Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 42 View Image Gallery
  • Eastnor - Cotswolds - 1091369 - photo 1







(Ref. 1091369)

Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 6 Guests

  • 3 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (17)
  • stay (17)
  • cottage (14)
  • great (13)
  • eastnor (12)
  • lovely (12)

33 Customer Reviews

  • "A comfortable and interesting holiday home ."

    The house has a great deal of character and the kitchen, in particular, is large and very well equipped. The milk and biscuits provided as a welcome pack were a nice touch. It was very sunny during our stay and the roof terrace was a pleasant place to have an early evening drink and relax at the end of the day. We had a very good break and we hope to return to Eastnor for a longer holiday in the future Plenty to see in and around Moreton- in - Marsh . Many shops, good pubs and restaurants are all within a few minutes walk . There is a supermarket directly opposite the cottage ( but not in an intrusive way) which is also very convenient ( Some previous reviews strike me as harsh - it is not possible to park directly outside to pack/unpack but there is plenty of street parking close by and even with a fair in town during our stay ( taking up a large section of the high street) we could park close to the house whenever we needed to . I've also seen criticism that the stairs are a bit steep - that is correct but it is clearly stated in the property info and in keeping with the character of an old property so not a surprise) Thank you !

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Eastnor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time away and took full advantage of the beautiful area. We hope that we can welcome you again one day soon! Best wishes, Manor Cottages. Property Owner

    Reviewed by John4.1Sep 2023

  • "Good location but the property was dirty, the table in the kitchen was sticky, mould in some bedrooms, bathroom doors didn’t shut properly and bathroom very dirty."

    Wouldn’t stay again as it felt very unclean.

    Reviewed by Emma2.5Jun 2023

  • "A wonderful cottage with relaxing spaces to enjoy."

    Highlights were the large kitchen, sun trap terrace, family room with log burner and comfy beds with fresh good quality linen. The only struggle we had was with parking especially for unloading and loading the car but it didn’t take anything away from a fun and relaxing week.

    Thank you for this lovely review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Eastnor and had such a relaxing week. We would love to welcome you again. Best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emily4.4Mar 2023

  • "Had a great time staying at Eastnor over Christmas - and the tree was the cherry on top of the cake!"

    Would definitely recommend, super convenient to get to and great for group stays.

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Eastnor. It's so lovely to hear you had a wonder Christmas break at the cottage. It does make a difference to have a real tree up for your arrival, we are glad you liked it!. We hope to welcome you back again for another break in the future. Kind regards Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ollie5.0Dec 2022

  • "Following our stay at Eastnor last week we wished to express what an enjoyable and lovely stay we had at the property."

    Eastnor really is as it says " a home away from home". As this was our second time staying here we wished to compliment you on the standard of cleaning and the overall improvements that we noticed thorough the entire house. We have no hesitation in recommending this property as the ideal house for a break in Moreton for many reasons including the location and the joy of the property.

    KevinNov 2022

  • "Everything was wonderful."

    Only suggestion is the sofa in the middle living room is a little uncomfortable and could stand to be replaced. The sofa in the front living room was great but no television in that room. Just a small thing really. The cottage was lovely.

    It is great to hear everything was wonderful and the cottage was lovely. Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Sharon4.4Sep 2022

  • "Well located home ."

    Had everything we needed. Pride of ownership clearly shines thru in the presentation of this home. Lovely decor and very clean .

    What a lovely review, we are pleased to hear you had everything you needed and look forward to welcoming you back. With best wishes Character Cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Aug 2022

  • "Ideal location and very comfortable with ample parking nearby providing you observe the market day restriction."

    Beds very comfortable and well fitted out throughout a lovely accommodation. Future clients need to beware of the steep stairs, especially to the 2nd floor bedroom, but not a problem for us ( 4 adults ), but young children & disabled May struggle. This however is highlighted in the ad. Perfect base to explore the Cotswold villages etc. Particularly appreciated the roof sun terrace , along with the large gas bbq. Would not hesitate to recommend & will definitely be going back.

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a nice feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and made use of all facilities and as you mentioned regarding the steep stairs that it is mentioned in the property description as below: Note: The stairs in the cottage are quite steep and small children must be supervised. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Manor cottages Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ken5.0Jun 2022

  • "We unfortunately booked Eastnor for a weeks break with my parents and my two children aged 2."

    5years and 8 months respectively. We were very disappointed for several reasons. The property stinks of dog and the floor was covered in dog hairs. The sofa in the living area was smelly and dingy, and the throw covering it also stunk and made your clothes stink when you sat on it. There were clumps of dog hair on the kitchen floor. Not ideal when you have a curious baby and a toddler in tow. There were rats in the back yard and planks of wood with exposed rusty nails lying about. Again, not ideal with kids around. We arrived on a Friday pm bank holiday so we weren’t able to report out dissatisfaction until the Tuesday, where upon the house was cleaned and a new throw provided for the sofa (other than by calling the emergency number which we didn’t think was justified). So from a cleanliness/health and safety point of view we were not impressed. Onto more practical points particularly relating to having small children. I would not recommend this property for anyone with small children. The stairs are treacherous and my dad did actually slip half way down one flight but luckily caught himself with not a minor injury to his arm. One stair gate was provided for 2 flights of stairs. We had to use it at the top of one flight of stairs in case our toddler wandered in the night, although it wasn’t technically suitable for use at the top of stairs because it creates a trip hazard on an already awkward set of stairs, so the owners might want to consider this if they plan to continue letting the property to families. The travel cot provided had no mattress so I had to co-sleep with our baby and my husband went into the bunk beds with our toddler. The terrace was only safely accessible via the toddlers bedroom (bunk room) so we were unable to make use of it after she went to bed which is when we would have had time to enjoy it. The alternative route onto the terrace via a tiny spiral staircase did not feel safe to us, particularly for my mother who has impaired vision. The property opens out onto one of the Cotswolds busiest A roads so not ideal with kids or for parking/loading and unloading of the car. We were unable to view the most recent feedback prior to booking which would have deterred us from booking our stay- there seems to be a convenient delay in posting negative feedback. We noted that the price of letting this property was slashed to almost half what we paid for the week after we stayed and we suggested that partial compensation might be offered to us to bring our payment online with this ie approx £1500 down to £800, but the owners flatly declined. Sykes have provided awful customer service and we won’t be using them again

    Reviewed by Rebecca2.2Apr 2022

  • "I have never been more relieved to leave a holiday let, my clothes smell of damp."

    The twin BEDS WERE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE with springs protruding, the pillows had no substance in them, the floor boards creaked terribly. The stairs are unsuitable for OAPs. No hand rail either for the top half. Lisa was amazing and came to our rescue twice, to sort out the TV and arrange for someone to clean the outside of all the piles of leaves etc. If you have dogs there is a 20ft x 3ft piece of smelly artificial grass for them that could not be washed and disinfected. The saving grace was that the cottage is handy for shops and restaurants. The cottage certainly needed some some TLC.

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Eastnor. We appreciate the feedback you have provided us with and we are very sorry that you had all these issues during your holiday. This should not have happened and this is not our usual high standards at Character Cottages. I hope after our long conversation, you feel that your comments have been taken on board and will be actioned by the Owner and the new Managed Service/ Housekeeping team that we have in place. The property will be having a complete top to toe assessment of everything by our new team and all issues will be addressed. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Joan2.2Mar 2022

  • "Really great location, perfect for visiting by train as the station is only a few minutes' walk away."

    The cottage itself looks small from the outside but it's nice and roomy inside with a great kitchen and dining area. Plenty of places to eat and visit nearby and incredibly handy to be opposite a big shop, but no issues with noise. Friendly comms from owners too.

    Reviewed by Helena4.7Feb 2022

  • "The property is not suitable for young children due to the steepness of the stairs and I wouldn’t recommend it for any more than 4 adults because the third bedroom was tiny and had a bunk bed and no storage at all and was far too hot."

    When we arrived the crockery was very grubby but this was due to cheap dishwasher tablets that were supplied , not enough seating for 6 adults in the lounge . parking outside the property was an issue/impossible to unload and reload the cars. On a positive this is in a beautiful location and we really did enjoy our stay

    Thank you for your feedback with regards to your stay at Eastnor. Please note we take all feedback very seriously and we are sorry to hear your stay didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. With regards to your comments, we believe the stairs are shown clearly in the images on the website, in fact there are 4 sets of images of the stairs. This is the 'Cotswolds style’ in most of the authentic old cottages, however there is a rope rather than a wooden hand rail. The top bedroom which does have bunk beds, is a compact size, but you can see this from the images and it doesn't have lots of storage. If storage space is important to you, please do call us next time before you book so we can check this for you. With regards to the heat in the top bedroom, we would have been very happy to advise you on how to reduce the temperature to a comfortable setting on the room radiator. We have passed on your comments about the dishwasher tablets to the housekeeper and they have now invested in a better quality. With regards to seating, you can see from the pictures what is in the living room, if you wanted more seating it is a shame you did not inform us as we could have helped. Parking is on street at the cottage and it is stated clearly in the description, I can understand it must have been tricky with the little ones regarding parking. We are glad you still had a lovely time and managed to enjoy your stay. We would love to welcome you back again in the future and to show you our high standards. . Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane2.8Jan 2022

  • "Great property."

    Will definitely re book. Slight niggle - dishwasher wasn’t particularly effective. Otherwise can’t fault this property.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Property Owner

    Reviewed by Dean4.7Dec 2021

  • "Mitch and Chloe’s cottage is wonderful."

    It’s gorgeous and immaculate and they truly made our stay so lovely, especially with the thoughtful and festive Christmas decorations! The beds are extremely comfortable and the kitchen very well equipped. Having the supermarket just across the road was very useful as well. We had such a fantastic stay and I highly recommend Eastnor for the perfect cosy getaway!

    ChloeDec 2020

  • "House was perfect for a rainy weekend keeping warm by the Log fire."

    Excellent location just at the end of the high street opposite the Co-op. Lovely to have a large dining table to play board games and socialise around. Would definitely visit again!

    LucySep 2020

  • "Eastnor is a wonderful cottage conveniently located a short walk from the train station in a lovely quiet village."

    The cottage is a very comfortable space with all you need for a weekend away. There are also lots of great walks on the doorstep. Chloe and Mitch were wonderful hosts and gave great advice on places to eat and things to do! We will definitely be back

    JenniferJun 2020

  • "We had a really lovely stay here, really recommend!"

    It was more than comfortable for 6 of us, and the roof terrace was a big hit. Thank you!

    NickiJun 2020

  • "Such a lovely home in a great location in Moreton-in-Marsh."

    Fantastic kitchen for cooking, cosy living spaces and comfortable bedrooms. Shops, cafes and restaurants on the doorstep and some great walks nearby. Thank you!

    DavidMar 2020

  • "Lovely cottage in a perfect location."

    Would definitely stay again.

    HelenMar 2020

  • "Great cottage in a perfect location."

    Would recommend and would stay again.

    HelenMar 2020

  • "Great place."

    Right in town in Moreton-in-Marsh and direct let a Rios from the grocery store. Lots of room. Big kitchen. Nice to have a king bed. We loved our stay.

    CallieFeb 2020

  • "All fantastic: house, hosts, equipment and town."

    Even on a stormy weekend.

    AdrianFeb 2020

  • "Wonderful location with good shower and kitchen facilities including a lovely aga."

    It was very wintery weather during our stay but would love to sit out on the roof terrace when weather allows! Really simple access to all of the Cotswolds and a great stay if you like to embrace the old country cottage and squeaky floor boards!

    HarrietFeb 2020

  • "The location is perfect."

    Couple of minutes walk from a train station, supermarket across the road, and the fact that it’s on the high street means all the local shops and pubs are a stones throw away. It’s refreshing to go somewhere in the Cotswolds where you don’t need a car! The town itself isn’t too busy, which means that although you’re located on the main stretch, you still feel like you’re on a relaxed country break. The house itself has great character and is very cosy and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

    NicolaJan 2020

  • "Really high-quality house in the heart of the Cotswolds."

    Eastnor looks great in the photos and even better in real life. Owners obviously take great pride in it. Even called us to check if everything was ok. We were visiting family in the area and didn’t want to stay in a hotel and Eastnor was a great option.

    RanulphNov 2019

  • "We stayed as a family of four in half term and had a wonderful time at Eastnor."

    The house is simply stunning - so much character under one roof. Lots of long walks with the dogs and visits to all the local villages. Had friends over for Sunday lunch which we cooked on the aga (had never used one before!). There is only seating space for six but eight of us squeezed round. We'll be returning next year!

    WendySep 2019

  • "We had a fabulous long weekend at Eastnor."

    Took the train up from London just after 6 and was in the pub in front of the fire before 8! Beautiful old cottage in a lovely town. Fully recommend to groups of all sizes.

    JoeSep 2019

  • "Excellent location."

    A short walk away from everything you need in the town. Really beautiful, cosy and surprisingly large cottage. We booked last minute and went as a two as it actually works out better value than hotels and B&Bs.

    KatherineSep 2019

  • "Five-star Cotswold experience."

    Simply wonderful cottage. Would recommend as a four night or week-long stay so you can properly unwind.

    WeiSep 2019

  • "Really well located for a weekend break from London."

    We travelled by train which took 90 minutes. My wife and I had a really good time. Just a shame it was only a weekend...

    MohammedSep 2019

  • "Couldn’t have had a better time at Eastnor."

    The owner sent us a very helpful email ahead of our stay and called us on the day to make sure everything was fine. House was clean and is very well-equipped for the family – Netflix, board games, books etc. We knew it was dog friendly, but we didn’t have one and there is no evidence at all of dogs staying. Great Cotswolds pubs within walking distance.

    SabinaSep 2019

  • "Eastnor is the perfect countryside escape."

    Our first trip to the Cotswolds and we wanted to move here after our stay we enjoyed it so much. Clearly lots of thought has gone in to the house to make sure it had everything we would need. Having the car was handy as we were able to visit Stow-on-the-Wold, Bourton-on-the-Water and others very easily (all are a short drive away). Never had any parking issues in Moreton-in-Marsh.

    GillyAug 2019

  • "Eastnor was fantastic!"

    We travelled up from London and found the cottage within minutes of arriving at the station. The cottage itself was exactly what we wanted, and very comfortable! We’ll definitely be booking a future stay!

    AlexAug 2019

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Manor Cottages collection.
Over 250 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Over three floors
  • 1 x king-size (zip/link, can be twin on request), 1 x second-floor king-size, 1 x child’s bunk bed
  • Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin, heated towel rail and WC
  • Cloakroom with basin and WC
  • Kitchen/diner
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Snug with woodburning stove
  • Gas central heating with 2 x woodburning stoves
  • AGA, gas hob, fridge/freezer, washing machine, dishwasher, Nespresso coffee maker, hairdryer, fireguard
  • Smart TV with Apple TV and Netflix, DAB radio, smart speaker, WiFi, selection of board games and books
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Travel cot, high chair and stairgate available on request
  • Free roadside parking
  • Small enclosed courtyard garden with gas barbecue and enclosed roof terrace with furniture
  • Two well-behaved dogs welcome
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop and pub 0.1 miles

The property

Nestled in the centre of the popular market town of Moreton-in-Marsh, Eastnor is a wonderful 17th century cottage with an abundance of character features, set over three floors, and boasting a fabulous roof terrace, it is the ideal base for a family or group of friends looking to explore the many lovely towns and villages of the Cotswolds.

Enter into the small entrance hall, which leads into the impressive sitting room, complete with exposed stone walls, flagstone flooring and wonderful beamed ceiling, providing a warm space for you and your loved ones to relax of an evening, as the woodburning stove warms the whole room.

A sweet oak window seat sits beneath the window which is concealed by a privacy curtain, where you can get lost amongst the pages of a compelling novel from the selection on offer.

A beautiful stone archway leads you into the snug, where you can watch a film on the Smart TV with Netflix access, as you put your feet up on the upholstered footstool and pouffe whilst the glow from the woodburning stove gently lights and warms the room.

The large kitchen/diner is wonderful space for entertaining your guests, where you can make use of the AGA in winter months to cook delicious meals, before gathering around the wooden dining table and popping open a bottle of bubbly to toast to a great holiday that lies ahead.

Cleaning up is made easy with help from the dishwasher!

Conveniently completing the ground-floor is a cloakroom, with a basin and WC.

Tuck the children into the bunk beds, before heading to either of the king-size rooms, one on the first-floor (zip/link, can be twin on request) and one on the second-floor, both with elegant furnishings and ample storage space.

In the morning, enjoy an invigorating rinse in the family bathroom on the first-floor which has a beautiful ornate stained-glass window and lovely painted wooden flooring.

A small enclosed courtyard with artificial grass and a large gas barbecue sits outside the kitchen, with a metal spiral staircase leading up to the roof terrace with rattan furniture, which is also accessible from the bunk bed room, which enjoys views across the rooftops to the Queen Victoria Gardens.

Eastnor is a short walk away from the heart of the famous Cotswold market town of Moreton-in-Marsh, where you can enjoy a wonderful breakfast at The Cotswold Tea Room, before heading over to Cotswold Falconry Centre to discover the range of falcons, eagles, owls and other birds of prey, and finish off your day with a tipple and meal at The Black Bear Inn.

The thriving high street straddles the ancient Fosse Way, and has many fine examples of 17th and 18th century Cotswold stone buildings, making Moreton a lovely place to walk around and explore, and if you're an avid walker, Sezincote House and Bourton-on-the-Hill 7.7-kilometre loop trail located near Moreton-in-Marsh, features beautiful wild flowers and is good for all skill levels, where you can stop off in Bourton-on-the-Hill for a walk around the Batsford Arboretum and Garden Centre that is a 56-acre, dog-friendly garden with beautiful trees and shrubs from around the world.

Well known tourist destination, Stratford-upon-Avon, is just a short car journey away and is the 16th century birthplace of William Shakespeare, where you can visit an array of attractions including Magic Alley, Stratford Butterfly Farm and The MAD Museum, and finish off with a lovely dinner at one of the many restaurants in Stratford-upon-Avon For a wonderful stay, surrounded by countryside yet close to amenities, choose Eastnor!

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £100.

View on map

About the location


Stow-on-the-Wold 4.5 miles; Bourton-on-the-Water 8 miles; Stratford-upon-Avon 16 miles; Cheltenham 23 miles; Oxford 31 miles.

The Saxon market town of Moreton-in-Marsh lies on the Fosse Way Roman Road in the northern Cotswolds and boasts many elegant 18th century buildings, which are home to traditional inns, serving real ales and home-cooked food, tea rooms, restaurants and individual shops to suit all tastes. It also boasts it's own train station and lies on the intersection of the Paddington rail line from London. The town hosts the Moreton-In-Marsh Show, one of the UK's largest one-day agricultural shows, as well as the Moreton Beer Festival, an annual French Market, and a large outdoor market every Tuesday. Many walks and cycle rides through the beautiful rolling countryside of the Cotswolds can be enjoyed from the centre of the town, with the Macmillan Way, Heart of England Way, Gloucestershire and Monarch's Way all running close by. Less than five miles away is Stow-on-the-Wold, the highest town in the Cotswolds. This ancient market town has played host to many fairs since the 12th century and today holds a biannual Gypsy Horse Fair, craft fairs and monthly farmers' market. Close by is Bourton-on-the-Water, which is known as the Venice of the Cotswolds as the River Windrush runs through the centre. It lies in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and is one of the most popular Cotswold villages. Also within reach is the spa town of Cheltenham. This town boasts an incredible range of shops, cinemas, theatres, restaurants and pubs, and is famous for its horseracing festival in March, culminating in the Gold Cup steeplechase. Oxford, Stratford-upon-Avon, Bath, Worcester and the waterfront city of Gloucester are also within driving distance. A convenient base for exploring the Cotswolds and the wider area.

Note: The stairs in the cottage are quite steep and small children must be supervised. Dogs - For the comfort of future guests, we ask that dogs remain downstairs, stay off the furniture and that no trace of a dog remains after your departure and guests may prefer to take dogs across the grassy area opposite the property to stretch their legs.

Note: An initial basket of logs is provided for the woodburning stoves between October and March; log supplies outside of these months can be purchased locally.

Note: The external spiral staircase to the roof terrace can be slippery in wet weather, however there is an alternative access point via bedroom 3.

Note: The AGA is lit between October and April and can be requested for the summer months during the booking process, though in the summer the kitchen can become quite hot due to the heat from the AGA, so guests may prefer to leave the AGA unlit and use the gas barbecue, four-ring gas hob and microwave as alternatives.

Note: Smoking is permitted outside in the areas provided, including in the small courtyard and on the roof terrace.

Note: The king-size bed is zip/link and can be twin on request.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas