning views.

A two-minute drive or a ten-minute walk will take you to Porthmadog, which has a great selection of shops, restaurants, bars and a supermarket to stock up on your holiday essentials.

This is a great location from which to visit Snowdonia, Portmeirion and the Welsh Highland Railway - or, for something a little different, go llama trekking in Morfa Bychan!

Ideal for a family, this is a welcoming house in a popular holiday hotspot.

We're sure it will book quickly, so don't delay!

View on map

About the location


Porthmadog 1.2 miles; Criccieth 6 miles.

Borth-y-Gest is a quiet Welsh seaside village of mainly Victorian houses retaining much charm and character. Located by the mouth of the River Glaslyn, and a short drive away from the Italian styled village of Portmeirion, this pretty Welsh village has stunning panoramic views over the sands and estuary to the historic Harlech Castle and the Snowdonia National Park beyond. This North Wales village has two bistros and a coffee lounge all located on the front overlooking the bay and all with dog-friendly outdoor seating areas; perfect places to while away the hours watching the comings and goings of the local boatmen. Borth-y-Gest, with its sheltered coves and sandy beaches, has walking in abundance; why not head up Moel-y-Gest or take a wander over the headland to the famous Black Rock Sands, or go a little further afield where the vast Snowdonia National Park awaits? For a day out you can take a trip on the famous Ffestiniog Steam Railway and Welsh Highland Railway from Porthmadog, only a 15 minutes' walk away, or for those with younger children why not visit the shorter but more child-focussed Welsh Highland Heritage Railway? For a day trip the entire Llyn Peninsula calls. With Anglesey within reach and the whole North Wales coast with the Wales Coast Path to be explored, Borth-y-Gest has it all: a quiet bolt hole but conveniently located for ease of access to this stunning area, a must at any time of the year.

Note: The Garden is not enclosed and rolls directly onto the communal green
Note: Two well-behaved dogs welcome with a £20 charge for the 1st dog.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas