Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

5 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 24 View Image Gallery
  • The Compass - Dorset - 979371 - photo 1
  • The Compass - (Ref. 979371)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.





The Compass

(Ref. 979371)

Swanage, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 2 Guests

  • 1 Bedroom

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets No


  • Off road parking
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • well (24)
  • lovely (24)
  • stay (22)
  • our (22)
  • everything (21)
  • swanage (21)

65 Customer Reviews

  • "Loved the apartment felt very homely will definitely be coming back to stay."

    Welcome gift is a nice touch. Apartment was comfortable, perfect location being in the town centre. We both have felt really chilled and relaxed from our weeks stay.

    Hi Clare, many thanks for the great feedback and it is good to hear you felt at home and had a relaxing stay. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Clare5.0May 2024

  • "The Compass was a fabulous find, a true home from home, so well equipped (the owners have thought of everything) and it has such a lovely welcoming & cosy feel from the moment you walk in & unpack."

    The property is excellently placed for exploring so much of the Jurassic Coast, and there's lots on offer, from steam trains, to castles, to many coastland walks, and beautiful beaches highlighting just a few. We also found some wonderful local restaurants serving fresh & tasty food, welcoming pubs, fish & chips, delicious pastry bakeries with daily deals, and a wonderful local artist who creates brilliant original artwork all in the heart of Swanage. We definitely recommend The Compass as a place to rest a weary head, enjoy the local area, and leave enough to come back again for! :)

    Hi Janene, it was nice to meet you both and we really appreciate the positive feedback. It is very important to us that our guests feel at home when they visit The Compass. Kind regards, Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Janene5.0Apr 2024

  • "Our 3rd visit and we have already booked our 4th."

    The Compass is perfect for our needs. It is very well equipped, is spotlessly clean and has parking. The location, in the centre of Swanage makes it handy for the shops, the beach and as a starting point for some lovely walks. Only one thing to point out, the fridge door seemed to have dropped so was difficult to close and there was no lower shelf in the door for milk etc.

    Hi Kathy, we are delighted that you enjoyed your 3rd stay at The Compass and have booked a 4th. Sorry about the fridge door, I have repaired it so should be ok now. With regards to the lower shelf, so sorry this was missing. Unfortunately it developed a large split which was Sharpe, so we decided to remove it and order a replacement, which has been on order for weeks: they are out of stock, so hope a replacement will be with us shortly. Many thanks Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathy5.0Apr 2024

  • "Our third visit to The Compass and we weren't disappointed."

    Everything you need, a real home from home. Visit number four will be booked soon. Christine and Ken.

    Hi Christine, many thanks for your positive feedback about The Compass following your 3rd visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Mar 2024

  • "Very nice stay, excellent position, virtually in the centre of Swanage."

    Parking is tight but we knew that, luckily car park was quiet. Settee was a little uncomfortable at times but more than made up for by the superb location. We hope to be back.

    Hi Simeon, Many thank for the positive feedback following your stay at The Compass, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit. Sorry to hear that the settee was a little comfortable at times. I will look in to this as we have just had the the bottom cushions refilled. Kind regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simeon4.4Mar 2024

  • "Excellent stay"

    Dear Earle, we are very pleased to see that you had an excellent stay at The Compass. Many thanks for your positive feedback. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Earle5.0Jan 2024

  • "Property needs better insulation."

    Too cold for a winter break even with timed heating. Oven broken, owner advised & may repair. Was unable to access gate to external bins. Had to climb on the wall to dispose of rubbish. Property very well presented and immaculate.

    Dear Ana, It was good to meet you both and we are pleased that you found the property well presented and immaculate. With regards to the heating. This the first time we have had this feedback, as we have had many visitors during the winter months, so I have investigated your concern. It appeared the radiator valves had been turned down which we had note noticed, our apologies for this. I have turned them back up which I think has addressed the issue. Sorry about the problem with the oven. An engineer has inspected the oven and although it was found to be working, but reduced efficiency, we have decided to replace it and have fitted a new one. With regards to the access to the bin area. It would appear all the rain we have had recently has expanded the gate, which has made it stick a little. We have taken some wood of the edge of the gate so this doesn't happen again. Kind regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Anastasia4.1Nov 2023

  • "Another great week at The Compass."

    Our second visit and again it didn't disappoint. Everything you need for a relaxing holiday and a great welcome pack too. Trip number three being booked.

    Dear Christine, We are delighted your second visit to The Compass was a relaxing holiday, and thank you for your positive feedback. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine5.0Oct 2023

  • "Settee not v comfortable."

    Also needed instructions for oven.Well equipped flat.

    Dear Mary, Pleased to hear that you found the flat was well equipped. Also, sorry to hear that you found the sofa uncomfortable, first time we have had this feedback. We have reviewed the settee, and it did appear that the cushions needed to be refilled which we have done. The feedback is much appreciated as it helps us to make sure we are providing the best possible comfort and facilities for our customers. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mary3.8Sep 2023

  • "Lovely apartment in great central location, really clean & tidy with all the facilities you could possibly want, the cake,apples & fresh milk left as a welcome was lovely."

    It was carnival week so could be a little noisy late at night but we have been going to Swanage carnival for many years so we were aware of this & didn’t bother us at all. Fabulous place to stay & we hope to be back again. Thank you both.

    Dear Emma, We really appreciate having such positive feedback and are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Compass. Kind regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma5.0Jul 2023

  • "Fantastic little cottage in a great location just off the high street ."

    Spotless and everything you will need is provided for you by the great owners. Good parking space which is a great plus in swanage ,car didn’t move for a week because everything you need is walking distance away. Great location great food in the pub downstairs I would highly recommend this place

    Dear Paul, Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Compass. Also, thank you for replacing the broken cups, which was very thoughtful and very much appreciated. Kind regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Jul 2023

  • "It was an excellent flat with everything we needed."

    It was comfortable and made our holiday. We would certainly stay there again and thoroughly recommend it.

    Dear Ralph and Jennifer, We are very pleased to receive such positive feedback following your visit to The Compass. It is great to hear that you found our property comfortable which made your holiday. Regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Ralph and Jennifer5.0Jul 2023

  • "Accommodation good."

    Local to all amenities but noisy at night/late evening. Property itself comfortable and all utensils etc of high quality. Loved the holiday feel - pictures ornaments etc depicting local area. Courtyard ok but overlooks car parking area. Made pretty with plants.

    Dear Linda, Thank you for the lovely feedback, very pleased that you liked the holiday feel. Kind regards, Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Linda5.0Jun 2023

  • "Second visit here didn't disappoint."

    Another lovely week in the perfect spot, we'll be back. Thanks

    Dear Trevor, We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to The Compass. We look forward to welcoming you again next year. Kind regards, Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Trevor5.0Jun 2023

  • "Perfect place to stay in Swanage close to the seafront, shops, restaurants and pubs."

    Beautifully presented inside and your own outdoor space for dining or having a drink. We would definitely stay here again.

    Dear Mike, We are really please that you enjoyed your stay at The Compass, thank you for your positive feedback. Kind Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Mike5.0Jun 2023

  • "This is a comfortable and well equipped holiday property in a great location near to the sea and shops."

    There are lots of different holiday experiences nearby including the Swanage railway, Corfe Castle, Durleston to name a few. We are considering a return visit next year as we enjoyed the cottage and area.

    Dear Robert, Many thanks for your lovely feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed the property. Kind regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0May 2023

  • "Our second stay in this lovely flat."

    It is very well equipped and is in a great location. The parking space is a great asset as is the BT Sports package. The welcome pack is a nice touch. We plan to stay again.

    Dear Kathy, We are really pleased that you enjoyed your second visit to The Compass. It is heartwarming to hear the positive feedback, and look forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathy5.0Apr 2023

  • "We both loved our stay better than home from home ."

    We will be re-booking at some point soon

    Dear Antony, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Many thanks for the positive feedback. Kind regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Antony5.0Apr 2023

  • "Lovely, comfortable flat, really enjoyed our stay!"

    Dear Edward, many thanks for your positive feedback, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Tony and Jane. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Mar 2023

  • "This is a little Gem!"

    Extremely clean, with everything you need to enjoy your short break, or longer holiday. Including a very thoughtful welcome gift. A pillow that does not give you neck ache for your entire stay! So good was it I had to look at the make, so that I can get one at the earliest opportunity! There are lots of lovely walks and a really good bus service to Wareham, Poole and Bournemouth. With rail links to further afield. Would I recommend The Compass? You bet I would. Best regards, Robert and Elizabeth Quaile.

    Dear Robert, thank you so much for the lovely feedback. It is very important to us that our guests feel comfortable and welcome at The Compass. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert5.0Mar 2023

  • "We very much appreciated the hosts extra efforts to make the flat very welcoming - especially for the Christmas period."

    Great facilities - well thought-out and organised. We had a lovely time, thank you!

    Thank you so much for great feedback. We are very please you enjoyed your stay at The Compass. It is nice to have positive comments about the facilities, it makes it all worthwhile. Regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Chris5.0Dec 2022

  • "Rubbish place"

    We are disappointed to receive this feedback without any specific examples, as this would enable us to address any concerns. We have received so much positive feedback over the years with guests scoring The Compass as Excellent and outstanding, and have maintained an overall score of 4.9/5, hence the reason we are disappointed to receive this feedback. Our guests have also made some wonderful comments in the guest book, and left thank you cards and gifts as they have enjoyed staying at the property. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Peter1.3Oct 2022

  • "The Compass is a lovely place to stay."

    We were visiting Swanage for the Carnival so staying so centrally was fantastic. The flat is really well equipped, is comfortable and cosy, and served us really well. The welcome gifts were a very nice (and tasty) touch too. We had the pleasure of bumping into the owners who were both very friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay here again.

    Dear Simon, Many thanks for your lovely comments about our apartment. It is really appreciated and pleasing to know that our property is comfortable and cosy for our guests. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Jul 2022

  • "Enjoyed our two weeks, loved the property, would have liked a tv in the bedroom ,"

    Hi Stephen, We are very pleased that you had an enjoyable holiday in Swanage and loved our apartment. We have noted you comment regarding a TV in the bedroom, and will consider how best we can approach this, to ensure the installation is to standard and cost effective. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Stephen4.4Jun 2022

  • "We have family in Swanage and visit regularly, trying out various properties."

    From now on we will be booking The Compass every time. What a find. The location is perfect! Right in the middle of town and a two minute walk to the beach. We thought it may be a little noisy but the bedroom is at the back, overlooking a shared patio area, so sleeping was not a problem. Small dishwasher, washing machine, a fully equipped and perfect sized kitchen. Including complimentary tea, coffee, milk, cake, biscuits and fruit on arrival. Large walk in shower. Nicely decorated, cosy and comfortable. For the two of us this accommodation was spot on and we fully recommend it...

    Hi Karen, Many thanks for your lovely comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your trip to Swanage and our apartment. Kind regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Karen5.0Jun 2022

  • "We had a lovely week in this delightful flat."

    It had all we needed especially parking and was in a great central location close to shops, pubs, restaurants and the sea front. The BT Sport package was an added bonus. And we really appreciated the goodies in the welcome pack. We would definitely stay here again.

    Dear Kath, Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay at The Compass, it is really appreciated. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Kathy5.0Apr 2022

  • "Such a fantastic cottage!"

    Immaculately clean, and kitted out. We were left some snacks on arrival, and a pint of milk - which was lovely! Everything was thought out and I couldn't fault a thing! Location was perfect.

    Dear Hannah, Many thanks for the great feedback, it is very much appreciated. It was nice to meet you, also thank you for the lovely comments you wrote in the guest book. Regards Jane an Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Hannah5.0Apr 2022

  • "Lovely setting, everything you need for a holiday and well resourced - everything needed available and little extras appreciated."

    Layout in seating area cramped might be better rearranging to other side of breakfast bar and putting screen elsewhere?

    Dear Jan, We are pleased to hear that you had everything you needed for your stay. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jan5.0Apr 2022

  • "This is a great apartment !"

    We really enjoyed our stay. It is right in the centre of Swanage and very convenient for everywhere.

    Dear Neville, Many thanks for such positive feedback, it is always pleasing to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. Regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Neville4.7Mar 2022

  • "Beautiful accommodation very tastefully decorated and everything you needed for a break away."

    Only downside was the parking which was very snug for our car.

    Dear Diane, Many thanks for your positive feedback, it is great to know that you liked the decor and that you had everything you needed. Kind regards. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Diane5.0Mar 2022

  • "We were greeted by apples, milk, biscuits, tea coffee, daffodils and, oh yes."

    ..lemon drizzle cake! What a lovely touch. Snug and cosy, perfectly placed in Swanage.

    Dear David, It is lovely to know that the welcome goodies were appreciated, and we are pleased that you found the flat snug and cosy. Kind regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by David5.0Feb 2022

  • "A delightful property."

    Everything thought of, Such helpful hosts, their kindness much appreciated. Fabulous location and the parking spot a bonus. Would highly recommend this accommodation, ideal for exploring the wonderful villages, coastal areas and walking opportunities are plentiful. Would love to stay again.

    Dear Helen, It was nice to meet you, and we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our apartment. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Jan 2022

  • "Lovely comfortable and clean apartment."

    Right across the street from the beach and lots of places to eat or get takeaways. The hosts were friendly and very helpful. I would gladly stay here again. Tea, coffee and milk were supplied to get started, as well as some treats. Nothing negative to say about this property.

    Dear Yvonne, many thanks for the positive feedback you have given our apartment. It was nice to meet you, and thank you for leaving the property so clean and tidy, we are most grateful. Kind regards, Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Yvonne5.0Dec 2021

  • "We had a lovely pre-Christmas week here."

    Spotlessly clean with everything one could wish for in holiday accommodation. Everything was good quality, unlike some places we've stayed at where the impression is that mis-matched crockery and cutlery (for example) is acceptable The Christmas decorations, mince pies, fruit and biscuits were a lovely touch too! It's an excellent position within the town with everything within easy reach.

    Dear Carol, we would like to thank you for your positive comments about our apartment, and we are really pleased you had a lovely pre-Christmas week. Kind regards, Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Carol5.0Dec 2021

  • "Well positioned in centre of town nothing( pier/ sea front/ restaurants) more than a few minutes away."

    well served by late opening supermarket. compass flat was spotless with everything you could need for home from home stay. plus treats and milk left for that arrival cup of tea . no issues with parking space just need to be sensible when getting in. no noise from local pubs etc . been coming to Swanage for many years b&b/caravans/ hotels . would we stay her again of course it's quite a little gem .

    Dear Allan, thank you for your positive comments regarding your stay in our flat and your visit to Swanage. Best regards Jane and Tony. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Allan5.0Oct 2021

  • "Very comfortable and well equipped cottage."

    Supplies and treats provided for us were a very nice touch. Excellent central location and great to have a parking space. The only small downside was having the pub so close by - evenings at the weekend were particularly noisy. Also, the outdoor space is in a shared area so no privacy when sitting outside.

    Reviewed by Anthony4.7Aug 2021

  • "Very comfortable apartment with everything we needed."

    Excellent bed - super comfortable mattress! The one drawback is that the designated outside seating area is disappointing; right on top of the noisy pub area, with no sun umbrella, so we didn't use it at all. Extremely well located for all the delights of Swanage in easy walking distance.

    Dear Andrew, we would like to thank you for your positive comments about your stay at our apartment. Sorry to hear you found the sitting area a little noisy. Good point regarding the sun umbrella, which we purchased as soon as we received your feedback, which is now positioned with the table and chairs. Kind regards Jane and Tony Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julie4.4Jun 2021

  • "We originally booked this holiday in May but we had hassle over paying the remainder."

    We were told we had lost our deposit and the holiday had been cancelled, even though we had an email saying we had paid. We had to rebook for the next week and pay a fee, the whole booking process caused us stress and upset. We were made to feel that it was our fault that Sykes had not processed the payment

    Reviewed by D5.0Sep 2020

  • "Fantastic apartment in a perfect location."

    It has everything you could possibly need. From a cleanliness perspective it was immaculate. We knew when we booked that our car would probably be too big for the allocated space, which it was, but there it plenty of free street parking just around the corner. We only had 2 nights as that was all that was available at such short notice but would love to return for longer next time.

    Reviewed by Frances5.0Aug 2020

  • "Just the little touches of leaving cake and fruit - makes the whole stay perfect."

    Very impressed with the measures put in for Covid. Well done, all involved

    Reviewed by Mark5.0Aug 2020

  • "Everything we could possibly have required was there."

    The flat felt spacious, light and airy and was centrally placed in the town so that we only used our car once all week. We had an enjoyable week and wold definitely recommend the apartment to others. Thank you to our hosts for all the little extras.

    Reviewed by Georgina5.0Mar 2020

  • "Great place to stay for the Swanage Blues Festival."

    We’ll be back.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Mar 2020

  • "I couldn’t fault anything about the place; the owners had thought of everything."

    We had a wonderful few days so thank you very much. X

    Reviewed by Keith5.0Feb 2020

  • "All very good this was the first time renting a cottage as we use our touring ..."

    All very good this was the first time renting a cottage as we use our touring caravan most of the time we were shocked as it was Christmas eve even the little things like cooking foil and shrink wrap was there but we did take our own in case all we can say it was a well earned break away from home I have never slept so much recommend 100 % away from phone and work

    Reviewed by James5.0Dec 2019

  • "The Compass is a perfect bijou flat for two."

    It is centrally located in Swanage. We enjoyed walking, mainly along coastal paths. There are plenty of eating and drinking places around, many in walking distance. Otherwise there are supermarkets and bakers close. The flat was very clean and comfortable. The owners have an eye for decor and have thought of many little ‘extras’ that are appreciated. Can recommend this property.

    Reviewed by Sally4.7Nov 2019

  • "Lovely apartment would definitely stay again"

    Reviewed by Nicholas5.0Oct 2019

  • "We stayed in The Compass to attend the Swanage Blues Festival."

    The location is ideal; it's very close to the centre so it's easy to get to all the venues. Car parking space is adequate, but a little tight. The Compass has everything we want for a stay in Swanage, and more. We have booked up again.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Oct 2019

  • "Lovely apartment spotlessly clean very well equipped even down to providing foil for our sandwiches welcome goodies much appreciated after a long journey parking place looked tight at first glance but following instructions given on how to park found no problems."

    Location perfect swanage is a lovely place within walking distance of old harry rocks and other stunning coastal views thanks for a fantastic holiday

    Reviewed by Sarah5.0Sep 2019

  • "We had a very good holiday but with the apartment being in the middle of town it could be quite noisy at times (particularly during carnival week)."

    I found the parking space adequate and quite easy to get into providing you reversed into the court yard. Reversing into the court yard also made it very easy to get out of again? But it is a good idea to have someone on the road to warn you of approaching traffic as it is difficult to see approaching vehicles.

    Reviewed by Colin4.4Jul 2019

  • "It's a lovely little flat, quiet, comfortable and so close to the beach."

    We had a very good holiday. No complaints at all.

    Reviewed by Ray5.0Jul 2019

  • "Apartment is in an excellent location for a stroll or to go further afield."

    The chippy was open morning to late evening and was always packed! The apartment was very well equipped and was ideal for our needs. We would have liked a bigger bed but was still very comfortable. It was lovely to have an outside space but the chairs could have done with a cushion. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Reviewed by Jill5.0Jun 2019

  • "The location was very convenient, near to local amenities, a welcome food package was waiting for us which was appreciated."

    The apartment was lovely and fresh, nicely decorated with seaside themes all around. The bed was comfy and we slept very well. There was plenty of local leaflets and information which helped us plan our time. The only downside was the small parking space but we knew about that so took our smaller car.

    Reviewed by Susan5.0Jun 2019

  • "A very nice apartment in an excellent location."

    We will be back.

    Reviewed by Ian5.0May 2019

  • "Cannot fault the apartment ."

    The personal touches in the apartment meant a lot. Swanage its self is wonderful & the surrounding area. We will certainly be back

    Reviewed by Leonard5.0May 2019

  • "Really enjoyed our stay here."

    Would recommend. Lovely area. Very cosy apartment. Parking was very tight - only negative.

    Reviewed by Halina4.7Apr 2019

  • "The flat was excellent, well situated and presented."

    The owners had gone the extra mile by providing us with a welcome pack of milk, cake,fruit and biscuits plus high quality and sustainable toiletries and cleaning products. There was a comprehensive list of up to date places to see and and activities in the area which enabled us to fully enjoy the surrounding towns and countryside. Thank you for a great holiday experience.

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Mar 2019

  • "Having such a comfortable and relaxing space right in the centre of the action - The Swanage Blues Festival - made the festival even more enjoyable."

    The flat was beautiful and (more than) everything you could ever need was supplied.

    Reviewed by Edward5.0Feb 2019

  • "Well appointed flat,suitable place to explore the area handy for all amenities."

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Feb 2019

  • "Very comfy flat and well resourced."

    Everything worked perfectly and loved the decoration. Looking forward to visiting again.

    Reviewed by Kevin4.7Jan 2019

  • "The apartment was absolutely fantastic, with everything you needed ."

    The welcoming treats of cake and fruit etc were a lovely touch. It was just lovely to be able to park the car and not have to worry about it, parking at the seaside is usually limited. Swanage is a lovely town and I would definitely recommend this apartment to my friends and family.

    Reviewed by Simon5.0Nov 2018

  • "Great little flat!"

    The parking would be on the tight side if you have a big car. Convenient for the town and for exploring the Jurassic coast along the South West Coastal Path. Really enjoyed our break and the owners were really helpful. I would recommend a visit!

    Reviewed by Judy4.7Oct 2018

  • "The expected car parking space at the property was A JOKE!"

    Room to park our car only if we didn't mind blocking the exit/entrance for all other residents or risking getting our car scraped or worse.Our allotted space was big enough for a moped or 2 bicycles or a Mini at best. Usual palaver with temperature controls on shower & very patchy TV reception...but neither insuperable or terminal ...par for the course in a holiday let! Flat was well furnished,well maintained & SUPER location.Shops,pubs,sea/beach/seafront & other amenities all within minutes of leaving the flat.Very hard to find such a lovely location with such welcoming locals. How did Sykes manage to arrange the weather? Despite difficulties with car parking....will almost certainly advise friends to visit.

    Reviewed by Michael4.4Oct 2018

  • "A beautiful flat."

    The owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Tea, cakes and milk were waiting for us when we arrived. Everything looked new as if we were the first visitors. An excellent experience.

    Reviewed by Raymond5.0Oct 2018

  • "Lovely flat close to town and beach, very well appointed."

    We parked the car and didn’t need to use it for the duration of our holiday as Swanage has plenty going on even in October it truly is a great place to visit.

    Reviewed by Thomas4.7Oct 2018

  • "Super romantic my and me partner loved the flat and the location."

    Reviewed by Gaston5.0Sep 2018

Show more Hide all


  • All first floor
  • 1 x double
  • Shower room with shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living room with kitchen, dining area and sitting area
  • Gas heating
  • Gas oven and hob, fridge, dishwasher, washing machine, TV with BT Sports package, WiFi
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Off-road parking for one car (Ideal for medium family size cars and SUVs)
  • Designated dining space outside
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 2 mins walk
  • Note - The allocated car parking space can be tight for larger cars.

The property

The Compass is a stylish one-bedroom flat in a character Grade II listed building perfectly placed in the heart of vibrant and bustling Swanage, with access to shops cafes and restaurants, straight from the doorstep. This cosy apartment is ideal for two and is set within a pleasant courtyard, part of a contemporary conversion of the towns' Ship Hotel including accommodation known as 'Chandlers', The Ship Inn & restaurant.

 Situated just a short walk from the Stone Quay, Victorian Pier & sandy beach it offers a private parking space and a designated outdoor dining area, on a communal patio space, where you can enjoy breakfast in the sun.

From your allocated parking space, you head up a flight of steps to the raised patio and enter the building through the communal entrance and head up a flight of stairs to your own private interior, wonderfully appointed with a fully fitted kitchen, breakfast area and sitting area. Relax on the sofa and enjoy a spot of relaxation accompanied by a film or sports game on TV. Take a refreshing shower each morning or evening and rejuvenate within a modern, tiled surround complete with contemporary colour schemes and considered lighting. Next to the bathroom is the bedroom, which offers a light and airy feel with ample storage to keep all your holiday essentials. There is even a pull-out bed for those travelling with a child. It only takes a few minutes to walk to the seafront, which boasts lovely, golden sands set in a sheltered bay perfect for taking a dip in the waters of this Blue Flag Beach. The stunning coastline has many attractions; Corfe Castle is only a short drive away or perhaps you might like to experience a train ride on the local Vintage Steam Railway. Walk the long sandy beaches of Studland Bay and perhaps take the chain ferry over to Poole and Sandbanks. The local countryside is a walkers' paradise perfect for nature lovers and dotted with pretty villages to discover. This well-appointed flat provides the ideal base for couples and families to relax, explore and enjoy the beautiful Jurassic coast.

View on map

About the location


Wareham 9.7 miles; Poole 20 miles.

The small, family-friendly seaside resort of Swanage is situated at the eastern end of Dorset’s famous Jurassic Coast, on the celebrated Isle of Purbeck and is probably best known for its wonderful, gently shelving golden sands. The little town offers visitors plenty of shops, good pubs and restaurants, some of which specialise in locally caught seafood, and is also well known for its annual jazz festival, which takes place each July. The attractive, Victorian wooden pier offers a great place for a stroll or try fishing, and often used a departure point for divers, it’s a wonderful place to watch the world pass by. The historic Swanage Railway has its terminus in the town and regular nostalgic steam engine trips take tourists for a picturesque 6-mile journey, chugging through lovely countryside to stop just beyond the romantic ruin of Corfe Castle. Nearby Durlston Country Park offers a lovely day out with spectacular coastal walks, dolphin spotting and wildlife watching, together with comfortable viewing points and a well-stocked cafe for a treat after all the fresh air. Take the short drive to Studland, which has one of the finest beaches in the country, surrounded by heathland, together with the regular chain ferry, which crosses the mouth of Poole Harbour to Sandbanks. This truly is a delightful holiday destination at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Swanage

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas