Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

1 customer booked The Old School House in the last 24 hours

1 of 16 View Image Gallery
  • The Old School House - Cornwall - 936444 - photo 1
close

The Old School House

(Ref. 936444)

Lewannick near Launceston, Cornwall Show on map

4.4

Sykes rating

  • 7 Guests

  • 4 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes

Features

  • Off road parking
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (24)
  • lovely (22)
  • games (17)
  • room (17)
  • location (17)
  • games room (16)

42 Customer Reviews

  • "A very well appointed, warm and comfortable house with good views of the surrounding countryside."

    Wonderful location in a tranquil village.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. So glad you liked the views & Lewannick is a great village, isn't it. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Oct 2023

  • "Beautiful place to base yourself for a walking holiday, close to the Tamara Way."

    Distillery well worth a visit

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review & recommendation for a walking holiday. I haven't been to the distillery yet myself, but friends nearby also say it's great to visit. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Haydn and Sally5.0Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was fabulous and just what we needed with space."

    We had a problem with the TV and it was fixed straight away. Happy to recommend

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. Glad to hear the TV problem was fixed & the space in the house suited you. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2023

  • "Fantastic property, really enjoyed our stay!"

    Lovely touch to provide scones. Very comfortable, very clean, really can’t complain about anything!

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad to hear you liked the house & scones! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jo5.0Sep 2023

  • "The cottage was very spacious, despite there being 6 of us, we didn't feel on top of each other at all."

    I really loved the fusion of old and new. Especially the bathroom. That was my favourite room. The bath and shower both felt luxurious and it was lovely enjoying a soak whilst listening to the bleating of sheep. It is situated in a really lovely location. Our dogs enjoyed the garden and were very calm in the home and garden too. The games room was ideal as we had many wet weather days (unfortunately!) But there is an unpleasant smell when you use the air hockey table. We think there might be a dead rodent in there (and the smell is exacerbated when the air is turned on). We did find 2 dead mice and 1 live mouse in the bin in the garage, which we released into the field at the back of the house. This didn't really bother us but I think their presence might be contributing to the smell in the garage (which could do with a bit of a clean to be honest, as it is being used as a functional room). I loved the thick throws on the bed and the fact that the kitchen was well stocked. The additional fridge freezer in the garage was handy too. The scones and dog treats were a lovely welcome. Thank you. That was a nice touch. As was the information folder and leaflets. A check out time of 10am was a little challenging with a family of 6 and 2 dogs! Especially when Skyes detail the cleaning regime expected upon departure. In fact, we were still hoovering when the cleaners turned up at 10.15 and took over the cleaning from us. I did find the notepad marked BREAKAGES a little brash. It took some of the warmth away from the welcome for me to be honest. But equally, if holiday home owners experience a lot of guests that break things I don't know what the best strategy would be to tackle that. Perhaps a book named Maintenance (and maybe add 'and accidents!') To it. I noticed previous guests had used it to note Maintenance needed doing. I didn't want to be so picky but capitalising BREAKAGES does feel rather finger pointing when you're trying to relax. Overall we had a lovely stay, despite the rain, in a great location with our family and pets. Many thanks for your hospitality. Carrie-Ann

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a such a detailed review Carrie-Ann. Glad to hear you liked the house, garden & location. I asked housekeeping to pay particular attention to the garage cleaning & to check for sign of rodents & to check the air hockey table when we got this review a couple of weeks after your stay, but when they switched it on, they couldn't detect an unpleasant smell, so can't explain what happened there, but will keep an eye on things in the garage. Thank you for hoovering before you left, housekeeping do sometimes find the house hasn't always been left in a particularly nice state, so the 10am checkout allows for extra time to put things right in such situations & sometimes it can be tight to get the house ready for the next guests. I take your point about BREAKAGES, hadn't really thought about it before, but have asked housekeeping to re-label the notebook Maintenance. It can be a challenge replacing/fixing things for the next guests, especially when guests don't always tell us about them before or when they leave. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carrie-ann4.1Jul 2023

  • "The house and location are lovely however you really should include photos of the ‘games room’ as it is not a games room."

    It’s a garage with a very old, small rickety pool table and a dart board on the wall. As a parent of a disabled child who cannot go out in the rain I booked the house purely for the games room so that there was something for them to do in the event it rained (which it did every day) It really was a disappointment and I wouldn’t have booked had I had seen photos.

    I'm glad you liked the house & location. Sykes are due to renew photos on the website, but have been awaiting a gap in bookings to take photos, coinciding with when I can be there to check over the house beforehand. The garage wasn't set up as a games room when the property was initially taken on by Sykes, hence the lack of photo. Similarly the separate walk-in shower has been installed since website photos were taken. I was worried to hear the heavy games table described as rickety, but when I checked it recently, the pool table pockets all seemed intact & when rotated to be an air hockey table, the mechanism still seems solid & rotates smoothly. I accept that the table tennis part of the games table now needs replacing as it warped over the winter. I am looking to source a new table tennis top to this. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lesley4.1Jul 2023

  • "Lovely house and gamesroom, well equipped and clean ."

    Very spacious ,ideal for two families . Quality furnishings. Would definetly recommend.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review. Glad to hear you liked the house. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret5.0Jun 2023

  • "We had a lovely stay at old school house, lewannick was so close to main road ..."

    We had a lovely stay at old school house, lewannick was so close to main road meaning we could travel anywhere with no issues , the property was just what we needed , the views were nice of a morning to sit on conservatory and look outside, the weather for is wasn't great but the stay was would happily stay here again

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review. Glad to hear you enjoyed the view from the conservatory & the location of Lewannick. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.4Mar 2023

  • "We stayed over new year ."

    The house is lovely with great views. We all enjoyed the games room and the local pub has great food it is also dog friendly.

    Happy New Year! Many thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review. Glad you enjoyed the games room. You were the first guests to christen the newly installed walk-in shower. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Charlotte5.0Dec 2022

  • "We thoroughly enjoyed our stay."

    Games.room was fantastic and accommodation perfect. Conservatory was a wonderful room to spend time in with amazing views and the garden was lovely. We appreciated the welcome.snacks/tea/coffee etc and it was so useful to have use of.washer/dryer/dishwasher. The only downside was we felt the place had not really been cleaned properly. Definitely felt a bit damp, the bathroom was a bit grubby and there were a lot of cobwebs it was also frustrating that the games room door and the back door from Conservatory were really tricky to open and close. Otherwise a brilliant stay! Thank you

    Thank you for your feedback, which has been passed onto the housekeeping team. Not long after your stay, the Old School House was closed Sept-mid Dec for the long-delayed refurbishment work: rear roof was redone, new walk-in shower installed, new bath panel fitted & new window added to the bathroom to increase airflow to let out steam & damp. Very glad to hear the games room was a hit & you enjoyed your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joanna4.4Aug 2022

  • "The house was very comfortable and spacious."

    We really appreciated your welcoming approach to our pet dog. The tether for the garden was really useful, as we were worried about him escaping, and we used it every day for him. The games room was really good fun. We played games most evenings. The location of the property was really convenient for many tourist attractions. We would definitely consider returning to the house for a future holiday.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a nice review. Glad you enjoyed the games room. Look forward to welcoming you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert4.7Aug 2022

  • "What a lovely cottage in a peaceful location."

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would recommend this property. There is some travelling to the beaches but we did not mind this as we traded it for the peaceful setting. The pool table/table tennis were used regularly with our children. The BBQ was used too and easily accommodated the 7 of us staying at the cottage. We managed with the one bathroom as there was a WC downstairs. The kitchen was well stocked and we even managed to produce a lovely sunday dinner. My only concerns were the washing line, not sure where this went as there was a line to be put up. A first aid kit, if the cottage had one we could not find it. And to go with the BBQ a fire pit would have been extra nice for the evenings. All in all we would definitely considered revisiting this cottage.

    Thank you for your feedback. The missing spike for the rotary line has now been replaced. The first aid kit, removed during covid, has now been reinstated. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jolie4.7Jul 2022

  • "This property was far better than some other clients had led us, to believe."

    We found this house to be far superior to others of a similar age that we have visited, perfection is in the eye of the beholder.Everything was there treats for us and a towel and treats for our dog. The rooms were all of a good size for the number of people it can sleep. The conservatory was a blessing as the weather was not as clement for june as it could have been so the conservatory was an ideal spot in the rain with lovely views. The garden was dog friendly as long as an eye was kept on the bottom boundary as there is a possibility for an over inquisitive dog to escape. We feel this is a lovely spot to use as base as it has the convenience of a very good and friendly pub and handy shop. Highly recommend this property to your clients.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review! So glad you appreciated all the house & the village of Lewannick have to offer. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter4.7Jun 2022

  • "A fabulous property."

    Visiting from overseas we really appreciated the small things like the washing detergent, t towels,dish soap and bath towels. The house was so well equipped. Location was lovely, easy distance to the pub for a few meals.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a cracking review! So glad you appreciated the bits & bobs that are included in your stay. We are so lucky with the smashing Archers Arms & the great little local shop in Lewannick being only a few minutes walk away Property Owner

    Reviewed by Tim5.0May 2022

  • "Lovey relaxing stay!"

    Games room a massive plus! Had everything we needed and more. Would love to come back one day.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the games room. Look forward to welcoming you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anisha5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great stay at the old school house we had a fantastic time and the games room is a fantastic way to spend the evenings after exploring Cornwall."

    We are definitely coming back.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a great review. Glad you had a fantastic time & enjoyed the games room. Look forward to welcoming you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare4.4Apr 2022

  • "We enjoyed out stay at the Old School House."

    The Christmas Tree and festive decorations were really lovely and appreciated. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable. The games room was a real asset. The location of the cottage is good for visiting many lovely places and we visited the lovely Port Issac, Padstow, and Looe. The village pub was very welcoming. The property has a lovely garden, and our only concern was that it was not totally secure for inquisitive dogs - and beyond the garden their is farmland with sheep grazing. I think the shrubs had been pruned back to give better views and no doubt in the Spring will grow back making it more secure. The hosts left some lovely welcome gifts of prosecco, milk and cakes. It was nice that they had also provided an initial supply of dishwasher tablets, washing up liquid and toilet rolls, much appreciated. Archers Arms pub very welcoming and lovely food in roomy dining room at rear. Mrs Anne Thurlow

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed your New Year stay. We are lucky that Lewannick is such a nice village with a great pub & shop only a few minutes walk away. You are quite right that guests with inquisitive dogs do need to take care they don't get over the bank & hedge & into the field beyond with the sheep, as the bank at end of the garden is kept pruned back to ensure the view towards Bodmin Moor can be enjoyed as much as possible. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anne4.1Dec 2021

  • "A comfortable house."

    The over bath shower needed updating. A walk in shower would have been a great improvement. The conservatory area was a lovely space but the conservatory furniture needed replacing or at least new seat cushions. The location was super and ideal for exploring north Cornwall. The owners were helpful and quick to respond to queries With a little more investment, a comfortable stay could have been a luxurious stay

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a constructive review. The work to install a walk in shower is scheduled for Autumn 2022 (much delayed for reasons I'm sure you can imagine). Similarly new thicker seat cushions for the conservatory were finally delivered a couple of months after your stay. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie3.4Sep 2021

  • "A hand towel could be provided with the bath towel for each guest."

    A shower panel rather than curtain would be better. A walk in shower could fit in the bathroom. A great place to stay to explore Cornwall and the pub has a restaurant at the back that serves amazing steaks.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a constructive review. Please do contact housekeeping if you need anything such as extra towels during your stay. The work to install a walk in shower is scheduled for Autumn 2022 (much delayed for reasons I'm sure you can imagine). We are lucky that the Archers Arms is such a great pub & only a few minutes walk away. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Aug 2021

  • "Lovely quiet village however easy drive to nearby towns."

    Staff in the local pub very warm and welcoming. Highly recommend

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are lucky that Lewannick is so handy for the A30 to explore Cornwall & that the Archers Arms is such a great pub & only a few minutes walk away. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Eileen5.0Jul 2021

  • "Overall a nice stay in a good property."

    Games room is excellent for kids, shame conservatory furniture was poor quality and only seats for 4. Beds comfy and sheets etc all clean. Good location for exploring Cornwall.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. 2 extra armchairs are now in the conservatory, so seats 8 including the breakfast bar stools. New thicker seat cushions for the conservatory were finally delivered a few months after your stay. We are lucky that Lewannick is so handy for the A30 to explore Cornwall Property Owner

    Reviewed by Richard3.8Jul 2021

  • "First family holiday since lockdowns began and couldn’t have chosen a more perfect holiday house."

    Garden and conservatory so relaxing, games room bought our family together laughing, garden sunsets with field of sheep bleating so calming. We had all weather from torrential rain to hot sun and house amenities met our every need. Location perfect for Coast, Bodmin, Dartmoor, etc. One week not enough! We want to return soon as we can! Thankyou.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a smashing review. So glad it was everything you needed it to be. Look forward to welcoming you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sara5.0Jun 2021

  • "The house was lovely, well laid out and the scones/clotted cream welcome were a nice touch."

    Would stay here again

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the cream tea. Hope to welcome you back in future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Lisa5.0May 2021

  • "Spotlessly clean for our arrival."

    Plenty of crockery, cutlery etc. Lovely conservatory - west facing with big views, excellent for sunsets (well - if the weather is right - happened once for us). Plenty of jigsaws, games, books etc for wet days, as well as the games room.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed the games room & at least one sunset! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michael5.0May 2021

  • "The old school house was absolutely lovely."

    Very, very clean and was reassured that all COVID precautions had been taken. this made for a relaxing holiday as we didn’t have to worry about it.

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Glad you enjoyed a relaxing holiday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sally5.0Oct 2020

  • "Great holiday, the old schoolhose was beyond expectatins."

    Its a pity Sykes loaded the cost with date renewal due to covid 19.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Oct 2020

  • "Lovely comfortable cottage had everything we needed."

    And our dog enjoyed the very enclosed garden.our only criticism would be the games room in the garage was lacking in equipment not enough darts to play darts.but my husband and son enjoyed playing pool in the evening.

    Reviewed by Sarah3.4Sep 2020

  • "Basically we were very very disapointed with our stay at The Old School House,To be fair to Jaime she did get it ready a bit earlier for us."

    But,considering the current guidelines we all know that everything has to be absolutely super extra clean,sadly the cottage was not ! Firstly the toilet brush and holder in bathroom was absolutely disgusting ! it was caked in faeces and the holder was full of soiled water ! I was going to remove it and put it in a black bin bag in the garage,but to be honest I didn't want to handle it ,why was this not checked on and removed?surely with everything having to be sanitised it should be replaced weekly,plastic one in supermarkets are super cheap-basically disposable.Also,worktops in kichen had only had a basic wipe down and were greasy.Dishwasher had been used and everything we needed was clean,but there were no spare dishwasher tablets as we should have had according to instruction manual,i obviously went and bought some,the dishwasher wash out of salt and rinse aid ,surely that should have been noticed and items replaced as per hygiene rules?There wer dirty sticky childrens finger prints on inside of conservatory windows,shouldn't they have been cleaned?The placemats/coasters in dining room were old and tatty(down to base cardboard) and old food spilled and smeared on them,pretty unhygienic !When we were due to leave we got the hoover out and the filter was absolutely jammed up with dirt and debris and dog hair,why wasn't this emptied by house keeper?Thats all the cleanliness issues,if we hadn't travelled over 330 miles we probably would've gone home to be honest.The worst disapointment was actually the garden advertised as dog proof,it certainly was not ! at the bottom was an overgrown grassy bank with steps to top and straight out and over the other side on to 4 strands of barbed wire,which is obviously standard farm fencing along a livestock field we realise that ,but had the dogs gone straight over I dread to think what would have happened.So, the dogs had to spend whole week on leads outside-so unfair !The grass had been mown,but the gravel around patio area was overgrown with weeds and whole place looked unloved.Do you or the owners not regularly check on the property,Neglecting to look at details all around I think.We were actually down there house hunting and were going to use your £40 off voucher but to be honest I don't know if I would want to choose Sykes again if this is your standard,but we will be going back to Cornwall house hunting again soon,sadly never again at The Old School House ! I would be interested in your comments on our complaints please.

    Thank you for your feedback. It is a shame we did not hear from you during your stay. As per our booking conditions, any customer with a complaint should contact us or the owner during their stay so that the owner is given the opportunity to address any issues. The owner has advised that you insisted the cleaning team let you in the property early and not to worry about finishing off as 'you didn't mind a bit of dirt'. This property regularly receives very good feedback and cleanliness scores so the owners are surprised by your comments. Please also note that none of our properties are ever advertised as 'dog proof' as this can never be guaranteed. Dogs are indeed welcome at this property but dogs should be supervised when outside. Many dog owners have stayed at this property and left lovely reviews. We hope you enjoyed your stay otherwise. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Margaret1.9Sep 2020

  • "A pleasant house in a fantastic location."

    The village is beautiful with a great community pub and local park. The house was dated in places and needs a little TLC but overall, for the price we paid, we could not complain as it was a good base for exploring some of Cornwall. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Katie3.1Sep 2020

  • "Not clean towels dirty bed uncomfortable house not cleaned very well Cooking ..."

    Not clean towels dirty bed uncomfortable house not cleaned very well Cooking equipment broken The games room was very dirty and had not been cleaned at all empty beer cans left And most of the equipment broken or missing Light bulbs missing in the house All in all not great and not what I booked the place for this is the 5th time I have booked this place and it was the dirtiest time I have been there a big shame as

    Reviewed by Dave1.6Aug 2020

  • "This was a really spacious property and had everything we needed to have an enjoyable relaxing break with our family and dog."

    The only criticism I have is that it didn't feel as though a deep clean had been done prior to arrival. There were dog hairs on the bed throws and everything seemed to be a little dusty and tired looking. We made sure that our dog did not go on furniture and upstairs but it was evident that previous holiday makers were not so prudent.

    Reviewed by Michele3.4Aug 2020

  • "Great location For travelling Wonderful village pub and park Spacious ..."

    Great location For travelling Wonderful village pub and park Spacious property Games room good for those lazy evening Stunning views

    Reviewed by Dawn4.4Aug 2020

  • "The deep clean you said the property would have isn't true as we had stained sheets hairs in the bed and the house wasn't cleaned very well at all."

    a deep clean means all rooms and surfaces should be cleaned not just the kitchen worktops.

    Reviewed by Gary3.4Jul 2020

  • "We had a lovely stay at the old school house."

    It was so clean and tidy. Has everything equipped that you need. Kitchen and cleaning supplies, washing and a games room. The house was lovely. Perfect for a family . Thank you

    Reviewed by Steph5.0Oct 2019

  • "Excellent accommodation with everything you need and more."

    Homemade scones, jam and cream to welcome us - a lovely surprise and very tasty too! Lovely village with a friendly local community pub and well stocked village shop. Location very central and perfect for easy access to all parts of Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Rowena5.0Aug 2019

  • "Great house, good location."

    Great local pub.

    Reviewed by Bernadette4.7Aug 2019

  • "This is the fifth time we have used Skye’s to book our summer holidays and our third time to stay at The Old School House in Lewannick."

    We love this comfortable, well equipped house. The back garden is perfect for enjoying the weather and watching the birds , butterflies and the occasional bat in the evening. The garden is peaceful and very secure for our dog. It is really a joy to visit this property and to enjoy the peaceful village location which is ideally situated for exploring Cornwall.

    Reviewed by Avril5.0Jul 2019

  • "We had a lovely time at the old school house."

    It is set in a lovely village with really friendly neighbours. We loved where it was positioned as we could visit both Cornwall and Devon.

    Reviewed by Jemma4.1Apr 2019

  • "Superb property in a lovely location , everything you could need ,very comfortable beds and furnishings ,would highly recommend ."

    Reviewed by Mary5.0Oct 2018

  • "The property was really good, two nice seating rooms/areas down stairs plus the dinning room."

    ( which we spent most of our time in. long mealtimes, board games, family chats and girls doing their schoolwork ). The games room / garage was a big bonus, we enjoyed that a lot. also the nice big secure garden our dog could run around in and we played "footie" with our children there. The welcome pack was very helpful "and detailed" , we found the park very easy thanks to the directions. We wish we could have stayed longer and one day plan to go back.

    Reviewed by Andrew4.1Jul 2018

  • "Location was wonderful and superb for our two dogs as the garden was safe and enclosed."

    We were very central to exploring North Cornwall. Helped also by a superb local pub with good food and wonderful weather. It was like holidaying abroad!

    Reviewed by Tanya4.7Jun 2018

  • "Lovely house and gardens, quiet little village but easy to get out and about from for visiting other locations."

    Reviewed by Julie4.8May 2017

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Four bedrooms: 1 x king-size double, 1 x double, 1 x twin, 1 x single
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC
  • Ground floor basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Lower ground floor utility
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with electric coal-effect fire
  • Conservatory
  • External games room with darts, pool table, air hockey and table tennis.
  • Oil central heating with electric fire
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tumble dryer, dishwasher, TV with Freeview, DVD, WiFi, selection of books, games and DVDs
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off road parking for 2 cars
  • Two well-behaved pets welcome, downstairs only
  • Enclosed lawned garden with furniture
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 5 mins walk.

The property

In an ideal location for touring all of Cornwall as well as Dartmoor, this former school house dating back to the 1860s has been beautifully renovated and refurbished to a high standard to provide a wonderful holiday home.

Set in the traditional rural country village of Lewannick, six miles from the ancient capital of Cornwall, Launceston, makes access to both north and south coasts relatively easy, being situated only two miles from the main A30 trunk road which runs from Exeter in Devon to Lands End.

As you enter The Old School House you will immediately feel at home going through the porch into the kitchen with a delightful conservatory overlooking the garden.

Through into the hallway which takes you to the light and airy dining room and the cosy sitting room both with magnificent high ceilings being a feature of the period which the house would have originated from.

There are four bedrooms here all different to give options for all the family, a master king-size double, a double, a twin and a single.

Outside an enclosed garden complete with garden furniture is a peaceful spot to relax and appreciate the far-reaching countryside views.

The garage here is converted to provide a games room and entertainment whatever the weather.

A short walk to the village will take you the local pub the Archer Arms, a community pub offering a choice of good food and local ales.

The village shop will provide you with all your everyday requirements.

Nearby Launceston has been a market town since the time of the Normans and there are still some fine buildings, the medieval south gate and the ruins of a castle to explore.

Being so well located your choices for a day out from here are endless making the Old School House an ideal comfortable base for a holiday all year round.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £200.

View on map

About the location

LEWANNICK

Launceston 6 miles; Bodmin 19 miles; Padstow 34 miles; Bude 22 miles.

The village of Lewannick is situated six miles from Launceston in Cornwall and is believed to have been inhabited since medieval times. There is a local church and the village is also home to a shop and community pub. Nearby, the ancient capital of Cornwall, Launceston is a short drive away with its wonderful architecture, including some fine Georgian buildings in the central square, and is dominated by the ruins of a Norman castle sitting high above the town. Visit the Tamar Otter Park 11 miles away or take a trip on the steam train from Launceston through the beautiful Kensey Valley on a 5-mile round trip. With good road connections close to Lewannick it is within driving distance of the seaside resorts of Bude and Padstow to the north, and Plymouth to the south, as well as the stunning Bodmin Moor and Dartmoor. A superb base for exploring Cornwall and Devon.

Dogs are welcome at the property but the garden is a non-enclosed lawned garden with furniture.

Please note: This property has a good house keeping bond of £200

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas