Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 23 View Image Gallery
  • 48A South Snowdon Wharf - North Wales - 1076101 - photo 1

48A South Snowdon Wharf

(Ref. 1076101)

Porthmadog, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • comfortable (8)
  • no (7)
  • lovely (6)
  • everything (6)
  • property (6)
  • stay (5)

15 Customer Reviews

  • "The property is an excellent location and is tastefully decorated."

    Everything you could need during your stay is provided. Good fast Wi-Fi. Wonderful place to stay.

    Thank you for your most charming observations and thrilled you enjoyed your stay. I wish you well for the future and look hopefully to your patronage again at a later date Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Nov 2023

  • "This was a small, comfortable, well-equipped apartment in a great location and provided a great base for exploring the area and just a short walk into town."

    We'd recommend walks at Aberdaron, Borth Y Gest and Morfa Nefyn. Caernarfon Castle, Sygun Copper Mine and Beddgelert village were interesting places to visit. For real ale, visit The Australia, Spooner's and Tafarn Pen Cei and the Good Mood restaurant across the harbour has great burgers and pizzas. Newell the bakers is the place for bread and cakes. Back to the apartment, the sofa has been replaced from that in the photos (comfortable), the table has been removed (leaves more space!), there's a DVD player (couldn't spot it in the description), bed was very comfortable and shower acceptable (pressure not great but instantly hot). Minor gripes: beaded curtain neither use nor ornament; stains on mattress and pillows under covers (damp?); toaster was erratic. All in all a great find at reasonable price. We would stay again if in Porthmadog.

    Thank you for your kind comments and it appears you had a very fulfilling weeks stay! The beaded curtain is a temporary feature and new internal oak doors will be fitted over the next 10 days. These should be more appropriate and allow heating to be more efficient within the flat. I will investigate the mattress and pillows. As for the toaster - it may be need to be replaced and this will be actioned. There has been a few positive changes since the original photos were taken and maybe these should be updated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.4Oct 2023

  • "We absolutely loved our stay in porthmadog."

    It made a welcome change from camping over at black rock sands. The property was immaculate and the welsh cakes were a fabulous touch. We will most definatly will be returning. Thank you once again for making our honeymoon perfect.

    I am absolutely delighted that you both loved your stay and hope you will visit again I do try and maintain the flat to a standard that will be appreciated by all guests attending. in order for them to bask in the beauty of its position and local ambience as I have done for many years now. It is a magical experience Haste ye back and in the meantime take care Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Oct 2023

  • "Perfect location, we wanted for nothing."

    Lovely comfortable apartment, with all you require in a home . Super base for exploring, in a peaceful area, with spectacular views.

    Thank you for your very kind comments which are most appreciated I am obviously very pleased you enjoyed your stay and, as you mention, it is a perfect peaceful base for exploring the area. I do endeavour to make the accommodation as comfortable as possible and indeed provide all the facilities that visitors might need during their stay I do wish you well and please take care Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sylvia5.0Sep 2023

  • "Very compact but the bed and sofa were very comfortable, the shower floor was slippy needs anti slip treatment."

    Otherwise great accommodation, good outlook.

    Yes, it is small and bijou and I am pleased you found it very comfortable with a good outlook I will take your advice and attend to the shower floor when I am next down. Thank you and please take care Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Jul 2023

  • "Thanks for a lovely holiday at South Snowdon Wharf."

    Had everything I needed and I was very comfortable, also the owner was very helpful when I had a bit of a key issue.

    It is a delightful little flat and I am pleased it met all your needs. I really do appreciate your kind comments and thank you for being so complimentary. I wish you all the best Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne5.0May 2023

  • "A delightful apartment with lovely views."

    Very comfortable and well appointed. Excellent facilities and a good base to explore the area.

    Thank you for your very positive feedback and I trust you enjoyed your stay. It is a small apartment but I would like to think I have appointed it sufficiently well for a comfortable stay and indeed a base for outgoing activities I wish you well Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony5.0May 2023

  • "The property is situated in a nice, quiet and easy to get to area."

    The property it's self though was not ideal, but not awful either, just uncomfortable. We had everything we needed in terms of towels, toilet rolls, soaps, cooking equipment etc (no washer or dryer but laundrette was mentioned in advert so I suspected this to be the case). The property was spotlessly clean. Unfortunately though although it was advertised as no smoking the smell of stale cigarette smoke hit us as soon as we walked in every time and was rather unpleasant. It was very uncomfortable too. The radiators took a long time to heat up and the electric fire did little. We had to go out and buy a heater ourselves just to stay warm. Any heat that we did get was immediately lost through the main door as other than the bathroom there are no other doors so heat went straight out, especially during the day when curtains were open as the windows are large. The lack of doors also resulted in light shining through the main door window into the bedroom during the night if the neighbouring apartment security light came on or in our case was left on all night. We saw no doors in the photos in the advert but had assumed they were simply open for the photos. The sofa is very uncomfortable. We sometimes found ourselves using the dining stools instead of the sofa. A small two seater sofa would make such a difference to comfort levels and probably take less space. This sounds like a very harsh review, I am aware and it's a shame because we did have everything we need, but to be sitting in the cold and uncomfortable and with the smell of stale smoke wasn't what we expected. The bed though was very comfortable and we both always slept perfectly apart from the one night the neighbours light was left on. The apartment needs doors. I would stay on the harbour again as a base but not in this particular apartment. Sorry I can't be more positive.

    I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at my little flat. However I appreciate your comments and will try to address them as best I can There is no space for a washer or dryer as it is designed and built as a holiday flat for short visits. It is possibly not practical to install one without compromising space elsewhere I was concerned about the smell of cigarette smoke and fail to understand where this has come from. I stayed at the flat from 27/2/23 to 3/3/23 and there was no cigarette smell then. After I left the flat was empty for two weeks until you took up your booking. I have never smoked and, like you, I cannot stand the smell of cigarettes. So I am very puzzled about this The radiators are standard oil filled ones and heat up at the usual speed and can take the room temp up to 25 degrees plus. There is also the 2 KW electric fire which does heat up very quickly. I have had a number of guests over December/January/February and even though colder outside nobody has complained about being cold. However, there might have been a misunderstanding of the instructions and I will endeavour to improve this. Normally, guests will phone me if they have a problem so that I can address their issues. There are people working on the estate which can be called upon to help with any immediate problems The flat is lacking two doors and this is clearly shown in the internal photographs. The flat is very small and the open plan nature does make it more light and airy especially in the summertime. Again other guests have not mentioned it at all. However, I am looking at re-installing the doors as this may keep heat in the rooms especially for winter guests. I suppose I could install a small curtain over the main door window. The sofa is quite old and I do use it as a spare bed for anybody I have staying whilst I am in residence . But I do take the point and will arrange for a new 2 seater sofa to replace the existing one. I think that is all I can say for now. I know it will not help after the event and I can only apologise for this But I do wish you well and hope at least you enjoyed visiting and exploring Porthmadog and its environs Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dave2.5Mar 2023

  • "This property was ideally situated and had everything you would need."

    It was spotless and comfortable and I used the pubs and takeaways and even at minus 2C my food was still hot after a short stroll back. The one thing I would say is take a spare quilt or blanket if you are planning a winter break ( I was trying to save leaving the heating on when I was out though ) . Parking is an added bonus too. Would recommend.

    Thank you for your very positive feedback and indeed your obvious consideration of the heating costs The flats were designed and built for holiday use and not with a view to permanent residence. Hence, they are expensive to heat in the winter time. However, I will take you advice and provide extra quilts for winter use I hope you will come back for a summer break to enable you to appreciate Porthmadog and its environs in its full beauty. I wish you well Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.4Jan 2023

  • "Very pleased with accommodation and all the equipment."

    Printing out Sykes Cottages booking information has always been a problem now and in the past. Most of the details including directions etc are so faint that they are unreadable. Would like to know why. One small point a net curtain in the bedroom would give some privacy.....thanks John

    Thank you for your kind comments and I do hope you enjoyed your stay I take on board your point about the need for a net curtain in the bedroom and will attend to this next time I stay myself Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marion5.0Sep 2022

  • "Lovely property with an amazing view cleanliness was outstanding,the property was well equipped with everything you need."

    A message from the owner half way through our holiday to inform us of a water leak in the street was very considerate. We had a lovely holiday and would highly recommend it .

    I am pleased that you enjoyed your holiday; Porthmadog and its environs are indeed a wonderful place. And thank you for your genial comments on the property. I hope you will return and continue your exploration of the area's many facets Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rose5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely week in this well equipped property with beautiful views."

    Unfortunately the toilet seat still hadn't been fixed. Oven gloves would have been appreciated too. The property was really clean and comfortable.

    Thank you for your kind comments. And I am pleased you found the property clean and comfortable. It is indeed a beautiful area. I do apologise about the toilet seat - this should have been fixed a while ago and I will ensure this is now done - bit late for you unfortunately! But I hope enjoyed you stay overall and this would not prevent you from returning in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.4Jul 2022

  • "This is a lovely place to stay with lots of places to visit nearby."

    Our highlight being Portmerion. On arrival we found the toilet seat broke and only been left towels for one person, we rang the owner who said we was unaware of this and new towels were delivered and toilet seat which was to late for us but sorted for the next occupancy. This would not deter us from visiting again in the future.

    Thanks for the feedback. I did not know about the broken toilet seat but sent one as quckly as I could after being informed. There should have been two sets of towels laid out but obviously there weren't. I will make sure of this in the future. But glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come back. As your highlight was Portmeirion I do trust you enjoyed the water colours in the flat bedroom depicting various locations within the Portmeirion complex. I also hope you took time to watch a few episodes of The Prisoner which, as you know, had Portmeirion as its prime location. And invested in some of it wonderful,iconic and inspirational pottery. Haste ye back Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Jul 2022

  • "Wow what a beautiful apartment"

    Thank you for your most kind and graceful feedback. I apologise for the blip in the electric on the Saturday and I hope you were not too unduly inconvenienced I also hope your husband enjoyed watching The Prisoner episodes and you were not too much of a grass widow! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jun 2022

  • "Everything was perfect."

    Except for the fact that the next door flat had scaffolding up and we had a full afternoon of noise when they were taking it down.

    Reviewed by Lynne5.0Jun 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Ground-floor apartment
  • One double bedroom
  • Shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with flame-effect electric fire
  • Electric heaters with flame-effect electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge with ice box
  • Smart TV with Freeview, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Patio with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles, beach 3.2 miles
  • Note: Please bring your own beach towels

The property

Idyllically positioned on the harbourside and overlooking the tranquil waters of the Afon Glaslyn, this homely ground-floor apartment is situated in the charming coastal town of Porthmadog, Gwynedd.

Resting in close proximity to Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park and the iconic narrow gauge steam railways of Ffestiniog and the Welsh Highland, 48A South Snowdon Wharf provides a lovely base for a couple looking to explore the delights of North Wales.

Park up in the designated off-road parking space before stepping over the threshold and making your way inside, entering into a fabulous open-plan living space, flooded with light welcomed in through the towering picture windows and framing unspoilt views across the estuary and harbour.

The designated chef will be delighted by the fully-equipped kitchen tucked away at the rear of the sociable space, home to a range of handy appliances including an electric oven and hob, with an elegant breakfast bar positioned nearby, providing the perfect space to share a bottle of wine with your significant other as your cook up a storm.

Following a day full of adventure, settle down for the evening with a sumptuous spot in front of the Smart TV, gently warming your toes with the glow of the flame-effect electric fire; the perfect combination for a quiet night in.

In the warmer months, slide open the patio doors and bring the fresh coastal breeze inside, or end the evening in style with a seat on the harbour wall, where you can watch the boats sail in across the horizon as you toast a glass of wine to an unforgettable holiday.

As the evening draws to a close, prepare for bed with a rejuvenating rinse in the contemporary walk-in shower before snuggling up under the crisp linen of the sumptuous double bed to rest your eyes ahead of a new day.

Take advantage of your central location and take the short stroll into the heart of historic port town of Porthmadog where you'll find all of your local amenities, including quaint craft and souvenir shops, delicious eateries ranging from restaurants, tea rooms and inns, along with a fantastic selection of takeaways, perfect for savouring fresh fish and chips as your watch the world go by at the harbour.

Get better acquainted with your surroundings and board the Ffestiniog or Welsh Highland steam railways where you can journey through the picturesque landscape of Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park, or come face-to-face with the varying terrains and lace up your walking boots and embark on a two-footed adventure. Guests wanting to explore a little more inland, Llanberis is a fantastic base for walkers and climbers visiting Snowdonia.

From Llanberis you can take a trip on Snowdon Mountain Railway, taking you to the Summit of Snowdon and back.

Padarn Country Park also offers a great day out with walks, lakes and other attractions. The ancient town of Caernarfon is always worth a visit and has a great collection of buildings such as Caernarfon Castle which is Designated a World Heritage Site, it's also home to the Museum of the Royal Welsh Fusiliers.

For those who love a bit of history, on a hill above the town is Segontium Roman Fort, dating back to AD77, a must see for anyone visiting the area.

Caernarfon also offers a wonderful selection of day activities for everything, as well as peaceful walks for those just wanting to take it easy and enjoy the scenery.

If you would like to experience additional castles in the area, we also have Beaumaris, Criccieth and Harlech close by all with amazing history to absorb. Gwydir Forest Park is a must see, this peaceful forest scattered with lakes and mountains is home to a large variety of outdoor activities as well as wildlife.

Walkers will love the multiple routes, old miner's paths and forest walks and wildflowers, bikes can also be accommodated for as there are also Cycle paths available for those that prefer 2 wheels. There are also many documented circular walks all over the adjacent Lleyn Peninsula which explore the coast, hills and wildlife of the area. For guests wanting to have a more scenic visit but without the walking, we have the wonderful local gardens of Portmeirion, Plas Brondanw, Plas Tan y Bwich and indeed the hidden gardens of Plas Cadnant on Anglesey, these are all so beautifully maintained and a treat to anyone who enjoys nature. For a day at the beach we also have you covered, Borth Y Gest and the famed Black Rock Sands are within easy reach, decorated with cliffs, coves and towering dunes, providing a lovely setting to top up your tan, feel the sand between your toes as you combe the shores, or enjoy an indulgent dip in the refreshing waters.

Keep entertained with a visit to Llechwedd Slate Caverns, where you can travel over 500ft into the belly of Llechwedd mountain, and discover the fascinating history of the towns slate industry; thrill-seekers can tour the cavern aboard the Zip World Titan, the longest four-man zip wire in Europe.

The picture-perfect village of Portmeirion is nearby, decorated with breath-taking Italianate architecture, as well as the coastal village of Criccieth, home to a dramatic 13th century castle perched on the headland, along with a 9-hole pitch and putt course.

48A South Snowdon Wharf makes for a memorable stay anytime of year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location


Harlech 5 miles; Caernarfon 19 miles.

The bustling harbour town of Porthmadog lies on the Glaslyn Estuary and enjoys a stunning setting. The gateway to the Snowdonia National Park, Porthmadog is full of individual shops and restaurants, and home to the Ffestiniog Railway and the Welsh Highland railway where you can travel by steam through spectacular Snowdonia scenery, to Blaenau Ffestiniog or Caerforn . The pretty village of Borth Y Gest, with its cliffs and coves, is a short walk or drive from the town. The well known and unique Italianate village of Portmeirion is just down the coast. Situated on a rugged clifftop on its own private peninsula, Portmeirion, famous as the location of the TV show The Prisoner and the final episode of Cold Feet, is surrounded by miles of sandy beaches and woodlands. The area also boasts castles at Criccieth and Harlech, and superb unspoilt beaches such as Black Rock Sands, where the sands stretch as far as the eye can see. Also within reach is the famous Zip World Slate Caverns and Bounce Below where you can get involved with a variety of activities including the thrilling zip wires and underground caverns to explore; there is something here to suit the whole family. An ideal location for the attractions of Snowdonia and the The Lleyn Peninsula.

View more holiday cottages in Porthmadog

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas