Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 21 View Image Gallery
  • River Cottage - South Wales - 1002580 - photo 1

River Cottage

(Ref. 1002580)

Cymmer, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (14)
  • lovely (9)
  • all (5)
  • stay (5)
  • little (5)
  • like (4)

17 Customer Reviews

  • "This cottage is a good place to stay if you love walking & mountain biking, which I do!"

    I booked two weeks & managed to do a different walk every day & there are lots of lovely technical mountain bike trails nearby. The cottage is a bit damp but once warmed up & dried out, it is very cosy. I love the quirky touches, like the woodland wall paper, the grape lights over the bed, the verse over the stairs & the LED showerhead. And the river at the back, "wow" that is strong after a downpour of rain but very enjoyable! There were a couple of issues at the start but once sorted, I had a very lovely 2 weeks here, I didn't want to go home! Ended up doing 90 miles of walking with my dog, who was rescued from the Chinese meat trade, so she had a really good time too! Was her first holiday!

    Reviewed by Caroline3.8Dec 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage to get away from it all!"

    Mountain bikers will love the trails. Very picturesque.

    Reviewed by Adelia4.7Nov 2023

  • "We were extremely disappointed when we arrived the cottage had not been cleaned and stank of damp."

    The owner informed us his cleaners had gone on holidays and they had not cleaned the cottage in readiness for our arrival. On further examination there was damp on 4 of the ceilings and 3 walls, there was a leaking shower cubical which had leaked through to the living room ceiling causing damp and mould’s on both the ceiling and wall and even with all windows open we only managed to stay for less than an hour as the smell was horrific. The owner only offered us a meal out first of all as compensation but this was declined, he then offered us only a three quarters refund and refused a full refund we had no other option other to except as he would not increase his offer and skye cottages were no help at all in fighting our case so we were left £60 short and only spent a hour in the property. We feel very let down by both skye and the owner.

    Reviewed by Andrea1.6Sep 2023

  • "Had the feeling that it hadn’t been stayed in for a while, felt very musky when we arrived as it hadn’t been aired."

    Cleaning wasn’t the best - old stains under the kitchen tray. Fridge door handle came off- previously been glued on. Woke up to ants all over the kitchen surface. Someone’s top left in wardrobe , and no hangers in there. After stripping the bed noticed the mattress was very stained. Overall a little disappointing but a quirky little cottage that served its purpose for 2 nights. Just needs some TLC to bring it back up to scratch but unfortunately it wasn’t worth the £265 we paid.

    I am sorry to hear you were unhappy at our property. If you contacted us during your stay we would of been more than happy to assist and rectify them for you. The issues you raised have now been looked at. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Donna3.1Jul 2023

  • "Nice cozy cottage."

    Enjoyed our stay

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely little cottage"

    Reviewed by Ryan3.4Jun 2022

  • "Overall I was really happy with this accommodation."

    It was comfortable and good value for money Ideally suited for my needs as a base for walking in this part of Wales

    Reviewed by Michael4.7Apr 2022

  • "A very clean and well equipped cottage in a very unusual and delightful location."

    Reviewed by Peter5.0Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was lovely."

    Great views and great facilities. There a few things I would mention. The bed needs looking at as in squeaks very loudly when you move and as I am a light sleeper this woke me up every time. The side closer to the window is the worse. I understand that cleaners come in the clean in between guests, 90% of it was clean however I found old manky chips inside and down the side of the oven and also the grill pan in the oven looked like it had not been cleaned for sometime. This maybe be something to bring up with the cleaners. However these minor things did not ruin our holiday. There was plenty of room for parking outside the cottage. Very nice place.

    Reviewed by Eleanor4.4Aug 2021

  • "The cottage was perfect for us - however I would like to say that we received a complaint from a neighbour about parking - although we parked where we were instructed to do - however the foot path needs to be left clear - so I would recommend that more detailed instructions are given as it wasn’t clear this was a footpath- Also the cottage felt pretty cold and musty when we arrived - probably not used for a while I accept - however this could have been rectified by having the heating on for a bit longer prior to guests arrival - The microwave worked fine but I noticed there was a small crack in the glass door inside - which when used turned white - probably recommend replacing this before it goes pop!"

    Overall a lovely cottage and we would use it again - shower was brilliant Thank you

    Reviewed by Kym5.0Apr 2021

  • "Absolutely lovely cottage."

    Very quiet. Great TV with loads of channels including Netflix! There was only one slight drawback that affected both me and the wife and that was the stairs were very steep. For an elderly couple who live in a bungalow and suffer from severe arthritis, we both found the stairs hard going. But as I said, only a slight set-back. Other than that, everything was great! I sincerely hope we left the cottage to your satisfaction - clean and tidy. Thank you for our stay.

    Reviewed by Barry4.7Sep 2020

  • "Lovely cottage at a great price in a lovely part of Wales."

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Aug 2020

  • "Lovely little cottage"

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Jan 2020

  • "We had a really nice time,it is extremely easy to locate,parking just at the entrance of the property."

    It has free WiFi,enough credit on the electric and gas meter,the place is relatively small on the outside,but large enough for 2 from the inside. Kitchen had pretty much whatever we needed,and the river flowing in the back is simply spectacular. Bear in mind to bring your own food(everything,milk,cereals) as there is none provided and shops are not close. All in all,i loved my stay there,but to be sincere,i would have preferred to pay extra and be closer to Swansea/Port Talbot. The road is good though long,but the problem is the locals -they drive like maniacs,and get really upset and intimidating if you don't do the same.

    Reviewed by Cristian4.7Sep 2019

  • "Had a fab weekend"

    Reviewed by Paula5.0Aug 2019

  • "It was a beautiful cottage and had all instruments we needed although I never did find the dvd player lol."

    . I went with my son.. Unfortunately there is not a lot to do in cymmur... I'd visit cottage but forget the rest of it.. Its a very boring village x

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Aug 2019

  • "Beautiful little cottage with lovely walks and cycle paths on the doorstep"

    Reviewed by Gareth5.0Jun 2019

Show more Hide all


  • One bedroom: 1 x double
  • Shower room with double shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with double sofa bed
  • Infants accepted but not suitable for toddlers up to the age of 5 years.
  • Gas central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, toaster, kettle, washing machine, tumble dryer, TV and WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking
  • Front bench area
  • Infants accepted but not suitable for toddlers up to the age of 5 years
  • One well-behaved pet welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 1 miles and pub 0.3 miles
  • Note: £100 Good housekeeping bond
  • Note: Please bring own kitchen supplies including toilet roll

The property

Tucked away in a picturesque part of the Rhondda Valey, in the small village of Cymmer, is this stunning stone cottage.

Internally, the property has plenty of modern furnishings, with a quirky country decor throughout.

The open-plan lounge area has a large sofa for you and your partner to curl up on of an evening and catch up with your favourite shows on the wall-mounted TV, while also boasting feature forest wallpaper, giving the room a wonderful rural and countryside feeling.

There is also a dining area, with ample space for you to enjoy your lovingly prepared home-cooked meals, cooked to perfection in the modern and well-equipped kitchen.

Follow the steps up to the first floor, where you will discover a large double bedroom, boasting a delightful ivy feature wall and matching bedside tables and lamps, perfect for some late night reading.

A large family shower room with a double walk-in shower so you can enjoy a relaxing soak of an evening.

While there is no designated garden area, there is a bench to the front, where you can sit with a warm cup of tea and simply delight in the hillside views.

Travel towards the picturesque Bannau Brycheiniog National Park (Brecon Beacons), boasting natural caves, dramatic landscapes, historic castles and museums for an action-packed day in one of the most beautiful parts of the country.

There are a number of nearby lakes, with opportunities for fishing and other watersporting activities, whilst the Bannau Brycheiniog National Park (Brecon Beacons) offers jaw-dropping waterfalls and avid kayakers.

The area is perfect for cyclists with many different cycle routes on offer.

For a spot of history, venture towards Margam Castle, a 19th century, Tudor, Gothic mansion designed by architect Thomas Hopper, whilst the Margam Country Park is also within driving distance.

River Cottage provides a wonderful base for couples looking to explore this southern region of Wales.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Caerau 1.9 miles; Maesteg 3.8 miles; Brecon Beacons National Park 20.5 miles.

Cymmer is a village in the Afan Valley, in Wales, resting at the foot of the Afan Forest Park. You will have easy access to the delightful Brecon Beacons National Park, with a variety of attractions to suit all ages. The village has a choice of restaurants, pubs and a convenience store for all of your amenities, with easy access into the large mining village of Caerau and the bustling town of Maesteg for plenty more attractions and a choice for shops, supermarkets, pubs and restaurants. Discover a number of trails in the area for some scenic walking and cycling, a series of lakes ideal for fishing and watersporting, as well as cycling and mountain biking. An exceptional base for exploring all this beautiful region has to offer.