Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 17 View Image Gallery
  • Spinnaker - Northumberland - 1122227 - photo 1


(Ref. 1122227)

Low Newton-by-the-Sea, Northumberland Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (8)
  • no (7)
  • bed (6)
  • everything (6)
  • beach (5)
  • need (5)

19 Customer Reviews

  • "We really liked Spinnaker and can't understand previous, less than positive reviews, specifically: we didn't see or smell any damp, we found the cottage very well equipped, all the TVs worked (not that we spent any time watching them with such a wonderful beach and pub on the doorstep!"

    ) and the 2023 building work was finished a long time ago. The cottage was clean, warm and cosy and we would happily return

    Reviewed by Nick4.7Apr 2024

  • "The accommodation was brilliant however we turned up to what only could be described as a building site going on around the building."

    So much so we couldn’t find the building and the builder had to tell us that a extremely tight parking space half taken up by scaffolding was where we needed to be He did say I hope they told you about the building work going on as they had asked the owners to do so from the start. But it was a very bad start to our holiday with no prior notice from the owner or Sykes They only worked 8-4 however given we were there with a 20 month old child who needs to nap in an afternoon the noise caused us a lot of issues. Afternoon naps were impossible so we had to try and get him to nap in the car, after paying nearly £700 for 4 night accommodation that was very disappointing The accommodation was clean and a great location a short walk to the beach and pub but the building work ruined it for us, if we had some prior notice we could of at least gone prepared or been offered to change the date

    Reviewed by Declan3.4Sep 2023

  • "This cottage and the owners customer care need addressing ."

    Sadly we had a terrible experience , we were notified at 4pm the day before arrival that there was scaffolding on the building as the roof was being mended , the scaffolding had not been put up that day it had been up a while ( this was industrial type scaffolding as the roof was removed not just a small amount , we were unable to open windows , there was builders debris everywhere, a winch operating 8am -4pm and constant banging ) the owners would have been well aware of this and could have given us a lot more warning ( obs not adhering to their own t&c) The cottage has a serious damp issue with the back double bedroom smelling considerably of damp , I see that this has been mentioned in previous reviews but the owners fail to acknowledge this . We were particularly hard hit by this as we couldn't open the windows for ventilation due to the building work ie noise and debris . Such a shame the owners wouldn't engage and be understanding of a customers genuine complaints ......

    Thank you for your feedback. We are bitterly dissapointed that you felt you had to leave this review. You were informed of the scaffolding at the property well in advance of your stay, you had also seen this on your visit to the village and we can only apologise that you felt it had detracted from your stay but didn't feel you needed to mention this during your stay and when you had friends around to our property. In light of the building works over running, we feel it is necessary to inform you again that this is a National Trust property and they needed to carry out essential roof works to this property, not something that we feel affected the ground floor where you stayed. Our inclement North East weather hampered the works so it did run over a little, for this you gladly accepted our good will gesture. We have had the property inspected and there are no issues with damp, we also ensured throughout any building works that windows could be opened as this forms part of the building escape plan. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathy1.9Jul 2023

  • "Extensive damp and poor ventilation."

    Exceptionally uncomfortable bed, furniture, and generally poorly equip including a tv that doesn’t work. Complete con.

    As owner of Spinnaker, I feel it necessary to respond to this “review” of our property which is damaging and simply malicious. You complained to the agency for the following; 1) Main bedroom- extensive damp, wet carpet and wet bed. Utterly false statement. The property was inspected the day after you left by the agency and NO DAMP was found, no smell and certainly no wet carpet and bed. They even said that they could hardly believe the complaints related to this property- they described it as warm, welcoming and charming and very well equipped. 2) Poor ventilation- all rooms are individually heated with fully operational windows to both front and rear of the property. 3) Televisons not working- ALL televisions are fully operational and tuned. As for calling our property a total con, I would like to ask why, having received a £500 refund from Northumbria Cottages based on your inaccurate description, would you then ask to continue to use Spinnaker as a base, free of charge?? Having spoken at length with the agency, the “con” does not lie with us. The comments you have displayed are utterly false, malicious lies. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matthew1.3Jul 2023

  • "This cottage is in an ideal position for the beach and lovely walks."

    However, we arrived to find the grill pan left with foil and bacon fat still in it from previous residents and my husband had to tighten the toilet seat himself as it had been left so loose it wouldn't stay up. At one point we thought a mouse had run out from under the couch (it was a ball of fluff) when we moved the couch it had not been hoovered under. Also there was a smell of damp in both the bedrooms but the cork tiles on the walls also had a peculiar smell, the TV was a bit hit and miss, it might have freeview but maybe needs a new aerial? This cottage could be really lovely with a re-decoration and definitely more comfortable seating in the living area, the couches were rock hard.

    Reviewed by Garry2.5Jun 2023

  • "So many positives about the cottage, which we loved."

    It was ideal for us, both from a location point of view and its size. Problem issues were twofold: The damp in the double bedroom wasn’t pleasant and we generally had to keep the window open and use some heating (more than we would like) when in to air the room; and the beds were too hard for us, and we prefer a firm bed/mattress to sleep on, so our quality of sleep wasn’t great. We did love the cottage, though, so really conflicted about future bookings.

    Reviewed by John4.4May 2023

  • "Fabulous place well equipped very comfortably and handy for the ship x"

    Reviewed by Joanne5.0Mar 2023

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Spinnaker, an excellent location gave us the chance to relax and enjoy the wonderful coastline."

    Reviewed by Ian5.0Mar 2023

  • "Thank you, we have fulfilled our ambition to stay in Low Newton."

    The property was exceptionally clean, spacious, and had everything we needed to enjoy a wonderful coastal family holiday in a beautiful location. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire holiday.

    Aug 2021

  • "Have been before and it’s still one of the best."

    Everything you could possibly need is provided and was pristine clean. Just a shame no outside space but The Square is just round the corner. Fantastic

    May 2021

  • "This is a compact cottage but is well designed."

    The decor is of a high standard and the beds are comfortable with excellent duvets. Generally an excellent place to stay!

    Nov 2019

  • "We have been to Spinnaker many times."

    Although small the situation is superb..........

    Jul 2019

  • "Good cottage."

    Loved the decor. Everything we needed.

    Oct 2018

  • "Third visit says it all."

    Sep 2018

  • "Fantastic property."

    Has everything you could possibly need in a self catering cottage.

    Jul 2018

  • "Everything you need, very close to the beach, great walking directly outside your door and only a few miles from the hills."

    Jun 2018

  • "Simply perfect!"

    !! Ideal for walks to many coastal villages and superb location for exploring Northumberland and dare I say it - the Scottish borders.

    Jun 2018

  • "Nice apartment close to the beach."

    Apr 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage with everything you could possibly need, all good quality too."

    Could not fault it.

    Apr 2018

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Northumbria Coast and Country Cottages collection.
The number 1 choice and best value holiday cottages from the Northumberland specialists. Discover our beautiful county with us.


  • Single-storey
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double with TV, 1 x twin with TV
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric heating
  • Electric oven, grill and hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine, dishwasher, hairdryer
  • 2 x TVs, TV/DVD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and highchair available
  • Private parking for 1 car
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 2.7 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.1 miles

The property

Occupying the ground-floor of a delightful stone-built property in Low Newton close to Newton-by-the-Sea in Northumberland, Spinnaker offers guests light and spacious accommodation which is ideal for a family on holiday.

The open-plan living space has an extensive seating area including sofas and a window seat, providing the perfect opportunity for visitors to take a pew and relax into their holiday.

The attractive kitchen is fully fitted with all that’s needed to whip up delicious food for the whole family and the open space means that even cooking can be a truly sociable experience.

When it’s time to eat, guests can pull up a chair at the elegant dining table and tuck into long, leisurely meals together.

When it’s time for bed, choose from a double and a twin, both are attractive and come complete with TVs, so you don’t need to argue over the remote control!

In the morning, you are already in the perfect location with the beach at Low Newton on the doorstep and the picturesque village of Newton-by-the-Sea also close by with simply stunning beach views and a little further away is the picturesque fishing village of Beadnell which is also worth a visit.

Beadnell Bay offers miles of sandy beaches with loads of delightful coastal paths ideal for a hike rewarded with some fantastic views along the way.

Attractions worth a visit include Dunstanburgh Castle, Hadrian’s Wall, Bamburgh Castle, Northumberland Country Zoo and RSPB reserves at Hauxley and Annstead.

Spinnaker is a beautiful beach bolthole which promises to deliver a memorable family holiday.

View on map

About the location


Beadnell 3 miles; Craster 4 miles.

The small coastal village of Low Newton-by-the-Sea is situated on Northumberland's Heritage Coastline between the popular fishing villages of Craster, famous for its kippers, and Beadnell. Beadnell Bay offers excellent sandy beaches and there are spectacular coastal paths with wonderful scenery. The village has a pub which serves food and the historic town of Alnwick is only a short drive away.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas