Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • The Mallard - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1068604 - photo 1

The Mallard

(Ref. 1068604)

Flamborough, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (17)
  • apartment (14)
  • stay (14)
  • property (13)
  • great (13)
  • lovely (11)

31 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely little apartment - brilliant location - thoroughly enjoyed our stay here ..."

    Lovely little apartment - brilliant location - thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - the apartment is bright, warm, stylish and the quality of finish is excellent - would definitely recommend, great value for money

    Reviewed by Nick4.1Apr 2024

  • "This property is perfect for what we was looking for, a quirky little stay within a lovely community."

    Located very close to all amenities, such as local café, butchers, pubs and award-winning fish and chip shop. On our stay we walked to the Lighthouse where we saw the seals on the beach which was a nice surprise, we also walked to the north and south landing and would recommend these to anybody as they are all within the one hour walk. Overall, the stay was a perfect little Easter getaway for both myself and partner with our little fur baby. We are both looking forward to coming back and exploring what else Flamborough has to offer. Thank you very much for your hospitality.

    Reviewed by Roger4.7Mar 2024

  • "Lovely penthouse apartment that is quirkily decorated with nice furnishings that make it comfy."

    It's in a great location, right in the middle of the Dog and Duck Square in Flamborough. Plenty of parking in the square although we did stay during off peak season. Our dog loved the beautiful walks right from the doorstep. Would we stay again, probably not as we are tall and the apartment has low beams and vaulted ceilings that we were ducking around. The apartment needs a deep clean and redecoration in places and there was no welcome pack, so it's a good job there is a Coop supermarket in the village. The apartment is also up a lot of stairs. That being said, we enjoyed our weeks stay and met some lovely people.

    Reviewed by Lisa3.8Feb 2024

  • "Lovely apartment with some really quirky features and great location as it is near to the pubs, restaurants and the lovely cliffs."

    However, unfortunately the uncleanliness of the property slightly ruined it for us. On arrival there were bits all over the work surfaces in the kitchen and all over the floor so before we could even settle in I was cleaning and hoovering the apartment. The bath had grime/dirt in it so I had to clean that before using it and same with the shower. When it came to making breakfast in the morning, 2 plates had old food dried up on them (a lot of it)and the cutlery was disgusting. I could go on. Also, I am aware that animals are allowed in this property which I was happy with because I have been to many places that allowed animals and were clean however this apartment smelt like dog really bad and there were dog hairs ALL over the sofa and even on our bed sheets. I just think it’s such a shame because the apartment has so much potential but it’s not one I would recommend as I just felt dirty the whole time. If the owners gave the whole place a good deep clean and kept it up then I would recommend. On a positive note, the owner was really friendly when I spoke to her before attending and was really helpful so thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you found me helpful pre arrival when discussing parking and explaining that I could be contacted if any help was needed for anything. I am so sorry you were disappointed when you arrived and which I was not aware of until your feedback came in after you had checked out. I do give out my contact details pre arrival to guests and Sykes also have a dedicated call helpline, guest web message and whatsap facilities. I am truly sorry that neither I nor Sykes were not given the opportunity to help during your stay as any concern would of course have been addressed and rectified immediately and will be liaising with the cleaner straightaway to ensure that the property has any necessary deep clean. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel2.8Dec 2023

  • "Not suitable for tall people, constantly banging head on low beams."

    Appartment had everything you needed and was comfortable. Location is great for visiting local attractions and pubs and eateries. Cleanliness could be improved.

    Many thanks for your comments and the property will be checked. I will also add information to the advert about the low beams. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anthony3.4Aug 2023

  • "We stayed at the apartment for the weekend in August and we had a really lovely time."

    The apartment is done lovely . The kitchen is fabulous. Great settee and TV for settling down after a day out. Big bathroom with roll top bath and separate shower. Hot water. Big towels. Nice little bedroom with TV too and little en-suite. The bed for me was too soft but my husband loved it. It’s up lots of stairs so would not be good for anyone with mobility issues. We had our little dog who was so good when we nipped him down for wee time and he’s used to popping in and out all the time. The apartment is a great base for walking around the area. We walked to the lighthouse then the coastal path to Bridlington calling in at Danes Dyke and Sewerby. We didn’t eat at any pubs but has fish and peas from the lighthouse fisheries. Long queue but worth it. The people of Flamborough were so lovely and friendly and so helpful.

    Reviewed by Tracey4.7Aug 2023

  • "Property could have been cleaner, work surfaces by the kettle were dirty and rubbish behind the bin."

    Apartment was surprisingly spacious with everything you needed for a stay away from home. Loved the sofa bed in the lounge perfect for watching the enormous tv in the evening.No issues with parking even in August.

    Thank you for your feedback and we will endeavour to do better on the points you raised, Thank you also for the positive comments. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sandra4.4Aug 2023

  • "We loved the appartment."

    It was comfortable, very well equipped and in a super location for walking and exploring the locality. We made good use of the OS map provided to find footpaths to take us to Bempton and Bridlington. Parking was not a problem and the Co op was just a minute away when supplies were needed. I would like to compliment the decor as well.

    Thank you Susan I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay and your lovely feedback is very much appreciated. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jul 2023

  • "Our stay at the Mallard was just what we needed."

    The apartment is beautifully thought out making excellent use of the space. The kitchen and bathroom are stunning and made cooking and pampering extra special. Although the property was clean in general there were just a few things like showers/drains/ plug holes and the kitchen sink that needed a good scrub. The dishwasher was backed up too but my hubby gave it a good clean out. We are professional cleaners so I think we have a really high standard! We would definitely stay again, a home away from home ❤️

    Reviewed by Anna4.7Jul 2023

  • "Lack of basic kitchen equipment made food preparation difficult."

    Poor selection of glasses & crockery as well. Not sufficient to warrant the use of the dishwasher. We had to buy basics expected at a property like this i.e. washing up liquid, kitchen & toilet roll & tin foil. The bed was too soft & uncomfortable & the bedlinen was not "crisp white quality linens" as described by Sykes.

    Reviewed by Paul2.8Jun 2023

  • "The apartment was lovely and comfortable."

    The only problem I had with it was the cleanliness. The kitchen cupboards were dirty with lots of fingerprints, shower cubicle in bedroom hadn't been cleaned, there were crumbs on worktops and chairs, inside kitchen draws. The floors were dusty.

    Reviewed by Sharon3.1Apr 2023

  • "Every Thing at the Mallard was superb."

    Flambro is a great place to stay with lots of good walks and fine Pubs which serve nice food and drink.also there are good Cafes.go to Flambro Lighthouse and see the Seals.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at this property it was clean warm and comfortable it’s ..."

    We had a lovely stay at this property it was clean warm and comfortable it’s in a great position in the heart of the village

    Reviewed by John5.0Dec 2022

  • "It is a cosy, neat, tiding and well thought out property."

    The stairs are hard work, 3 flights if you have any health problems. The bed is still soft, even with topper on. This property wouldn't be for tall people due to the beams etc More plates and mugs would be helpful, there is a dishwasher but not enough stuff to fill it. The Ship Inn and Rose and Crown are excellant pubs which do great meals. This property was a great little fine.

    Reviewed by Andrea3.8Oct 2022

  • "Very comfortable and clean everything we needed to make our stay complete home ..."

    Very comfortable and clean everything we needed to make our stay complete home from home would certainly like to return,

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Oct 2022

  • "We stayed at the Mallard for 4 nights."

    We absolutely loved it, local walks near by and short trips away. We got to see everything we wanted to whilst there. The property was lovely very comfy, we felt right at home and very relaxed through out our stay. Everything was just what we wanted for our stay. We would definetly stay again :)

    Thank you very much for your lovely comments they are very much appreciated and we would love to welcome you back again. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jodie5.0Sep 2022

  • "Would your customer service department PLEASE call us!"

    07939 264 290

    Reviewed by Sidney1.3Sep 2022

  • "A really nice stay in a well decorated, clean and quirky accommodation."

    Fantastic location, between 2 pubs which is extremely convenient for meals and drinks as well as cafes, chip shops and takeaways. Accommodation had everything we needed and more with a comfortable bed and even a bed for the dog if needed. Would definately stay again and recommend to others. We also got very lucky with the weather too which made it even better.

    We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such lovely positive feedback. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Aug 2022

  • "The Mallard was absolutely perfect, it had everything we needed and more and was really nicely finished."

    It was situated perfectly in Flamborough and I was able to park outside all the time. The only feedback I would give is to fix the Velux blind in the living room to prevent heat build up when sunny.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Aug 2022

  • "We had a lovely week in Flamborough, stop every year as love the area and decided to try this new place as seen when it was being renovated to apartments."

    Its in an ideal location central to all amenities and easy enough to park. Its up a few flights stairs which aren't steep so ok for average person. The Mallard has been done to a good standard and use of space, however when entering i was surprised that the apartment wasn't as clean as i would have expected, it was ok in areas need like bathroom toilet and oven, but it wasn't at a 'holiday guest let' standard in some areas - really thick of dust all over inc on beams n fixtures ornaments etc, and floor needed sweeping, the main shower drain was blocked with gunge and shower curtain dirty at bottom. No bin liners in bins. The kitchen was clean but a dirty baking tray which obv didn't use, yhis should have been noticed. Could do with egg cups and casserole type dish, no washing up liquid but other cleaning stuff in cupboards. No proper wardrobe it was a cupboard where hoover etc stored with a rail in, the shelf was very dusty. It's handy to have two toilets and showers i guess but the ensuite might have been better as wardrobe / drawer space for guests. The bed was comfortable but the mattress protector and duvet itself needs washing or replacing due to marks/stains on them. A small welcome pack would be a nice touch, a few tea bags and milk for arrival. No dog treats in tin. We did enjoy stay but feel pointing out the above was needed in case owners need to look into and if want folk to rebook or recommend then attention to detail is needed, each guest should feel welcomed and also still important to consider covid is still around so extra hygiene is needed. All that said the points could be rectified easily for future guests.

    Reviewed by Helen3.4Jul 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay at the Mallard, and packed in lots of activities."

    It was a good base of get to the cliffs and the beaches. In terms of the flat itself, it was clean but not spotless (we had to put glasses and mugs through the dishwasher as they weren’t clean and one large gin glass was cracked so we disposed of this). The mattress on the bed was too soft for my back so I used the sofa bed each night which wasn’t an issue apart from the fact that there were no sheets or duvet cover to use with this. The shower tray in the main bathroom was quite dirty so we didn’t use it. The welcome pack said there were treats for the dog but the tin was empty. A pint of milk in the fridge in arrival would have been welcome too. Of course these are all minor things and they didn’t spoil our stay but they are the difference between a 4 star and 5 star rating for feedback.

    Reviewed by Allison3.1Jun 2022

  • "Really nice apartment very comfortable with everything you need while your away ."

    Great location plenty of local pubs and places to eat

    Reviewed by Ian4.7Jun 2022

  • "Amazing time and perfect property , anyone worried about ceiling height I’m 6ft 5 and had no issues Our bulldogs loved it and the place is very dog friendly , amazing hosts who were always on hand to help with anything we asked Local pubs are great , beaches amazing and the local butcher next door does an great breakfast box , well the bulldogs loved it I got beans and mushrooms !"

    !! We will be back soon and cannot thank you enough Paul , Leanne and Frankie and Norman the moron bulldogs

    Reviewed by Leanne5.0Apr 2022

  • "We’ve just returned from a fabulous 7 nights stay at The Mallard in Flamborough village."

    The penthouse apartment is a first class property with everything you need and more. With two bathrooms and two TVs we were as comfortable as at home. The village is a great base for exploring so many beautiful areas nearby - we went to Flamborough Head, North & South landings, Bempton Cliffs, Dane’s Dyke, Bridlington, Scarborough & Whitby. You’ve got two pubs either side of the apartment, and one further down the road, a restaurant, two chippies, a large-ish Co-Op, a butchers, cafe and post office all within a couple of minutes walk; what more you could want! And parking was right outside in the square. In terms of what more I could share to make it an enjoyable stay as possible - the property might not be for you if your tall; the beams/eves are pretty low and take some getting used to. Plus I wouldn’t recommend for those that are less mobile with three flights of stairs to reach the apartment. If you like your soft-boiled eggs in a morning, take your own egg-cups and a nice personal welcome note or little gift would always makes you feel personally welcomed and valued. Overall, I’d definitely recommend staying at The Mallard, Flamborough. A great apartment, in a great village with so many wonderful places to visit and things to see. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Holly4.4Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful apartment, located conveniently in the centre of Flamborough."

    On road parking outside the property. Everything in the apartment was high spec except for the bed. Unfortunately we didn't sleep well. The owner has tried to rectify the problem with the bed by providing a good quality mattress topper and memory foam pillows, so we can't actually say why we didn't sleep, but we both felt that the bed wasn't level, so maybe it was to do with the floor as it was raised in places. Saying this, it wouldn't put us off booking again. We will probably take our own pillows next time and hope that helps.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Mar 2022

  • "Very tastefully decorated."

    Excellent facilities. Very clean. Would definitely return if staying in area again and also recommend this property.

    Thank you very much for your lovely feedback. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Dec 2021

  • "We were very happy in The Mallard, the property has been thoughtfully renovated and decorated, and this has created a lovely place to stay."

    Flamborough is a great location for clifftop walks.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.1Nov 2021

  • "Lovely apartment overall, it would be 5/5 if the mattress hadn’t been so uncomfortable."

    The cotton bed linen was clean but hadn’t been ironed so reminded me of mine at home!. That, I could cope with but we could feel the springs in the mattress and the pillows were flat. The apartment is well kitted out with all mod cons, fabulous bath & cool lighting. Next door to a pub which was dog friendly, we thought the noise might be an issue but ironically it wasn’t. My husband hardly slept a wink, he resorted to the sofa in the end. It had obviously been a quick turnover because the bath towels were also slightly damp. They were clean but could have done with longer in the drier. Also, the chocolates were a lovely touch but a small carton of milk would have been fab. Sort out the mattress, a few housekeeping issues and it would be fantastic.

    Thank you for taking the time to give some feedback .we have now addressed the problem regarding the uncomfortable mattress and hope future guests will now be more comfortable .many apologies to you and your husband Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jane3.4Oct 2021

  • "Not for anyone who has mobility issues."

    But, in the main, would recommend. Very close to good pub dining and, 15mtrs from bus into Bridlington (10 mins journey).

    Reviewed by Janine4.4Oct 2021

  • "Beautiful apartment every think you need very clean holiday was great blue book on table telling you places to visit names of pubs and phone numbers lots of information very good ."

    Only problem was could not work the hob read the book let but could not understand it and the owners was on holiday so they could not help also the mattress was very uncomfortable strings in your back had back ache every morning .other people mentioned the mattress it’s in the guest book but the apartment is beautiful

    Thank you very much for your feedback. The hob in the mallard is an induction hob and therefore a saucepan needs to be placed on it first to enable it to work. We are glad you found the apartment clean and that the blue book was useful. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Sep 2021

  • "Very pleased with everything will definitely book with Sykes again indeed the same apartment x"

    Thank you so much and we would love to welcome you back to the mallard again. Suzie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Jul 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Penthouse apartment
  • One double bedroom with TV and en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with roll-top bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, 2 x TVs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Plenty of parking in the square
  • One pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles, beach 1.3 miles
  • Please note that due to the character of the property there are low beams in some areas
  • Please note that we may need to have availability on a Saturday to attend the property for a few hours for viewings, should your booking be affected, we will let you know as soon as possible but please know there is only a small chance of this happening.

The property

If you and your partner are seeking exceptional self-catering accommodation in Flamborough, one of the East Riding of Yorkshire’s most notable and sought-after locations, then The Mallard is perfect for you!

This beautifully appointed penthouse apartment offers a striking combination of contemporary styling with characterful features, which is sure to leave a lasting impression as you and your loved one enjoy this glorious part of Yorkshire’s coast.

Inside the open-plan living room, the high vaulted ceilings with exposed beams are a striking element to the perfect space, another being the fully-equipped kitchen, where you can look forward to showing off your culinary skills.

The modern suite boasts stunning units topped by beautiful wood worktops, completed by high-quality appliances including an electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine and dishwasher.

Gather at the sleek island unit as you linger over a wine with dinner simmering on the hob, before regrouping at the dining table to tuck into tasty dishes and to relish in the company of your loved one.

Cross the stunning oak flooring to snuggle into the plush L-shaped sofa and tune into the TV, which is backed by an exposed brick wall, offering an additional sense of character to the room.

At the end of each bracing day, look forward to catching your rest within the bedroom, where crisp white, quality linens are draped across the sumptuous double bed, where there is also another TV, perfect for when you fancy a lazy morning or breakfast in bed!

Slip through the door to find the en-suite shower room or alternatively, head into the other bathroom, where you can truly savour a moment of relaxation with a soak in the elegant roll-top bath.

From the doorstep of the penthouse awaits a superb collection of places to eat and drink, ranging from cool cafés, tasty takeaways, cosy pubs and excellent restaurants, you are sure to find something to suit all palates and pockets here!

Whilst here, stroll to the Flamborough Head and discover the iconic white cliffs that tower over Flamborough’s beaches - Home to over 200,000 seabirds, including gannets, kittiwakes, guillemots and puffins, keen birdwatchers will delight in the local Bempton Cliffs RSPB reserve and dramatic cliff top walks.

During a summer’s afternoon, pack up your beach bag and look forward to a day at the long sandy beaches of either North or South Landing, where you will find plenty of opportunities for watersports, uncovering caves and rock pools and if you are lucky, catch a glimpse of a seal or a peregrine falcon!

For more wildlife, visit the 148-acre Danes Dyke Nature Reserve or delve into the town’s past with a visit to 1674 octagonal lighthouse, explore the 1806 shingle lighthouse, situated on the other side of the bay or explore the Rudson Monolith, an ancient hamlet between Sledmere and Bridlington, there is certainly plenty to so here.

Alternatively, venture into nearby coastal town of Bridlington, where you can stroll along the promenade towards the historic harbour, visit the stand out piece of architecture in town, the Bridlington Priory Church or catch a show at the Spa Theatre with its excellent entertainment programme.

With the likes of Filey, Scarborough and Whitby also nearby, you and your loved one are sure to have an action-packed break at The Mallard.

View on map

About the location


Bridlington 4 miles; Filey 7 miles; Scarborough 18 miles.

The pretty village of Flamborough occupies a superb setting, perched on a picturesque peninsula on the East Coast of Yorkshire, 4 miles from Bridlington. Housing traditional fishermen's cottages and a small selection of welcoming pubs and restaurants, Flamborough also has much to offer the rambler, historian and birdwatcher. There are spectacular cliffs, which form an eight mile stretch of Heritage coastline, and at Flamborough Head, stand two historic lighthouses, one of which is the oldest one in Britain, built in 1674. To the north of the village, the magnificent 400 feet high cliffs are home to one of the largest colonies of nesting sea birds in England. Discover the puffins at Bempton, follow the fascinating natural trails at South Landing and the wooded ravine at Danes Dyke, or explore the smugglers’ caves at North Landing. Enjoy a spot of fishing or a boat trip to explore the sea caves. Flamborough Head is a wonderful place for anyone who enjoys beautiful coastal scenery and bracing sea air.

Please note that due to the character of the property there are low beams in some areas. Please note that we may need to have availability on a Saturday to attend the property for a few hours for viewings, should your booking be affected, we will let you know as soon as possible but please know there is only a small chance of this happening.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas