Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Suffolk & Essex 53 minutes ago

  • Ploughman's - (Ref. 970111)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 23 View Larger Image
  • Ploughman's - Suffolk & Essex - 970111 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Ploughman's

Hoxne, Suffolk (Ref. 970111)

4.3

Good

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 3

  • Bedrooms 2

  • Bathrooms 1

  • Pets Yes

  • Show on map

Features

  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

33 Customer Reviews

  • "Great little property full of character."

    Lounge a bit dark. Bathroom really needs a shower! Big bath great but takes up loads of room and hot water. Spiral stairs could be an issue for people with reduced mobility. My wife needed a hairdryer which was not present (unless we couldn't find it!). Key wasn't in security box upon arrival but the owner was really brilliant in helping us find it. She arrived within 10 minutes. Great service. And the key was in the bush under the box.....!

    Many thanks for your feedback and excellent cleanliness and listing accuracy score. I do try to be as accurate as possible with my advert and include a picture of the spiral staircase and bathroom so that people can see the layout when making a decision if the property is suitable for them. Regrettably the property is not advertised with a hairdryer, I'm sorry if this left you disappointed. Apologies for the issue with the key which had been left by previous guests in an unusual location and this is now monitored every changeover that the key has been left in the key safe so that it is secure. The architecture and window size are of course in keeping with its character, but I'm pleased you enjoyed the property and its character. We have also now enhanced the lighting in the lounge and there is now a light over the dining area plus two floor lamps. Property Owner

    Reviewed by SimonApr 2022

  • "It was a good holiday and the place was good, but they need to do something about the rat's in the garden"

    Thank you for your 100% score. I'm really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. I'm sorry to hear you thought there may be rats in the garden. Of course being in a rural area if rubbish is left outside at can attract the wild life. We are looking into this and will take any necessary action. The housekeeper and gardener check the area on their usual changeover duties and no wildlife of this type has been noted on any subsequent changeover check. Thanks Property Owner

    Reviewed by TinaApr 2022

  • "Only only small T Towel Toaster had to be emptied of crumbs on arrival Behind Microwave not been cleaned found dead fly and calpol syringe !"

    Fridge not functioning well at all in fact we were concerned it wasn’t working at times Heaters not working as per instructions so house was cold Heaters locked and didn’t seem to come in at times stated Could improve the rubbish and recycling boxes / bins we brought home all our recycling No fire lighters on arrival we got some from pub ! Remote for Tv no spare batteries which we purchased / changed but then still could not get the channels we wanted easily Under main bed not been hoovered before arrival Cob webs In kitchen ! Spiral stair case is to us not safe and we were unable to carry cases to the bedrooms which meant we kept downstairs Fortunately we are mobile but have friends who we know would not be able to access upper floor and as I’ve mentioned we could not carry bags up Given we only there a few days want an issue but did mean not Abel to hand clothes up Finally no corkscrew we had to go to pub to ask them to open 2 bottles of wine !! However lovely location Great pub and food Friendly village Good local walks and ideal setting to explore the area Just felt the house was in need of a refresh

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that our property had not quite met your expectations. I can confirm we have checked the heaters and the fridge and they are working correctly. We do provide a welcome folder in the property with full details on the property facilities including heating and information on all appliances. We consider our waste facilities suitable and provide sacks for the full sized outdoor bin and recycling crate along side the indoor bins. We would have been happy to attend and assist you with any queries had we been contacted at all during your stay. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by AnthonyFeb 2022

  • "This is a lovely quaint cottage, great to have a wood burner, clean and freshly decorated too."

    No noise from neighbours. The only gripes we really have are 1). The spiral staircase, which we knew about before hand, however, we didn’t expect them to be so narrow, we are in our mid/late 50’s and it was a bit tedious to keep navigating them. 2). It is a seemingly lovely ‘peaceful’ village, and beautiful with the Christmas festive tree lights , but the cottage steps straight out on to the road that seems to be between two main roads and traffic cuts through until fairly late and then starting again between 4-5am, and/or farm heavy vehicles would cut through. We found it very noisy , could not open the bedroom window for air at night and it was still noisy even though window shut.

    Many thanks for your feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed the woodburner and appreciated the recent decoration. I do include a picture of the spiral staircase in the advert and I'm sorry if you found them tedious. The property is on a village road as per the pictures on the advert and in a rural farming area, regrettably passing farm machinery can happen now and again, although I hope that the rural area and beautiful scenery makes up for this. Thank you also for the excellent cleanliness score you gave the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by TeresaDec 2021

  • "Lovely little cottage in a cute village."

    Nice pub 100m down the road. Owners very accommodating after they allowed us to switch dates due to Covid but Sykes £30 admin fee

    Reviewed by MartinDec 2021

  • "Had great stay, very clean tide, very well set up, just the weather was ..."

    Had great stay, very clean tide, very well set up, just the weather was miserable so couldn't take dog for many walks, but had no bearing on the lovely property

    I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the top scores, especially cleanliness and comfort, much appreciated. I'm sorry the weather was poor for you and the dog, but I'm glad that while you were inside you were very comfortable. Property Owner

    Reviewed by KevinDec 2021

  • "Lovely stay at ploughman’s cottage though a few improvements we felt could be made-lighting in lounge/dining area is poor espically in dining room area, one light over the table hardly have any light during the day so was very dark."

    While the stairs were pretty so impractical-so hard to get down even holding one thing-had to keep leaning over to hand to my partner. The smart tv wouldn’t set up with WiFi so couldn’t link up with our iPad to watch a film we wanted to plus a DVD player wouldn’t go amiss That all said was a pretty cute cottage and we did enjoy our stay just feel the above improvements would improved our stay a lot more.

    I do include a picture of the staircase so that guests can decide if the property is suitable for them and I'm sorry if on this occasion they didn't suit your needs. If a guest ever needs any help, Sykes Cottages do have a dedicated help line to assist guests, The TV has been checked and no fault found. I'm glad you found the cottage pretty and cute and thank you for the top cleanliness score. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MeganNov 2021

  • "Lovely quaint cottage which was perfect for my friend and I and our dog."

    The property has a safe enclosed back garden which means we could let the dog out without worry. The property was very clean and the beds were very comfortable and the linen smelt fresh and amazing. The kitchen was impeccable and had everything we needed for our 2 nights stay. There was however a wasp nest located somewhere near the bathroom and we found several wasps were flying in the bathroom and fell in the bath. We had to keep the bathroom door closed to ensure they would not fly in the living room (which happened once). Also we didn't think there was enough hot water for 2 baths, as stated in the property instructions booklet, but it was a minor inconvenience opposed to how lovely the property was. We would definitely come and stay again. Thank you for having us.

    Thank you for your feedback and I'm thrilled you enjoyed the cottage and that the dog enjoyed the stay as well. For any guests, Sykes Cottages do have a dedicated phone line for any help required if guests need assistance. The property has been checked since your feedback and I'm pleased to advise that the wasps' nest has been resolved and there have been no further incidents regarding a nest or any stray wasps. Thank you also for the lovely comments about the comfy beds, the cleanliness of the property, kitchen and linen and also the top scores for everything. I look forward to you and the dog visiting us again. Property Owner

    Reviewed by EmilieNov 2021

  • "We loved our stay at Ploughman’s cottage, it is exactly as it looks on the website."

    It is cozy, clean & full of character, the beds are exceptionally comfortable. Yes the spiral staircase could be considered a little tricky for some (it’s beautiful though) but we didn’t have any difficulties. It is also correct about the volume of quite heavy traffic going past (farm vehicles & works vans) at certain times of the day. We live on a busy road anyway so this didn’t really bother us. We didn’t have any problems with any of the cottage appliances as some have mentioned. It was super warm & cozy In the evenings with the wood burner, especially as the weather turned colder towards the end of the week. No issues with parking either, always getting a space opposite the cottage. We loved the country walks with our two spaniels, stopping off at the pub on our way back, the villagers & pub staff are very friendly & welcoming. Enjoyed reading about the history of Hoxne & the cottage. We visited Diss, Framlingham, Aldeburgh & Bury St Edmunds. We know the area quite well as we live in Essex. There are 3 large supermarkets in Diss around 4 miles away, Aldi, Morrison’s & Tesco, so it’s easy to pick up supplies, the local shop is well stocked too. We would definitely return to Ploughman’s cottage. If I could of got the time off work, would of loved to have booked it for Christmas week.

    Thank you for your feedback. With the property being in a rural location and on a village road, there can be some passing farm machinery but hope that the country walks with the spaniels and the convenient location for parking, the pubs, village, local shops and easy road access to supermarkets in the area make up for this. I'm glad that you found the property warm and cosy and enjoyed the woodburner and that judging by your scores that you also found it very clean. I hope next time you can make it for Christmas for some more excellent country walks Property Owner

    Reviewed by LucyOct 2021

  • "1) The night storage heaters were pouring out heat overnight even though they were on the lowest settings and the switches on the wall had signs on saying 'do not turn off'."

    We were sweating heavily overnight, particularly as there were only limited/small windows which could be opened. We couldn't open the skylight windows with the pole provided. 2) We were surprised by the large volume of traffic (including heavy agricultural lorries) passing the front door which started about 7.30 in the morning. We thought that it was on a minor road with only light local traffic. Clearly this was a known ‘issue’ as the owners mentioned not parking outside the front door because of it, so it should be mentioned in the pre-booking information about the property. 3) It took quite a while to find how/where to switch all the lights on and there was only very limited light in the main living area. 4) We struggled to get the hob working and in the end we had to ask a local person to help. We did eventually find some instructions in the leaflets in the chest of drawers, but it took some time as there were lots of instructions for different devices and the hob one wasn't obvious. It would be helpful if the manual specifically referred one to the instruction leaflets for operational details and if it was more clearly labelled. 5) Generally it was quite well appointed, but the kitchen would benefit from cooking tongs and small casserole dishes.

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Ploughman's Cottage. I'm sorry you experienced some challenges during your stay. We do provide a welcome folder in the property with full details on the property facilities including heating and details on all appliances. We aim to have a well equipped kitchen and we will look to add another casserole dish. Tongs are already available. Due to the village being in a rural location surrounded by farmland, regrettably large farm vehicles do sometimes use the roads. I do hope you enjoy your stay at Ploughman's Cottage and we hope to see you again soon Property Owner

    Reviewed by MikeSep 2021

  • "The cottage feels quite old, the tile floors and multiple stairs from the lounge were not ideal with a young crawling child."

    We found there wasn't much cooking utensils i.e casserole dish. However we had a lovely break and the enclosed garden was ideal for the dog, and the bedroom was incredibly comfortable.

    Reviewed by ThomasAug 2021

  • "Both the cottage and the village of Hoxne are a perfect setting for a peaceful retreat or as a base for exploring the wider area."

    We had day trips out to Great Yarmouth and The Broads but also enjoyed exploring nearby Eye, which has a castle, and Diss which has a beautiful mere. Hoxne itself is well served with a lovely Post Office/convenience store and a pub which serves food, both within walking distance of Ploughman's Cottage. There are also some nice footpaths for gentle walks. The cottage was clean and fresh with really comfy beds. The covered garden area was a bonus for sitting out with a cuppa in the morning sunshine and the livingroom was really cosy in the evening with the log burner going. There was also no problem parking just opposite. The only thing I would mention is that the stairs, although beautiful, took a bit of getting used to, particularly since the bathroom was downstairs. So I would bear that in mind if you had an infant or mobility issues and also maybe pack several smaller bags rather than one large suitcase because getting that up and down was a challenge. All in all though we had a fabulous break and Anna our host was really friendly and welcoming. I very much hope we'll return.

    Reviewed by CatherineAug 2021

  • "The cottage location is great for local walks but local roads are very slow and make visiting neighbouring towns or seaside a very long drive."

    The cottage is beautiful and full of character with a great outdoor seating area however there were a few things that let the cottage down, these were: There were storage heaters on all the time which made the heat unbearable during our summer stay. The bedrooms had binds which did not cover the sky lights so we were woken very early each day with the light and heat. The bed was very comfy but only a double so a little small. The Shower didn’t work very well, it was either too hot or too cold and had no shower curtain so we had to sit to shower or have very shallow baths as there is only an immersion heater. The toilet and bath are so close to each other, it is impossible to sit comfortably. There are no proper bin facilities (wheelie bins) other than a small bin under a tree which was hard to reach, we had to take our recycling to the local bottle bank. There should have been a wheelie bin at the front of the property like everyone else on the street. There were too many flies (which could be related to keeping rubbish in bags in garden). This was the worst part of our stay, there were more than average. The kettle was full of lime scale so we had to boil water in pans as the kettle was so bad. Considered purchasing a kettle to replace. The spiral staircase wasn’t an issue for us however was very steep and was impossible for our dog to clime. We wouldn’t recommend anyone with mobility issues or people with small children. We left early due to these issues, however we did really enjoy our stay but wouldn’t return because of these as we have stayed in much nicer accommodation for a more reasonable price. The village is very nice and the local people were very friendly. The local pub ‘the Swan’ is very accommodating and has a wide range of drinks and a great bear garden.

    Thank you for your feedback we are sorry to read that our property had not quite met with your expectations and that you experienced a few issues during your stay. We do provide a welcome folder in the property with full details on the property facilities including heating and hot water instructions, we would also have been happy to attend and assist you with any queries had we been contacted at all during your stay. We do feel that the website description and photos do give a true representation of our property and the spiral staircase is clearly shown in the photos and mentioned in the write up. Kind regards Property Owner

    Reviewed by OliverJul 2021

  • "We stayed at Ploughman’s cottage for a week in July with our daughter and small baby."

    The cottage is cosy and delightful, exactly as you see in the pictures. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. The bed in the master bedroom was super comfy, and our daughter slept happily in the smaller bedroom. The village of Hoxne is lovely, with nice walks and a family friendly pub that serves delicious food. We will definitely return, what a great base for a week of exploring Suffolk!

    Reviewed by SamanthaJul 2021

  • "We are a couple in our seventies and have booked with you before and been very happy but this cottage was not suitable for our age group."

    The spiral stairs were difficult and they looked larger in the photo than they actually are. The lighting in the lounge was hopeless so that it was very dingy in there. The toilet is right up against the roll top bath and made life difficult! Also the bath was too narrow for either of us, even though we're not overweight. Hoxne is a pretty village but is on a rat run with cars and lorries literally inches from the front door which opens straight onto the street. All in all we were very disappointed with our stay there.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. I'm sorry that you found the stairs challenging. The property description does state it is a tight spiral staircase and the photos are a true reflection of what the stairs and the rest of the property is like. We have plans to replace the spiral staircase with a standard staircase in the future. In regards to the lighting, the cottage is very old and doesn't have ceiling lights downstairs. However based on your feedback we will look to provide extra lighting in the lounge area. Finally, the cottage is in a rural location with farmland around so we do occasionally get large farm vehicles use the road outside the cottage. I'm really sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. We aim to make the cottage as comfortable as possible for our guests so they have an enjoyable holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DeborahJun 2021

  • "Cottage is lovely and well equipped, especially the kitchen."

    We were aware of the spiral stairs but not easy to negotiate with a suitcase or going to the downstairs bathroom in the night! Shower is on the bath taps with no shower curtains, so not easy to shower or step into the bath as quite high. Traffic noise can be a little noisy, but apart from that a delightful cottage and village.

    Reviewed by JillJun 2021

  • "We couldn't get the hob to work on the cooker which meant we couldn't fry any eggs for breakfast with bacon."

    A full English breakfast is something I always look forward to when on holiday..Also it was impossible to contact the owner. I was also surprising that the owner did not bother to call round to see if everything was OK

    Thank you for taking the time to let me know your thoughts regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear you were unable to work the hob on the cooker, and if known we could have directed you to the instructions on how to use all appliances which is detailed in the welcome book provided. I am suprised to hear you were unable to contact me as after speaking to the office and cleaner we had no calls come through or notification you had tried to get in touch, if known I would have been more than happy to assist. Finally, as I am not local to the area, I do not normally call over to check on things and particularly in light of the current climate and social distancing. With that said, I do hope you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you return in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2021

  • "Nice part of the country,with lots of walks from the door ."

    Good transport links from Diss if required.Nowrich an interesting city to visit

    Reviewed by JimMay 2021

  • "Lovely walks."

    Went on a 12 mile hike through some lovely footpaths and had a dip in the river in brockdish. Pub is amazing and there was even a stair gate in the cottage which was Brill with my dobermann and flat coat retriever.

    Reviewed by JasmineDec 2020

  • "Had a lovely stay at ploughman's cottage, very cosy and comfortable."

    Hoxne is a lovely village. The local pub is very welcoming and they do excellent food. We would love to return.

    Reviewed by AndrewOct 2020

  • "This is the cutest cottage very well equipped in a lovely village."

    But because of the very narrow and very steep stairs I would not recommend it to the less able or young children. We loved it and managed for the week. It was a wonderful break. Thank you

    Reviewed by EileenSep 2020

  • "We had a wonderful stay in Hoxne - the cottage was perfect and the location is really lovely (we did the heritage walk to explore the village)."

    Highly recommend the Swan Inn for food and atmosphere.

    Reviewed by KlaraSep 2020

  • "Had a great holiday Great place Very happy"

    Reviewed by WendySep 2020

  • "Such a lovely location and a very well kept cottage ."

    Reviewed by MarkAug 2020

  • "Had a really lovely break at ploughman’s in Hoxne, we enjoyed the peace and quiet of a beautiful village in a lovely area, people were so friendly and helpful, pub was fabulous, steak night was great, enjoyed it very much, we are familiar with this area and have always said we’d love to have a break here and our expectations were definitely met, so close to Norwich, Bury st Edmunds, loved our visit to Bury, amazing place, Norwich is full of things to do, all so full of history, would definitely think about visiting here again, our black lab enjoyed himself loving the gorgeous walks of which there are so many to choose from, a local map would be an advantage, if you love the history of the area this is the place to come."

    Reviewed by WendyFeb 2020

  • "The cottage had everything needed, full of charm."

    the weather and area were amazine and the the wood burner in the evenings finished the day off lovely.we eat at the local pub, The Swan. excellant.

    Reviewed by JohnJan 2020

  • "Hubby n I had a lovely week at Ploughman’s Cottage."

    Listings gave an accurate picture n we fell in love with it! Easy to sight see, set in quaint ickle village and lots of places of interest to visit xXx THANK YOU

    Reviewed by FionaJun 2019

  • "Beautiful cottage in a lovely village."

    Lovely pure white sheets and pure white good quality towels. We took washing up liquid, kitchen roll, toilet rolls etc, but they weren't needed as everything was there. Garden and patio was lovely and we had breakfast outside every morning. Stairs could be a problem but you are warned in the cottage info. The pub is good with great food and pleasant staff. Would recommend this cottage... lovely.

    Reviewed by EricJun 2019

  • "We were aware of the tiny iron staircase and the downstairs bathroom."

    Although these were inconvenient, we knew what to expect. However, we weren't expecting a lovely cottage in a beautiful village to have a front door opening out into the street with busy traffic from 6am to 9am and 4pm to 6pm. The noise was very loud and woke us up very early. We were extremely tired from work and I would not have chosen this cottage if we had been made aware. Also we took our two dogs which was quite difficult each time we took them out during the busy traffic times...

    Reviewed by LisaJun 2019

  • "The village pleasant, local people very friendly and the cottage generally was delightful, as listed, very clean linen and towels of good quality."

    The patio area and garden excellent. However we were very disappointed on arrival to find a lack of essential “housekeeping items.” There was no toilet paper, no washing up liquid and only a much used J cloth and pot scourer, not a positive welcome. On reading the owner’s manual we saw that bin bags were supposed to be available but there were none. As the village shop was closed there was no way of buying these items until the following day at the super market in the nearest town. The fridge did not work very well and the ground floor of the cottage, particularly the kitchen, was full of flies, every food item needed to be covered. We felt that surely this should have been noticed by the cleaners and a fly paper or fly spray been available for visitors’ use. We have used Sykes on a number of occasions and have always been completely satisfied but found this aspect of our stay at Ploughman’s very disappointing and feel the owners should be made aware of such shortcomings.

    Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts on your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear you experienced an issue with flies during your stay but I can confirm that this has been checked thoroughly and no flies were present in the property on your arrival or departure so this seems to have been a one off since this has never been an issue before; we will of course monitor the situation moving forward. Regarding the fridge, unfortunately, it appears that on your departure, the fridge was not switched on at the wall which could possibly account for the issue you encountered but again, this will be checked now this has been brought to our attention. Items such as toilet roll, new dish cloths and washing up liquid are provided at each changeover, as well as bin bags being put in the outside bin and liners in the kitchen bin. It has been confirmed with the housekeeper that this is being done. Sykes Cottages are available 24hrs a day as we have an emergency line and we wish we had been given the opportunity to assist you during your stay; we want all our customer's to have the best experience possible. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your comments; we appreciate all customer feedback. Kind regards, Property Owner

    Reviewed by JillJun 2019

  • "There was a problem with the heating which I understand has now been resolved for future guests."

    It would be helpful if clearer instructions were given on the operating of the storage heaters and the associated computer controls. The problem was very probably caused by myself struggling to understand them!! Otherwise a delightful olde world cottage with lots to recommend it.

    Reviewed by ChristopherMar 2019

  • "Lovely little cottage in a very pleasant village."

    The narrow spiral staircase could prove a bit tricky for some people though. My advice would be to take a holdall rather than suitcase to make it easier to bend round the spiral! The wood burner was lovely, necessary for the cool evenings. Take plenty of wood as it's quite powerful and burns through them quickly. If I'm being picky you may want to take bin bags as there doesn't seem to be any bins so rubbish is collected for owners to dispose of after your departure. That said I would recommend this cottage for those wanting a break for walking and visiting the area. We especially enjoyed visiting Flatford mill and Dedham and the city of Norwich. The local pub served excellent food at reasonable prices and everyone was so very friendly.

    Reviewed by DianeMar 2019

  • "Really wonderful little cottage in a beautiful village in Suffolk."

    Highly recommended and the owners are very helpful should you require their support.

    Reviewed by SimonAug 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x single (trundle bed available on request)
  • Ground floor bathroom with roll-top bath, hand-held shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Open-plan sitting room with dining area and woodburning stove, pull out double sofa bed available on request.
  • Electric heating with woodburning stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer (located in the shed), washing machine
  • Smart TV with Freesat and Freeview Play, WiFi, selection of books and games
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for stove/fire inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot and stairgate available on request
  • Roadside parking for 1 car
  • Garden with lawn, patio and furniture
  • Two well-behaved pets allowed
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 1 min walk
  • Note: Tight spiral stairs to the two bedrooms, may not be suitable for those with limited mobility

The property

Nestled in the heart of idyllic Hoxne, a traditional Suffolk village attracting walkers and cyclists aplenty is this beautiful, character rich cottage offering alluring accommodation to three lucky guests.

As well as being a wonderful base for exploring East Anglia, this romantic cottage boasts a picturesque exterior and wonderful living spaces to be enjoyed the year-round.

Ideal for couples or small families, it retains much of its original features captivating your attention.

Enter via the front door, and instantly feel welcomed into its characterful charm exuding from every wall; its original floors, low beams and cosy woodburner housed within a beautiful brick fireplace, add an elegant and refined touch, enhanced by warm terracotta colourways in the dining area to uplift your mood.

The compact yet nicely appointed kitchen leads you to the pretty garden to the rear, where you can enjoy the delights of outdoors under a sheltered patio area, looking out across the manicured lawn towards a plethora of beautiful flowers and plants, cascading around its borders.

The bathroom is positioned on the ground floor for your convenience, finished traditionally with a neutral shade of tiles.

Climb the enchanting spiral staircase, which leads you to the first floor, benefitting two bedrooms; a double and a single, well-presented to a quality standard.

A few minutes walk is the local and shop and award winning pub.

The property is but a short drive from DIss and Framlingham, both well worth a visit.

Framlingham is home to a wonderful castle and now famous for being the town Ed Sheeran grew up in.

A little further away you can visit the Suffolk Heritage coast with the must visit Aldeburgh and Southwold; both popular seaside towns with an excellent range of cafes, restaurants and shops.

This charming, traditional cottage is ideal for those seeking a unique stay in a wonderful location.

View on map

About the location

HOXNE

Scole 2.4 miles; Diss 5 miles.

The idyllic little village of Hoxne sits 5 miles southeast of Diss and 14 miles northwest of Framlingham, Suffolk. One of Suffolk's most attractive villages, Hoxne is home to a Post Office, a 15th century, Grade II listed pub, and the streets are lined with a range of quaint chocolate box cottages, some topped with charming thatched roofs. Steeped in history, Hoxne is famous for one of the largest collections of late Roman silver and gold discovered in Britain. The pretty surrounding countryside and woodland and the River Dove and Waveney flowing past all make Hoxne a perfect base for walking cycling. Within an hour’s drive you can be touring the Norfolk Broads, sunning yourself by the sea or strolling along the pier in Southwold, or discovering the cultural city of Norwich. With a wealth of day trips to enjoy and plenty of wonderful walks and cycling from the door, Hoxne provides an idyllic base for a memorable Suffolk holiday.

Region Information

Note: Tight spiral stairs to the two bedrooms, may not be suitable for those with limited mobility

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas