Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

12 people have recently viewed this property

Fishermans Cottage

Conwy, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 26523)

4.6

Very good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

45 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a wonderful time staying at Fisherman's Cottage in Conwy."

    It was in a beautiful location and so close to everything we needed. The lovely lady next door was a delight and I enjoyed sharing my daily adventures with her and hearing her stories. Will definitely stay again. A Fantastic Holiday. Thank you.

    Reviewed by MaryApr 2022

  • "Second time for us at this property."

    Not quite up to first stay lots of dust on doors and skirting boards and very doggy rug in main room but overall reasonable.

    Reviewed by LynMar 2022

  • "Fishermans Cottage was the cosiest cottage to stay in for a winter break."

    Nestled behind the castle, the location was excellent! Facilities where great too - with the beds being extremely comfy. Myself, husband, toddler and dog had the most fantastic break, and would highly recommend his cottage. We enjoyed ourselves so much, that we booked an extra night to stay. It was the perfect place to relax & unwind, plus the location allowed us to do lots of exploring! Emma, Salvatore, Theodore and Baxter x

    Reviewed by EmmaJan 2022

  • "Location and size of the house was amazing everything on your door step, we didn’t use the car once during our stay (the bus system from Conwy is first class) so we had some great long walks then caught the bus back."

    Only one complaint is that all the furniture is uncomfortable wasn’t able to relax or lie in because you were never comfortable.

    Thank you for saying that you enjoyed the location and size of Fishermans. We are sorry that you experienced discomfort during your stay. We try to make the cottage the best it can be and take care to listen to feedback. We notice that many guests have commented that the cottage is cosy, comfortable, a home from home and have mentioned the comfortable beds, we can only think that comfort is a purely personal feeling. Property Owner

    Reviewed by IanDec 2021

  • "Great location."

    Easy to access conwy town centre. Issues with tv that kept loosing vision during use. We weren't informed about the adjoining cottage having work done to it all week. So had to endure drilling, banging noise and parking difficulties during stay. Although we had these issues we would book this cottage again. Will miss the fish and chips from archway.

    We are so sorry about the noise disruption, obviously you have been kind enough to understand that it was out of our control and you have reflected this in a perfect score which is greatly appreciated. The TV was reported to us by a subsequent guest, it was faulty, and it was replaced immediately. We will always try to sort out any difficulties as soon as practically possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JacquelineOct 2021

  • "What a lovely little cottage."

    Perfectly placed for a conwy holiday. We had an amazing time and would book again.

    Reviewed by ElizabethAug 2021

  • "Lovely, cozy, home from home cottage, brilliantly situated just outside the town walls."

    Cottage was immaculately clean with lots of lovely touches like fresh flowers and bottled water by the bedsides. Conwy is a great place to explore and a great centre to explore Snowdonia!!!

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2021

  • "A lovely cottage for two."

    Had everything we needed and the parking was fine (we have a Renault Captur and fitted between the gap well enough) though would have been tight to get out if more cars were parked up. Would be good to add to the listing that it's a smart TV with netflix, Iplayer etc. as we didn't expect that but it was an added bonus! Very comfy bed with plugs for charging. A bin with space for all the recycling would have been appreciated so we didn't have to pile bits up waiting to be taken round to the communal bins. A set of scales for weighing food, larger towels, some coat hooks by the door and comfier sofas would have made it perfect :) It's a fab location for exploring from, both for walking into Conwy (though it's quite a hill back up to the house!) and for driving to the multitude of places to visit nearby. Highly recommend the ice cream from Parisella's and for a special meal, the Castle Hotel was incredible.

    Reviewed by StephanieAug 2021

  • "Access to cottage not good if you have a larger than average car even harder to get out if all residents are in."

    Not easy getting in and out of bed very near to wall on one side.

    Access to cottage is well explained in the Sykes description and we have previously pointed out that it is down to driver's confidence. (Please see our comments of 19th June 2021). There is the option of getting a weekly parking ticket for the car park on Mount Pleasant 100 yards from the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DerekJul 2021

  • "We had to call the out of hours line one night because of the smoke alarm beeping due to the battery going flat."

    The person I spoke to was helpful but understandably unable to do anything in the middle of the night. I was very pleased that the owner himself called me the next day to update me about what he was organising. By the time we got back to the cottage that afternoon the issue had been resolved.

    Reviewed by PeterJul 2021

  • "The cottage was too small and having a shared garden that was for the whole street that you had to go across the road to was not good with 2 dogs the street is not sign posted so was hard to find good job we have a small car because the gap to get through was very small."

    The heating didn't work and some days were quite cold had to get some blankets out. First time I haven't took my hair dryer and there wasn't one always been one everywhere we go. The good bit is the location it is right next to conwy castle and a short walk to the harbour.

    We are sorry that you have had this experience which is at such odds to our other visitors. We are particularly concerned that you stated that the heating did not work. There are instructions for use of the heating and had you contacted Sykes we most certainly would have done everything in order to resolve this matter. We had no issues with the heating prior to your visit and the heating has worked after you left. The gap to the street is clearly pointed out in the description to the property, it is down to driver's confidence, however, when renovating the property long wheelbase vans were able to access the street carefully but without difficulty. The description states that there is a shared garden for the 9 cottages in the terrace, the entrance to the garden is just a few steps from the front door of Fisherman's and the road is a safe and quiet unadopted cul-de-sac used only by residents and guests for parking. Property Owner

    Reviewed by CaroleJun 2021

  • "The double bed was very soft and the garden is great and enclosed but is not attached to the cottage."

    Reviewed by ZenaMay 2021

  • "Just visited Fisherman’s Cottage, for a long weekend."

    Weather was cold and wet, but the little cottage, was quickly warned up, and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was really welcomed. Everything you should require was there in the kitchen. I had phoned before booking to ask about the table in the photo - did it pull out for 4? the lady said it didn’t, which I found odd, as there were 4 chairs, but it does, so we could all sit down for breakfast. We thought only coat hooks at the front door would have helped, because we did get wet! And guidance for recycling as there was only 1 dustbin outside. But we had a enjoyable stay in Conwy, which is a lovely picturesque spot.

    Reviewed by JackieMay 2021

  • "Very well equipped and comfortable."

    1 small thing.. a large spoon for dishing food would be useful.

    Reviewed by LeniMay 2021

  • "The cottage is very cosy, well equipped and very central to be able to walk everywhere."

    The bed was so comfy I took note of the mattress and am going to buy one. The only thing to BEWARE is if you drive a big 4 x 4 like we do as I managed to scrape the side of the car getting out of the parking as the road is extremely tight so a nice holiday turned out to be very expensive when I have to pay for repairs to the car paintwork

    Reviewed by DebraMay 2021

  • "Great cottage, everything you need, felt like home from home."

    Very central position in town centre, yet quiet location with own parking. Will defiantly return.

    Reviewed by LyndaApr 2021

  • "I booked this cottage for a short stay last minute (an hour before I arrived)."

    I went with my daughter and 2 dogs. I was worried booking last minute about the cleanliness of a holiday cottage in regards to the pandemic but I needn't have worried. The cottage was immaculate. It had everything we needed and more. The added touches for the dogs were lovely, dog bowls, poo bags, lint roller etc. The location is fantastic and we will definitely book again once the pubs and restaurants are open. Thank you to the owners for accommodating us with such short notice and to Menai holidays for making it so easy.

    Reviewed by JaneApr 2021

  • "I can not recommend this cottage highly enough, this is my second year here the cleanliness is exceptional, the locality to all amenities is just perfect."

    This year was obviously different due to Covid, but my holiday wasn’t hampered at all, all regulations was adhered too and again the cottage was spotless. The locality is perfect to venture out and explore. I shall without hesitation be booking again for next year

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2020

  • "The cottage is in the perfect position for the town centre, the parking is private and the residents of the cottages in the terrace are very welcoming."

    Conwy is idealy located for most of the attractions in north Wales, just about an hour will see you at the base of Snowdon ready for a 4hour walk to the summit, or a train ride if you would prefer. A twenty minute drive will see you to Betws-Coed, where you can walk by the river, shop eat in one of the cafes and go visit the falls. Within ten minutes of the cottage you can visit Abber falls within five minutes you can have a day at the beach. You can visit the botanic gardens, the zoo or pop over to Landudno visit the beach and pier of climb the orm. In short it's both brilliant for a family or adult break. We love it!

    Reviewed by CraigAug 2020

  • "In the main bedroom, there is only about six inches between the wall and the bed, making it very difficuly to get in and out of bed."

    If the owners changed the furniture around, ie., moving the bed to where the wardrobe is, would be a better use of space. The cottage is beautiful and in an excellent position to easily get around Conwy and the surrounding area

    Reviewed by LynJul 2020

  • "We booked this following a cancelled trip to the Canaries."

    The lady we spoke to from Sykes couldn't have been more helpful and had also stayed in one of the cottages we were looking at. She found us this one and we were able to go straight in. We were very grateful as it was a rainy Sunday and we were exhausted. The cottage was comfy, cosy and well equipped. The only negative is that we have a big car and the entrance to the parking area is extremely narrow between two walls. Location however was excellent.

    Reviewed by ElaineMar 2020

  • "Great location ideal for our weekend away ."

    Dog friendly cottage very clean and comfortable .

    Reviewed by TraceyFeb 2020

  • "Everything I needed was there at the cottage and more."

    Reviewed by KathyFeb 2020

  • "Fisherman's Cottage was perfect for our family."

    We were very pleased with the location, parking, neighbors, and the flat itself. The kitchen is well stocked with appliances, cookware, food storage containers, and cutlery. The washing machine and drying rack allowed us to pack light - nice bathroom as well. The living room and bedrooms were comfortable places to relax. We had a wonderful stay!

    Reviewed by DanielJan 2020

  • "What a lovely cottage."

    So clean, warm and even fresh flowers. Everything that I needed was there. Amazing. I will definitely recommend to others.

    Reviewed by KathyNov 2019

  • "We had an amazing holiday with our 2 dogs The cottage was lovely n cozy and had everything you need and even some essentials on arrival The cottage is a5 minute walk to the centre which is perfect and Conwy itself is a gorgeous place n much nicer than I thought."

    Theres plenty of cafes n lovely shops and eatery’s to visit and the scenery is amazing as well as the castle We would love to come back and this time a bit earlier so more things are open like the cable cars in Llandudno n the train up snowden The beach is a 5 minute drive away so perfect for the dogs Overall it was perfect with lots to see and I didn’t want to come home Couldn’t fault anything about the cottage or the location

    Reviewed by GillianNov 2019

  • "We couldn’t have asked for anything more!"

    This is a superbly equipped cottage and really clean too. The owner has put a lot of thought and work to make this holiday let comfortable and enjoyable. A home from home! It is situated in a fantastic spot for exploring Conwy and is literally a 2 minute walk to get on to the castle walls. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely love to stay here again in the future.

    Reviewed by RuthOct 2019

  • "The cottage was just perfect and spotless, the location is fantastic for all amenities."

    Have booked again for next year.

    Reviewed by KarenAug 2019

  • "Conwy is the perfect place to explore North Wales, the people are friendly there is so much to do from aba falls to the great orme, puffin island bets y coed and Swallow falls or if your feeling on top of your game climbing Snowdon."

    We stayed at fishermans cottage on wind street just outside the walls of the castle, Conwy castle is the only castle in Wales to have its walls intact and definately worth a visit. Conclusion accomodation (Fishermans Cottage) top notch and we would go back . Conwy a jem in the country that is Wales. Attractions enough to fill a fortnight and some.

    Reviewed by CraigJul 2019

  • "Fisherman's cottage was lovely but just one little moan ."

    The two sofa's have seen better days they are just not comfortable to sit on.

    Reviewed by AndrewJul 2019

  • "The cottage was so clean and modern."

    We had a toddler which meant early evenings in, and we really enjoyed them in the cottage as it was so comfortable! This was a huge advantage to our vacation we found. Couldn't fault the accommodation and we were 2 min walk from the main shops of Conwy.

    Reviewed by NicollaJun 2019

  • "The apartment was well managed."

    I appreciated the owner pre-filling some eating items when entering. The apartment was cozy and clean and well-equipped with necessary elements.

    Reviewed by SushimJun 2019

  • "Excellent, quiet location near the town walls with its own parking although this may a problem with a car larger than my Mazda 3!"

    A very well appointed, bright cottage with a lovely comfortable bed and a large well fitted kitchen. The only disappointment was the very tired and slightly uncomfortable sofas; if these were changed it would be perfect! This, aside, we hope to return.

    Reviewed by GraemeMay 2019

  • "A lovely warm clean cottage set at the side of conwy castle , within walking to shops and pubs ,a smashing holiday"

    Reviewed by CaroleMay 2019

  • "Every inch of the whole cottage was completely spotless!"

    Standard could not have been higher. There was really nothing wanted in the way of amenities. A perfect holiday base!

    Reviewed by DonaldMay 2019

  • "Have already sent a completed feedback from spoke to customer advisor who said would contact owner re no signal on both televisions for a week."

    Had email saying g owner was o going to give any compensation. Very disappointed. Took me approx 20 mins to complete initial form

    We are sorry you could not get the TVs working, clear instructions are available for TV usage and both TVs worked prior to and following your visit. Thank you for rating top marks for comfort and cleanliness Property Owner

    Reviewed by DuncanApr 2019

  • "Fisherman’s cottage was a lovely cosy ideal holiday cottage."

    Cleanliness was exceptional. Ideal base for visiting the local areas. A lovely park close by for the dogs to have a run and they made friends with some lovely dogs. Would highly recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by LindaNov 2018

  • "Good position of cottage, found the old sofas very uncomfortable."

    Also there are no coat hooks downstairs, luckily we had good weather but what anyone does with soaking coats I can’t imagine. Also I think you should state that you have to be fit to get into double bed as it is inaccessible on one side, the photos make the room look larger than it is. Again though positive for location.

    Reviewed by ChristineNov 2018

  • "We were delighted that the booking was able to be transferred to a later date, because we could not make the first visit as I broke my arm and was unable to drive."

    We loved the location: so close to the castle, the harbour and the woods. The dogs instantly felt at home and we had daily visits to the friendly Book cafe where they offer dog biscuits along with the best machiacato in town. . Culinary high spots: Eating Evans bacon: thick and delicious and tucking into Conwy mussels cooked in white wine by the fish place on the quayside . The cottage had everything we needed, (including an amazing jigsaw puzzle of Portofino harbour); it was immaculate. The bath is nice and long so you can really stretch out in it.. The bed is so comfy - we slept so soundly! the first question on our return was when can we re book it!

    Reviewed by AlisonNov 2018

  • "What a lovely, very clean and a cosy cottage, perfect for our stay in Conwy."

    The welcome pack was a lovely touch as were the doggy items left in case we had forgotten anything. We would definitely stay again. Within a couple of minutes walk from the town centre. Our only ‘handy hint’ for future guests is that the car entrance to the row of cottages is very tight indeed and for less confident drivers you might prefer to leave your car in the pay and display spaces beside the castle wall on the opposite side of the road. Only 50p for overnight parking. Don’t let that put you off.

    Reviewed by ElaineOct 2018

  • "As last time the cottage was spotlessly clean and the 'extras' a lovely touch."

    Very peaceful location as no road noise and I could see the castle walls from my room - shows how close it is to the centre of Conwy. The fitments & fixtures are all very high quality down to the bed linen. The owner, Simon, telephoned to check the shower was working OK after a review to the contrary (there was no problem with it whatsoever!). There is everything you need here including - if it is raining - a Free Sat recorder, WiFi (although mobile data very fast here - Vodafone) and lots of books!

    Reviewed by RachelSep 2018

  • "The cold tap on the shower mixer was not working."

    Little treats much appreciated

    Thank you for your feedback and rating the cottage as exceeding expectations, however, we are sorry that you had this experience with the shower tap. Unfortunately as you did not contact us we were unable to remedy the situation. We have established that the mixer taps are in full working order. The water temperature at the boiler just needed to be reduced slightly. We shall take steps to ensure that this is made clear for future guests. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnnSep 2018

  • "Lovely little touches like fresh flowers and welsh cakes and fresh milk for arrival."

    Super clean and kitchen has everything you could need. Only little point is manoeuvring car in and out of car parking area - very tight and would be an issue of not an assured driver.

    Reviewed by FionaJul 2018

  • "The cottage was delightful, really cosy and clean."

    Everything was provided and a really modern bathroom and fitted kitchen It was in a quiet cul-de-sac with a shared garden at the front , with a gate, so you could let your dog off. We really enjoyed our stay there and would recommend a holiday there.

    Reviewed by SuzanneMay 2018

  • "Very well equipped cottage: comfortable sofas & beds (bunk beds appear same size as regular singles and suitable for adults of medium build); kitchen and bathroom well appointed; cottage beautifully decorated throughout and details thought of (tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, flowers, freesat recorder, hinged shower screen)."

    Location: quiet yet only 30 second walk to castle walls within which are majority of shops & eateries. Really enjoyed our stay at Fisherman's Cottage and look forward to returning. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by RachelMar 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x bunk
  • Ground floor bathroom with shower over bath, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating, underfloor heating in the bathroom
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, TV with Freesat ,WiFi, selection of games, books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair available on request
  • Ample off road parking
  • Shared lawned garden
  • Two well behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 minute walk
  • Note: Access to the street is narrow
  • Please take care

The property

This appealing stone built traditional 19th century mid-terraced cottage conveniently sits a stone's throw away from the medieval Conwy town walls in North Wales.

With a tasteful interior, Fisherman's Cottage is a perfect stay for visitors wanting to explore the historic town of Conwy and the wonders of North Wales.

Upon entering the cottage, you will instantly feel right at home with its light and airy décor, the living/dining room is welcoming and cosy, with a stunning feature fireplace to add a charming touch.

To the back of the property lies the brand new, stylish and well-equipped kitchen, leading towards a luxury, modern tiled bathroom, with underfloor heating, which completes the ground floor.

A carpeted staircase brings you to the first floor, presenting you with the two pristine white bedrooms, a fresh and comfortable double room in the front overlooking the quiet and secluded cul de sac and a bunk room to the rear both being uplifted by Velux windows.

Enjoy access to the shared council maintained enclosed lawned area opposite the property, ideally suited for visiting pets or alternatively take the short stroll through the historic town walls just at the end of the road which leads you into the pretty town centre.

The delightful coastal town of Conwy is home to a magnificent castle along with many other fascinating buildings, as well as a selection of fine specialist shops and quaint cafés.

A week is not nearly enough to explore all that this region has to offer.

Within a short driving distance North West Wales has unspoilt sandy beaches, costal cliffs and mountains where walking, cycling, riding, bird watching, fishing and water sports can be enjoyed.

There are four golf courses within easy reach or for thrill seekers the longest Zip Wire in Britain.

Alternatively explore the picturesque little towns and village and find a warm Welsh Croeso (welcome).

A well-presented cottage perfect for family visits or romantic couples to enjoy this most splendid part of North Wales.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CONWY

Llandudno 5 miles; Betws-y-Coed 16 miles.

Conwy, a World Heritage Site, is without doubt world famous for its historical and architectural heritage, yet at the heart of the town lies a hub of bustling activity. Alongside its ancient festivals and fairs, musical recitals, galleries and historical attractions, there is an array of specialist shops, restaurants and hotels. Built for King Edward I between 1283 and 1287, Master James of St George's design, Conwy Castle remains one of the most outstanding achievements of medieval military architecture. The distinctive, elongated shape, with its two barbicans, eight massive towers and a great bow-shaped hall was perhaps determined by the narrow rocky outcrop on which the castle stands. The town is proud of its historic traditions and celebrates its past by retaining many of these in its annual festivals, events and fairs, including the Honey fair, Seed fair and Gwledd Conwy Feast in October, along with other musical events throughout the year. Conwy is the perfect base for exploring the dramatic Snowdonia National Park, walking unspoilt sandy beaches, or taking in the wonderful scenery on your doorstep. Also within reach are the Llechwedd Slate Caverns, which has the longest zip wire in Europe, and Surf Snowdonia is just six miles away.

View more holiday cottages in Conwy

Region Information

Please note: if yourself or party leave behind any belongings, charges may apply to have them returned.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it