Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 37 View Image Gallery
  • Harbour Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1134127 - photo 1

Harbour Cottage

(Ref. 1134127)

Bridlington, North York Moors & Coast Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (6)
  • our (4)
  • back (4)
  • thing (4)
  • no (4)
  • bed (4)

7 Customer Reviews

  • "The holiday was abysmal."

    We are both in our 80s my wife is severely disabled. We arrived late afternoon Friday, unpacked and thought we'd settle in. TV & internet not working, I read the manual . No joy. So went out in the car went for a meal,came back, early to bed. Tried the TV etc, Saturday morning. Still not working Mad a few calls to Sykes , no person to speak to each gave me options to look on line > No internet i texted a message no response, I phoned again eventually clicking a number to discuss buying /selling a property. Succsess a person answered I explained our problem, She said wrong department wait I'll find someone I waited at least 30 mins, no response went to a public library to find a sykes contact n umber where I could speak to someone once again no number other than the ones I had by this time I'm feeling emasculated there is nothing I could do . Sunday I find a phone shop to confirm that my text had been sent yes it had no idea if anyone saw it it is like dealing with mindless robots. Monday ready for home. I try again the number to discuss buying/selling speak to someone who promises to sort something out .About 5 pm the owner rings me and arranges for her husband to visit, he arrives about 7 pm & evevtually gets the TV & internet working. Had there been a number in the cottage in case of any problems, water leaks something not working the holiday would have been excellent. Apart from the trouble & stress and because I hardly use my mobile I am on pay & go usually £5 a month. My useless calls to you cost me £31 I had to put 2 £20, on my phone. Your system of having everything on line is ok when every thing is working but the system needs sorting out . I believe s should reemburse me at least the cost of the phone calls,I'm not bothered wether youpublish my feed back or not.

    We are are sorry that you had issues with working the TV and internet. FYI Prior to your stay when you receive details for your key collection you also get a phone number provided for any issues which is manned by Sykes staff who manage our property. That being said we will now add all the relevant contact details to our guest book so they are easy to find if needed by our guests. As the property owner we received a call Monday at 4.30pm and we came straight out to assist you the same day. Regarding the TV it is a freesat system and was working upstairs but on the wrong source on the lounge tv when checked and so we was changed to the correct source channel for you. The internet is always left on however when we checked the Wi-Fi router on arrival the router needed turning on and it reconnected absoluty fine. He also ensured that your laptop connected before leaving. We will now also put some additional guides / instructions in the guest book for both the TV / Freesat and also the internet should anyone need them in future. Regarding a reimbursement for your pay as you go phone costs whilst you was trying to contact sykes I would suggest you email them directly Instead of requesting in a review of the cottage.Its worth noting that as owners in additional to coming straight out to assist you we did also ,as a goodwill gesture,offer you a reimbursement for your pay as you go phone costs to which no reply was reveived from yourselves. We was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and hope you enjoyed Bridlington. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eric Eric3.4Jun 2024

  • "Such a great cottage, booked last minute so always good to have something so nice."

    Great welcome basket with Easter goodies and clean fresh modern facilities. Perfect for parents and three teenagers! The only improvement would be to replace the very lumpy uncomfortable mattress in the master bedroom which was the only thing that let the comfort level down, and would prevent a return stay unless it was replaced. Otherwise a great stay in a lovely home from home, and so convenient for Bridlington and surrounding areas.

    Reviewed by Zoe4.1Mar 2024

  • "This was our second stay at the cottage."

    We enjoyed it just as much as the first. It has a fantastic location, right in the centre and near the beach. Clean accommodation, with all the amenities you could need. Lovely touch with the welcome hamper. We will definitely be back again!

    Pleased to hear you enjoyed Yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hollie5.0Nov 2023

  • "The worst Sykes cottage ever stayed in Arrived on the Saturday afternoon a day late due to the big storm first impression not to bad then it unraveled all the faults were photographed and sent to Sykes with a formal complaint we left on the Tuesday asking Sykes to let owner know the faults first Dirty unwashed crockery in cupboard large pile of dust and flaking paint on windowsill curtain tie backs hanging by one screw nearly out of wall ."

    Then the horror of upstairs the unclean bathroom lumps of poo in toilet brush a piece of frayed string 2 Inches long to pull shower on black mould everywhere around bath a very poor hot water supply with boiler sending no hot water .Then the double bedroom my wife sat on bed to get in and went straight to the floor lifted mattress found broken slats and missing parts and a large bag of bedding shoved under bed which had pushed slats away .We left on Tuesday and. put key back in safe with no problem .Friday at 08.35 my phone rings a lady asks who I was I asked why and she replied I am the owner of Harbour Cottage my housekeeper cannot get had I altered the keypad to which I told her I had not and had left property on Tuesday asking Sykes to inform her .l then told her about the problems and offered to send the photos which was declined two weeks on still no apology lazy housekeeper blamed this problem was not helped by the fact there was no direct contact with owner or housekeeper Sykes need to re inspect this property John

    Thank you for your feedback. We are saddened to have heard that you had requested from Sykes not to contact us during your stay as we would have loved the opportunity to have helped. We are also surprised by some of the comments as the cottage did have an extra check before your late arrival due to the storm. There was a power cut due in Bridlington which may have caused an issue with the boiler, which has always worked perfectly before and since your stay, and had we been alerted, we would have done our best to address any issues for you at the time. The curtain tie back that you refer to as hanging off seems to have disappeared completely - unfortunately somebody must have broken it and thrown it away, so these will be replaced. We did manage to get back into our property eventually after your stay, although this was a very lengthy and expensive task that very nearly affected another family's holiday. We apologise if the cottage wasn't to your expectations and again would like to assure you that we would have done our best to assist you, had we been given the opportunity. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John1.9Oct 2023

  • "The location of the cottage was great, the yard outside was big enough."

    The outhouse with washing machine as great idea. There was a welcome hamper with red wine crisps mini cakes an uncut loaf and Jam. Nice idea, Though teabags and milk would have been a great replacement for wine and cakes. Everyone wants a cuppah first thing. We did struggle with the stairs though as the top was a tiny landing with a steep step down into bathroom. My sister and I in our seventies feel this bungalow is not as suitable for disabilities. Great for families maybe. You can see a lot of effort has been made to restore this old cottage which is a plus.. However my sister has to sleep with a television on low all night, since being burgled. One of the main reasons for booking this cottage. Unfortunately there was no remote for the TV in her bedroom. We looked everywhere. So it could not be used. Also the blinds in the lounge need attention. It looks like a dog or a child has left the slats of the venetian blinds in a terrible state. Not a good look from the inside or outside. We love Bridlington so we will ensure our next break will be a bungalow or apartment on ground floor.

    Hi Thankyou for your feedback. The cottage is over 200 years old so as I'm Sure you can appreciate that sometimes that may make a difference to the layout of a more modern building. I'm sorry to hear you couldn't find the control for the bedroom tv-this has now been found? Yes the blinds had unfortunately been damaged during renting .Its difficuilt to repair items during the very busy period as we do not like to disturb peoples holidays but these have now been replaced. The hamper is a goodwill gesture as this is a self catering accomodation and as much as we'd like to please everyone it's just not possible, but we will of course bear your comments in mind for future reference We're glad you had a nice holiday and enjoyed bridlington Property Owner

    Reviewed by Shirl3.8Sep 2023

  • "We had a great fortnight at Harbour Cottage."

    The place was a great base for our family holiday and the town centre location was just what we wanted. It’s only a few minutes’ walk from the town centre, the beach and the harbour so no need to get the car out all the time. We thought the property was good value and pretty much met our expectations. The only negative of any note is the smell of the property when we opened the door. I couldn’t work out whether this was damp or wet dog, or possibly from cigarette smoke. It largely cleared with the windows open for a few days but didn’t make a great welcome. Otherwise, the property was really clean and tidy. It is fairly well equipped, particularly for smaller children who would love the games room. My kids loved the table football but mainly the Netflix! The only important thing missing for us was a hair dryer. We’ve used Sykes plenty of times before and would have expected this to be provided at a property with this star rating. My wife had to go and buy one. Also, the kitchen would benefit from a veg peeler, a potato masher and a grater. We routinely ran out of drinking glasses and a few extra would be good too. All that said, this is a decent, good value property in a really good location, with off-street parking. We had a lovely holiday here.

    Hi It's great to hear that you enjoyed the holiday. The cottage is non smoking and pet free so I am unsure as to what the issue was in arrival. Unfortunately the odd item does go missing during the very busy summer season but we have now replaced a few utensils in the kitchen area and have added a hairdryer in the bedroom,following your feedback, for the use of our guests. We're Pleased to hear your childrwn enjoyed the outdoor games room and you enjoyed your holiday in bridlington Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nick4.4Aug 2023

  • "Loved it and will be back asap THANK YOU!"

    Hi Pleased to hear you had such a lovely time at the cottage and in Bridlington .we'd love to welcome you back again sometime. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Aug 2023

Show more Hide all


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Games room
  • Gas heating
  • Electric oven, gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot, high chair and stair gate included
  • Off road parking
  • Rear enclosed courtyard with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach and spa 0.2 miles

The property

Nestled into the coast of Bridlington, just a stone’s throw from local attractions and amenities, Harbour Cottage is a fantastic base for a family or group of friends looking to explore North Yorkshire.

Enter into a thoughtfully furnished property with contemporary décor throughout, beginning with a stylish sitting room ideal for movie nights and boasting tasteful sofas, a Smart TV and the welcoming glow of a woodburning stove.

The kitchen continues the opulent feel, a light and airy space with many home-from-home amenities to cater to your culinary needs, and from here you can dine in the lovely dining room or enjoy an alfresco affair in the courtyard, where you will also find a games room with interchangeable children's sports table and a darts board, there's also a handy utility area with washer/dryer.

Freshen up in the bathroom with either a soak in the tub or a refreshing shower, before snuggling up in one of the three bedrooms, each with homely décor and their own character and charm, choosing between a double, a twin and a single.

Bridlington is a great location, with a great variety of tasty eateries, shops and convenience stores only a short walk from the property, allowing guests to dine out and stock up on essentials.

Bridlington offers a range of watersports activities, as well as a beautiful sandy beach, ideal for walks along the coast and picnics with a sea view, the property also resides 200meters from the historic harbour and is one of the original cottages.

Bridlington is also home to Bridlington Animal Park, a golf course and The Bayle Museum, and a little further from the property you will be able to find out more about the local wildlife at Flamborough Outer Headlands Nature Reserve, Danes Dyke Nature Reserve, the Living Seas Centre and Selwicks Bay, where there is a lovely walk along the headland.

Visit Filey for its intriguing museum and animal park, or Scarborough where there is a museum, art gallery, beach, harbour, a large number of eateries and of course the incredible Scarborough Castle.

From here, the North York Moors await, ideal for hiking and mountain biking.

All of this and so much more with a stay at the lovely Harbour Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £350.

View on map

About the location


Filey 10 miles; Scarborough 20 miles.

The seaside resort of Bridlington lies on the east coast of Yorkshire, south of Scarborough and Filey. Two award-winning beaches of golden sand stretch out on either side of the historic harbour, bustling with activity. Beautifully designed promenades provide everything from fun-fairs to quiet places where you can sit and watch the world go by. Shops, attractions, restaurants and the historic 'Old Town' of Bridlington offer a fascinating contrast to life on the beach, where the latest Dad's Army has been filmed, whilst the Bridlington Spa Theatre on the front provides evening entertainment. There is also the East Riding Leisure Centre, with family swimming area and a variety of other indoor activities. Further afield are the picturesque villages and scenery of the Yorkshire Wolds, the neighbouring resorts of Filey, Scarborough and Whitby and the spectacular heritage coastline. There are numerous places to visit in the area, including Bempton's RSPB bird sanctuary, Sewerby Hall, Danes Dyke and Flamborough Head with its cliffs and caves. A great area for bird and nature lovers, or simply for touring.

View more holiday cottages in Bridlington

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas