Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Larger Image
  • Fairleigh Whitby - North Yorkshire (incl. Whitby) - 993572 - photo 1

Fairleigh Whitby

Whitby, North York Moors & Coast (Ref. 993572)


(23 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 8

  • Bedrooms 4

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Cot available
  • Sky TV
  • Highchair available

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

23 Customer Reviews

  • "To advertise a parking space is inaccurate or at best misleading."

    I know Whitby well and parking is at a premium so a space sounded ideal. Previous reviews mentioned scraping their cars and it only being possible in a small car so we were forewarned. Access to the space just to drop off luggage is down a concealed back alley and relies on the goodwill of the owners of the next door guest house. The house itself is lovely and well appointed but details of access need to be clearly explained before arrival.

    Reviewed by SueOct 2021

  • "Overall we had a great stay all of the bedrooms and bathrooms were lovely, clean with comfy beds."

    The kitchen was good but the living and dining room were a bit tired looking, we noticed slug trails on the living room carpet. There were a few items lacking no dishcloths, hand soap washing up liquid or batteries in the remote controls. We would have expected these as standard. We couldn’t find any property information on how appliances, heating etc work and also for places of interest, restaurants etc. We had 3 cars and in the property there was a notice that it was ok to park in the school car park. However we were told by the school caretaker that this was by not ok and he said they were planning to install a barrier. He did however let us park there for the rest of our stay. The parking spot at the property is tiny and awkward to get into but it can be done with some careful manoeuvring. We noticed on rightmove the property was for sale.

    Reviewed by LizOct 2021

  • "The house was very clean with all the facilities you could wish for,it is a short walk to the town centre supermarkets are quite close , the only thing to be aware of is parking at the back of the house is very tight and really only suitable for a small car but you can park nearby."

    Reviewed by StephenAug 2021

  • "The house had an unusually well appointed kitchen with knives that were actually sharp!"

    We really enjoyed having the 4 bathrooms and lots of sofa space to watch TV (great WiFi by the way). The slight downsides were the strong smell of dog in the sitting room and a few small repairs that needed doing.

    Reviewed by VictoriaAug 2021

  • "Good overall - comfortable stay."

    Several lamps broken - bulbs needed? Some curtains not properly hung. Slug / snail trails in living room each morning. Outdoor not emptied frequently enough - overflowing. Could have been cleaner although hand wash at each sink was positive.

    Reviewed by JennyAug 2021

  • "We found the parking at the rear of property very limited and awkward to manoeuvre in and out."

    In the kitchen we found that the crockery and glasses were of a poor selection for a party of our size. There was no dust pan and brush available for general cleaning throughout our tenancy. In the lounge every morning snail trails were very evident possible deep clean is required. In bedroom 3 2nd floor behind the sofa bed previous occupants had left a pair of gents underpants this had not been obviously cleaned behind by cleaners we did not touch them to remove them so they could still be there. Linen and towels were of a good standard.

    Reviewed by Anthony ColinJul 2021

  • "Great accommodation for a family holiday."

    The bedrooms are spacious and all bar one are en-suite which is a big bonus. The family bathroom is beautiful so no hardship for the other bedroom user! Kitchen has everything you need including dishwasher. Dining room has space for everyone and the sitting room is nice and comfy. House was nice and clean, and no issues with the parking as we had noted that it was a small space. If you have a large car you will struggle so better to park round the corner! Needed to contact the owner who was really helpful.

    Reviewed by EleanorJul 2021

  • "The house was lovely, well equipped except for only 4 forks between 6 people!"

    !! The outside was the let down! It says patio /garden! The small aria is at the front on a junction of the main road into Whitby with a foot high wall so no privacy at all!! With 2 broken benches to sit on!! A bit of investment to the outside would make a big difference. We also was taking 2 small dogs but luckily decided against it after reading reviews! Thank goodness we did, it would have been a nightmare as it is open to the road. Seems like a lot of complaints but really enjoyed our holiday as the inside was lovely and comfortable but because of outside probably wouldn't go again.

    Reviewed by SusanJun 2021

  • "Booked our break at the ‘Fairleigh’ after a previous break was cancelled and we had an absolutely fantastic time."

    The house was beautifully decorated and furnished to a high standard whilst also keeping the character of the house. The kitchen was great and every item you can imagine you will need whilst cooking in the kitchen was there which was great! The Fairleigh has a washer and dryer which is a great added extra for bigger family’s and longer stays! The house was immaculately clean throughout which is reassuring during the current pandemic we are living in. The house is set out over 3 floors. First floor consists of a large living room with 2 large sofas and a single chair. They is a dining room with a large table with 8 and then the large kitchen with utilities room and downstairs WC. Second floor has a beautiful family bathroom ( the bath is as amazing as it looks on the photos) with the master room having an en-suite plus another spacious double bedroom. The third floor has 2 more spacious bedrooms with double beds (both with en-suite bathrooms) plus a pull out double bed in the front bedroom. We had a wonderful stay and the accommodation was perfectly located for walking and site seeing. Their is private parking to the rear of the property for one car and more parking only a short 2 minute walk away. We had a contactless arrival collecting the keys from the key safe located at the front of the property. We stayed here in April just as the weather was still cold and I must say the house was nice and cosy with the heating on to say it was a big house it got warm fast and stayed warm! We will definitely stay here again! 5*

    Reviewed by DanielApr 2021

  • "Fantastic place Just one problem is."

    Parking But won’t stop us returning

    Reviewed by KenSep 2020

  • "Very expensive for what you got."

    Failed to say it’s on a main road!! Dining room table not big enough to accommodate 8 adults comfortably sat around it. Not enough seating in lounge for 8 adults without someone sitting on a footstool or on the floor. Not sufficiently clean from last occupants, bits left from a party celebration. Very disappointing, especially in the times we’re living in!!!

    Reviewed by PhilipSep 2020

  • "We had a lovely time in Whitby however the parking was abit of a problem, my car got scratched from a pipe that sticks out on the back of the house."

    The green bin was full and hadn't been put out to be emptied that morning so nowhere to put our rubbish. Out of date food had been left in kitchen cupboards and found other items in bedroom drawers....wasn't cleaned to a high standard.

    Reviewed by SallyAug 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at this beautiful house, the showers were fantastic, beds comfy and the proximity to Whitby harbour and town were brilliant."

    The only small down side for us as a family with a dog was that the description includes an enclosed garden, and the small patio at the front of the house with not gate or fencing cannot in any way meet that criteria of being enclosed or a garden. Also, for the size of house parking is a huge issue, we couldn’t park in the space allocated, there is a car park about 200m up the road which served us well, but would have liked to have known that before arrival. All in all we had a really lovely stay, we loved the house and location but would have been less disappointed if we had known about the lack of garden and parking.

    Thank you for your feedback. As per our website there is no mention of an enclosed garden. We have reviewed your feedback and taken comments on board. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LesleyJul 2020

  • "The cottage is beautiful, really clean, facilities were brilliant, great location."

    None of the TV’s could get any signal, and I Had read a review about this previous to going but this was still the case. The neighbours each side caused us a few issues. One was quite aggressive as I was stood waiting for my husband to reverse the car down the narrow path; totally unnecessary.

    Reviewed by AlexandraFeb 2020

  • "The accommodation was as described."

    I would like to comment on the fact there is really limited parking and there is no real room to turn a car around, meaning we had to park further up the road, which although we felt it would be safe it is quite a trek with cases etc. The TV in the man room kept losing signal, sometimes worked, and sometimes did not. We found this quite frustrating.

    Reviewed by SimonDec 2019

  • "Unfortunately our original holiday property was cancelled due to burst pipes on the morning of our departure."

    Sykes did their utmost to find us a similar Property to accomodate our family of 7. Obviously we were devastated as we were all packed and ready for our journey. As it turned out, the property Fairleigh in Whitby Was beautiful. Very spacious and spotlessly clean. We have a holiday in Whitby every year and never considered this house due to being on main road but we can honestly say you barely hear the traffic at all. We enjoyed our stay there so much we will book this lovely house for next year. The only suggestion to help a large family would be a large oven dish.

    Reviewed by ShirleyDec 2019

  • "Difficult parking but school carpark more than made up dor this not far from town centre and extremely quiet and cosy."

    Even with the traffic outside on junction you felt very unaware of this. The perfect small town getaway. Will certainly make a return trip.

    Reviewed by SallyNov 2019

  • "Lovely sitting room."

    Kitchen equipment could be better, and checked! Not very useful to find the tin opener is broken at 9pm! Dining room not big enough for a property which sleeps 8. Put some locks on the communal bathroom and wc!

    Thank you for your feedback. No previous feedback on tin opener but this will be checked and replaced if broken. There are 8 chairs around the dining room table. There is also a large 2 seater sofa for plenty of seating space in the dining room. Each bedroom has their dedicated bathroom. However, locks to will be added to the bathroom doors. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JohnNov 2019

  • "Brilliant property."

    Just right for us. We are holidaying with our English family, so it was perfect for 3 couples and a 17;year old. Being from Australia we found the tv in the living room hard to work as we didn’t have a password etc for the on demand. Maybe it would be good to set up an account for the house. Otherwise the facilities were brilliant. The ice in the freezer was a welcome surprise when we went to mix our G & Ts! Parking was a bit tricky. Thank you so much for a great stay.

    Reviewed by TraceyOct 2019

  • "What a lovely place."

    . clean, tidy, modern & homely. We couldn’t pick one fault, best place we’ve stayed in Whitby so far

    Reviewed by SarahSep 2019

  • "It really is a fabulous place for a group of friends to meet up, parking is quite difficult around the property but a friendly local told us that there was a car park that we could use very close by at the school."

    Reviewed by JohnAug 2019

  • "Without doubt this was 5 star facilities within the property, we were delighted wilh our stay, one of the best we ever booked."

    One negative was only parking for one car, we had 3cars between 8 of us so maybe some adivice on alternative parking would be helpful. Would like to thing that we would visit again.

    Reviewed by RonMay 2019

  • "Beautiful location fantastic accommodation and really spacious for 2 families ..."

    Beautiful location fantastic accommodation and really spacious for 2 families really great clean accommodation just outside town and really quiet despite on junction couldn’t hear any traffic at all Would highly recommend

    Reviewed by AngelaApr 2019

Show more


  • Over three floors
  • Four bedrooms with Sky TVs: 1 x first floor king-size with en-suite shower, basin and WC, 1 x first floor king-size, 2 x second floor king-size with en-suite shower rooms with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor bathroom with freestanding bath, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Utility
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room with electric fire and Sky TV
  • Sitting room with electric fire and Sky TV.
  • Gas central heating, electric fire
  • Electric double oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, tumble dryer, Sky TVs with Sky cinema and netflix
  • DVD player, a selection of books, games and DVDs and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking to rear for one small to medium car
  • Alternative parking available 200m from the property
  • Patio to front with furniture
  • One well-behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Note: Property now has Sky Multiroom

The property

Fairleigh is an impressive period semi-detached property, well located close to the centre of Whitby.

Ideally located for touring the North York Moors National Park and the Heritage Coast, it is perfect for a superb family holiday, being just a short stroll to the centre of this popular seaside resort.

Set over three floors, it has been beautifully and tastefully renovated to a high standard, whilst retaining many original features and traditional charm.

The ground floor features a modern well-equipped kitchen and a separate dining room with a large wall-mounted TV, where families can gather and enjoy a home-cooked meal.

The spacious and comfortable sitting room has a warming electric fireplace with a wooden mantle piece and a large bay window throwing in plenty of light.

Also handy cloakroom and utility just through the kitchen, where the dishwasher and the washing machine and the tumble dryer are as well as being able to hang your coats and all your shoes and boots here too and then shut the door on them so they are not in use, then a toilet and basin in the boiler room beyond completes the ground floor.

The four spacious bedrooms, all with wall-mounted TVs are set over the two upper floors, three of them with en-suite shower rooms and one with an additional sofa bed, offering flexibility in sleeping arrangements.

Two of the bedrooms have far reaching views to the distant hills.

The contemporary family bathroom is situated on the half landing and has a lovely deep freestanding bath and a walk-in shower.

At the front of the house is an patio, while there is off-road parking for one car at the back, a rare find in Whitby.

A ten-minute walk down Prospect Hill brings you into the hustle and bustle of this historic town, with its narrow streets and alleyways to explore, the cobbled market square and abundance of independent shops.

Partake in a scrumptious afternoon tea in the numerous quaint tea rooms, enjoy cocktails overlooking the harbour and not to be missed are the renowned fish and chips.

Whitby boasts safe sandy beaches, coastal cruises and an attractive harbour.

Climb the 199 steps up to the famous Whitby Abbey, where you can join the Cleveland Way for an invigorating cliff top walk, sure to blow the cobwebs away.

For the more adventurous, book an evening ghost walk, sure to be a big hit with everyone!

With the stunning scenery of the moors to explore and the rugged coastline to discover, this charming property makes a wonderful base for families and friends throughout the year.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Robin Hood's Bay 5.5 miles; Scarborough 19.3 miles; Pickering 23 miles; Guisborough 21.5 miles.

The seaside town and port of Whitby lies at the mouth of the River Esk in the Scarborough district of North Yorkshire. Ideally situated for exploring this beautiful part of Yorkshire, the local area hosts an abundance of activity so you can be sure to get the best out of both the countryside and the coast. From the nearby North York Moors to its Blue Flag beaches, there's something here for every interest and time of year. Amongst its many attractions, Whitby holds a charming atmosphere, home to winding streets and hidden alleys, where you can find a wide selection of eateries and shops scattered amongst them. Take a trip to the picturesque harbour and lighthouse to watch the sun set, or get involved in some whale watching or a coastal cruise to watch the creatures up close. Climb the famous 199 steps to the Whitby Abbey to immerse yourself with history, or visit the Captain Cook Memorial Museum presenting historical and ethnographic exhibition about Cook himself. Hosting an abundance of leisure facilities, opportunities to explore the natural lands, and plenty of coastal delights, Whitby offers something for everyone. Close to the Robin Hood's Bay full of heritage wonders and scenic spots, and in reach of the bustling towns of Scarborough and Middlesbrough, Whitby is a prime location for exploring all of the delights that Yorkshire has to offer.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas