4.3★ Sykes rating 4 Guests 2 Bedrooms 1 Bathroom Pets No Features Off road parking Garden / Patio Pub/shop < 1 mile Washing machine Broadband / WiFi Reviews & Ratings Accuracy of the listing Cleanliness Comfort Facilities and Maintenance Search All reviews house (18) clean (16) wells (15) location (15) comfortable (15) lovely (13) 40 Customer Reviews "Excellent location." Comfortable and well equipped property. We enjoyed our visit. Reviewed by Linda5.0★Nov 2023 "Very disappointing." Thought the fridge wasn’t chilling because it was turned down to minimum when we arrived, so turned up to max so we could store our food safely. Next morning fridge was still not even cold so alerted owner who decided to try and get it repaired. No chance of that so eventually after 3 days without a fridge a new one was delivered and all during one of the hottest weeks of the year!! Also couldn’t use the outdoor table and chairs as covered in rust and garden is still full of weeds - not a pretty sight. Also settee hasn’t been replaced as promised in previous reviews- it’s covered in a cheap looking stretch cover. Photos need updating at this property for sure. We are sorry that you felt it necessary to leave such a poor review. We do not think you are being entirely fair. When you told us at the weekend that the fridge (which had been working perfectly up to and including the week before) was faulty, we immediately arranged for an engineer to come out and see to it. When he told us that it was in fact broken (not something anyone could have foreseen) we ordered a new one, phoning around to find a company that could deliver it within 24 hours. Throughout this process we kept you well informed, and you did not complain. We did our absolute best to rectify the problem in all haste. We are sorry you were not happy with the new sofa cover. The garden clearly needs attention and we will go over to see to this. Property Owner Reviewed by Julie2.8★Sep 2023 "Clean, well equipped cottage." Beds fine but oversized, sofa and chairs not very comfortable for us tall people. Quiet fairly central position. Outside space let it down with weeds growing front and back, peeling paint around front door. Back gate rusted in so carried luggage etc in heavy rain around to front. After that parked at front. Not of standard we have experienced before. Thank you for leaving feedback. I’m very sorry to hear about the gate and the weeds. We will go and sort these things out. Property Owner Reviewed by Kate3.1★Jul 2023 "We had a lovely stay at the Saplings very comfortable well equipped kitchen and so close to the centre of Wells City." Somerset's countryside is beautiful and it has so many lovely places to visit. Wells is the perfect place as it is so central. Reviewed by Julie5.0★May 2023 "A lovely house in an excellent location." Easy walking distance to the city centre. Very quiet residential neighbourhood. Good parking. House facilities everything you need. Thank you for your nice feedback. We too find the neighbourhood so peaceful every time we go there. We’re glad you had a happy stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Alison4.7★Apr 2023 "The house was fine." And it had everything you would need for the week. Beds were comfortable. (But there were no pillow protectors)The kitchen was well equipped but I had to wash everything (ie plates and cutlery ) because they were dirty. The lounge was comfortable but the sofa was badly stained. I am sorry to mention all of this but I feel the house was not up to Sykes cottages standards. I have used Sykes for the past 10 years and all the properties have been of high standard. I am genuinely sorry to hear this. We always stipulate pillow protectors to our team of cleaners and apologise that they were remiss on this. You are absolutely right that the sofa has been badly stained by tenants and we need to replace this which we will do. We are also shocked to hear that the plates and cutlery were not put back pristine; sadly, we are dependent on the good habits of tenants for this particular issue (and have not had this complaint before). We are always grateful for feedback and will certainly act on this to raise the standards to its previous level. Property Owner Reviewed by Pauline3.1★Mar 2023 "Excellent location for touring surrounding area." Good off road parking for one car. The house is generally in need of refurbishment. External woodwork at door is flaking. Internal walls are ready for painting. Sofa is stained. House is advertised as accommodating 4 guests. This is true but if guests are adult, conditions would be cramped as the house is quite compact. Perhaps it is best suited for a couple with 2 very young children. Patio / garden at rear is a mess - but it is winter and we didn't require to sit out. Thank you for taking the trouble to provide feedback. We too are aware that the external woodwork at the door needs redoing and are just waiting for better weather in order that the wood is dry for rubbing down and repainting, so please bear with us on this. You are right that the sofa has been badly stained by guests, and we will be replacing it. On the advertising of the house as accommodating four guests, the advertisement clearly stipulates two double bedrooms. And the garden is less attractive in winter, but we hope it was not disagreeably so. However, we will attend to prune back the roses and tidy the little beds. The garden is one of the main attractions for us! Property Owner Reviewed by Christopher4.4★Dec 2022 "An excellent location just a few minutes walk from the centre of Wells, ideal for exploring and visiting the beautiful towns, villages, NT & EH properties around the area." The property is clean, comfortable and has everything needed for a short or extended stay. Happy to recommend. Thank you very much for your Feedback. It is always helpful in alerting us to anything not up to our usual standard, but we are pleased that you found it ideal. Property Owner Reviewed by Peter4.4★Sep 2022 "Lovely place to stay." It was clean and a very comfortable. And we had everything we needed for a lovely birthday break. Thanks. We are so glad that you had a happy stay. Thank you for your feedback. Property Owner Reviewed by Lisa4.7★Jul 2022 "The location was very good, the parking was useful too." Unfortunately, the sofa was uncomfortable, stained and smelly, the cushions need cleaning too. The two small armless chairs were not suitable. The mattress in the front bedroom was due for replacement. The attention to detail was lacking. Needs some TLC. Thank you for your feedback. Whilst we agree that the sofa is due for replacement (having been perfect when we put it in!) we have never before had complaints that the two small chairs are unsuitable or that a mattress needed replacing. We will, however, do a close inspection and make some improvements as we never wish anyone to feel that the standard is less than ideal. Property Owner Reviewed by Diana2.5★Jun 2022 "Beautiful cottage within walking distance of Wells Cathedral." Very well situated to explore Somerset. We had the most enjoyable holiday. Many thanks for your positive feedback and thank you for taking the trouble to write. We are delighted that you had a lovely holiday. Property Owner Reviewed by Shona5.0★May 2022 "Location to Wells very good." Property on the inside clean, on the outside windows and sills very dirty patio garden full of weeds ,patio furniture removed two days before we arrived so could not sit or eat outside.No hot water when we arrived took a neighbour of the owner to come round and get it started.Unable to put dvd on as only one plug for tv. Linen could do with renewing.Single beds matteress so uncomfortable I had to put duvet cover over it to stop the springs digging in me they need replacing. I’m very glad to have the opportunity to respond to this feedback from this tenant, Many of whose complaints were exaggerated and unfounded from the start. First of all, we wrote to the tenant on the Monday before her Saturday arrival, explaining that the metal table and garden chairs had been removed from the property (well more than a week before her arrival) so that we could have them stripped down and repainted as they had got rather tatty (to quote my email “please forgive the fact that the little metal garden table and chairs are not there at the moment – we collected them and brought them home to get them rubbed down and repainted”). This gave her plenty of time to Complain or raise the issue either direct with myself or via the letting company had she chosen to do so - which she did not. It was disappointing that the hot water was not functioning on arrival but we got our very friendly neighbour who keeps an eye on the house to pop round very promptly and flick a switch which had been depressed – So it should be seen as a quick solution, rather than a problem, that the neighbour came to sort it out. The DVD ‘problem’ by the tenants own acknowledgement was simply a matter of the plug needing to be pressed home a tiny bit harder than it had been by the cleaners! We have had no other complaints about the mattresses or the linen, the latter was renewed very recently and everyone else has been happy with it. We make every effort to keep this house delightful and we respond to tenants suggestions as quickly as we can And I have to say that our feedback is normally very positive. Property Owner Reviewed by Wendy2.5★May 2022 "2nd time here within 1 year, house could do with a good deep clean, carpets need a shampoo, dust levels quite high, obvious decline in cleanliness since last visit." A nice property so just need to sort the cleaners out as we had to empty the vacuum cleaner and give a good dusting. Hello thank you for commenting positively on the property itself but also for alerting us to the legacy of the Covid lockdown when the cottage sat empty. We have been up and given a good deep clean ourselves, carpets cleaned et cetera. You are welcome back any time! Property Owner Reviewed by Charles3.8★Nov 2021 "Very nice place to stay and within walking distance of the city of Wells." Lovely quiet housing estate and well landscaped. Location is great for trips out to Bath and Weston super Mare with Clarkes retail village and Glastonbury just up the road. House had everything needed including WiFi, and comfortable beds, just a shame the garden was not in the sun and patio set was rusty, all in all would go back. We are so glad you enjoyed property and the location. We have taken the metal garden table and chairs away to get them stripped down and repainted, and you are right, they had got rather rusty over time, so thank you. Property Owner Reviewed by Alan4.4★Sep 2021 "Excellent location, short walk into Wells with plenty of places to eat." Generally clean, however living room furniture needs replacing, it's stained, and the chairs are impossible to sit comfortably on. Unable to use outside area as the furniture is rusty and the plants have overgrown around the table. There's only half a shower screen so the bathroom floor got wet through every time. The bed was large and very comfortable, with good quality bedding. Needs a little TLC to be up to scratch. We have sorted the bathroom shower screen, and the garden has had a lot of maintenance done. Garden furniture is being stripped down and repainted. Thank you, too, for your positive remarks. Property Owner Reviewed by Jennifer2.8★Aug 2021 "Lovely little terrace house within walking distance of Wells." Clean and tidy. Extremely quiet considering on an estate Could do with a couple of little things, chairs in lounge more suited to a bedroom, very uncomfortable, shelves in main bedroom bare wood and just painted roughly with undercoat, this could a design feature but needs to be one or the other, painted or bare. Only two chairs on patio and very rusty, Reviewed by June3.4★Aug 2021 "The settee, armchairs and lounge carpet needs a good clean very stained." New pillows required. The shower screen needs replacing as there is half of it missing so difficult not to get water on the floor. The patio table and chairs are to rusty to use. Apart from this it was a nice house and within easy walking distance to the town, 15 minutes. Wells is a lovely place. Apart from these easily sorted problems we had a lovely holiday “Easily sorted“ – and they have been! I have done a deep clean, shower screen sorted, outside table and chairs being restored! We are so glad you had “a lovely holiday”. Property Owner Reviewed by Terence4.4★Jul 2021 "The cottage was in an ideal location but was poor due to the cleanness; the pillows smelt damp; an oder was very apparent in the kitchen and grease on the top of the cupboards and due to the cobwebs and their occupants clearly no actual deep cleaning had been done despite COVID." The furniture was all very stained. The outside garden was overgrown and the garden furniture unusable due to rust (this had already been highlighted previously) A very lovely house but just needs some tender loving care !! Reviewed by Michael2.2★Jul 2021 "Lovely city and easy driving to other nearby towns." Good location with an easy flat 15 minute walk into the city and an easy 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk to two large supermarkets. The house is clean and modern with a neat little garden and easy parking which is always a big bonus in any city. Perfect really. Thank you so much for your glowing feedback. Much appreciated! Property Owner Reviewed by Vivian5.0★Jul 2021 "Pleasant place to stay, very quiet estate." Plenty of room to spread out and relax. Very happy with Saplings. Thank you so much for your enthusiasm. We try to please! Really glad you had a successful happy stay. Property Owner Reviewed by Christine4.7★Jun 2021 "The house was very comfortable but the most positive aspect was the distance to the centre of Wells, which was easily walkable with plenty of places for coffee or a meal." Visit the cathedral and the Bishop’s Palace, very interesting. Reviewed by Joanna5.0★Oct 2020 "Lovely place clean and cosy ." Owner very accommodating and Skyes cottages . Thank you Reviewed by Richard5.0★Sep 2020 "This was a spotlessly clean, well equipped modern house in a perfect location for walking, sightseeing and birdwatching in the area." It is situated on a quiet road. Unfortunately the day we arrived, new neighbours moved in and immediately started a major makeover of their new house. The drilling and hammering ran from 09.00 a.m. to approximately 7.00 p.m. each day but I guess they will have finished by now and peace and tranquility will have returned! As we were out most of the day and the noise stopped at night, it did not really spoil the holiday. The sun shone all week! Reviewed by Keith5.0★Sep 2020 "The property is in an excellent position for touring the area as it is in a quiet estate just off the A39 but in easy walking distance of central Wells." Plenty of supermarkets to choose from too. Very comfortable but it might feel a little small if there were 4 people staying. Reviewed by Margery4.7★Sep 2020 "Good contact from the host." Ideal for walking into Wells and seeing surrounding area. Only thing that I would recommend is an update of pillows. Amazing range of equipment for self catering everything needed for a holiday quick cook. Nice to have cleaning equipment like dish soap as makes you confident last Tennant will have washed up properly. Reviewed by Janette5.0★Aug 2020 "The cottage is compact, ideal for two to four people though." It is well equipped and well situated on a quiet estate, a level walk into the centre of Wells. It has the bonus of a designated parking space to the rear. The house had been cleaned well but there was some old staining on the setee and an armchair. The bedrooms and beds were very comfortable with plenty of storage but the pillows were lumpy and past their best and there was only one on each of the single beds. The small negatives did not spoil our stay and we would recommend The Saplings to friends and anyone looking for a cosy place to stay while visiting delightful Wells. Reviewed by Sue4.4★Jul 2020 "Saplings is a cosy, well equipped modern terraced house in a quiet, attractive estate just 10 to 15 minutes walk from shops and restaurants in Wells." A great base for exploring the wider area. Reviewed by Janet5.0★Nov 2019 "The general set up of the cottage, it's cleanliness, fittings and everything we needed to enjoy our stay." Reviewed by Brian5.0★Sep 2019 "Great location." .. as we were able to walk into the city centre, local supermarkets (Lidl, Waitrose) etc. Nice to have kitchen bits & bobs... tea, coffee, sugar, condiments; and the house was cosy. Shame the property doesn’t have a dishwasher (would have been better than having the washer/dryer) Overall we enjoyed our stay & would go back again. Reviewed by Firoza4.4★Aug 2019 "The cottage was my home for two weeks." There was everything I needed. Something important to me is that It was very clean. I liked very much the folder of information. That it is a very private little place was a comfort. I would recommend this cottage to anyone, especially those from overseas because of the fact that including all of the above, it is safe place to stay. Reviewed by Honey3.8★May 2019 "We had a lovely stay in Saplings." Very clean, comfortable, warm and cosy. Ideal position for exploring Wells on foot and beautiful countryside by car. We would be happy to stay here again next time we are in this area. Reviewed by Thay5.0★Nov 2018 "Great location safe clean and comfortable would happily use again" Reviewed by Adrian4.4★Aug 2018 "A lovely 2 bedroomed cottage only 10 min walk from Town Centre." A light, airy and pleasantly decorated property with off road parking. Kitchen is small and compact but with everything needed including washing machine (which we didn’t use) and full length fridge freezer. Off street private parking space at rear accessed via back gate. Good location for exploring the area including Glastonbury, Wookey Hole and Cheddar Gorge. Reviewed by Angela5.0★Aug 2018 "This was.a lovely quiet and comfortable cottage." Very comfy beds,good quality bedding and furnishings. Very clean. The small courtyard garden was pretty and lovely for breakfast or an evening drink, We enjoyed our time there and it is close to many interesting places. Reviewed by Carol5.0★Jul 2018 "The property is very small so was a bit crowded with 4 adults." The parking for two cars was a nightmare, we accidentally parked in someone else's space and got blocked in, as we were told we couldn't park in front of the property even though plenty did. The down stairs toilet needs a toilet brush and the vacuum was next to useless. We found personal hairs on the beds and floors in one room, there was hair in the bath plug hole and some of the plates in the cupboard were dirty. The house was nice but the walls were very thin, so you could hear everything when people used the toilet and next door running up and down the stairs at 2am and the boiler coming into life at 5ish every morning. The location as okay, I am disabled (use a stick) and just about managed it but any body else with more severe mobility needs would find it impossible. Reviewed by V3.8★Nov 2017 "We got a little confused as to where you could park, the brochure said one allocated space and Kirbside parking." However Crest who are building homes said don't park on the road outside the house and they had employed somebody to monitor this. It was awkward when we had visitors, we parked on the road in the end. That was the only downside to a really lovely holiday. Reviewed by Jacqueline4.8★Nov 2017 "The house was so nice and clean, and warm and." ..... new! Reviewed by James5.0★Oct 2017 "Great newish small house within a short walk of Wells." Comfortable accomodation , nice patio garden. TV on the old side but it works just fine. Lots of things to see and do in the area and there are lots of great eating out places in Wells Reviewed by John4.8★Aug 2017 "First time I've used Skyes and evrything was straight forward and simple, didb't have to fill inloads of on line forms or repeat stuff, excellent." Reviewed by Sara4.8★Feb 2017 "The property was brand new and very well equiped, with an excellent layout." Not too bad a walk into town, where there are mainy excellent shops and restaurants Reviewed by R4.6★Nov 2016 There are no reviews featuring this term Show all reviews Show more Hide all Summary Two bedrooms 1 x double, 1 x twin Bathroom with bath, shower over, basin and WC Ground floor basin and WC Kitchen Sitting room with dining area. Gas central heating Electric oven and hob, microwave, fridge/freezer, washing machine/dryer combined, TV with Freeview, DVD, Fiber-Optic broadband Fuel and power inc. in rent Bed linen and towels inc. in rent Off road parking for 1 car Enclosed courtyard patio with furniture Sorry, no pets and no smoking Shops, pubs and restaurants 10 mins walk Please note: This property only allows Sat - Sat bookings The property A delightful light and airy terraced townhouse in a housing estate within walking distance to the centre of Wells, Englands smallest city. This contemporary and comfortable property makes an ideal base for a small family or friends, with plenty to see and do in Wells itself, as well as the wider area. You enter through into the hallway, where you will find a cloakroom on your left and a small kitchen on the right. From the hallway is the sitting room with dining area, which has patio doors that lead out onto the courtyard. This room is the perfect place to relax after your days activities. The enclosed courtyard patio is a lovely area in which you can sit in private and enjoy a glass of something cold. The historic centre of Wells has many places of interest, including the spectacular cathedral, the oldest complete medieval street in Europe, many independent shops and a wide choice of restaurants and bars. Wells is within a short drive of both Bristol and Bath, or you can even pop on the bus and leave the car at home. Further afield you will find many attractions and places to visit, such as Wookey Hole, Cheddar Gorge and Glastonbury Tor. Also within reach are the beaches of Burnham-on-Sea and Weston-super-Mare, and you may wish to explore the wonderful Somerset Levels and the Mendips. This charming holiday home is an ideal retreat for discovering all that the city and surrounding area has to offer all year round. Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150. View on map About the location WELLS Coxley 2 miles Shepton Mallet 6 miles Glastonbury 6 miles Cheddar 9 miles Wells, England’s smallest city, is named after the springs which still bubble up today in the grounds of its splendid Bishop's Palace with its famous moat. Adjacent is the beautiful 12th century cathedral situated within a most attractive cathedral close and green. Nearby, Vicars Close is home to the oldest complete medieval street in Europe, and the quaint market square offers an array of interesting shops, boutiques and restaurants, and a colourful twice-weekly market. The surrounding Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty provides a wealth of scenic footpaths and rugged landscapes, and is a superb base for caving and rock climbing, and for road, biking and mountain biking. Nearby are the attractions of Cheddar Gorge and Wookey Hole Caves, both offering great days out. The picturesque Somerset Levels, as well as mystical Glastonbury are also situated an easy drive away. The beautiful city of Bath, with its Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa, The Theatre Royal and wonderful shops, is under 30 miles away, as is the vibrant city of Bristol, which boasts a multitude of attractions, including The Zoo, Theatres, the Aquarium, the Arnol Fini Art Gallery and many more. All in all, this beautiful city makes a convenient and ideal touring base. With so much to see and do, there is something to keep everyone entertained! Please note: This property only allows Sat - Sat bookings.