Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

  • Sea Breeze - (Ref. 939240)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.


1 of 12 Artboard Created with Sketch. View Larger Image
  • Sea Breeze - Somerset & Wiltshire - 939240 - photo 1

Sea Breeze

Brean near Burnham-on-Sea, Somerset (Ref. 939240)



Sykes rating Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes Icon/Rating/Sykes

  • Sleeps 6

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing

25 Customer Reviews

  • "More parking space has we had two cars and there was only room for one car"

    Hi there is extra parking opposite the allocated car park space that anyone can use. Also there is a locked car park just behind the flat that can be used. The key can be loaned for a £5 deposit by contacting myself. Property Owner

    Reviewed by JeanApr 2022

  • "Needs updating looking tired and mould needs sorting in bedrooms but not a bad place"

    Reviewed by VictoriaJan 2022

  • "The position was of the flat was great with parking right outside but getting in and out of the flat was a real nightmare."

    The key to the main door was very difficult to unlock. Sometimes it would take over 10 minutes to get in. Then the security keypad on the flat door had to be tackled. It was almost impossible to see the keypad due to it being so dark on the landing, even wearing my reading glasses and even on the rare occasions the light was on. If I hadn't had my son with me I wouldn't have been able to get in at all. There is also a key to open a security gate to get to the beach and that was equally difficult to operate. It meant we were locked on the beach side one evening until someone passing was able to open it from the other side. There were plenty of towels and the flat was warm but could have been cleaner. In particular the utensils, plates, cutlery and cooker were in a disgusting state. We had to wash everything before using anything. The oven was so greasy that I didn't even bother with that. The DVD player was also on the blink and made a horrendous noise, too noisy to play and the sound bar wasn't even connected so we couldn't even increase the volume to compensate. The bathroom door squeaked loudly disturbing anyone trying to sleep. The chairs in the dining room also make a deafening noise on flooring. They could do with some rubber feet on bottom. I felt sorry for the people in the flat beneath us. Despite all this we had a good time but I wouldn't book this property again.

    Reviewed by VaughanNov 2021

  • "The location of this property is fantastic, there is a 'private' route to the beach but this wasn't the easiest of routes so we just walk a couple of minutes down the road and used the access from The Seagull car park."

    Brean Leisure Park and Splash Park are an easy walk in the other direction and there are a number of places to eat, we only used the car to go shopping and for a few longer visits. Everything inside the property was not great, which was a real shame. It was dirty, covered in dust and other 'things'. The list below has been provided to Sykes with photographs but looking at other reviews on here and other Trip based Advisor websites we are not the first to raise them. No blind in the bathroom - the fixings are rusting away on the wall, but no blind (not great when a painters head appears a foot away from the window!) Black mold on the shower curtain (still) A shower pole that falls on you if you pull the shower curtain to hard A large gap between the end of the bath and the wall - be careful with what you place on the end of the bath A very 'sticky' kitchen - we made a clean bit on the top of the fire blanket holder, Rusty kitchen equipment - cheese grater, toaster, microwave Very, very, very hot water - please BE CAREFUL The top of both wardrobes thick with dust - you don't want to store anything up there Dental floss stick, finger nail and used tissue found in the additional bedding under the bed settee (nice!) The lounge fan blades thick with black dust - we didn't dare turn it on Not the most secure of front doors Considering you are currently being asked to check in later at the moment, so additional cleaning can be completed I imagine, I have no idea what this additional time is being used for. Oh and one last thing - don't look at the double mattress until you are leaving......its probably for the best. The only thing that was sorted was when the blocked drainage caused the sink to overflow with water from the washing machine that then leaked into the apartment downstairs. Yes, we did raise all of these issues with Sykes but for the second week of our fortnight break nothing was sorted. What really made it was when people attended to fix the plumbing issue (including the owner) but that was all that was done. The floss, finger nail and tissue remained in situ! I really, really hope that these things are addressed as it could be a great holiday let.

    Reviewed by DanielAug 2021

  • "We had a nice break here and it was nice to have the beach so close by and private to residents although it was a shame we didn’t have the weather."

    Location is near to pubs although all were very busy and not many options of nice restaurants nearby. The apartment was clean and basic, however the bathroom could do with a new shower curtain & the DVD player maybe needs replacing as it makes a funny noise & freezes the screen from time to time. Other than those minor things it had everything needed.

    Reviewed by LauraJul 2021

  • "The apartment was filthy."

    My wife just wanted to go home as soon as we arrived but instead we found a supermarket and bought cleaning materials. The worst was the bathroom. There was black mildew all over the walls and the shower curtain just needed throwing away. How expensive is a new shower curtain! I spent the first two night cleaning it to persuade her to stay. The kitchen was in a similar state so we just didn’t use it and ate out instead. It’s a shame though, it has great potential but just needs decorating top to bottom. My main frustration is that During a pandemic i at least expected it to be clean, in fact that’s what Sykes is pushing on the website! Just words, nobody can be doing any checks. That bathroom has spent a long time getting that black. I hope anyone using the place after us appreciates the work we put in to that bathroom. Luckily we took a couple of throws with us so we put these on the sofa so we had something to sit on. I have been staying in cottages for many years and this was definitely the worst ever. We left early…. Just in case anyone thinks I’m one of those internet moaners, this is the first review I have Ever given.

    Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021

  • "Very Noisy walking on the Floor not nice for People Below so we went out as much as possible."

    We did not Feel Comfortable at anytime in the Flat it Felt Closed in and Awkward to Move About. We had trouble getting in and out of the Flat with the Numbers and Keys. Sorry to say we didn't Enjoy the Flat At all.

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2021

  • "We usually stay at pontins when we visit brean but we thought we would try somewhere different this year."

    We were really happy with our stay and would definitely return to your accommodation on future holidays to brean

    Reviewed by SimonOct 2020

  • "Apartment is very nice, pleasantly presented, clean, comfortable and well-equipped"

    Reviewed by AlisonAug 2019

  • "There was Cobb webbs every were mouse dropping on the kitchen sides."

    Floor boards made a noise every time you walk on them.there was problems with the taps with the water.it wos that bad we came home to days early.would never book that place again.also it says we paid 636 pound.but you charged us 720 pound so please can you get back to me and tell me why we was charged that price.

    Reviewed by AnnAug 2019

  • "The apartment is in a prime location in Brean with all amenities within waking distance car parking is directly in front of the apartment and bays are large."

    The neighbor below is friendly and helpful. The apartment still needs basic improvements carried out but these are all cosmetic and didn't detract from a very enjoyable holiday in some very hot temperatures . The entrance to the beech is close and in easy walking distance . The only negatives would be the bath as there is not enough hot water in the system to have a bath but can be overcome by filling the bath via the large shower head and as a suggestion it would be good to notify the occupants about the dates the window cleaner is due as both my grand daughter and daughter were woken up and frightened by the window being hit with the brush being used to close the window. This was our second successive year we have stayed here and would recommend it.

    Reviewed by RobertJul 2019

  • "We really enjoyed our holiday as the accommodation was close by to shops, restaurant, bars and the beach."

    Furthermore, it was only a short drive to other towns such as, Weston-Super-Mare, Bath, Wells and Cheddar, all of which made amazing, and memorable days out.

    Reviewed by StephenJun 2019

  • "The floor boarding it is so noisy."

    You feel sorry for the people in the flat below. The blinds and curtain rails repaired with silver foil and sticky tape isn't a good look either. Apart from the above we had a good holiday. I would definitely go back.

    Reviewed by DeborahMay 2019

  • "No contact was made as to if you received the photos or any reply as to the state of the apartment on arrival."

    Very disappointing on both the apartment front and the customer service provided. I will no be booking again, or recommend you .

    Thank you for your feedback. I can see we have contacted you before and after you have provided this feedback to advise you that your photos have not been received. We are more than happy to try and assist you with any issues raised during your stay, however, we did not hear back from you. Should you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to call us on 01244352278 option 3, option 3. Kind regards, Becki Property Owner

    Reviewed by ZoeApr 2019

  • "Hi the holiday was nice just a little problem with laminate flooring in living ..."

    Hi the holiday was nice just a little problem with laminate flooring in living room being fitted to tight and very noisy kitchen floor tile are not done leave so easy to trip up on thank well needed break would highly recommend

    Reviewed by KimMar 2019

  • "Great location , close to beach, bars, eating out or takeaways, shop, cafe ."

    clean and tidy, and dog friendly, no problems

    Reviewed by StephanieDec 2018

  • "There were a few issues that we had with the property."

    We found that we had to do a bit of cleaning, there was no blind in the kitchen, and the walls/floors are very thin. I could hear the gentleman in the apartment downstairs snoring all night! The property is also non-smoking but is directly opposite an apartment that is, so there is a strong smell when entering the building. There was limited hot water, so didn't last two showers or one bath. However, the heating was brilliant; the beach was very close by and easily accessible; and it was in a good location.

    Thank you for your feedback, We do take all feedback seriously. We have addressed the cleanliness issue withe the cleaner to prevent issues such as this happening in future. With relation to the apartment opposite, we have no control who occupies this so apologise if he was smoking. The property does have an electric shower so should be no reason why the hot water would run out on this. Thank you for your feedback, this is very important to us. Property Owner

    Reviewed by ElizabethOct 2018

  • "We were disappointed in the area we were staying in."

    We didn't expect bars instead of pubs which were noisy and off putting. The beach was near like described but there were notices along the beach warning of sinking sand!. The main road was dirty and full of rubbish. The flat was warm and cosy and had everything we needed but it was noisy in the evenings with residents and visitors banging doors. Additionally, the first twoman mornings of our stay we were awoken by workmen fitting new windows in the flat below us.

    Reviewed by LorraineSep 2018

  • "Lovely flat in an excellent location with every thing you need."

    Reviewed by CateSep 2018

  • "The only problem with the flat was that it was not very clean!"

    We had to clean everything in the cupboards as well as the cupboards themselves!! There were dogs in the accommodation before us and there were dog hairs everywhere!! So we had to clean the living room as well!! Apart from that everything else was ok except for the broken bathroom door handle!!!

    Reviewed by BrianJul 2018

  • "I booked this holiday as the accommodation accepted pets, this was meant to be a pet friendly location, however the resident below our apartment made it clear as soon as we arrived that he strongly disliked dogs and he made out entire stay very uncomfortable and became very rude and unfriendly which resulted in my family returning home a day early, we were there to celebrate my fathers 65th birthday which was cut short, this was certainly not a pet friendly holiday, very much the opposite."

    Reviewed by AndyMay 2018

  • "Central location."

    Property described accurately. Sykes Cottages were easy to contact, very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend.

    Reviewed by HayleyJan 2018

  • "Excellent host, excellent value for monye, we were well catered, had stayed there previously and would stay again :)"

    Reviewed by ThomasSep 2017

  • "Great accommodation ..."

    Great accommodation Great location Awesome beach and lots to do even out of season Mrs Clark the owner very helpful

    Reviewed by RuthMar 2017

  • "This first floor flat is clean comfortable and well stocked,it is well situated for exploring Cheddar Gorge,Glastonbury and is about an hour and half from longleat, there is a huge sandy beach within a couple of minutes walk with amusements cafe`s and restaurants on the doorstep and yet still surprisingly quiet with so much going on nearby."

    Reviewed by HarrySep 2016

Show more


  • All first floor
  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Double sofa bed in sitting room
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Sitting room with dining area and double sofa bed
  • Electric fire and electric panel heater
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, small fridge/freezer, washing machine, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 1 car
  • Two well-behaved pet's welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop, pub, restaurant and amusement park 2 mins walk
  • Beach 2 mins walk.

The property

A comfortable first floor apartment, set back from the main road in the seaside village of Brean, Somerset.

Cheerily-furnished to provide you with a home-from-home holiday property, this apartment is ideal for a family or a small group of friends.

This lovely apartment boasts two bedrooms, one double and one twin, as well as a bathroom for those well-needed soaks after a day out strolling along the sands.

There’s also a sitting room with a sofa bed for flexible sleeping and a dining area, the ideal place to enjoy a delicious meal prepared in the kitchen.

Just two minutes’ walk away is the golden beach of Brean Sands, as well as numerous bars, restaurants and a delightful amusement park on your doorstep.

With so much close by, you needn’t use the car for a fun-filled day or evening out, but within an hour’s drive you have a whole range of attractions to spend your days enjoying.

The delights of both Weston-super-Mare and Burnham-on-Sea are waiting for you to explore, where the children can delight in a donkey ride before building sandcastles.

Magical Glastonbury is also well-worth visiting, as are the stupendous Cheddar Caves and Gorge offering fun for all the family.

Further afield you have Bath and Bristol for a spot of retail therapy and bags of culture, whilst animal lovers will be in their element on a day out at Longleat Safari Park.

With all this and more, this Somerset apartment is a great base for a holiday beside the sea to remember.

View on map

About the location


Burnham-on-Sea 4 miles; Weston-super-Mare 9 miles; Glastonbury 20 miles.

The village of Brean is situated on the Somerset coast, between ever-popular Weston-super-Mare and delightful Burnham-on-Sea. A popular holiday destination, ideal for families, the village offers a fun amusement park, a range of shops and pubs and a sandy beach. Less than 10 miles away is the traditional seaside town Weston-super-Mare, offering awarding-winning sandy beaches, donkey rides, water sports, restaurants and shops as well as the Playhouse, Winter Gardens and the Grand Pier. Burnham-on-Sea is also within easy reach and boasts seven miles of unspoilt sandy beaches, sailing, fishing, a theatre, cinema, swimming pool and sports academy, gardens, bi-annual food and drink festivals, live music, Guy Fawkes carnival, and a 36 hole championship golf course. The famous Cheddar Caves and Gorge, with amazing clifftop walks, are less than an hour away, as is historic Wells with its beautiful cathedral. Glastonbury, with its mystical connections to King Arthur is central to the Avalon marshes, one of the largest lowland wetlands in the UK, a complex landscape teeming with wildlife. Further afield, you can enjoy the breathtaking coastline, cliffs, sheltered bays and the famous wild ponies of the beautiful Exmoor National Park.

Region Information

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas
Book with confidence
If your booking can't take place due to a COVID-19 lockdown in the UK or Ireland, you can request a change of date or receive a full rental charges refund.

Owners may request any evidence that they reasonably require before making a refund. Sykes Holiday Cottages is not agreeing to pay or guarantee any refund from the Owner to you under this Book with confidence.
Ok, got it