Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Peak District 1 minutes ago

1 of 14 View Image Gallery
  • Holly Cottage - Peak District - 935996 - photo 1
close
  • Holly Cottage - (Ref. 935996)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Holly Cottage

(Ref. 935996)

Cromford, Peak District & Derbyshire Dales Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (44)
  • lovely (26)
  • our (25)
  • stay (21)
  • well (18)
  • location (17)

48 Customer Reviews

  • "Enjoyed our stay, thanks."

    Good location for visiting the village and exploring further afield. Welcome wine and biscuits a thoughtful touch. The cottage was freezing when we arrived and it took a good day or two to defrost it! Standard of cleanliness was below expected, bathroom window was covered in black mould and the grout/silicone also mouldy. Bedroom could do with dusting skirtings/behind bedside tables etc.

    Reviewed by Alison3.4Feb 2024

  • "Holly cottage provided a cosy, homely and charachterful base in village location which was ideal for our visit."

    Husband at 6ft 2" had a few challenges but nothing we weren't aware of on booking. We enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Ruth4.4Sep 2023

  • "Thanks for a wonderful stay, you thought of everything we’d need to make our stay enjoyable."

    It was a beautiful cottage and the beds were very comfortable. The garden was very cute and the views were amazing. The bathroom was lovely & the shower very powerful. We made use of the fire pit for roasting marshmallows with the kids. The log burner was great and heated the cottage up very well. It was short walk into the village. Beautiful surrounding areas too. We can’t wait to come back again.

    Reviewed by Tracy5.0Jul 2023

  • "We had an enjoyable stay with the details very accurate."

    The only slight gripe we had was the mattress in the top bedroom was very soft & springy so was uncomfortable for us who are used to harder mattresses. Overall though a lovely cottage.

    Reviewed by Angela4.1May 2023

  • "We really enjoyed staying at this stunning quirky cottage."

    We loved the terrace garden & having a coffee out there.The cottage had bags of character & we really didn’t want to leave.The bottle of wine went down well.The only gripe we have ,which would be easy to remedy was that although the cottage was superficially clean,it could have done with a better clean really.Dirty microwave plate,fingerprints & cobwebs.Other than that it was perfect.

    Reviewed by Carl4.4Apr 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at Holly cottage!"

    Listing was very accurate, as mentioned this place wouldn't be suitable for those with mobility issues but no problem for us. Great walks and facilities on the doorstep, including the cromford canal which we took our paddleboard out on after booking a slot. The cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed, we especially love the wood burner for cosy nights! Since some of the previous reviews have been posted, I believe the garden has been better enclosed for dogs which was great as we could let our pooch out without fear of her escaping. The next door neighbour was really friendly, and all the locals lovely. The village has a really welcoming feel to it and we had a great time chatting to people in the local pubs. Just to mention the small single plug socket on the wall that attaches to the bathroom in the top bedroom sparked when one of the guests plugged a hairdryer in so this may be something that needs to be checked. Apart from this everything was fab and we would love to come back! Thanks so much!

    Reviewed by Alicia4.1Mar 2023

  • "Lovely cottage, cosy and a good location."

    It is on a main road but the sound of the traffic isn't noticeable as there is secondary glazing in the bedrooms and the walls are thick. Lots of places to walk from the cottage and Arkwrights shop in Cromford is suprisingly well stocked. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Joanne4.7Mar 2023

  • "We loved our stay at Holly Cottage."

    It was cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed. It was situated perfectly in the area we wanted to explore on our little get away. The only things I would say are the road is very busy outside (not the fault of the house owners obviously but I have never seen so many wagons carrying stone and cement!) so if you’ve a young family or dog you need to be careful as the house steps directly out onto the road. We loved the original features of this house however if you’ve limited mobility or an adventurous toddler the stairs are very very steep.

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Feb 2023

  • "Great location, lovely cottage."

    Reviewed by Sally4.4Feb 2023

  • "Nice thought to provide a welcome bottle of Mulled Wiine for our Christmas Break along with the biscuits and the dog treats."

    This cottage provided a nice base for visiting family in nearby Middleton and good dog - friendly walks.

    Reviewed by Roger5.0Dec 2022

  • "The lorries and tankers thundering past the cottage spoilt the location."

    We've rated low on 'comfort' because the bed was uncomfortable, very small (queen size?) and we cook on memory foam mattresses (that's a personal thing!) so we didn't sleep well. The kitchen was well equipped, it was nice and warm when we arrived and we appreciated the welcome wine and biscuits.

    Reviewed by Clare2.8Nov 2022

  • "Lovely stay Well stocked with good quality equipment and technology Would definitely stay there again Thank you"

    Reviewed by Helen4.4Sep 2022

  • "Enjoyed are stay in this lovely cottage"

    Reviewed by Luke5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely quirky cottage we enjoyed our break here."

    Lots in the area to see and so especially walking. The house was cosy and comfortable only one small nit pick the pillows were quite hard but that is personal preference.

    Reviewed by Susan4.4Apr 2022

  • "Absolutely loved our stay ay Holly cottage."

    Would highly recommend the cottage and area to everyone!!! 100% perfect

    Reviewed by Laura5.0Apr 2022

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Holly Cottage."

    The cottage had everything we needed and was a real home from home. It was a superb base for exploring this area. The welcome pack was a real treat, we all enjoyed it including our two dogs. I would definitely recommend Holly Cottage and hope to return ourselves in the near future.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2021

  • "Great location to access the Peak District."

    Positives: beds were comfy, fab powerful shower, and fresh coffee on tap at the local book store. To note: the old cottage has low door heights and a steep staircase which whilst adding character did cause a few bumped heads during the week!

    Reviewed by Charis5.0Aug 2021

  • "Great cottage, very clean and comfortable, would recommend!"

    Reviewed by Emily5.0Jul 2021

  • "Overall it was a great location for exploring the local area."

    We came for the local hikes and walks. The cottage itself is very comfortable, quiet at night, slept very well. Kitchen well stocked with all needed utensils, and the hob and oven are excellent. Hot water on tap. Downsides are that the road is extremely busy with HGVs; as parking is tight to the road, extra care with kids and dogs needed. Although dogs are thankfully allowed, the pretty terraced garden isn't enclosed, which I had been told about, but I had not been told to have dogs on leads thus we had a telling off from the neighbor as our dogs had wandered over whilst we were deep in discussion on the patio. A simple 'chicken wire' fence between the properties would fix this problem, as all our dogs needed is a barrier to know where they are allowed and where not. Otherwise it's dogs on leads at all times which is prohibitive to relaxation. Plus an annoyance to the neighbor, which was an unfortunate thing. Whilst checking the cottage for bits of belongings that may have rolled under the sofa, we were surprised to find a longtime build up of dust underneath, a lost dog collar from sometime ago as it was obvious with the amount of dustwebs hanging off it. We disposed of the collar and left a note. That was a disappointment as the rest of the cottage seemed clean. Also in the absence of a washing machine, an airer to dry damp or wet clothes would be a great practical help. With a little more care with the cleaning and the aforementioned, the cottage would be a place that I would re-visit.

    Reviewed by Beth3.8Jun 2021

  • "Really lovely cottage in a beautiful setting."

    Reviewed by Martha5.0Apr 2021

  • "Lovely cottage, owners have made it very cosy, great location close to all amenities shops, cafes, public houses."

    Just a five minute drive from Matlock bath or a lovely leisurely walk

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Oct 2020

  • "Although parking was available, it was really only for a small car."

    Neighbours complained.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Sep 2020

  • "The cottage is warm, welcoming and well located for exploring the area around Matlock Bath."

    My family and I walked into Matlock Bath and on to Matlock from the cottage, which took about an hour in total (at a fairly comfortable pace). The bedrooms in the cottage are very comfortable, the kitchen is well equipped and lounge sufficiently cosy for lazy nights in (especially when the fire is roaring!). The staircase is a little bit of a steep climb - not suitable for guests with reduced mobility. The local pub - The Boat Inn - is a friendly place with good food, a good ale selection and some fantastic live music on the regular. In all, I would happily stay at Holly Cottage again.

    Reviewed by Samuel4.4Feb 2020

  • "Cosy comfortable cottage ,parking on the doorstep, clean tidy and we'll equipped ..."

    Cosy comfortable cottage ,parking on the doorstep, clean tidy and we'll equipped Close to the many attractions close by ,

    Reviewed by Jez5.0Oct 2019

  • "We booked holly cottage for a week but only stayed 3 nights."

    the cottage itself is ok, it was clean. but not dog or child friendly.the front of the cottage has a small cobbled path,difficult to park on and steep steps up to the front door,lorries hurtle down past the cottage constantly so just getting our dog out of the car and into the cottage was nerve racking. there was no back garden for a dog or us to use safely. cromford itself would be pleasant enough if it wasnt for the extremely busy roads. we feel aggrieved as the description of this property is not accurate,.we are relieved to be back home breathing clean air and not dodging traffic.

    Thank you very much for leaving your feedback, and I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Holly Cottage. The cottage description states that the steep terrace garden is not suitable for children, however it is a pet friendly property. There is a back garden, it is an unfenced terrace garden and it is clear in the description that is not enclosed. Finally, the property is in fact on a main village road as stated in the description. Again, thank you for leaving your feedback, however I don't feel that the property description is inaccurate, and a lot of guests really enjoyed their time at Holly Cottage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda2.8Oct 2019

  • "What a wonderful cottage!"

    ! Indeed as per other reviews the stairs are reasonably steep, however this is clearly stated in the description and does not detract from the experience! Very clean and well stocked, including complimentary items on arrival! Fantastic position to access the wealth of activities available locally. Would definitely recommend!!

    Reviewed by Sophie5.0Aug 2019

  • "Although we enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage and appreciated the wealth of history, there were a few areas that disappointed us."

    Firstly, the off road parking is very limited and we had difficulty getting our vehicle completely on the cobbles. Secondly, the stairs both inside and outside the cottage were extremely steep and not at all suitable for those with mobility issues. This did not concern us directly, but it should be mentioned in the cottage information. Lastly, I would recommend wearing earplugs at night as the cottage is situated on a very busy road and is frequented by large articulated lorries, especially in the early hours of the morning. Despite these issues, we found the cottage clean, tidy and well equipped and with thoughtful touches from the owners.

    Reviewed by Jane3.8Aug 2019

  • "The walks around Cromford are lovely and the dogs really enjoyed the woods and the walk along the canal."

    The property was very clean and comfortable and the shower was good with very good pressure. The beds were extremely comfortable.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Jun 2019

  • "In general everything was adequate."

    The lighting in the living area was very poor and therefore we struggled to read as the cottage, being old, has limited natural light. The television was disappointing due to very bad reception and sometimes we could not get a single channel. The mattresses were incredibly uncomfortable for some reason. Due to very steep staircase and bathroom at the top, I would say you need to warn people that they need to be reasonably fit. Bedrooms were a nice size and everything was adequate for an active holiday in a lovely area. The dog walk to Slinter woods was just opposite which would really appeal to a lot of dog owners, especially as there was no real garden to exercise dog in.

    Reviewed by Susan4.1Jun 2019

  • "Lovely cottage in a nice little village."

    For us, it was a little stressful being on the main road with two dogs, as the entrance is straight into the front room. There is also not a secure rear garden. There isn’t much to do in the village, or locally with dogs in really poor weather, so we found the early check out time meant our break ended early on the Sunday. The stairs are very steep, but my partners mum did manage them, we were worried that she wouldn’t when we saw them. Tv only has a couple of channels and is of very poor picture quality, so again if you have torrential rain, as we did, you’re limited for entertainment in the cottage. A lot of the issues however were down to our break being such a wet one weather wise. The village is pretty and a good location for some great walks. Cottage was warm and pleasant. Sufficient cooking facilities. Thank you for a nice break

    Reviewed by Amy4.4Jun 2019

  • "Had a very nice stay at Holly Cottage."

    Had no problem with the steep terrace garden which was very quiet and lovely to relax in. However, it was pointed out that the stairs and terrace could present a problem for less agile guests, but being forewarned presented no real surprises. All in all, would recommend.

    Reviewed by Malcolm4.1Jun 2019

  • "Great cottage and location in the pretty village of Cromford."

    Cottage was perfect for us and an our dog. Everything we needed and lots of things to do either a walk or a short drive away. We did lots of walking - Black Rock, Dovedale, Youlgrave, Calver. Our sons also kayaked on Carsington Water and abseiled off a viaduct in Millersdale! Really enjoyed the holiday and had some great weather too!

    Reviewed by Sally5.0May 2019

  • "Pretty and comfortable accommodation, well appointed kitchen, clean and well maintained."

    Lovely village location, good access to walking etc. We loved the little bookshop in the village!

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Apr 2019

  • "Fabulous cottage, in a central location."

    The beds here were so comfortable after a days walking. It wasn’t an issue for us at all but if you do struggle with stairs then you should consider alternative accommodation. The cottage was well equipped. The walk directly across the road was handy if you have a dog. Cromford centre is a 4\5 minute walk where you can find a chip shop, post office, pubs and some lovely little antiques shops to browse. The Cromford canal walk is highly recommended. We had our shopping delivered here once we arrived but there is a Sainsbury’s not to far away by car. All in all I would stay at Holly Cottage again.

    Reviewed by Mel4.7Mar 2019

  • "Great location, lovely immaculate cottage with everything you need."

    We travelled with elderly in-laws and a small dog. Parents struggled with the stairs inside and out and our puppy struggled in the rear garden. Nevertheless there is a nice little walk across the road which allowed our puppy to play etc. The welcome wine and biscuits was also a lovely surprise. Thank you to the owners for opening up your property as it allowed us to have a lovely break away from the city with family!

    Reviewed by Lee4.7Mar 2019

  • "This is a beautiful cottage that I would definitely love to visit again ."

    The owners have equipped the cottage so well it’s like being at home , We stayed over Christmas and there was even a Christmas tree and Christmas touches all over the cottage , Very cozy warm delightful place to stay ,really didn’t want to leave x Lots to do in Cromford and everyone was very friendly on our many dig walks and rambles in the village .

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Dec 2018

  • "Gorgeous village and cottage was within walking distance of so much lovely countryside and local attractions."

    Cottage was cosy and clean, with wood burner and bottle of wine on arrival. Lovely touch. Communication with owners was easy and reliable. I would definitely recommend this cottage. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by Kathryn5.0Oct 2018

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our break in this comfortable cottage in a lovely village."

    Holly cottage is decorated / furnished to a high standard and very well equipped - it was really like staying in the owners’ home as there were so many homely touches. Cosy warm sitting room, comfortable beds and well appointed kitchen and bathroom. Milk, biscuits, wine and biscuits for the dog greeted us on arrival. We were able to walk from the cottage each day and found plenty of places to stop for coffee and eat in the evenings. Would definitely go back to explore sights further afield.

    Reviewed by D5.0Oct 2018

  • "After reading the many reviews of this cottage I got the impression we had found the perfect cottage, but have to be honest and say we were a bit disappointed with our weeks holiday spent at holly cottage."

    The first thing that met our attention was the steep stairs, as steep was not an accurate description to describe the stairs at the cottage. Having spent ten years holidaying in many olde worlde cottages over the years with our dog, have met more then many properties with steep stairs. But this was far from steep, as the stairs are so narrow and so high it felt when descending up to the bedrooms it was like climbing a small mountain as we all had to hold onto the rope attached on right ad pull ourselves up. And coming down was very tricky as the stairs are so narrow not enough room for your feet coming down so despite how daft it sounds, it felt like absailing down as had to hold again onto rope coming down backwards as this was by far the safest way, as coming down normally was so tricky and left us all feeling very nervous. The last step is very high be warned when coming down. The kitchen is small but olde worlde cottage but due to self catering it is normal to take food with you whilst on holiday, but not alot of room and two cupboards were locked so really not ideal to take food as not much room to put it. We had a party of four adults and two dogs so the kitchen did not really offer much room for our supplies. Take kitchen roll with you as none was supplied, and a scour. For some reason we could not get a fire going in the wood burner as logs were damp from the rain at the beginning of the holiday, and the bedroom roof in our room and the next had a small leak when it rained. I hate to think what the outcome would be if really heavy rain. We tried several times with drier logs and some kindle but without success but the central heating really made the cottage warm. It does say in advertisement busy village road, but have to say it was a bit daunting trying to cross to take dogs for a walk, as too many haulage lorries in their dozen zipping past every second. I would say be prepared for the rapid on going traffic of this road as it was like taking our lives into our hands trying to cross at several intervals, and its not great when you have dogs also to think about. Not trying to leave a bad review but I would have appreciated it if a review had left us prepared for this as it was a bit of a shock. I have stayed in many cottages with roads busy but this was a tad scary sometimes trying to get across without coming into contact with one of many lorries or cars which seemed to be always driving this road at break neck speed. As for the garden, like many dog lovers who take their dogs on holiday, it is vital at times to have a garden so your dog can do its business but the cottage does not have a garden with any lawn. Its a very once again rocky very high stones to one level of a pebbled small patio area, and another high big stone stairs to another patio with table and chairs. No grass whatsoever so we finally found a small piece of grass opposite where stream was. Across the road further down past the tyre place there is a steep hill which provides grassy bits and pooh bin for your doggy needs. Places to take your dog is the rugey park just down road from cromford, turn right at traffic lights, and left again and then about two hundred yards on the right its called the meadows, great place to walk and exercise your dogs. Toilets there, and cromford canal tow path was also a great place within this area to walk your dogs. Poo bin was by car park area by gate where toilets were situated. Blacks rocks tissingurst trail was also great place to walk dogs. Cafe there too for refreshments. Sainsburys at matlock was handy, retail park about 17 miles away, morrisons, pets at home, b and m, and mcdonalds too. Derby town centre very good for lots of shopping. Decent town centre. Matlock also a nice place to shop too with a lovely big park too to walk your dogs. Matlock a place where we found a good laundrette if the need arises.

    Thank you for your feedback. All feedback is reviewed. We have checked throughout the property and are unable to locate any sort of leak. Thank you for your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Melissa3.1Oct 2018

  • "We really enjoyed our stay at Holly Cottage in Cromford."

    Very homely feel and felt comfortable as soon as we walked through the door. Ideally situated for visiting surrounding areas. Would highly recommend as a very nice place to stay.

    Reviewed by Darren5.0Sep 2018

  • "We had most enjoyable time at Holy Cottage."

    The house is very well equipped with everything an everyday household may need for cooking, cleaning and keeping warm. The decor is much suited to the style of the cottage and aesthetically presented. We found the welcome tray (with tea, coffee, sugar, treats, wine) in addition to the pint of fresh milk in the fridge most thoughtful, and much appreciated. The wodd burning stove has been an ideal way to warm up during some of the colder summer evenings, creating much warmth and cosiness in the spacious living/dining room. The beds are extremely comfortable with sufficiant amount of extra towels and bedding. The bathroom also offered all the modern and comfortable facilities one would expect. The back garden, though very steep, offered nevertheless breathtaking views from the second level and a comfortable seeting for all of us (a group of 5 - 3 adults and 2 children). The location of Holy Cottage was most convenient for our daily trips of exploring the surrounding area. Attractions like Mason Mills, Scarthin Book Shop, Cromford Mills and Cromford Canal are withing easy walking distance. While Chatsworth House, the Heights of Abraham, Matlock Bath and Buxton are withing easy driving distance. We have truely enjoyed our stay at Holy Cottage and would certainly be booking again in the future. Many thanks.

    Reviewed by Elena5.0Aug 2018

  • "Lovely cottage and really liked the area."

    Unfortunately the cottage is situated on an incredibly busy road and this road noise really disrupted our stay. Property would massively benefit from double (or triple) glazing. Owner Response: thank you for your comments. We are looking to install secondary glazing after the summer to try and dilute the noise that may be heard at busy times.

    Reviewed by Maggie3.8Jul 2018

  • "We very much enjoyed our stay."

    The cottage was well appointed for the towns facilities and was an ideal starting point for the walks we had planned. Disappointed however that there was little choice in eating venues in the town on the Sunday night.

    Reviewed by Audrey3.8Jun 2018

  • "I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a walking holiday in the Cromford/Matlock area."

    The cottage was very cosy, clean and welcoming, with a welcome pack of milk, wine, tea, coffee and biscuits which was very welcoming indeed. The bedrooms were very cosy with very comfortable beds and lovely view across the road, the kitchen was perfect with everything you could possibly need and more, leading into a lovely cosy and comfortable lounge with both open fire and central heating. The bathroom was perfect too with bath and shower very beautifully finished. The owners of this beautiful cottage really make you feel welcome and are available to contact at any time should you have and questions and contact you with all information needed well before your stay. All in all a great location with so many walks surrounded by breathtaking scenery and a beautiful cottage the owners should be proud of.

    Reviewed by Tracey Ward5.0May 2018

  • "Lovely little cottage in a central location."

    Close to Matlock bath,Buxton and not forgetting Bakewell .A big enough cottage to house our family of 4 plus the two dogs. Arriving with a welcome pack of milk in the fridge and some tea and coffee . A Little jar of dog treats (bonus) and not forgetting the bottle of wine and biscuits. Plenty of wood and coal for the fire and local shops if you need a top-up.Local fish and chips where great and just up the road a great place to walk the dogs,black rock park with a cafe.Owners very proactive making sure our trip went with out issues.

    Reviewed by Terry5.0Feb 2018

  • "This little country hideaway was absolutely perfect for us."

    We wanted a little break somewhere peaceful and cosy and Holly Cottage far exceeded our expectations. There was a manual left for us with lots of useful information regarding the property and also the surrounding area. The owner also left us tea,coffee,milk, biscuits and dog treats which was a very lovely gesture and much appreciated. The cottage itself is wonderfully characterful and cosy (the only one thing that could make it even cosier would be a curtain between the living area and the kitchen for extra snugness but we couldn't fault the property at all!), the kitchen was the perfect size for us and incredibly well equipt. The garden was very cute and the views amazing. We can't wait to come back in the warmer months and take full advantage of it! Thank you for a perfect stay!

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Feb 2018

  • "Lovely cosy cottage in a great location."

    Would definately recommend.

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2017

  • "We stayed for 5 nights at Holly Cottage, first impressions."

    ... Beautiful. Lovely cosy cottage. Bottle of wine waiting, milk in the fridge, dog biscuits for the dog

    Reviewed by Rebecca5.0Nov 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Over three floors
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x first floor family room with 1 king-size double with 1 single, 1 x second floor double
  • Second floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and woodburner.
  • Gas central heating with woodburner
  • Electric oven and gas hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, TV with Freeview, WIFI, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Small parking space for one car
  • Unfenced terrace garden
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 4 minute walk
  • Note: Steep terrace garden, not suitable for children or those with limited mobility
  • Note: Please be advised of the steep staircase within the property
  • Note: Property set on main village road, some associated noise may be heard
  • Note: Secondary glazing fitted in the bedrooms

The property

This stone-built, mid-terrace cottage is located in the heart of Cromford in Derbyshire.

With its central location, this cottage is perfect for a family to come and stay.

The sitting room is home to a wood burner and a charming fireplace, so after a day exploring the local area, you will look forward to returning home and escaping into a good book amongst the warm ambience.

The dining table seats six so the whole family can socialise on a nice evening, planning out those weekly adventures over an appetising meal.

Conveniently, a well equipped kitchen rests next door, with the essentials you need to feel right at home.

On the next floor, a family bedroom boasts ceiling beams and houses both a king-size double and a single bed.

Continue to follow the steep staircase up to the double bedroom.

A family bathroom completes the accommodation.

On a pleasant afternoon, why not step into the garden where you can take a walk up the stone path to admire countryside views in the distance.

Cromford offers a selection of quality pubs, shops and cafés, as well as Arkwright’s Cromford Mill and canal, a world heritage site.

The area boasts an abundance of attractions such as Gulliver's Kingdom, the nearby Peak District Mining Museum and memorable Chatsworth House.

You can also enjoy plentiful walking around the Derwent Valley and the White Peak, as well as rock climbing and cycling.

View on map

About the location

CROMFORD

Matlock Bath 1.2 mile; Matlock 2.6 miles; Bakewell 12.5 miles.

Set in the beautiful wooded gorge of the River Derwent and surrounded by wooded hills and cliffs, the village of Cromford lies just one mile from the vibrant spa town of Matlock Bath and three miles from Matlock. Famous for its connections with Sir Richard Arkwright and the cotton trade, and often referred to as the cradle of the Industrial Revolution. Today, Cromford offers a selection of quality pubs, shops and cafés, as well as Arkwright’s Cromford Mill and canal, a world heritage site. The area boasts an abundance of attractions such as Gulliver's Kingdom, the nearby Peak District Mining Museum and splendid Chatsworth House. Visitors can take a ride on the Heights of Abraham cable car and take in the views in style, whilst the more active are catered for with plentiful walking around the Derwent Valley and the White Peak, as well as rock climbing and also with cycling opportunities at Carsington Water and the High Peak, Monsal and Tissington Cycle Trails.

View more holiday cottages in Cromford

Note: Steep terrace garden, not suitable for children.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas