Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 21 minutes ago

1 of 20 View Image Gallery
  • Beas Cottage - Peak District - 1010002 - photo 1

Beas Cottage

(Ref. 1010002)

Little Hayfield, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (25)
  • lovely (14)
  • bed (14)
  • our (13)
  • clean (13)
  • friendly (13)

32 Customer Reviews

  • "Bea's cottage is an absolute gem of a place to stay for exploring the Peak District national park,we have become regulars at Bea's cottage,this was our 7th stay and every time we arrive Bea's cottage is spotlessly clean and the neighbours are always very friendly and welcoming."

    As soon as we arrive at Bea's we feel very relaxed and the stresses of work seem a million miles away, enjoying great views of Lantern Pike from the front windows. Bea's is perfectly located for access to hiking in the national park,just a short walk behind the cottage across Middle Moor and you are on the Snake Path that takes you passed Kinder reservoir and up to Kinder Scout,the views are absolutely stunning!! Lantern pike pub is only a 5 minute walk and serves delicious food at a very reasonable price. The owner of Bea's has always been very helpful with any questions we have regarding the cottage. Looking forward to returning to Bea's soon, highly recommended!!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2023

  • "Wanted to cry when I walked into the property, nothing like the images."

    Poorly maintained, tired, dirty, badly equipped, the whole place felt as though it had just been thrown together with things lying about. No pots matched, the bedding had been patch repaired and the towels all smelt. The back bedroom should not have a double bed in it, couldn't even open the door. No bedside lamps for reading. No welcome pack with local info. Only plusses were the location for avid walkers and the friendly, helpful neighbours. If this is the standard of cottages Sykes has on their books I wouldn't recommend using you. I think the standard for what we paid was terrible, I would have paid a lot less for this standard, will not be using you again

    Hello Victoria. Upset to read your comments. You mention dirty, but for me to be able to sort things out perhaps you have photos or description of the dirty areas? I do clean the property myself so would be grateful if you could advise. You mention poorly maintained can you please be more specific which areas.Crockery is mostly white, apologies for it not matching. A welcome pack is there, it can be located in the wall cupboard. Sykes Cottages will be reaching out to you as I have asked for further information. Regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Victoria1.3Sep 2023

  • "We had a great family stay in Beas Cottage, plenty of local great walks and all we needed in a cottage, comfort, and facilities including a hot shower after a good days walking."

    Local to a couple of great pubs for a well deserved pint. looking forward to our next stay.

    Reviewed by Frederick4.1Aug 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay, the cottage was clean and the bed in the main bedroom was comfy."

    Its a great location for walks. Parking provided for one car was great. Finding roadside parking for second car could be an issue. There are two key safes so the backdoor key might well be in the backdoor safe. We would be happy to book this cottage again.

    Hello sye many thanks for your feedback. I always appreciate remarks regarding beas whether they be positive or negative. Once again Thankyou June Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sue3.8Jun 2023

  • "Positives first location as always fantastic, great walks from door step."

    Cottage needs some TLC and certain areas need a deep clean, flooring under bed in back bedroom? Bedding and towels spotless. Great WIFI. The busy road is relentless day and night. Went to sleep in back bedroom but unfortunately bed seen better days. As mentioned in other reviews not dog friendly at all regarding outdoor space. We left a day early due to lack of sleep and comfort.

    Reviewed by Tracy1.9Jun 2023

  • "The cottage was in a fabulous location with plenty of walks on the door step."

    The neighbours were friendly and helpful. The beds were comfortable and we slept well. The books provided about walls were very helpful and much appreciated. Sadly, the cottage was pretty run down and unclean. On arrival we had to purchase cleaning materials to clean the kitchen, all cupboards and draws were full of crumbs and hairs. The plates and glasses were dirty and required cleaning before use. There was also thick cobwebs in all the rooms. There was a pile of ‘off cuts’ of laminate boards in the second bedroom floor and under the bed. It was Lovely snug cottage in a beautiful location, just needs a little TLC.

    Thank you for your feedback. We have a small selection of some cleaning items in a cupboard but for health and safety reasons we do not keep anything else in the property incase children get their hands on them. We will check over the cleaning, sorry this was an issue for your stay, should you have notified us during your booking, we would have helped rectify this for you. Apologies regarding the boards under the bed, initially we were going to replace the flooring but instead opted for a carpet option. These will be removed. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jessica2.5May 2023

  • "Lovely views of hills and sunsets were spectacular."

    Description fitted the reality in general, however, the bed in small bedroom was too large for the room so the door didn’t close. A warning about accessing the cottage around the back, the steps were steep and slippery in the wet. We had a lot of luggage and it was a hard job getting it in and out of the cottage. More suitable for the light of load and the agile. Facilities were good, heating worked, hot water, good wifi and tv. Books and maps about the locality provided. Cute decor, plenty of bed linen and blankets. Near to big supermarkets by car eg glossop tesco and marks and Spencer food. Great pubs and coffee shops in Hayfield. Gateway to Kinder Scout and the Peak District with a plethora of walking trails and outdoor activities.

    Many thanks for your comments, we will be looking at changing the bed in the second room and we do include information on pre arrival communications re the best place to park. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen3.1Nov 2022

  • "This was our 4th stay at Beas cottage and we couldn't wait to return, it certainly didn't disappoint, on arrival at this spotlessly clean, well equipped comfortable cottage, we immediately felt relaxed and the long journey from Essex and our hectic work lives back home, soon felt like a distant memory."

    The neighbors went out of their way to be friendly, helpful and took time out to have a chat with us. With views of Lantern Pike out the front window of Beas, Middle Moor and the Snake path leading to Kinder Scout only a short walk behind the cottage, we really were Spoiled for choice with beautiful walks to enjoy with our dog in the stunning surrounding Peak district national park. The dog friendly Lantern Inn is only a short 5 minute walk from Beas and serves delicious meals at a very reasonable price, with very friendly staff. Cant wait to return to Beas,we are already planning our walks for our next visit. Highly recommended!!!!!

    Hi Paul am so delighted you and your partner enjoyed your stay at Beas. You are obviously keen walkers and appreciate the beautiful countryside surrounding beas cottage. BEAS is ideal for hikers ramblerss etc it is situated in a very central spot fir access to the fells. Ilook forward to greeting you again next year. June Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2022

  • "The cottage could best be described as ‘adequate’."

    Not particularly clean and rather lacking in kitchen utensils (plates, bowls, cutlery etc.) There was no welcome pack, or information provided. I wasn’t aware that the field at the end of the track behind the cottage was out of bounds to people and dogs, but was abruptly informed of this by a very grumpy woman who accosted me as soon as I passed through the open gate. Information about this in the cottage would have been helpful. However despite this, we enjoyed our stay at Bea’s Cottage - the views at the front are lovely, the surrounding area is beautiful and perfect for great walks with our dog. Access to the front door of the property is difficult due to lack of pavement and a very busy main road, which made unloading and loading the car quite perilous. Bed was comfortable and plenty of clean towels and bedding provided. The local pub - The Lantern Pike was excellent. We enjoyed two meals here and the staff and regulars very friendly.

    Hello Thankyou for your comments and i am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beas Cottage. However i would like you to.point out where you felt the cottage was not clean and then i can do my utmost to put it right. I will also place a welcome pack for guests. It does state in the advert that the cottage is on a busy main road from buxton through to glossop. Usually my cousin meets and greets guests and assists them through their rear entrance to beas away from the road.They must have been out when you arrived. Regarding crockery and cutlery I will make sure there will be enough to accommodate 4 people. Thankyou for your custom. Kind regards June Rios Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony3.8Jul 2022

  • "This was out third stay at Beas Cottage and we couldn't wait to get back there."

    Its the perfect location for exploring the Peak District, you can walk to the summit of Kinder Scout across Middle Moor located just behind Beas Cottage,1.5 hours of hiking after leaving Beas cottage and we were on top of the Kinder Plateau enjoying the stunning views across the Peak District. We also took the short 20 minute drive to the pretty village of Castleton and explored Mamtor ,Lose Hill and Cave Dale, well worth a visit. After a full day walking in the hills its lovely to come back to the comfy, clean Beas cottage with its lovely views of the Lantern pike hill, its a very relaxing place to stay and unwind, with very friendly helpful neighbours and only a short walk into Hayfield for a great selection of pubs and cafes selling fantastic food. Cant wait for our next stay at Beas!!!

    Good morning paul Many thanks for I will continue to keep the cottage up to date and make it as comfortabke as possible for all guests. I look forward very much to having you stay at the cottage once again. Kind regards June rios Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Apr 2022

  • "This was our second stay this year at the lovely Beas cottage Its a fantastic place to stay for exploring the Peak District national Park,during our stay we climbed Kinder Scout, Lantern Pike,Derwent Edge and Alport Castles,so much to explore in this area!"

    ! And its so lovely to come back to the cosy comfort of Beas cottage after a day hiking in the hills We will be back again next year, cant wait!!!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Sep 2021

  • "The holiday cottage was compact and homely and had beautiful views over the hills surrounding it ."

    It felt like an escape from our other pressures and some of the neighbours were very helpful about the surrounding areas and lots of leaflets in cottage too . Parking at the cottage was reasonable, and we were shown by a helpful neighbour how to access property behind ,as to the front is a pretty busy road, so difficult with shopping and dogs . It would have been useful to have some basic pointers about useful info, as to how to work the boiler, use hob and recycling or bin facilities.The manuals were in a drawer, but I for one struggled with the convector hob , gave up one night but eventually got it to work . For dog owners ,they need to be prepared to lock front door and take dogs out on lead to garden that is set up high at the back..up 2 sets of steps ,this was not an issue for us,but could be if less active . The bonus was the rural setting was really lovely . The beds were comfortable enough and towels and linen provided.. Possibly the sofa and chairs needed to be a bit bigger or something for sprawling, but yet again the cottage is quite small for larger furniture .Many thanks, we enjoyed our stay and the purple heather on the hill behind was in full glory ..

    Many thanks for your positive remarks. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at Beas. Kind regards June Rios Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rowena3.8Aug 2021

  • "A characterful little cottage outside Hayfield."

    lovely views of Lantern Pike, and an ideal location for getting out onto the moord and hills. THe cottage was comfortable if a bit basic, but decent value for money. It's on a main road, and the off-road parking is 30 yards or so down the road, which made entering the cottage with bags etc on arrival a bit more difficult than usual, but easy to get used to. We had an issue with the TV and BT Internet but owner very helpful. We had a great week. It's a perfect place to stay for keen walkers!

    Hello and thankyou for your feedback on Beas. It must have been difficult for you parking away from the cottage but there is a parking lot by no. 12 glossop road for one car.Also rear entrance through no.12 to Beas avoiding the busy road. Kind regards June Rios Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter3.8Jul 2021

  • "When we arrived the house had not been cleaned or laundry changed for the new occupancy and it took some while to contact either the owner or Sykes about this."

    we were than (at 7pm) asked to 'go to the pub or for a meal' until 10 oclock to let someone attend to clean. this was not acceptatble . we remained in the house and managed the sheets. We did receive compensation but of course this did upset the initial feel of our holiday. There are limited kitchen provisions eg no baking trays, if there had been 4 people there would not be enough matching crockery for them and the neighbour had to deliver initial toilet roll and washing up liquid. Visitors should note that although dogs are accepted the garden is not secure and therefore it is difficult to let the dog out and notices in the garden are discouraging of dogs.

    Reviewed by Shendi2.5Jul 2021

  • "The cottage wasn’t that clean, the floor needed work and it was bare floorboard which were polished but there was quite big gaps and in them and were uneven especially in the bathroom."

    The front garden wasn’t well maintained at all and very overgrown and you kept getting pricked by the sharp plant which had overgrown so you brushed past it every time you went in and out of the front door. The location is nice but due to it being on a busy road it would be good to look at better sound insulation

    Reviewed by Zak3.1Jul 2021

  • "Beas Cottage is in the perfect location for exploring the beautiful village of Hayfield and the surrounding stunning countryside."

    It's a lovely, beautifully decorated comfy cottage, we felt at home as soon as we walked through the front door, the neighbours were really friendly and offered us advise on places to eat and where to go hiking . The path that takes you across Middle Moor, Kinder Reservoir, William Clough and up Kinder Scout begins just a short walk from the cottage. Highley recommended, we have already booked a return trip for later this year to Beas Cottage, cant wait!!!

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jun 2021

  • "Beas cottage was in a lovely location for exploring, we had everything we needed for our stay."

    The cottage was very clean and tidy, we were sad to leave. My only suggestion would be comfier seating in the lounge, not that this is a huge deal as we were out enjoying the high peak all week. The neighbours were friendly and welcoming too. Will definitely use here again when we make the trip up to visit family and friends. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by Julie4.4May 2021

  • "Location was excellent."

    Great for walking and exploring peak district. Cottage nice and cosy, although not the cleanest. Other than that overall experience was great. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Pawel3.8May 2021

  • "We needed a cottage because we were having building work done at home."

    So it met this need. However we did not find the cottage dog friendly. The front garden is ungated and leads on to a very busy road (lots of traffic noise and no pavement). The back has a very small yard which you exit via steep stone steps. One of our dogs has a ligament problem and had to be carried out. We also got quickly informed by neighbors that dogs are not encouraged at the back of the property and that dogs are not permitted on the little piece of grass at the rear. Suggesting that this is a dog friendly property is a gross exaggeration and need to be removed from the listing. Also no bedside lamps were available and the shower room was not well finished. We only paid £372 for the week so it was cheap and cheerful and got the job done. Had we paid the normal full price you'd be hearing from our solicitors.

    Reviewed by David2.8May 2021

  • "Beas cottage is a lovely comfortable cosy cottage the perfect spot for exploring derbyshire the neighbours were lovely and gave lots of advice on places to visit we had a problem with the BT you view for the TV the first day but the owner was amazing and sorted it out really quickly will definitely be going back and have already recommended it to our friends."

    Reviewed by John5.0Apr 2021

  • "Not like the picture and not safe for dogs"

    Reviewed by Gaynor3.8Apr 2021

  • "This cottage is a lovely place to stay; I felt warm and comfortable staying here."

    Reviewed by Barry3.8Sep 2020

  • "Not having a secure lockable front door made experience a poor one given money outlayed and not being able to fully protect dogs from very busy road ."

    ..very happy door repaired next day

    Reviewed by Nr Carl4.4Aug 2020

  • "Everything very clean and comfortable."

    Nice bedding.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Aug 2020

  • "Cottage was not clean at all, dog hairs everywhere and smelt of dogs."

    Bed was very uncomfortable and we had to leave a night early because of this. Only positive was the location of the cottage.

    Reviewed by Laura2.2Aug 2020

  • "It is very well located for walking the peaks and seeing the main villages"

    Reviewed by Brenda4.4Jul 2020

  • "Great location with very friendly neighbours."

    Great access into the Peak District. The cottage could do with sprucing up, and it wasn’t the cleanest place we’ve stayed in, the settee has seen better days. We took our dog and would have appreciated a vacuum cleaner being available, so that his hair etc didn’t build up.

    Reviewed by David3.4Mar 2020

  • "Positives Good location, beautiful views from windows, very comfortable bed & seats in lounge."

    Good selection of crockery, cutlery & glassware. Loads of towels. Negatives No Welcome Pack (Visitors Book, Local Information [e.g. Contact Numbers - Doctors, Restaurants, Vets, etc]). No drawers in either bedroom for socks, underclothes etc. No trouser hangers in wardrobes. Old used washing up sponge (untidy under sink), no idea where to put waste, except glass. Lounge was quite cold, either needs a larger radiator or extra heating (convector heater). Ideal for a couple or small family, particularly if the second bedroom had bunk beds instead of a double bed.

    Reviewed by Paul3.8Feb 2020

  • "A lovely cottage, warm and welcoming."

    We recieved a lovely welcome from the neighbours who gave us some advice on walking routes around the area and recommended the local pub, the lantern pike, for a meal. The cottage was fully equipped with everything you could need and also has a washer for when you go and get muddy. We've already recommended to friends and wouldn't hesitate in going back.

    Reviewed by Shane5.0Dec 2019

  • "The cottage is lovely and well equipped in terms of bedding, towels, kitchenware etc."

    It is on a busy main road with no pavement (as stated in the description of the cottage) but there is access from the back of the property to the car parking space so this was not an issue at all. The cottage has amazing views and is surrounded by beautiful countryside. There are places to walk dogs without needing to drive anywhere and dog friendly pubs within walking distance.

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Oct 2019

  • "We have used Sykes for our last four holidays and the other cottages were fine, this one however was poorly equipped and tatty."

    There we no finishing touches, no welcome pack or instructions and not even any soap in the bathroom. Access was not easy as the cottage has steep stairs at the rear and a busy main road down steep stairs at the front, both not ideal with a dog on a lead. The wifi was really good however but apart from that it certainly was not a comfortable cottage.

    Reviewed by Robert2.2Oct 2019

  • "The cottage was as described and was clean, comfortable and well equipped."

    It was also well located for the surrounding countryside and walks and close to amenities. The only negative is the cottage is located on a busy road making it noisy from the traffic. Otherwise it's a great, dog friendly cosy retreat. The neighbour at number 14 was very friendly and accommodating and allowed us to park 2 cars outside his property (the agreement is only for 1) and was also generally helpful.

    Reviewed by Maureen5.0Aug 2019

Show more Hide all


  • Over two floors
  • Two bedrooms: 2 x double
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge with ice box, washing machine, iron (iron board not included)
  • TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for one car ONLY in the gravelled area, further parking available roadside 100 yards away
  • Please note, the parking space is not suitable for small vans and larger
  • Multi-level courtyard garden with lawn and patio area and furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.9 miles
  • Note: No footpath on the property side of the road and may not be suitable for elderly/people with limited mobility or children
  • Note: There are 4 steps leading up-to the front of the property from the road and no handrails on the external stairs
  • Note: Property on a main road.
  • Note: Bea's Cottage is perfect for dogs but please ensure dogs on the lead when outside in the garden area
  • Check-in time is 5pm

The property

This delightful mid-terrace cottage rests on the outskirts of the High Peak village of Hayfield, with far-reaching views across the rolling countryside.

Boasting a tastefully decorated interior, with characterful features such as the lovely exposed beams and laminate flooring.

Spend your evenings in the delightful sitting room with plenty of furniture to relax and unwind, while catching up with your favourite shows.

The kitchen has a wonderful set of contemporary fitted units and plenty of worktop space for preparing your meals, whilst there is a dining area with seating for up to three people, a wonderful social space for the whole family to dine together.

The property boasts two double bedrooms with the master bedroom boasting some of the most magnificent views across the countryside, so you can wake up to this idyllic location every single morning!

Enjoy the evening sunshine out on the patio.

Set in the High Peak area of the Peak District National Park, you are perfectly located for exploring the picturesque countryside hills, enjoying an afternoon walk with your four-legged friend, or challenging yourself to a hike across the famous moorland of Kinder Scout.

There are plenty of nearby pubs and eateries for you to sample, discovering many fine food dishes and real ale.

Beas Cottage provides an exceptional base for exploring all the Peak District has to offer.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location


Chapel-en-le-Frith 4 miles; Glossop 5 miles; Buxton 8 miles.

The delightful High Peak village of Hayfield is situated in a wonderful rural setting on the north western edge of the Peak National Park. It’s a peaceful little village, popular with walkers who are attracted by its close proximity to Kinder Scout. Serious walkers head east out of the village, up and over the green foothills to the russet expanse of the Kinder Plateau, Pennine Way and Snake Path, whilst families (and those who enjoy more gentle rambles) head west along the beautiful Sett Valley Trail towards New Mills. Edale – an alternative start of the Pennine Way - is only a few miles away. The village caters well for tourists with pubs, cafes and restaurants. Other local attractions include the Goyt Valley, Castleton – with its famous caverns - and the popular spa town of Buxton.

Off road parking for one car only - further roadside parking available 100 yards away.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas