Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Wales 5 minutes ago

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 22 View Image Gallery
  • Driftwood Terrace - North Wales - 1060534 - photo 1
close

Driftwood Terrace

(Ref. 1060534)

Porthmadog, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • really (13)
  • property (12)
  • small (11)
  • cottage (10)
  • stay (10)
  • lovely (9)

30 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a lovely weekend break in Driftwood Terrace."

    Well equipped and everything we needed.

    Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Feb 2024

  • "A lovely cottage that had everything we needed and it is well place for visitors to take a break in Porthmadog and the surrounding area."

    The milk in the fridge and the Welsh Cakes were amazing. Thank you

    Thank you for coming to visit! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0Jan 2024

  • "Our second visit to the property and a lovely holiday, filled with fantastic memories."

    We'll be back. Thanks

    Thank you so much for the repeat visit! Hopefully you liked the new bed and that the weather was in summer-mode for you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jamie5.0Aug 2023

  • "At our stay, we loved everything you gave us."

    It was well equipped with comfortable beds. I would highly recommend the place if you want a comfortable and relaxing stay.

    Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay, thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Aug 2023

  • "Used this cottage as a base for a golfing week."

    It was ideal. Bit small but we only slept there really. Very clean only down side is the parking. Would stay there again.

    Reviewed by David4.4May 2023

  • "Our stay was amazing!"

    The little cottage in Porthmadog, was in the perfect location, it was clean, tidy and just a homely place to be. Only downside, the double bed felt quite insecure and creaked with every movement. Apart from that small detail, we loved it so much, we plan on booking more Sykes Holiday Cottages in the future. 100% recommend to anyone who wants a central location to enjoy a small market town with loads of family run businesses, with access to one of the most beautiful beaches i’ve ever seen. Black Rock Sands. Thanks Sykes!!

    Reviewed by Shelley4.7Apr 2023

  • "Had a good stay."

    Good location and value for money. All the essentials you need for a stay. Nice and warm. Beds were ok. There was a lingering smell of wet dog downstairs. We washed the blankets as they were particularly bad and gave it all a good febreeze. I think if this was done regularly alongside washing sofa/cushion covers it'd really help. I appreciate we aren't pet owners so probably notice it more than others. Upstairs was fine.

    Reviewed by Katie4.1Apr 2023

  • "Lovely small property in the centre of town ideal for exploring the coast around Porthmadog."

    Stayed here before and likely to be back again some day.

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay, thank you for your visit and hope to see you back in Porthmadog again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Mar 2023

  • "What a beautiful little house it was absolutely perfect amazing amenities a pub right by the house and the house was so clean."

    Thank you for your feedback, so happy to hear you had a great stay! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlene5.0Nov 2022

  • "Wonderful accommodation, a bit difficult to find though as it is down a back alley."

    Eventually found parking a few hundred metres away and carried our luggage to the house, it would have been nice to know that we could park outside to unload, something we did not find out until we read the welcome folder inside. Only a couple of slight niggles, the cutlery was very flimsy, I actually bent a knife cutting some cheese. We were also unclear what we were supposed to do with the rubbish, as the bin people did not pick it up, the recycling containers were full, and it looked like previous guests had to use the large bin to dispose of recycling.

    Reviewed by Miss Carol4.7Nov 2022

  • "The property was very clean and comfortable."

    I found the bed very good and I slept well, I obviously agreed with the mattress. My son also slept well in the bottom bunk but he did find it could've been a tad longer, well he is 5 foot eleven!! It served our purpose as a base perfectly and we did enjoy our stay. We parked the car in a nearby ginnel and all was good. I would recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Jules5.0Oct 2022

  • "The cottage had everything we needed and was centrally placed for local facilities and for getting around by public transport."

    The day ticket on the buses was good value, especially as a reduction was given for holders of English and Scottish concession passes.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Sep 2022

  • "The holiday property was lovely it was comfortable and clean upon ..."

    The holiday property was lovely it was comfortable and clean upon arrival Parking was not an issue at all I would have liked the use of a mop and bucket but that was a small thing really We would book again

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Aug 2022

  • "Lovely cottage close to all amenities."

    Small but perfect for a holiday break. Stairs steep and may be difficult for younger children. Overall really enjoyed the break.

    Reviewed by Leilah4.1Aug 2022

  • "A beautiful quaint cottage, it had everything we needed."

    A great location, only a minutes walk from the centre of Porthmadog. Highly recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback, really hope you enjoyed your visit to Driftwood Terrace! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel5.0Aug 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay in this small, centrally located cottage."

    The property was very clean and has everything you need. Parking was not really an issue as we found a spot easily every day. The stairs are very steep and you need to be really careful with little ones as the top of the stairs is below the level of the rooms upstairs. Happy to recommend.

    Reviewed by Jamie4.7Jul 2022

  • "Cottage is very small really only suitable for 2 people stairs are steep and narrow not suitable for anyone with mobility issues parking is difficult on adjacent streets at busy times ."

    Cleaning of property could have been better particularly kitchen window and bins .take extra loo roll only one left in property

    Reviewed by Colin3.8Jun 2022

  • "We arrived at 4pm on the Friday and left at 11am the following day."

    As soon as i opened the door the smell {stale urine} hit you. Two throws covering the couches were stained and dirty,dust everywhere,dirty skirting boards. The kitchen {unfit for purpose} had a dirtyfloor ,greasy appliances and the whole of the downstairs needed a deep clean. Outside yard needed cleaning but not a nice area anyway. Upstairs bathroom you guessed it needed a clean.Beds were okay!! As you can imagine on what for us was a special anniversary it was very upsetting.This is the first time with sykes cottages that we have had any complaints.

    Incredibly surprised and shocked by your experience earlier this month. There is a high level of cleaning that takes place before every visit, however if you found the property didn’t meet your expectation there was a number to call on your guest information pack. I hope this hasn’t had a lasting impact on your choice of staying Sykes Cottages in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Geoffrey1.3May 2022

  • "Well situated accommodation, perfectly kitted out with everything needed, comfortable lounge area, serene bedroom environment."

    Interior was stunningly clean. The little touches of dog blankets, throws etc was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay with Driftwood Lodge and would highly recommend this accommodation.

    Thank you so much Kirsty! So pleased you and your pets enjoyed your stay - hope to have you stay again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kirsty5.0Apr 2022

  • "A small but comfortable and well equipped terraced house just off the High street."

    Spent 3 days there with my brother and my dog and really enjoyed ourselves. Great area for lovely beach walks. Only slight negative was there was no parking by the premises but plenty of streets nearby to park. Don’t let this put you off, would definitely go back again some day.

    Thank you for your feedback, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you stay again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Mar 2022

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped cottage but had trouble with tv couldnt get ..."

    Very comfortable and well equipped cottage but had trouble with tv couldnt get Bbc1 2 or ITV1 but well situated for touring round the Area

    Reviewed by Margaret4.7Mar 2022

  • "We had a very comfortable stay at Driftwood Terrace ."

    Although compact it was ideal for a couple ,lovely and warm . We followed the istructions for the TV and it was fine .We only used the double bedroom which was adequate for our needs . The second bedroom was very small with bunkbeds but had no storage only a bedside table .Overall very clean and modern with a well equipped kitchen and lovely bathroom with shower . A very small courtyard which we did not use .Ideally situated for walking into the town and nearby facilities and a great little local cafe . We always managed to find a parking space nearby although our stay was in October .We really enjoyed our week and it was a good base for exploring the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2021

  • "Enjoyed the stay everything we needed outdoor area a little small and noise from the pub at the back of us at the weekend but to be expected."

    Pictures made the property look a lot bigger than it was. All in all a nice stay and central to Portmadog high street

    Reviewed by Debora4.1Aug 2021

  • "Very disappointed with location of property which was essentially down a back alley."

    Parking was a nightmare. The local pub had a beer garden which was open till late and very noisy most of the time. The pictures of the cottage made it look bigger than it actually was. It is not suitable for a family. You cannot realistically cook in the kitchen and the garden at the back is not pleasant at all. The beds were very comfortable but sadly overshadowed by the constant noise from the pub. All in all was really disappointed with the cottage. It cost a lot of money and I did not think it was worth the cost based on other rentals I have stayed in.

    Reviewed by Rebecca2.8Aug 2021

  • "The house is really lovely and all the little touches put in place were so thoughtful."

    We especially appreciated the board games and milk in the fridge!! The only things that really bothered us were the kitchen tap (it needs 2 hands to turn on because it's loose) and the toilet seat is a bit wobbly. The house is right in the centre of town and 10 minutes from Black Rock Sands. We had such a good holiday!!!

    Reviewed by Abigail4.4Jul 2021

  • "Overall a good stay but the property would benefit from a little more attention to detail and improved curb appeal."

    Reviewed by Philip3.4Jul 2021

  • "The garden/patio was an enclosed decked area not really suitable for dogs."

    A hairdryer would have been good and no hoover. Otherwise really well equipped.

    Reviewed by Stephanie3.4Jul 2021

  • "Very small property."

    No room to put anything. Certainly not big enough for the 4 it is supposed to hold. The rear patio is totally enclosed by high brick walls so there is nowhere to sit in the sun.

    Reviewed by Jan2.8Jun 2021

  • "1. Freezing compartment of fridge solid with ice and could not be used 2."

    Anti bacterial containers in kitchen and bathroom empty 3. Instructions for using keybox need to be a little more explicit for people who have not used one before and if trying to use when there is not much available light 4. In the event there were only two of us staying but the property is not suitable for 4 adults, especially with the complete lack of clothes' storage cupboards or drawers 5. Other reviewers have commented on the TV. Quite impossible to access terrestial channels using the instructions supplied. Took over 3 hours to work out the sequence of 18 actions that have to be carried out. I left written instructions in the handbook.

    Reviewed by John4.4Jun 2021

  • "Clearly a lot of thought has been put into the facilities and decor but just one or two improvements might make it perfect: another pot and pan for cooking dinners maybe another set of cutlery, the freezer compartment completely freezes over very quickly so makes it useless, a bin in the upstairs bathroom, and a broom for sweeping out the property."

    Minor things really which we are sure you'll sort. Everything else was perfect.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7May 2021

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over two floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x adult bunk
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer
  • Smart TV with movies package and super fast WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot available
  • Free roadside parking on a first come first served basis on an adjacent street
  • Small enclosed patio area with seating
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and within pub 0.1 mile

The property

Resting in the heart of Porthmadog, in Wales is this delightful mid-terrace property, Driftwood Terrace.

Benefitting from its central position, less than 50 yards from the high street, this property is well-suited to all types of groups wishing to stay in Wales.

Entering the property, you will be greeted to an open-plan living space, which has been individually styled with a light decor and a quirky midnight blue stripe which matches the two plush sofas.

Curl up here during those quieter evenings and indulge in the TV for a family movie night.

Behind this is a quaint dining area with ample seating for all four guests and is the perfect spot for enjoying a delicious meal and toasting to a wonderful holiday with a glass of champagne.

Walk through to the contemporary fitted kitchen which has pristine white units and sleek black worktops providing all the necessary appliances for cooking up some delicious meals.

On the first floor you will be welcomed into either the double or adult bunk room, both of which have the same white and midnight blue décor, with matching bedside tables and lamps ideal for some late night reading.

There is a family bathroom which has a fitted bath and overhead electric shower to choose from.

Take a refreshing beverage out to the rear enclosed patio area and soak up some sun during the warmer months.

Due to your central location, you are within striking distance of a number of traditional Welsh pubs and restaurants for that fine dining experience, or choose to explore the independent shops and pick up some souvenirs for your loved ones’ back home.

Porthmadog is also home to the Maritime Museum which has a number of displays detailing the history of the town, or enjoy a journey at Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland Railways.

Further afield is the bustling town of Blaenau Ffestiniog which offers the wonderful attraction of Zip World Bounce Below, with its exhilarating rides for those thrill-seekers among you.

The property is also within reach of a number of lovely sandy beaches such as Black Rock Sands Beach, ideal for an afternoon of seaside fun with your little ones playing some beach games.

Close to the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park for all manner of outdoor activities from walking to mountain biking, all within driving distance.

Driftwood Terrace is an excellent choice for a family looking to explore all the delights of the Welsh coast.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

PORTHMADOG

Harlech 5 miles; Caernarfon 19 miles.

The bustling harbour town of Porthmadog lies on the Glaslyn Estuary and enjoys a stunning setting. The gateway to the Eryri (Snowdonia) National Park, Porthmadog is full of individual shops and restaurants, and home to the Ffestiniog Railway, where you can travel by steam through spectacular Snowdonia scenery, to Blaenau Ffestiniog. The pretty village of Borth Y Gest, with its cliffs and coves, is a short walk or drive from the town. The well known and unique Italianate village of Portmeirion is just down the coast. Situated on a rugged clifftop on its own private peninsula, Portmeirion, famous as the location of the TV show The Prisoner and the final episode of Cold Feet, is surrounded by miles of sandy beaches and woodlands. The area also boasts castles at Criccieth and Harlech, and superb unspoilt beaches such as Black Rock Sands, where the sands stretch as far as the eye can see. Also within reach is the famous Zip World Slate Caverns and Bounce Below where you can get involved with a variety of activities including the thrilling zip wires and underground caverns to explore; there is something here to suit the whole family. An ideal location for the attractions of Eryri (Snowdonia) and the The Lleyn Peninsula.

View more holiday cottages in Porthmadog

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas