4.7★ (24 ratings) Sykes rating Sleeps 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathrooms 1 Pets No Show on map Features Broadband / WiFi Open fire Off road parking Dishwasher Pub/shop < 1 mile Ground floor bedroom Ground floor accommodation Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities 24 Customer Reviews "The property was a lovely cottage to stay in." The standard of care the owners took in making our stay comfortable and pleasurable was fantastic from the greeting of crème tea’s and a bottle of bubbly and cleaning the property midway through our stay to the highest standards. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and would like to visit the cottage again sometime in the future. It was an excellent base for travelling around Cornwall. Reviewed by PhilipJun 2022 "Beautiful cottage and well presented, pity about the non working side door for use of patio during nice weather." Enjoyed the quietness and privacy all set in lovely location for travelling the area Thank you for your kind comments regarding Bridleway Cottage. We apologise if you were unable to use the side door, there should have been a key for this door attached to the front door key fob, we will ensure the housekeeper checks this during the next changeover. We do have a new door on order as the glass in the current door has gone foggy, however we are awaiting a date for fitting. Property Owner Reviewed by WilliamApr 2022 "This was our 4th visit to Bridleway cottage which probably tells you how much we enjoy it." The property is very well maintained, comfortable and clean. It is very well situated for visiting a large part of Cornwall, but you don’t really need to go far with lots to do very close by. Reviewed by SueMar 2022 "Well maintained and very comfortable and in a very quiet rural location." Will be happy to return at some point. Thanks for a very prompt response to a small plumbing issue. Reviewed by DavidMar 2022 "A beautiful cottage maintained to a high standard in lovely, peaceful surroundings." Very much a home from home. Plenty of places to visit including a really nice pub down the road called The Punch Bowl and Ladle. One small factor, if staying at this cottage, a small supply of tea and coffee were available (4 teabags) so additional supplies will be needed. Thanks. Reviewed by MartinOct 2021 "Lovely cottage, in a great location and would definitely consider returning." Reviewed by ColinSep 2021 "Fabulous cottage." Beautifully furnished, clean, welcome cream tea, fresh flowers, peaceful and quiet, perfectly situated to explore Cornwall. We slept like a dream in the most comfortable bed. Reading the other reviews, we had plenty of hot water and towels. Situated down a quiet lane with lovely neighbours and walkers. It was difficult to find criticism, if I had one, it would be the patio furniture. We ate on the patio one night and the table is a little on the small side and one of the chairs is collapsing, but nothing a cushion wouldn’t fix but I think it’s time to replace. But we didn’t come to Cornwall to spend all our time in the cottage, but the time we did we loved it. Thanks for a magical stay, we will return and recommend to friends. Loved loved loved it Thank you for your lovely feedback, we're absolutely thrilled to hear how much you liked Bridleway Cottage and that you had a fabulous stay in Cornwall. Thank you for letting us know about the chair, we've spoken with the owner who didn't know about this but will arrange for it to be looked and and repaired/replaced as appropriate as soon as she can. Thank you again for your lovely feedback, we can't wait to see you again! Property Owner Reviewed by LisaAug 2021 "Very well equipped and comfortable place to stay with good storage." Very good location - on a lovely quiet bridleway with good links to main roads. My only negative was no recycling of rubbish and not using eco friendly cleaning products. Reviewed by JaneJul 2021 "Cottage was very pretty inside and out and spotlessly clean, situated in a pleasant quiet location with ample parking." The complimentary cream tea was nice too. The pictures on Sykes Website need updating though, as they now have different furniture and fittings, and the bathroom has also been updated. Although we had a, mostly, enjoyable stay, unfortunately there were several annoyances. The mattress on the bed, we found, was uncomfortably soft and so neither of us slept particularly well. Also, something we never experienced before (and we have been to many cottages), we ran out of hot water. On day one a bit of (breakfast) crockery and cutlery was hand-washed in the washing up bowl. Next some hot water was used for shaving and finally we each had a (normal) short shower. Clearly that was just too excessive because after that there was only lukewarm water left. I am amazed none of the other reviewers have experienced the same. The problem is that the hot water supply is on a timer which (only) comes on three times over a period of 24 hours. To our surprise we found that the next day the water still wasn’t much warmer, so we forwent a shower and boiled water to do the dishes and wash ourselves. It felt almost like being on a camping holiday, rather than staying in a luxurious cottage. It wasn’t until day 3 that the water was back to the desired temperature. We had super quick showers after that, wary the same would happen again. I can’t say this experience added to our enjoyment of the place. The owner also does not want you to turn the fridge up higher than setting 2, being overly concerned that frost will build up in the freezer compartment. It would be good to have a fridge thermometer really, because the items that were in the fridge didn’t feel very cold. At least that way you’d be sure the fridge has the correct temperature inside. When we booked the property in 2019 it had a washing machine, which is what we prefer, but this was removed in 2020 (we had to reschedule our visit due to Covid) so that was also a bit of a disappointment. I am afraid that due to these annoyances we will not be returning. Thank you very much for your feedback, we're pleased to hear you liked Bridleway Cottage and whilst we understand you've highlighted a few issues we hope that you had a good holiday. We've spoken with the owner concerning the different points you've made and the first thing to confirm is that we agree the photos need to be updated. The owners have put in a new bathroom and upgraded some of the furniture and we will be visiting within the next month to undertake this. We're sorry that you experienced some trouble with the hot water. This isn't something that has been reported before, however the owners will be amending the water settings for longer periods in order to ensure the supply is sufficient. The fridge is a new one and should be working perfectly, this will be checked though. Lastly, we're sorry that you found the mattress a bit soft - mattress comfort is always quite a subjective issue - what is comfortable for one person is not always necessarily so for the next! We'd like to reassure visitors that Bridleway Cottage is an excellent place to enjoy a holiday in Cornwall. Property Owner Reviewed by JohnJun 2021 "The cottage is well fitted with good quality fittings & equipment." A decent catch on the bathroom door would be an advantage as would a towel rail that is heated when the hot water is on, as there are no other drying facilities. We had a great stay as with other Sykes properties we have used. Reviewed by ChrisJun 2021 "The cottage was great but just lacked a few finishing touches that we have experienced in other similar calibrate properties." While the property does does not have a washing machine, and is not need one you only get one set of towels for a week and no facility to wash. Suggest extra towels are provided. The scones were welcome but you only got a couple of tea bags and coffee sachets. A few more would benefit so you don’t have to go straight out and purchase more. 2 dishwasher tablets were provided but other properties provide 7 or more as again so you have to go out to buy a full pack as soon as you arrive. Similarly no bin bags are left for use. As said theses are small items but for a couples premium cottage make a large difference and have a negligible cost The property has some great features with the beams and oak doors but then is let down with the cheapest laminate oak effect flooring which is lifting in front of the fridge and would benefit from a better calibre oak laminate being fitted to match the fabulous doors. Similarly having one odd colour curved kitchen door to the rest of the fitted cabinets detracts from the work that has gone in to make this holiday cottage. The kitchen could benefit from a few more items like a butter dish and measuring spoons and utensils as these are limited for the calibre of property. The outdoor seating would benefit from some cushions for the chairs left for use by guests These are only minor things and would not stop us returning to the property in the future but make a massive difference in the overall experience and align to the calibre property this is, that other properties now provide, to exceed expectations Reviewed by PhilMay 2021 "Lovely pretty cottage which is situated down a lane/bridleway, nice and quiet except for the odd car going up and down the lane from the houses below." The outside area is lovely although shaded by the surrounding hedges/trees at different times of the day. A lovely cream tea was left as a welcome and roses in a vase, however, the milk and cream in the fridge were not cold as the fridge hadn't been turned on. Another couple of things I would mention, is that towels are only a hand towel and a small bath towel. So if you like a bigger towel like us, you'll need to bring your own. Also there was no salt and pepper cruet. This is the 1st time I've stayed anywhere where there wasn't one. Also there was very minimul tea and coffee, just enough for the cream tea. There were plenty of leaflets and ideas for things to do on your holiday in beautiful Cornwall, just in case you needed some inspiration. All in all I would recommend Thank for your constructive comments. The towels that we provide are: 2 x hand towels and 2 x bath sheets. The bath sheets are larger than the standard bath towels. With regard to a salt and pepper cruet, we will take this into consideration. We provide a cream tea welcome tray with enough tea and coffee for the cream tea. As the cottage is self-catering, guests bring their preferred choice of tea and coffee with them. Property Owner Reviewed by AngelaMay 2021 "It was a lovely cottage that was clean and comfortable with good facilities." The bed was extremely comfortable too. We really appreciated the welcome cream tea, it was a lovely touch after travelling! The cottage was situated in a nice, quiet area and was a great base to explore Cornwall. For nature lovers there were a lot of birds that you could spot from the patio and there was a friendly robin who would visit each day. The only small things to mention are that there isn’t a washing machine or anywhere really to dry any wet clothes/shoes after trips out, and the patio isn’t really private if people are walking past down the bridleway. It is also requested that you keep the fridge on the lowest setting due to ice build up in the freezer however this doesn’t really keep things too cold and they can go off more quickly. Other than these small things we loved the cottage and really enjoyed our time there. Thanks for having us! Reviewed by SarahAug 2020 "Great clean, comfortable accomodation." Having stayed here before I was disappointed to discover the washing machine had been removed, not just replaced for something more economical. There isn't even the facility to dry anything. Most accommodation of this calibre offers a washing machine. At least provision of an airer or washing line so you can dry swimming things after enjoying the wonderful local beaches is a must. Reviewed by SusanJul 2020 "The cottage was beautiful, lovely decorations and very clean." Lovely position. Was disappointed with a few things, the listing said towels provided so we didn’t take any only to find only 2 llarge towels and two small and only one tea towel to last a week, there was a washer dryer which took hours to wash and dry and you don’t go away to keep washing. There was no kitchen roll and only one spare toilet roll, again minor problem but never the less we shouldn’t have to go out and buy these at the start of our holiday. There were barely any logs for the wood burner so we only used it a couple of times. There were DVDs in the unit along with CDs but no DVD player. We really enjoyed our stay and these were minor issues, towels were a problem and had we have known we would have bought our own so maybe it should be changed to towels not provided, one tea towel to last a week is not hygienic. There was a dishwasher which we didn’t use as there were only two of us and I’m not a believer in stacking dishes up until you have enough to wash. All in all it’s a beautiful cottage and would recommend. We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete your feedback which we have discussed with the owner of the property. Our recommendation is that one hand towel and one bath towel per person are provided at all of our properties. The owner has confirmed for the wood burner a starter pack of logs was provided. (which was a courtesy because of the Christmas period) As this is a self-catering property we advise to provide enough, toilet roll, washing up liquid for the start of the holiday which the owner confirms they provide. The owner has just installed a Smart TV with Wi-Fi connection and removed the DVD player. We were only made aware of this change this morning, the change has now been made to the description on the website. The owner has also advised they will remove the washer/drier as non efficient (as all washer/drier always take long time and a lot of energy to operate) Property Owner Reviewed by StuartDec 2019 "Had a fantastic week away" Reviewed by JosefAug 2019 "Needs more work space" Reviewed by GarethAug 2019 "A beautifully quant cottage a very quiet location." It was very clean and tidy. The welcome pack of a cream tea and a pint of milk was very nice as were the fresh flowers in the bedroom. Ideal location for visiting the cornish cost and there is plenty of wildlife to watch from the patio. Reviewed by SusanJul 2019 "Holiday cancelled due to covid , stayed last year Excellent" Reviewed by ClaireJun 2019 "This was a lovely, clean cottage with a very comfortable bed and sofa, the local pub, two minutes in the car, is wonderful with great food, I would highly recommend this cottage." Reviewed by JulianaMay 2019 "Lovely cottage in a quite location." Reviewed by RichardApr 2019 "The cottage was fabulous you could not ask for better one." Reviewed by TerryMar 2019 "Fabulous cottage great location lovely cream tea and flowers on arrival" Reviewed by DianeFeb 2019 "The cottage was ideally placed, tranquil and perfectly equipped." The ideal place for a restful getaway for two seniors who 'want to be alone'. Reviewed by KeithDec 2018 Show more This property is part of the Cornish Cottage Holidays collection. Over 500 carefully selected and perfectly located Cornwall and Devon properties, helping you create your perfect holiday. Summary All ground floor One bedroom: 1 x king-size Shower room with shower, basin and WC Open-plan living room with a kitchen, dining area and sitting area. Electric central heating, underfloor heating, wood burner (no log provided) Electric oven and hob, fridge, microwave dishwasher, Smart TV with WiFi Power inc in rent Bed linen and towels inc in rent Off-road parking for 1 car Enclosed paved patio with furniture and BBQ Sorry, no pets and no smoking Shop and pub 1 mile Note: Children/babies are not accepted at this property Note: Although a no pet property, the owner occasionally stays with their dog Note: this property is decorated over the Christmas period The property This single-storey, stone-built detached cottage sits in an AONB, 1.5 miles from the small village of Feock, midway between Falmouth and Truro close to the River Fal. Located within close proximity to the popular National Trust property, Trelissick House with its stunning gardens and wooded walks alongside the River Fal. Slightly further afield are the beautiful Cornish Gardens of Trebah and Glendurgan which are situated on the picturesque Helford River, near to Falmouth. The cottage is positioned on a bridleway with excellent walking straight from the door. It is therefore ideally placed for walkers or for those who just fancy a light stroll. Discover local sailing hot spots such as Mylor and Flushing; both quaint Cornish villages offering pubs and picnic spots. For those wanting to see Cornwall's picturesque Roseland Peninsula, this can be easily accessed via a short drive and a hop on board the King Harry ferry. With added style, homely warmth, private parking and a location that allows ease of access across Cornwall's South-West region, Bridleway Cottage cannot be beaten for couple's runaway breaks. With exposed beams, a woodburning stove and the added bonus of a sun trap patio, this gorgeous cottage is very much a romantic retreat for couples. On entering the property, you will be greeted by high vaulted ceilings and lots of natural light in the open-plan living area. The feeling of space is further enhanced by floor-to-ceiling windows at the rear of the property by the kitchen and dining area. Away from the living area, you will find a serene king-size double bedroom, again with vaulted ceilings to add to the romance. Access your own private patio complete with bistro-style furniture from which to fully embrace country living and indulge in something delicious. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100. View on map About the location TRURO St Agnes 8.6 miles; Falmouth 11 miles; Redruth 11.5 miles, Newquay 13.6 miles, Eden Project 18 miles, Lizard Peninsula 18 miles, St Ives 25 miles, Land's End 36 miles.. Truro is the retail centre of Cornwall with a good range of independent shops as well as national stores all within a compact city centre. With its eclectic range of art galleries, bars, restaurants, cinema, theatre, museum and outstanding cathedral this small city is a superb year round destination. Steeped in history and intriguing architecture there is always plenty to do and see. Just meandering through the Georgian cobbled streets is a pleasure in itself. With many peaceful parks all within a short stroll from the centre it is a most relaxing city to visit. A wonderful day trip can be had from Truro to Falmouth along the stunning Fal estuary with many options to disembark and pick up the boat later along the scenic river trip. Region Information Cornwall Holiday Cottages Devon Holiday Cottages Dorset Cottage Holidays Somerset Holiday Cottages Note: Children/babies are not accepted at this property.Note: Property provides a real decorated Christmas Tree for the festive period.Note: Property was formally called Tregye Cottage.Note: It is not possible/permitted to charge electric or plug in hybrid cars by any method at the property.