Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 1 minutes ago

  • Horseshoe Cottage - (Ref. 18060)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Horseshoe Cottage

Ingleby Greenhow near Great Ayton, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 18060)

3.0

Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

Features

  • Icon/Feature/Off-road parking Off road parking
  • Icon/Feature/Ground floor bedroom Ground floor bedroom
  • Icon/Feature/Garden or Patio Garden / Patio
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Cot available
  • Icon/Feature/Baby-friendly Highchair available
  • Icon/Feature/Washing machine Washing machine
  • Icon/Feature/Dishwasher Dishwasher
  • Icon/Feature/WiFi Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Although we were warm and bed was clean and comfortable."

    The cottage itself wanted a deep clean. I tried to get what I thought were water stains off the toilets to no avail. Also the front of the toilet pan needed cleaning. I cleaned the soap powder dispenser in the washer but the rubber door seal inside was dirty. The outside approach to the cottage needed maintenance, even a good sweep would have made a difference. Don't think I could recommend to friends.

    Reviewed by CaroleOct 2021

  • "Lovely clean stone barn conversion with wonderful views of the Moors, just outside village with great pub and cafe."

    Owners were very friendly , informative and helpful. We would definitely return.

    Reviewed by GwynnethSep 2021

  • "Horseshoe Cottage was very comfortable, and in a fantastic location, and lovely scenery."

    The Dudley Arms, and Jet Miners Inn, are highly recommended. Their food is great. The only downside was the lack of the advertised Wi-Fi. We made the owners aware that the Wi-if was not working, and he said we could share his own personal wi-fi. This didn’t work, because the very thick walls blocked his wi-fi signal. Both my wife and myself ended up using our own data before the week was up. Sadly, the owner was not too concerned with rectifying the problem, which I suspect has like it for some time.

    Reviewed by IanJun 2021

  • "I have all ready made a complaint and one of your customer services was dealing with the matter but now not replying to emails!"

    Reviewed by MichaelJun 2021

  • "TVs weren't working properly and wifi barely working, but we were fine without both, enjoying the Yorkshire experience."

    Great cottage, v friendly people!

    Reviewed by FrancoiseMay 2021

  • "As only two of us occupied the cottage, rather than the four I originally booked for, we coped adequately, but if our daughter and her husband had joined us as originally planned the sleeping arrangements would have been inadequate, as there aren’t two separate bedrooms, only a curtained off area."

    Reviewed by BerylSep 2020

  • "The cottage is comfy and well equipped."

    It's set in a beautiful quite location but near enough to villages for shops and pubs. Owners are friendly and helpful. We will return loved it.

    Reviewed by JeremyMar 2020

  • "Great cottage with everything you need fantastic location lots of lovely walks from the cottage."

    Great if you takings your dogs hot water tap to wash them down. Hosts were lovely anything you needed they were on hand. We will definitely book again.

    Reviewed by MichelleFeb 2020

  • "The cottage is lovely itself with a unique layout."

    Living room is upstairs. Separate shower and bathroom downstairs. This is a galley style cottage (which I didn't know!!) so if you wish for a lay-in in the mornings but have noisy family members, that's not going to happen. The cottage is filthy in several place. The floor looked like it has not been washed or mopped. There's accumulation of dust/human hair/dog hair in the corners. The only view of the hills is from the entrance door. And that's not even a full view. It's blocked by a tall hedge. The other view from the upstairs roof window, you have to tilt/turn you body and head to view it and that's only partial. The WIFI is non existent. Despite the owner's good intentions, both WIFI adaptors he brought in weren't working. Not great if you prefer being indoors than going out walking. You cannot deny the fact that in this day and age, WIFI connection is a must. If we had known it was zero-existent, we wouldn't have booked this cottage. I thought I would have a working washing machine. But no, all the owner said was "the washing machine isn't plumbed in" and left it at that. So for the next 6 days it was wash-and-dry socks and undies on the radiator. The radiator in the bathroom was hanging off the wall. If you were to lean on it, it would come off the wall. Some wall sockets don't work at all. The toilet brush was broken and disgusting. I think it could have been a better experience if the owners spent more time and money on maintenance and upkeeping. Basic things like floor mat would have been appreciated. Nothing pleasant about coming out of a bath or shower with damp feet on dusty floors. There isn't a wardrobe upstairs. It seems to me that you are supposed to use the wardrobe in the bedroom downstairs, but why would I want to get dressed in another room on another floor where it's occupied The kitchen is filthy as well. The top of the extractor was covered in dust. You could see a massive web hanging off like it was Halloween. I would really like to suggest putting a wardrobe upstairs, floor mats dotted around the cot, new toilet brush, check sockets, and more cleaning. Overall, the owners are friendly and lovely and provided bottled water, bread and cake. But it's the upkeep and lack of views that disappointed us.

    Reviewed by Mei COct 2019

  • "Horseshoe Cottage is set in a quiet and beautiful part of the North Yorkshire Moors."

    Our hosts Pam and Ian were so very helpful, with suggestions of places to visit, local restaurants and ideas for great walks both straight from the door and further afield. The cottage was warm and very comfortable with everything you need for a good holiday.

    Reviewed by SusanSep 2019

  • "I made an error in thinking that as it had a wetroom it would be suitable for disabled."

    Other than that the hosts were very accomodating, helpful and charming. When we ended up leaving wto bags behing they even drove part way to meet us, There's service for you.

    Reviewed by ChristobelAug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage."

    Owners very easy to deal with. Ideal location as a base for the moors and further afield. Would use again.

    Reviewed by JosephJun 2019

  • "Had a lovely week in this cottage."

    Owners were friendly and approachable for anything we needed and had great advice on places to visit in the local area. We had some lovely walks on the Cleveland Way and the dogs loved it! The cottage was well equipped, very comfortable and well presented.

    Reviewed by ChristopherMay 2019

  • "A beautiful cottage, overlooking lovely views."

    Owner is so friendly and helpful with local walks and day trips. Very happy, wish we could have stayed for longer! We will definitely visit again!

    Reviewed by AmyApr 2019

  • "The cottage is situated in a picturesque part of the North Yorkshire Moore’s the views are breathtaking with clear star filled night sky’s adding to the Moores experience."

    The cottage is quite remote but we and our 2 dogs found exciting and safe walks near or short car rides away, returning to underfloor heating completed our lovely holiday.

    Reviewed by SusanApr 2019

  • "Beautiful well equipped cottage in a fabulous location for walking."

    Set on a working farm housing horses and chickens, we were extremely happy with the cottage and its facilities. We travelled with our Labrador and another couple and their lab, there are two bedrooms, however one is only separated from the rest of the cottage by a curtain, so there is a slight lack of privacy. The only thing letting this cottage down was the extreme lack of water pressure, no hot water only a warm trickle. There had been many reviews on this site regarding the above issue but we hadn't thought it would be that bad. It didn't take away from the fact we had a wonderful short break, but thank goodness we were only there for three nights. The owners were very friendly and did provide a 5 litre bottle of drinking water (the water comes from a spring and the filter was broken) and I believe are trying to solve the water pressure and hot water issue.

    Reviewed by HelenMar 2019

  • "The cottage was good, except for the water pressure which was non-existant at times."

    The downstairs toilet seal leaked so it kept running into the bowl if you didn't jiggle the flush in the systern straight after flushing, because this then meant you couldn't flush the toilet next time, as it didn't fill back up. We couldn't get on the Wi-Fi because the password on the back of the box didn't work. The mattresses on the single beds have seen their day, as the springs twanged everytime you moved and one of the beds they stuck in my husband's back. There is no storage for the bedroom upstairs, the only storage for clothes is in the downstairs twin bedroom. It was hit and miss if everyone in the cottage got a shower. The day we arrived we got told not to drink the water as he thought silt had got in the water storage and this is why the pressure wasn't good, so he left us 6 bottles of 2lt water. However Monday a plumber was supposed to be coming to see why the pressure wasn't good, but he never let us know if we could drink the water and as we had dogs with us had to buy more bottled water for drinking and giving them.

    Reviewed by KellyFeb 2019

  • "The cottage was very nice , but needed a bit of t."

    L.c. We had issues with the water supply, and WiFi was also an issue, cut our stay off early because of water problem.

    Many thanks for your valuable feedback, we are very disappointed that one of our properties has let us down and not provided you with the experience that we had hoped for. We have contacted the property owner regarding the points you have raised. I can see the issues have been raised with our Customer Relations Team and we have come to a satisfactorily resolution with you on this matter. We do apologise once again for any inconvenience on your holiday and hope you continue to book with us in the future. Our lines are open 7 days a week from 9am until 7pm. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Thomas AlanNov 2018

  • "Issues with running water and under floor heating."

    If the shower, dishwasher, toilet etc had been used in either cottage the water went off in both cottages. It became quite frustrating having to wait to continue with your shower or to even brush your teeth!

    Reviewed by RebeccaOct 2018

  • "Outstanding little cottage in a beautiful location."

    Exceptional hospitality from owners made our holiday perfect.

    Reviewed by PaulJun 2018

  • "Don't be put off by deliberately bland exterior - this cottage is quirky & very comfortable inside."

    Hard floors throughout so take indoor shoes or slippers. Seriously good underfloor heating so cosy even in recent snow. Shares the building with Farrier Cottage, brochure illustrations the wrong way round - Horseshoe Cottage is on the right as you park. A little difficult to find on the map but postcode on satnav takes you to within 100m. I'd advise coming in on Lamb's Lane from Ingleby Greenhow road. The short lane directly from village is unsurfaced - for tractors or muddy boots only (shortcut to pub). Take a torch - no streetlights!

    Reviewed by BryanFeb 2018

  • "Heating very poor infact on the last day we had no heating and been up north was ..."

    Heating very poor infact on the last day we had no heating and been up north was very cold with 2 children not wot u would expect we had to have a small fan heater on 24 hrs a day

    Reviewed by SandraFeb 2018

  • "The hosts were so friendly."

    They were extremely knowledgeable and helpful and created a really convivial atmosphere. I couldn't recommend highly enough.

    Reviewed by JoannaMay 2017

  • "A clean, modern, clutter free cottage which has been recently done up."

    It is in a great location and the owner was friendly and helpful.

    Reviewed by RuthMay 2016

  • "Cottage was ideal for the purpose of our holiday and the owner was very friendly and informed me of numerous walks in the area."

    Reviewed by DavidFeb 2016

  • "A wonderful location and property, the owners were very welcoming."

    The property is in wonderful condition and has a very homely feel, would certainly recommend it to others and would definitely stay here again.

    Reviewed by AlexanderAug 2015

  • "Really friendly owners who know their area well."

    An excellent cosy cottage with lovely dog walking from the door. The dogs really enjoyed getting to know the horses and sheep while having the whole fields to play in. The cottage is beautifully decorated and has an enormous bath and a separate shower room. Good parking. It was really relaxing.

    Reviewed by CarolineMay 2015

  • "The warm welcome the location and the peace."

    Stunning property.

    Reviewed by SallyOct 2014

  • "Secluded location, friendly host who gave lots of information about local area."

    Wonderful views and great walks from cottage.

    Mrs BoodellSep 2014

  • "The cottage itself is a beautiful building set in the perfect place for exploring the countryside."

    Everything inside the cottage was brilliant and the owner was really friendly & helpful with everything.

    Reviewed by DannyAug 2014

  • "Amazing cottage with an amazing host."

    Horseshoe Cottage had everything you needed and more. The beds were extremely comfortable and the cake, milk and bread on arrival was lovely.

    Reviewed by CarolineJul 2014

  • "Quiet location, friendly and helpful owner."

    Modern and clean with an excellent shower/bathroom.

    Reviewed by ReneJul 2014

  • "The location was excellent with wonderful views and walking from the cottage."

    The cottage was warm and comfortable and the owners were welcoming and very helpful. We particularly appreciated the fact that we could bring our two dogs without any fuss.

    Reviewed by VictoriaApr 2014

Show more

Howe Hill Farm Cottages

Great Ayton 4.5 miles. Situated just over a mile from the small hamlet of Ingleby Greenhow amidst stunning countryside, these two semi-detached cottages have been sympathetically converted from old stone barns. Offering comfortable accommodation, these cottages are ideal for families and friends to get together and enjoy the spectacular surrounding scenery, but be within driving distance of the pretty market towns of Stokesley and Great Ayton. Bookable together to sleep 10, and with flexible accommodation including zip/link beds, sofa beds and ground floor bedrooms and wet rooms, these cottages make a fantastic base for a variety of parties. Great care has been taken to provide very comfortable holiday homes, boasting modern facilities throughout, including underfloor heating, granite worktops and double-ended baths. With a spacious feel throughout, both have flagged floors on the ground floor, and are traditionally furnished to a high standard. Outside are private front and rear patio gardens, a lovely spot to sit and relax with a glass of wine and enjoy the panoramic views and beautiful sunsets. Guests are invited to explore the smallholding’s 35 acres, including a shared picnic area overlooking Roseberry Topping. The surrounding countryside is a walker’s and cyclist’s paradise, with a network of public footpaths, bridleways and trails, including the Coast to Coast and Cleveland Way long distance trails. The small village of Ingleby Greenhow lies just over a mile away and offers a local inn serving good food, and a butcher’s that also provides bread and milk, whilst Stokesley and Great Ayton are both picturesque towns with a good range of independent shops, pubs and cafés. Why not visit nearby affluent Yarm, with its popular, trendy restaurants and bars? A little further afield lies Northallerton with its weekly market and excellent amenities. An easy drive brings you to the coastal towns of Whitby and Saltburn, both well worth visiting with their long, sandy beaches and historic harbours. Two North Yorkshire cottages in a beautiful location.

The property

Horseshoe Cottage offers ideal holiday cottage accommodation, with a first floor, light and airy sitting area with sofa bed to make the most of the panoramic views, and a ground floor galley kitchen and dining area.

With superb, modern facilities, this lovely holiday home boasts granite worktops, underfloor heating and an excellent wet room, as well as bedrooms on both the ground and first floors.

With beautiful views, this is in an ideal location for walkers, cyclists and horse riders.

Note: This cottage is next to Farrier Cottage (Ref: 18059), together they sleep 10.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x ground floor twin (zip/link, can be super king-size double on request) with TV and sitting area with sofa bed
  • Ground floor bathroom with double-ended bath, basin and WC
  • Ground floor wet room with shower only
  • First floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen (2 steps up) with dining area
  • Shared external utility
  • Note: The twin bedroom with sitting area has curtain walls.
  • Underfloor heating from central log burning boiler
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge, freezer,shared washing machine in the external boiler/plant room, dishwasher, 2 x TVs with FreeSat, DVD, radio, iPod dock, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair on request
  • Off road parking for 3 cars
  • Bike storage
  • Patios with furniture and BBQ
  • Communal grounds with picnic area
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1.2 miles
  • Water supply is from a bore hole
  • Grazing and stabling available at additional cost and by prior arrangement with owner
  • Due to location, WiFi can be intermittent
  • There are 6 steps to access the property.

View on map

About the location

GREAT AYTON

Stokesley 3 miles; Guisborough 7 miles; Middlesbrough 8 miles.

The attractive village of Great Ayton lies on the edge of the North York Moors National Park, at the foot of the Cleveland Hills. Great Ayton is famous for being the boyhood home of Captain Cook, and is also mentioned in the Domesday Book. The village consists of a mixture of pretty stone cottages and some new development housing. Great Ayton has two village greens, with a river running alongside, making it a popular picnic spot in the summer months. To the north of the village, the view is dominated by Roseberry Topping, a 330-metre hill. In the village are a good range of shops and inns, which, together with restaurants and cafes, cater well for holidaymakers. There is also the old school, now converted into the Captain Cook Schoolroom Museum. Around the village are several interesting walks, and Great Ayton makes a great base for walkers wishing to explore the stunning countryside. A good base for market towns, the lovely countryside and, just a short drive, the East Coast.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it