Secure your holiday for £20. Limited availability, could end at any time.
All available departures from 23/01/24. Selected properties only.T&Cs apply
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

15 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 34 View Image Gallery
  • Shorelands - Cornwall - 1111061 - photo 1
close

Shorelands

(Ref. 1111061)

Polzeath, Cornwall Show on map

4.6

Sykes rating

  • 5 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Electric vehicle charging
  • Ground floor accommodation
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • stay (5)
  • our (4)
  • house (4)
  • really (3)
  • one (3)
  • all (3)

7 Customer Reviews

  • "One of our favourite properties and hope to stay there again"

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the property and look forward to welcoming you back in the future - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jeremy5.0Oct 2023

  • "We were really impressed with the house and had a lovely stay there."

    Thank you for your kind comments, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owners Property Owner

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Sep 2023

  • "What an amazing stay we had!"

    It was just what we needed in a location which is very special to us. The whole property was clean and comfortable and had everything we needed. The view from the back veranda was perfect and waking up to the sound of waves couldn’t have been a better alarm! The outdoor tap and shower were super useful for rinsing the kilo of sand we seemed to bring back with us each day. You can walk to the beach, it is beautiful and takes about 10/15 mins, but beware… the walk back can be tough if you are laden with shopping/beach equipment/a toddler on your shoulders!!! Highly recommend the Cracking Crab, which is on the cliff walk, for a scrummy dinner. All the foody places on the beach didn’t disappoint either. Pizzas from the Galleon and lunch from Clever Trevor were our faves. A few little things gave some stress but not for long and we worked them out. The en-suite smelt like sewage on the first day and night, presuming from the septic tank and where the property had been shut up… opened up windows etc and it was gone. Just a note to do this when you first arrive if it is a little smelly. The smell didn’t return as we left the window on latch and the room was used lots. The showers caused some stress. The water pressure in the main bathroom means the shower is pretty useless, it couldn’t rinse soap off let alone get the shampoo out of my hair. The sticker says to only use eco mode so we did. We ended up all using the en-suite. The en-suite shower runs out of hot water very quickly. Maybe 10 mins max (not great with 4 sandy, salty beach goers to get clean) if you don’t set the heating on pretty much constant and use the boost button as soon as the first person showers. The instructions say it’s self heating but it definitely didn’t. Once we figured out the routine and I’d changed the setting on the main heating unit we were better. Still quick showers only though. We contacted Sykes but didn’t hear back until about two days later so it was a good job I’d figured it out before then! As I said, we sussed these little things out and they didn’t impact our stay once sorted! We’d definitely go back to Shorelands

    Thank you so much for your kind words. It's great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay and had the perfect base to explore the local area from. We have been working with the owners to sort the issues with the showers and hot water. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amy4.7Aug 2023

  • "We had a brilliant week staying at Shorelands."

    The house is small but well thought out and the quality off the fittings was great. We come to Polzeath every year and so have stayed in many different houses. Although this was smaller than others we have stayed in, it was really nice and homely. The only thing we wished for was a table outside so we could sit out for dinner or lunch in the garden. Would gladly stay again though.

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and would love to welcome you back anytime in the future. - John Bray Cornish Holidays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Zoe5.0May 2023

  • "Absolutely loved Shorelands."

    It was perfect for our stay. Thank you so much for providing clean linen. That was fantastic! The towel rail in the en-suite unfortunately is not working. We suggest the fuse has gone in the switch which is a simple thing to fix. We had a lot of rain and noticed that the front door let water in so perhaps needs a new seal Little bit of an ant issue in the kitchen. We think they were coming in from the clear window side up onto the counter. Not too much of an issue for us but something to be aware of. The location is great. The living area very well thought out with delightful decor. Would have liked longer. Never mind . Would be very happy to return.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay, we are also going to send your point over to maintenance, we do hope to welcome you back to North Cornwall again soon. John Brays on behalf of the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen4.4May 2023

  • "We loved this House, its in an amazing location, tucked away up the hill, so you get a good walk from the beach (10 mins Max) you can access the cliff path, or the main road from the property."

    They're parking at the property, which is worth the fees alone. It's almost brand-new, so in tip top condition, so clean and so nice. There's plenty of room, and so convenient for all you need for a Polzeth week. Love it so Much. (one thing its further up the gravel road than you think, in the dark its a little difficult to find, its on the Right, tucked back from the road)

    Thank you so much for your feedback and lovely to hear that you enjoyed your holiday in Shorelands. We love it too ! Property Owner

    Reviewed by James5.0Apr 2023

  • "Shorelines is well located and views are as published however when we arrived on Friday 31st March on a very wet and windy evening there was no heating on (Night Storage) and the house felt cold and damp."

    Water was increasing through the front door seals, probably due to the Gale. All the appliances, including the two fridges were switched off. We called the local agents who arrived promptly with two electric fires. Both showers are poor. The one in the ensuite does not give hot water for more than 2 to 3 minutes. The other shower gets hot, gets hotter, then becomes cold all in short order, the hot water supply to the two bathroom sinks takes far too long to become hot. There was no tin opener supplied. I have to say the response to our telephone conversations with the agents was very prompt and they did everything they could to sort the above. On a safety point of view the decking outside the door leading to the outside shower area the decking wood looks and feels soft and is showing signs of rot this should be attended to. The stairs leading up to two of the bedrooms and bath room we feel should have a grab rail as the stairs are tricky , one of our party slipped. fortunately no injuries but nevertheless concerning Apart from all of the above, we had a really nice holiday

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay at Shorelands, we are so glad you did enjoy your holiday we will speak to the owner about the points you have made. We do hope we can welcome you back to North Cornwall again soon. John Brays on behalf of the owners. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kenneth3.4Mar 2023

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the John Bray Cornish Holidays collection.
John Bray Cornish Holidays offers some of the best located self catering cottages and holiday homes in North Cornwall’s loveliest locations including Rock and Daymer Bay, on the Camel Estuary, and Polzeath and Port Isaac on the Atlantic coast.

Summary

  • Single-storey
  • Three bedrooms: 1 x king size double, 1 x twin, 1 x single with en-suite walk-in shower, basin, heated towel rail, and WC
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail, and WC
  • Open-plan living space with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric oven, ceramic hob, microwave, 2 x fridge with freezer compartment, washing machine, dishwasher
  • Smart TV, WiFi
  • Electric inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Private driveway for 2 cars
  • EV Charging point (Requires Fuuse App)
  • Front lawn, rear decked area with furniture
  • There is an outside cold shower with wetsuit drying rail
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop 0.5 miles, pub 0.3 miles, beach 0.6 miles
  • Note: Whilst the property is single-storey, there are a few steps down the path to the front door and three steps up leading to the twin bedroom and the single bedroom
  • Note: The washing machine is nestled under the breakfast bar
  • Note: Check-in from 4pm, check-out by 9:30am.

The property

Resting on the outskirts of Polzeath, a coastal village in Cornwall is Shorelands, a fabulous three-bedroom cottage.

Enjoying sea glimpses and a convenient position near the beach and a host of amenities, Shorelands offers the ideal base for either a family break, four friends sharing, or couples looking to experience this beautiful part of the region.

Park up on the private driveway, making your way through the front garden and into the main entrance.

Continue on into the open-plan living space, boasting direct vistas over to Polzeath beach, offering the perfect place to unwind after a day of adventure, fulfil your self-catering needs, and dine as a group; here you'll find a host of contemporary appliances, a sleek kitchen, a Smart TV, and plush seating.

Head outdoors to enjoy an elevated outlook of your surroundings before refreshing in the spacious bathroom, home to both a bath and shower over.

When ready to retire, three well-presented bedrooms include a twin bedroom, a king size double bedroom and a single bedroom with the en-suite shower room, all are light and bright with subtle, coastal décor and are comfortably furnished for a restful sleep.

Come morning, awaken to plan your Cornish itinerary, starting with a stroll down to Polzeath Beach, a hike across Pentire, and a venture towards Lundy Bay, all delivering breath-taking coastal vistas, before travelling further towards Padstow, with the chance to tour the local museum, wildlife spot upon Padstow Sealife Safaris, or visit the secluded setting of St George’s Cove.

Heading further into the county, either walk or cycle across the Camel Trail, resting alongside River Camel, ahead of brushing up on your local knowledge of Bodmin and its heritage at Bodmin Keep - Cornwall's Army Museum, Bodmin Jail Attraction, and the Bodmin Town Museum.

Experience all of this at Shorelands.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

POLZEATH

Wadebridge 7.5 miles; Padstow 16 miles.

The seaside village of Polzeath boasts a sandy beach, which is bordered by rock pools and is acclaimed to be one of the best surfing beaches in the country. Polzeath itself has a number of small shops, cafes and restaurants, and the South West Coast Path, a 630-mile route, runs through the village. Just over seven miles away is the popular market town of Wadebridge, which is set alongside the River Camel and offers an array of shops, pubs and restaurants, as well as North Cornwall's only family-owned cinema. There’s wonderful countryside in the area, with the renowned Camel Trail passing through the town, and the nearby town of Padstow, with its harbour, pastel-washed medieval houses and celebrated restaurants is well worth exploring. Within driving distance is the UK surfing capital of Newquay, with over 11 miles of golden sandy beaches. Polzeath is an excellent base for exploring this part of Cornwall.

View more holiday cottages in Polzeath

Although this property does not accept pets, the owner has a small dog which occasionally visits the property.