Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 9 minutes ago

1 of 26 View Image Gallery
  • Robin Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1118224 - photo 1

Robin Cottage

(Ref. 1118224)

Leven near Beverley, Vale of York & Yorkshire Wolds Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • property (5)
  • owner (5)
  • cottage (5)
  • our (4)
  • bed (4)
  • clean (3)

9 Customer Reviews

  • "Wasnt aware when i booked that it was an annex in the owners backyard in a cul ..."

    Wasnt aware when i booked that it was an annex in the owners backyard in a cul de sac i thought it was an isolated cottage,as an autistic man that was a deal breaker for me and so i wasnt able to stay id booked a week as well and no offer of a refund i was gutted :(

    Thank you for your review. In order to provide other potential visitors with an accurate view of events, I felt it appropriate to share the email you sent me when you cancelled your booking a few days prior to arrival, in which you accepted responsibility for the cancellation and stated that you did not want a refund. I wrote back to you immediately, providing you with additional detail and making it clear that I would very much like to welcome you. I explained that the accommodation I offer is cosy, private, comfortable and in its own private corner of a large plot, nextdoor to but separate from my house and with its own private entrance and outside space. I believe my extensive online description of the property, including photographs, provides an accurate view of the accommodation, and nowhere does it suggest that it is isolated completely from other properties. As you acknowledged in your email to me, in line with the booking terms you agreed to, I cannot refund short-notice cancellations which are visitors’ own choice and which potentially deprive others of the opportunity to enjoy the accommodation on offer. Many thanks. Tracy. Your email read: ‘I hope you understand Im autistic man and since learning its an annex in the middle of a cul de sac I just wont be able to settle when looking at your listing and pictures I had the impression it was isolated away from other buildings, Its similar to were i live and I was looking to get away from feeling crowded atleast for a week in a cosy cottage, I dont expect a refund as i should of asked before booking it. Just wanted to let you know so you can put it back up for renting’. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wayne3.1Nov 2023

  • "The property was clean & well equipped but the bedroom was very small and would benefit from a smaller bed to enable access to the bed and wardrobe."

    We found the walk to the bus stops longer than expected but we were able to park the car and walk to them. We thought the high fence at back of property made it very dark and unnecessary.

    Reviewed by William4.7Oct 2023

  • "The property didn’t really met the needs of my disabled wife but was well appointed with excellent broadband and TV."

    Space was limited and the table too small for dining. Bed was comfortable but space was restricted, making our frequent night visits to the bathroom tricky. Cooking facilities were OK for simple snacks but provision of salt and pepper would have been appreciated. We had to shop for salt and toilet rolls. The air conditioning was good as my wife suffers from COPD, making breathing difficult, particularly in hot weather. Generally a well designed property but a little too cramped for our taste. I wouldn’t recommend the property for anyone with significant disabilies.

    Dear customer, many thanks for your feedback, it was lovely to welcome you and your wife, and I very much enjoyed getting to know you both during your stay. I am disappointed to hear you felt it necessary to shop for salt, pepper and additional toilet roll. As I explained during your stay, and tell all my guests, your comfort and enjoyment is of the utmost importance to me and if there is anything you need, all you have to do is ask and I will do my best to provide. I must just clarify, for the benefit of other potential guests, that I do not advertise or offer fully accessible accommodation for guests with significant physical limitations. Anyone with such requirements would be best advised to seek out a holiday home which specifically advertises itself as such, and can provide for your additional needs. All best wishes. Tracy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.4Sep 2023

  • "This 'quirky' cottage was extremely clean and tidy."

    The owner was very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly consider a return visit. Highly recommended for peace and tranquility.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Aug 2023

  • "First time with Sykes and I found this property listed as accessible, neccessary as my husband uses a wheelchair and cannot walk at all."

    It is not accurately listed as the distance from the car parking space has loose gravel all the way to the front door and it was very difficult dragging him to our car each time we went out, we gave up in the end and he stayed in while I went out. There is absolutely no room for a wheelchair at the side of the bed and I had to move the bed against the wall for my husband to get into bed before me. I moved everything back before leaving the property in accordance with your rules. As a woman of 74 years old I don't believe I or indeed any guest, should have to do this. This property should not be advertised as accessible because it is not. The chairs at the table were not as pictured so my husband could not sit to the table for meals as he didn't feel safe. On a positive note our bedding was clean and the bedroom quiet. We were provided with a shower chair as requested which was really helpfull. The owner was friendly and called to see if we were ok on one occasion. Finally the property was not ready for us at 3pm on arrival and the welcome bottle of wine was noticeable by its absence. I prefer the service provided by airbnb who facilitate contact between owner and guest, I will not use Sykes again.

    Dear Customer, thank you for your feedback and I am disappointed to hear that the experience of staying at Robin Cottage did not meet your needs. However, had I known that your husband is fully reliant on a wheelchair and cannot stand or walk at all, I would have counselled you against booking because this means he has very specialist requirements that I do not claim in my property description to be able to meet. My description states that it is on the ground floor with a walk-in shower and I can provide a shower seat if possible, but I at no point claim to offer full disablement facilities. I have replaced the dining chairs from the ones pictured because they broke. However, the replacement chairs are high-quality oak furniture which I believe - and indeed verbal feedback from my other guests confirms - are perfectly adequate for the majority of people. The property also boasts a high quality reclining leather sofa and a LaZBoy recliner and footstool which I believe are more than adequate to provide 2-3 guests with a very comfortable and relaxing stay. I have started to provide guests with non-alcoholic welcome goodies to an equivalent value as an alternative to booze as I’ve discovered through experience that not everyone drinks, but if you had made me aware you were not happy with the treats you received I would have gladly exchanged them. I understand how difficult and frustrating it can be finding suitable facilities, having cared for a family member with accessibility needs, and have indeed pushed a person in a wheelchair up and down my drive myself many times, so am aware that it is possible though takes a bit of effort. However, again, I provide a peaceful and relaxing holiday cottage and do not claim to offer full disablement facilities, and had I understood your situation better would have made you aware of the drive as a potential issue prior to booking. I will be reviewing my description to make absolutely sure no-one is able to glean a mistaken impression from it in the future. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and I wish you and your husband well for the future. Tracy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edwina Mary2.8Jul 2023

  • "The property owner is aware of our unhappy holiday due to inaccurate advertising."

    It was an annexe in the owners back garden and not a cottage as we were led to believe through the advertising. It seems she was not concerned about its misleading description. Had we received written information we found on arrival, we would not have booked. A much needed holiday ruined and very disheartening. Will not use Sykes again as it appears they don’t check out the property to ensure that the description matches the holiday home. A very nice annexe for the right person but unfortunately it wasn’t suitable for us and advert is misleading. Clients need to be aware that it is in the owners back yard BEFORE they book.

    Thank you for your feedback Mr Pickett. As I have explained to you and your wife in person, while I take all customer feedback extremely seriously, I believe the property description IS accurate as follows: After a day of exploring, the open-plan living space will welcome your return, furnished in a homely style with light tones and colours, along with a reclining sofa and Smart TV so you can catch up on your favourite shows. Behind the sitting area rests a kitchen, well-appointed with a host of appliances, including a double electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge and dishwasher. When sleep calls enjoy a 2000-pocket-sprung mattress, which lays atop of a handy ottoman bed frame, providing plenty of storage throughout your stay. Step out the back door to access the enclosed garden patio, furnished with a set of table and chairs so you can enjoy a bottle of fizz in the evening. Wash away the day in the wet room, complete with walk-in shower, heated towel rail, basin and WC, before retiring to the bedroom. Nowhere in my description does it state that Robin Cottage is not near any other buildings. It does have its own private space as stated and is a peaceful spot tucked away in the far corner or a large plot, something that other guests have described positively in their feedback. You have also alluded in your feedback to me that you were provided with some luxury biscuits and crisps instead of the bottle of Prosecco pictured with my description. This is because I’ve discovered not all guests drink alcohol and therefore I have provided them with delicious treats to an equivalent value as a goodwill welcome gesture instead. However, had you made me aware of your disappointment, I would have gladly exchanged them for a bottle of Prosecco, although I note that you did tell me that you had enjoyed eating them. I am always disappointed to hear that guests have not enjoyed their stay as the feedback from my many visitors over the past year has been overwhelmingly positive, however as I have suggested to you personally, you may wish to choose a venue next time which specifically states that it is in an isolated position away from other properties or people. Again, while the cottage is very private and guests can very much come and go as they pleased without interacting with me at all if they wish, most guests have found my proximity as owner, which enables me to check in on and support them, a positive experience and we have enjoyed a positive rapport. I do appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback and wish you both well for the future and your next holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul2.5Jun 2023

  • "The cottage is perfectly set-up for two people seeking comfortable and convenient accommodation providing access to The East Riding region, Coastal and inland."

    Owner was more than helpful ensuring the stay met our needs. Thank you again for allowing us to use the cottage.

    Thanks so much for your feedback, it was a real pleasure to have you both to stay. Tracy Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Apr 2023

  • "Excellent property."

    Very good air con units. Nice n cosy. Large TV. Comfy bed. Good size Wet Room. All you need.

    Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely compact cottage, tucked away and private."

    Lovely owner who sorted a problem quickly.

    Thank you for your positive feedback, and I’m so glad you enjoyed your time at Robin Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you here Property Owner

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Mar 2023

Show more


  • Single-storey
  • One double bedroom
  • Wet room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining and sitting area
  • Air conditioning - providing heat in Winter and cool air in Summer
  • Double electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge with wine rack and ice box, dishwasher, coffee machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc in rent
  • Allocated parking
  • Enclosed garden patio
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 1.3 miles, pub 0.4 miles
  • Note: Some equipment for those with limited mobility can be arranged prior to arrival
  • Note: A single folding bed can be put up on request to accomodate x1 child

The property

Robin Cottage is a splendid, one bedroom cottage nestled in the peaceful village of Leven near Beverley, East Riding of Yorkshire.

Enjoying easy access to the beauty of the Yorkshire Wolds, the attractions of the city of Hull, as well as the coast and North York Moors National Park, it offers a splendid base to unwind after each day of adventure.

After a day of exploring, the open-plan living space will welcome your return, furnished in a homely style with light tones and colours, along with a reclining sofa and Smart TV so you can catch up on your favourite shows.

Behind the sitting area rests a kitchen, well-appointed with a host of appliances, including a double electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge and dishwasher.

When sleep calls enjoy a 2000-pocket-sprung mattress, which lays atop of a handy ottoman bed frame, providing plenty of storage throughout your stay.

Step out the back door to access the enclosed garden patio, furnished with a set of table and chairs so you can enjoy a bottle of fizz in the evening.

Wash away the day in the wet room, complete with walk-in shower, heated towel rail, basin and WC, before retiring to the bedroom.

There are plenty of walks to enjoy in this rural setting, as well as watersports at the nearby lake, for the adventurous type.

Venture into the village of Leven where you’ll find a butcher’s, bakery, and convenience store so you can top up on all the essentials; if you don’t feel like cooking, treat your loved ones to a hearty lunch in the Hare and Hounds or New Inn pub ahead of traversing the charming streets where you can often spot horses. Brandesburton is close by and offers similar amenities plus a golf course and mini golf, in addition to the Dacre Arms Pub and the popular Bert’s Pizzeria, which overlooks the picturesque Dacre Lake.

For days out, the coastal towns of Scarborough, Robin Hoods Bay and Whitby should be on your watch, offering connections to ‘Dracula’ the famous author, Bram Stoker.

The town of Beverley makes a great holiday location, with a host of excellent restaurants ranging from the best fine dining experience, contemporary Japanese, Tapas, to everyone’s favourite gastro pub classic.

Stop off for a pint at the old public houses, including The White Horse (aka Nelly’s), The Monks Walk and The Sun Inn, the towns oldest pub dating back to 1530.

There's also a weekly market every Saturday, with a range of fresh produce on offer and playing host to seasonal fairs and food festivals, as well as the stunning grounds of Coronation Garden and the magnificent Beverley Minster to admire.

Slightly further afield again, the magnificent city of York is well worth the visit, known for its walls, minster and rich history and culture.

In close reach of lots of coastal and countryside delight, Robin Cottage is a fantastic base, all year round.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location


  • Hull 8.4 miles
  • Bridlington 22.4 miles
  • York 30 miles

The historic market town of Beverley, with its Gothic Minster and bustling twice weekly market, is a great base for a holiday. Beverley is full of history and there are plenty of shops and restaurants to choose from, including the Tiger Inn, The Marne and The Highfield in Beverley, as well as the excellent Beverley and East Riding Golf Club, Mirage Cocktail Bar, and the wildlife rich Beverley Parks. Be sure to time your visit right to attend the annual Beverley Races which take place from April through to September. Next stop is the bustling city of Hull, home the popular Deep Aquarium, the BBL Nature Reserve, Streetlife Museum, Hull New Theare, Dinostar and the remarkable Hull Minster. For a day along the coast, head to Bridlington, where you can spend a day on the beach, catch a live performance at Bridlington Spa, sample fresh seafood at the Lobster Pot, visit the beloved attractions of Bridlington Animal Park and John Bull World of Rock, or continue onto Flamborough, where you can spot the local wildlife from the stunning RSPB Bempton Cliffs. Further afield, you’ll find the historic city of York, home to the magnificent York Minster, York Castle Museum, the National Railway Museum, York Dungeons, York Chocolate Story and the National Trust site of Treasurer’s House. From Beverley, the popular locations of North York Moors and the East Coast seaside towns of Hornsea, Scarborough and Whitby are all within easy reach.

View more holiday cottages in Beverley

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas