Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked Creel Cottage, Craster in the last 24 hours

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • Creel Cottage, Craster - Northumberland - 1122051 - photo 1

Creel Cottage, Craster

(Ref. 1122051)

Craster, Northumberland Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (13)
  • our (10)
  • location (9)
  • no (8)
  • bed (7)
  • back (6)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "The holiday cottage was ideal for us except the toilet was downstairs."

    And there was no internet for our mobiles.

    We're so pleased to hear you found the cottage was ideal. Just so you know if you return there's full wi fi in the cottage and a landline you can use, but the mobile signal in Craster is notoriously patchy! Hope to see you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by James4.1Jun 2024

  • "We loved our stay at Creel Cottage - amazing location and little gardens were fab - and the weather was kind"

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Jun 2024

  • "Parking very tight and no advise given of where’s to park if vehicle doesn’t ..."

    Parking very tight and no advise given of where’s to park if vehicle doesn’t fit on the drive May more difficult by the homeowner at the back parking directly opposite the drive Scraped my car on a gate post

    Reviewed by David3.8May 2024

  • "A lovely cottage in a great position in the village."

    The kitchen was fine but was not particularly well equipped. For example, there was no bread knife and no large frying pan. Also, it would have been beneficial to have a light over the cooker.

    We're delighted to hear you loved the cottage and its position in Craster. Thank you for the feedback, we find it very helpful - we've replaced the bread knife and bought a new, large frying pan. We'd love it if you visited again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim4.4Apr 2024

  • "Lovely clean and warm with beautiful views."

    Sofa a bit tired the bed was lovely and comfy. The views were brilliant enjoyed the garden at the front to sit in and have a drink enjoying the sea air as the weather was very kind to us. Situated ideally for walks or trip out.The walk from Craster to Low Newton was splendid. D9g friendly walks and beaches. Would definitely reccomend and hopefully be back soon. Thank you for letting us stay

    Thank you for the 100% rating, we’re so pleased you’d a great holiday. The Craster to Low Newton walk is one of our favourites too and we enjoy a long lunch at The Ship once it’s complete! We’d love you to come back soon and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Apr 2024

  • "Just spent a wonderful week at Creel Cottage!"

    We were all rather sad to leave, the cottage is very cosy, very comfortable (especially the beds) and the sea views are fantastic. Loved sitting out on the front garden with a cup of tea watching the waves after a day exploring the coastline and the many marvellous castles Northumberland has to offer. Would love to come back, maybe later in the year so we could enjoy some better weather! Jolly Fisherman pub in Craster is great but our son found the menu a bit of challenge (we thought it was amazing!)

    Thank you Ben, we’re delighted you had a great holiday. We too love watching the sea from the front garden, it’s spectacular at sunrise. There’s so much to do and see on the Northumberland coast, it varies so much with each season - we’d love you to visit again! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ben4.7Apr 2024

  • "This is our second visit to Creel Cottage."

    We love the cottage and its location

    Reviewed by John4.7Mar 2024

  • "Thank you for a fabulous week in Craster."

    Your property had everything we needed to be very comfortable.

    Thank you Helen! We’re delighted you’d a fabulous holiday and gave Creel Cottage a 100% rating. We would love you to visit again to enjoy the beautiful Northumberland coastline. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Mar 2024

  • "The Welcome Pack was a nice touch and appreciated."

    Cleanliness though was not what it should be. Inside of windows obviously not cleaned in a long time, floors very dusty and kitchen cupboard doors dirty. Biggest issue though is the sofas. For £900 a week I expect something I can comfortably sit on for longer than 20 minutes. Ended up going to bed early most nights as my back, neck and shoulders were aching. Not good enough!

    Thank you for the review, we’re glad you were pleased with the welcome pack. We’re very proud of the positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of Creel we’ve received previously however we have asked for the inside of the windows and cupboard doors to be deep cleaned following your comments. We’d love you to visit Craster again and see the beautiful Northumberland Coast in the Summer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Gary1.9Feb 2024

  • "The location of this property is its selling point with views straight out over the sea."

    There are so many lovely walks straight from the doorstep and it's also just a short drive to larger towns. The cottage is very tastefully decorated, immaculately clean, tidy and the beds are extremely comfortable. I agree with others that whilst the living room furniture looks great, the sofas are very uncomfortable and not great for relaxing on a rainy day. It all feels a little bit corporate and lacking a few personal touches. For example, not a single book to read, no games - not even a pack of cards...which we've found in every other cottage we've stayed in. The small welcome pack included a thimble full of washing up liquid & no hand soap etc...again, maybe we've just been lucky in other cottages but a few homely touches wouldn't go amiss given the price of the property. The heating wouldn't turn on one evening and we had a job to get through to the Sykes online chat (which had almost closed for the night) as there's no phone signal at the property. When we did get through they were quick to come and connect another gas cylinder but warned us that it only had a bit of gas left in it and may run out again that evening. They offered us portable heaters for the night and whilst the gas didn't run out again, I feel that this is something that should have been checked before we rented the cottage. All in all a great few days, and a few things that would have enhanced our stay even more.

    We’re so pleased you had a great few days in Craster on the beautiful Northumberland coast. Thank you for your feedback, as a result we’ve implemented further checks on the level of the gas cylinders prior to every visit. We’ve also made an addition to the welcome folder that details there’s a land line available to use in the house for such circumstances. Finally we’ve added hand wash to the welcome pack - thank you for the suggestion! We hope you come to Creel Cottage again, Craster is delightful whatever the season. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Louise3.8Feb 2024

  • "The most idyllic location, everything perfect in the cottage, very comfortable and cosy."

    It had everything we wanted and more. We will defiantly go back. Thanks Nellie

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Nov 2023

  • "A lovely cottage in one of our favourite locations with great views of the harbour and the sea."

    The cottage was well equipped, very clean and lovely and warm. The bed was very comfy the only negative was the sofas in the lounge which weren’t very comfy.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Nov 2023

  • "We have just spent a lovely week in creel cottage."

    The Location was perfect, tranquil and directly opposite the harbour. We enjoyed walks with our dog up to Dunstanburgh castle which was stunning. The local pub was excellent and well worth a visit but you do need to book. The bedrooms were of a good size and our bed was very comfortable. The only down side was the bathroom being down stairs and also a trot through the kitchen is required! The kitchen was well equipped but little storage is available for food and drink. The seating area in the back garden is good but needs a bit of TLC around the seating area. The seating area across the (quiet) road was lovely and looking out over the harbour and sea was wonderful. There were a few areas for improvement however, the sofas in lounge were terribly uncomfortable and looked a little tired. On arrival at the cottage the bathroom had a strong smell of bleach which we realised after a day masked a damp smell. The parking area is ok if you have a small to medium car but anything bigger you will struggle like us as the large bush needs a trim back in order for your car to get in. The gate also needs some repair as the bolt securing it is hanging off - this is an easy area to be improved as parking at the front is difficult. Despite these issues we did have a nice time.

    Thank you for your feedback, we're delighted you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time. Thank you for mentioning the maintenance points, we've highlighted these to the team at Northumberland Coast and Country Cottages and these will be looked at straight away. If you come again with a larger car we've another parking space available behind the cottage so just let us know. We'd love you to visit Creel Cottage again and enjoy the beautiful Northumberland coast. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne3.4Aug 2023

  • "We loved Creel Cottage, and the description was very accurate."

    Great location and views, and it was fantastic to be able to eat breakfast and lunch in the garden overlooking the harbour and greeting all the walkers passing on their way to Dunstanburgh Castle. The cottage is very well equipped, but we suggest maybe providing a tray or two so guests can carry plates etc into the gardens, particularly the front one.

    We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay, we love the view from the front garden too! Thank you for the helpful feedback- we’ve now provided a tray to make it easier for meals and drinks in the front and back gardens. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony4.1Jul 2023

  • "Beautifully decorated cottage in superb location but not managed well."

    The welcome pack was paltry ; many cottages provide at least some fresh milk in the fridge. To restrict cleaning materials is unnecessary; ie 3 dishwasher tablets. The cleaning was slipshod; kitchen bin dirty . Only one partially used toilet roll was provided with no spares which is insufficient. The info provided was inadequate; as there is no shop in the village it would have been useful to have mentioned that the smokery sells bread. Most cottages provide a small basket of logs as a starter but we were met with a totally empty log basket. It would have been useful to mention that the parking space at the rear of the property is only suitable for small to medium cars. Our stay was marred by a lack of info and a penny pinching approach.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are really sorry to read that you felt the welcome pack wasn’t sufficient and we are changing those based on your comments. We have also updated our information pack which will detail what you can purchase locally – in respect of things like bread etc. We have also now introduced a better starter pack for the wood burner. We haven’t experienced an issue with cleaning before, but we have raised this with the cleaning company and have introduced an additional spot check prior to guests arriving. We love our coastal cottage and want our guests to have the best experience possible and feedback like yours helps us improve. We do hope you would consider coming back to us in the future Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cheryl3.4Apr 2023

  • "I loved staying here we were right next to the water and had wonderful walks ..."

    I loved staying here we were right next to the water and had wonderful walks from the cottage My one complaint was that on your listing it states there was a wood burning stove and that all fuel and power were included in the rent I took this to mean we would be provided with logs yet when we arrived there were two small logs at the bottom of a large basket with no kindling or fire lighters I rang your office immediately to be told we were self catering and you could not provide the logs as it was too expensive She then told me we had been provided with a ‘starter pack’ I’m sorry but two small logs and no kindling or firefighters does not in my opinion class as a starter pack There was no where in the village to buy logs so we had to wait until the next day to go to Embleton to buy what we needed I was so looking forward to sitting infront if the fire on my first night so was very disappointed I couldn’t

    Thank you for your feedback, it really helps. We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful walks. In respect of the feedback on the starter pack for the fire, we are sorry you didn’t get to enjoy your first night in front of the fire and we have introduced a better equipped pack for guests following your comments. We do hope you would consider coming again as the Northumberland coast is so different and varied throughout the year. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda4.7Mar 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay, stunning location."

    Beds were really comfortable. Could do with more comfortable sofas in living room

    Reviewed by Wendy4.4Mar 2023

  • "The cottage was excellent other than if you are with other couples staying in the cottage there isn’t much sound insulation!"

    ! Also as reported the dishwasher door was damaged on our arrival and also the bins hadn’t been emptied from the previous week. Location and presentation fantastic, thank you

    Reviewed by Simon4.7Mar 2023

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size zip-link (can be set up as a twin on request), 1 x king-size
  • Ground-floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Gas heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven, electric hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, dishwasher
  • TV, WiFi
  • All power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for 1 car at the rear plus additional parking 50 yards away
  • Front and rear non-enclosed garden with furniture
  • One well behaved dog welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles
  • Note: Steps down to garden

The property

Settled into the picturesque seaside town of Craster, Northumberland, Creel Cottage is ideal for a family or two couples looking for a coastal getaway.

Park off-road and enter into a wonderful white-painted cottage, where roof beams and tiled flooring stretch throughout the ground floor.

Be welcomed into the sitting area by the glow of a woodburning stove, settling into one of the stylish grey sofas and enjoying this light room and the tasteful décor and furniture within it.

The kitchen/diner has ample amenities and will cater to all of your culinary needs, with a range style oven nestled within a historic stone fireplace and a dining table so that all guests can enjoy a heart-warming meal together, and the bathroom can also be found on the ground floor.

The charm of this property continues upstairs, where you will find a king-size zip-link bedroom with tasteful furniture and pale hues throughout the blankets, and a double with vintage furniture and wooden flooring.

Outside, enjoy dining alfresco dining in the garden where a patio sports a bench and there is a small lawn area with raised decking and shrubs.

Craster is a lovely seaside town with a selection of tasty eateries, a convenience store and a small beach and harbour, so spend a morning exploring the local town.

Craster has many close by amenities, including Dunstanburgh Castle and Dunstanburgh Heughs Nature Reserve and you can explore the coastline further by following the Northumberland Coastal Path.

Further from the property you will find the wonderful town of Bamburgh with its amazing sandy beach and magnificent castle.

Make a seaside holiday to remember with a stay at Creel Cottage.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Alnwick 7 miles; Embleton 3 miles.

A picturesque village that seems to tumble into the sea, Craster was an important fishing harbour in the 17th century and is still famous for its oak cured kippers which have graced the best breakfast tables for more than 150 years. The village offers a pub serving food, a fish restaurant and Robson's famous fish shop. There is also an excellent children's playground. Nearby are some of Northumberland's finest sandy beaches. Just south of Craster is Howick Hall, which was built in 1782 and has associations with the Grey family, including Earl Grey the great social reformer and tea enthusiast. The gardens at Howick Hall are open to the public during the spring and summer and are especially worth a visit during the rhododendron season. A walk along the coastal footpath to the north of Craster brings you to the dramatic ruins of Dunstanburgh Castle - the largest ruined castle in Northumberland.

View more holiday cottages in Craster

Note: The bed in bedroom 2 is a king-size zip-link as standard, if you require this to be twin beds, please contact us.
No starter fuel provided for stove.
Please note: From September onwards minimum of 1 week stays apply with Friday arrival