Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search
1 of 54 View Image Gallery
  • 12 Malthall - South Wales - 1046779 - photo 1

12 Malthall

(Ref. 1046779)

Llanrhidian, South Wales & Pembrokeshire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 15 Guests

  • 8 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (5)
  • our (3)
  • great (3)
  • property (3)
  • sea (3)
  • couple (3)

6 Customer Reviews

  • "We had a Great time - would definitely recommend Sykes and the Beautiful property we stayed at."

    The house was perfect for our group - home from home - location great too - close to a couple of pubs, the sea and beautiful country walks.

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Nov 2023

  • "The property was very nice with a large garden (the grand children enjoyed the Horse Chestnut Tree with it's rope swings and climbing) and a great view of the estuary; the outdoor seating area was good and there was plenty of room for all of us to relax."

    The kitchen was well equipped and there were certainly plenty of televisions in the property. There are however plenty of negatives: We had a shortlist of properties and this property was picked over the others because it supposedly had a Hot Tub, only there was no Hot tub. There were three very small parasols (the sort for beaches not large gardens) but no way to use them as there were no poles or stands, there were days when shade was needed. The double bed in the Green room collapsed in the middle, although it could be seen that a repair had been carried out, the slats had broken; we noticed this had been complained about in May. We could only allow the children to sleep on it, it was not safe for adults. In the kitchen, fridge hadn't been cleaned properly, and some of the dishes were so badly damaged that they should not have been left there, also some of the p[lates were badly chipped, not very nice. In the attic, although very nice there is a spike sticking out of a roof support that anyone catching their head on it would be injured, we moved the bed to the side to avoid this. Also a safety gate similar to the bottom of the stairs would be an improvement to safety.

    I hope this message finds you well. First and foremost, I would like to express my gratitude for choosing our property for your recent stay. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us improve our services and provide a better experience for all our guests. I'd like to address the points you raised in your recent complaint: 1. **Hot Tub:** I apologize for any confusion regarding this matter. Our property has never been advertised as having a hot tub, and I understand that this may have been a misunderstanding. We strive to ensure our listings accurately reflect the amenities we offer. I have checked with Sykes and they have assured me there has never been a hot tub listed. 2. **Bed:** I had not realised this bed was damaged, I have taken a look and I can see that there is one slat broken. I have now fixed this. The bed mentioned previously in may that you referred to has been replaced with a new bed immediately after those guests. 3. **Parasols:** The small parasols you mentioned are indeed intended for use on the beach. We designed the property to provide ample shade on the patio throughout the day, as the house casts a shadow over the patio. I will however provide a free standing large parasol should anyone wish to move the furniture to the garden. 4. **Spike in the Attic:** I appreciate your feedback regarding the spike in the attic. The small wooden insert is actually part of the roof system helping hold the beams together. To address safety concerns, I have added a "Mind Your Head" sign to alert guests about this feature. 5. **Chipped Plates:** I am sorry about the presence of chipped plates, I have gone through the stock and replaced any damaged crockery. 6. **Fridge Cleanliness:** I have passed your comments about the fridge cleanliness onto our cleaning team to ensure this issue is addressed promptly. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay. I understand your frustration, and I wish you had informed us of these issues during your stay. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and enjoyable experience for all our guests, and we would have taken immediate action to resolve these concerns had we been made aware of them. Despite these challenges, I'm pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable time at our property. We value your feedback and will use it to enhance the quality of our accommodations moving forward. Thank you again for choosing our property, and if you decide to return in the future, we will do our utmost to ensure a flawless stay. If you have any further questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to reach out. Warm regards, George Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert3.4Aug 2023

  • "We had a couple of issues with the property when we arrived but after contacting Sykes they got in touch with George, the owner, who sorted out the problems straight away."

    He was so helpful and friendly, as were the Sykes staff which helped to make our stay at the property so good. The house is lovely and we would definitely recommend it and Sykes to all our family and friends.

    Reviewed by Diane4.4Aug 2023

  • "Overal the house offered what we wanted, but there were niggling things wrong."

    Unable to get into key lock. Rang owner who said “I know it’s very stiff” so why was it not replaced, also it was put into a corner so had to be operated by left hand when most folk are right handed. Garden furniture lovely, but out of three parasols, only one with bottom pole and NO bases or table/seating holes to stand them. One 76yr old party member sat on her bed & went straight through (hurting her hip) as all the slats fell out. 2nd bed the same. Owner had to come & drill & screw both beds. Very limited head space in attic, only really suitable for kids. Bottom small lounge would be better split with one part becoming a en-suite for ground floor bedroom. If oven is used with lights in the annex, the fuse in main house is blown, plus small annex fuse box is in the wet room which would not pass 16th electrical regs. No means of opening roof windows or blinds in annex, thus one has to leave French door open at night for fresh air ?. This is not safe as there is no bolt on side door which can be accessed by anybody. Attic stairs has no barrier to prevent one from falling down them when sleepily making one’s way to bathroom. Some bedside lamps not near plugs or with extension cables. Overall plenty of pots, pans, dishes, mugs, seats etc, but house lacks attention to detail, for the price paid.

    Reviewed by Linda2.8May 2023

  • "Hi Rose,the house on the whole is great."

    Can you email the company as the shower doors in two of the bathrooms came off the runs but we fixed them. There is a bit of mould in one of the shower cabinets on the grout. The wheel from the dishwasher tray keeps falling off. The bbq rails were left in the dishwasher and weren’t properly cleaned. There are also a couple of chipped plates. The touch bin doesn’t work. Thanks Rose just don’t want them blaming us and taking it off the deposit. This is a message from the individuals who stayed at the house from the 15th - 19th May 2023. These are issues that can be rectified easily but they enjoyed their stay, thank you.

    Reviewed by Leonie3.8May 2023

  • "Wonderful house and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay."

    The view was amazing as is the garden, everything was spotless, very spacious for our large family get together and a lovely local country pub in walking distance. The only (minor) negative was the info pack said there was a Nespresso machine so we bought lots of pods but it’s actually a Tassimo. Not a major problem but just for awareness.

    Reviewed by Dawn5.0Mar 2022

Show more Hide all


  • Over three floors
  • Main house: Seven bedrooms: 1 x super-king-size with TV and en-suite walk-in shower, basin and WC, 1 x king-size, 1 x second-floor double with en-suite bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC, 2 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x ground-floor single
  • Bathroom with freestanding bath, handheld shower, walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Cloakroom
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Utility
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Snug with woodburning stove
  • Annexe: One double bedroom in a studio-style layout with a kitchen, dining area and en-suite wet room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Oil central heating with 2 x woodburning stove
  • Main house: electric oven and hob, kettle, toaster, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher
  • Annexe: electric oven and hob, kettle, fridge
  • 3 x TV's, WiFi, a selection of books and games
  • Fuel, power and a starter pack for woodburning stoves inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Highchair, travel cot and stairgate available on request
  • Off-road parking for 4 cars
  • Garden with lawn, patio, furniture and summer house
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.2 miles
  • Note: This property does not accept stag/hen parties or similar

The property

Nestled in the quaint village of Llanrhidian, within the Gower Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, rests this remarkable eight-bedroom holiday home, 12 Malthall.

Framing spectacular far reaching sea views whilst boasting a self-contained external annexe, 12 Malthall makes an excellent base for a staycation for the whole family to enjoy in Wales.

Make your way through the gated entrance and park up in one of four off-road parking spaces provided at the foot of this lovely dwelling before making your way inside and discarding of any shoes and coats in the hallway.

Refuel after a long journey and make your way through to the open-plan kitchen/diner, where you'll find a fabulous array of amenities to help prepare a range of tasty treats, including an electric oven and hob, whilst a handy dishwasher will help keep the space neat and tidy.

Uncork a bottle of wine and gather with your loved ones at the grand dining table to indulge or take your dining experience outdoors with a sociable seat in the garden.

At the end of an adventure-filled day, settle down in front of the warming woodburning stove in the sitting room to enjoy a family-favourite on the TV, or escape the excitement and retreat to the enticing snug with a good book in hand.

When sleep calls, you'll find an intimate single bedroom settled on the ground floor, whilst the external annexe offers additional ground-floor sleeping quarters, with the benefit of an en-suite wet room as well as its own kitchen/dining area, ideal for guests with limited mobility or grandparents looking for a solace retreat.

Settled on the first floor of the main house are five well-presented bedrooms, comprising of a super-king-size, a king-size, two doubles and a twin, whilst a further double bedroom can be found tucked under the wooden beams of the second floor, where a handy en-suite helps guests beat those morning queues for the bathroom!

Take a break from doing the cooking and treat your loved ones to an indulgent meal at the local pub, the Welcome Country Pub & Kitchen, serving a delicious menu of home cooked food prepared with locally sourced produce, whilst the local shop offers a convenience pit-stop for guests looking to dine from the comfort of their holiday home.

Budding historians will delight with a tour of the ruins of Bovehill and Weobley Castle, whilst the glorious sands of Whiteford Beach offer an idyllic spot for those looking to soak in the natural delights of the Gower Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

For more coastal adventurers, head off to Oxwich Bay Beach, where thrill-seekers can tackle the waves aboard a kayak or paddleboard; after working up an appetite, the Oxwich Beach Café is the perfect spot to savour fresh fish and chips.

Jump in the car and journey to the bustling city of Swansea, where the 13th century ruins of Swansea Castle dominate the skyline; tour the tropical plant and wildlife on display at Plantasia, learn of the cities industrial heritage with a visit to The National Waterfront Museum, or get your steps in with a leisurely stroll through the vibrant grounds of Swansea Botanical Gardens.

Make memories that will last a lifetime with a stay at 12 Malthall.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £1000.

View on map

About the location


Swansea 11 miles; The Mumbles 12.3 miles.

The quaint village of Llanrhidian rests in the Gower Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the northern coast of South Wales, between Fairyhill and Llethryd. Renowned for its views over the estuary and salt marshes, the village holds a heritage of cockling, whilst today offering a rural escape, with a petrol station with a well-stocked shop and a traditional country pub offering all of the essentials. A short distance away on the south coast of the Gower peninsula rests the village of Oxwich, where guests can tour the remains of Oxwich Castle or spend lazy afternoons lounging amongst the sands of Oxwich beach. For more coastal adventures, Mumbles is easily accessible, home to an iconic Victorian pier, a lighthouse dating back to 1794 and the Mumbles Hill Local Nature Reserve offering scenic walking opportunities.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas