Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 43 View Image Gallery
  • Farrow - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 980869 - photo 1
close

Farrow

(Ref. 980869)

Staintondale, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • tub (30)
  • hot (30)
  • hot tub (30)
  • lovely (26)
  • cottage (26)
  • stay (20)

56 Customer Reviews

  • "Really lovely little cottage very cosy and the hot tub was amazing."

    Everything you could want in cottage very peaceful clean warm and cosy would highly recommend Farrow x

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Feb 2024

  • "This was our second time staying in the cottage and would definitely stay again, it definitely feels like home."

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Nov 2023

  • "Lovely place, just as advertised, really clean and welcoming ☺️ The bedrooms could do with a bit of a bit of tlc, but only minor cosmetics."

    Still comfy and clean. Literally the only negative I have. Would stay again and recommend to anyone visiting the area. ☺️

    Reviewed by Kelly4.4Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was lovely, we have no negative feedback at all about our stay."

    We loved the hot tub. There's local pubs for meals out and the Location is great. We had trips out to Scarborough and whitby.

    Reviewed by Suzannah5.0Sep 2023

  • "We had such an amazing holiday."

    The cottage was fantastic with absolutely everything you would need. The beds and couches are very comfortable. The star of the show was the hot tub with such a beautiful views. You could see the stars at night. It feels very private even though there is cottages near you. Would 100% go back already looked into next year.

    Reviewed by Deborah5.0Sep 2023

  • "Farrow had all we needed but there was some mould in two of the bedrooms and only having one bathroom with one toilet for six adults was difficult at times, a fully functional lock on the bathroom would also have been helpful."

    Bath sheets instead of bath towels would have been preferred. The sofas definitely hadn't been moved and there was a lack of precise cleanliness throughout the cottage. We did enjoy our stay and the hot tub was a real bonus but it's that little attention to detail that really makes a holiday perfect.

    Reviewed by Deborah3.8Aug 2023

  • "A few disappointing issues regards the property."

    Firstly, cupboard doors missing in the kitchen, on ice dispenser on the fridge as advertised, empty Reed diffusers in the bathroom and living room, the sofas were too low and difficult to get up out of. The beds were really hard and uncomfortable, had to take the very thin quilt from the spare room and use it as extra padding to lie on. The soft furnishings, cushions, bedding, towels were looking old and in need of replacing. Was shocked to see all the stains on the quilts when we removed the covers at the end of our stay, if had known before the state of those, would not have used them, really bad. All said and done, the location is lovely, very private garden and great hit tub but the property interior needs a little TLC to bring it up to standard.

    Hi Estelle. Thank you for your feedback, we take everything our guests say on board & try our hardest to keep guests happy & comfortable throughout their stay here. We wish you had given us chance to rectify these issues throughout the week or when Ben had asked you guys if you had enjoyed your stay and you replied yes. Unfortunately the cupboard doors are no longer available for this kitchen so it’s a full new kitchen - which isn’t a 5 min fix throughout our busy period. The ice dispenser on the old fridge got accidentally broken one week so replaced it with a new fridge/freezer and we do provide ice cube trays. Reed diffuser - sorry these were missed but we could have easily refilled these in 2 mins for you. I’m sorry you found the sofa & beds uncomfortable but these are personal preference unfortunately. These beds were new last year. Soft furnishings, beddings and towels are replaced regularly - again if you were disappointed by these we could have happily replaced these for you. Duvets are sent to laundry regularly and replaced when needed. We do try our hardest here at Meeting house to keep all our guests happy and we thank you for your feedback & take all on board. Thank you Ben & Wendy. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Estelle2.5Jun 2023

  • "We absolutely loved our stay."

    The cottage (Farrow) had everything we needed and the gardens and hot tub were perfect for the kids. Such a good location with short drives to either whitby or Scarborough! The kitchen had everything we needed to cook meals and we loved that there were little bits to get us going such as cookies, tea, coffee and milk- such a lovely touch. The owners were very quick at replying to any queries I had too. The only thing that could have been improved ever so slightly were the mattresses were a little hard but this would not stop us coming back and we plan on trying to book for the end of summer! Fantastic accommodation <3

    Reviewed by Zoe4.7Apr 2023

  • "The property was clean and welcoming."

    All equipment required was included.Queries with the owner were dealt with quickly and efficiently. We gad a very enjoyable stay.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Mar 2023

  • "We had an absolutely wonderful stay!"

    Everything was clean and very well maintained. The hot tub and the log burner definitely made it for me! Farrow has its own private garden which the kids loved! There is a woodland type walkway about 5/10 minutes away from the site on foot where there is a tea room (it was closed when went for a walk, gutted! But it looked lovely!) It was great value for money. I would definitely recommend and I would definitely return if we were to get a similar price/deal.

    Reviewed by Eden5.0Dec 2022

  • "Fantastic getaway so close to the coast but with rural peace and quiet."

    Discovered proximity of Cinder Track and will explore longer day trips on foot and bike for next time. Kids loved hot tub and wood fired stove. Excellent fixtures in bathroom and plenty of crockery/utensils in kitchen. Heating was on all day to keep warm but it was snowing out and owners did great job clearing ice and snow to maintain access/egress for cars.

    Reviewed by Kate4.1Dec 2022

  • "We were really happy with everything at the property."

    Everything was as expected and we enjoyed the quiet location. Would definitely return. We haven't got a single fault with this property.

    Reviewed by Megan5.0Oct 2022

  • "This was our second stay in Farrow Cottage."

    It was lovely to find new beds this time and they were so comfy. Really lovely stay, highly recommend this holiday cottage

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Oct 2022

  • "Property needed a upgrade lots of wires lying around dull windows, trip hazard going to hot tub."

    Could do with better lighting in sitting room as it is quite dull on a dark evening. I think the owners should spend some money they earn doing the property up

    Thanks for your feedback We are always on hand to help with any issues during your stay , i can't think of any trip hazard on the way to the hot tub I'm unsure by what you mean if you could of pointed it out to us we could of rectified this straight away . The new upvc windows and doors are on order and will be fitted at the end of the season when we get a break in the cottage. We try to keep the cottage cosy but there is sufficient lighting in the living room . As new owners we are continually re investing in all five cottages and try to keep them to a very good standard . We thank you for your feedback and will rectify any issues instantly. Many thanks Mr Pullen (owner) Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard2.5Jul 2022

  • "We had an excellent weeks break at this beautiful cottage in a stunning location."

    We had a great time exploring North Yorkshire and farrow was the perfect base for us to do this. Farrow had good facilities and our kids loved the hot tub. Would recommend this to anyone.

    Reviewed by Kazimiera5.0Jul 2022

  • "Great property only very minor improvements would make it a perfect property."

    Hot tub a wonderful bonus made good use of it throughout the stay. Would recommend the property to others. Would come back again, lovely area added bonus weather was just right.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Jul 2022

  • "It would be useful to have user guides on how to use the White goods."

    Larger towels would appreciated. The Hot Tub was great for aching legs each evening, lovely relaxing overlooking the countryside. The shower is excellent.

    Reviewed by Alan3.8Jun 2022

  • "This was our first time exploring North Yorkshire and we couldn't have found a better location to stay at."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our week here at Farrow. Had no complaints. Ben and Wendy were very friendly. A very well presented property, clean, spacious, hot tub perfect & ample of parking. We managed to go and see plenty of places in the area as this is so well located. Hope to be back again soon,

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Jun 2022

  • "We have just returned from a fabulous week in Farrow."

    The cottage is lovely and a great base for exploring. The kitchen is well equipped and the kids loved the large garden. The shower is the best we've ever had in a holiday let - really excellent. The hot tub adds a perfect bit of luxury and with great views it was fabulous. The TV was a little over complicated, and the beds could do with some investment - but these are minor points. We will definitely recommend Farrow and hope to return next year

    Reviewed by Louise4.7Jun 2022

  • "We had a fabulous stay, would recommend to all, will definitely go back, hot tub a massive bonus after all the sight seeing."

    Reviewed by John5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely place to stay beautiful views very relaxing looking forward to our next stay"

    Reviewed by Sandra5.0May 2022

  • "A beautiful place to holiday."

    We stayed in farrow and had absolutely no complaints. The cottage is well placed to visit all the local seaside towns while also being set in an idyllic location. Would highly recommend it.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Apr 2022

  • "We booked this for a birthday weekend and we were not disappointed."

    The property was beautiful. Very clean and comfortable. Nice touch was the milk and biscuits that were left for us on arrival. We loved the area it was very peaceful. We would definitely book again and go back to the area.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Feb 2022

  • "Fabulous cottage stay."

    The property owner even had a pint of milk, cakes and tea bags for us. I would highly recommend this property. The hot tub is a bonus too. Perfect place to stay to visit Scarborough, whitby and the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Andrea5.0Feb 2022

  • "Lovely clean cottage everything we needed to enjoy our lovely break away would definitely recommend this cottage x"

    Reviewed by Claire4.4Jan 2022

  • "Had the most amazing weekend break at my favourite hot tub accommodation so far."

    ... And I do plenty of hottub getaways. If I could pick my ideal property to retire to and spend the rest of my days then this would be it. Thankyou

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jan 2022

  • "Lovely holiday cottage which had everything we needed."

    The added bonus of the hot tub made it extra special. The only thing that disappointed us was that when we went to book again the prices were triple what we paid and I don't think the cottage itself is worth these new luxury prices.

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Nov 2021

  • "Really enjoyed our weekend away very comfortable stay would definitely recommend"

    Reviewed by Stephanie4.4Nov 2021

  • "Absolutely fantastic."

    Home from home Hot tub a bonus

    Reviewed by Graeme5.0Nov 2021

  • "We had a fabulous week here."

    The setting is absolutely beautiful and the luxuries of the hot tub and the log burner made it such a relaxing stay and exactly what we needed. Thanks for having us, we’ve booked again already for next year!

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely and we all enjoyed the hot tub."

    Nice peaceful area, beautiful scenery. Would have given you a 10, but have now looked at next years prices, all gone up 50per cent. Too expensive for exactly the same package as this year. Such a shame.

    Reviewed by Tony5.0Aug 2021

  • "The property is a barn extension that is spacious and homely."

    Hot tub very good, views excellent, location for the coast and moors very good. Could do with a fly curtain on the living room door! Made our own entertainment on evenings and had a great time. Great for all ages. Old railway track very good for walks to Hayburn and Ravenscar, further if you’re a seasoned Walker or cyclist. Fully enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Wayne4.4Aug 2021

  • "Very peaceful location, lovely cottage,well equipped with all you needed."

    Ben and Wendy the owners were very welcoming and informative.the hot tub was great to have.

    Reviewed by Bernadette5.0Jul 2021

  • "There were 6 of us staying, youngest 17 so all adult sized and there was plenty of room for everyone (sometimes accommodation can sleep everyone but you don't fit)."

    Beautiful surroundings, all the facilities we needed, on a personal level it would have been better if we were in walking distance to a town but that was just for us. Accommodation, facilities, surroundings, hosts, car parking, driving distance to Scarborough, Whitby, Filey, walk to Redcar all perfect

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7May 2021

  • "Great location, a quiet little village and short driving distance to every where we wanted to visit."

    The cottage was great, fully equipped and had everything we needed. Being on a working farm wasn't an issue as it was quiet and once we were at the lodge you would never know... this wasn't an issue for us. The owners were really helpful and friendly. Overall we had a lovely holiday and would definitely return. We also felt safe with our 4 month old baby and had a travel cot provided.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Apr 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time at the farrow cottage."

    The barn was very clean and had everything that we needed. The only thing i found was that the master bedroom heatind didn't get hotter than we wanted and between the other two rooms there was a loud dripping noise at night which i dont know where it came from. Other than that would definitely come again. Please visit 199 steps in whitby it was so amazing. Thanks

    Reviewed by Razima5.0Dec 2020

  • "Fantastic place in a fantastic location there is not much more you can say really."

    There was nothing more needed at all.

    Reviewed by Sam5.0Sep 2020

  • "Booked the Farrows to celebrate my partners 30th and it was brilliant."

    The cottage excellent and the hot tub was a great added extra to our weekend away! Definitely will go back again.

    Reviewed by Rebecca4.7Sep 2020

  • "A lovely convenient spot for visiting nearby points of interest & lovely walks."

    Nothing was too trouble if you needed the owners for advice.

    Reviewed by Patricia4.7Sep 2020

  • "Lovely stay, couldn't have been better."

    Reviewed by Ruth5.0Jul 2020

  • "Perfect location."

    Lovely peaceful setting but still within easy reach of Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby etc. The cottage is a converted barn on what was once a fully working farm. Farrow was the best of these by far. With a beautiful garden and fields beyond. What a view!! Due to the location we were able to see the stars on a clear night from the hot tub. The cottage is heated from the wood burning stove of which there is a plentiful supply of logs in the barn further up. There are other heaters in the rooms though if you dont want to fire up the wood burner. The owners live on site and are on hand if you need anything but otherwise leave you in peace. My only feedback would be that there were not enough toilet rolls. One and half rolls for 3 of us for 3 nights?????

    Thank you for your feedback, we have now installed a new heating system. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Adrienne5.0Jan 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay and would recommend."

    The owners were on site but left you alone their were very friendly if ever we need to speak to them from anything. We would definitely stay again.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Dec 2019

  • "Absolutely lovely weekend spent in Farrow."

    Everything was as described and the hot tube was fantastic.

    Reviewed by Kate4.1Dec 2019

  • "Farrow cottage is fantastic!"

    Loved the log burning fire and the warm comfy beds. The hot tub was amazing and the owners Wendy and Ben couldn’t have helped enough. Great local pub the hayburn wyke was very friendly and welcoming too and the cottage is in a great location to Whitby and Scarborough. Would definitely recommend!

    Reviewed by Lynsey4.4Nov 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a great location."

    Rural enough so you're totally away from everything but close enough to Scarborough, whitby, pickering etc for days out and amenities. Owners on hand and very friendly. Cottage very well equipped. Heating runs off the log burner so takes a while to warm up but there are electric heaters to take the chill off in the meantime. Hot tub was a lovely treat too.

    Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to let future guests know that a new heating sytem has now been installed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Oct 2019

  • "Just had a great weekend, location perfect for access to East Coast only 5minutes from Whitby to Scarborough Road."

    Accommodation very good owners on site. 3 good bedrooms although only one bathroom. Great value for money.

    Reviewed by Kevin5.0Sep 2019

  • "The cottage was comfy & the hot tub & log burning stove were great."

    The owners were always at hand if you wanted some advice & were so friendly. A great week away.

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Sep 2019

  • "Absolutely lovely cottage."

    A family week away to relax and enjoy time together is just what we needed. The cottage was clean and tidy..with a homely feeling. We were even able to check in an hour early, which was so helpful. Have already recommended to friends.

    Reviewed by Anna5.0Jul 2019

  • "Had an amazing week away here at Farrow, owners were always on the other end of the phone whenever we needed anything."

    Great hospitality. The views were amazing to look at first thing on a morning. The hot tub was great to relax in after a long day out. Will definitely be coming back here!

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Jul 2019

  • "We had a fabulous week in spite of mixed weather and felt it was a perfect holiday with small children, loads to do in the vicinity in all weathers and beautiful countryside."

    We didn,t want to leave! The hot tub was especially popular

    Reviewed by Carolyn5.0Jun 2019

  • "Lovely place views are beautiful but the log burner wasn't for us but we really enjoyed our holiday"

    Reviewed by Darren3.8May 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, peaceful setting, friendly hosts, we would go back"

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2019

  • "Perfect cottage, brilliant hosts."

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Mar 2019

  • "Lovely cottage, lovely hosts, we are already talking about returning in the summer!"

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2019

  • "We couldn't of asked for a better holiday."

    Farrow Barn was a beautiful place to stay with glorious views. Such a cosy and relaxing break. The owner was always on the end of the phone if we needed anything and kept us well stocked with wood for the log burner. Will definitely book through Sykes again.

    Reviewed by Suzanne4.4Dec 2018

  • "Was really happy"

    Reviewed by Donna5.0Nov 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • All ground floor
  • Three bedrooms: 2 x double, 1 x small 4" double
  • Bathroom with bath, shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with woodburner.
  • LPG central heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, double fridge/freezer with ice maker, washing machine, dishwasher, SKY TV with Freeview, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power and starter pack inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair
  • Off road parking
  • Large gravelled area with private gardens and hot tub
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 4 miles and pub 1.5 miles.

The property

A heart-warming barn conversion tucked away into the quiet village of Staintondale, close to Cleveland Way and coastal entertainment.

Well-suited for travellers or a small family, this ground floor accommodation comprises of a charming lounge, a relaxing base to begin your day, or a snug night time escape with the woodburner ablaze.

A well-equipped kitchen lies close by, ideal for preparing those early morning refreshments ahead of your adventures and delightful evening meals after the sun sets.

To unwind in style, choose from three bedrooms, a diverse arrangement to suit all guests, with a classic bathroom to compliment the interior.

Note: This property can be booked with Ref. 980868, 980870 and 986353 together they can sleep up to 18 people.

Meeting House Farm

In the village of Staintondale you will discover this group of four cottages, each beautifully presented and providing homely accommodation for a variety of guests; from families, to travellers and couples. Whether you are planning a relaxing holiday or a sightseeing adventure, this location promises the best of both worlds, with its network of footpaths and coastal entertainment. Return home to the wonderful cottages after an adventure-filled day, and relax amongst the comfortable interior, which features a lovely lounge with sumptuous seating, along with a charming kitchen for those early morning refreshments. Offering a selection of sleeping arrangements you will be spoilt for choice come night time, with the neatly decorated bedrooms creating a soothing escape away from it all. Wake up to it all over again, and get ready in the modern bathroom before heading out to be at one with the village and beyond. Three of the properties, Carters, Farrow and Hayloft offer hot tubs and so why not relax and reflect on your holiday so far, and plan those up and coming adventures whilst sipping a refreshing drink under the sun? Midway between the fishing town of Whitby, with its famous Abbey, and the spa town of Scarborough, with its theatres and entertainment, this is a true haven to enjoy all-year-round. From Staintondale itself, a network of bridleways can be enjoyed as well as peaceful strolls. A lovely collection of cottages to make your holiday that much more memorable.

View on map

About the location

STAINTONDALE

Scarborough 8 miles; Robin Hood's Bay 10 miles; Whitby 13 miles.

Staintondale is a delightful scattered village on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors, close to the coast. Midway between the fishing town of Whitby, with its famous Abbey, and the Spa town of Scarborough, with its theatres and entertainment, it is a haven of peace offering the best of both worlds. From Staintondale itself, a network of footpaths and bridleways can be enjoyed. A superb base from which to explore the region.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas