Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • Horseshoe Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 18060 - photo 1
  • Horseshoe Cottage - (Ref. 18060)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Horseshoe Cottage

(Ref. 18060)

Ingleby Greenhow near Great Ayton, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (29)
  • lovely (20)
  • friendly (15)
  • great (13)
  • owners (12)
  • location (12)

41 Customer Reviews

  • "A great place to stay to get away from it all."

    Some great walks and lovely pubs. Hosts were fantastic. Really nice people. No WiFi and very poor phone signal. Would have been good for our dogs if there was an enclosed erea. Beautiful bath and shower room. Loads of games for the kids to play. We mainly went to get away from the fireworks as our dogs are terrified. We didn’t hear any at all. All in all a great place to stay.

    Reviewed by Paul3.4Dec 2023

  • "Lovely quirky cottage, great base for the area."

    The picture is a few years out of date and those Leylandii in the pot are now a hedge.

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Jul 2023

  • "Over all it was good ."

    But the oven was rusty. The bench could do with a lock of paint. Coming up the steps at the front could do with a hand rail. That's all as it was a good base.

    Bench has been replaced Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Jul 2023

  • "Lovely stay been before and loved it then lovely owners can't do enough for you"

    Reviewed by Janice5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage."

    Perfect for what we needed. Middle of nowhere. Ian the owner is a lovely bloke. Showed us the short cut to the pub. Nice walk with the dogs. I could go on. Fantastic.

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2023

  • "This property is a disgrace and not fit for purpose the steps up to the property ..."

    This property is a disgrace and not fit for purpose the steps up to the property are covered in mose which makes them very slippery and not level the block paving ing front of the cottage are very uneven and the access up the ramp is shocking inside it is quite dirty the kettle was shocking and the coffee maker was the same this was not the property shown on you website I think you have miss sold us this cottage I have taken photos and will forward them to you

    This customer wanted an an invalid cottage and was told this was not it was not suitable even though they had visited and then booked. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas1.3Feb 2023

  • "What a lovely, rustic, quaint cottage."

    It had everything we needed for a fantastic New Year's break, the dishwasher was a bonus! A perfect size for two couples & two dogs. Ian was perfect host, friendly & helpful. We loved the welcome tray & thoroughly enjoyed the bottle of fizz, it was a lovely surprise. We enjoyed walks at the coast, only 30 minutes drive away, & had a delicious meal at the dog friendly King's Head, Newton under Roseberry. There are some beautiful walks locally also. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Jules4.7Dec 2022

  • "The cottage was perfect for our stay, it was very comfortable with a great kitchen area and lovely shower / wet room."

    We know the area well but if you were visiting for the first time it would be a fantastic base to explore: great walks and easy sightseeing close by. Stunning views of Catain Cook's monument and Roseberry Topping. The hosts were very friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by Jonathan4.4Nov 2022

  • "Lovely remote property with really helpful owners."

    Plenty of fantastic dog walks nearby and a short drive to the beautiful Saltburn beach. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Sep 2022

  • "Excellent very friendly host Lovely surrounding countryside"

    Reviewed by Louis4.7Aug 2022

  • "Lovely cottage, stunning location, perfectly placed for everything, Moore’s, museums, seaside, market towns and more."

    Lovely hosts, very helpful will definitely be staying there again very soon.

    Reviewed by Harriet5.0Aug 2022

  • "Dirty. Very disappointed - we left 2 days early due to cleanliness Oven very dirty - smoking grease, unable to use Duvets grubby looking Ironing board cover dirty BBQ - not clean, unable to use Overall cleanliness - very basic Lovely location, but the property needs to be professionally cleaned."

    Reviewed by Lynne1.9Jun 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our 3 day stay."

    The cottage was mainly clean & comfortable & the owners were lovely & friendly . A beautiful part of the world & a great eating experience at the Dudley Arms.

    Glad you enjoyed your break Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine3.8Jun 2022

  • "The location was great and the owner kindly welcomed us upon arrival."

    I believe it used to be a good cottage back in the days but now it requires some refurbishment and definitely deep cleaning as most of the surfaces (floor, tables) were really sticky. The cooking facilities were not good (outdated) as well so we opted out of cooking at home and had to eat out. I'd also recommend to remove WiFi from the description as I don't think that it's fair to say that it is intermittent. For us it never worked. The owner was suggesting that there should be 4G but the signal was very low and more over it's not what the accommodation provides so shouldn't be used as an excuse. We needed internet and it was the reason for us to move out earlier. It was a bit weird that the owner was still insisting that WiFi works well despite the fact that we had not been able to use it for about 5 days through our stay. Don't think that we would consider visiting this place again as we didn't feel comfortable.

    This gentleman wanted G5 which in the area is not available In the cottage the TV was working and we have a Vodafone hub Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dmytro2.2Jun 2022

  • "Owners Attitude stinks, No Wifi as described."

    Property was filthy clearly not cleaned before arrival even down to the urine marked duvet. Dog friendly cottage but complained about dogs barking despite the owners dogs barking early morning. Left after 2 nights. Avoid this property!!!!!!!

    I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. Regrettably dogs cannot be left unattended at the property and this is standard across all Sykes Cottage properties. The property has two types of internet, wifi and G4, I live close to the property and so when guests arrive I check the internet type they will be using and can then advise them of the appropriate password. The duvets have been checked and are in good order moving forwards. I give out my two contact numbers pre arrival for guest who need any help and live nearby so can assist very quickly during their stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Darren1.3May 2022

  • "Lovely cottage in lovely location."

    The chickens are hilarious!! Very friendly owner on hand to make sure all ok.

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Apr 2022

  • "Excellent cottage, in an ideal location."

    We will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Craig3.8Feb 2022

  • "Great location snd great accommodation- very clean !"

    Host was great - very friendly.

    Reviewed by Sarah-jane5.0Dec 2021

  • "Although we were warm and bed was clean and comfortable."

    The cottage itself wanted a deep clean. I tried to get what I thought were water stains off the toilets to no avail. Also the front of the toilet pan needed cleaning. I cleaned the soap powder dispenser in the washer but the rubber door seal inside was dirty. The outside approach to the cottage needed maintenance, even a good sweep would have made a difference. Don't think I could recommend to friends.

    Reviewed by Terry2.5Oct 2021

  • "Lovely clean stone barn conversion with wonderful views of the Moors, just outside village with great pub and cafe."

    Owners were very friendly , informative and helpful. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by Gwynneth4.4Sep 2021

  • "Horseshoe Cottage was very comfortable, and in a fantastic location, and lovely scenery."

    The Dudley Arms, and Jet Miners Inn, are highly recommended. Their food is great. The only downside was the lack of the advertised Wi-Fi. We made the owners aware that the Wi-if was not working, and he said we could share his own personal wi-fi. This didn’t work, because the very thick walls blocked his wi-fi signal. Both my wife and myself ended up using our own data before the week was up. Sadly, the owner was not too concerned with rectifying the problem, which I suspect has like it for some time.

    Reviewed by Ian4.1Jun 2021

  • "I have all ready made a complaint and one of your customer services was dealing with the matter but now not replying to emails!"

    Reviewed by Michael1.6Jun 2021

  • "TVs weren't working properly and wifi barely working, but we were fine without both, enjoying the Yorkshire experience."

    Great cottage, v friendly people!

    Reviewed by Francoise4.1May 2021

  • "As only two of us occupied the cottage, rather than the four I originally booked for, we coped adequately, but if our daughter and her husband had joined us as originally planned the sleeping arrangements would have been inadequate, as there aren’t two separate bedrooms, only a curtained off area."

    Reviewed by Beryl3.4Sep 2020

  • "The cottage is comfy and well equipped."

    It's set in a beautiful quite location but near enough to villages for shops and pubs. Owners are friendly and helpful. We will return loved it.

    Reviewed by Julia5.0Mar 2020

  • "Great cottage with everything you need fantastic location lots of lovely walks from the cottage."

    Great if you takings your dogs hot water tap to wash them down. Hosts were lovely anything you needed they were on hand. We will definitely book again.

    Reviewed by Michelle3.8Feb 2020

  • "The cottage is lovely itself with a unique layout."

    Living room is upstairs. Separate shower and bathroom downstairs. This is a galley style cottage (which I didn't know!!) so if you wish for a lay-in in the mornings but have noisy family members, that's not going to happen. The cottage is filthy in several place. The floor looked like it has not been washed or mopped. There's accumulation of dust/human hair/dog hair in the corners. The only view of the hills is from the entrance door. And that's not even a full view. It's blocked by a tall hedge. The other view from the upstairs roof window, you have to tilt/turn you body and head to view it and that's only partial. The WIFI is non existent. Despite the owner's good intentions, both WIFI adaptors he brought in weren't working. Not great if you prefer being indoors than going out walking. You cannot deny the fact that in this day and age, WIFI connection is a must. If we had known it was zero-existent, we wouldn't have booked this cottage. I thought I would have a working washing machine. But no, all the owner said was "the washing machine isn't plumbed in" and left it at that. So for the next 6 days it was wash-and-dry socks and undies on the radiator. The radiator in the bathroom was hanging off the wall. If you were to lean on it, it would come off the wall. Some wall sockets don't work at all. The toilet brush was broken and disgusting. I think it could have been a better experience if the owners spent more time and money on maintenance and upkeeping. Basic things like floor mat would have been appreciated. Nothing pleasant about coming out of a bath or shower with damp feet on dusty floors. There isn't a wardrobe upstairs. It seems to me that you are supposed to use the wardrobe in the bedroom downstairs, but why would I want to get dressed in another room on another floor where it's occupied The kitchen is filthy as well. The top of the extractor was covered in dust. You could see a massive web hanging off like it was Halloween. I would really like to suggest putting a wardrobe upstairs, floor mats dotted around the cot, new toilet brush, check sockets, and more cleaning. Overall, the owners are friendly and lovely and provided bottled water, bread and cake. But it's the upkeep and lack of views that disappointed us.

    Reviewed by June1.9Oct 2019

  • "Horseshoe Cottage is set in a quiet and beautiful part of the North Yorkshire Moors."

    Our hosts Pam and Ian were so very helpful, with suggestions of places to visit, local restaurants and ideas for great walks both straight from the door and further afield. The cottage was warm and very comfortable with everything you need for a good holiday.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Sep 2019

  • "I made an error in thinking that as it had a wetroom it would be suitable for disabled."

    Other than that the hosts were very accomodating, helpful and charming. When we ended up leaving wto bags behing they even drove part way to meet us, There's service for you.

    Reviewed by Christobel5.0Aug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Owners very easy to deal with. Ideal location as a base for the moors and further afield. Would use again.

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Jun 2019

  • "Had a lovely week in this cottage."

    Owners were friendly and approachable for anything we needed and had great advice on places to visit in the local area. We had some lovely walks on the Cleveland Way and the dogs loved it! The cottage was well equipped, very comfortable and well presented.

    Reviewed by Christopher4.7May 2019

  • "A beautiful cottage, overlooking lovely views."

    Owner is so friendly and helpful with local walks and day trips. Very happy, wish we could have stayed for longer! We will definitely visit again!

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Apr 2019

  • "The cottage is situated in a picturesque part of the North Yorkshire Moore’s the views are breathtaking with clear star filled night sky’s adding to the Moores experience."

    The cottage is quite remote but we and our 2 dogs found exciting and safe walks near or short car rides away, returning to underfloor heating completed our lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Apr 2019

  • "Beautiful well equipped cottage in a fabulous location for walking."

    Set on a working farm housing horses and chickens, we were extremely happy with the cottage and its facilities. We travelled with our Labrador and another couple and their lab, there are two bedrooms, however one is only separated from the rest of the cottage by a curtain, so there is a slight lack of privacy. The only thing letting this cottage down was the extreme lack of water pressure, no hot water only a warm trickle. There had been many reviews on this site regarding the above issue but we hadn't thought it would be that bad. It didn't take away from the fact we had a wonderful short break, but thank goodness we were only there for three nights. The owners were very friendly and did provide a 5 litre bottle of drinking water (the water comes from a spring and the filter was broken) and I believe are trying to solve the water pressure and hot water issue.

    Reviewed by Helen3.8Mar 2019

  • "The cottage was good, except for the water pressure which was non-existant at times."

    The downstairs toilet seal leaked so it kept running into the bowl if you didn't jiggle the flush in the systern straight after flushing, because this then meant you couldn't flush the toilet next time, as it didn't fill back up. We couldn't get on the Wi-Fi because the password on the back of the box didn't work. The mattresses on the single beds have seen their day, as the springs twanged everytime you moved and one of the beds they stuck in my husband's back. There is no storage for the bedroom upstairs, the only storage for clothes is in the downstairs twin bedroom. It was hit and miss if everyone in the cottage got a shower. The day we arrived we got told not to drink the water as he thought silt had got in the water storage and this is why the pressure wasn't good, so he left us 6 bottles of 2lt water. However Monday a plumber was supposed to be coming to see why the pressure wasn't good, but he never let us know if we could drink the water and as we had dogs with us had to buy more bottled water for drinking and giving them.

    Reviewed by Kelly3.8Feb 2019

  • "The cottage was very nice , but needed a bit of t."

    L.c. We had issues with the water supply, and WiFi was also an issue, cut our stay off early because of water problem.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has let us down and not provided you with the experience that we had hoped for. We have contacted the property owner regarding the points you have raised. I can see the issues have been raised with our Customer Relations Team and we have come to a satisfactorily resolution with you on this matter. We do apologise once again for any inconvenience on your holiday and hope you continue to book with us in the future. Our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas Alan1.9Nov 2018

  • "Issues with running water and under floor heating."

    If the shower, dishwasher, toilet etc had been used in either cottage the water went off in both cottages. It became quite frustrating having to wait to continue with your shower or to even brush your teeth!

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.1Oct 2018

  • "Outstanding little cottage in a beautiful location."

    Exceptional hospitality from owners made our holiday perfect.

    Reviewed by Paul4.7Jun 2018

  • "Don't be put off by deliberately bland exterior - this cottage is quirky & very comfortable inside."

    Hard floors throughout so take indoor shoes or slippers. Seriously good underfloor heating so cosy even in recent snow. Shares the building with Farrier Cottage, brochure illustrations the wrong way round - Horseshoe Cottage is on the right as you park. A little difficult to find on the map but postcode on satnav takes you to within 100m. I'd advise coming in on Lamb's Lane from Ingleby Greenhow road. The short lane directly from village is unsurfaced - for tractors or muddy boots only (shortcut to pub). Take a torch - no streetlights!

    Reviewed by Bryan4.7Feb 2018

  • "Heating very poor infact on the last day we had no heating and been up north was ..."

    Heating very poor infact on the last day we had no heating and been up north was very cold with 2 children not wot u would expect we had to have a small fan heater on 24 hrs a day

    Reviewed by Sandra2.7Feb 2018

  • "The hosts were so friendly."

    They were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and created a really convivial atmosphere. I couldn't recommend highly enough.

    Reviewed by Joanna5.0May 2017

Show more Hide all


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x ground floor twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request) with TV and sitting area with sofa bed
  • Ground floor bathroom with double-ended bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor wet room with shower only
  • First floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen (2 steps up) with dining area
  • Shared external utility
  • Note: The twin bedroom with sitting area has curtain walls.
  • Underfloor heating from central log burning boiler
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer,shared washing machine in the external boiler/plant room, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with FreeSat, DVD, radio, iPod dock, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Bike storage
  • Patios with furniture and BBQ
  • Communal grounds with picnic area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.2 miles
  • Water supply is from a bore hole
  • Grazing and stabling available at additional cost and by prior arrangement with owner
  • Due to location, WiFi can be intermittent
  • There are 6 steps to access the property.

The property

Horseshoe Cottage offers ideal holiday cottage accommodation, with a first floor, light and airy sitting area with sofa bed to make the most of the panoramic views, and a ground floor galley kitchen and dining area.

With superb, modern facilities, this lovely holiday home boasts granite worktops, underfloor heating and an excellent wet room, as well as bedrooms on both the ground and first floors.

With beautiful views, this is in an ideal location for walkers, cyclists and horse riders.

Note: This cottage is next to Farrier Cottage (Ref: 18059), together they sleep 10.

Howe Hill Farm Cottages

Great Ayton 4.5 miles. Situated just over a mile from the small hamlet of Ingleby Greenhow amidst stunning countryside, these two semi-detached cottages have been sympathetically converted from old stone barns. Offering comfortable accommodation, these cottages are ideal for families and friends to get together and enjoy the spectacular surrounding scenery, but be within driving distance of the pretty market towns of Stokesley and Great Ayton. Bookable together to sleep 10, and with flexible accommodation including zip/link beds, sofa beds and ground floor bedrooms and wet rooms, these cottages make a fantastic base for a variety of parties. Great care has been taken to provide very comfortable holiday homes, boasting modern facilities throughout, including underfloor heating, granite worktops and double-ended baths. With a spacious feel throughout, both have flagged floors on the ground floor, and are traditionally furnished to a high standard. Outside are private front and rear patio gardens, a lovely spot to sit and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the panoramic views and beautiful sunsets. Guests are invited to explore the smallholding’s 35 acres, including a shared picnic area overlooking Roseberry Topping. The surrounding countryside is a walker’s and cyclist’s paradise, with a network of public footpaths, bridleways and trails, including the Coast to Coast and Cleveland Way long distance trails. The small village of Ingleby Greenhow lies just over a mile away and offers a local inn serving good food, and a butcher’s that also provides bread and milk, whilst Stokesley and Great Ayton are both picturesque towns with a good range of independent shops, pubs and cafés. Why not visit nearby affluent Yarm, with its popular, trendy restaurants and bars? A little further afield lies Northallerton with its weekly market and excellent amenities. An easy drive brings you to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn, both well worth visiting with their long, sandy beaches and historic harbours. Two North Yorkshire cottages in a beautiful location.

View on map

About the location


Stokesley 3 miles; Guisborough 7 miles; Middlesbrough 8 miles.

The attractive village of Great Ayton lies on the edge of the North York Moors National Park, at the foot of the Cleveland Hills. Great Ayton is famous for being the boyhood home of Captain Cook, and is also mentioned in the Domesday Book. The village consists of a mixture of pretty stone cottages and some new development housing. Great Ayton has two village greens, with a river running alongside, making it a popular picnic spot in the summer months. To the north of the village, the view is dominated by Roseberry Topping, a 330-metre hill. In the village are a good range of shops and inns, which, together with restaurants and cafes, cater well for holidaymakers. There is also the old school, now converted into the Captain Cook Schoolroom Museum. Around the village are several interesting walks, and Great Ayton makes a great base for walkers wishing to explore the stunning countryside. A good base for market towns, the lovely countryside and, just a short drive, the East Coast.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas