Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • Horton Lodge Boathouse - Peak District - 1060047 - photo 1

Horton Lodge Boathouse

(Ref. 1060047)

Rudyard Lake near Leek, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • hot (21)
  • tub (20)
  • hot tub (20)
  • stay (19)
  • lovely (19)
  • our (16)

38 Customer Reviews

  • "This little place is beautifully done, extremely comfortable and such a unique place to stay."

    The location is just perfect, no noise apart from owls at night, and the odd gentle boat going by. Its 5 mins from the supermarket and nearest little town, and walking along the track down to the sailing club is a perfect little morning treck for our elderly pooch. The steps down are a bit of a killer, especially the last few with quite a rickety handrail! But that is minor compared to everything else. Such a lovely place and very welcoming owners who couldn't do enough to help. We do hope to be back!

    Reviewed by Jan4.7Mar 2024

  • "Lovely warm, cosy place to stay."

    Had everything we wanted and more. The owner made us feel very welcome, and made us feel that if we wanted anything he was there for us. Would definitely recommend Horton lodge boathouse. Would live to go back in the summer but sadly it's to expensive for us

    Thank you so much for your comments Brenda. So glad you had an enjoyable stay at the Boathouse apartment Property Owner

    Reviewed by Brenda5.0Dec 2023

  • "Everything about the property and location was perfect."

    Very suitable for dogs as well, especially if the like water. Thank yiu Tony and Zoe for a wonderful stay.

    Thank you for your feedback Helen, so glad you had a great stay, dogs always love it here. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Nov 2023

  • "We had a great long weekend at the Boathouse, Extremely clean, well maintained and the perfect getaway spot, Fabulous owners, very accommodating and had everything ready for us on our arrival, including the hot tub, which we were able to use on arrival."

    Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no reservations recommending it and would certainly return here.

    Reviewed by Andy5.0Oct 2023

  • "We had a lovely week at the Boathouse, it is truly unique and beautiful with stunning views and wildlife."

    Never seen a bedroom with a better view. We loved the African Swallows that were nesting, watching the chicks being fed and walking round the lake. I wish I had got onto the lake more, the weather was not good which put me off, but once I had used the kayaks for the first time I realised the weather didn’t really matter, the dog even came out with me! We also used the hot tub every day (enjoying the bottle of Prosecco left for us) which is now electrically heated. The Hotel Rudyard serves really good food and the Cafe at the Dam end served amazing breakfast rolls, don’t waste your money at the sailing club though. Tony and Zoe were perfect hosts, very friendly without ever being intrusive, always answered any messages/queries promptly. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Sian5.0Jul 2023

  • "Absolutely stunning little gem of a place, had a fabulous stay tony the owner went above and beyond to make our stay as cosy as possible…if needed he was always on hand."

    .rowing boat or kayaking all on tap for you or just kick back and relax..views are amazing highly recommend will be returning definitely…Linda John n Hector..

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2023

  • "Had a fantastic stay here, loved the Hot Tub and Kayaks"

    Reviewed by Chris4.7Jun 2023

  • "Could be the "perfect place" if it didn't have so many issues."

    This place was advertised as "the perfect romantic place for a couple", and while it was certainly one of the more unique places I've been to, it definitely wasn't romantic. Primarily what it was; loud. I would suggest to anyone else booking this place to bring some ear plugs because the resident birds woke me up every morning at 4am with their incessant calling and, once the birds had left their nest, you wouldn't able to stay asleep because of the noise coming from the occupants upstairs once they had woke up. As the property advertised is an "apartment" you should expect a certain degree of noise from your neighbours, but when it keeps you awake, it takes away from the holiday experience. Ironic how this place does not accept booking for children, yet the owners themselves have kids that make a racket while you are trying to relax. Hardly the "ideal romantic get away". The noise and lack of privacy combined with how dirty the place was (utensils, floors, decking etc.) means it couldn't provide my girlfriend and I with the relaxing break that we had wanted. Some less considerable issues that the owner may want to address is that there is no partition between the toilet and the bedroom, the fall on the shower is wrong so the water collects in the tray, which the dog kept trying to drink (very annoying), and the curtains do absolutely nothing to keep the sun out in the morning. A more serious issue are the stairs going down onto the pier, which are loose and pose an increased hazard. I can't say that I didn't have fun, because I did enjoy using the provided kayaks and hot tub. It certainly is a privilege to be able to launch from your accommodation. But, the severe let-downs of this place means that in the future I'd be more inclined to go for a more basic place that actually has it fundamentals sorted out rather than Horton Lodge Boathouse-- sorry-- Apartment.

    So sorry to hear that the boathouse apartment didn’t meet your expectations. I can only apologise that you were woken up by the African swallows that nest in the boathouse. They come back every year during the spring to nest where they were born. We are very proud to have such incredible wildlife in our property, being in a nature reserve, we do have lots of rare and exciting wildlife such as the otter that is also making a home of the boathouse. Something the vast majority of our guests appreciate and love about our property. We do have children, we would happily accept children staying in the apartment but just can’t due to the apartment being one bedroom it doesn’t lend itself well to family accommodation. I can only apologise if our children disturbed you but they are young and were extremely excited about the king’s coronation. I can assure you that they are not usually disturbing guests. As for the cleanliness of the decking, I’m quite surprised as we pressure wash the decking every other week. I’m glad you did manage to enjoy the unique experience our apartment provides, having direct water access from a private beach that allows you to spend your time out on the water in either the kayaks or rowing boat we provide and relaxing in our hot tub, which itself feels like it’s out in the lake. It’s a shame the weather didn’t allow you to spend more time out on the water. That really is what this property is about and what most guests come to experience, Something not many properties can provide. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jake2.2May 2023

  • "What a beautiful space, in a beautiful location."

    My wife and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at Horton Lodge. Right on the lake, we were able to kayak right from the front door each day. The space was more than enough for the two of us, had everything we needed and was super comfortable. The view of the lake from the bedroom was spectacular. Tony, the host, went above and beyond to ensure we had all the local info we needed to eat/drink, and to make sure we knew what we needed to know about the property on arrival. Having a lovely hotel/pub/cafe just 10 (lovely) minutes walk down the lake path was also amazing. All in all a fantastic trip and we will absolutely be booking again later in the year. There are a few negative reviews for this place, which I might suggest my you ignore. A great place to be.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We’re very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning sometime soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Mar 2023

  • "I have been to many cottages and short breaks but this was truly a disaster."

    The draft from under the door was so so cold that we could not sit to watch the TV and we both ended up wearing our hats and put our jackets on . I sent a message to the owner to turn the central heating up more as it was barkey warm but there was no mobile net work .Although we had rented the cottage for 2 nights we left the cottage next day as our health was more important. The cottage is in a lovely surrounding but for 300 pounds a night I would expect a warm room . Total waste of money .never again.

    Thank you for your comments, and we’re sorry to hear that the apartment didn’t meet your specific needs. As soon as we were made aware of your comment of a draft coming through the door, we made our way down, however, on closer inspection, we found there was no draft whatsoever, but you had already left so there was no way of speaking to you. The temperature in the apartment is set to 21 degrees, which is an ambient and acceptable temperature for holiday lets, and is certainly sufficient for an apartment of this size. The living room also has a very efficient electric fireplace that can warm up the room in 20 minutes. We can only apologise if the mobile signal was not working properly at the time of your stay, which we would attribute to the beautiful rural location, as I explained when you arrived you can log in to the super fast fibre WiFi and use WiFi calling. Also we live directly upstairs and would have made it our priority to assist you had you approached us ( by knocking on the door maybe?) We recall you were unhappy since your arrival as you appeared to be under the impression that you had booked the entire house ( hence you saying cottage several times in your review), however it is clearly stated in the description that this is a ground floor apartment. We take great care to ensure our guests are looked after and would like to stress that, any time we are made aware of any issues, we do our very best to resolve them promptly. However after an inspection it became clear your ‘issue’ was untrue. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Iraj2.2Jan 2023

  • "Lovely area, and the owner Tony was nice and greeted us when we arrived."

    He gave us the run down on some of the basics in the apartment but most things we had to work out for ourselves. the apartment itself was nice but was dusty and dirty when we arrived, we had to go round and give it a good clean before we could feel at home. the kitchen was small and the oven was tricky to use despite there being an information manual. unfortunately the shower was broken for the whole week we were there, which left us with no hot water and had to have cold showers all week. however all the taps had instant hot water. not good for tall people as the lights hang low. overall we had a nice stay, but we’re disappointed with the standards.

    Hi Becky, thanks for your feedback. Sorry you found your stay disappointing. I see you failed to mention that I came to fix the shower as soon as you told me. When I left the apartment it was working fine. You then didn’t tell me that you were still experiencing a problem with the shower and you waited until after you left to then contact Sykes for compensation rather then telling me while you were there so that It could be resolved. The kitchen is well photographed and the description clearly states a small kitchen. The oven is a simple IKEA one with the full instructions available to you. I always greet guests and try to go through everything they may need to know on arrival, without intruding too much into their holiday as I’m aware guests want to get on and start enjoying their stay. I do make it clear that I am always contactable for any query however small. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Becky2.8Nov 2022

  • "Some small niggles: there is mention of having to descend 50 steps to the property but I feel it needs to be stressed that it is a steep descent and maybe not suitable for anyone with joint issues or arthritic problems."

    Two of the post rails at the bottom of the steps were loose and could of caused injury ( but didn’t ). The Hot tub was disappointing , had no jets or temp regulation and the area was poorly lit - if you wanted to use it after dark. It was a warm tub at best. The induction hob had no instructions, and the combination oven wasn’t particularly user friendly. Lastly, the septic tank was intermittently noisy for the last few days and kept us awake half the night

    Thank you for your feedback. It clearly states in the description of the property that there are 52 steps down to the the front door and that the property is not suitable for the elderly or infirm. If you have joint issues and mobility problems I would suggest maybe not to book a property that has a ‘warning about the steps’. It also clearly states that the hot tub is a wood fired, Scandinavian hot tub and does not have jets etc. This can also be seen in pictures and you are free to call us prior to making a booking to ask any questions about the hot tub, where I would have been happy to explain there is no jets etc. Lastly, there was no noise from a septic tank, the septic tank doesn’t make noise and is 200 meters away from the property. The noise you heard was the toilet macerator trying to deal with and clear the wipes etc that you flushed down the toilet, despite clear signage stating not to put anything down it other then loo roll. Thank you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Oct 2022

  • "Absolutely loved staying at Horton lodge."

    Right on the lake and it was so relaxing. Owner was very helpful and friendly. Lovely walk around the lake. Walking distance to local hotel where we used as a pub. It was exactly what we were after, relaxed and chilled. I would absolutely recommend staying here.

    Thank you so much for you feedback. So glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon. Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Oct 2022

  • "Lovely stay at Horton boathouse."

    What a beautiful place! Very comfortable, everything you need. Maybe a chest of drawers would be good but overall a great stay. Hosts were lovely.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Sep 2022

  • "Quirky boathouse."

    Sympathetically modernised with the original engineering fixtures retained. Such a peaceful location directly on the lake. Spent hours watching the wildlife and people using the water. Beautiful 5 mile easy walk right round the lake. The owner Tony was really helpful. Nice touch to leave us a bottle of Prosecco and some chocolate biscuits.

    Reviewed by Melanie5.0Sep 2022

  • "We had a great stay at Rudyard Lake, the property is lovely and right on the lake."

    Despite the owners living upstairs, we felt like we had privacy and were able to relax. There is some noise from upstairs as I’d read in previous reviews, but we were aware of this and understood that this is a ground floor property. Tony communicated really well with us, we really enjoyed using the kayaks and boat to go out on the lake. There is a lovely walk around the lake that takes about 1hr 45 that the dog loved! The tv has lots of streaming services that are free to use, and as we just wanted to relax in the evenings and watch a film, this was great. The large bed was a luxury for us and the view from the bedroom was beautiful to wake up to every morning! Really recommend Horton Lodge Boathouse to anyone who would like a little break away from normality!

    Reviewed by Hannah4.7Aug 2022

  • "When we arrived the view was great from the top we then made our way down the steps where I nearly landed on my back because one of the steps was very lose however we then went into the property and noticed a musty smell on entry but after the property got warm it went everything else in the cottage was spotless."

    The next day we used the facilities although this is picky it’s still must be said the decking was not the cleanest but again we carried on we then decided to used the hot tub nice and warm but again the wood in the water had a coat of grime on it so we didn’t use it again we was there for our anniversary so was a little disappointed the owners live above the cottage and where away until the Sunday night when they returned we could hear them quite easy but it was our last night for the amount of money we paid I thought we would of had a little better the area is stunning and great walks

    Reviewed by Ray4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely place in a lovely area."

    However, some things look great in a photo but aren't necessarily practical to live with. For instance: Bedroom - very little drawer space means that we lived out of our suitcase, which I personally hate. Just a small chest of drawers (or even some shelving in the tall, thin wardrobe) would have been a real help. Bathroom - position of mirror is too high for anyone below about 5' 1" (my wife!), but the shelf below the mirror is so close to base of mirror that you can barely put anything on it. Shower tray is not properly level, so all the water gathers (and overflows) at the far end of the tray, because the water cannot flow uphill to the drain towards the middle of the tray. And yes - I know it was shown in the pics, but there really needs to be a door of some kind on the en-suite. If someone has an upset stomach during their stay, it's not pleasant for either of the occupants! I fully understand that these things are relatively small (hence why I haven't given a terrible score) but they made a difference to the enjoyment of our stay. On a plus side, the hot tub was lovely, the living area was very comfortable, and we personally found the resident swallows absolutely fascinating & charming.

    Reviewed by Dougal4.4Aug 2022

  • "Lovely accommodation in a beautiful setting."

    On arrival everything looked lovely and Tony our host told us about the swallows that were currently using the front of the boathouse for nesting. This initially didn’t bother us as we live in the country so used to lots of bird noise however, this is on another level. The window to the bedroom looks out to the front and is not double glazed. Every morning as soon as it starts to get light about 3.30am to about 5am the birds come to life in an enclosed area that echoes and the noise woke us every morning so sleep was not great unfortunately. Not sure if Tony is aware of how noisy the swallows are as he lives above the accommodation but I think guests should be made aware of this before booking. The steps leading from the hosts house to the guest accommodation don’t feel as safe as they should and most of them feel loose underfoot. The steps to get to the kayaks, the last composite board is completely loose, tried to clip it back in but it is slightly warped and needs a couple screws. The whole of the decking could do with a jet wash. On the whole it is a lovely place to stay, a bit of attention is required on the composite steps otherwise we couldn’t fault the accommodation itself but the downside is we definitely would not return during the swallows nesting months.

    Reviewed by Rob4.7Jul 2022

  • "Horton Lodge Boathouse is in a beautiful location and has all the facilities you require for a relaxing stay."

    Tony, the owner is very friendly and helpful. There are plenty of places within easy reach for days out, but if you want to stay at the lake and walking is your thing there is plenty of wildlife to keep you entertained. I would highly recommend this holiday accommodation.

    Reviewed by Robin5.0Jun 2022

  • "We loved our little escape to the Horton Lodge Boathouse."

    The house itself was incredible and spending time soaking in the hot tub was a delight. I'd love to go again!

    Reviewed by Luke5.0Apr 2022

  • "Beautiful unique waterside apartment with fantastic views of Rudyard lake."

    It was extremely comfortable and the hot tub made it extra special. A couple of minor negative points. Some of the stairs leading up to the road are loose and need securing. Central heating seemed to have a mind of its own as to when it came on of off. Other than this, we had a great stay and highly recommend others to try.

    Reviewed by Stephen5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had the most amazing weekend, I couldn’t fault one thing with the property."

    It was cleaned perfectly, the bed was huge and the gesture of arrival Prosecco and cheese was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed the use of the hot tub, boat and kayaks. What a luxury stay, we will definitely return.

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Apr 2022

  • "Stopped for a long weekend break."

    The place was amazing, very comfortable with excellent facilities. I took washing up liquid, tea & coffee and a Tee towel, but there was no need as these were available, supplied by Tony and Zoe. Tony met us on arrival and explained the TV and hot tub controls. There was a bottle of Proseco with some crackers & cheese left for us which was very thoughtful. The rooms were to a very high standard and very comfortable. Got lost in the 'super king size bed', which was very comfortable. Fantastic to wake up and have views over the lake in the morning. Had a lovely meal at the hotel which was just a short drive away. Walked around the lake and stopped for a coffee in the lake side cafe which was very nice. I would highly recommend this place for a relaxing break.

    Reviewed by Dave5.0Jan 2022

  • "Tony and Zoe are so welcoming !"

    The location is amazing, the hot tub was great And the bed is huge !! Such a wonderful 30th surprise for my partner. Would book again 10/10

    Reviewed by Robyn5.0Dec 2021

  • "A great little place in a lovely location."

    The owner went out of his way to make us welcome and explain everything to us and the welcome pack of Wine, cheese, crackers and biscuits was well received. The area is great for walking with a couple of pubs at the head of the lake as well as the local at the bottom end. The hot tub was ready on arrival and very well used. A place for rest and relaxation and there is a very good chance we be returning.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Oct 2021

  • "Where do I start."

    The only reason we booked the cottage was for the hottub. I got a text from the owner the day before explaining this was broken - but they had a replacement. Upon arrival it was clear to see the old broken hot tub as it was in bits strewn across the decking with the replacement (a lazy spa - which we could have purchased ourselves with half the cost of our 2 night stay!) dumped by the side of the broken one. The steps on the way down to the property are badly lit and strewn with old plastic children's toys, the steps are uneven and decking lose which makes this pretty hazardous. The decking itself was filthy, covered in dirt an leaves and stained a nice shade of green from lack of cleaning. Upon entry to the property, the first issue was the front door - apparently it had 'swollen' and as such was impossible to close without slamming it hard. Immediately you will need to duck under the most ridiculously placed ceiling light. The interior is shabby to say the least, slightly damp, badly painted - with splatters all over the stone walls, brick dust from drilling, skirtings coming away from the walls, the kitchen floor literally feels like it is about to give way. The bed has a mattress you can feel the springs through and was seriously unstable, creaky and rickety. Pillows flat and hard, and TV so small you can't see it from the bed. Not that watching TV was possible the 2nd night - the owner switched OFF THE INTERNET = it seems because he didn't like the TV noise - yet we had to put up with his screaming kids and family constantly running around on their heels directly upstairs. No internet = no TV no phones, no nothing. This was annoying and pathetic. This is definitely not in any way even nearly a luxury, comfortable or private place to stay. Massively overpriced and sadly a complete disappointment.

    Many thanks for your comments. I am terribly sorry to learn that the stay did not match your expectations. I would like to express that I am very perplexed by all of your comments made about the property and the assumption that my intention is to spoil our guests holiday by switching the WiFi off. This is of course not the case. Had I known that you had any concerns during your stay or that you were unhappy with anything, I would have been more than happy to put things right for you. I would to provide full assurance that the property is very well kept and looked after and the prior reviews before and after your stay have made glowing reports. In respect of your comments about the noise above you, I do stipulate that this is a ground floor accommodation and one may assume noise from above could be anticipated from time to time, I have the ceiling insulated with further means off sound proofing to reduce any disruptive noise that someone may encounter when staying in a ground floor accommodation. Best wishes, The owners of Horton Lodge Boathouse Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ross1.6Oct 2021

  • "A great stay in the most idyllic location!"

    Facilities were great! Our host was lovely, left us scones, jam, pancakes and Prosecco etc etc which was such a lovely touch! We cooked and used the kitchen but there wasn’t any oil or salt and pepper which is the only thing I can fault (an absolute minor if I was having to be picky). Highly recommend this home and I would 100% come back! Thank you for having us x

    Reviewed by Katherine5.0Sep 2021

  • "We arrived very late due to an accident but Tony was very understanding and was there to meet us and help us with our bags down the 50 or so quite steep steps that lead to the accommodation from the quiet road with ample parking."

    He then took time to explain where everything was and how it all worked including the large TV which came with free Netflix. After that he left us to enjoy our break and although he and his family live above the accommodation it feels very private apart from the occasional footsteps heard from above. When we did need to text him once he replied quickly. There was a welcome basket of fresh bread, milk, butter, jam etc and most welcome of all after our long and stressful journey, a chilled bottle of Prosecco! The boathouse is so lovely with an open plan kitchen/living area and large bright bedroom with huge bed! There is a fabulous shower in the en-suite but we were a little taken aback that there was no door on the ensuite with just a gap through to it from the bedroom. We got used to it though! Everything you could need is provided including thoughtful items such as a cafetiere, hairdryer and 2 f towelling bathrobes. The large outside decking area has table and chairs + 2 sun loungers, perfect for taking in the breathtaking view of Rudyard lake. There is also a small bbq and a wood fired hot tub, neither of which we used. The hot tub does take around 4 hours to heat up and this, as well as the very hot weather whilst we were there, meant we didn't use it. We did however use the rowing boat supplied and enjoyed going up and down the lake - hubby fishing and me admiring the lakeside houses! There are also 2 canoes supplied with lifejackets. On a couple of evenings we went to the nearby Rudyard Hotel - a 15 min walk through lovely woodland. The range of food and drink here is excellent, the staff are really friendly and there is a large garden with lots of tables. We also had a takeaway delivered from the Rajah Tandoori in nearby Leek which was very good. Whilst in the area we visited Luds Church (a rock chasm), Matlock Bath, Buxton (inc Pooles Cavern) and Bakewell, all of which we thoroughly enjoyed. We had the most wonderful break and would highly recommend the accommodation and the area in general.

    Reviewed by Jane4.4Jul 2021

  • "Small but perfectly formed!"

    A lovely relaxing holiday, the boathouse has everything you need and the lake and surrounding area is beautiful. Owner Tony was very friendly and helpful. We loved being able to paddle out on lake on the kayaks, and had our first go at Stand Up Paddle-boarding via hire at the lakeside (also good fun). Don’t be put off by the mention of steps to the cottage - they aren’t all in one flight and are not steep. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Joanna4.7Jun 2021

  • "We booked for 7 nights but decided to leave after 1 night."

    The setting was stunning but unfortunately that was the only positive for us. The 'bathroom' does not have a door and the toilet is very visible from everywhere in the bedroom except the bed, where it is next to your head with a small dividing wall. Couple that with food poisoning and it was not a pleasant experience. The accomodation felt damp, and the welcome basket (although a nice guesture) contained mouldy scones. there was fungus growing outside the bedroom door on the boathouse steps, and it affected my breathing so due to that and the bathroom door, we diecided to leave. Although not the owner's fault, there were spiders everywhere which I struggled with. You could hear everything from the owner's house upstairs, including his two small babies crying which did not exactly make for a romantic break. The owner would not meet us even halfway with a refund, and refuted all of our concerns, saying it was a matter of personal preference. I feel that the bathroom door situation should be made clear to prospective renters so that they can decide whether it bothers them or not. I for one certainly don't want to use the toilet next to my partner's head on a romantic getaway.

    Thank you for your comments and please accept our apologies that the stay did not match your expectations. We would firstly like to assure yourself and our future guests that there is no mould or damp in our property and neither has there been in the past. The mould in question was in fact blueberry juice stains on the fresh egg carton in the welcome pack that we provide and this was highlighted at the time. With reference to your comments about the bathroom style, we can only apologise if you did not notice this in the pictures but we do feel it is clear in the pictures that there is no bathroom door present due to the unique layout of our property. There was no fungus on the outside steps, it was expanding foam from when the electrician carried out some work which we explained to you at the time when you raised it to us. We have fitted an acoustic ceiling to drown out any potential noise that may be associated from neighbours upstairs but we do also list this property as a ground floor apartment. Thank you for taking your time to let us know of your thoughts, customer feedback is very important to help us continually improve out standards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ella1.6Jun 2021

  • "We expected a hot tub, not a wood fire one which takes 4 hours to heat up and we had to buy our own wood as only given enough for one heat."

    Reviewed by Caroline3.1Jun 2021

  • "Loved the personal touches, welcome pack bathrobes and getting the hot tub ready for when we arrived."

    Had the best time.

    Reviewed by C4.7May 2021

  • "It was a brilliant place for a getaway for two."

    We actually thought the pictures didn’t do it enough justice. Having the open doors in the bedroom was a massive draw for the place. I think the only thing that was a bit of a negative which you probably can’t help is that there are stairs right above our head in the bedroom and was quite loud but I guess that can’t be helped if it was a flat it would be the same. Overall though having a bbq and the hot tub and kayaks and a rowing boat made our experience so so nice especially in a time of not being able to do much. We loved it!

    Reviewed by Cristina4.4May 2021

  • "The accommodation is gorgeous, in a wonderful setting."

    A really lovely holiday break; thank you

    Reviewed by Feimatta5.0May 2021

  • "We had a wonderful time and the apartment is very comfortable."

    Ample outside space and beautiful location. Hot tub was really fun and hosts were lovely.

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Apr 2021

  • "Horton Lodge Boathouse certainly has the WOW factor!"

    Situated on the lakeside it is an idyllic, romantic and tranquil place for a staycation. We have holidayed in numerous self catering properties all over the world and this is now in our top 3! The property still retains its original features ie the gate and pulley systems in the ceiling of the bedroom and the exposed stonework throughout. The attention to detail and high spec decor within the apartment adds to it's quirkiness. The high quality furnishings are extended to the outdoor area where there are 2 rattan sunbeds, a dining table & chairs, a coffee table & chairs and a BBQ. There were even 2 kayaks and a rowing boat at our disposal. On arrival we received a warm welcome from the owner Tony who explained everything to us and had heated up the hot tub ready for our use. We really appreciated our welcome pack consisting of quality local produce and even a bottle of Prosecco. There is plenty to do in the surrounding area. We did a walk every day and visited Tatton Park, Leek, Buxton, The Roaches and Tittesworth Reservoir. There is an excellent cafe at The Sailing Club 10 minutes walk and also a pub The Rudyard Hotel with a huge beer garden within walking distance. All in all we had a perfect weeks stay especially as it was our first holiday following Lockdown. We would thoroughly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Apr 2021

  • "We enjoyed a fantastic week in Horton Lodge and would wish to return, great location and facilities."

    Reviewed by Sally4.4Apr 2021

Show more Hide all


  • Ground-floor apartment
  • One super-king-size bedroom with en-suite rainfall shower, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area with electric fire
  • Gas central heating with electric fire
  • Combination microwave oven, fridge, Smart TV, Bluetooth speakers, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Complimentary welcome pack provided
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for two cars
  • Private decking with outdoor furniture and access to lakeshore to launch boats
  • Hot Tub
  • Rowing boat and two kayaks provided for guests' use at own risk
  • One well behaved dog allowed
  • No smoking
  • Shop 3.6 miles, pub 3.5 miles
  • Note: Approximately 50 steps needed to access the property, therefore it is not suitable for those with limited mobility
  • Property accepts adults only
  • Children of any age are not allowed

The property

Set within a beautiful Victorian boathouse perfectly positioned on Rudyard Lake, Horton Lodge Boathouse is a ground-floor apartment in the Staffordshire Moorlands, home to original features, ideal for a couple's romantic break.

This one-bedroom dwelling benefits from stunning lake views and even has its own private decking and jetty, with kayaks and a rowing boat provided by the owner for leisurely lake cruising.

Accessed via a private driveway with two off-road parking spaces, the property is reached by climbing down around forty steps, with the charming front door leading you straight into the homely open-plan living space.

Delight in relaxation within this carefully-styled setting, with a cute kitchen area home to a combination microwave oven, fridge with a freezer box and a two-ring induction hob, it's perfect for whipping up home-cooked romantic meals for two!

Dine at the pretty dining table before settling on the sofa before the Smart TV, with the decking offering a tempting spot at any time of the year, head out here to find lovely outdoor dining furniture and a gorgeous sunken Scandinavian wood-fired hot tub to relax in!

Stargaze on the decking before heading back inside to find your beautiful bedroom, passing a window looking into the inside of the boathouse, whilst the roomy super-king-size bed faces towards the window overlooking the ornate iron gates of the boathouse over the lake, with a resident kingfisher to look out for too.

Freshen up within the rustic yet contemporary shower room with its exposed brick wall and Victorian style fixtures, you can stand under the rainfall shower to wake up in no time.

Admire the amazing original fixings within the ceiling that would have been in use in the property's past life, now serving as unique decoration within a romantic retreat.

Delight in launching the rowing boat from your private beach area onto the lake and taking in the beautiful scenery as you drift along the waters, with fishing allowed on the lake, with all fishing rights included from the garden and the rowing boat provided.

Head into the charming market town of Leek for anything you might need during your stay, with several shops, pubs and restaurants to discover, along with more excellent places to explore like the Ladderedge Country Park.

Enjoy a wonderful day out over at the National Trust's Biddulph Grange Garden inspired by the East, it is home to a beautiful dahlia walk along with a host of plants from around the world, with the Biddulph Grange Country Park being perfect for scenic strolls.

Spend a day meeting some new furry friends at Peak Wildlife Park with a collection of small mammals and birds, or take a scenic train ride back in time on the Churnet Valley Railway.

Venture into the beautiful Peak District for incredible scenery, plenty of walking trails and some amazing attractions, with a day trip to Buxton being a must, making sure to go to Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park, The Pavilion Gardens and the Buxton Crescent.

Thrill seekers will love being within easy reach of the fantastic Alton Towers theme park, where rides and rollercoasters will provide tons of excitement!

Make memories to last a lifetime with your loved one at Horton Lodge Boathouse on Rudyard Lake.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Leek 4.5 miles.

Rudyard Lake lies in a thickly wooded hillside area of the Staffordshire Moorlands. The 2.5 mile-long lake, part of which is a conservation area, offers many activities including sailing, boating and fishing, as well as many lovely walks and cycle routes and is a haven for wildlife, flora and fauna. There is a small shop and cafe on the lake, as well as a steam railway, a sailing club which offers courses for all abilities, and a hotel with a friendly bar and restaurant. Just 3 miles away is the hillside market town of Leek, known as 'The Queen of the Moorlands'. Leek boasts numerous antique shops, real ale pubs, restaurants and a local park and leisure centre. The town’s cobbled market place has many examples of fine Victorian architecture influenced by William Morris, a reminder of when the town was a silk manufacturing centre. The Three Shire Head is close by, the meeting point of Cheshire, Derbyshire and Staffordshire, as is Tatton Park, a beautiful historic estate with manor house, landscaped gardens, parkland, shops and a restaurant. Styal County Park and Gawswirth Hall are also well worth a visit, and Alton Towers and the beautiful Peak District National Park are just a short drive away.

Property accepts adults only. Children of any age are not allowed.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas