Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 6 minutes ago

5 people have recently viewed this property

Talgais

Llangollen, North Wales & Snowdonia (Ref. 991309)

3.7

Good

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Hot Tub Hot tub
  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/Games room Games Room
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

22 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a three day long weekend at Talgais Friday to Monday, 7 adults, 6 children plus dog."

    The house was an excellent size with plenty of space for all. We had only been there four hours when unfortunately there was a power cut which wasn’t restored until the following late afternoon. It was cold of course but as it was 10 at night we all went to bed. Luckily the hob was gas and we were able to make hot drinks. There were unfortunately no candles or torches on the property, we had to use our mobile phone torches, which the children turned into a game. The following morning although very cold we got on with it and went out walking. No phone signals all day, when eventually phone could be used I spoke with Sykes Cottages who were very helpful and contacted the owner for me, whilst not available to bring torches or candles, I have made the suggestion in the unlikely event this happened again, it would be helpful to store some at the property. Power was eventually restored and the rest of the weekend was spent enjoying our break especially the hot tub which was glorious and the surrounding area is beautiful. The views are lovely from the back of the house. My only criticism of the house is there is no lighting at the front of the property, the porch appears to have lights but they weren’t working, it was very dark unloading cars when we arrived. Also there are various radiators which do not heat up, I assume they need air releasing form them and the outside paintwork needs refreshing. I feel the summer house could be utilised - on the booking site it shows children’s games and computer in there, however it was just an empty room and the children were disappointed the trampoline has been removed. I assume there are reasons for this. Aside from this minor points, I would definitely recommend this property for a large family break. We had a great time as a family despite the unexpected power cut. Thank you to Sykes when we finally got through to the. Excellent customer service.

    Reviewed by MarieNov 2021

  • "The property was amazing, comfortable and had everything thing we needed,the only thing I couldn't find was egg cups"

    Reviewed by AndreaSep 2021

  • "Generally everything was fine."

    Good size house for the 13 of us. The kitchen diner was very good, with a beautiful view, plenty of room for the children to play in the garden and the veranda was great for us all to sit out and enjoy. The Information about Llangollen and where to eat was very good. Everyone loved the Hot Tub. On the downside sometimes there was a slight smell of sewage in the downstairs bedroom with the ensuite

    Thank you for taking time out to provide this feedback, this is always really appreciated as it is the way I find out what is being done right and also if there is anything that can be improved upon. In terms of the downstairs bedroom en-suite, this was recently blocked by guests and a plumber already attended, so I am thankful that you have brought this to my attention and I will ask them to re-attend immediately and rectify this once and for all so that it does not disturb future guests! Thank you again for your valuable feedback it is much appreciated. - The Owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by BarrySep 2021

  • "We had problems with the hot tub, we could only use it for about 4 days , I contacted maintenance who did come out and test it , added more chemicals, this didn’t seem to make any difference."

    They came out again and didn’t really know why it had happened. We all showered before using . We paid £200 and felt disappointed. Maintenance let the owners know but I have not had any feedback.

    Reviewed by KerryAug 2021

  • "Our stay was very comfortable, everything was very clean and neat when we got there and some lovely bread and biscuits left on the dining room table for us, the hot tub was amazing and we all had a really good time."

    Would 100% return and I think I’d definitely recommend to a friend :))

    Reviewed by ChloeJun 2021

  • "The house and garden/deck area where very nice large open plan kitchen/dinning room area is great when you're in a large group."

    Only real issues we had was the Hot tub we'd payed an extra £200 for wasn't turned on when we got to the property and I had to wait on hold for 45mins to talk to some from Sykes who arranged someone to come to the property and turn it on. There also seemed to be a airlock in the plumbing meaning there was a very loud noise from the kitchen taps/sink area whenever anyone used water anywhere in the house. These were minor issues that didn't take away from a generally good experience overall.

    Reviewed by StevenMar 2020

  • "We left a filled in sheet at the property."

    Main complaints 1 directions given were misleading all that was needed was the number of the house and the street name which was given 2 you gave us the wrong code for the keys 3 various lights did not work. 4 no mention was made about needing matches to light the gas

    Thank you for your valuable feedback which is gratefully received. I am very sorry to hear you couldn't find the property easily - we have never had any guests struggle before so I'm unsure why you had difficulty. The house name and street name are clearly stated on the email you receive from Sykes prior to your holiday and the house has 2 very large signs at the roadside. The key code is updated regularly (for your security) and Sykes send out emails to all guests with each change, I can only apologise if you did not receive this (perhaps it is in your spam/junk folder?). With regards to the lighting - this is unusual as all lights are checked at each changeover but I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and I have let the managed services team know. I trust that otherwise you enjoyed the property and am sorry that you found anything to be negative about as I always provide an immaculately presented property for your maximum enjoyment and comfort. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ChristineMar 2020

  • "This property was advertised with a games room, which was half if the reason I booked it for the children."

    We were unable to gain entry to the games room throughout our stay. We did report this and someone was supposed to bring us a

    Dear guests, thank you for your valuable feedback and please accept my most sincere apology for you being unable to access the games room, this was due to a previous guest losing/removing the only key to it. We are in the process of getting several new keys cut to ensure that this will not be a problem in the future. I hope that other than this inconvenience you enjoyed your stay - I employ only the very best (and most expensive!) changeover crew to ensure that the cottage is immaculate for guests and I treat all feedback (good or bad) with the utmost respect. Once again thank you for your valued feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NicolaJan 2020

  • "This is a beautiful property with absolutely stunning views."

    It is fully equipped with everything for a very relaxing holiday. Easy to find and only a short drive to Llangollen village. Like every appliance ,sometimes they go wrong, or need replacing, and sadly for us, this was the case with the hot tub. But the communication with the owner was second to none, and a swift solution to the problem was quickly sorted. I would definitely recommend this property for families who just want to enjoy being in a lovely accommodation and surrounded by beautiful landscape. Perfect for birders and walkers. I hope to come back to this place very soon.

    Reviewed by LynNov 2019

  • "The cottage was really clean and very well equipped."

    The cakes and bread that had be bought for when we arrived was a lovely touch. It is such a lovely cottage and the view for the hot tub is beautiful. The hot tub took a very long time to warm up even though it had been on for a few days before we arrived however when I asked for assistance with this it was resolved quickly and we were in the hot tub within Hours.

    Reviewed by BethanyNov 2019

  • "Only slight negatives were: 10am check out time."

    Way too early. Expecting paying guests to vacuum the house upon checking out. This is not something you would expect to do in any other accommodation.

    Reviewed by SarahAug 2019

  • "We had a lovely week at Talgais."

    The house was fantastic and met our needs perfectly. Location was good. Sykes Cottages were extremely helpful with any questions or queries we had along the way. Thank you.

    Reviewed by AmyAug 2019

  • "Cottage was well laid out, plenty of towels crockery etc for our large group."

    Upon arrival someone was there trying to fix the hot tub, repairs were arranged for after the weekend and the repair was carried out early Monday morning so we had use for the majority of the holiday which was great.

    Reviewed by HazelJul 2019

  • "The house was well equipped and clean and permitted us to explore the north Wales area."

    However some bedrooms were not equipped with a wardrobe and the downstairs bedroom for four people was uncomfortable without the use of a bathroom.

    Reviewed by Adrian OscarJul 2019

  • "Talgais was perfect for our family holiday."

    It had everything we wanted. The views were spectacular from the dining area. The garden was a huge bonus too. The children enjoyed the trampoline and play equipment. It was a wonderful place to stay. Thank you for the bread and milk, etc, on our arrival. This was very welcoming. We would certainly return.

    Reviewed by SandraJun 2019

  • "Really good family holiday made better with the property."

    Reviewed by TinaMay 2019

  • "Talgais was a lovely large house with great views."

    The house was clean and there were plenty of nice white towels.Our group all slept well and the bedding was also clean with well presented rooms. However with the exception of the main bedroom there was a lack of storage space with only a hanging rail in in the double room downstairs,the other rooms had a small chest of drawers.The kitchen cupboards would benefit from a good clear out as there was many half empty jars and out of date items just left from previous occupants which didn’t give a good impression.We struggled with the lack of large serving dishes and had to buy 8 wine glasses as what was provided was inadequate. The garden was large and the children enjoyed the swings and trampoline but once again there were broken items lying around which should be cleared away. The hot tub was enjoyed by everyone. The large spa bath in the main bedroom looked inviting and after filling it up (which takes a while) we discovered that the jets didn’t work so unless it’s fixed don’t waste your time or water using it. We had a lovely week and it is a really nice house but does need some tweaks.

    Thank you for your feedback, in response: Re: lack of storage - this is the first time a guest has made such a comment and it is surprising as all bedrooms have drawers in their bedside cabinets and all but 1 bedroom has a cupboard / set of drawers, also hanging rails are provided in each and every bedroom. In addition 1 of the bedrooms has huge walk-in wardrobes and the Master bedroom has two massive wardrobes with plenty of shelves and drawers. Re: kitchen - I have spoken to my 'managed services team' and have been assured that at least that two members of staff check the cupboards after each departure, they said the only items that had been left were herbs/spice jars that may have been out of date - these have now been disposed of and all cupboards are clear. I have since purchased more glasses, serving dishes & chopping board to address your other comments. It is unfortunate that some guests break these items without informing me so I can only apologise that you experienced these shortages. re: garden - thank you for the feedback - I was very disappointed to find out that previous guests had broken the table and also my daughters mini-trampoline without informing me - the garden is now clear/clean again. re: spa bath - there are instructions in the ensuite on how to use this as there are 2 buttons to use - one powers the unit on and another switches the jacuzzi jets on and off, the unit has been tested since your comments and it is without fault so it's a real shame you couldn't enjoy the jacuzzi. Property Owner

    Reviewed by AlfredMay 2019

  • "Amazing location."

    Large and comfortable cottage. Absolutely excellent for children. Loads to do on rainy days and better on sunny days. Thankyou

    Reviewed by AlexanderApr 2019

  • "Upon arrival there where overflowing bins at the front of the property and the property was in a poor state of cleanliness (food in the compost bin, chips in the oven amongst other things) There was only one working lightbulb (out of 6) in the lounge and I contacted the key holder who came and replaced these."

    Most of the bedrooms lack any kind of storage other than a hanging rail and we had to live out of suitcase for the week. The dishwasher appeared to work however it never actually washed any dishes. The kitchen also didn’t have any mixing bowls or equipment to serve food in. There were plenty of plates and breakfast bowls but missing items such as a butter dish and chopping boards. The BBQ has not been cleaned since whenever it was lasted used. I did contact Sykes about the hot tub and was promised that someone would phone me back. This never happened. The hot tub was unusable after day 3 and it had only had minimal use. It was a green sludge and smelt so bad it was unpleasant to sit outside. There are however many positives. The house is in a great location and the views are amazing. The lovely touch of wine, bread and tea upon arrival made us feel at home. I am sure with a few tweaks that this could be a lovely holiday home however, we won’t be returning and am unsure if we would use Sykes Cottages again.

    Reviewed by JoApr 2019

  • "What a Fantastic place to stay!"

    ! The property was really well laid out, superb for the children and our Dog. The communal areas were great for mixing together and the property was still big enough that you had your own space (even with 14 of us). The Hot tub with the views was really good and play room for the children was great. Llangollen was a great town to stay in and the Steam Railway is a must! Could not recommend enough for the family, and Sykes were great to book through.

    Reviewed by AndyApr 2019

  • "Disappointed that hot tub wasn’t working, but we were made aware of this the day before our break."

    Sykes communicated well with us to try and rectify the problem. With a few tweaks this property could be a wonderful holiday home as in an excellent location, being able to walk into Llangollen was great. Lovely touch of bread, milk etc on arrival.

    Reviewed by JulieMar 2019

  • "It was a beautiful house and everything was so lovely."

    The beds were heaven. Brilliant weekend

    Reviewed by SadieMar 2019

Show more

The property

Talgais is a detached cottage situated in Llangollen, Denbighshire.

Inside the owners have created a beautiful feeling with a modern interior that offers a real home-from-home vibe.

The cosy sitting room offers lovely armchairs and sofas, ideal for curling up in front of the TV, or with a good book.

Furnished to a high-standard, this kitchen will inspire you to dust off those cook books and indulge in all the modern appliances at hand.

There is a dining area with seating for up to 12 people, a wonderful social space for the family to dine together, with extra seating for 4 in the kitchen adjacent at the island breakfast bar.

Situated next to the dining area is a snug with TV, DVD and PlayStation 3 to entertain those who have finished dining but wish to stay close to the party.

There is an externallly accessed conservatory which acts as a games room and office, fun for both adults and kids.

There are six bedrooms: one ground floor king-size with an en-suite shower room, a ground floor double, and a family room with 2 double beds, one first floor king-size with an en-suite bathroom and a double and twin bedroom, which would be ideal for a group of friend or large families.

The first floor en-suite houses a stunning double basin and double Jacuzzi bath, perfect for long and relaxing, luxurious soaks of an evening.

Each bedroom is spacious with plenty of high-quality furniture at-hand to house all your personal items.

There is off-road parking for several cars.

Outside, there is a lawned garden and decking area, with seating and hot tub with views across the valley, along with a fenced dog run for your family pets.

Sit out and enjoy the afternoon sun, with a refreshing beverage and soak up the lovely countryside air. While you stay at Talgais, why not visit Valle Crucis Abbey?

The remains of a Cistercian abbey dating back to the early 13th century, which was home to monks.

It has lovely landscaped gardens with picnic tables, a pond and café, the perfect place for a day trip with the family.

Castell Dinas Ban is a medieval castle which has links to the legends of King Arthur.

It was built on an Iron Age fort and makes for an excellent walking opportunity.Talgais is the ultimate holiday home for friends and families.

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Six bedrooms: 1 x ground floor king-size with an en-suite shower room with a shower, basin and WC , 1 x ground floor double, 1 x Family room with two doubles, 1 x first floor king-size with an en-suite bathroom with a double Jacuzzi bath, hand-held shower, double basin and WC
  • 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • First floor bathroom with a bath and shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor bathroom with shower, basin and WC Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room
  • Play room
  • Conservatory
  • Gas central heating, electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, double fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, washing machine and tumbler dryer
  • TV, WiFi, 2 x PS3 consoles with games, PS move with kids and adults games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Stair-gate available
  • Off-road parking for several cars
  • Lawned garden and decking area with furniture and hot tub
  • One well-behaved pet is welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.6 miles and pub 0.5 miles
  • Note: No stag/hen or similar, no same sex parties and all group booking members to be over the age of 25
  • Note: The hot tub is available at an additional cost of £200 payment would need to be made via phone to our office, if payment is not made we will assume hot tub is not required
  • For bookings made from the 8th November 2021, the cost to use the hot tub is £250
  • Please note: If guests are leaving on the same day as your arrival, the hot tub may not reach full temperature on your first night
  • Please note: There is a £400 Goodhouse keeping bond on this property, bookings made before the 14th July 2021 will have the bond pre authorised on their card and bookings made after this date, the bond is a refundable bond, paid directly to the owner before your stay

Note: This property has a refundable Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location

LLANGOLLEN

Ruthin 15 miles; Chester 25 miles.

The beautiful Vale of Llangollen, with its dramatic mountain backdrop and boulder-strewn River Dee is the setting for this pretty tourist town, internationally famous for its Musical Eisteddfod. Explore the green valley by steam train or canal boat, or take an exhilarating walk up to Castell Dinas Brân, high above the town, in order to enjoy the breathtaking view. Llangollen offers a good range of pubs and restaurants, as well as many interesting shops. Keep entertained with an exhilarating trip whitewater rafting down the River Dee, followed by an adventurous Mountain Bike ride in Llandegla, or for a more leisurely experience, unwind with a relaxing afternoon in one of the local spas! The National Trust properties of Chirk Castle and Erddig are within easy driving distance, while a day-long car trail can take you to visit six of the ‘Seven Wonders of Wales’. Offa’s Dyke Path passes nearby and boasts pleasant walking along the crest of the Clwyd hills, plus the famous Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, a World Heritage Site, is 5 miles away, and Snowdonia is less than an hour’s drive.

View more holiday cottages in Llangollen

Region Information

Please note: Guests wishing to use the hot tub are required to pay an additional £200 supplement. Please contact our Customer Services team on 01244 345700 at least 10 days prior to your holiday to arrange use of this. For bookings made from the 8th November 2021, the cost to use the hot tub is £250

Please note: The trampoline has been removed from the property.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it