Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) 0 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 9 View Image Gallery
  • Gavel Cottage - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 1015648 - photo 1
close

Gavel Cottage

(Ref. 1015648)

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No

Features

  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (41)
  • location (23)
  • stay (20)
  • our (20)
  • lovely (19)
  • no (18)

59 Customer Reviews

  • "Gavel Cottage was in a lovely location, very quiet but only a few minutes walk from the centre of Whitby."

    It was well furnished, very comfortable and very warm. There was lots of good quality (matching!) crockery and great to have a dishwasher. Suggestions for improvement would be for the Property Information pack to include operating instructions for appliances eg dishwasher, TV, oven and hob - I failed to get the hob to heat up and Yorkshire Holiday Cottages were worse than useless in assisting me (advised me to YouTube a solution!). Also there was no welcome hamper.

    Reviewed by S4.7Dec 2023

  • "An excellent little cottage in a great location."

    Fully equipped with anything you needed for you stay. Lovely and clean but I would maybe suggest a better fan system to remove the steam and moisture from the bathroom as it was getting mould and mildew on the ceiling and window area. Just to prevent this and to prevent more work for the owners in future. The fan only worked if the light is as on. X

    Reviewed by Kertrina5.0Nov 2023

  • "Gavel cottage is a little gem, comfortable, well equipped and perfectly situated."

    We were lucky enough to stay when the Abbey was illuminated and the goth festival was on, neither we were aware of before we got to Whitby so that was an extra treat. As others have mentioned we parked the car up (luckily enough right outside the cottage) and that's where it stayed all week as everything you will need is on your doorstep. Lush Coffee in Silver Street does an amazing breakfast, the Quirky Den in Grape Street is a cracking micro pub as is the Arch and Abbey in Skinner Street. Best fish and chips we had were from Angel fisheries, the worst were from Silver Street fisheries just around the corner, although it's handy best avoided in our opinion. We would not hesitate to return to Whitby and Gavel cottage. PS take some binoculars as th view from the front room window is amazing and enhanced with them.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Oct 2023

  • "The property was immaculate & beautifully decorated & in a great location with a lovely view of the Abbey."

    It was a nice touch & lovely welcome to receive the hamper. All in all a very comfortable stay.

    Reviewed by Caroline4.7Oct 2023

  • "Perfect except apartment states sea views"

    Reviewed by Karen4.4Sep 2023

  • "The Cottage was very nice, clean and of a high standard and very much like the listing photographs."

    One small issue in the bedroom was that the door was sticking and marking the floor - just a little damp but it is making a mess of the wooden flooring. Parking was not an easy thing to manage, although all the details were provided. I would explain this a little more in the listing, along with the number of steps down to the front door path, okay for us but not for the less mobile.

    Reviewed by Angela4.7Aug 2023

  • "Hard to find with all the narrow streets and one way system."

    Once parked near the cottage we never moved the car. Excellent position for discovering Whitby with everything in the property of a good standard. Nice touch with the bag of goodies. Recommend it.

    Reviewed by Raymond4.7Jun 2023

  • "This property is clean, comfortable, lovely kitchen, views of the abbey and church over the harbour from the living room, lit up at night."

    Everything we needed was there. It is well placed for public transport, shops and harbour. We did find one space was left where we looked in the W Zone parking provided by scratch card, though it was a bank holiday. However, at busy times, I would think this could be a problem, and therefore we left our car for the week and used public transport. Overall, well worth the 5 stars.

    Reviewed by Ann5.0May 2023

  • "What a lovely cosy cottage, very warm and welcoming from the moment you walk in the door, very convenient for shops and attractions in whitby no need to use car if you don't want to, All in all we had a wonderfull relaxing week long break and could quite easily have stayed longer."

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Apr 2023

  • "The property was lovely handy for everything."

    We also enjoyed the welcome pack. We have rebooked for late September

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0Mar 2023

  • "Everything was spot on, although the underfloor heating in the bathroom was that hot you couldn’t stand on it with bare feet at times!"

    Other than that it was perfect.

    Reviewed by Julian4.7Mar 2023

  • "This was a lovely cottage right in the centre of Whitby."

    Bed was really comfortable and lovely bathroom. Parking in the W Zone was not a problem as loads of areas to park.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Feb 2023

  • "We found the cottage ideal for our short break over the New Year."

    It was conveniently situated within easy reach of the town’s facilities. Being well equipped with essential items is always welcomed when away from home and the cottage did not disappoint. It was a cosy retreat that provided a festive treat for us- thank you!

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Dec 2022

  • "Property well furnished and decorated, plumbing a bit of a mystery [scolding water in the kitchen, often tepid when running a bath]."

    A spare key would have been useful, and perhaps the listing could point out that the property and area may not suitable for anyone with mobility issues. Bed very comfortable and the sitting room perfect.

    Reviewed by Tim4.1Oct 2022

  • "What an utterly charming property in a fantastic location."

    We couldn't have wished for better, will come again!

    Reviewed by Martyn4.1Sep 2022

  • "What a beautiful cottage , fantastic location, lovely welcome pack , bed super comphy, only down side is the parking , but we enjoyed our stay so much we've rebooked for next year ."

    A little gem of a cottage so peaceful and tucked away .

    Reviewed by Julie4.7Aug 2022

  • "Wonderful clean cottage in the heart of whitby."

    All you need.

    Reviewed by Claire5.0Jun 2022

  • "Excellent all Rd cottage clean, tidy ,modern , great location"

    Reviewed by Jason5.0May 2022

  • "Very disappointed that there is no longer a welcome pack and personal face to face contact with staff, appreciate this is probably due to Covid but think we’ve moved on quite a bit and these things could be re-introduced."

    Very disappointed that we reported the shower 2 years prior to this visit and it had not been fixed, in fact shower was worse this time and water temperature was very variable. Mattress on bed was also very soft (springy) and probably needs changed. Don’t think the beanbag adds anything and merely collects dust. We’ve previously been very happy with Gavel Cottage but feel it no longer meets its 5 star award, perhaps it needs some updating. We’d very much like to come back to Gavel Cottage but unless some things change I think we may have to consider alternatives (cottages or companies).

    Thank you for your feedback. As per the guidance at the time due to covid, the staff from YCC were all working from home, but are always contactable on the number in your booking correspondence emails. The YCC office is now open once again. If you ever have any maintenance issues like you did with the shower, we would hope you would contact us and we would be happy to call a trades person out straight away to fix the problem to ensure you have an enjoyable stay- if we are not informed at the time we are unable to solve the problem for you. We will look into the comments about the mattress. Unfortunately the welcome hampers were stopped across the board when covid started. We have recently carried out audits throughout our properties over the quieter months to start to make any improvements to the properties that may be needed after the wear and tear from such a busy season. We appreciate your feedback and will work on making any improvements. Please keep an eye out in your emails for a personal response and update. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane3.8Jan 2022

  • "Gavel cottage was a gorgeous and homely property to stay in Whitby."

    It was clean and very pretty, and we arrived to see a surprise Christmas tree and decorations up! The location was central to Whitby, a couple of minutes walk to the seafront. Much appreciated the descriptive email when booking to explain about keys, directions etc and overall was the most enjoyable trip. Thank you for letting is stay! We said we would love to come back.

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Nov 2021

  • "Great holiday and great location."

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Oct 2021

  • "Although the cottage is well decorated and is only a few minutes walk from restaurants, shops pubs etc, there are several issues that need to be addressed."

    Advertised as having harbour view, not true. Advertised as there being a hamper filled with Yorkshire goodies on arrival, not true. No recycling bin. Also had some maintenance issues that need fixing. Emailed Yorkshire coastal cottages informing them of this.

    Thank you for your feedback. we appreciate you comments. You have views of Whitby Abbey from the living room window. Hampers are not advertised as they were stopped during Covid but the owner is hoping to re introduce them soon. We have currently carried out a full audit of the property where we are addressing anything that may need attention in the property which is normal after such a busy season Property Owner

    Reviewed by Maggie3.8Sep 2021

  • "No welcome hamper and no response from you when enquired about this."

    Bathroom was in need of maintenance no hot water in bath and shower leaked onto floor.

    Thank you for your feedback.. Hampers were stopped due to covid but as things are calming down this property is hoping to reintroduce them soon. Thank you for letting us know about the issues with the bathroom. These have now been addressed Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dawn3.8Sep 2021

  • "Gavel cottage was clean and comfortable, excellent location and great value for money."

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Aug 2021

  • "We had a lovely stay, bathroom could do with same work , parking a nightmare"

    Reviewed by Susan4.7Jul 2021

  • "The Cottage itself was really nice, everything you could need, however the one downside for me and my wife, the bed was very uncomfortable, leading to us shortening our trip by a couple of days."

    Also previous guests have clearly been feeding the gulls, or rather one inparticular gull who arrived every night at 5.30, so you couldn't open the window.

    Reviewed by Jason3.4Jul 2021

  • "Sykes were extremely helpful with navigating the Covid restrictions, and changing our cottage at the last minute when it became clear that our first choice was not going to be able to open, due to a communal entrance."

    There must have been a lot of people with a lot of questions, but I felt that we were looked after very well.

    Reviewed by Alison4.7May 2021

  • "The property was excellent but the outside of the property needs some work the gutters are full of grass above the front door and when it rained we had to walk through a puddle about three inches deep not what you want to do when on holiday."

    Reviewed by James5.0Sep 2020

  • "Excellent location, fabulous cottage with all modern amenities."

    We'll definitely come back.

    Reviewed by Moira5.0Sep 2020

  • "Very enjoyable stay cottage in a prime location , would have appreciated an email that there was no welcome pack due to check in time and not knowing the area we may not have been able to get provisions we do understand why but a email would have been helpful !"

    as we was prepared and not reliant on it but some guests might have been .Also parking was very difficult and needs addressing as there are not enough places for the holiday lets there and to top it all i had my car damaged also some one else did not a bill you want to come back off holiday with .The holiday cottage was excellent with a wonderful view of the Abby

    Reviewed by Glenys4.4Aug 2020

  • "We totally fell in love with Gavel Cottage from the minute we walked through the door."

    It had everything we could possibly need and more for a lovely stay. The only downside to this property was the lack of parking anywhere near the cottage and by the end of the week it was getting a bit tedious driving around trying to find a space.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Aug 2020

  • "Gavel Cottage was a delight!"

    it was perfect for my stay, situated in the heart of Whitby but in a quiet location surrounded by other similar holiday lets. It has been tastefully renovated and furnished, with everything you need to make your stay comfortable, if I was being really picky I would say it was only missing a tray and a couple of egg cups. Ideally situated for walking the beautiful coastline, within easy reach of parking and local amenities.

    Reviewed by Teresa5.0Dec 2019

  • "Perfect in every way!"

    Hill PartyJan 2019

  • "A lovely cottage with everything we needed for our stay."

    Haythorne PartyDec 2018

  • "Beautiful cottage with lovely furnishings and cosy spaces."

    We would definitely come back as we love Whitby.

    Taylor PartyDec 2018

  • "We loved everything about Gavel Cottage."

    Very nicely decorated, modern furnishings and very clean. It is centrally located and only a five minute walk down to the harbour. We ate fish and chips at Hadleys, the other side of the bridge, which we enjoyed. A couple of places we visited were The Seated Man at Castleton Rigg & Helmsley. Would definitely stay again.

    Cheadle PartyNov 2018

  • "The location and cosy feeling of Gavel Cottage are absolutely ideal."

    It's very comfortable and the standard of bedding and towels is super and much appreciated. We loved that the cottage had the Christmas tree and decorations in place for our stay.

    McCann PartyNov 2018

  • "Fabulous! Thank you so much for our fantastic stay."

    Harry's mussels never disappoint and our "Happy" place is just heaven.

    Wood PartyOct 2018

  • "Lovely welcome pack on arrival!"

    A dedicated parking space would have been perfect but well done for alternative options. Great location for all amenities within a very close walk. Very clean and modernised where appropriate. Tastefully renovated to a high standard; a welcome "home from home".

    BarrattSep 2018

  • "Lovely cottage, really enjoyed our stay."

    Welcome pack was excellent!

    Fawcett PartySep 2018

  • "All aspects of the cottage and our dealings with Yorkshire Coastal Cottages were highly satisfactory."

    The welcome pack is lovely. We particularly love the Bothams products.

    McCann PartyJul 2018

  • "We had a superb stay in Whitby, our first visit and somewhere we will definitely be returning."

    The cottage was beautiful to say the least and the location was perfect. We had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. The cottage was spotlessly clean, extremely comfortable and made the whole experience a very pleasurable one. Thank you also for the goody bag we received upon arrival; it was very much appreciated to have a cup of tea and some cake the minute we walked through the door; giving us a chance to find our feet after we had unpacked. Not having been to Whitby before, to arrive in time for the first canon to go off; to welcome the Captain Cook festivities, to have "Northern Soul" festival on our doorstep at The Pavilion was an extra delight and to top it off, we were able to watch England beat Sweden on Saturday, 7 July. Thank you for the fabulous experience and we hope to secure the cottage this time next year; to be confirmed nearer the time.

    Julie & Michael ByrneJul 2018

  • "Beautifully furnished, near the shops and harbour - we enjoyed long walks on the beach and great meals on the harbour!"

    Mr And Mrs JamesJun 2018

  • "Perfect! We had our second honeymoon here."

    SO romantic; loved the view.

    G HaywoodJun 2018

  • "Thank you for a lovely break - and the welcome pack was amazing!"

    Beautiful property.

    Mr And Mrs CooperJun 2018

  • "We have really enjoyed our couple of days here; a lovely cottage that is very comfortable and very, very reasonable priced."

    We will certainly be booking here again.

    The MasonsMay 2018

  • "Stunning - great location; we loved our weekend in Whitby."

    Would definitely come again.

    Ms S ValeMay 2018

  • "The perfect cottage, in a perfect location"

    Louise McBrideDec 2017

  • "We had a truly memorable New Year stay in Gavel Cottage."

    A gem of place with everything you need. Fantastic location, central to everything within easy walking distance, down the alley way short cuts full of character and charm

    Richard And ShirleyOct 2017

  • "Fantastic week here leading up to Goth Weekend!"

    Enjoyed walk to Robin Hood's Bay, Sandsend (great café!), Runswick Bay and across the Moors. Took the old steam train across the moors - fantastic experience. Brilliant Cottage with great views to the Abbey which was illuminated for Halloween during our stay.

    Max And Emma, LondonSep 2017

  • "We have really enjoyed our stay in the beautifully decorated Gavel Cottage."

    We came down from Aberdeenshire for a wedding in Staithes and are happy we chose this as a base for our stay. Very comfortable with our baby boy. Lovely walks, quaint shops and good food - and weather! - what more do we need?! Recommend Harry's for dinner. Thank you for the cosy cottage - just perfect!

    Ross, Tracey And OtisAug 2017

  • "What a beautifully furnished, cosy cottage in a brilliant location."

    We have had a happy, funny first visit to Whitby and enjoyed ourselves very much. Rusty Shears was exceptionally good for tea and cake and the Moon and Sixpence overlooking the harbour was friendly with a good atmosphere and delicious food for an evening meal. We are going home a lot more relaxed than when we arrived!

    Paul And Nancy WestAug 2016

  • "Fantastic stay in this beautifully furnished, quaint cottage."

    It is a wonderful location so you are ready to explore the sights and sounds of Whitby. We enjoyed: * Eating delicious seafood at Greens * Ambling around the cobbled streets of Whitby * Fish and chips from the Magpie Café * A beach and cliff walk at Robin Hood's Bay * The beautiful beach at Sandsend Thank you so much!

    Rachel And DomAug 2016

  • "A very enjoyable relaxing week with my youngest daughter Jessica."

    Gael Cottage - perfect for two - great location and well-equipped with attention to detail. Thank you.

    Julie And Jessica, Reading, BerkshireJul 2016

  • "We have had a great week here at Gavel Cottage - the first family holiday with our 4 month old."

    The cottage was perfect for a little one, just enough room for three. We enjoyed pottering around Whitby and strolling along the beach including breakfast at Sandside Café at Sandsend and a walk up the 199 steps to visit the church and Whitby Abbey.

    The O'Neill Family, SheffieldJun 2015

  • "We've had a wonderful week here."

    It's a beautiful cottage that is really well-located. Things we enjoyed doing were - pottering around Whitby, tea, cake kippers and ice cream. Loved Robin Hood's Bay and Staithes. Coastal walks. Sunset on the pier in Whitby. Running in Dalby Forest. Wasting 50p at the 2p slots!

    Doug And HanMay 2015

  • "We've had a super weekend."

    Gavel Cottage is in a perfect location for visiting all the wonderful places in Whitby and beyond. We had traditional fish and chips at Hardy's; ate in the Italian Cosa Nostra. The food was excellent and the services was very attentive. The cottage has everything you need. I'm sure we'll be back.

    Jason And RachelMay 2015

  • "We have really enjoyed our couple of days here; a lovely cottage that is very comfortable and very, very reasonable priced."

    We will certainly be booking here again.

    Gary, Tilda And EvieMar 2015

  • "What a great little cottage - a gem!"

    Gavel Cottage is very comfortable and has lots of luxury extras. Great location, only a minute walk and you are in the heart of Whitby. Fantastic views! We enjoyed our stay and will be returning - we felt very special to be the first guests staying here.

    Roxanne And ChrisFeb 2015

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Yorkshire Coastal Cottages collection.
Over 120 carefully selected properties in Yorkshire

Summary

  • One ground floor double bedroom with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC. First floor kitchen with dining area. First floor sitting room with harbour/Abbey views.
  • Oven, hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, TV, DVD, WiFi. Bed linens and towels inc. in rent. Cot and highchair available on request. Parking scratch card for 24/7 on-street parking supplied. Note: Welcome hamper of quality Yorkshire goodies on arrival.

The property

A contemporary and luxurious cottage for two in Whitby’s West Cliff area, within easy walking distance of the beach, harbour, shops and restaurants. Uncover your own slice of Yorkshire coastal heaven in this stylish cottage with sea and Abbey views. Prepare to fall in love with Whitby, its cobbled ‘old town’, gorgeous sandy beach and bustling waterfront.

It is a place which oozes history, a place to unwind, explore and make memories that will last forever. This immaculate holiday property boasts a dreamy double bedroom, with en-suite bathroom with bath – expect to sleep well in the elegant chrome bed. A hand-crafted wooden staircase leads up to a smart kitchen with welcoming cream units, pale beech work surfaces and a traditional wooden table and chairs.

Make your way into the relaxing sitting room and unwind together in style.

Wow!

There is a view over the rooftops towards the harbour and Whitby’s historic Abbey.

The décor is calming and neutral, inspired by its coastal surroundings.

It’s easy to imagine snuggling up here over a delicious bottle of wine, with a view of the floodlit Abbey in the distance! Located in the West Cliff area where the famous “whale bones” are situated, the property is in a quiet residential area, yet close to all the town centre amenities.

Whitby is the only place on the entire East coast where visitors can see the sun rise and set in the North Sea – perfect for a romantic beach stroll.

Or kick back together and enjoy a glass of champagne on Whitby’s charming waterfront and watch the world go by. For coastal walks, head to the charming fishing villages of Staithes, Runswick Bay or Robin Hood’s Bay.

If you’re feeling adventurous, Filey Brigg is wild and rugged, with plenty of opportunity for spotting basking seals and coastal wildlife.

Whale watching boat trips are also possible from Whitby harbour. From your cosy base at Gavel Cottage, discover what makes Whitby one of Yorkshire’s most loved resorts – it’s all on your doorstep!

View on map

About the location

WHITBY

Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an array of activities so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for everyone. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay, rich in heritage, wonders and scenic spots, and in easy reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

View more holiday cottages in Whitby

Wi-Fi: Free Wi-Fi included.

Utilities: All utilities, bed linens and towels provided.

Parking: Parking scratch card for 24/7 on-street parking supplied.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas