Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 30 View Image Gallery
  • Tamar 35 - Cornwall - 953093 - photo 1
  • Tamar 35 - (Ref. 953093)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





Tamar 35

(Ref. 953093)

Callington, Cornwall Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 2 Bathrooms

  • Pets Yes


  • Swimming pool
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • well (15)
  • good (13)
  • site (12)
  • great (11)
  • stay (10)
  • lovely (10)

28 Customer Reviews

  • "The cottage was lovely very comfortable and everything we needed."

    The owners should be proud to hire out this beautiful cottage.

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Sep 2023

  • "Our stay at 35 Tamar was very comfortable and enjoyable."

    The house was lovely and clean and had everything we possibly could need. The sofas and beds were extremely comfortable and clean. The kitchen was well stocked with utensils and even a slow cooker which definitely came in handy to make a chilli while we were out exploring Cornwall. The two wash rooms were ideal as there were 6 of us staying. We were lucky with the heatwave weather so the upside down aspect to the house made the bedrooms lovely and cool during the nights. Plenty of games if the weather isn't great and the kids toy box was a brilliant addition, as it kept out toddler entertained in the evenings. Wish we could of stayed longer but we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Elizabeth5.0Sep 2023

  • "35 Tamar gave us home from home comfort in the living area, very well equipt."

    The board games were a blessing on a rainy day. Unfortunately downstairs was very damp, our clothes felt damp and the bed linen & pillows didnt smell very pleasant. No fault of the owners, maybe some dehumidifiers may help?? Little extras like a spare loo roll in each loo and hand soap would be nice. Overall, we had a lovely stay and would recommend 35 Tamar for a good central base for visiting beautiful Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Lisa4.1Aug 2023

  • "Well appointed, comfortable and very peaceful."

    35 Tamar is a great place to stay to visit Cornwall, both South and North coasts are easily accessible. Site is dog friendly and has a pub which serves good pub grub. Would recommend.

    Reviewed by Phil5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely place to stay!"

    Clean and comfortable! Thanks

    Reviewed by Lisa3.8Dec 2022

  • "Had an amazing stay."

    Central for exploring. Accommodation was very comfy and clean . Our only small downside was the sofa's was a tad low to get out off. The shower room does need a new toilet seat as this one was loose and stained but didn't ruin our hols as everything else was great . Will recommend

    Thank you for your feedback. These comments have been passed to the owner. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Debbie5.0Oct 2022

  • "A fabulous property had lots of resources for kids and adults games, books, tennis rackets, footballs etc."

    Lots of room upstairs for everyone to sit together, view from the balcony was blocked by trees, but very quiet and pleasant to sit out. Pool was used everyday great to have the membership. Definitely recommend for families. Great stay thank you.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.8Aug 2022

  • "The property was very well presented and equipped with everything you would need."

    It was very clean and was very homely. I have read and seen comments about a smell of damp downstairs there was a smell when we first walked in possibly because its been locked up but after we had been in there a couple of hours the smell went and we didn't smell it again. We had an issue with noise on our last night, Jalon (the owner of the property) did all he could to help, but the site let us down! Three hours we endured the noise because of this we will not be booking at Honicombe Manor again! We cannot fault the owners in anyway but I feel the site could have helped more especially when we had 2 people who have Epilepsy and no one on the park was willing to help.

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed the property. I am sorry you found the neighbours noisy one night, which was unusual, as we have never had this complaint before from any other guests. We will make sure this does not happen again by contacting the owner of the neighbouring property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Amanda5.0Aug 2022

  • "Comfortable, well equipped and quiet property."

    Great selection of videos, books and games which is great if you have a bad weather day. We were fortunate and had excellent weather. In good location to visit many beaches and the beautiful countryside together with several excellent National trust properties. Had a great holiday.

    Reviewed by Phil3.8Jun 2022

  • "No WIFIi available at all throughout stay."

    Though initially promised by Kevin and Jaime would sort it out, nothing happened and no follow up contact was received from them. Heating times erratic - came on at 3.30 am and went off 7.00 am (making it very hot in the bedrooms during the night!!) then again on at 11.00 am - we were out duriing the day so goodness know when it went off again! Usually returned late afternoon by which time it was off and remained off all evening, which made it a bit chilly sitting around in the evening. Timer clock had not been altered to BST. Hot water was initially warm when arrived and lasted through to Wednesday evening when it remained cold for rest of stay making the shower in the bathroom un-useable. DVD only worked once and even though we tried different DVDs would not play through TV again. Stayed at Honicombe 4 years ago in a holiday apartment similar to Tamar 35 and had no problems which is why we booked again- not the same apartment though! We were shocked to see the state of the surrounds of the holiday park... long grass, full of weeds; looking unkempt and uncared for. We shall not be returning, even to a different apartment. Lesson learned for future: Only book holiday accommodation where the owner is on site or easily contactable. I think somesort of financial recompense is due for what turned out to be an uncomfortable few days. Things stated to be provided that weren't: Wifi; 2 showers; heating and hot water. Pleased to arrive home on Saturday. Two of the party left Friday!

    Thank you for your feedback, which we have spoken in depth about to the owner, who stayed at the property following your visit and reports - the wifi was off when the owner arrived, once the on/off button was pressed on the router the wifi worked perfectly, he is apologetic that his housekeeper did not come back to you. The heating is et to come on 7.30 - 10am and 5pm - 11pm. Instructions are provided if guests wish to adjust these times, there is also a thermostat on the wall and individual adjusters on each radiator. U[pon their arrival the owner found the hot water system working well as per normal. There is a limited timer switch for the immersion water heater by the kitchen sing which will heat water for the kitchen and bath/shower in the bathroom.The owner found that both ends of the scart cable were plugged into the TV, once adjusted the dvd player worked fine. Regarding the grounds of the property, this is because some areas are nesting sites and, given that this is a very rural site, situated in an AONB, we have a responsibility to the local flora and fauna, cutting is deliberately avoided until after May. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eleanor1.9May 2022

  • "The park tidiness left a lot to be desired making it look a bit run down could do with sprucing up"

    Thank you for your feedback re the park tidiness, we have contacted the site manager who has said, there are two reasons for the condition of the grounds, the first was that the groundsman was off ill for the week, so some areas were not cut as per usual. The second is that some areas are nesting sites and, given that this is a very rural site, situated in an AONB, there is a responsibility to the local flora and fauna, cutting is deliberately avoided until after May. We can confirm that our groundsman has returned and the site is back up to standard (apart from the areas mentioned above, which will be done in June). Property Owner

    Reviewed by Colin5.0Oct 2021

  • "There was a damp smell on arrival."

    Turns out the bedrooms are all cold and damp - not a problem for us as we were there in a heatwave and they actually aided sleep. However, in normal circumstances I would have been rather unhappy. Place is well equipped and really homely but the view was not as in the photos - the trees have really grown up and sadly almost blocked the view. Facilities were not ideal due to COVID. Pool booking was a pain. The games room was locked most of the stay and sadly the games had to be paid for. The photos make the site look nicer and the facilities bigger than in real life and there are too many properties sharing very small facilities. All in all, adequate but we won’t return.

    Thank you for your feedback. Due to the sylvan location of the property this gives the downstairs bedrooms slightly less light. Covid has caused such an unprecedented times. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ailsa3.4Jul 2021

  • "Really lovely accommodation."

    A lovely open plan space upstairs, with ample room for everyone to be relaxed and comfortable. Accommodation very well equipped. The main bathroom and additional shower room perfect for our family of 5. The site itself is lovely, the indoor pool was wonderful and due to covid restrictions was operated on limited occupants. Again this was excellent. I would highly recommend staying here for all the above reasons, but also as a good base for visiting the surrounding areas. 5 stars

    Reviewed by Lorraine5.0Jun 2021

  • "Accommodation was lovely and the open plan living area made it a good sociable space."

    Very quiet park.

    Reviewed by Heather4.4Jun 2021

  • "We had a fantastic 2 weeks at 35 Tamar - the photos of the living area do not do it justice, the area is huge, and we soon worked out the heating/hot water arrangements."

    The owner and the housekeeper checked we were ok and sent us lots of information, which was also a lovely touch. The swimming pools and the bar/restaurant are both open and working well and the site is a perfect base to explore both the hills and the beach, just watch your sat nav, it will send you down a lot of single track roads (and we live in the country so we are used to them :)) - we all agreed we would want to come back again.

    Reviewed by Ruth4.7Jun 2021

  • "The property was dirty which was surprising given Covid."

    We had to spend the first day cleaning. The property is dated and full of unnecessary clutter, again surprising given Covid. The shower was barely functional! The site itself was rundown and in need of a good gardener. However, the staff were fantastic, really helpful and friendly.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. The owners were sorry and surprised to hear your comments: any such concerns could have been raised during your stay. Previous feedback has always been so positive and the owners stayed there themselves in the subsequent week and reported that they found it 'clean and tidy and the site looking the best it has been for the past three years. The electric shower in the property may not win any awards, but it is certainly functional and does the job.' In terms of the site itself: in some areas the grass has been left to grow long, but this is to encourage wildflowers and the bee population. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea2.5Aug 2020

  • "A brilliant base to explore Cornwall."

    Lots to do within a short car ride from trail walks, beaches and the train station. The house has everything you need and plenty of space, even with 4 children. The bedrooms can get chilly in the evening but heating soon sorted that out. One of the best holidays we’ve had!

    Reviewed by Kim4.4Aug 2020

  • "Two broken shelves in fridge door."

    Dishwasher would have been perfect. House was very well equipped spacious and comfortable. Site was clean and swimming pools a great asset.

    Reviewed by Linda4.4Jul 2020

  • "The lodge was bigger than the pictures make it look."

    It's in a great location to discover either east cornwall or even Devon.

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Aug 2019

  • "We have just returned from a week's stay and you can't quite tell from the pictures just how big the apartment is but it was huge!"

    ! On arrival there were scones, cream, jam and a bottle of prosecco which was a really lovely touch. You literally just need your clothes and turn up as there was washing up liquid, washing powder and softener there already plus sachets of milk in the fridge, tea bags, coffee sachets and sugar ready for your first cuppa. There are lots of games, books, dvds, cds, kids toys in the apartment which our 4 and 8 year olds thought was amazing! The site is lovely, as is the indoor pool. We will definitely return in the future :-)

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Apr 2019

  • "The accommodation was fantastic."

    Very we’ll equipt and comfortable with everything you could need come rain or shine. There’s a great supply of books, walking maps and kids games at the property. The on-site facilities were also very clean and good for filling a rainy day. Cream tea on arrival to the property and a bottle of wine was also a lovely supprise. We had some issues working out how to turn on the hot water on arrival and Sykes were very helpful and quick to resolve the issue. I would definitely recommend this property and will hope to stay here again.

    Reviewed by Christel5.0Mar 2019

  • "We stayed at Tamar 35 and had a fantastic time."

    After a 7 hour drive the wine, scones, cream and jam where a lovely surprise. The lodge was very spacious and had everything you could want and plenty to keep kids of all ages entertained if the weather isn’t great. The site facilities are good, the swimming pool was warm, the pub is dog and family friendly. We walked through the forest to Cothele and also visited Calstock both are well worth a visit, calstock is free parking and a good walk along the river for the dog and there is a great ice cream shop. We will definitely book again

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Oct 2018

  • "Everything a family could possible need was supplied at this cottage, brilliant holiday and weather was very good as well!"

    Reviewed by Carole4.4Sep 2018

  • "Good sized, well appointed, furnished & equipped accommodation."

    The living space was particularly good for a family of 5, which meant rainy days were not too stressful. The holiday park was OK, perhaps a little dated. The indoor pool was well used by us, and a good size for our family. We didn’t use the bar/restaurant area, as we found an excellent 15th century pub (Carpenters Arms) just a few mins drive away in a nearby village.

    Reviewed by Jason4.4Aug 2018

  • "Beautiful property, very clean and equipt with so many extras that made the holiday perfect."

    We went for a week August and have booked for 2wks next year as we were sad to leave. Swimming pools beautiful and clean and bar facilities for food and low key entertainment which all the family could take part. Dogs fully welcome. Area very good for visiting a large number of destinations to suit all ages. Parking cannot be guaranteed to be outside your premises but everyone found a space and everyone seemed quite relaxed about it. WiFi may not be great to some but it's better than my part of Wales so we were quite happy . Telephone reception a bit intermittent but I got a good signal near the bar and also sometimes within the property. I mainly used the WiFi. Brilliant holiday, can't wait to go again.

    Reviewed by Sue5.0Aug 2018

  • "When we arrived at the property we thought the facilities were good, we did notice a damp smell as soon as we walked in, over the week the smell got worse to a point that we left early (I have a 10 month old baby and didn’t want it affecting his health)."

    The facilities at the rest of the site were ok but dated and the grounds were unkept. It is in a good part of Cornwall With activities close by. I was disappointed if I knew how damp the property was I wouldn’t have booked it

    Reviewed by Jaimie3.4May 2018

  • "Extremely spacious and well appointed accommodation."

    Good on site amenities. Fascinating area with lots to do and visit. Highly recommended.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Mar 2018

  • "The property Tamar 35 was a delightful place to spend Christmas with family."

    Spacious, cosy, light, great layout. Well equipped. Nice decoration. Beautifully clean when we arrived. Indoor pool was much bigger than we expected and big hit with the children. Great place for walking and not far from dramatic north coast. We had a great time.

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Dec 2017

Show more

This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection.
Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Three bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double, 2 x ground floor twin
  • Ground floor bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • First floor open-plan living area with kitchen, dining area and sitting area.
  • Electric central heating
  • Electric hob and oven, microwave, fridge, washing machine, smart TV, DVD, WiFi, CD/Aux input/Bluetooth speakers, selection of books and games
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels provided (please bring own towels for the swimming pools)
  • Stairgate available, cot and highchair available on request
  • Parking is in a communal parking area where spaces are not designated to a particular property
  • Balcony with garden furniture and barbecue
  • Three well-behaved pets welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • On-site shop and pub 10 minute walk
  • Note: Seasonal opening times may apply to all facilities
  • Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependant)

The property

Tamar 35 is a lovely family holiday home located within Honicombe Manor holiday village near Callington.The villa-style accommodation is well placed for guests looking to explore both Cornwall and Devon and has some fantastic local attractions nearby.

Tamar 35 sits centrally on the resort, with indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a children's outdoor play area and the tennis courts within easy reach.

Brilliant for families, walkers and pets, the accommodation is practical, being one of only a few properties on-site to offer both a washing machine and two bathrooms.

The reverse-level interior offers space for up to six guests.

The open-plan living room is vast with a deep arm chair and sofas, a large TV, heaps of books, board games, a sleek kitchen and a long dining table.

The kitchen is a cook's delight or, if cooking is not on the agenda, a good pub/restaurant is a walk away.

Located away from the roads and traffic noise, guests will sleep peacefully.

There are three bedrooms including one double and two twin bedrooms, furnished with super comfy mattresses, wooden furniture and pretty bed linen.

Children can let off steam on the lawn whilst parents relax on the private balcony with an ice cold drink.

Tamar Valley Resort offers great value accommodation in a scenic haven in an AONB.

Within a short drive is the National Trust property, Cotehele, a Tudor house and valley garden estate set above the River Tamar.

A little further afield you can visit the glorious sandy beach at Whitsand Bay with dramatic scenery and sheer cliffs.

Equally accessible are Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor National Park with undulating moorlands and a myriad of historic sites and monuments - a rambler's dream.

View on map

About the location


Tavistock 9 miles; Launceston 11.5 miles; Plymouth 14.6 miles.

Callington is a Cornish market town, rich in mining heritage and overlooked by Kit Hill, the highest point in the area, donated to the people of Cornwall by Prince Charles to celebrate the birth of Prince William. From the top of Kit Hill there are fabulous views across south-east Cornwall as far as Plymouth Sound. Callington is set in the heart of the Tamar Valley, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, and offers a good selection of shops, inns and cafes, as well as being the home of Ginsters Cornish pasties. A few miles away, the quaint village of Calstock clings to the steep banks of the river Tamar and is dominated by the splendid Calstock Railway Viaduct, a giant 11-arched stone construction supporting one of Britain’s most picturesque branch lines running through the Tamar Valley. Other interesting places along the river are Cotehele, a beautiful historic house and gardens owned by the National Trust with a small quay and inn, and Morwhellam Quay, a theme park that staged a living history production for the BBC and where visitors can explore the rich mining heritage and watch blacksmiths, potters and craftsmen at work. The pannier market town of Tavistock is only nine miles from Callington and is well worth a visit on your way to a day’s walk on Dartmoor. A splendid base to explore south Cornwall and West Devon.

View more holiday cottages in Callington

Note: The pub and all facilities are closed on Christmas day.

Note: Mini convenience store is open 9am - 5pm daily.

Note: Tennis courts are open from Easter until October half term.

Note: Outdoor pool is open from mid May - mid September (weather dependent)

Note: Holiday park restrictions prevent workers/contractors staying on site.

Note: Dogs are welcome, however breeds listed under the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 are not permitted.

Note: This property has a private water supply which is tested regularly.

Note: Site Gym and Pool Rules - No under 16's permitted to use the gym. Pool - under 16's must be accompanied by an adult, two children max per adult. Under 8's/Non-swimmers should always be accompanied by a competent adult in the pool. There are no lifeguards on duty.
Note: Indoor pool facilities included.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas