Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

4 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Flanders Hall - Yorkshire Dales - 928840 - photo 1
close

Flanders Hall

(Ref. 928840)

West Burton near Leyburn, Yorkshire Dales - North Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (26)
  • bed (23)
  • hall (22)
  • lovely (20)
  • comfortable (20)
  • all (20)

50 Customer Reviews

  • "We found the kitchen was too warm to leave the dog in the kitchen as was suggested so his cage was put in the corridor."

    Bathroom facilities we thought were inadequate for a party of twelve.

    Thank you for your comments. The Aga can make the kitchen very warm in the summer, and we are sorry you had to move your dog's cage to the hall. We are also sorry you found the bathroom facilities inadequate for twelve people: the house is old fashioned in terms of its plumbing in that it has a family bathroom and a family shower room, and wash basins in every one of the bedrooms. We understand that this vintage set up does not work for some guests, and we try to make it clear in our listing so people are not disappointed when they come to stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Cynthia4.1Jul 2023

  • "We had a great time staying at Flanders Hall (8 adults and 3 children)."

    We loved the old fashioned charm of the house,' you could almost imagine being in a Bronte novel, and the views are outstanding. The house is well equipped for cooking and there are lots of toys/games in the Playroom. There is only one shower and one bath (in separate rooms) so we needed a rota for the morning but that is manageable, and there was lots of hot water. Some others have pointed out the quirks and oddities of the house but that is the nature of an old house. West Burton must be one of the most beautiful villages in the country and the butcher there is amazing. Places to visit locally, that we would recommend, are Aysgarth Falls (40 minute walk), Bolton Castle and the Forbidden Corner (amazing even if you do not have children). Hawes and the Wensleydale Creamery are also worth a visit but I would avoid the restaurant at the creamery as the service is very slow. There are also many beautiful walks close to the house.

    Reviewed by Nick4.7May 2023

  • "This is from a few different people: 1) - nice house and grounds - good for kids with toys in cupboards and space outside - the penny-pinching about logs and charging cars etc is out of keeping with the luxury price of the property - should have some recycling on site or owners deal with it; guests don't want to drive around looking for recycling bins 2) It is a beautiful old house in a delightful area."

    Kids loved it. Thanks for finding & booking it (D&A), and C&S for paying for most if it! 3) Excellent location, big house with big garden, lovely period details, and warm underfloor heating under the kitchen flagstones is lovely. Plus points are big rooms and comfortable beds, super books and games and the great Aga, but…please provide a decent microwave. And, when one has paid over £2000 for 3 nights, and discovered the limitations of the only shower, and that only 2 people can get a good view of the only TV, it strikes a bum note to be charged 60p per log and £4.50 for kindling (we brought our own). How about providing enough logs for a couple of nights but charging for extra? Xxx 4) They specifically ask for feedback to help make improvements, so .... in addition to everyone else’s comments: * they need to buy a replacement microwave and relocate it - it’s completely unacceptable to have an old microwave, without any instructions, at floor level, so you need to kneel or lie on the floor to (try to work out how to) use it; * they need to buy replacement (and far more) cutlery from, say, John Lewis, rather then the old/charity shop stuff that’s there, and keep it in easily accessible drawers, not ones which are very difficult to open/shut; and * most importantly, they need to remove the child’s stool from the kitchen/house, it is a serious accident waiting to happen with a stone kitchen floor - by a sheer fluke we narrowly avoided having to take a young child to A&E with a serious head injury.

    Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad you had positive comments to make about the house and its set up, but are very sorry we have not met your expectations in other ways. We will take on board all your feedback. We are keen to provide an accurate description in the listing so people get what they expect when they are booking. We are very sorry about the problem you had with a stool in the kitchen. We will check to make sure the chair is not broken. We think it is fair to expect people to pay for logs and charging their electric cars. The house has good gas central heating, and open fires and wood burning stoves are not necessary to heat the house. We are sorry you did not find the instructions for the microwave: they are in the cupboard with other instructions for appliances such as the electric oven and hob, and the instructions to use the Aga are in the Welcome Book. The microwave is a small, simple one, and it is on a lower shelf. We will update the listing to make this clear. We are not aware of any drawers in the kitchen furniture that are difficult to open and shut but we will check on this. All our cutlery is from reputable brands, including a set of David Mellor cutlery: we are sorry you did not find this in the oak sideboard. In the Welcome Book the sites of local recycling bins are made clear, so we are sorry you did not find this information in the book. The flat screen TV is not large by modern standards but it is on a bracket so can be moved out and swivelled to get a better view. We will update the listing to make this clear. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Daniel4.1May 2023

  • "Wonderful old hall , in beautiful setting comfortable and homely only ..."

    Wonderful old hall , in beautiful setting comfortable and homely only downside -directions / signage could be better -especially when arriving at dusk / in the dark

    Reviewed by Steven3.8Feb 2023

  • "We had a wonderful stay at Flanders Hall - it was spacious, comfortable and in such a glorious setting."

    We enjoyed the gardens and grounds and the marvellous views. The kitchen/dining room is a fantastic sociable space and all the bedrooms are a generous size. We would warmly recommend it for gatherings of family or friends.

    Reviewed by Tom & Lindsay5.0Sep 2022

  • "We found Flanders Hall very comfortable and a delightful place to stay."

    It had real character and the surrounding gardens and countryside made it feel like we were really getting away from it all. We would be very happy to return. If us a real gem.

    Reviewed by Rachael5.0Jul 2022

  • "Thank you for hosting our group, really enjoyed Flanders Hall."

    It's a lovely location with a pretty garden that's private. Beds and linen are comfortable. Plenty of space in the house for a large group, shame there are only 2 bathrooms! (My brother commented that in the main bathroom the pull handle is too heavy for the old cistern).

    Reviewed by Hannah4.1Jun 2022

  • "We had an enjoyable stay at Flander's Hall."

    Lovely roomy house for a large party. It was in a lovely setting near to West Burton.The beds were comfortable. Another shower would have been useful when there are a lot of people. The gardens are beautiful. If the weather had been better a bigger outside table and chairs would have been needed to eat outside.

    Reviewed by Alwyn3.4Jun 2022

  • "Fabulous property and location."

    We were 8 adults and 4 children, lots of grounds for the children to run around, lovely garden fire pit for evening drinks. Stunning scenery, enjoyed by all.

    Reviewed by Carole5.0Jun 2022

  • "Flanders Hall is a truly beautiful and quirky property."

    We had a long weekend here to celebrate a big birthday, twelve people in total. The house is well equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is stunning with walks straight from the front door and views for miles. Great for wildlife spotting - barn owls and herons amongst some our party saw. Really comfortable beds. We used both the log burner and open fire during our stay, but it was December. Great communication from the owners and help when we were struggling to find the property in the dark! This is such a special place we hope to return in the future. You will need to factor in sufficient time at the end of your stay to get the property ready for leaving as requested by the owners - it took four of us probably 2-3 hours to strip the beds, empty bins, tidy, wash up, put away and pack.

    Reviewed by David5.0Dec 2021

  • "This is a very special house in an incredible location."

    Walden beck runs through the beautiful enclosed garden. The kitchen is a fantastic space for large family feasts and the many generous living spaces mean you can escape if you need to. The rooms are full of character and beautiful furniture. There are brilliant walks on your doorstep and plenty of waterfalls to visit. We had deep snow and beautiful night skies. We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Esther5.0Nov 2021

  • "We had a wonderful family gathering at Flanders Hall with all the space and facilities we needed for 11 of us."

    The decor was an amazing mix of antique and modern. Beds were very comfortable with super king beds in 3 of the large bedrooms, The grounds were great for family games. All within walking distance of the beautiful village of West Bradford, and 2 miles from Aysgarth Falls. We're looking forward to our next visit.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Nov 2021

  • "A gorgeous historic Hall that we loved spending the weekend in."

    It was great to be able to host 12 of us in one house. Good instructions, comfy beds and a good range of equipment. The house is set in beautiful grounds. Lovely to have games and dvds to hand for rainy days and real fires in all 3 lounges.

    Reviewed by Julia3.8Oct 2021

  • "This was our first family holiday since the pandemic and the house was perfect for us."

    Full family from grandparents to grandchildren and the house suited everyone. Lots of equipment in the kitchen for preparing big family meals and an aga that kept the place toasty warm. This is a country house so yes there were cobwebs but overall cleanliness was good. The grounds were private and beautiful and we had a bonfire. All rooms have log fires so.perfect for an autumn winter retreat. We had 2 electric cars and recharged from an outhouse socket as we had brought an extension. Beds were comfortable with high quality bedding and bathrooms were good. Plumbing was a little gurgley and one more shower would have been perfect for us but for a house of its age the facilities were very stylish. Overall fab place to stay and relax in the house and grounds or explore the local area. I'm expecting to book again if I can find a vacancy as its super popular!

    Reviewed by Catherine4.7Oct 2021

  • "We had a wonderful short break in this fabulous house."

    Both the house and gardens are perfect for a family or mixed group as there is plenty of space for everyone to do their own thing. Also great for dogs, our two loved it, especially being able to go in the stream directly from the garden. We spent most of our time in the large cosy kitchen where the aga was permanently on. The house is beautiful but also has a lived in family feel to it. Would definitely recommend. There are also lots of walks directly from your doorstep.

    Reviewed by Kim5.0Aug 2020

  • "The kitchen was well appointed with the Aga making the room lovely and cosy and plenty of room at the very long table for us all to eat together."

    3 lounges allowed us to spread out Beds were comfortable Nice large fluffy towels wood burner in the one lounge made it very cosy The children loved the garden but would have like to have paddled in the Beck which we could not get to. Plenty of parking room under the trees so the cars kept cool.

    Reviewed by Thelma5.0Jul 2020

  • "The property could have been lovely but it was very very dirty and not at all ..."

    The property could have been lovely but it was very very dirty and not at all suitable for letting out as a holiday let in this condition

    Reviewed by Daniel2.5Feb 2020

  • "The kitchen had absolutely everything we could have possibly needed."

    And we had really great communication with our hsot over the weekend - really responsive and checking in to make sure we were settled.

    Reviewed by Maha El4.7Nov 2019

  • "The house was huge and exactly the space we needed for a big family with dogs so we had a great time."

    The beds and towels were clean but the only thing I would say is the house felt like it needed a good clean. It's a big old house so we didn't expect it to be shiny but there were big cobwebs hanging from the ceilings and dead spiders in the corners in some rooms. It's a great location for some lovely walks, cooking on the aga was amazing, we had a supermarket delivery the day we arrived so it worked out perfectly. We did walk to the local pub in West Burton one day and ate there which I would not recommend, the food was awful. Overall we had a fantastic weekend!

    Reviewed by Rebecca2.8Nov 2019

  • "We had a wonderful long weekend."

    The house was very well equipped and having three sitting rooms was great for a large party of people. The grand piano was a bonus as our friend could play for us on an evening. We enjoyed using the outside fire pit and having walks from the house. The roll top bath was very luxurious and most welcome after a long walk. I found the beds a tad hard but everyone else didn’t have a problem. There was also quite a few fly’s especially in one of the bedrooms but this wasn’t a big issue. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend to other people.

    Reviewed by Helen4.7Oct 2019

  • "We had an extended family gathering at Flanders Hall to celebrate a 21st birthday and spend some time together."

    The accommodation is spacious and very well provided for with all the amenities one would expect in a traditional farmhouse. The house is a fascinating time capsule of family history and the extensive library reflects an interesting range of interests including wildlife, the local area and enough fiction writing to keep a student of English literature happy for years! The grand piano in the main sitting room was an enjoyable distraction and far enough away from the rest of the house not to be a nuisance to everyone else! The kitchen is amply stocked with all the utensils needed for cooking and the lpg gas-fired AGA heats the water and complements the electric cooker. The dishwasher was easy to operate and reduced the chore of washing up to a minimum.The bedrooms with their shutters and lovely old washbasins were very pleasant, bed linen was spotless and the beds very comfortable. The children loved discovering the toys in the playroom (including the drum kit!) and had great fun on the rope swing in the garden! One of our party spotted a red squirrel in the grounds. We enjoyed exploring the surrounding area and the owners have thoughtfully provided good quality maps of the local area. In addition to walking into West Burton to let the children play on the swings, we visited Hawes, the Wensleydale Creamery (free samples of cheese!), Aysgarth falls, Leyburn, Richmond, Barnard Castle and even ventured as far as Harrogate and the RHS Gardens at Harlow Carr where we sampled the delights of Betty's Tearoom! We would recommend Flanders Hall as a great, relaxing place to stay with loads of room for a larger party and all home comforts. We'd love to come back someday!

    Reviewed by Joseph5.0Jul 2019

  • "We brought a group of French cyclists to see the beauty of Yorkshire and the gîte enhanced the experience; the house, gardens and setting were perfect."

    The house is beautiful, the beds really comfortable, the kitchen well equipped, and lovely and warm after occasional wet rides. The plumbing could be interesting, but it didn't detract from our enjoyment. I just wish I'd had a bit of time to read some of the hundreds of books! I would definitely recommend this and would happily go back again.

    Reviewed by J4.7May 2019

  • "This wonderful house doesn't boast enough about its beautiful and spacious grounds, formal garden, orchard, ball games area with football goal, rope swing, and access to a generally benign River for messing about in."

    Inside the house is spacious, with plenty of room for families to spread themselves and the facilities for indoor play are excellent, shelves of books and DVDs, for all ages, chests full of toys, cupboards full of games and jig saw s, all in working order and complete, plus a grand piano as a bonus. The decor is quirky and pleasing, beds are comfortable and the Aga a delight. It's true that there could be more showers, a couple of ensuites in the two front bedrooms would solve this, but otherwise this is a lovely family home in a beautiful part of the country with excellent walking all around. Would recommend a trip to Bolton castle, Aysgarth Falls ( walk there and back) and Richmond(a bit further).

    Reviewed by Ruth4.7May 2019

  • "Really nice property."

    Some niggles but more than balanced by the ambiance

    Reviewed by John4.1May 2019

  • "A lovely place for a large group, the kitchen is a delight."

    Very dog friendle and best of all lots of walks straight from the house

    Reviewed by Maryanne5.0May 2019

  • "Brilliant weather helped make this an amazing weekend."

    The scenery and waterfalls nearby were fantastic. We never put television on all weekend.

    Reviewed by Eleanor4.7Apr 2019

  • "Cottage was in a nice location and the cottage itself was ok."

    I know it was old and traditional but could do with a little updating and the toilet facilities could be improved, i.e. The two main toilets did not flush very well and the shower/ wet room, the drainage could be improved on and the toilet / bench in the same room does not go together. Apart from these issues the cottage was ok if you like the old traditional look/ feel.

    Reviewed by Beverley3.1Mar 2019

  • "We have just finished a week’s holiday at Flanders Hall, near Leyburn."

    It was a new destination for an annual family get-together and it absolutely ticked all the boxes! It is a lovely house, full of character (and space to spread out if needed) and the bedrooms were all really impressive. There are three living rooms - all a bit different, with great details such as a piano and shelves full of books. The kitchen is large, warm and a very convivial space - I enjoyed my first experience of using an Aga! The weather was pleasant enough to be able to sit out in the garden a couple of times, but later in the summer, that would be even nicer. The nearby walks and villages are lovely, and next time we go to the area, we would take bikes, as cycling would be great too. Jo was very prompt and helpful replying to texts with any queries and questions that we had. Because we were a mixed age-group (ie getting up and going to bed at very different times!), the fact that there was only one bath and one shower was not a problem, but it might have been an issue if 12 people were all trying to get ready at the same time every day.

    Reviewed by Sarah4.7Mar 2019

  • "Flanders Hall is a unique period property with lots of character."

    It isn't a museum, it's a very much loved and lived in home. It made a perfect house for a get together with old school friends, particularly as we had visited it before, back in the 1980s. We were delighted to find it was just as lovely as we remembered it. There are good quality appliances and very comfortable beds. We enjoyed the challenge of cooking on the Aga and found the instructions left by the owners really clear. We never had to cheat and use the electric oven! It is also in a wonderful location in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales - the locals are very friendly and welcoming. All in all we had an amazing week.

    Reviewed by Katharine3.8Mar 2019

  • "Flanders Hall was the real thing - full of welcoming family character without fussy knicknackery!"

    Thoughtful and helpful manual for guests, everything worked efficiently, and the space and comfort were fantastic. Lovely setting too, even in a very cold and wet week. Perfect for our family gathering - we hope to come back.

    Reviewed by Rosemary5.0Mar 2019

  • "This place is so good I really don't want to review it or everyone will go there and I won't be able to get back."

    In the middle of moors and waterfalls, glorious rustic charm. Lovely comfy beds. Anyone who wants rural space, peace and a touch of luxury with no pretension will fall in love with Flanders Hall as I did.

    Reviewed by Jane5.0Nov 2018

  • "Flanders Hall is a lovely, old, spacious house - ideal for a family get-together and set on the outskirts of a pretty village."

    However, kitchen cooking equipment is lacking ie no baking trays for putting in the ovens. Another shower in the bathroom would help as we only had one shower between ten. The bath, though it looked good, was difficult to use for very young children and older members of the family. It didn't bother us 'oldies' that the wi-fi never seemed to connect but we then had to spend the week with a grumpy teenager!!!! Perhaps you need to change the wording about having wi-fi as it was impossible to connect.

    "We are sorry that you did not manage to find the baking trays as there are two large steel ones, a muffin tin and a collection of other oven proof dishes in the kitchen. Also, we are very sorry that you had problems with the WiFi. We were not informed it was faulty during your visit. When the next guests arrived on November 2nd we realised there was an issue and contacted BT who sent an engineer out on Tuesday 6th to fix the problem. " Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marjorie4.1Oct 2018

  • "Really enjoyed our time at Flanders hall."

    Loved the Aga and drying rack over it. Beds really comfortable and lots of space. Lovely bath and useful having separate shower room with 3 toilets in total. Lots of crockery and cooking equipment which was useful and glad of large fridge freezer. The grand piano was a very enjoyable extra and lots of toys available if children were there. Great setying for walks and exploring area with extensive grounds at the hall

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Oct 2018

  • "Flanders Hall is a lovely property in a great location."

    The facilities were good but an extra shower and toilet would have made it even better.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.7Oct 2018

  • "The location of flanders hall is idyllic."

    The gardens were beautiful but would be alot easier with dogs if they were enclosed. Could also do with extra shower room / bathroom with the number of people it can take bit overall we all had a wonderful holiday.

    Reviewed by Jenny3.1Aug 2018

  • "A wonderful place for a special birthday gathering."

    We were blessed with the weather too and west burton and the surrounding area were spectacular in the late spring - many birds, wildflowers, and of course excellent walking.

    Reviewed by Jennifer4.7May 2018

  • "I had my 80th birthday at Flanders Hall over a sunny May Bank Holiday."

    It was a perfect setting for an informal celebration, the large kitchen accommodating all the family and plenty of space in the three sitting rooms. We enjoyed drinks in the beautiful lawned garden with sweeping views across the meadows to Castle Bolton on the horizon. A walk to Asgarth Falls where the younger generation swam was one of many highlights. This is a comfortable house, full of character and artistic touches. We were sad to leave and look back on a week of wonderful memories. Thank you Jo.

    Reviewed by Michael4.1May 2018

  • "Fabulous property, great facilities, comfortable & warm - all in a stunning setting and within easy reach of Aysgarth, and West Burton and great walks."

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Apr 2018

  • "Fire equipment for kitchen hidden in cupboard."

    Loose floorboards in library and landing No hand washing facilities in second upstairs toilet Numerous dining chair joints are loose Location of front door key - needs to be more visible Disposal of rubbish - not clear in instruction book as to where to dispose of general rubbish and recycling Only 1 door key between 11 people

    Reviewed by Reginald3.8Mar 2018

  • "Flanders Hall was chosen as the location to celebrate my 50th birthday with 11 other members of my family."

    Plenty of parking for 5 cars+. It was perfect! We went to the Wensleydale Creamery in Hawes (20 mins by car), Aysgarth Falls (30 min walk), Carperby (60 min walk) and Castle Bolton (which can be seen from three of the Hall’s bedroom windows) and a 90 minute walk. We walked to Cauldron Falls in West Burton (5 mins) and the local pub was only 5 minute walk. The Hall itself is very spacious and has modern central heating throughout - we were warm and could spread out but we ended up in the kitchen mostly which stayed the warmest with underfloor heating and an aga! The only improvements I would recommend are linked to the kitchen - we made several meals and found a toaster that only took 2 slices at a time when doing a breakfast for 12 was slow going. The microwave was only 600 W and really low down - would have preferred it to be on a counter-top and be more precise programming for power and mins. We would have preferred a better coffee machine - we brought our own capsule machine and capsules as i did enquire - there was a cafetière but not everyone wants a coffee at the same time and some people wanted decaf etc. Something to think about. WiFi was great in kitchen but with a large house and thick walls the signal was a challenge elsewhere in the house. I would also recommend leaving the welcome book out on kitchen table as it took us an hour to find in one of the Hall’s corridor cupboards. Minor things really.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Feb 2018

  • "Flanders Hall is a nice house for large groups."

    The rooms are all enormous and quite warm, even in winter. All three lounges have working fireplaces and the owners supply plenty of wood and kindling in one of the out buildings (plus an honesty box). The kitchen's pretty well stocked with equipment, although could do with a shelf for guests to leave non-perishable things like seasonings and spare tea bags, had to go buy a load of stuff of which we only used a small amount of so would have been helpful to leave for the next guests. Could also do with a few more frying pans, there were only 7 of us and i think we would have struggled to cook our meals if we had been any more. There's an Aga and a small conventional oven plus microwave. The internet is surprisingly good, we measured around 60mbps, although the WiFi struggles to get to the far corners of the house. The gardens look like they'd be really nice in summer, but since it was raining most of the time we didn't spend a lot of time outside. The river runs along the side of the house, which is a nice backdrop sound and there's two impressive waterfalls within a short walk from the house. There's a piano and guitar floating around, and quite a selection of music to go with them. We had no children with us but one of the three lounges is well stocked with toys. The interior of some rooms is a looking a little tired, there's a few water stains on the ceilings and so on, but nothing that's a problem. There's only one shower and one bath (in separate rooms), which might be a bit of a bottleneck if you had the full complement of 12 guests trying to get ready in the mornings. Could do with a welcome pack like most other rental homes provide, there was no indication of what to do with recyling/rubbish etc, also no guestbook to sign. Also would be useful to have a couple of keys rather than just the one, with larger groups it's often the case that you want to split into two smaller parties for the day and having only one key is a faff. Overall had a great time, definitely worth the visit.

    Reviewed by Damien3.8Jan 2018

  • "Flanders Hwll was Perfect for a large group of friends."

    Th beds and bedding were wonderful! Location just walk out the house and walk any direction. The village is small but has a shop and pub, such a pretty place, plus Leyburn a short drive. Perfect rental for groups of friends, couples or families.

    Reviewed by Carolann5.0Nov 2017

  • "This was an excellent very spacious choice for a family and friends celebration with a charming atmosphere and location."

    The house was loved by all the party and had plenty of catering and dining provision. We appreciated the choice of stove top and insulated coffee makers and the opportunity to compost too! The owners have trusted their guests with a family home and it's artefacts and provide quality linen, very comfortable beds and a warm welcome. A better hoover and some bathroom cleaning products would help.. but a very relaxed happy time was had by all. We would definitely love to book again. Thank you Jo. Deborah

    Reviewed by Deborah4.8Nov 2017

  • "Fantastic location and a wonderful house for a family holiday."

    The children loved playing in the extensive gardens.

    Reviewed by Katherine4.8Jul 2017

  • "Most wonderful house in a breathtakingly beautiful setting."

    House exceeded expectations and provided us with everything and more that we needed for a fantastic, memorable holiday. Would go back in a heartbeat

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2017

  • "Lovely homely property with lots of space indoors and out, in a beautiful location with so much to access in walking and driving distance."

    Landlady very helpful with initial heating questions/problems which were quickly sorted out. It was a little tricky to find comfy chairs to sit on for any long periods of time however!!

    Reviewed by Becki4.8May 2017

  • "Beautiful property with great facilities."

    Very relaxing birthday weekend with all of the family. Would love to go back at some time in the future.

    Reviewed by Geoff5.0Apr 2017

  • "Twelve of us rented this property and we found the space allowed us to enjoy time together or separately within the Hall."

    Our ages ranged from 4yrs to 76yrs. The beds and bedrooms were comfortable, Warm and spacious. Books, games and toys were readily available. The grounds were pretty and garden furniture added to the attractive surroundings. The children were delighted With the close proximity of the chickens and cockerel and very excited when eggs appeared which they were allowed to eat. We have re booked for a week in December! This time we will remember to pack a small amount of cleaning material, plastic rubbish bags (large) and some salt and pepper .

    Reviewed by Derrick4.0Mar 2017

  • "Spectacular house; large living spaces, with a fantastic kitchen diner (the Aga was very popular) and three living rooms to choose from."

    Comfortable bedrooms, three of which extremely spacious. The setting in the Yorkshire Dales is spectacular. We hope to be back!

    Reviewed by Rosalyn4.8Oct 2016

  • "Fantastic place."

    Really enjoyed our stay. Would love to book again.

    4.8Sep 2016

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Six bedrooms with basin: 1 x super king-size double (zip/link, can be twin on request) with child's single pull-out bed, 2 x super king-size double,1 x double, 2 x twin
  • Bathroom with freestanding bath, basin and WC
  • Wet room with shower and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen with dining area
  • Two sitting rooms (seats 6) with woodburning stove and double sofa bed
  • Third sitting room (seats 6) with open fire and grand piano.
  • LPG central heating and underfloor heating (in kitchen/diner and hall) with two woodburning stoves and open fire
  • 4 Oven AGA, electric oven and hob, Small simple under counter microwave, fridge, freezer, washing machine, drying rack, dishwasher, Small Flat screen TV with Freeview on movable arm, DVD Player, radio, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel, power and starter pack for fires inc. in rent, Electric Car charging on honesty box basis, Firewood provided on honesty box basis
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Cot and highchair available
  • Ample off road parking
  • Private front lawned garden with furniture and rear shared lawned garden
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, please keep pets in kitchen
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Village shops and pub 5 mins walk
  • Note: This property is in the heart of sheep-farming countryside, please keep dogs under control at all times
  • Note: There are unfenced steps in the garden and the river (which can swell dramatically) is unfenced, children to be supervised at all times
  • Note: The fireplaces on the first floor are not to be used
  • Note: A self-contained apartment, with its own entrance, is retained for the owners' use
  • Note: No hen/stag or similar
  • Note: Max 12 people including infants.

The property

An 18th century Grade II listed Georgian country house in the picturesque village of West Burton, North Yorkshire in the Yorkshire Dales National Park.

This fabulous house is ideal for a family holiday away from it all.

Set over two floors, the house is full of charm and character with working shutters on almost all the windows.

The ground floor has three large sitting rooms, two with woodburning stoves, perfect if the group would like to split up and do their own thing.

There is also a spacious farmhouse kitchen with a large dining table, ideal for enjoying a meal with friends and family after walks in the wonderful countryside.

Upstairs there are six comfortable bedrooms all including basins along with a wet room and a family bathroom with a freestanding bath.

All the rooms have lovely views of the garden and surrounding landscape.

This grand house is situated in lovely private grounds at the foot of Penhill.

In the gardens there are delightful areas to sit and enjoy the landscape and take in the views of Bolton Castle and beyond.

Walden Beck runs through the grounds, adding to the tranquil atmosphere of the gardens in the summer months.

A short walk away is the delightful village of West Burton with its large village green, children's play area, village pub overlooking the green and the stunning Cauldron Falls.

A mile away are the impressive Aysgarth Falls.

Within twenty minutes' drive the popular Yorkshire Dales’ towns of Leyburn and Middleham offer an excellent choice of shops and places to eat and slightly further afield the picturesque towns of Reeth, Hawes and Richmond are all within easy reach.

Located in the heart of the Dales, this historic house and superb grounds is an ideal base for a memorable getaway.

View on map

About the location

WEST BURTON

Leyburn 7 miles; Hawes 10 miles.

Nestling in a hollow of the little-known Walden Valley, West Burton is a jewel not to be overlooked. This pretty and ancient village in the heart of Wensleydale is situated in truly beautiful countryside, with old stone cottages surrounding the famous broad village green. A walker’s paradise, with wonderful Dales countryside, magnificent views and the small, but spectacular Cauldron Falls still delighting visitors since the days when the great artist, J M W Turner, captured its magic. A traditional village pub overlooks the green along with a well-stocked village shop with a cafe and a butcher’s, while there is an excellent range of amenities in the nearby market towns of Hawes and Leyburn. A mile from the famous and impressive Aysgarth Falls. A delightful Dales base.

Note: Max. 12 people, including infants.
Note: Owner can only accept booking that start on either Fridays or Mondays.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute