Our Summer Sale ends soon

Book now to save up to 20% on August ’22 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outENDING SOON! Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 customer have recently viewed Sandcastle Cottage

  • Sandcastle Cottage - (Ref. 961358)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 14 View Larger Image
  • Sandcastle Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 961358 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Sandcastle Cottage

The Bay near Filey, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 961358)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 4

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Swimming pool
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

23 Customer Reviews

  • "We have stayed at the bay previously before and felt this place was not as private as the others we have been to."

    We advised on the settees which were badly marked when we arrived, we couldn't use the kettle due to bad limescale inside. On a plus very close to facilities, pub restaurant, swimming etc so great for that.

    Reviewed by TommyJul 2022

  • "Stayed at various properties on the Bay."

    Booked this due to advertising a king size bed, didn’t immediately realise it was advertised as pet friendly. The property smells of dogs and clearly hadn’t been hoovered or cleaned properly. The sofas are filthy and very uncomfortable. The bed was a king size but they had put an extremely tatty double duvet in a king size cover. The upstairs toilet needs a good bleach and clean and was unpleasant. Dust and dog hair everywhere in the house. My fault for not realising pet friendly. The towels were fresh and clean. The house has everything you need but if you want clean stay in a house that doesn’t allow dogs.

    Reviewed by PamelaJun 2022

  • "Good location and clean cottage."

    Sofas have seen better days though, and the one toilet roll provided was inadequate. Everything else was very good.

    Reviewed by RobertaMay 2022

  • "Sandcastle Cottage is based near to Filey, a lovely seaside resort near Scarborough."

    There is easy (but hilly) access to the beach from the cottage, where you can walk along to Filey village. The cottage itself is lovely with everything you could need for a weeks holiday. The bedrooms were large and the beds were comfy. The kitchen had a washing machine, fridge and everything else you need (only got a small freezer box in the fridge). Central heating could be increased/decreased as you pleased. The living room was also large with a dining table and chairs. Television was good with many channels and Amazon Prime and Netflix available to watch. However, the couches were not the comfiest and were quite low to sit on but were fine for the amount of time that we were actually in the house. On arrival, we noticed that there was quite a bit of damp around the bath area, but once reported to owners, they immediately sent someone out to fix this. The house allows dogs and so the carpets were not perfect and had a few marks on them - to be expected with light colour carpets and dogs. The village has a pub on site, which we visited for dinner a few times, the food was good and they allowed dogs in. There is also a gym, pool, shop and pharmacy. Overall, we liked this cottage and would definitely come back in the future.

    Reviewed by LynnOct 2021

  • "Had a lovely holiday, loved the cottage and the area, just needed new sofa's !"

    !

    Reviewed by JohnSep 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay at Sandcastle cottage and would definitely recommend it to family and friends."

    Reviewed by CraigAug 2021

  • "The cottage was really well equipped and in a fabulous location I will look for ..."

    The cottage was really well equipped and in a fabulous location I will look for alternative properties on the bay The property was not clean the floors were filthy we spent the first 3 hours cleaning everything was covered in dust and dog hairs the place smelt of dogs we had to defrost the fridge before we could use it and clean the oven some of the soft furnishings were stained and the cushion covers needed a wash which I thought with covid this would be changed between People

    Reviewed by JillJul 2021

  • "Excellent property in a beautiful location, would definitely book again!"

    Reviewed by BrianJun 2021

  • "We love staying at The Bay, Filey."

    All the houses/ apartments we have stayed in have been like home from home. It’s great being able to take the dog too and know you are around like minded families who also love dogs. The distance to the beach is perfect. An ideal getaway.

    Reviewed by NeilMay 2021

  • "The house was nice, the problem for us was the heating thermostat was broke so spent the first night and morning ( -1 ) rather cold."

    We were only there 4 nights. There was a small plug in radiator but it didn't warm the rooms up. The next day a gas engineer sorted the boiler and text to say its on a timer a few hours morning and night but this didn't work for us it was either to hot or to cold at certain times. So we had to chase it up with him again to be told it could be turned on and off on the boiler. Its such a shame as after reporting the problem to the owner there was no follow-up call the next day to see if the issue had been resolved which led us to believe its a ongoing problem and the thermostat is broken.

    Reviewed by TracyApr 2021

  • "The only little issue we had was the property looked as if it hadn't been hoovered, there were quite a lot of dog hair, and bits of grass downstairs."

    We tried the hoover provided jiggled about with it as it wasn't picking up and got it to work properly. I am unsure if the cleaners used this one or another one when they were cleaning. The broadband for watching Netflix was a bit hit or miss but both of these are very small issues. The accommodation was great, we brought our own sheets/pillowcases/towels as instructed but we were also supplied with plenty from the house as well. We will definitely book with Sykes again

    Reviewed by HJul 2020

  • "Lovely stay at sand castle cottage."

    The house was lovely with everything you need, the complex was nice and tidy and a good walkable distance to the beach. Having youngest with us we appreciated the little touches for them including a box of toys/books, a ball, net, bucket and space etc The only thing that let the accommodation down was the one site facilities. The swimming pool was a little run down and the toddler pool closed the whole week. The pub was up to date but most of the staff we're rude and the food wasn't great (cheap burgers burned for example). We didn't get around to trying the pizzas in the pizza shop but we did get some microwaved bacon sandwiches. Theres a little arcade at the back of the pub which was fun. But we didn't find a park until the end of the holiday because its not sign posted. Also not far from the house they are still building properties. This didn't disturb us but during the day you could hear it. Last thing unfortunately the house is dog friendly, which as a family without a dog I didn't appreciate the dog smell in the house. Its only faint so it was fine but if you have allergies to dogs probably not the place for you. Overall i would say i wouldn't be against going back to this property as it was lovely baring the dog smell but i would make sure i had enough food to not require using the local pub

    Reviewed by SamanthaSep 2019

  • "Really enjoyed our weeks stay, everything was in the house that you needed, pub and cafe in short walking distance pharmacy on site which did sell minimal essentials but no bread or milk a mini supermarket is much needed on site."

    10 min walk to beach perfect. all pet friendly a bonus. Down side to arriving at the cottage was we wasn't overly impressed by the cleaning standards on arrival bits all over the carpets, corners missed so was dust covered so having to hoover around at start of holiday not great then discovered hoover was completely blocked (no wonder carpets not great) had the task of having to empty it all including the blocked hoses too so guess not been done for a long time...... But apart from that would happily come back here again.

    Reviewed by MelanieAug 2019

  • "We enjoyed staying at Sandcastle cottage very much."

    We thought it was a cosy and comfortable place to stay, perfectly situated on the complex itself to access the facilities and the beach. A lovely 10 minute amble through the complex and down the proper path to the beach. So close to the pool too, was perfect to be able to let daughter’s go there on their own. The cottage was well equipped and had some nice extra touches. Lovely hand soaps and a dog crate, high chair etc if needed. The folder of info was also really useful. Rooms were all a good size and nice little bit of outside space. Lovely garden bench too to eat outside on. Well decorated throughout and well maintained. Wi-fi was welcomed as signal poor there. Good to have a TV with Netflix access. Also had some games and books too. Filey is a lovely place to visit and the complex is just outside the main town. Could walk it along beach in 20/30 mins. We drove in and under 5 mins away. Plenty of parking. Small things but could do with some more comfortable chairs to sit outside on when the sun is shining. Even just fold up camp chairs, just to give it that ‘you’ve thought of everything’ factor. Also there was a little box on the side in the kitchen which said enjoy but all that was in it was a cleaning sponge and a three coffee pods which didn’t complete an actual set to use in the machine. We aren’t bothered at all that no freebies but maybe put that basket away or poss forgot to top it up? We weren’t sure. All in all a great place and we hope to return. And have already told friends and about it. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by NatalieJul 2019

  • "Lovely house, well decorated and VERY well equipped."

    Sited close to pool and beach path. We found mattress very firm- a personal thing. Perhaps provide a soft topper that could be used or not? High spiked taps on bath side tricky to climb over - careful. Would stay again and have recommended to all family and friends. Thank you

    Reviewed by GeoffreyMay 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Sandcastle cottage."

    It was very comfortable and clean. Dog treats, tea and coffee were all extra touches which help to make the experience special. My children loved going to the beach, they were up before the larks every morning (blackout curtains may have kept them in bed a little longer. Ha ha

    Reviewed by TeresaMay 2019

  • "We had a lovely holiday in Sandcastles Cottage, and we would recommend it highly."

    Lovely and clean and comfortable. We have stayed at The Bay Filey 5 times now and every time we go we enjoy it. The Swimming pool is lovely and the pub on site is very good, with great staff. We love going to Sykes cottages, as they are lovely, we have had a few holidays now and never a bad one. Easy to book, and I enjoy looking online at all the Cottages and places available especially in the winter months, as the Cottages are so nice, and the booking process is so easy. I have already booked my next year's summer holiday in Cornwall with Sykes as I know it will be excellent. Thankyou Sykes

    Reviewed by VivienneSep 2018

  • "I found there to be an issue with the onsite parking which became annoying to the point it would stop me visiting the site again."

    It would seem the parking is on a first come first served basis without lined parking bays some residents parked with no thought for other people taking far more space than required, I also noted some cottages had more than one car on site. Some people were left to park on the access road and we’re then faced with a no parking notice left on there windscreen the next morning ( no doubt left overnight by your hard working security people)!!!

    Reviewed by GaryAug 2018

  • "The Bay is really a great place!"

    The children really enjoyed the swimming pool and they also did one of the activities: Pirates Painting which was really nice and not expensive. As we love walking we twice walked to the town of Filey which is really nice with good shops and café, fish & chips... it was a very nice walk on the beach! Sandcastle cottage is very well situated in The Bay and very well decorated. If a little more care had been given to the cleaning it would have been perfect!

    Reviewed by FabienneAug 2018

  • "Sandcastle cottage was lovely."

    The owners had added lots of lovely touches and it felt like a real home not just a holiday let. Excellent location, near to pool, gym; cafe etc. The Bay is a lovely place to stay very relaxing. Impressed with Sykes cottages- everything went smoothly from first day of booking. Will definitely recommend both Sykes cottages and Sandcastle cottage.

    Reviewed by IanJul 2018

  • "Cottage was well stocked with some lovely thoughtful touches."

    A great place to stay and a fabulous base to explore from.

    Reviewed by EmilyJul 2018

  • "Nearer to the pub and facilities than listed, but a lovely well kept and comfy cottage"

    Reviewed by TerryMar 2018

  • "The cottage was warm and cosy despite 50mph winds and the blizzard from the east."

    It was itself a very pleasant coastal getaway and fully met expectations, but otherwise there were disappointments from the holiday as advertised. The leisure centre/gym/pool was not open in February and this should be made absolutely clear in the advert, which also states that the beach itself is just 3 minutes away. This may be true as the crow flies, but is deceptive. Following the signs through the complex it took almost 15 minutes to get onto the sand at a good walking pace, which would be of very little use to families with young children who might be carrying lots of unwieldy beach gear in the summer season. The location is great for most dog walkers and it was an asset that both the cottage and the pub were dog friendly. However, the walk to the beach was too far (and too steep towards the bottom) for my very old dog to cope, which was another disappointment. Whilst the cottage itself was lovely, I would not have booked had the details about the site facilities and location been more accurate. ***** Owner Response***** Thank you for your feedback, all feedback is extremely important to both Sykes and I. I am sorry to hear that you experienced the leisure centre to be closed, there should be no reason for this. With regards to the beach I have discussed this with Sykes and we have agreed to amend the distance to a 10 minute walk. Some of the points you have raised are regrettably outside of my control, I do hope you enjoyed your stay. All the best.

    Reviewed by GrahamFeb 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area.
  • Gas central heating, electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, coffee maker, fridge, washer/dryer, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Ample off road parking
  • Small rear patio with furniture
  • Communal grounds with picnic areas and lakes
  • Communal leisure facilities inc. free use of indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and gym
  • Optional charge for other facilities inc. fishing, bike hire, beauticians, archery etc
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Note: Winter breaks are available
  • Shop and pub 1 min walk
  • Beach 10 mins walk. Note: Between the dates of 4th November to 16th December the leisure centre will be under renovation with no access to the pool, sauna and steam room
  • The gymnasium will still be accessible. However, there will be access to the Flower of May campsite swimming pool Monday to Friday
  • Access is complimentary with the Bay leisure pass.

The property

Filey 3 miles.

This modern end-terrace property is situated on The Bay holiday village, 3 miles from the traditional seaside town of Filey.

Ideal for families and groups of friends, this accommodation has a great seaside location with superb on-site facilities for all to enjoy.

The cottage has a well-equipped kitchen and a sitting room with a dining area; perfect for those home cooked meals.

The cottage is well-equipped with WiFi throughout.

There are two cosy bedrooms with a family bathroom as well as the convenience of a downstairs cloakroom.

From the sitting room are French doors leading onto a private patio with furniture, an ideal place to sit and relax after a full day out and about.

Outside this Filey holiday cottage are expansive communal lawned grounds with two lakes and picnic areas for guests.

On the complex is a leisure centre with a large indoor heated swimming pool, children's pool, sauna, steam room and a gym, which guests have unlimited access to.

Outdoor pursuits include tennis courts, a fishing lake, bike hire, a putting green and archery, which can include a charge.

A pleasant short walk from this Filey holiday cottage brings you to a lovely, sandy, Blue Flag beach which is perfect for families, whilst the delightful resort of Filey offers fine promenades, lovely parks and interesting shops.

The surrounding area has so much to offer, with the rolling hills of the Yorkshire Wolds and stately homes such as Burton Agnes Hall and Sledmere House to visit.

The larger resorts of Scarborough and Bridlington are not too far away and make a great day out.

With something for everyone, 100 Sunrise Drive makes a great base for a great holiday at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location

FILEY

Scarborough 7.5 miles; Bridlington 11 miles.

Filey is a traditional English seaside resort with a friendly atmosphere, offering a restful holiday, making an ideal place to stay for walkers and wildlife watchers at any time of the year. A real gem on the Yorkshire coast. A fishing town on the North East Coast, Filey has enjoyed a reputation of being a resort since Victorian times, set beside the magnificent Filey Bay, a long stretch of beautiful sand, with Filey Brigg and its shallow rockpools to the north. Filey Brigg is a low headland that protects Filey Bay and provides good bird watching and seawatching opportunities all year round. The 400 ft high Bempton Cliffs (RSPB Reserve) to the south of Filey Bay are home to over 250,000 seabirds in the summer. gannets, kittiwakes, puffins, guillimots and razorbills all nest there. Gannets are regularly seen diving for fish in Filey Bay. The Brigg area is an ideal place to watch for common and rarer waders, seabirds and migrating warblers,finches and thrushes. As well as seabirds, seals and other marine life, such as porpoises dolphins and Minke Whales can be seen in the sea around the Brigg. The town itself seems almost caught in a time warp, retaining much of its character with individual shops, narrow paths and ginnels. There is a small coble landing, a slipway where local fishermen keep their boats, plus delightful beach chalets that can be hired through the summer months. The bay is edged with two promenades and there are various gardens, where brass bands play on a Sunday afternoon. This small town is family orientated, with donkey rides available on the beach, children’s play areas, crazy golf and candy floss. Also in Filey there is the Filey Dams Nature Reserve, a wetland reserve where common and rare waders and wildfowl can be seen as well as autumn gatherings of swallows, sand martins and house martins. Also there is Parish Wood (just off Sycamore Avenue) an unexpected gem that offers a wealth of wildlife. Willow warbler, chiffchaff, blackcap and tree sparrows breed there and a wide variety of other species are regularly seen such as great spotted woodpeckers and sparrow hawks. Parish Wood also provides shelter and food for a wide range of migrant bird species such as goldcrests, pied and spotted flycatchers, warblers, finches, thrushes and woodcocks. A short drive brings you to the busier town of Scarborough where for family fun you can visit the Alpamare Waterpark, a waterpark unlike anything the UK has ever seen before, as well as plenty to explore and discover in this lovely area.

View more holiday cottages in Filey

Note: Between the dates of 4th November to 16th December the leisure centre will be under renovation with no access to the pool, sauna and steam room. The gymnasium will still be accessible.
However, there will be access to the Flower of May campsite swimming pool Monday to Friday. Access is complimentary with the Bay leisure pass.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter