Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 42 View Image Gallery
  • The Captain's Penthouse - North Wales - 947143 - photo 1

The Captain's Penthouse

(Ref. 947143)

Porthmadog, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • apartment (23)
  • location (21)
  • views (20)
  • bed (19)
  • lovely (18)
  • all (17)

45 Customer Reviews

  • "Fabulous apartment with the best view from both the bedroom and lounge."

    Pretty much 180 degree view, if not more. We’ve stayed on Snowdon Wharf many times and this property out-beats those as you get to watch the harbour, train station, see the fob and estuary Really spacious property with easy access, extremely comfy bed and great shower (after hubby cleaned the plug hole due to two razor covers preventing it draining). It didn’t spoil our stay at all but the property needs some teaspoons (there was just one) and a baking tray would be handy and a long handled sweeping brush too. Parking was not an issue at all. I’m just sorry I left some bread in the cupboard, I thought husband had emptied it…. we did leave everything else spotless and would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Mar 2024

  • "The property has many plus points."

    The location and amazing view being the main ones. The bedrooms and living room were also comfortable, and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. The massive bath was also lovely. Sadly, it was let down by its poor state or repair and general cleanliness when we arrived. Many of the maintenance issues that we found had been noted months earlier by previous guests and not fixed. The most worrying of these are some of the door handles. One of our party was trapped in a bedroom as the handle had come off the door. We booked this for a luxury Christmas break with family and paid a premium to do so. Unfortunately it would seem that the property owner has given up with trying to make it the luxury location as depicted on the listing. Additionally, when we emailed Sykes, they did nothing other than send us an email asking for feedback on 'how they sorted the issues' . They didn't sort anything, other than the property manager came round the night before we left and looked at the issues and informed us he would let the owner know again of the things that needed fixing.

    We were sad to read your review. When you contacted Sykes during your stay, they contacted us, and we had the property manager call you and get in touch with the housekeeping as we received the message and visited you within 24 hours. The loose door handle was tightened, and we are very sorry it had become loose. Since then, we have replaced the door handle. In the regular maintenance routine, we replaced the dishwasher in January, and the washing machine will be replaced in February. We take our guest's comfort very seriously and always strive for our guests to have a great stay. Sykes contacted you again, and we thought you had a lovely stay after that. We are sorry that you feel that we didn't hear you. I'm glad you found the property very comfortable to sleep in and enjoyed the bath and the kitchen facilities. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neil2.5Dec 2023

  • "Great stay, lovely views."

    Dishwasher didn't really work and pipes can get noise. We reported dishwasher and got immediate response but not sure if got fixed as we left next day.

    Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Captains Penthouse for your stay and for taking the time to write a review. We're delighted to hear that you had a great stay and enjoyed the lovely views. I agree, the view is remarkable to watch the clouds over the mountains, and how the estuary changes the landscape view with the tide. Hope you had a lovely cup of tea and watched the world go by from the top floor. My favourite part is when the steam train rolls into the harbour station. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the dishwasher. Your comfort is our top priority, and I appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention so our property manager could go in and address it. We're grateful for your understanding and the prompt communication regarding these matters. It's feedback like yours that helps us improve and continue to provide the best experience for our guests. We hope these issues didn't mar your overall experience and that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, ensuring a flawless stay. Warm regards, Elisabeth Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick3.8Jul 2023

  • "Generally the property was maintained to a good standard apart from the shower."

    The shower fitting to the wall was loose and it was not possible to adjust the shower head fitment so the shower head was not able to be pointed in the direction required and would drop, meaning you sometimes had to hold the shower head while having a shower. There were also water leaks coming from under the shower basin.

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Jun 2023

  • "Lovely penthouse."

    Fantastic location for visiting the local area and for Porthmadog town itself. Simply decorated in white and the furnishings are lovely and seaside touches. Very quirky living room in the loft space with amazing views of the snowdonia mountains and the harbour. Big bed is very comfortable, also with Fantastic views of the harbour and welsh mountains. BiG bath after a day out walking is just perfect. Would definitely recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind climbing lots of steps up to the entrance. We really LOVED it here.

    Reviewed by Maggie5.0Mar 2023

  • "Great accommodation with fantastic views."

    Well equipped and clean. Personally I would have liked more preparation space in the kitchen area. My grandchildren loved the hammock. A couple of maintenance issues were a shelf in the fridge was broken and two door handles were of concern. The bathroom door handle/lock was very loose and also that of the lower bedroom. However having mentioned this it did not detract from our holiday, we just had to be careful. All in all a lovely place to to stay which was accessible to many local amenities.

    Reviewed by Valerie4.7Oct 2022

  • "On arrival the four of us were disappointed to have to share two tea bags and no milk - this felt very mean when compared to the welcome we have received at other Sykes properties."

    The blind cord in the back bedroom was broken, so the blind was continually down with no light coming in. Door handles both side of this room were so loose that people using this room were unwilling to shut the door and risk being locked inside. The door handle in the bathroom came off when someone was in the bathroom leaving them locked inside until rescued. Of the four lights in the dining area, one was flickering and another was not working. The dishwasher was awkward to use as one roller was missing off the storage rack on one side. The fridge also had a missing shelf and the freezer section badly needs defrosting. On a positive note, the view from this property is outstanding. We have previously stayed at other Sykes properties and we had expected better.

    Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to let us know your thoughts. Customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve our standards. If we have received contact from you we would have been able to offer a resolve. We have since sent in our handyman to the property to attend to all the issues you have raised. A welcome pack ceased during Covid however is now going to resume. The dishwasher has been mentioned previously, unfortunately this was not checked closely, however the propeller has been fixed, our handyman is also going to check the wheel under the basket to ensure this does not happen again. I hope this did not spoil your stay too much and does not put you off from booking The Captain’s Penthouse again, we would like to thank you once again for providing your feedback, kind regards The Property Owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by R2.5Sep 2022

  • "Lovely apartment with the most amazing views!"

    The views and location really make the stay. Couple of minor niggles during our stay - bath plug does not work, we had to wedge a knife in to get the bath to drain properly. - washing machine doesn’t have any instructions and I couldn’t get it to work at all. We downloaded instructions for the model but it still didn’t want to work. Maybe it’s us! - for the price we would have expected a welcome basket, their was nothing. Would have been nice to at least make a quick cup of tea before we headed out to get provisions. Every other house we’ve stayed in has had something. Parking can be tricky especially in the busy periods however we always managed to get parked either in front of the property or in the close by free car park. Absolutely loved the window in the lounge, sat for hours just watching the world go by and listening to all the sounds of the water. The views over to Snowdonia are breath taking. Lovely property and would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by Hayley3.8Jul 2022

  • "We had a most enjoyable stay in this great apartment."

    One thing - the dishwasher worked satisfactorily but when we first used it we saw that one of the plastic rotors and two small parts were lying in the basket . We hope you can inform the owner / manager. The apartment was very comfortable and had fantastic views . It was in a good location with all necessary amenities in Porthmadog.

    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We love this apartment, we stayed it in for two weeks before it was refurbished just to let the space speak to us on what was the way forward. We raised the floor on the top floor to get the view from the sofas. And what a view! It is always interesting. I also love the town, a little shop and coffee between the beautiful walks. Great to hear that you enjoyed the stay, and many thanks for giving us a note on the dishwasher - I've called my property manager this morning so we can have it sorted. Hope you come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0May 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay ,it was very homely and comfortable, very well stocked ..."

    Really enjoyed our stay ,it was very homely and comfortable, very well stocked with all items everything thought about, loved the views and the lounge area on the top floor totally chilling, my son and daughter particularly loving the hammock

    That is so lovely to hear, we also love how the views keep changing with the tide in the port, steam train rolling in to town, it's just always something to look at. Thank you so much for your stay and hope you come again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Mar 2022

  • "Had a great time at this property."

    Lovely views out of the windows of the harbour and mountains in the background. My son absolutely loved the hamock upstairs and spent pretty much the entire time in it. Good location for exploring the region. We had a couple of nice days out at Black Rock Sands which is less than 10 minutes drive. Nice walks along the coast too. The property itself is nicely appointed and had everything we needed. We didnt need the third bedroom on the top floor but it would be tricky to access for anyone with mobility issues as there is a large beam that needs to be stepped over. This is covered in the description I believe. We don't normally stay in the same place more than once but would consider coming back.

    Thanks so much for your stay and your kind words. There is such a lovely walk along the beach, we love it too. Great for walking, and then finish the walk with a lovely cup of tea in the town. Try the Port cafe - they have the very best Lemon meringue pies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Feb 2022

  • "Beautiful location and views from the flat."

    Well appointed. Would certainly stay here again.

    Reviewed by Struan4.1Feb 2022

  • "Excellent accommodation the views over the harbour and amazing."

    Would definitely stay again.

    So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We love the views too, it is just never boring and you can see for miles. Many thanks for your stay. My husband and I had one of our best New Year's Eves in Porthmadog when we first refurbished the apartment. Many thanks for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew5.0Dec 2021

  • "Excellent property but I think the concrete steps should have been highlighted greater, along with the wood beam which restricted the entrance to the upper bedroom."

    So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Yes the Grade II Listed property doesn't have a lift so the external steps is how you reach the penthouse, but I would be very sad to hear that it would be a surprise with the images and description that says how many steps there are. I'm so glad that you still enjoyed your stay and thought the property was excellent and I hope you come again. Please do! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Nov 2021

  • "We enjoyed our stay in the lovely well equipped 'Captains Penthouse' would definitely go back, the views from the windows were fantastic."

    Reviewed by Tina5.0Nov 2021

  • "Fab location and amazing views over the harbour to the mountains."

    Very well equipped kitchen and very comfortable bed. So much to see and do in the area, within walking distance, or a bus or train ride, or by car.

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Sep 2021

  • "Amazing location & great to be in walking distance to town."

    Beautifully clean apartment. Few areas weren’t as expected - Stairs weren’t suitable for a puppy as open tred, fridge was tiny & didn’t work very well & single beds were not very comfortable.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Aug 2021

  • "THAT VIEW!!!"

    You could literally just sit by that high floor window all holiday. All as seen with everything a larger family or 6 people would need. Stair and steps may be tricky for elderly or people with mobility issues. Locally you can go crabbing outside the door & shops, cafes, restaurants are 2 mins away.

    Reviewed by Donna4.4Jul 2021

  • "The flat was lovely."

    Great views, love the bifold windows and decking. Everything as you would expect. Only downside really was the texts, emails and expectations from Sykes re check out. Being out by 9am with a baby and a 4 year old was less than ideal, the morning was quite stressful. And paying what we did I’m not sure it’s appropriate to ask us to strip all the beds, clean everything etc. It sort of ruined our last day as the shadow of impending rush in the morning and Sykes’ emails and texts felt a bit much. There are a lot of steps too so it’s not an easy check out if you have a lot of stuff.

    Reviewed by Caitlin4.7Jun 2021

  • "Much needed break."

    In a lovely apartment with panoramic views across the harbour and mountains. great access to country and beach front walks. Ideal setting for exploring other parts of Wales. Would highly recommend.

    Reviewed by Joe5.0Jun 2021

  • "Had a lovely stay, really enjoyable and comfortable."

    The view is spectacular and the retractable window just adds to the experience. Had everything we needed in the apartment.

    Reviewed by Leah4.7May 2021

  • "A lovely apartment which has an amazing view of the harbour."

    Hammock good fun! However, the drainage to the shower is very slow and could do with looking at. Also a few more glasses would be helpful. There are a number of steps to the apartment (which keeps everyone fit) and a beam does cross the door opening to one of the bedrooms but this is mentioned in the property description.

    Reviewed by Ann4.1Sep 2020

  • "Lovely apartment with spectacular views of Snowdonia."

    Ideal situation for all key places to visit in North Wales. Only down side were the steps . No problem for us but older and very young with a pram would be difficult

    Reviewed by Valerie4.4Aug 2020

  • "Lovely warm and cosy accommodation, very clean and excellent central location with superb views."

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Feb 2020

  • "Great location and we quickly got used to the steps and we are retired!"

    The apartment was excellent and very comfortable. We were only 2 and the apartment sleeps 6. There is room for 6,but only one bathroom and toilet, which would be an issue for 6, particularly 6 adults. We had a brilliantly warm and sunny week, so the top floor window was used on a daily basis. Would recommend for this feature on its own. The location was great with all the facilities you needed within walking distance. Great location to explore the area.

    Reviewed by Christopher5.0Sep 2019

  • "Beautiful apartment with all details mentioned clearly on the blurb."

    Lovely and clean, firm beds and powerful shower. Excellent base to explore North Wales and right on the coastal path. Felt privileged to stay here and definitely coming back.

    Reviewed by Belinda5.0Jul 2019

  • "Good apartment in excellent location However , Cleanliness isn't up to ..."

    Good apartment in excellent location However , Cleanliness isn't up to scratch -Bathroom particularly Several loose door handles throughout - Needs a little TLC and minor repairs I cant remember if on description it details the access by many many steps - OK for us but needs to be notified

    Many thanks for your feedback and we can confirm that all the issues that you have raise have now been rectified. The website does state - The apartment is accessed via 41 external stone steps Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gill3.1Jul 2019

  • "Very comfortable apartment, ."

    Fabulous location. Will definately be returning !!

    Reviewed by Liz5.0Jul 2019

  • "Bedroom has beam blocking doorway."

    Reviewed by Richard3.1May 2019

  • "Very nice apartment, in a good location, with views across the harbour."

    The only issue is with parking, which at busy times is difficult - only two allocated spaces for the whole block, so it's a free for all to park wherever you can.

    Reviewed by Julian4.1Apr 2019

  • "Wow what a view!"

    !! Stunning!!! You couldn't beat the location. Unfortunately however the apartment didn't match up to the view. To be a boutique apartment this has some way to go. Lacking in luxury touches and quality of fixtures and fittings need attention. We appreciate they have responded to criticism of previous visitors but there is still certain issues that need to be resolved and improved. Such as poor quality bathroom storage and toilet roll holder, only having one black rubbish bag and no dishwasher tablets. Hairdryer was supplied 3 days into stay. Bedding and towels are well worn and mattress protectors not clean but were when we left, due to us washing them. No vanity stool and really disappointed in welcome pack/facility book. However the beds were very comfortable. The upstairs is not a comfortable place to spend time and this room could really benefit with soft furnishings and some luxury to enjoy that great view. Currently it's hard, cold and uninviting. We are only pleased we payed an out of season price as this does not warrant what they charge in high season at all.

    Reviewed by Victoria2.2Mar 2019

  • "Nice weekend getaway."

    Location is fantastic although the steps are a bit of a challenge when loading and unloading for the weekend. Could do with better WIFI. Looks like they got a new provider but forgot to update the instructions to connect. Also advertised Apple TV however there was no remote control to be found. Also could do with a bit of maintenance. Loose plaster in the bathroom and a mismatched toilet seat made it seems like maintenance was a bit hap hazard. All in all it is a nice place for the winter discount rate. Kids loved the hammock.

    Reviewed by Benjamin3.4Feb 2019

  • "Few issues with the property which was listed as ‘boutique’; bed linen and towels marked/dirty, crockery (mugs) chipped, shower and bath both with draining problems, master bedroom window catches broken so had to be wedged shut with a teaspoon, all indoor candles require new batteries; all issues raised in previous reviews and in housekeepers notes and visitor book at the property; shame because the location is spot on and minimal housekeeping could really improve this apartment."

    Reviewed by Janice3.4Nov 2018

  • "Currently on holiday in this apartment view and location is excellent the maintenance of the property is ridiculous and certainly not what I expected after staying here before."

    Shower continuously leeks Shower tray doesn’t drain maximum 3 mins in shower or it will overflow. Shower seals covered in mound. Bath doesn’t drain without manual assistance as draining mechanism no longer works. Toilet seat doesn’t fit. Window locks in the master bedroom are missing which means they don’t shut properly so a lot of outside noise (we used teaspoons to keep the window shut). Sound bar doesn’t work due to damaged sockets. Almost certain there is a leak upstairs as there is dripping noises downstairs and leak marks on the ceiling downstairs. Overall very disappointing we never expect perfection but several of these comments are in the feedback book and reviews owners obviously to lazy to fix but happy to take my money Sykes sought this lazy owner out.

    Reviewed by Ayrton2.2Sep 2018

  • "The accommodation has a fantastic view of the harbour and this redeems it somewhat as there are many small issues with the property."

    There is no decent hanging facilities in the twin room and the door handle is loose. The lock on the bathroom door came off. The shower dripped constantly and the shower cannot be used on full as the tray fills up too quickly. The toilet seat is too small for the toilet. There are chipped mugs in the cupboard and the dishwasher was filthy. We were there for 2 nights ( 4 adults) and ate out. If we had been a bigger party, there would not have been enough room for our things or sufficient cooking equipment. I would not consider this a luxury flat. It does not represent good value for money in its present condition.

    Reviewed by Valerie3.1Sep 2018

  • "Whilst most expectations were met there are a couple things which need to be commented on."

    The WiFi was not working on arrival on 14th September and did not start to work until the Sunday morning 16th. The shower did not drain effectively and although both of these things had been put in the housekeeping notes and guest book on previous occasions, it appears that these problems had not been addressed. Overall the setting is lovely, with great views and within easy access of restaurants bars and shops. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Sep 2018

  • "Nice position but very poor value for money Second visit to captains penthouse and unlikely to stay again."

    We fed back comments last year and none appear to have been acted on. The apartment is nice and is in a lovely position but it is not luxury as stated and priced. On arrival, one of the keys was broken. Had the cleaners not been at the property we would have been unable to gain access and as we later discovered the property manager and owner were away, they would not have been available to sort this out. The cleaners were really helpful and gave us their keys. Lots of niggly issues:- chipped paintwork, loose door handles, dripping shower, badly draining bath. There was a bad stain/mould in the bathroom from a previous or possibly current leak. As well as this the kitchen has exactly 6 of each item (sometimes fewer) and no serving dishes etc, so making and serving a meal for 6 is tricky . Most of the cups are chipped which is not only not luxury it is unhygienic. Poor quality bedding is very tired and stained, pillows uncomfortable and towels were old and rough. All of this can be seen as our opinion but we have stayed in “ luxury” places previously and the quality of everything was much better in them. We had no internet all week!!! This was very difficult for all of us and a couple of our party in particular who needed to work. We specifically booked a place that had WiFi. Having eventually gone through Sykes cottages the Property manager arranged a time to sort that and some other things out. We had to wait in and he arrived almost 3 hours late. He went away to get some new locks and we never saw him again. Furthermore the WiFi remained broken. Many of the points I’ve made here are also raised in the visitor and housekeepers books and go back many months. This suggests to us that either it is not being read at all or the customer feedback and concerns are being ignored......not great either way. We also tried to contact someone at the beginning of our stay to get the internet and locks etc sorted quickly, both the owner and property manager were unavailable!! In our opinion the owners need to upgrade this apartment, sort out the bits that are tired and broken, include much better quality equipment throughout and very definitely sort out the internet issues OR reduce the weekly rate .

    Reviewed by Anne2.5Sep 2018

  • "Great location with beautiful views."

    Wifi was intermittent and urgently needs to be upgraded.

    Reviewed by Asif4.7Aug 2018

  • "We loved the apartment - v."

    stylist. A shame that a few little things let it down - toilet seat is much too small for the toilet. Not enough crockery or cutlery as only 6 of some items meaning the dishwasher needed to go on every day which is a waste of energy for the owner vs small cost of providing extra crockery and cutlery.

    Reviewed by Liz4.1Aug 2018

  • "Perfect accommodation for a weekend break!"

    Lovely apartment with fantastic view of the marina and hills. I would recommend it. Handy having things like ironing board and dishwasher tablets there too.

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Jun 2018

  • "The apartment is in a fantastic location, clean and ideal for a week's holiday, the listing wasn't quite right in the respect of it stated the nearest pub was a mile away when infact there is one to the left of the apartment in the square and the others are a very easy walk into the town."

    The drainage of the shower is inadequate as the shower tray fills with water and doesn't drain until the shower is switched off which makes it quite slippy when showering, not really ideal. The master bedroom could do with a small stool for the dressing table for doing hair/makeup etc.

    Reviewed by Linda3.4Jun 2018

  • "Beautiful apartment overlooking the Harbour, with fantastic views."

    Well placed for local shops, amenities and the steam train. Outstanding views of the countryside from the apartment with easy access to numerous attractions in North Wales, we loved our stay. Although the apartment sleeps 6, I would not recommend 6 adults as this would be a squeeze, also there are 43 steps to get in there, so a bit of a challenge for the infirm. We were a party of 4 adults which was fine. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Julie5.0May 2018

  • "We enjoyed our break in the Captain's Penthouse immensely."

    The apartment was exactly as described and the view from the upper living room is stunning. The rooms are all finished beautifully and all the facilities were in great working order. The description of how many steps to get to the apartment was very accurate and in fact seemed less when we actually arrived. We had a lovely welcome gift from the hosts which was much appreciated and did not want for anything. I would definitely recommend this apartment and would like to come back one day. Many thanks for a great stay!

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Apr 2018

  • "Thus location is excellent no matter if you plan an active holiday such as walking, rock climbing, boating etc."

    Or you just want to relax and enjoy the scenery, walk into town to brows round the shops, and so fourth. It is worth booking this accommodation any time of year, (we booked November) because the accommodation is very comfortable indeed. Can't recommend the Captains Penthouse enough.

    Reviewed by Graham4.8Nov 2017

  • "Our grandson left his favourite cuddly toy in the apartment."

    As soon as we realised this we contacted Sykes and Amy was empathetic and very helpful. The location of the apartment couldn't have been better. We could walk round the corner to a small beach where we were able to explore rock pools, which the grandchildren adored, or we could go further afield to the slate mines, Criccieth, Snowdonia etc. The fact that the steam railway departs from Porthmadog was an added bonus and we thoroughly enjoyed our journey to Blaneau Ffestiniog. The views from the living room were spectacular even on rainy days and the colours on the mountains were never the same on any two days. On the Saturday evening we had an added bonus of not one but two firework displays. Never found out what it was all about.

    Reviewed by Georgina4.6Jul 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Over third and fourth floors: Three bedrooms: 1 x third floor king-size double, 1 x fourth floor double, 1 x third floor twin
  • Third floor bathroom with a double-ended bath, separate shower, basin and WC
  • Third floor open plan kitchen with dining area
  • Fourth floor sitting room with sea and mountain views and woodburning stove.
  • Gas central heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 4 x Smart TV , WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent, please bring own beach towels
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 1 car in communal parking area on first come, first served basis
  • Additional roadside parking nearby on first come, first served basis
  • Use of shared decked area with table and chairs
  • no smoking
  • One well behaved Dog accepted (own basket and bowl must be provided)
  • Shops, pubs and restaurants 4 mins walk
  • Harbour/marina opposite
  • Beach 15 mins walk
  • Note: The apartment is accessed via 41 external stone steps; care should be taken at all times and may not be suitable for those with limited mobility
  • Note: The stairs inside the apartment are open tread so children should be supervised
  • Note: The fourth floor double bedroom has sloping ceilings and restricted head height, access requires stepping over a large beam
  • Note: Check-in 4pm.

The property

A beautiful third and fourth floor apartment, full of charm and character occupying an excellent position within this historic Grade II listed building, which dates back to the early 1800s and formed part of the original cobbled harbour in the town of Porthmadog.

This lovely boutique penthouse enjoys some superb and uninterrupted views over the picturesque Porthmadog harbour, encompassing the estuary, mountains and the Ffestiniog and Welsh Highland Steam Railways and will appeal to energetic couples, friends or a family who love the outdoors and want to be centrally located with the beach and many of the attractions the Snowdonia National Park has to offer.

Fully refurbished this apartment is well insulated to ensure a warm and cosy environment.

Accessed via 36 external stone steps this wonderful apartment is worth the climb and you will be rewarded once inside with some stunning views from most rooms and a stylish and tasteful interior with a fresh, nautical theme with one or two quirky attributes which compliment this wonderful holiday apartment.

The Penthouse has been lovingly refurbished by the owners and all your needs have been catered for to ensure you have a wonderful holiday and have some great memories to take away with you.

Arranged on one floor when you enter the apartment is a super modern and funky kitchen which extends to a light, bright dining area, wonderful for social gatherings or a sophisticated soirée.

The two well-appointed bedrooms, each have a TV and boast exposed stonework and the master has a king-size bed and stunning harbour views.

The family bathroom which services the whole apartment makes a real statement with 3D slate tiles, a double-ended bath, heated mirror to prevent fogging, and a separate shower cubicle.

Upstairs is a relaxing and welcoming sitting room with wonderful bespoke Chesterfield sofas, a warming woodburning stove and the hammock hanging from the beams allows you to lie down and gently sway reading a book.

Gaze out from the wonderful bi-fold dormer windows which open up the whole length of the room so you can take in the most magnificent view and enjoy the sea breeze on balmy summer evenings.

Just off the sitting room is the third bedroom – accessed by stepping over one of the heavy oak roof timbers which forms the ‘A’ frame of the apartment’s roof.

The apartment has direct access on to the decked courtyard which has some wonderful elevated views, there are sun loungers and a BBQ area for you to enjoy.

The apartment is superbly placed to enjoy the town’s array of independent shops, galleries, restaurants, pubs and tea rooms.

There are some lovely walks and the gentle stroll up the road, which runs high behind the apartment, takes you to the pretty little village of Borth-y-Gest and along the coast to Black Rock Sands.

The children will love crabbing off the harbour wall, crazy golf in the park or for something completely different, why not try llama trekking?

Some of North Wales’ best attractions are within easy reach, the world famous Ffestiniog & Welsh Highland steam railways, and just a couple of miles away the Italianate village and gardens of Portmeirion.

Take a day to explore the historic castles at Criccieth, Harlech and Caernarfon or discover the Llyn Peninsula, the many watersports opportunities at Abersoch, and the quaint fishing village of Aberdaron.

This is a truly lovely apartment and provides a great base anytime of the year.

View on map

About the location


Harlech 5 miles; Caernarfon 19 miles.

The bustling harbour town of Porthmadog lies on the Glaslyn Estuary and enjoys a stunning setting. The gateway to the Snowdonia National Park, Porthmadog is full of individual shops and restaurants, and home to the Ffestiniog Railway and the Welsh Highland railway where you can travel by steam through spectacular Snowdonia scenery, to Blaenau Ffestiniog or Caerforn . The pretty village of Borth Y Gest, with its cliffs and coves, is a short walk or drive from the town. The well known and unique Italianate village of Portmeirion is just down the coast. Situated on a rugged clifftop on its own private peninsula, Portmeirion, famous as the location of the TV show The Prisoner and the final episode of Cold Feet, is surrounded by miles of sandy beaches and woodlands. The area also boasts castles at Criccieth and Harlech, and superb unspoilt beaches such as Black Rock Sands, where the sands stretch as far as the eye can see. Also within reach is the famous Zip World Slate Caverns and Bounce Below where you can get involved with a variety of activities including the thrilling zip wires and underground caverns to explore; there is something here to suit the whole family. An ideal location for the attractions of Snowdonia and the The Lleyn Peninsula.

View more holiday cottages in Porthmadog

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas