Flash Summer Sale
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

17 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 18 View Image Gallery
  • Poppy Cottage - Dorset - 1072835 - photo 1

Poppy Cottage

(Ref. 1072835)

Swanage, Dorset Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Dishwasher
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • cottage (16)
  • no (10)
  • our (8)
  • kitchen (8)
  • shower (8)
  • bed (8)

18 Customer Reviews

  • "Nice little cottage and perfect for our long weekend stay for four adults and a baby."

    Small but more spacious than I was expecting given some of the reviews. Had everything we needed. Only suggestion would be to get bed sheets that fit the thick mattress properly as they kept coming off overnight

    Reviewed by Thomas3.8Mar 2024

  • "Lovely, peaceful little cottage, comfortable bed, sweet garden perfect for the dog, the kitchen and shower are a challenge, very small, but we managed, and had enough kitchen equipment to make some tasty dinners."

    Good location, a quick walk to town and the beach. A good option if on a lower budget. We enjoyed our time there.

    Reviewed by Shirley3.8Oct 2023

  • "Swanage was lovely but unfortunately Poppy cottage did not meet our needs at all."

    I stayed in the double bed which was extremely comfortable, however my mother stayed in the twin bedroom & had to remove the duvet from one bed so she could lie on it as the mattress was so uncomfortable, the springs were jutting out so much, they are obviously old and need replacing. I am almost certain that the description did not state a downstairs bathroom (though looks to have been updated since) & there was absolutely no indication of the fridge being in a cupboard under the stairs, I definitely would not have booked. The configuration is all wrong & the term "swing a cat" comes to mind. I actually think we ought to be reimberesd the service charge as I actually removed cobwebs from the windows, wiped down the limited work surface & washed cutlery/crockery before use. It is fortunate that neither of us needed the cooker as there was a 'fat' filled baking tray inside the oven. Also, as the front door doesn't appear to be used often, dirt/dust is building up, & the furniture needs moving regularly to dust underneath. I will not be recommending dream cottages if this is the standard that you find acceptable.

    Reviewed by Tracy1.6Sep 2023

  • "Just enjoyed a lovely week at Poppy Cottage."

    It was everything we expected including the steep stairs and tiny kitchen! The location was perfect for two of us plus dog. Garden front and back was a bonus and the bed was very comfy. Will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Sep 2023

  • "Very very disappointed ."

    . After being a Sykes customer for many many years over 20 this will be the last time I will be !!!!! Poppy cottage let us down badly Tuesday evening 8pm we were left in the dark for 4 hours using just the torch on our phones .. Wednesday morning No Hot Water unable to get a shower and stuck in until 1pm missing our booked day trip …Thursday morning awoke to find the electric had gone off AGAIN We then decided to make our way home a day early We have made contact with Sykes everyday since to request some form of compensation for our spoiled holiday Totally dissatisfied with the service and the response of a measly £50.00 offered and told by Sykes that they are just the agents and no refund can be offered by them just the property owner whom we are not allowed.the details of to speak directly to ?????.. What a disgrace I feel totally let down £750 paid for a holiday that was stressful and cut short We are two ladies that have never needed to complain before and are only asking to be treated fairly £50.00 is an insult

    Thank you for your feedback. I have been in touch with the electricity company and they apologise for the power cuts which four roads in Swanage experienced while you were staying there. I apologise too as it was something I could not control either. It was just unfortunate this happened whilst you were there. To demand a refund off me is quite absurd. There is a torch in the bedside cabinet for situations such as this. It’s a shame you didn’t explain why you had to wait til 1pm on Wednesday. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Christine2.2Aug 2023

  • "This could be a lovely holiday home but the downstairs is very poorly fitted."

    The wall and door under the stairs is a poor diy bodge as are the shelves in the front room. Not being able to use the front door was quite inconvenient and the shower was difficult to use as raising your arms ment hitting your elbows on the walls. The stairs are steep as explained in the description but with the very thick carpet they where pretty dangerous. Overall it is a quaint cottage but a deep clean is needed.

    Reviewed by Alister2.5Aug 2023

  • "We had a very pleasant stay at Poppy Cottage."

    It’s easily accessible and within a short walk of the beach, bus & train station. Parking is in short supply but we came by public transport so wasn’t an issue. We enjoyed eating breakfast and afternoon tea on the patio. The house is nicely decorated and has a cottage feel to it. The kitchen is well equipped but we tended to eat out at night. It was also fairly quiet. Thank you.

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jacobina3.8Jun 2023

  • "We expected the cottage to be small as we had stayed in a similar property before."

    The kitchen was a great disappointment. Even making breakfast was a challenge, the toaster only had one setting.. to burn everything. Having the fridge and microwave in the cupboard under the stairs was not good, and there was no worktop space to prepare any food. The shower was also too small, anyone over my 5 foot height would struggle. When we arrived the pressure in the boiler had fallen and there was no hot water, we managed to fill it, I did report it and hope the boiler was checked before the next occupant. We would not recommend the cottage because of the poor facilities in the kitchen and the size of the shower.

    Reviewed by David2.8May 2023

  • "Really enjoyed our stay the property was very cute and had a lot of character ..."

    Really enjoyed our stay the property was very cute and had a lot of character cleanliness was a slight issue as there was a lot of black hairs on the floor in the beds and stuck to the shower walls but apart from that it was fine

    Reviewed by Jake3.8Mar 2023

  • "Property was smaller than expected."

    Kitchen was extremely small and cramped especially having back door right in the small space. Dining area was cramped with an overload of armchairs. Stairs were extremely steep and felt only safe crawling up as there was only one rail. Also bathroom tiny and a long way if you needed to use the toilet at night time. .

    I’m sorry you found our cottage too small for you. The photos are very accurate and give a good impression of it’s size. The bathroom is on the ground floor as is normal in houses of this age. Also yes the stairs are steep which has been mentioned lots in previous feedback. Thank you for reviewing, I trust everything else was to the standard you expect.’ Property Owner

    Reviewed by Pauline3.1Aug 2022

  • "The property was very clean but it desperately needs some TLC especially the bathroom and kitchen which are very tired looking."

    There is barely any cutlery and tableware and what there is available is stained and needs updating. The shower head needs replacing as it is blocked too and the TV is tiny. The location was perfect and the courtyard garden is beautiful. All in all the cottage was satisfactory and we had a great holiday, it just needs a little investment. Thanks

    Thank you for your review. We have made checks at the cottage and agree that more cutlery and wine glasses were needed as they seem to go astray. This has now been rectified. The shower head now flows freely. There are plenty of crockery and pots and pans for 4 people. This is a 300 year old cottage and is in good condition. The paint work is fresh and it looks exactly as it does in the photos. Yes the stairs are steep and there isn’t room for a large screen but that can’t be helped. We are so pleased you like the new courtyard garden and that you enjoyed your holiday in Swanage. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Nicole2.8Aug 2022

  • "Really enjoyed our stay at Poppy Cottage, very comfy beds and sofa etc."

    Lovely courtyard area and spotlessly clean. It was great to be so close to Swanage town yet in a peaceful location. Lots of charm to the cottage and felt very relaxing. Thank you for providing us with a very enjoyable stay! (Just one thing - Would be good to have a clothes airer to dry off beach stuff.)

    Thank you for your lovely feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage. Thank you for suggesting an airer. That is one thing we overlooked, although there is a pull out washing line in the garden Property Owner

    Reviewed by Julia4.4Jul 2022

  • "We did so wish that a toaster had been provided as we couldn't find one anywhere."

    Also we couldn't get the oven to turn on. Does it work? - perhaps an explanation of how to work the oven is needed in the notes in the folder? The stairs are very steep and the steps are not very wide so an element of care is needed going up and down the stairs. There's a rail to hold onto, but only on one side. You might feel rather precarious if you had mobility problems. Apart from these few moans, we really liked Poppy Cottage and had a delightful few days there. The beds are wonderfully comfortable!

    Reviewed by Linnet4.7Jun 2022

  • "Poppy Cottage was just as we expected ."

    We knew there would be street parking , but didn't expect it to be so difficult . The shed in the garden would have to be sacrificed to provide parking ?

    Reviewed by Terry3.4May 2022

  • "We enjoyed our stay."

    . Lovely propety. Comfortable and great sun trap in the garden space and lots of room for the dog. The toilet being downstairs wasnt ideal but thats the nature of an old cottage. For improvements I think it would make a huge difference to provide some basics. Extra Tea towels. 1 is not enough for a week. More loo rolls, a few cleaning products, dish cloths, kitchen roll.

    Reviewed by Beth4.4Mar 2022

  • "Pretty little cottage, 5 minute walk into Swanage."

    Very cosy and warm. Everything included. Enjoyed our weeks stay. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Natalie4.7Oct 2021

  • "Yes after reading all the information on line I wasn't shocked about the steep stairs as it's a very old cottage but it did give me vertigo feelings when we first arrived I must say."

    Cottage is small but cosy. When we used the shower it went all over the floor as I think the curtain isn't long enough . We couldn't between us work out how to start the dishwasher so had to then unload and wash by hand. I would say the parking is the biggest issue , as when we found the property after circling round a few times a space became available only by chance and we didn't move the car whilst we stayed as goodness knows where we would have parked. I know the houses were built before cars .

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Oct 2021

  • "Poppy cottage is a lovely place to stay in Swanage."

    Generally the accommodation is good, very comfortable bed, lovely sitting room, the kitchen is small but adequate. The shower is very very small and I would not agree with the description as a walk in shower, my husband is over six feet tall and it’s a struggle to turn around in it. As the cottage is located high up off the high street we did struggle to find it at first. I think it would be better to tell guests to access the property off Priests Road as u can then unload there before finding a parking space. Would definitely recommend this cottage and the staff at Sykes cottage were very helpful.

    Reviewed by Regina3.4Sep 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Dream Cottages collection.
Over 350 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x twin
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Sitting room with woodburning stove
  • Central heating
  • Electric oven and hob, dishwasher, fridge, microwave, TV and WiFi
  • Starter logs are provided and then guests will need to source their own
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking on a first-come, first-serve basis
  • Enclosed rear patio with furniture
  • One well behaved dog welcome, charge of £21 per pet per week
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.2 miles, pub 0.1 miles, beach 0.5 miles

The property

Enjoying a wonderful position at the eastern end of the Jurassic Coast, amidst the hustle and bustle of Swanage is the quaint, terraced property, Poppy Cottage.

This charming retreat is perfect for a small family or group of friends seeking a base in which to call home as they explore the dramatic beauty of the Jurassic Coast and the plethora of things to do within the area.

Enter the cottage and be welcomed into the real home from home sitting room, where the character exudes from the exposed stone-built fireplace, housing a charming woodboring stove.

Look forward to snuggling down on a winter’s evening as you tune into the TV and catch up on your favourite shows or become captivated in that good book that you have been meaning to read for so long.

Move through the property and head into the kitchen, where you can rustle up some tasty dishes to be enjoyed at the dining table whilst you plan your holiday days ahead.

On the ground floor you find a shower room to freshen up in with walk-in shower, basin and WC.

When sleep calls, make your way upstairs where you will find a choice of two bedrooms; a double and a twin, which will be a well-deserved rest after a busy day exploring the local area.

Step outside onto the patio area, complete with table and chairs, where you can sit and relax in the warmer months and your canine companion can let off some energy.

Head into the centre of Swanage, where you will be delighted to find independent butchers, bakers, fishmongers, farm shops and supermarkets, accompanied by a range of pubs for that well-deserved pint or fine dining restaurants to sample freshly caught seafood.

If you are visiting during Regatta and Carnival Week, look forward to the lively atmosphere of a Caribbean-style event with dancing, music, and spectacular fireworks.

Attractions from the cottage includes the Swanage Railway, where you can hop on board a stream train, taking you through the beautiful Purbeck countryside and past Corfe Castle and back to the sandy beach of Swanage.

Stroll the characterful pier of Swanage before you soak up the sunshine at the beach or uncover the town’s past at the museum to gain an insight of the dinosaurs that once walked the Jurassic Coast.

Head out of town to discover more of the Jurassic Coast, recognised by the UNESCO for its outstanding geology, offering spectacular cliff top walks to discover the geology of 185 million years and breath-taking coastal views.

With both coast and countryside of Dorset awaiting to be discovered, Poppy Cottage is the perfect place to bring your loved ones to at any time of the year.

View on map

About the location


Wareham 9.7 miles; Poole 20 miles.

The small, family-friendly seaside resort of Swanage is situated at the eastern end of Dorset’s famous Jurassic Coast, on the celebrated Isle of Purbeck and is probably best known for its wonderful, gently shelving golden sands. The little town offers visitors plenty of shops, good pubs and restaurants, some of which specialise in locally caught seafood, and is also well known for its annual jazz festival, which takes place each July. The attractive, Victorian wooden pier offers a great place for a stroll or try fishing, and often used a departure point for divers, it’s a wonderful place to watch the world pass by. The historic Swanage Railway has its terminus in the town and regular nostalgic steam engine trips take tourists for a picturesque 6-mile journey, chugging through lovely countryside to stop just beyond the romantic ruin of Corfe Castle. Nearby Durlston Country Park offers a lovely day out with spectacular coastal walks, dolphin spotting and wildlife watching, together with comfortable viewing points and a well-stocked cafe for a treat after all the fresh air. Take the short drive to Studland, which has one of the finest beaches in the country, surrounded by heathland, together with the regular chain ferry, which crosses the mouth of Poole Harbour to Sandbanks. This truly is a delightful holiday destination at any time of the year.

View more holiday cottages in Swanage

Please note: The stairs leading up to the first floor are quite steep - please take care.
The kitchen at this property is compact. There is no washing machine or freezer and the fridge and microwave are located in a cupboard in the dining room.
The windows in the sitting room do not open.
The bathroom is located on the ground floor.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas