Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 31 minutes ago

  • Ridge Hall - (Ref. 934709)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 75 View Larger Image
  • Ridge Hall - Peak District - 934709 - photo 1
close

1 customer booked Ridge Hall in the last 24 hours

Ridge Hall

Chapel-en-le-Frith, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales (Ref. 934709)

4.4

(34 ratings)

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 16

  • Bedrooms 7

  • Bathrooms 5

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Broadband / WiFi
  • Open fire
  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Dishwasher
  • Washing machine
  • Cot available
  • Games Room
  • Highchair available
  • Four poster bed

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

34 Customer Reviews

  • "Lovely property overall and beautiful location but expected the childrens games equipment to at least be in useable condition."

    Reviewed by MarkApr 2022

  • "Absolutely brilliant house for a large group of adults, teens and dogs."

    Really well equipped, loads of different hang out spaces and a big garden. We all loved it -- we've done many holidays together and all agreed this was our favorite house. Easy access to lots of lovely walks and Derbyshire villages. Fabulous, thank you!

    Reviewed by ElizabethApr 2022

  • "Magnificent spacious and comfortable property with qulity facilities and flexible spaces, peacefully set high above Chaspel le Frith with grand outlooks towards Kinder in the Dark Peak and northern parts of the White Peak."

    An outstanding base for exploring all parts of the National Park, with convenient access to Chapel and Buxton for supplies. Despite often wet and wintry conditions the four units of my family, incl. 2 infants and 2 dogs had a magical week's holiday at Ridge Hall.

    Reviewed by AlanApr 2022

  • "We had a wonderful few days at Ridge Hall."

    The photos and listing description do not do the property justice – it is a beautiful house with plenty of space inside and out. 12 adults, one toddler, one baby and one dog were all very well catered for and had a fantastic time. The location is perfect and we enjoyed a fantastic circular walk on New Year's Day. The facilities were great, and the beds very comfy (in fact, we'd love to know what mattress is on the four-poster bed so we can get it ourselves!). We're already planning a return trip for next year. Thank you!

    Reviewed by NatalieDec 2021

  • "We all had a very comfortable time."

    The house was exceptional and very spacious for the 13 of us. Beautiful surroundings/setting, remote yet close enough to facilities. Very well suited for us, both adults and children. Would certainly recommend it!

    Reviewed by GlynisDec 2021

  • "We absolutely love Ridge Hall and will definitely come back."

    It is an eccentric, sprawling, characterful property, with plenty of room for 6 adults and 8 teen- and tween-agers; great washing, cooking and bathroom facilities; and the most wonderful location. We had a couple of very minor issues (we couldn't work the front door lock or the keypad! a couple of chest of drawer handles came off, and we found a couple of things left by previous guests). However, these were more than compensated for by the enormous dining room, the beautiful front room and bedrooms, the very popular pool table - and the glorious views. Five stars from us.

    Reviewed by CatherineNov 2021

  • "The house was clean and spacious."

    There was a clear easy to read guide in the kitchen with good instructions on the Aga. It was beautifully furnished with amazing bedrooms. The kitchen was well equipted with everything we needed. A good size fridge freezer and a well equipted utility room. We were a party of 10 with 2 children and 2 dogs. Plenty of room for everyone. The only downside was that it was avertised as having a paddock and woods, but these were not available even though we were promised that they had been cleared. The outside lights didn't work but as we didn't report them whilst there, we cannot complain.

    Reviewed by RobertSep 2021

  • "Ridge Hall is, indeed, a very characterful building which shows the attractive patina of age."

    However, when we arrived, the building wasn’t well cleaned with dust and dirt accumulations in many areas. The much heralded Paddock and Woodland were not accessible and there were no up to date fire precautions in the building. The owner responded to our initial comments saying that the off peak rental represents fantastic value for money however we didn’t feel that the peak season rental we paid was value for money and didn’t live up to all the promise of the listing.

    Reviewed by AnneAug 2021

  • "Lovely part of the Peak District, house was big enough for our party however the cleanliness of the house was poor."

    The day we arrived we found dog muck in the main livingroom which looked like it had been there for sometime, the tables hadn’t been dusted and the floors were filthy. The beds were comfortable however in the biggest bedroom at the top of the house the towels left on the bed had dead flys underneath. The house is in need of some TLC. Our time as a family together was lovely however we will not be returning, based on the money we paid for the week it just wasn’t what we were expecting.

    Thank you for your feedback. This property was built in 1175 and the flags in the kitchen/ snug are clean ,but worn as they are over 500 years old, which adds to the character of the house. The carpets are being steam cleaned this coming weekend with extra cleaners to ensure the house is up to the owner's requirements as he is very keen for very guest to have a lovely stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LouiseJul 2021

  • "The property ticked the boxes in terms of size and description."

    However, the grounds were not at all as described - 6 acres maybe, but 1.5 acres max were accessible. the rest was inaccessible as it was completely overgrown. We spoke to the gardener and he was hard working and wanted to do a better job but he was given a completely inadequate budget to be able to keep anything other than the grass cut on the lawns within the 1.5 acres. He had been able to cut the paddock once at the beginning of the season - access to the woods is through the paddock. However, we understand that even if we had got to the woods, it is wild and not been maintained. The property was also only surface cleaned - the dust and general grime was visible in pipes behind sinks and toilets etc. This property is really expensive and is not at all value for money. So we had enough to mean our big group had a good holiday but we felt ripped off. We had a two week holiday and our other property in the Cotswolds was half the price, but much better maintained and value for money.

    Many thanks for your feedback and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed Ridge Hall. There are 1.5 acres of manicured lawns in the garden, then a paddock at the back that leads into the forest. The owner is strimming a pathway through the forest for guest's to use at their owner risk as there are two steams in the forest with a 30 foot drop in areas, therefore not suitable for children. Property Owner

    Reviewed by LynneJul 2021

  • "Loved ridge hall, very quirky but that only adds to the charm ."

    Had a slight problem with heating not working so I contacted the owner and within a couple of hours it was all sorted . Chapel en le frith only 3 miles away where there is a Morrison’s and 4 or 5 pubs and takeaways . We cooked on the range Which was fun . Can’t recommend highly enough.

    Reviewed by PeterOct 2020

  • "Lovely house in the middle of a very quiet and beautiful countryside."

    Quirky but very spacious layout with many rooms. There was 11 of us and plenty of space for everyone. Jo, the lady that welcomed us was very friendly. Really enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back.

    Reviewed by CelineAug 2020

  • "Ridge Hall Holiday We booked Ridge Hall to enable our two families to get together for the first time since lock down started in March."

    One member of our family was shielding due to a serious medical condition and two of us had been self-isolating due to age. It was important to find a place which would give us enough inside and outside space to isolate as a group without having to leave the property should we feel it necessary to do so. The description of the outside space on the web site and I quote “ Extensive lawned gardens including 6-acres of woodland, gravelled areas and furniture”, was exactly what we were looking for. Firstly we would like to say that we found Ridge Hall to be a delightful place in a lovely location. There was plenty of space within the house to accommodate our two families. The layout was a little strange at first but we soon got our heads around it. All bedrooms were spacious with good access to bathrooms. We found the bunk beds would only really be suitable for younger children given the size, this was not too much of a problem for us as we had a choice of other beds so did not use the bunks. Living rooms were large and comfortable. The kitchen area was rather strange at first but again we got used to it and it worked well for us. The AGA was something none of us had ever used before however, it worked well for us. We could not find any clear access to the 6 acre woodland, so asked Mark the owner if we were missing something. Mark gave us directions and informed us that the woodland was not suitable for children due to there being steep drops of up to 10 metres. My son in law and myself went to investigate the access point. We were told to go through the back paddock and into a gate to the right. Just in front of the gate there was the remains of a bonfire which contained broken bottles, bits of wire and metal. This was in an open area where the children and dogs had access to.( We discovered this on our first day so had to ensure they, children and dogs, were kept away from it.) The paddock itself was roughly mown and full of thistle stalks and stinging nettles. It was not an area that could be used by either adults or children. The gate which led to the woodland access was extremely difficult to open. Inside the gate there were piles of loose rubble, some moss covered and slippery. This led up to the boundary wall . We managed to get to the wall and look over, trying to see if there was any access point to the woods. There was not. We were unable to investigate further, as the thistles and nettles were almost five feet in height and some eight to ten feet in depth. The conclusion to our search was that the paddock and the woodland was not accessible to us in any way as an amenity space. So one of the main reasons we chose Ridge Hall, was not available to us. Six acres is a huge space , access would have made a huge difference to our holiday. We feel that the property description was very misleading. The grounds and stable block were described as follows:- “The grounds impress equally with stables, lawns and extensive woodlands, and bikes and other equipment can be locked in the stables.” Difficult to find a space for bikes in the stables, lots of other stuff in there. As a reputable holiday letting service we would like to know if your inspection of the property prior to putting it on your site led you to believe the 6 acres was in fact accessible in any way? We would also like to know if you make any further inspections, to ensure the product you are promoting is in fact accurately presented in a condition that is described on your site. There were numerous other things which call into question the description by Sykes , “ No expense has been spared to create a stunningly beautiful residence very reminiscent of a five star stately country hotel” and your 5 Tick rating. We feel that whilst Ridge Hall is a lovely place, it is more faded elegance than 5 star country hotel. None of these were significant separately but cumulatively they made a difference. I list some of these things below:- Food left in freezer. Given the issues with Covid 19 this was not acceptable. Food left in cupboards. As above re Covid 19. Taps in the cloakroom, one handle missing the other cracked and broken. Cupboard doors missing in the kitchen which showed all the plastic drainage piping behind. Trough on the patio which had been used as a communal ashtray and contained loads of cigarette ends. Again, given the Covid 19 situation this was not acceptable. Loose stones on the edge of the patio. As these overhung the edge they tipped if stood on. Toilet brushes in all bathrooms really should be replaced, they are without exception past their best , stained and just look awful. Sky package. Clearly states in header review on your site “Having a full Sky package with sport and movies was a lovely surprise”. This was not available to us, just Freeview via a Sky box. Hand rail on the back staircase. We had to clean this prior to use, very dirty. Bedding. When stripping beds we discovered significant staining evident on some pillow covers, duvets etc. Not “5 star” in any way. Should have been replaced really. This is by no means an exhaustive list. It is not meant to be. We are just trying to point out to you, the letting agent, our disappointment given the expectation we had from reading your description of the property. We have paid a significant sum of money for our weeks holiday, but feel rather let down. We did email your customer service department nearly two weeks ago but sadly have not had a response. We are therefore left with no choice but to complete the feedback form. We await your response. Sincere regards, Chris Simms

    Reviewed by ChristopherAug 2020

  • "We had a lovely week at Ridge Hall over Christmas with family."

    There was a lovely Christmas tree and a nice welcome pack with seasonal goodies. Lots of room for everyone, cosy and warm with 2 open fires ( plenty of wood provided). We were met by Jo who showed us around and explained the necessities to us. The house, although close to neighbours and other houses, has lovely views and you can easily walk down to Chapel en le Frith via a track and road. We had an issue with the fridge not working when we arrived. Took a little bit of sorting out and a bit of inconvenience having to use the fridge in another of the owners properties, but Jo was very helpful and we got 2 new fridges delivered within a few days. No mirrors in the bedrooms ,except for one. A great place for a large group. We even managed to cook Christmas dinner for 14 in the Aga (which we’ve never used before) with great success!

    Reviewed by SuzanneDec 2019

  • "Ridge Hall was fantastic."

    A beautiful, regal house well-stocked with all needed amenities. The location was brilliant and we all enjoyed our stay there.

    Reviewed by AndrewNov 2019

  • "Ridge Hall was great."

    It had everything we needed. Ideal for our family gathering as there was something for everyone whether old or young. Places for the children to play or for adults to sit quietly or anyobe to watch TV or play games. Well equipped kitchen. Only one thing was that the fridge wouldn't cool enough and stay cool. Other than that fantastic. Everyone loved it there. Ideal too as it was peaceful for those who wanted a bit of quiet time. Great for walks. We loved the walk down the lane to the railway station. Weather for us was very wet so we didn't get out as much in the garden or for longer walks but there are walks nearby. Despite the weather the good thing was the space to escape to if anyone wanted to in the Hall. If not to gather together. Pool table was always in use. We liked the separate smaller area to eat too. Places to visit not far away and a great pub in Coombs - The Beehive. Would recommend it. Was all we had hoped for. Thank you.

    Reviewed by JackieNov 2019

  • "Lovely house for family gatherings."

    Very nice selection of brochures. Warm and comfortable. Missing one relevant OS map but otherwise would recommend

    Reviewed by PatrickAug 2019

  • "Positives Beautiful house in lovely location."

    Lots of space. Comfortable beds. Pool table was much appreciated. Leak in bathroom was repaired very promptly and at our convenience. Negatives Although there are plenty of bathrooms your shower will stop working if someone else tries to use one at the same time. Shortage of storage in most of the bedrooms. There’s hanging space, but not many drawers so you may need to live out of your suitcase. Not a major problem. Be aware. This is a six bedroom house really suitable for up to 12 adults or maybe 10 with up to 6 children. The bunk bedded area is a landing at the top of stairs from one of the four posters (no door). The light switch for the second floor shower room, serving the four bedded attic room, is in the bunk bedded area which isn’t good for privacy for occupants of the four poster. The only cooker is an Aga (not necessarily a negative). The house is in a cluster of other houses. You are not aware of them, but the owner is right to emphasise that this is not a “party house”. There’s a lovely 10 minute walk down to the station in Chapel-en-le-Frith, but the lane is not suitable for cars. It takes longer to drive there via narrow lanes than to walk.

    Reviewed by CatherineJul 2019

  • "Ridge Hall is a lovely property with plenty of space and great facilities, at a convenient location for exploring the Peak District."

    We were a mixed group of adults and children and the house offered enough to entertain all, including a well-equipped kitchen and a decent selection of games. The rooms were all nice and comfortable, and while the Wi-Fi wasn't working when we arrived, the owner sorted the issue out on the same day. We had a great time.

    Reviewed by NicoleMay 2019

  • "A Wonderful country getaway!"

    Our group came together recently for meditation and relaxation in this beautiful country house. Everybody enjoyed their stay immensely and we were totally charmed by the property and its atmosphere. The house was spotlessly clean and the beds were all very comfortable. The snow kept us inside so we didn't get to explore the garden and the walking paths nearby, but the lovely log fires and comfy furniture more than made up for it. Overall, it was a very special weekend. We've already booked Ridge Hall again for a longer stay since we loved it so much! It would be perfect for a large family gathering or a relaxing getaway retreat in the country.

    Reviewed by JamesMar 2019

  • "Lovely large cottage house - group of 13 adults and two toddlers - we had a very nice comfortable 3 night stay."

    Convenient location for walks with great views and local pubs. Great facilities within the property itself. Spacious and comfortable. Would highly recommend to any large group looking for a lovely weekend getaway!

    Reviewed by ArchanaNov 2018

  • "The cottage was superb, however the layout was detailed rather cumbersome as it was difficult to allocate the roomings due to the layout and description."

    The property had a large living area and good sized kitchen with ample amenities. The host provided good directions and instructions, however no one was there to show us round the property - due to its size, this would've been useful. The beds were super comfortable, powerful showers, log fire in the living was fantastic and had lots of logs for the fire. Games room was good, with lots of games. The house was incredibly warm as soon as we entered and throughout our stay - perfect for a winter's evening. Ample parking. Milk was left in the fridge for a cuppa when we arrived. We would stay here again and highly recommend this property.

    Reviewed by AlexandriaNov 2018

  • "Lovely well heated large house, ideal for family gatherings"

    Reviewed by StephenNov 2018

  • "Ridge Hall was our family home for 33 years up until our parents (who are no longer alive) sold it in 1998."

    So it was a return after 20 years, very special and quite emotional. Largely speaking the house was wonderful being very practical, comfortable and warm. In particular, the five 1st floor en-suite bedrooms were extremely comfortable. Only shortcomings were that the kitchen could be better stocked with cooking dishes and utensils, lack of mirrors in bedrooms, no furniture for clothes in master bedroom, no bins in bathrooms, and the living room had lost a little bit of it's previous warmth with it's current disappointing colour scheme and lighting. But overall. a fantastic venue and we're already talking about booking it again.

    Reviewed by ChrisOct 2018

  • "Fantastic house, fantastic area with many attractions and walks."

    Reviewed by DonaldOct 2018

  • "This was an ideal house for seven adults and four children under the age of six years."

    The Aga cooker temperature was only suitable for light cooking but could not be regulated for large dishes which needed much more time. The absence of signage to Ridge Hall from the lane was disappointing and the property name plate on the wall needs repainting more clearly so it can be seen. Thank you for letting us use your lovely property.

    Reviewed by DavidJul 2018

  • "We had a lovely time in this unique house and enjoyed the garden and surrounding area."

    Thank you very much!

    Reviewed by BorislavaJun 2018

  • "The place was great with lots of space and loads of character."

    We had a great weekend. Tip - you have to drive down a road which says pedestrian access only to find it! Only negatives were: - it wasn't as separate from neighbours as I expected from the advert so you do have to be wary of making too much noise - Bunk beds were poor quality and extremely uncomfortable - Kitchen was not as well stocked with items such as sharp knives and chopping boards as you might expect (or perhaps we couldn't find them) Overall, a beautiful house in a beautiful location!

    Reviewed by EmmaApr 2018

  • "Lovely place."

    Only thing we didnt expect was to have so many near neighbours. Not that it mattered but we expected a house on its own in a 6 acre estate. House itself was perfect for so many and loved having meals together around the banquet table. Cleanliness wasnt great and we did try to clean up after our selves but found the hoover didnt work. Otherwise it was very well equipped ...... mirror in all bedrooms would be nice for us ladies though

    Reviewed by SarahMar 2018

  • "Ridge Hall is amazing property."

    We were a party of 16 having a family get together to celebrate mums 80th. The house is so large that you never feel on top of each other and the kids just loved exploring it and could play without bothering anyone. The house has everything you need and is in a beautiful spot. All the bedrooms have plenty of space and the beds were very comfy. My only suggestion would be to provide a small axe to split the logs for the fire. Would definitely recommend and have already done so!

    Reviewed by JeniFeb 2018

  • "Wonderful opportunity to have the whole family together and enjoying each other's company."

    Interesting books in the Library but we would have liked to find out a bit more about the history of Ridge Hall, especially as the present structures and decorations leave some of the past craftsmanship visible

    Reviewed by GeoffreyDec 2017

  • "Lovely house although kitchen/AGA make it a little challenging to cook for so many people."

    Also bunk beds could do with upgrading. Aside from these, lovely location and beautiful house.

    Reviewed by JaneNov 2017

  • "The accommodation worked very well for a large family group over 3 generations."

    An unpredictable issue with the boiler was resolved effectively. The kitchen is well equipped with crockery, pots and pans and cutlery, but would benefit from items such as kitchen scales, measuring jugs and spoons etc for groups that enjoy cooking together.

    Reviewed by PatriciaNov 2017

  • "We had an amazing week at Ridge Hall."

    The hall is really spacious and the rooms are all extremely comfortable. It's location is perfect for exploring the Peak District and the local village of Comb is delightful.

    Reviewed by RachelMar 2017

Show more

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Seven bedrooms: 2 x four poster double with Jack-and-Jill access to bathroom, with stairs leading from one bedroom to 1 x children's bunks, 1 x double with en-suite bath, shower over, basin, bidet and WC, 2 x twin (zip/link can be super king-size double on request) with en-suite bath, shower over, basin, bidet and WC, 1 x second floor family room with 4 single beds
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, bidet and WC with Jack-and-Jill access to four poster doubles
  • Second floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Utility
  • Breakfast room (seats 6)
  • Dining hall (seats 15) with woodburning stove
  • Sitting room (seats 15) with woodburning stove
  • Snug (seats 5)
  • Games room with snooker table.
  • Oil central heating and woodburning stoves
  • AGA cooker with electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, 2 x Smart TVs with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel, power and fuel for stoves inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot, highchair and stairgate
  • Off road parking for 6 cars
  • Lockable bike storage
  • Extensive lawned gardens including 6-acres of woodland, gravelled areas and furniture
  • No smoking
  • Three well behaved pets welcome only
  • Shop 1.5 miles, pub 1 mile
  • Note: The attic second floor family room has sloping ceilings with limited head height
  • Note: There is no door separating the children's bunks room from the four poster double room
  • Note: Trap door in snug leading to cellar, take care due to stone stairs and no hand rail
  • Note: No stag/hen, or similar
  • Note: No fireworks to be used on the property without expressed permission from the local farmers
  • Please keep noise to a minimum particularly outside the property after 10pm to respect the neighbouring properties

The property

Chapel-en-le-Frith 3.3 miles.

his delightful country mansion is on a ridge overlooking Chapel-en-le-Frith and set in 1.5 acres of gardens.

Ridge Hall holds a prominent place of the history...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £300.

View on map

About the location

CHAPEL-EN-LE-FRITH

Buxton 7 miles; Chinley 1.2 miles; Hayfield 5 miles; Castleton 7 miles; Combs 2.2 miles

Chapel-en-le-Frith is known as the Capital of the Peak, with its cobbled market place and historic old stocks and Eccles Pike, ‘pike’ meaning pointed hill; a gritstone hill, pink in colour at the summit which boasts far reaching 360 degree views. Just seven miles away lies the popular spa town of Buxton, famous not only for its therapeutic spring water, but also for its Pavillion Gardens and splendid Victorian Opera House, and which boasts a variety of shows, attracting people from all over the world. A short drive away are an abundance of attractions including stately homes such as Chatsworth House and Lyme Hall. The Goyt Valley and Castleton famous for its caverns; Blue John, Speedwell and the Devils Arse! Chinley is a lovely little village nestled in a wonderful rural setting, on the western edge of the Peak District National Park. Popular with walkers, who are attracted by its walks over the dramatic Cracken Edge, linking to Chinley Churn, Mount Famine, South Head and further to Kinder Scout, Edale and the Pennine Way. Visitors are well-catered for with the village’s selection of pubs offering award winning Ales, cafes and restaurants. The quiet village of Combs has a country pub, which prides itself on quality ingredients, the perfect place to enjoy a meal after walking Combs Moss and Castle Naze. The delightful High Peak village of Hayfield is situated in a wonderful rural setting on the north western edge of the Peak District National Park. It’s a peaceful little village, popular with walkers who are attracted by its close proximity to Kinder Scout. Serious walkers head east out of the village, up and over the green foothills to the russet expanse of the Kinder Plateau, Pennine Way and Snake Path, whilst families (and those who enjoy more gentle rambles) head west along the beautiful Sett Valley Trail towards New Mills. Edale – an alternative start of the Pennine Way - is only a few miles away

Region Information

Please keep noise to a minimum particularly outside the property after 10pm to respect the neighbouring properties.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Last minute