Don’t miss our Summer Sale

Save up to 20% on August 2022 holidays

Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

Don't miss outSave up to 20% on August 2022 holidays in our Summer Sale

1 customer booked The Retreat in the last 24 hours

1 of 41 View Larger Image
  • The Retreat - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1000749 - photo 1

The Retreat

Scarborough, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 1000749)



Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 16

  • Bedrooms 8

  • Bathrooms 5

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

28 Customer Reviews

  • "Great stay for a group of 16."

    Well equipped kitchen. Superb hot tub, All rooms are spacious and comfortable. All essentials are provided. Easily accessible to beach and a beautiful park. Above all, Samantha is great in dealing with customers and have ensured we are briefed appropriately. One note, be careful with the parking disc, ensure you turned the clock in disc as we got a parking ticket. Nothing to do with the accomadation though. All other aspects 100 percent happy

    Thankyou for your feedback! The Retreat is very central to the beach, town and Peasholm park. Lovely to hear you had a great stay! I look forward to you booking again and thankyou for your custom it is very appreciated! Property Owner

    Reviewed by ManuJul 2022

  • "We had a great weekend."

    The house was lovely and well situated.

    Thankyou for your great feedback it is appreciated. The Retreat is a lovely house and the location very central to everything! I hope you book again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmmaMay 2022

  • "Amazing house with plenty of space."

    Perfect for the weekend away we wanted. It was great to have outdoor space as well as the large communal rooms inside. Great location so close to the beach and great cafes and fish and chip shop nearby. Only slight drawback was parking as could only park for a few hours on the road during the day with a disc so a few of us who weren’t parked in the garage had to pay for 24hrs at a carpark down the road. We didn’t mind having to do this but it would have been good to know beforehand.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat location is so central its close to the beach and the Town centre! Sorry to hear you struggled with parking there is normally plenty of parking close by. I hope you book again soon and recommend us to others. Thankyou for your custom! Property Owner

    Reviewed by HelenMay 2022

  • "We had a great stay at the retreat stunning house with everything you could possibly need for a fabulous coastal holiday."

    Location was excellent 2 minutes from the beach and peasholm park,plenty of cafes,bars and shops nearby,loads of communication from owner before our trip welcoming us to retreat and informative info pack when we got there.we were all gutted to leave.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat is a beautiful house and the location is so central, also only 5 minutes to the town centre. Please recommend us to others and I hope you book again really soon!! Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahApr 2022

  • "We had a great week in the Retreat."

    The house was over and above what we expected, well furnished, comfortable and lots of space. Parking was never a problem, always close to the house. Local amenities were brilliant with local shops, cafes and a chip shop a couple of minutes away. Peasholm Park was less than 5 minutes away which is a great place to walk or the kids to play. Communication with Sykes was amazing. Everything explained in well timed emails and texts and even a “take care on your way home” text and phone call on the last day. Thank you Samantha.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat location is fantastic with everything close by from the beach to the town centre! Communication with my guests is very important to me. I'm so pleased you had the best weather too! I will look forward to you booking again Thankyou for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by NevApr 2022

  • "We stayed at the property as a group of 15 from 8th April 2022 for a week."

    We were really impressed with the property on arrival. There was plenty of space downstairs which was great for our large group. The dining room seated us all so that we could have meals together. The kitchen had plenty of crockery, cutlery, plans, dishes, trays etc. There was a dishwasher which was useful for a large group. The washing machine and dryer are really handy for washing and drying clothes after using the hot tub or going to the beach. The plastic glasses / tumblers are useful for the children's drinks, but a lot of them were cracked so leaked. You can walk to Peasholm Park in a minute which was really handy. We also walked into Scarborough around the coast one day, and used the bus the other days. We all enjoyed using the hot tub during our stay. We travelled in four cars and parked two of them in the car port. The space is quite tight so we parked the two smaller cars in there. The other two cars used a parking permit. These are visitor permits so they only allow a three hour stay, with no return within one hour. As we didn't travel much from Scarborough we were concerned about receiving parking tickets. Fortunately we didn't see any traffic wardens sniffing around. Overall we had a great stay and enjoyed going to the beach, arcades, speed boat, crabbing and haunted house! We would recommend the house to any larger groups looking to stay in Scarborough.

    Thankyou for your feedback. We also provide parking permits for guest stays so you don't need to worry about parking! There is so much surrounding The Retreat you can access most locations on foot. I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you booking again. Thankyou for your custom Property Owner

    Reviewed by CarlaApr 2022

  • "A lovely property in a great location."

    Our party of fifteen really enjoyed our break at The Retreat, they was plenty of space to accommodate everyone and the property was very clean with plenty of amenities. The kitchen had everything you would need and bedrooms, ensuites and bathrooms were a lovely size and very clean. The communication from the owner was excellent. Would definitely recommend staying here.

    Thankyou for your feedback. The Retreat is a great location, close to Peasholm, the beach and the town centre. I appreciate your recommendation and hope you come back to stay again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by NatalieApr 2022

  • "We stayed at the property at the end of February 2022, we were a party of 14 and found the property to be very clean, comfortable and plenty big enough to accommodate us all."

    The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and the bedrooms were all spacious and comfortable. The only down side was the family bathroom on the first floor did not have a working shower so that meant 2 couples had to jump in others en-suites however didn’t cause a big problem. It is in a great position close to peasholm park and the sea front. The owner was lovely and gave us all the information we needed. Highly recommended!

    I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay the location is fantastic! I can now confirm the shower hose is fixed. Really hope you come stay again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by LouiseFeb 2022

  • "Great place stayed there twice with 15 family members ,great space, hot tub ,plenty of permits for street parking ,great location."

    Very handy for outdoor theatre

    Thank you for your feedback. The Retreat really is a great location, close by to everything from the beach to the town centre Looking forward to you staying again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KevinNov 2021

  • "Wow what a beautiful house."

    The photos we felt does not do the house justice. Immaculately clean, lovely decorating and furnishings. 8 large size bedrooms, kitchen with everything you could need, brilliant for large parties, 2 kettles and toasters, large fridge freezer, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Could not say there was one single fault. Owner could not be more helpful, so lovely and very caring. House is less than 5 minutes from Peasehome Park and Scarborough Cricket Ground. Hot tub brilliant and yard made lovely to sit out. For a house with 8 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms is more than sufficient and lovely bathrooms beautifully tiled. Towels and bedding included. I am sure members of our party will definitely return

    Thank you for your fantastic feedback. The Retreat really is a Treat, such a beautiful house. I look forward to you staying again Property Owner

    Reviewed by BeverleyOct 2021

  • "Very clean, modern, and comfortable."

    Well equipped kitchen for 16 people. Great having the separate living rooms if some wanted to just chill and watch TV. Great jacuzzi. Location great, everything you would want in walking distance. Only thing that the property would benefit from is a downstairs toilet but didn't effect our enjoyment. Everyone was very satisfied with their stay and would definitely recommend.

    Thank you for your feedback. The Retreat is a fantastic location with a great jacuzzi! Thankyou for recommending us and I hope you stay again soon. Samantha Property Owner

    Reviewed by CharlotteSep 2021

  • "The property was everything we could have wanted, it was spotless, spacious, comfortable and well located."

    The property manager was extremely helpful and quick to respond when needed. All in all we had a fabulous stay for a special occasion and would love to stay again.

    Thankyou for your feedback it is appreciated. Lovely to hear how much you enjoyed staying at The Retreat and I look forward to you staying again. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JessicaAug 2021

  • "We appreciate that our booking in the last week of August prior to the Bank Holiday, was always going to be the most expensive week to book."

    So bearing in mind that we paid "top dollar" for the week, you may believe that some of our issues are nit picking or over stated, but for over £6000 for the week, we expected more and better facilities.... However, in the spirit of "Continuous Improvement", we submit the following suggestions and additions, which would improve the experience of future guests, and encourage us to consider another stay in future: In the Kitchen. A small frying pan A butter dish Egg cups Prosecco glasses Non metal spatulas, (as the pans were quite scratched). Mat by the back door Bedrooms Not all had bedside lamps or mirrors Hair dryers made available. Maintenance. The tap in the kitchen continually drips. Double bedroom on the first floor window did not open. Shower tray with hairline crack meaning wet and damp in the shower room. In the shared bathroom on the first floor the shower door has a gap so the carpet got wet, there was also a crack in the base of the shower tray. Also the taps were plumbed the wrong way in the sink (hot tap cold water and vice versa) We also noticed a stain on the ceiling of the bedroom underneath it, which may be connected to the leaking shower. Ultimately, because we are a family who "get on with it", no matter what the issues, we had a ball. We loved the location, the large open family spaces, kitchen, hot tub, nice beds in good sizes bedrooms, and generally very clean, just not worth the money. The photos of the outside garden gave the impression of small but usable outside space, not so, and no downstairs loo was not a "convenience". If all these things could be addressed, we'll be back, Scarborough always delivers, we love it!

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. I would like to let you know that everything you have mentioned has been rectified, replaced or fixed! So glad to hear you will be back. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by NeilAug 2021

  • "We loved the location of The Retreat, the north bay in Scarborough is great, beach and Peasholm park are lovely and lots to do locally in walking distance."

    The bedrooms and beds were super comfy. However the house is tatty, no curtains or blind on many windows, showers overflowing and taps dripping, feels very unloved and cheaply converted. Quite dark and dingy inside and back yard isn’t great. We had a great holiday but wouldn’t go back to this house in a hurry, not worth the money and much lower quality than we usually get from Sykes.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. The location really is amazing with so much to do close by. The lighting has been improved and the shower and tap problems are now fixed. I hope this encourages you to stay at The Retreat again in the future. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ClareAug 2021

  • "Location excellent central to all amenities."

    Quite a few minor problems that mounted up during our stay. Showers not working, windows that didn't open, bins not collected so rubbish mounted up, one bathroom had a bubbling shower drain when toilet flushed. It advertises parking for two cars which was a struggle very tight. When we phoned sykes they informed us they couldn't help and we had to phone owners direct they were extremely helpful and rectified some of the issues. Although some of our issues were minor considering what we paid we did not feel it was up to the standards it should've been.

    Thank you for your feedback it is appreciated. I am pleased we were able to rectify any issues you had while you were staying at The Retreat. Everything you have mentioned has now been resolved. I hope you will chose our property to stay again the location really is excellent! Thank you The issue with the windows has been booked in for September 2021, so will be resolved shortly. The rubbish collection is booked for every Friday after guests leave and before new ones arrive. The parking for 2 cars is definitely tight but it does work. Thank you again for your comments Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2021

  • "The accommodation and location was more than we expected, the rooms were superb for our needs."

    The kitchen was well equipped and again met all out needs, the hot tub, lounge areas, we loved. I would certainly recommend the retreat to my friends and family.

    Reviewed by KarenJul 2021

  • "Fantastic location, all the rooms en suite which helps large familys"

    Reviewed by AndrewJul 2021

  • "The house is in a fabulous location walking distance to Peasholm Park which is a massive family area with lots of walks and a lake with pedaloes to hire."

    The beach is also just a short walk away that allows dogs on there in certain sections. When the tide is out it’s a beautiful beach and the dogs loved running on the sand! Along the beach front there’s a few shops, eateries and ice cream shop. Further along there’s the sea life centre, crazy golf everywhere and another pub. From the house, there’s a convenience store just at the bottom of the road plus a chip shop, cafe and pub. Larger stores like Aldi are a good 20 minute walk away but easy to get to. The road and area the house sits in was very quiet and pleasant. The house was very clean and exceeded our expectations with the size of the bedrooms. Very comfy beds and all rooms having TVs (one remote missing though). The facilities were fabulous, the house had everything we could want inside. The toaster did keep tripping the electric off. There were some plumbing issues in the house that meant one en-suite couldn’t be used but the owners had tried to rectify this while we were there. We were extremely disappointed with the ‘back yard’ that could only be described as a concrete box. This really let it down for us. This house is definitely not dog friendly! The hot tub was a winner with the kids but some money needs spending on flooring around it as have to step in and out on to concrete, leaving muck in the tub and back in the house. The WiFi barely worked which wasn’t great with kids but was not an issue. Parking was advertised as two off street parking spaces and one on the road but a permit was needed to park on the road so couldn’t do this? If a garden is not an issue then this house is definitely worth a visit!!! Unfortunately we are all outside and garden lovers so would not come back based on that alone.

    Reviewed by SarahMay 2021

  • "An excellent place to stay."

    Very clean and well furnished. Excellent access to the park and beaches. Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2020

  • "Plus points."

    .... Very comfortable beds and lounges (settees etc.) Lots of TV's in every room with the bonus of Netflix and Amazon prime in the lounges. Kitchen well equipped with plenty of the essentials. Every where very clean and tidy. Hot tub great. Contact with the owners, friendly and helpful. Negative points..... Broken washing machine (reported, but not fixed whilst we were there) Several local cats use the yard area for their toilet which isn't good with children playing there. Needs better quality door mats at front and back entrances..think children coming back from day at the beach ! Also we would suggest that the main hallway would be better served with a hard floor covering rather than carpeting. But.... overall we had a great time and we would return

    Reviewed by SusanAug 2020

  • "Fantastic property in amazing location."

    All amenities just as advertised, was spotlessly clean, well equipped and with the comfiest beds ever.

    Reviewed by HilaryJul 2020

  • "Great location, spacious property very clean and well presented."

    Great place to get the family together would highly recommend we will be back...

    Reviewed by KirstyJul 2020

  • "My family and I spent three nights at The Retreat to celebrate my fathers 80th birthday."

    The house is well equipped, clean and spacious. We had a problem with the boiler on the Sunday which resulted in the owners son coming out and fixing within 20 minutes! I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend The Retreat, it’s the perfect house for a family celebration.

    Reviewed by EmmaMar 2020

  • "What an amazing house."

    It had everything we needed for our family holiday. Beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable with plenty of room and space. The house was very clean and all 10 of us enjoyed our week there , with plenty to do and lovely walks close by. We will definitely be booking again. Thanks you

    Reviewed by ClaireDec 2019

  • "The Retreat is a beautiful, clean home a short walk from the north beach."

    There is plenty of space in the communal areas, the hot tub is insane and there are more than enough bathrooms/ensuites. Perfect for big groups, I couldnt have been happier with the place and we got a great deal out of season. Thank you.

    Reviewed by AmeliaDec 2019

  • "This place is out of this world."

    A beautiful clean huge home. That’s what we all loved about it. It felt like home! We were relaxed and comfortable and sharing this experience with close family was special indeed. We will 10000% be back and have already looked at a few dates to return. Thank you , thank you , thank you!

    Reviewed by KirstieNov 2019

  • "We had a fantastic weekend at the Retreat, it went way beyond our expectations."

    The beds were very comfortable + the 5 bathrooms in the property were a definite bonus for a large group. The kitchen was really well equipped and the property was furnished to a very high standard and felt really homely. The hot tub was a fab addition, as well as the information booklet provided about the property and local area. We would definitely consider returning to The Retreat in future!

    Reviewed by SarahNov 2019

  • "A wonderful large family home, with excellent facilities and plenty of room for us all, as in our party we had eight adults, three teenagers and three babies."

    The position of the house was perfect for us as it was round the corner from Peasholm Park and only a short walk to the beach. There were various shops nearby too, a couple of restaurants, fish and chip shop, sandwich shop and a one stop shop all excellent. The house itself has just been refurbished so everything was brand new and spotless and comfortable. We have had a lovely family holiday in a beautiful house, Thank you.

    Reviewed by ChristineAug 2019

Show more


  • Over three floors
  • Eight bedrooms
  • 3 x super king doubles (2 with en-suite bathrooms with bath, shower over, basin and WC), 1 super king double (zip/link, can be twin on request), 3 x king size double (1 with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC), 1 x twin
  • Two bathrooms including bath, separate shower, WC and basins
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Gas central heating
  • Fridge/freezer, kettle, toaster, Range cooker, washing machine, dishwasher, books, games, DVDs, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Two travel cots and two highchairs available permanently
  • Off-road parking for two cars on driveway
  • Garden with hot tub
  • Two small pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking allowed
  • Pub within 0.1 mile, shop within 0.2 miles, beach 0.3 miles

The property

This beautiful, modern property enjoys the perfect central position within the bustling seaside town of Scarborough with Peasholm Park being 2 minutes away, the beach 4 minutes away and the town centre 5 minutes away.

The spacious accommodation enjoys three floors of contemporary styling, carefully selected furnishings and everything you could possibly need and more to enjoy a relaxing break to this part of Yorkshire.

Be spoilt for choice by the sleeping accommodation that awaits you with eight elegantly-styled bedrooms to choose from as the evening draws to close.

Here, you will find eight bedrooms including super king-size, king size and twin bedrooms with en-suites and family bathrooms as well as ample space and storage to house all of your personal belongings.

After an action-packed afternoon, look forward to making the most of the well-equipped kitchen, where the Range cooker takes centre stage before all of the other appliances required to rustle up a delicious home-cooked meal that can be enjoyed within the formal dining room.

During a balmy afternoon, look forward to soaking up the sun and the coastal soundtrack within the rear garden before dipping into a bubbling hot tub as the evening draws to a close.

For those special occasions, a short walk will bring you to a superb selection of bars and restaurants to cater to every occasion and taste, as well as a number of shops for picking up the essentials.

To keep you busy whilst staying here, head to either North Bay and South Bay to be welcomed by two stretches of golden sands with opportunities for watersports and walking, a guaranteed excellent family day out.

Within walking distance you will find Peasholm Park, with its boating lake as well as a cinema, open air thatre and the sea life centre.

If you are feeling active, look forward to exploring miles of walking and cycling routes on the North York Moors or the picturesque Cleveland Way.

94 Tennyson Avenue is an outstanding base for a family gathering to this part of the coast.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £400.

View on map

About the location


Pickering 17 miles; Whitby 20 miles; York 40 miles.

Popular since Victorian times, the vibrant seaside town of Scarborough retains many of its original fine buildings, parks and gardens, as well as its historic castle which overlooks the town. North Bay and South Bay provide two superb stretches of beautiful, golden sandy beaches, popular with families and small children. There are a number of child friendly activities and many excellent visitor attractions for grown-ups too, including the Stephen Joseph Theatre, Scarborough Spa and Scarborough Open Air Theatre for live music. Scarborough is a great location for outdoor activities, with golf courses, lovely coastal walks along the Cleveland Way, stunning cycle routes such as the old railway to Whitby, beautiful sailing and championship quality surfing. Add to this all the usual seaside entertainment and bustling promenades located close to the beach and Scarborough is the destination with something for everyone. Ideally situated for touring the coastline and the moors, Scarborough is an ideal base for a fun-filled break.

View more holiday cottages in Scarborough

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas