Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

9 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 25 View Image Gallery
  • Fishermans Cottage - Northumberland - 1122003 - photo 1
close

Fishermans Cottage

(Ref. 1122003)

Beadnell, Northumberland Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • location (9)
  • cottage (8)
  • great (7)
  • stay (6)
  • our (6)
  • property (5)

16 Customer Reviews

  • "This was our third stay in Fishermans Cottage, so obviously we like the property very much."

    It is very comfortable, well appointed with a lovely ambience and clearly the owners care about the property. The location is excellent and there are good restaurants and cafes near by. However, we do have a complaint about the Sykes booking fee. In 2023 this was £40 for our two weeks holiday but this year it was £101. We find this too much and assume that Sykes are now raising a booking fee for each week, although there is only one lot of administration. Consequently, we would be reluctant to book another two weeks holiday with Sykes and instead have a one week rental in two separate areas.

    Reviewed by A L4.7Jan 2024

  • "A fabulous cottage in a great location."

    Everything you could possibly need and more. I especially loved the underfloor heating in the bathrooms, the brilliant showers and the jigsaw board! I got loads of work done, had some superb blustery walks and watched the storms from the fabulous window. What could be better!

    Reviewed by Gill5.0Nov 2023

  • "A lovely cottage, very clean and a very nice place to stay for the week."

    Our main bugbear - and I don't know if this is down to the owner or the agency was the very poor provision of basics. The first day we had to go out to buy salt, pepper, cooking oil and soap. All I think basics but were not provided. OK a small issue but, especially considering the cost of the cottage, annoying.

    Thank you for your comment and we are pleased you found it clean and a very nice place to stay but am genuinely sorry that you were not totally pleased with your stay. Regarding your bugbear, which is not something we have had before, I would comment that normally there are a few salt and pepper sachets in the jars and I can only assume that a previous guest has either used or gone off with them all. However, I do not think that it is realistic for guests to expect there are enough for a whole week. Cooking oil is something that different guests will prefer a certain type and people like my grandson, have allergies with some, so it would not be practical or safe to provide this. Also, guests would be very wary of using a bottle that was already open. I am a little surprised with your comment about soap as there is a liquid soap dispenser in both bathrooms and the kitchen for guests to use, which I personally filled a couple of weeks before your arrival so should have still been available. I will however check with the cleaners that they were there for you and to ensure it is always available along with a few salt and pepper sachets for future guests. So, in summary for future guests information we do provide a welcome pack of basic items with some sachets of tea, coffee, milk, biscuits, dishwasher tablets as well as some washing up liquid to get guests started, together with two tea towels, dishcloth and scourer as well as oven gloves. Although, as it states, it is self catering and personally, when I go to a similar cottage, I make sure we have some basics to use when we get there. However, thank you for your comments which we will take on board and I hope my comments above address your points and that it will not deter you from coming to stay at Fishermans Cottage again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1Nov 2023

  • "A lovely cottage."

    Everything provided for a great holiday.

    So pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jim3.8Oct 2023

  • "This was our second holiday at this property and probably won’t be our last."

    Fisherman’s Cottage is a great little place to stay. Brilliantly located with the sea literally across the road from the house. We found the main bed really comfortable and the underfloor heating in both bathrooms really good as well. Our only minor gripes are we found the sofas a bit uncomfortable but that’s a personal thing really. The internet is also pretty slow which, on a rainy day is a bit of a shame. First world problems eh?!

    Thank you for your comments and am pleased that you hope to come yet again. We too find the bed comfortable and really enjoy the underfloor heating and often wish we also had this at home! I am sorry that you found the sofa's a bit uncomfortable but do wonder if this is a personal thing as you say, because we have not had any similar comments and have always found them quite comfortable ourselves. Regarding the internet I am a little surprised at your comment as we do have a fibre connection with a reasonable service speed and always found it quite adequate when using catch up, watching Netflix or simply doing emails or general use. As it was a wet day perhaps there has been higher demand than usual at the house, or in the village, which has impacted the service. However I thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will monitor the service going forward. I have checked with our provider and have the fastest connection available in the area and am very sorry that it did not meet your expectations.. However we will keep the situation monitored and if a faster speed becomes available will look to upgrade and perhaps when you return you will not have the same problems you encountered on this visit. Unfortunately we are in the hands of the provider on this! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andy4.4Sep 2023

  • "Fourth visit."

    The owners clearly care about this property and work hard to maintain the standard of original refurbishment. Another great holiday, thanks.

    Glad you have enjoyed the visit and yes we do care about thge house and try very hard to ensure that the standard we set at the outset is maintained. If there is something not right we always encourage guests to let us know so that we can try to get it rectified while they are there. We hope that you will keep returning! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trish5.0Sep 2023

  • "We have stayed previously at this cottage and it is just perfect for our needs."

    The conversion inside has been done to a very high standard and the location is ideal.

    We are very glad that you have enjoyed your previous stays and wanted to return. We wanted at the outside to make it to a high standard and make every effort to keep it at that level. We liked it for its location as it is only a short walk to the harbour or the Landing and also a short walk into the village. We hope you will be back again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Sep 2023

  • "Great location and good inside space and fittings, disappointed with garden area as not suitable for our dog and not secure for her, the area around the summer house is very limited and no reasonable space, it appearred different on the photos for us as no fencing between the houses at the back."

    I am sorry that you found the house to be so different to the photographs. We made the fenced area round the summer house so that there was a secure area for dogs if owners wanted to let them have some fresh air on their own. The description does make clear there is a secure area "One small 4-legged friend is also welcome to join you and they can enjoy the freedom the secure patio area offers." There is no mention of a fenced garden area. Whilst we are very sorry you were unhappy with this I can only say that this is the first time anyone has raised this comment and we are unable to do anything about fencing as that is the design of the terrace.. We note that you have rated all the other categories as a 4 and wonder where in your eyes we have fallen down on your expectations of comfort and maintenance. Regarding the standard of cleanliness I regularly do spot inspections to try and ensure that the property is cleaned to our expectation, however I will be sure to take this up with housekeeping who oversee the cleaners and thank you for bringing this to our attention. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline3.4Sep 2023

  • "Excellent place to stay."

    Top quality furnishings and equipment. Good communication from the owner too about a small matter. Under floor heating in the toilets too , the dog loved this ! Great house Great location!!

    Glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything to your satisfaction. I do always try to respond as quickly as possible to emails from guests as their enjoyment of their week at Fishermans Cottage is important to us. Hope you will come back again and I am sure your dog will be pleased to come back for a nice warm place to lie! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Angus5.0Jun 2023

  • "An attractive, thoughtfully and well equipped cottage in a prime location with wonderful sea views."

    We loved it! Thank you.

    We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our aim is to make it as much a home from home as we can. We would agree that the views are magnificent no matter what the weather! We hope you will come back and stay again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Apr 2023

  • "Facilities, equipment great it had everything you needed and location !"

    !! Perfect what more can we say

    Thank you. We try to make it as good as a home from home! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Jan 2023

  • "Fisherman's Cottage is a delight."

    Compact but perfectly planned with fabulous views, especially from the bedroom windows. Very comfortable stay and very convenient.I'm sure I'll be back.

    Nov 2021

  • "Absolutely incredible - will be booking for next year!"

    May 2021

  • "Excellent accommodation and location."

    Would be very happy to stay there again.

    Oct 2020

  • "Since Covid, we have had three UK holidays and this property was easily the most comprehensive and thoughtfully equipped."

    The owners attention to detail was obvious from our first day.It was almost home from home

    Sep 2020

  • "Excellent location."

    Well appointed property. Lovely sea views and sunrises from property. Facilities and decor of property excellent. In a perfect location for exploring the many and varied attractions nearby.

    Sep 2020

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x king-size with TV, 1 x twin with TV
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining/sitting room
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher
  • 3 x TV, DVD player, WiFi, section of books and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available on request
  • Off-road parking for 1 car
  • Enclosed rear patio with furniture
  • One well behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.7 miles
  • Note: The cottage is covered by CCTV at both the front and rear of the property
  • Note: No signal around Beadnell or house landline
  • Owner will accept Friday changeovers and week bookings only.

The property

A gorgeous white-painted terraced cottage settled into an iconic row of houses in Harbour Road, Beadnell, Northumberland, with a summer house and stunning interior, Fisherman’s Cottage is an idyllic seaside getaway for a family or two couples.

Decorated with pale blues and greys, the interior of this is positively dreamy, beginning with a light and airy sitting/dining room with an electric fire stove, two pale grey sofas and of course a magnificent arched window overlooking the garden, an ideal spot that provides you with two armchairs to enjoy the view, and here you will also find a pale wood dining table, ideal for heart-warming meals and complementing this pretty room and the fresh colour choice.

The kitchen makes the most of the natural light, with skylights and large windows illuminating a space filled with ample amenities and stylish furniture.

Two bedrooms can be found within easy reach of a spacious bathroom, including a king-size with a TV and storage and a twin with a TV.

Beadnell is a lovely seaside town with a lot on offer for guests, beginning at the high street where there is a selection of shops, a convenience store, eateries and pubs.

From her you will be able to enjoy sightseeing at Ebb’s Nook and Beadnell Lime Kiln, and visiting the fantastic beach is a must.

Beadnell allows you to explore the nearby Northumberland coast AONB, and if you travel a little further from the property you will find the historic town of Bamburgh with its fantastic castle, and the historic Holy Island beyond.

Make a seaside holiday to remember with a stay at Fisherman's Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £250.

View on map

About the location

BEADNELL

Seahouses 1.5 miles; Bamburgh 5 miles.

This attractive and peaceful harbour village is situated beside one of the most beautiful stretches of Northumberland’s Heritage Coastline - Beadnell Bay. Established in Saxon times, Beadnell was once an important fishing village and a smuggler's haven. Nowadays, it is still a fishing village, but is equally popular with holidaymakers who come to enjoy its pretty harbour and, of course, the nearby sandy beaches. The village has a shop, two pubs and a café serving food. Popular Seahouses is just over a mile away and has shops, a supermarket and restaurants, and it also offers boat trips from the harbour to the magnificent Farne Islands - a haven for bird watchers. Bamburgh is close by, whilst the market town of Alnwick with its Castle and Gardens, shops, pubs and restaurants is a short drive away.

View more holiday cottages in Beadnell

For any enquiries for 2025 bookings, please contact our reservations team who will contact the owner to discuss availability and pricing.

The cottage is covered by CCTV at both the front and rear of the property and Electric car charging is prohibited at this property.