Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • The Joiners Shop - Peak District - 999755 - photo 1
close

The Joiners Shop

(Ref. 999755)

Ticknall nr Melbourne, Derbyshire, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.7

Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 3 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • table (17)
  • lovely (16)
  • comfortable (16)
  • clean (13)
  • well (12)
  • cottage (12)

36 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely comfortable property."

    It wasn’t quite as clean as I’d have hoped, crockery wasn’t particularly clean and everything had to be properly washed before use. Light in the downstairs ensuite didn’t work. No salt or pepper as promised. No cooking oil or anything like that which I just assumed there would be, never stated anywhere where those things weren’t there. Tea and coffee were there for our use, and cupcakes instead of biscuits- thank you.

    Thank you for your feedback, which is important to us. We will ask our cleaning team to check the dishwasher and ensure everything is functioning correctly. We would happily have attended to sort out the ensuite light had we been made aware of the issue. This has now been rectified. We are sorry you were disappointed with the items provided. Expectations of a self-catering property do naturally differ and we do include provisions to enable a warm drink and something to eat on arrival. We trust you were still able to enjoy your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Feb 2024

  • "Lovely, well-equipped, comfortable cottage."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the cottage and your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Matt5.0Dec 2023

  • "Spacious cottage in a lovely location."

    Perfect for visiting numerous places in the local area. Beds very comfortable and kitchen was well equipped for preparing meals. Would certainly recommend.

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Nov 2023

  • "The property was beautiful and very comfortable."

    The house had everything we needed and was cosy and warm the whole time we were there. We were welcomed with a delicious cake, and a bottle of milk in the fridge. All we needed to have a cup of tea and a bite to eat on arrival. The area was lovely with plenty to see and do. We were even lucky with the weather. Thank you for a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Nov 2023

  • "Beautiful house, perfect for our needs."

    Really great area to explore. Location was good.

    Reviewed by Anne5.0Sep 2023

  • "A lovely place to stay."

    The cottage was bigger than I expected, very clean and comfortable. It’s ideally located if you’re interested in visiting national trust places as there are lots to cost within a 30 min radius. Highly recommended.

    Thank you for your positive feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and the local area. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nathan5.0Aug 2023

  • "The Joinery Shop was very clean and comfortable."

    We felt at home straight away. everything we could possibly need was there. Lots of places of interest to visit close by and a pub right next door which had lovely meals. All in all a great holiday and the beds were extremely comfortable. We will recommend to our friends and family. Thank you.

    Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback, which is always appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation clean, comfortable and with everything you needed. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0May 2023

  • "I'm awaiting a response to my complaint."

    I didn't want to leave feedback until after Sykes responded, but I keep getting emails saying you've not left feedback, leave feedback... so I'm doing this to stop the emails. I had an email saying someone had been allocated to deal with it. The Sykes dashboard says 1 new message, but the only message there is the one I sent. In a nutshell, the place was filthy above about 1.5m from the ground and hadn't been deep cleaned obviously in years from the size of the black cobwebs and the thick dust visibly falling off beams. I've sent Sykes photos. I'm allergic to feathers, and it's the first time I've stayed anywhere in years with feather duvets and pillows. Was a nightmare for me, and combined with the dust, it wasn't a restful holiday. We work in hospitality so know how much work is involved in cleaning... but that was really poor.

    Thank you for your feedback, which has been acknowledged. We have been in communication with Sykes, but only received the photographs you provided on 5th June. We regret that you did not find the property to your satisfaction. We are sure you will appreciate that the high level beams in the property can collect dust and can also be considerably difficult to access given the interior height and design of the property. We have however spoken with our cleaners regarding this matter and invested in a telescopic cleaning instrument to assist in the cleaning process following your complaint. We would have hoped that you would have raised your concerns about the property during your stay when matters could have been discussed and action taken, and indeed contacted Sykes ahead of your stay to enquire about the duvet and pillows given your allergy, which would have enabled you to make a decision about its suitability. We strive to maintain high standards of cleanliness at the property, which we feel is reflected in the positive feedback provided by guests throughout this year. On this occasion it would appear that the property did not meet your own particular standards and we regret that you did not enjoy your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Scott2.8May 2023

  • "Super cottage - really large and spacious, great location"

    Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Caroline5.0Apr 2023

  • "Very comfortable and well finished accommodation."

    Ideally situated for walking, plenty of choice around Calke Abbey. Good food in the pub next door if you don't fancy cooking. Would return.

    We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the local food and area. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Apr 2023

  • "Hi the cottage was lovely however due to the unusual building layout (steps on the ground floor) my dad unfortunately fell walking over the step to the hallway and broke his hip so he is currently recovering in hospital in Derby."

    I think this needs to be highlighted on the step itself or some kind of warning on the write-up to prevent this from happening to anyone else.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.4Apr 2023

  • "Great property."

    Stayed here for a wedding that was in the locality. Good space and really clean. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Mar 2023

  • "A lovely place Great location fabulous rooms and garden space."

    Well equipped and spacious. The bathrooms enable everyone to have their own.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Mar 2023

  • "Excellent property in a lovely location."

    Very comfortable, luxurious even and spacious. There are some lovely walks nearby - a guide to these would be useful for future guests. Recommended

    Reviewed by Graham5.0Feb 2023

  • "Great accommodation in a beautiful area."

    Well equipped, comfortable and warm. Ideal position with walks from the door.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth4.7Dec 2022

  • "Outstanding!"

    Fabulous renovation work making this a wonderful place to stay, even at the end of November. Very comfortable, spacious, clean and welcoming. Many thanks

    Reviewed by Jeremy5.0Nov 2022

  • "Beautiful well equipped accommodation in a lovely village with the Tramway Trail and Calke Abbey on the doorstep and a pub next door serving nice meals."

    Lots of places to see locally including Foremark Reservoir and the books in the accommodation suggested nice walks nearby too. Would love to return.

    Reviewed by Claire4.7Oct 2022

  • "We were three couples and the property was ideal as we each had privacy with our own bathroom or en suite and then the lovely communal area for cooking, eating and relaxing."

    Great location for exploring The National Forest and the Peak District if you don’t mind a short drive. No complaints!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Oct 2022

  • "Such a wonderful property for our visit home from California."

    Plenty of space for us and our 3 almost adult children, comfortable beds, and a wonderful garden. The house was also really clean, and well equipped. The pub next door does amazing food and the staff were incredibly friendly. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in England

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Jun 2022

  • "Loved every bit of it."

    Very bright and modern, spacious, clean and nicely decorated. Beds are very cozy. I saw in a few reviews it said you heard the noise of the road. Well, I am a very light sleeper and I didn't hear a thing! Great walking nearby too, as it's around the corner from Calke Abbey. Just wonderful all around.

    Thank you very much for your review. Guest feedback is important to us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stefanie5.0Mar 2022

  • "We had a terrific time thank you."

    Loved the house, and the location was ideal. All was extremely comfortable. Everything was well stocked too - which was really nice. Beautiful garden and summer house although we didn't really use as it's November. Could do with a few more knives/forks (for when the 'first set' are still in the dishwasher). And a proper coffee facility would be good - maybe an Espresso machine? Otherwise 10/10 definitely - thank you.

    Thank you so much for your response and we will take your comments into consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back perhaps during the warmer summer months when the garden and summer house can be enjoyed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Nov 2021

  • "This is a lovely holiday house, clean, tidy, quality fixtures & fittings and very social with lots of room."

    There is plenty to do in the area either by taking a short drive or walking. We made use of 2 pubs in the village, enjoying a lovely meal in the staff of life when we arrived which is just next door! Would recommend and would use again.

    We appreciate your positive feedback, thank you. There is so much to do in the local area and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Nov 2021

  • "A few people in other reviews mentioned the road noise but we didn’t find this to be a problem at all."

    You could hear cars during the day but no one in our stay was woken up by it in the mornings or kept awake at night. The Joiners Shop is in an excellent location, has plenty of space and provided us with a really comfortable stay for a long weekend. Thank you!

    We are very pleased that your enjoyed your stay and thank you for submitting this feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Oct 2021

  • "A lovely property in a beautiful part of England."

    Spotlessly clean when we arrived, internet was good, able to stream iPlayer from the downstairs bedroom and on the main tv in the lounge. No mobile phone signal . The kitchen was well equipped, though no chopping board or tongs but I always take a few of my favourite utensils with me anyway as I like cooking. Also a nice utility room with washer dryer. Plenty of parking next to the property in a private courtyard. A tidy looking pub next door though we never used it and a friendly little village / takeaway food shop. Calke Abbey country park within 5 minute walk and plenty of large brand supermarkets within a 15 minute drive. Slightly busy road through the village so there was some traffic noise and fairly close to East Midlands Airport so there was the occasional bit of air traffic. All in all a tidy holiday and we would definitely stay there again.

    Reviewed by Mark4.7Sep 2021

  • "Third visit in the last year!"

    Previously great! This time very disappointing. Standards have slipped majorly. Had to request the master bedroom have bedding put on, the living area had not been vacuumed or cleaned. The bedroom bin had not been emptied…. This was an expensive option for 3 nights……

    Reviewed by Michele3.1Aug 2021

  • "Very well appointed cottage with private garden in a nice and friendly courtyard."

    Close to 2 good pubs, one of which does excellent food. Only drawback is the traffic noise from the main road, which can be noisy at times.

    Reviewed by Scott5.0Jun 2021

  • "Lovely well equipped and comfortable place to stay, would most definitely return."

    Reviewed by Alison4.7Sep 2020

  • "It is on a busy road."

    There is a bbq. The house was really lovely, very clean. The downside was the road noise in the downstairs double bedroom and the fact that there is no window to the outside in the main bedroom, it was very warm and stuffy in the main bedroom. Apart from that we really enjoyed staying in The Joiners Shop. The summer house was a nice addition to.

    Reviewed by Veronica5.0Aug 2020

  • "Listed as having parking for 3 cars but cottage details states only 2, some clarity should be published as there is sufficient for 3."

    On a main road and not double glazed so very noisy in the Downstairs bedroom

    Reviewed by Jo4.4Aug 2020

  • "Awesome cottage."

    Excellently equipped. Very clean.

    Reviewed by Michele5.0Aug 2020

  • "The cottage cleanliness was not high."

    We had expected with covid-19 regulations that the cottage would be immaculately clean, sadly it was not. We also expected that certain items would have been removed due to covid-19, ie DVDs, cuschions throws and books etc. Despite these comments we had a lovely time and the cottage is very good, even with the noisy road and being on the flight path from East Midlands Airport

    Reviewed by Paul3.1Jul 2020

  • "This Property has to be seen to be believed the photos on Sykes web site look good but the reality is even better what a fabulous place."

    The quality of the fixtures and fitting was first class. An auto light over the key box would help when arriving in the dark. Luckily I had a torch in the car. If like me you are over 6ft remember to duck when entering or exiting the cottage. As it was February and we were there during storm Dennis we did not get to enjoy the garden or summer house but I can see how great it would be during a warm summers day. The garden is fully enclosed and would be safe for children. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Joiners Shop to all A special thank you to the neighbour, David for lending a pair of walking boots to my granddaughter. They certainly helped a lot.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Feb 2020

  • "All good . Comfortable and spacious, very well appointed and equipped."

    No complaints at all.

    Reviewed by David5.0Nov 2019

  • "Booking was very easy, arriving and accessing the property a straight forward process and the property breath-taking as soon as we stepped inside!"

    What a beautifully converted barn in an L-shape with high quality flooring, furnishings and fittings, wonderfully light and spacious equipped with everything to make our stay a complete delight. We had booked for three nights to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday and were provided with extra chairs to accommodate a family birthday tea. Even though it was pouring with rain outside, indoors there was room for adults and children to enjoy being in the large lounge, dining, kitchen area, or in the smaller second lounge. There is a large TV screen, DVD player, internet, and even a super selection of puzzles, games and books. The large utility area provided space for all the food and supplies we wanted, with a large fridge/freezer, washing/drying machine, all manner of cleaning and domestic items including BBQ utensils which convinced us to return in better weather. Outdoors the garden is securely walled and grassed with a patio, BBQ and table with chairs in addition to an attractive Summer House also with seating. The three bedrooms are beautifully decorated, two with en suite bathrooms and the third with a large bathroom close by. There is parking for two cars by the entrance and easy free parking round the corner on the Main Street. We had thought of having drinks and a meal or two at the Staff of Life which is just next door or breakfast at Scoff and Shop on the Main Street which both had appealing menus but we enjoyed being at The Joiners Cottage so much we just stayed put! We walked round nearby Calke Abbey which took just 30 minutes to walk to and 15 minutes to drive to the main house where there was a restaurant and beautiful walks for an entrance fee. We checked out at 10am and drove ten minutes to nearby Swarkestone Nursery Garden Centre for a full breakfast to round off our stay perfectly. We would certainly love to return and explore the area more fully and will be booking The Joiners Cottage again for sure.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Nov 2019

  • "A spacious, warm and very comfortable cottage, immaculately clean with everything we needed."

    Hope to come back again soon, and will certainly recommend this wonderful cottage to our friends.

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Oct 2019

  • "Perfect for staying with my elderly parents, especially as there is a downstairs bedroom with ensuite."

    Reviewed by Rachel4.7Oct 2019

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Three bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x ground-floor king-size with en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x twin
  • Bathroom with bath, walk-in shower, basin, and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Utility room
  • Snug
  • Underfloor heating to ground floor, radiators on the first floor, via ground source heat system
  • Electric oven and ceramic hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washer/dryer, dishwasher, hairdryer
  • Smart TV with Freeview and Netflix, DVD player, stereo with Bluetooth capability and built-in CD player, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair and travel cot available
  • Off-road parking for 3 cars
  • Lawned garden with patio and furniture, summerhouse with furniture
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 2.6 miles, pub 0.5 miles Please note: The downstairs is not on one level, there is a small step down from the hallway into the living area.

The property

Situated on the historic Harpur Crewe Estate, the Joiners Shop rests beautifully in the picturesque village of Ticknall, one of South Derbyshire’s prettiest villages and known for its beautiful parkland surrounded by attractive well-wooded countryside.

With tasteful accommodation over two levels; friends, families and couples alike can treat themselves to a cottage holiday of the highest order.

Positioned within a charming courtyard setting, this characteristic property is tastefully decorated and tells a tale of history with a collection of artwork, photographs and books all relating to the Harpur Crewe Estate and the former ancestral seat at Calke Abbey.

Enter into the inviting entrance snug, featuring traditional wooden beams and an exposed stone wall in contrast with contemporary and colourful décor, the ideal space to kick off your shoes after a long journey or active day, and also offering a calm space in which to sit and get lost in a book or unwind with a morning coffee or afternoon cup of tea.

Venture further into the bright and contemporary open-plan living space, creating a vibrant social environment where the whole family can gather throughout the day.

Turn on the TV and relax back into the comfortable sofas in the sitting area, or flick on the radio and rustle up a family favourite in the spacious well-equipped kitchen, ready to enjoy at the contemporary, wooden dining table in the centre of the room.

When the night draws to a close, head to one of the three individually styled bedrooms to unwind further and drift gently off to sleep.

The ground floor plays host to a king-size bedroom with en-suite, while upstairs offers a super-king-size bedroom with en-suite, twin bedroom and family bathroom featuring Victorian style roll top bath.

In the warmer months, the enclosed rear garden is the perfect place to be.

Play on the lawn with the children or dine alfresco on the outdoor patio.

Even during rainy days you can sit within the comfort of the stunning summerhouse and while the time away.

The local area is idyllic and offers much for visitors to see and do.

Pull on your walking boots and take a stroll into the village or venture into the vast green lands of Calke Abbey Park, stopping for refreshments at the village café/takeaway.

Two local pubs also offer food and drink in relaxing surroundings.

Staunton Harold Reservoir is close by and the bustling Georgian market town of Melbourne just 2.6 miles away.

Here you can find an old mill pool relating to the town’s name meaning of ‘Mill Stream’, the historic and picturesque Melbourne Hall and Gardens, plus an array of eateries to indulge in.

Going further afield are the various country parks within Charnwood Forest and the delights of the Peak District National Park.

The Joiners Shop is a fantastic property, the perfect place for all the family and providing everything you need for a self-catering stay in beautiful settings.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

MELBOURNE, DERBYSHIRE

Derby 8 miles.

Melbourne is a small Georgian market town in a delightful part of South Derbyshire on the edge of The National Forest. It is about 8 miles south of Derby and 2 miles from the River Trent. It contains a good range of shops, pubs and restaurants. The village is also home to The church of St Michael with St Mary which is on the site of a much earlier Anglo Saxon building, and is regarded as one of the finest Norman Parish Churches in the country. It is 8 miles north of Swadlincote. There is much to enjoy in the village, including a lovely relaxing walk through rolling South Derbyshire countryside, starting from Melbourne’s medieval market place. Two of the county’s gems, Melbourne Hall and the Parish Church of St Michael’s, are passed in the early part of your stroll. Make the most of this attractive location all year round.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas