Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 2 minutes ago

14 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 13 View Image Gallery
  • Netherlea Cottage - Peak District - 964922 - photo 1
close
  • Netherlea Cottage - (Ref. 964922)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Netherlea Cottage

(Ref. 964922)

Holloway, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.5

Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Garden / Patio
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (45)
  • great (21)
  • location (16)
  • clean (16)
  • lovely (15)
  • well (14)

49 Customer Reviews

  • "We’ve stayed here a couple of times as we have friends in the area and it works well for us for that."

    We love that it’s dog friendly and has a nice location but it does feel quite basic and I never feel particularly comfortable. The furniture isn’t great and the bed and pillows are just awful. I don’t look forward to relaxing in the cottage very much. The wine and cake were much appreciated but a couple of tea bags and basic cooking equipment would have been nice (no oil that I could find,salt had run out). The shower is very dribbly. That said, it is very fairly priced for what it is and brilliant if you have dogs and bikes and well set up for muddy walkers.

    Reviewed by Lyndsay3.1Feb 2024

  • "A perfect little cottage."

    Great views

    Reviewed by Brandon5.0Feb 2024

  • "Absolutely beautiful and brilliant cottage, very clean, cozy place, nice touch ..."

    Absolutely beautiful and brilliant cottage, very clean, cozy place, nice touch with the bottle of wine and Bakewell tart which was much appreciated, Certainly be returning in the near future

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Dec 2023

  • "We loved the cottage but it was in an extremely steep, hilly area and there was no local shop."

    The cottage was clean and John and Dianne were very welcoming and we sat out in the sun on their patio and didn't sit in the lounge once! The cottage was small but because the weather was so warm and sunny most of the time we were not confined to the lounge. The bedrooms were pleasant - definitely for three people for comfort.

    Reviewed by Ruth4.4Aug 2023

  • "The cottage was ok, although very small."

    Advertised as being large enough for 4 adults but would have struggled with 4 adults staying with insufficient space in the sitting room and the single bedroom (albeit with a pull out bed). Sofa was worn and uncomfortable - suggest it's time for a change? The bed was a little hard for us too. Cottage was clean and the red wine and Bakewell tart welcome was appreciated as were the detail cards. Great WiFi through the BT Hub and a well equipped kitchen. Good access to Matlock, Matlock Bath (beautiful) and Bakewell. Overall, an ok stay but have stayed in much better for very similar prices.

    Reviewed by James2.8Jul 2023

  • "A compact cottage in a great setting with several riverside and woodland walks straight from door."

    Views from main bedroom lovely to wake up to. The outdoor seating area was a lovely spot to enjoy a coffee. Will certainly return.

    Reviewed by Brian4.7Jul 2023

  • "Netherlea Cottage is a wonderful cottage, very homely, clean and well equipped."

    It is in a fantastic location being great for tourist attractions, walking and cycling. Would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

    Reviewed by Maria5.0Jun 2023

  • "The cottage is in a fabulous position and extremely convenient for what we wanted."

    We have stayed here before and were aware of the ‘niggles’ mentioned in other reviews, but there are so many good things about this cottage we decided to stay again. Unfortunately this time we felt let down by the cleanliness (smell of dog and disgusting amount of matted dog hairs, used tissues and goodness knows what down the sides of the sofa cushions which reveal themselves when you sit down). The sofa was also very saggy. Fortunately the weather was beautiful and we could sit outside much of the time, but the garden furniture is in a bad state with at least two of the plastic chairs having cracks in them which made them dodgy to sit on and could catch your skin/clothes. Attention to some of small things would also go a long way to upgrading the guest experience (replace the stained and dirty coasters, chuck out the ancient pepper mill and the can opener that doesn’t work, replace the dead plants in the flower pots etc)

    Hi David Apologies that the cleanliness at the Cottage was not up to standard on your recent visit - I have already spoken to our cleaning company about ensuring that the issues you raised do not recur. We have also now replaced the garden furniture (table and chairs), as well as replacing the other kitchen items you mentioned in your feedback. Best wishes John Property Owner

    Reviewed by David2.2Jun 2023

  • "Beautiful location."

    Cottage could do with a bit of a re paint in places but was clean and comfortable. Lovely kitchen and everything we needed. Garden area perfect for dogs, clean ( slabbed), secure and private enough.

    Reviewed by Zoe4.4May 2023

  • "Just a couple of little niggles."

    Settee bit lumpy . Bath mat old and needs replacing. The cottage was fully equipped with household items. Very quite and peaceful.

    Reviewed by Diana3.8Apr 2023

  • "We were very happy,but l can imagine some who would find fault."

    Only saying because nitpickers could then give bad reviews,some people expect perfection and moan if they don't get it.It felt like home within hours of moving in and helped give us a really good experience,was comforttable warm,user friendly and the setting was stunning.Just right for those who like us enjoy a home from home.

    Reviewed by P4.4Apr 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at Netherlea."

    Cozy and warm cottage.We had awful weather so the drying room was really helpful. Very well equipped property and can walk without having to take the car.

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0Mar 2023

  • "As always Neatherlea cottage was clean and cosy, will be back next year."

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Nov 2022

  • "Good value."

    Great views.

    Reviewed by Julia4.1Oct 2022

  • "Gorgeous cottage, very clean, very well equipped, in a fabulous setting up on a hill with a view across the valley, Easy parking."

    Only issue was the sofa, too low, so not easy to get off. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by David4.7Oct 2022

  • "It's a very quaint little cottage BUT it's filthy."

    There's so much clutter on the kitchen worktops nobody ever wipes them, the pots were dirty - we washed 2 plates, 2 bowls, 2 mugs and 2 sets of cutlery and used the same ones all week. The bathroom is black with mould (try Mr Muscle Mould & Mildew)!! The paintwork is dingy, the skirting boards and doorframes have not been wiped in months. I wish I'd checked the bed when we first arrived, if I had I would have fetched somebody out - I stripped the linen off the bed before leaving (as instructed) only to discover the mattress protector and pillow protectors were filthy and stained (it certainly wasn't us) they look as though they haven' been changed in months and yes I do know what I'm talking about as we run a Guest House so we know "Clean". If you are paying somebody to service the cottage I would sugget you stop paying them as all they're doing is putting clean'ish linen on the bed and clean'ish towels in and leaving, I wouldn't pay them in buttons

    We're surprised and sorry that you had such a bad experience at the Cottage. Based on other reviews, this is far from the norm. We have checked all of the issues you raised and, to ensure that the cleaning of the Cottage continues to be up to standard, we have also discussed these issues with our cleaning company. As we live next door and were at home throughout most of your stay, it would have been helpful if you had raised your concerns with us directly. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrew1.3Jul 2022

  • "Lovely place, brilliantly set up."

    Thanks

    Reviewed by James5.0May 2022

  • "We had a lovely stay at Netherlea Cottage, I would definitely stay again!"

    Wonderful location with lovely walks suitable for dogs nearby. The cottage is in a lovely quiet location, very clean and really relaxing. The owner of the cottage was really helpful when I phoned him for directions. One of the taps (cold) in the bath wasn't working but otherwise everything was perfect.

    Reviewed by Lesley4.7May 2022

  • "Really nice little cottage with great facilities."

    good location with plenty to do exploring the hills, old canals, mines, quarries etc. on foot or bike.

    Reviewed by Alex5.0Apr 2022

  • "Fantastic & Outstanding Cottage."

    Great helpful owners when needed.

    Reviewed by Euan5.0Apr 2022

  • "Very clean and comfortable No problems We were visiting relations, so we ..."

    Very clean and comfortable No problems We were visiting relations, so we only slept and had breakfast in the cottage

    Reviewed by Muriel Irene5.0Dec 2021

  • "This was our third stay at Netherlea Cottage, As always warm and comfortable, set in a very beautiful part of the country with lovely walks for my 2 dogs."

    We will be back next year.

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Nov 2021

  • "A lovely cottage good for exploring the area for walking with or with out dogs."

    Had a lovely stay.

    Reviewed by Victoria4.7Oct 2021

  • "The cottage was clean and the owners (who lived nearby) were helpful and welcoming."

    It was great to have a base near Matlock where we could stay with our two dogs.

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Sep 2021

  • "Excellent location for exploring the area."

    Lovely and well equipped cottage, perfect size for a mini break for a family of 4 (2 primary age children who can share a room). Quiet and peaceful, exactly what was needed!

    Reviewed by David4.4Jul 2021

  • "Furniture not good for people with bad backs otherwise reasonably comfortable Oven could have been cleaner"

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Jul 2021

  • "The house is in a great position for exploring the Dales."

    The kitchen is well equipped and the owner popped around a couple of times and was very helpful. However, we ended up coming home a day early as the main bedroom bed is very uncomfortable and left us both with pain in our hips. The settee is far too low and my wife ended up using a garden chair we had brought with us to sit on. So, unfortunately we will not be returning to Netherlea Cottage. Had we read these comments in a review we would not have booked this particular accommodation.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are really sorry that you had to cut your holiday short. This is the first time in over three years of the Cottage being available as a holiday let that anyone has mentioned any issues with either the bed or the current settee (and we have had friends and family use the Cottage, as well as many clients). However, we will look at both areas and see what we can do to make improvements. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.1Jun 2021

  • "Cottage in a great position for touring around Derbyshire carnt go wrong ."

    Warm welcome nice bottle wine and fruit cake cottage was very clean due circumstances were in also received text saying cottage was available by the owner nice touch to your holiday would recommend this cottage.

    Reviewed by Kath4.7Sep 2020

  • "Beautiful and comfortable cottage proper home from home."

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jan 2020

  • "The cottage was clean, comfortable and cosy."

    It had everything we needed in a beautiful location and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The village shop is lovely too!

    Reviewed by Catherine5.0Dec 2019

  • "Our second visit to this lovely cosy cottage, owner very friendly and helpful and great Dundee cake from a very well stocked village shop."

    Its a nice area with plenty of walks for the dogs. As it's central for family we had an early family Christmas there this year and plan to do the same next year.

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Nov 2019

  • "We had a great holiday, Netherlea Cottage was really well equipped, they had great facilities such as the drying room for wet walking gear and the bike store for secure storage of bikes both of which we used."

    It was in a great location for walks, many of which can be accessed directly from the cottage. The wine and cake on arrival are a really nice touch as well. Overall a very positive experience.

    Reviewed by Karl5.0Oct 2019

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage."

    .would recommend.

    Reviewed by Christine4.4Sep 2019

  • "Really lovely break."

    The cottage was really lovely as were the owners. Very friendly and helpful. Kitchen is fully equipped, although we ate out so didn't really get the benefit. The girls (2 mini schnauzers) equally loved and were very relaxed and secure. Wine and cake was a bonus and nice touch. We left some bits we’d bought at Chatsworth County Fair and John kindly posted them back to us (free of charge). Would definitely recommend and hope to return in the future

    Reviewed by Belinda4.7Aug 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a beautiful area."

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Aug 2019

  • "Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and have recommended to friends and family."

    Situated in a very peaceful setting in a lovely little village. The kitchen is well equipped with a gas hob, oven, microwave, coffee maker and kettle. There is also a dishwasher and washing machine. Plenty of cutlery, plates and saucepans. There is also a little courtyard that is really nice to sit at when the weather is good. The parking is close to a corner, but we didn't find it to be an issue, and we are conscious of our car! John the owner is very welcoming and had put a bottle of wine and Dundee cake out for us on arrival. The cottage is situated in a great location to get to Ashbourne, Matlock and Bakewell. Cant recommend this place enough!

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Jun 2019

  • "Cottage and location was perfect."

    Not really a holiday for us as I needed somewhere to stay close to my Dad during his last few days. He sadly passed away whilst I was there but the cottage and experience with the Sykes team was perfect and stress free

    Reviewed by Emma4.4May 2019

  • "Great little cottage, well equipped and excellent location."

    Literally couldn’t fault. Was aware from description that second bedroom was tight for two strapping adults but beds were full size and comfy and more importantly there was space for us all to sit round the table and eat. Booked very last minute but process simple and instructions for finding and accessing property were clear. No allocated parking but we had no problem leaving our large family car on the opposite side of the lane. Would definitely return to cottage and use Sykes again.

    Reviewed by D5.0May 2019

  • "The cottage exceeded our expectations great location"

    Reviewed by Heather5.0Apr 2019

  • "Location is great."

    Small cottage but fully equipped and more than adequate for 2/3 people.

    Reviewed by Neil4.4Apr 2019

  • "Charming hosts."

    We were not on holiday but between houses; the cottage served us well, having all we needed.

    Reviewed by Ron4.1Feb 2019

  • "Netherlea cottage was a nice cosy cottage and prefect for holidays in the Matlock area, it had everything you would want and we will stay there again next year, and most importantly the garden is dog safe."

    Reviewed by Vanessa5.0Nov 2018

  • "A central location with fantastic views and the cherry on top was cosy Netherlea cottage."

    Reviewed by Lucy5.0Sep 2018

  • "Cottage has a great well equipped kitchen but a washing up bowl is needed for the sink."

    There is no door on the bottom of the stairs so you can't keep dogs downstairs as requested. There are no blinds or curtains on the kitchen window or door; not very private, especially at night. Lounge sofa and chairs are a bit old and are a mis match and were not very comfortable compared to other properties we have stayed in. The property is very clean and the beds were comfy. Yard area is split level, no grass area and low height wall enclosing it means it may not be suitable for sighthounds or dogs needing a 6 foot fence. Sykes don't publish this level of detail and I think that they should to help dog owners.

    Reviewed by Cath3.8Aug 2018

  • "I firstly want to thank John for being the most welcoming owner."

    Netherlea Cottage is perfect, we have stayed in some very lovely holiday properties over the years but I have never stayed in one so spotless and pleasant. (and so well equipped) We had never been to this part of England of before and we were not disappointed, the cottage and friendly neighbours helped to make our stay even better. John kindly gave us a recommendation on where to take our two boys (Carsington Water Park & Visitor Centre) our boys really enjoyed it as did we, so thank you John, oh and the cake and wine were very thoughtful too. We have recommended the property to our parents (we did that on the first day!) and we are already looking at dates for next year... and for a longer stay too. We have never stayed twice in a property, so that is a good sign!

    Reviewed by Becky5.0Jul 2018

  • "Nothing wrong with the cottage which was great but I try to avoid Sykes who I find difficult to deal with as their pricing can be misleading and even on this booking they took more than due from my credit card and I had to get them to make a refund."

    Netherlea is a very good cottage with a very helpful owner who lives next door. Fresh and clean and good dog walking on the doorstep.

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Jun 2018

  • "Great cottage ,lovely location although a bit hilly, made to feel very welcome with a bottle of wine and a fruit cake,if I was being picky I would have liked a iron and ironing board and a 3 seater settee to stretch out on, but comfy as is."

    Thanks Brian and Josie

    Reviewed by Brian4.4Apr 2018

  • "The location was ideal, with a great local butcher/baker and a nearby pub that offers a friendly welcome and tasty home cooked food, the cottage owner was friendly and helpful as was the neighbours."

    It is situated on a steep hill which may be difficult for older visitors. We will certainly be heading back at sometime and would highly recommend this property

    Reviewed by William5.0Apr 2018

  • "Beautiful little Cottage, John the owner is more than helpful."

    The Cottage is very comfortable, clean and warm, everything you need is there. Will be returning.

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Mar 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double , 1 x single with additional pull-out bed
  • Property sleeps 4, however is more suitable for 2 adults and 2 children, or just 3 adults
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with Smart TV and DVD Player.
  • Gas central heating throughout
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge with freezer compartment, washer, drying room, dishwasher
  • Wifi
  • Selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking
  • Enclosed patio to the front with furniture and BBQ
  • Secure lockable bike storage
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Excellent family butchers/bakers 200 yards, cafe 0.4 miles and pubs within 1.5 miles
  • Please note: Property sleeps 4, however is more suitable for 2 adults and 2 children, or just 3 adults

The property

This small cottage is attached to the owners’ property, located in the village of Holloway, close to Matlock and Cromford.

Ideal for a small family or couples, this accommodation offers a comfortable stay and benefits from countryside views that lie right on your doorstep.

Upon entering, you will arrive at a modern kitchen/diner with a country feel, perfect for a home-cooked meal after a day exploring the local area.

Everyone can gather together in the living area for a cosy night in, or you can even plan a romantic evening for two.

The first floor is home to a double bedroom, featuring views of the hills and fields in the distance.

A single bedroom is perfect for children or extra guests, and contains an additional pull-out bed.

The family bathroom is situated close by, complete with a bath and shower over so you can get ready in the morning hours or unwind after an adventure filled day.

To the outside of the property there is a delightful patio area where you can sit back and enjoy a barbecue in the sun.

Holloway, once home to Florence Nightingale, boasts a cafe, butchers/bakers,and offers numerous walks and cycle routes including the High Peak Trail, Derwent Valley Heritage Way and Midshires Way. Magnificent Chatsworth House and Gardens, Haddon Hall and Carsington Water with its many water sports are all within easy reach of Holloway.

There is much to see in and around the area of this wonderful village location.

View on map

About the location

HOLLOWAY

Crich 2 miles; Matlock Bath 3 miles; Cromford 3 miles.

The ancient village of Holloway lies just 3 miles from the Spa town of Matlock Bath and the Mill village of Cromford, on the edge of the Peak District National Park. Holloway, once home to Florence Nightingale, has a P.O, butcher/bakers, and a coffee shop, and offers numerous walks and cycle routes including the High Peak Trail, Derwent Valley Heritage Way and Midshires Way. The nearby village of Crich is full of history, offers a number of shops and pubs and is home to the National Tramway Museum, where trams can be taken up the valley to enjoy some of the most beautiful views in the Derbyshire Dales. Cromford, with its connection to Richard Arkwright and the cotton trade, is well worth a visit and is often referred to as the cradle of the Industrial Revolution. Both Arkwright Mill in Cromford and Masson Mill in Matlock Bath form a key part of the UNESCO Derwent Valley Mills World Heritage Site. Matlock Bath lies in the wooded gorge on the River Derwent and boast numerous attractions including Gulliver's Kingdom, the Peak District Mining Museum and magnificent views can be enjoyed down the gorge from the cable cars of The Heights of Abraham, also offering show caves, water gardens, a nature trail and an Owl Maze. The thriving market towns of Ashbourne, Bakewell and Matlock are all within easy reach of Holloway, as are the magnificent Chatsworth House and Gardens, Haddon Hall and Carsington Water, with its many water sports.

Please note: Property sleeps 4, however is more suitable for 2 adults and 2 children, or just 3 adults

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas