Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

6 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 28 View Image Gallery
  • Carr House - Lake District - 958251 - photo 1
close
  • Carr House - (Ref. 958251)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  

Photos

Video

Carr House

(Ref. 958251)

Clayton Le Dale, Cumbria & The Lake District Show on map

4.8

Sykes rating

  • 12 Guests

  • 6 Bedrooms

  • 4 Bathrooms

  • Pets No

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • house (45)
  • hot tub (43)
  • hot (43)
  • tub (43)
  • lovely (37)
  • great (29)

77 Customer Reviews

  • "Beautiful home, location and views."

    We all had a lovely time and everything a short break should be.

    Reviewed by Christine5.0May 2024

  • "A lovely stay at Carr House, we were a group of 6 adults, 4 teenagers and a tween."

    The house fitted our needs perfectly. Lots of space to be social together or find peace of you wanted. We made use of all the facilities, the BBQ hut, hot tub and games room. BBQ hut different!!. Unusual for a Sykes property you don't get provided with any contact details for the owner, so whilst I appreciate Sykes manage the property for them. If you had any pressing issues whilst away it would be incredibly hard to get resolved. We left a dressing gown behind, and whilst normally I would just contact owners direct and offer to pay postage. I'm not bothering getting my dressing gown back as Sykes charge 30 quid just to ask the question to the owner. However the house was fab, lots to see and do in the area. Would definitely go back

    Reviewed by Diane5.0May 2024

  • "We are a group of 8 women who had a really wonderful weekend at Carr House, thank you."

    There was plenty of space, toilets, showers, towels, the beds were extremely comfortable, the hot tub was well used by us all as well as the wood burner in the living room. We had all the kitchen equipment we needed to prepare, cook and serve food. David couldn't have been more helpful with any queries we had and the board games, books and games room were very nice touches. The bbq hut looked wonderful but we didn't get time to try it out as we were so cozy in the hot tub and house. We even had a deer visit us in the garden at sunset whilst the hot tub was in use. All in all a very fun, comfortable and relaxing weekend, we will definitely be back!

    Reviewed by Sharon4.7Mar 2024

  • "Best cottage I've been too, lovely spacious house, stunning views and a beautiful garden with a purpose built fire hut and heated summer house thats cosy even in winter."

    David the owner is a top guy, really nice to chat too and is happy to help with anything. Will definitely be returning several times. Thanks David and Julie I'll be seeing you again.

    Reviewed by Jack5.0Feb 2024

  • "Lovely sized cottage with great facilities."

    Enjoyed our Christmas beak here, 3 families of different ages. Enjoyed the games room and hot tub. Would be great to visit in summer to make full use of the garden and its facilities and to explore the surrounding area.

    Reviewed by Georgina4.1Dec 2023

  • "Great place to stay, would recommend Carr House to family and friends"

    Reviewed by Paul5.0Dec 2023

  • "We stayed for a long weekend in November."

    Mixed age group. We had a lovely time and David was really helpful and friendly. We have already booked to stay again next year.

    Reviewed by Danielle5.0Nov 2023

  • "As a group of 10 with mixed ages Carr House was perfect."

    There is plenty of space to spread out and ample seating throughout. The gardens are fabulous and we made lots of use of the hot tub. We also used the bbq hut twice which made a lovely change to traditional cooking, especially in the Autum months. The upstairs ensuite shower pressure was very low but we coped. That was the only real niggle. We would definitely return and highly recommend the house!

    Reviewed by Gemma5.0Oct 2023

  • "Absolutely amazing place for a family get together."

    Facilities were fantastic. Hats off to David, such a lovely, welcoming man. Thankyou!

    Reviewed by Sam4.7Oct 2023

  • "The house is advertised as 4 double beds unless we contact to make it into singles."

    We only had 3 double beds and 6 singles so had to change 1 ourselves. Some bathrooms didn't have any toilet rolls in them at all and the rest had half rolls. We appreciate it is a working farm, but the cleanliness wasn't upto scratch. The downstairs bedroom had old spiders dead in their webs, the amount of flies!/midge bites in the bathrooms with no vents avaliable was horrific. There must've been over 20 at one stage. It is advertised as having sky tv, yes there are Sky boxes, but you couldn't access as many channels as basic free view. We had to empty the dishwasher when we got there as it was full.

    I'm sorry you had cause to complain. I met 2 of your party and said that if there were any concerns that I should be contacted. I am disappointed that you did not give me chance to sort things out. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Rachel3.1Sep 2023

  • "Immaculately renovated, maintained and setup property."

    Charming owner lives next door. Setback from the A59 with large garden in farmland but convenient for local and distant attractions. This is luxury accomodation for 12.

    Reviewed by Michael5.0Jul 2023

  • "We stayed at Carr House for a friend's stag do, as a group of 40 something year olds, we hoped to find a property with games room and space for a the group to eat, drink and relax for a weekend, and Carr House really exceeded our expectations."

    David the owner was really accomodating and everything about the visit was really wonderful. We've all come away quite sure we'll be visiting again at some point with friends or family. The images of the property dont show the scale of the house which was more than comfortable for our group of ten. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2023

  • "Lovely cottage set in beautiful gardens."

    We had a fab time here celebrating a 60th birthday

    Reviewed by Vicky5.0Apr 2023

  • "The house itself was absolutely beautiful!"

    Stunning views around the house too. It was very clean and tidy, and looks even better than the pictures. The only thing was the hot tub wasn't ready and we're unable to use it the first day we got there. We only stayed 2 nights so only had 1 day of the hot tub.

    I'm sorry the hot tub wasn't ready but I thought it more important to have it emptied, cleaned and refilled. It does take a long time to heat up. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Emma4.7Apr 2023

  • "A great time was had by all in our party."

    Reviewed by Brian5.0Apr 2023

  • "Thank you for a great stay."

    The team were raving about the cottage!

    Reviewed by Amy5.0Mar 2023

  • "Lovely weekend again with our family (from 4 to 77!"

    ) This is our second visit to Carr House and it didn't disappoint again. Our last visit was in June; so we didn't need the fires - this visit in Feb we could light them and it was warm and cosy. Still used the hot tub though! Gorgeous location - facilities and space. Recommended!

    Reviewed by Nicola5.0Feb 2023

  • "The house and facilities were incredible."

    The house was cosy, warm, spacious, and spotless. Plenty of mugs/glasses/plates/cooking utensils and a dishwasher. The BBQ fire pit was perfect for a winter BBQ and the hot tub was really well looked after. We would love to visit again.

    Reviewed by Mallaidh5.0Jan 2023

  • "Just got back from our weekend away at Carr house for my mum’s 50th and NYE."

    What a great house this is, pictures don’t do it justice at all, it’s much bigger in person and loads of space for all of us (8 adults & 4 children). We were slightly concerned at first about staying on the A59 but once you’re there you feel as if you’re in the middle of nowhere, it’s very peaceful and the views in the garden are lovely, especially when sat in the amazing hot tub! The house is fully equipped, lots of pots, pans, utilities etc. it was a nice surprise to see some board games too! Games room was great, we spent a lot of time playing pool and darts! Also main lounge is a great space so socialising. Plenty of bathrooms which is always good when there’s a lot of you. Bedrooms really spacious and very comfortable and everywhere was very clean. My partner and I have already discussed potentially coming back to Carr house in the summer so we would 100% recommend to others. All in all a great stay and just want to say thank you to the owner David who was very accommodating in the lead up to and during our stay.

    Reviewed by Alison5.0Dec 2022

  • "Amazing place and I’ve been to a few, this is definitely up there in the top lot."

    The Christmas decorations were a lovely touch and more than I expected. down to the table covers and placemats. Well stocked kitchen, we managed cooking Christmas dinner no problem, plenty pots and pans. Overall there was nothing not provided to make it a very enjoyable stay. Would be nice to go back in the summer and get more use of the garden., hot tub and BBQ hut.

    Reviewed by Janet5.0Dec 2022

  • "We had a lovely comfortable break away with our children and grandchildren."

    We enjoyed the amount of space and all being able to dine together. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen is very well equipped. The property is very clean and warms up nicely. We all loved the hot tub, garden and barbecue hut. There are lots of lovely places to visit nearby. A great place to stay.

    Reviewed by Pauline5.0Nov 2022

  • "We have just got back from a long weekend at Carr House."

    We were a group of 11 adults and the house was just what we needed. There was plenty of space for all of us and the hot tub, BBQ hut, wendy house and games room made it even more enjoyable! There are heaters in the games room and wendy house so you can make use of them even in autumn/winter. We loved cooking in the BBQ hut and hearing the rain outside whilst we were all nice and toasty around the fire. The kitchen was well equipped with plenty of cutlery, glasses, plates, pots and pans etc. The photos don’t do the house justice and it was better than we expected. Before we arrived, we were a little confused by the description of the bedroom setup, but a call to Sykes Cottages who contacted the owner cleared this up for us. When we arrived, the bedrooms were setup exactly as expected and it suited us just fine. The location is great as the house feels secluded, so you don’t have to worry too much about noise (the owner does live next door) but also very close to plenty of activities. We took a taxi to Preston for the day as well as going to a great local pub around the corner from the house for Sunday lunch (Bonny Inn). The only improvements I would say if I was being picky is that the bathrooms could do with an update as some showers and toilets worked better than others. Also, whilst the house did appear to be clean, when you moved furniture around, you could see that it could do with just an extra bit of cleaning. BUT this didn’t affect our stay and we would still 100% recommend this place to family & friends looking for group accommodation. Thank you!!

    Reviewed by Laura3.8Oct 2022

  • "Excellent location, very comfortable beds, very spacious property for 12 adults celebrating my sisters 60th birthday."

    We had fun doing a sports day in the field on site. Also made good use of the barbecue area and the hot tub. David the owner very helpful. Cottage very well equipped. Would recommend this property and hope to return in the future. Thank you so much Shirley

    Reviewed by Shirley5.0Sep 2022

  • "What a fantastic property situated in the beautiful countryside, complete with stunning view."

    Host David was helpful and patient taking me through the need to knows of the property at the beginning of our stay. Also found him to be very reasonable and open minded, despite our party being a joint hen and stag do as other properties had not been accommodating. Facilities were excellent and well maintained inside and out. Good number of bathrooms and seating options for number of guests staying. Also managed to cook one evening and found the oven and utensils available more than meeting requirements for cooking for 12. Would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone thinking of booking.

    Reviewed by Hattie5.0Sep 2022

  • "A very well equipped property both inside and out."

    Very spacious with plenty of room for all generations to enjoy. The garden area with the hot tub, barbecue hut and garden room was a secure place for young and old to enjoy. The weather was very kind to us during our week and we had a lovely holiday celebrating our Golden wedding. 8 adults , one 7 year old, two just 4, one almost 4 and two 1 year old. Highly recommended

    Reviewed by Carol4.7Aug 2022

  • "The house was not as clean as other properties we have stayed in."

    When we moved the drawer unit in the bedroom there was a sock, bobble and ring along with lots of dust! The downstairs bedroom had a large step into the shower so sadly my nan was unable to shower for the week, we feel the description of the property should state this house is not suitable for people with mobility issues - to enter the property there are steps, we had to carry my nan up these, there is also a small step from kitchen to hallway, again not mentioned. She was very restricted. Apart from that it was great. It did state there should be a welcome pack of charcoal for the BBQ, this was not there so we bought our own, again not a major issue but maybe the owner shouldn’t put it in their welcome notes.

    This was not the feedback you gave me when we met. Charcoal is not included although if you had asked it could have been provided.(We provide a starter pack for the wood burning stoves in season) The cottage is not advertised as ambulant disabled. I apologise for the lack of cleaning and again this would have been sorted if highlighted. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paula3.4Jul 2022

  • "This was the perfect location and venue for our family to celebrate my mum’s 80th birthday together."

    We enjoyed using all the facilities, spending quality time playing games, having a barbecue and relaxing in the spa. We visited local areas of beauty or stayed ‘at home’ enjoying the lovely views and wildlife. The whole family agreed that this is somewhere that we would definitely like to revisit! We chatted with the owner who offered us advice and knowledge of the area without intruding on our holiday. The only negative was that two beds in the family room weren’t linked as requested. “Amazing family time we had x. Spacious Cottage with lots of room. We loved the hot tub and bbQ area and the weather just added to wonderful atmosphere.”

    Thank you for your feedback and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We're sorry there was a misunderstanding regarding the beds. The information we got from Sykes was: 'The request is as follows: Please could we request for the twin bedroom to be set up as a double?' we didn't realise you meant the family room. best wishes David and Julie Property Owner

    Reviewed by Michelle4.4Jun 2022

  • "Carr House is a lovely property."

    We had a wonderful weekend celebrating a special family birthday, 10 of us including 4 children. We loved the outdoor space and were lucky with the weather. We used the hot tub and the fire pit for toasting marshmallows and played lots of games on the grass. The space in the house is fantastic and the pool table was used lots by my 14 year old son (and his Uncle and Grandad!). Carr House is so accessible to the main road and yet when you're there you feel as if you're really 'away from it all' which is wonderful. Highly recommended - we made some magical memories and really hope to be back as a family one day.

    Reviewed by Nicola4.7Jun 2022

  • "We were absolutely delighted with Carr House."

    There were 10 of us and there was plenty of space with lots of bedrooms and bathrooms. The big conservatory was perfect for dining and we loved the outdoor space with the hot tub and BBQ hut. The location is very handy for places like Blackburn and not too far off the motorway, whilst the house itself feels like it's in the middle of the countryside with fields and animals around. It was a really lovely weekend and I would definitely recommend this house for family and friends weekends away.

    Reviewed by Eleanor5.0May 2022

  • "Lovely house and garden with plenty of room for the extended family."

    Hot tub, outside toys and pool table were used lots.

    Reviewed by Samantha5.0Apr 2022

  • "Great facilities and the beds were really comfy."

    Big areas and the outdoor bbq was superb. Would definitely be coming back.

    Reviewed by Eren5.0Apr 2022

  • "There were 9 people in our family group."

    There was ample room in the property. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub! Carr House is well situated for visiting the places we wanted to visit - Skipton, Rossendale, Burnley, Citheroe, Lancaster, Blackpool, Lytham. We were fortunate to have some warm sunny weather in April. Sitting outside we were pleasantly surprised by the variety of birds including oyster catcher, curlew and lapwing. We also saw rabbits and a weasel. Perhaps worth mentioning in the house notes to bring binoculars.

    Reviewed by Dennis5.0Apr 2022

  • "Loved the cottage, warm, comfortable, relaxing."

    The house was bigger than I was expecting and had plenty of room for all of us . It was very clean and tidy. BBQ hut is amazing, we spend half holiday inside:))) hot tub very clean. Owner very helpful, thanks for everything , we will book again definitely!!!

    Reviewed by Teofil5.0Apr 2022

  • "No complaints at all."

    Highly suitable for a family weekend.

    Reviewed by Nigel5.0Mar 2022

  • "Only issue I have is didn’t sleep well in beds but other people who stayed didn’t have any issues so this might have been down to my personal preference."

    Also the house was a lovely place to be and helpful owners next door. We took 4 small children. Who all had a great time and wasn’t bored while being there give the space and facilities available. Would recommend to anyone

    Reviewed by Martin4.7Mar 2022

  • "Great little place to stay, owner was lovely and friendly, left you alone unless you needed anything."

    Games room was missing some darts as the last group had broken them so we just bought a set no problem. Really nice property. We did try to use the bbq but found it very smokey I think that would just be best for a fire to sit around. All in all great value for money.

    Reviewed by Dean4.1Mar 2022

  • "I would not hesitate to recommend this property."

    It was great for a family celebration. The kitchen was set up for cooking family meals and the conservatory dining room was ideal. The two separate living rooms worked really well. Everyone commented how comfortable the beds were. Limited use of outside facilities as weather was wild - hope to return when the weather is better !

    Reviewed by Sharon5.0Feb 2022

  • "A lovely weekend in house that actually felt like home Comfortable beds, well equipped house."

    I honestly think that the owner has listened to previous feedback and changed things accordingly. We spent our evenings in the hot tub with the 25 MPH. winds not being a problem as it is fenced round 3 sides . It was lovely to be outside enjoying the dark nights even in winter. We had a BBQ at night, this time of year it was novelty to be having a BBQ. My only small observations would be an extra light in the BBQ hut and some solar lights along the pathway. All in all we had a great weekend in a beautiful well kept property.

    Reviewed by Jenny4.4Jan 2022

  • "We had a lovely break, 2 adults and 4 teenagers."

    A lovely quiet setting, and fantastic facilities, the hot tub and pool table were a massive hit with the teens!! Plenty of space throughout. The owners were very obliging and always on hand for help or advice etc which was really handy. Can't fault the property. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by Jackie5.0Dec 2021

  • "The house itself was ideal for a family get together with plenty of room to spread out."

    The hot tub was good but the summer house and BBQ hut were disappointing and we didn't use the BBQ as it was too greasy. The Games Room was also disappointing, cold and uninviting and the heater didn't do much to warm the room so it wasn't used as much as we would normally do. There were two old freezers, a washing machine and an old washing machine also in the Games Room. The owner was really helpful and friendly but had to be called several times as the TV's/Sky weren't working, which he did fix. Overall a good weekend but the property was not as good as we were expecting. A few improvements would make Carr House a great holiday house.

    Thank you for the feedback. When I met you on Friday I asked you to let me know any problems. You told me about the TVs - which I fixed but I'm disappointed that you didn't give me the opportunity to clean the BBQ hut or provide extra heating for the games room which I could easily have done. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by Robert3.8Dec 2021

  • "It was a lovely spacious place plenty of rooms just a shame that the games room is a very cold room and the hot tub isn’t under cover for this time of the year for both ."

    There is also a downstairs toilet and not sure if they are aware that it leaked at the back but there was a tin foil tray put there maybe to catch the water not sure, we stopped using it , but on the whole it was nice thanks Janet

    Reviewed by Janet4.4Dec 2021

  • "Amazing place."

    It was absolutely perfect.

    Reviewed by Karl5.0Nov 2021

  • "Carr House is a wonderful place for a large group, warm and comfortable and well placed for exploring the area."

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2021

  • "Great house with everything you may need- We really appreciated the hot tub after long walks in the stunning surrounding areas."

    The owners were very discreet but happy to assist if needed. Looking forward to a return visit.

    Reviewed by Julie5.0Oct 2021

  • "We was a party of 10 , the house had plenty of space to accommodate us all with plenty garden for children to play safely ."

    The facilities meant there was never time to get bored as there was a games room complete with pool table & darts board and the big bonus was the hot tub which was well used. We couldn’t have wished for better hosts who was always kind & helpful.Thank you we had an amazing time.

    Reviewed by Gillian5.0Sep 2021

  • "Ours was a big booking for our family meeting together for a celebration time for a 70th birthday."

    You were very good at understanding our reason for coming and the needs of our various ages. 7 adults, 4 children (age 3-7) and 2 babies. the accommodation was exactly right . Also when ever I had a question to ask about the detail of the house or about the general rules implied in the booking, the Sykes person on the phone was clear and kind and tolerant and extremely helpful, in that he paused the conversation in order to ring the owners and check for me, and return to the conversation in good time and with a positive answer and advice. Some of this was before we came and another example was about something one of the families had forgotten as we were traveling in our different cars! Thank you for that and for the use of phones - so much more helpful to be able to chat with someone where there is a problem. we weren't quite sure why the fee for booking is added to the fee for renting ? it was a booking we were were very glad to make and were happy to find the money for the rent. I would recommend your company and the owners of 'Carr House' clayton le dale who gave a polite and warm welcome, and was easy to ask if there was something needed. There was a lovely sense of safety and reliability inside and outside the house and the surroundings were beautiful and peaceful. It all fitted well for the children with plenty of space to run about and play games. Finally , the Dining Room was just right for us all as a family to start the day with a good Breakfast and family chatter and laughter.

    Reviewed by Patricia5.0Aug 2021

  • "We have just been to Carr House for a week."

    There were 2 families (10 of us in total) with children ranging from 9 years old to 15 years old. We all had an absolutely fantastic time. The house is so spacious, the games room was brilliant as were the summer house, BBQ hut and hot tub. The enclosed field that you have access to, again was fantastic for us playing family sports. The photographs of the property do not do it justice. The owners next door (David & Julie) wwre always on hand if we needed anything or had any questions. Absolutely brilliant holiday had by all of us and we really didn't want to come home today.

    Reviewed by Alan5.0Jul 2021

  • "We had a fantastic stay at this lovely property."

    The outside space is exceptional. The property is well equipped and the owners ( who live next door) very friendly without being intrusive. location is quite remote but we were aware of this. local pub is lovely and food was great! Asda and Tesco both deliver to the property which we found really useful! Would absolutely return!

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Jul 2021

  • "This was a celebration of our golden wedding with all the family, 6 adults, 6 kids and a baby."

    The facilities were close to perfect and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the time. The BBQ hut and the hot tub were a big hit, as well as the games room. The hosts who live on the farm were unobtrusive but always there to help if we needed any information or ideas. We'd love to go back.

    Reviewed by Philip5.0Jun 2021

  • "8 adults and 2 children under 6 had a brilliant week."

    Great out door space and even indoors never felt crowded or without your own space. I would publish better photos of the kitchen you arent doing it justice and the conservatory is welcomed day or night. We loved the games room a very nice surprise, pool table is good. The owners were great very helpful when required and never saw them otherwise. Area was very quiet, lovely pub 0.7 miles away ate there twice, Mrs Dowsons farm 0.5 miles walk was a lot of fun the kids and adults loved feeding the animals! and the ice cream is worth the walk alone. We had a day trip to blackpool which was a 30 mins drive. One small improvement required is to upgrade the showers, otherwise would love to return one day but we do like to explore other areas

    Reviewed by David3.8May 2021

  • "Fantastic place, absolutely loved it"

    Reviewed by Joe5.0May 2021

  • "Beautiful house lots of room and the conservatory was lovely we spent most of our time in there - considering we were the first visitors the cleanliness was not good - the fire in the lounge was full of ash and it was all over the hearth, the BBQ hut was really dirty we couldn't use it, there was no sweeping brush for the lovely stone floors and the hoover was full and very heavy."

    The house was really cold for the first 2 nights - soon warmed up with the heating on - we had 2 babies with us and it would have been nice to have it warm for when we arrived. I think a fire guard would be a nice touch too for families with very small children. The hot tub was really lovely we all enjoyed it - the games room was bit underwhelming very cold and damp smelling - the washing machine leaked and with the uneven flooring and half plastered walls it could do with being finished off. Apart from the few niggles we all had a really nice time.

    We are sorry that our guests had reason to leave negative comments. They were here for eleven nights and we were on site and disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to sort out the problems. We were asked to remove their rubbish and that was quickly done. All of the other items could have been easily sorted if mentioned. Thank you for your feedback. Mr Wilkinson Property Owner

    Reviewed by Andrea3.1Apr 2021

  • "Had a really relaxing break at Carr House."

    Facilities and amenities are excellent, house is spotless, very spacious and nicely furnished. Hosts (live next door) are friendly and helpful whilst unobtrusive. Have already booked again for Christmas week. It felt like a home from home from the minute we stepped inside. Lots of interesting areas to explore locally, with some nice restaurants and pubs when dining out. Would recommend Carr House ++

    Reviewed by Des5.0Oct 2020

  • "We had an amazing stay at Carr House."

    The owners live next door but were not intrusive at all. Lovely family. We were told we could pick the fruit and made an amazing apple crumble. Not one of our group wanted to go home! You couldn’t ask for a better spot for the family to stay. We will be back.

    Reviewed by Airlie5.0Aug 2020

  • "Carr House is a fantastic place to base yourself for your big group get away."

    Beautiful old farmhouse with modern decor and comforts. More than enough space for 12 people... plenty of freedom for 6 kids to run around. Beautiful scenery, handy location (Blackpool, Beacon Fells, Mrs Dowsons farm visited) and fantastic garden area with hot tub, bbq hut and plenty of garden furniture. David the owner is lovely. There if you need anything but just let’s you get on with your break. He said he checks the hot tub pH every morning, but only time he ever knocked the door was to say it was bin collection in the morning if we needed anything taken to the bins by the main road.. other than that it was just a wave in passing while he got on with his everyday life. Everyone loved this fantastic house.

    Reviewed by Stuart5.0Jul 2020

  • "What a lovely property!"

    We had a wonderful time and the hot tub was great with a fab addition of an indoor fire pit/BBQ. Only 1 issue, that was the owners living next door. The presence felt like we were being watched and observed. He even came round a couple of times! Not as private as we’d have liked. That aside, we did have a lovely time.

    Reviewed by Hayley5.0Jul 2020

  • "It was lovely and everything was set up ready, the owners were there if you needed anything."

    The facilities were great, hot tub and bbq pit just made it even better.

    Reviewed by Louise5.0Nov 2019

  • "Booked this for my husband's 65th birthday with the children and grandchildren."

    Plenty of space for everyone. House was very cosy and welcoming. Everyone loved the hot tub and gardens. Log burners were made ready but we didn't need them as the house was warm enough with the central heating. Only very minor issue we couldn't use the BBQ hut as we weren't aware that we need to order the charcoal with the owners and owing to the time of year we couldn't find any in the shops. Would recommend Carr House and we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by Christine4.7Oct 2019

  • "This was a surprise pre 30th birthday for my daughter, shared with her friends and family."

    We would all recommend this wonderful house and its facilities and i am sure most will be back soon. This is a fantasic place, the hot tub was impressive and used regularly, we had a sport day in the ample grounds, the views are magnificent, truley recommend for an unforgetable wekend with friends and family. Thanks to you all.

    Reviewed by Irene5.0Oct 2019

  • "Superb place to stay, above and beyond expectations, something for all ages, lots of games, the kids loved it, the adults too."

    Mrs Dawson’s ice cream farm is just a walk away and Georgous too, Blackburn town centre just a short drive away if you want to shop , it’s got a shopping mall with lots of town centre shops, definitely recommend

    Reviewed by Barbara5.0Aug 2019

  • "Hosts were very accommodating and the house itself was great."

    Reviewed by Harry5.0Aug 2019

  • "Carr house garden and surrounds was amazing, The house was very spacious and well equiped, Everything was thought of, There was nothing that we felt missing, the owner David was fab, The Dvd player was broken, A quick phone call and David came round and Brought a new one, Will certainly book Carr house again."

    Reviewed by Warren5.0Aug 2019

  • "Carr house is truly a home from home, the most comfortable large holiday home we have been to for our annual family getaway."

    Clean and tidy upon arrival with lovely fluffy towels and crisp linen bedding. The beds were very comfortable too

    Reviewed by Tracey5.0Jul 2019

  • "Everything was there to make our stay comfortable."

    The owners couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed plus a few extra's. It was extremely clean and welcoming. Everything was explained to us together with a well thought out book of instructions. The board games that were left was brilliant for the wet days that we had even though we still managed to get in the hot tub and have a BBQ. Would recommend this property to anyone, it gave us all the space and relaxation that we were looking for.

    Reviewed by Jacki5.0Jun 2019

  • "The house was extremely well equipped with a fantastic hot tub, which the 3 boys loved ."

    There was plenty of space outside and the BBQ hut was great, especially seeing the weather wasn’t that great. Thanks to the owners for their help and friendliness. We as a family had a great time.

    Reviewed by Marion5.0May 2019

  • "Fabulous cottage."

    Everything you needed and more. It was pouring down with rain all weekend but that didn't stop us using the great facilities such as hot tub, barbeque hut and games room. The living rooms in the house are cosy and comfortable and the bedrooms are lovely and airy. There was 10 of us staying and it was great all sitting in the conservatory eating our meals looking out at the splendid views. We went to local pub on the Saturday night which was only a 5 minute taxi ride away. There was a rock singer on and we had brilliant time. Definitely recommend this place.

    Reviewed by Jade5.0Apr 2019

  • "Yes. The cottage was lovely and the outside area was fabulous, however the cottage is advertised as having 6 'deluxe' bedrooms, and unfortunately this is not the case."

    There are 5 nice bedrooms, and one room that is 4 foot wide in total with a single bed in that is 2 foot 6 wide. There were 9 adults on this holiday, one of which had to sleep in a 2 foot 6 bed. This was extremely uncomfortable and not really acceptable as we booked this cottage based on the information provided, which is totally inaccurate. I would like a response to this please. We also felt although the owners were very pleasant, they were very intrusive. Coming over to water plants, service the hot tub daily, and also cutting the grass. Surely if you rent a property, with the amount we paid we should be left in private?

    Thank you for your feedback; we are very sorry that you found the bedroom to be uncomfortable and can only apologise if you felt the owner's were intrusive during your stay; this is not feedback we have received before. All properties require maintenance therefore, the owner cut the grass while your party were out for a meal and for health and safety purposes, the hot tub needs to be maintained daily but again, we can only apologise if you felt inconvenienced by this. Thanks again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Marcelle3.1Apr 2019

  • "Great family friendly location."

    Stayed here to celebrate our sons 40th birthdays. There were plenty of facilities which everyone enjoyed, especially the hot tub and BBQ hut. There were plenty of indoor games available for all ages. The owners Julie and David came to explain how everything worked and were on hand if needed but totally unobtrusive. They even supplied some goodies to welcome our arrival. The grand children enjoyed playing in the garden and were thrilled when they were allowed to see first hand how the digger worked.

    Reviewed by Bernard5.0Feb 2019

  • "The property is well located to explore the area which is both beautiful and historically exciting."

    It is in a quiet position but within a 15 minute walk of restaurants. The outdoor facilities with plenty of green space a BBQ hut and hot tub are great for families. The owners could not have been more helpful and pleasant. They went out of their way to provide a few extras we needed. I would certainly recommend Carr House.

    Reviewed by James5.0Dec 2018

  • "We had a fantastic weekend at this property."

    There was a slight problem with the heating and therefore some of the rooms were quite. Luckily we managed to get the fires going to keep everywhere warm! One member of our party left a bracelet at the house and the owners kindly notified us of this and sent it on to us which we are very appreciative of. An overall lovely weekend

    Reviewed by Melissa4.7Nov 2018

  • "We had a fab time at Carr House, we were a group of 10 ladies celebrating 50th birthdays - spotlessly clean, plenty of space, and very well equipped for the amount of people."

    Bed was super comfy, log burners set and ready to be lit on arrival and also a couple of nice gifts left by the owners. Julie and David are a lovely couple and we’re on hand if needed, they met us on arrival to show us how hot tub and bbq hut worked but then not intrusive in any way. We’ll hopefully be back next year.

    Reviewed by Angela5.0Nov 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage, great facilities, easy booking."

    Would reccommend

    Reviewed by Bethany5.0Oct 2018

  • "Great layout of the house with plenty of toilets and showers."

    Some modern rooms, some traditional. Lots of space. Beautiful views. BBQ area is fantastic as is the hot tub. Only downsides were that it's not very clearly sign posted so a few of us drove past it! Also the hot tub is not covered if it rains and we couldn't really sit in it on our only full day and night as it wouldn't go any higher than 35 degrees so was quite cold. Overall though, a fantastic weekend!!

    Reviewed by Lisa4.4Oct 2018

  • "Stayed here as a mixed male/female group for my boyfriends 30th birthday, we had everything we needed and enjoyed a lovely weekend."

    We made use of the map and tourist information kindly left by the owner and went on a lovely walk from the house to the river and back again. The hot tub and games room including pool table and darts board were a great touch. The indoor fire pit/barbecue in particular was a popular facility for us, especially now the nights get so cold. My only criticism was a loose paving slab that unfortunately I tripped over and sprained my ankle, I’m hoping this will be fixed soon to avoid further injuries.

    Reviewed by Holly5.0Sep 2018

  • "The house was lovely, super clean on arrival and very comfortable."

    The summer house and hot tub are in a lovely space with great views. There were some extras in the house which were a lovely touch such as a full rack of spices to cook with and lots of magazines, brochures and suggestions of things to do in the area. Some things were missing, for example there was only one small frying pan but lots and lots of saucepans. I would definitely recommend for a family holiday!

    Reviewed by Michelle4.7Aug 2018

  • "Visited Carr House with our 5 children aged between 14 and 3."

    It was worth the visit for the garden alone despite the rain! All of them loved playing out in the various garden areas. There’s lots to do around the area too. Carr House is basic in design but it has everything you need for a comfortable, child friendly stay with lots of room inside and out to play.

    Reviewed by Hayley4.7Aug 2018

  • "The house was so spacious and comfortable and attention to detail had been made by the owner."

    The outdoor facilities are amazing and the house is in a great location with many places to visit within easy reach. It is also a safe environment for children. Ideal for a family get-together or friends meeting together. Top rate. Owner approachable and friendly.

    Reviewed by John5.0Jul 2018

Show more Hide all

Summary

  • Front bedroom with en suite set up as a double - singles on request, Back bedroom next to shower room set up as two singles - double on request, family room - set up as three singles - double and single on request, back bedroom next to bathroom - fixed double Small bedroom - one single (2 foot 6) downstairs bedroom with ensuite set up as double - two singles on request
  • 1x shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Bathroom with basin, WC and bath with shower over
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Conservatory
  • Games room
  • Summer house & Hot tub
  • BBQ hut which uses charcoal can be used all year round.
  • Central heating with woodburning stoves starter pack incl in rent
  • Electric range oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer (outside), dishwasher, washing machine, highchair, TV with Sky/Freeview, WiFi
  • Pool table
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Enclosed garden with furniture, summer house with power points, lawns, patio and games room
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Highchair available in house
  • Cot provided but please bring own bedding
  • Note: Property is on a working farm - The garden area can be made enclosed by closing the main entrance gate, allowing peace of mind for children playing outside
  • Please note should you require the beds set up differently to 4 doubles and 6 singles please contact the office as soon as possible so it may be communicated to the cleaning team, thank you

The property

Carr House is a stunning detached farmhouse located on Carr House Farm in the little village of Clayton Le Dale, just 2 miles from the delightful village of Ribchester.

A heart-warming, homely farmhouse with extensive hallways, opulent bedrooms complete with luxurious en-suite bathrooms and a fabulous conservatory with a big wooden dining table and comfy seating.

This stunning property sleeps up to 12 people in 6 bright and airy bedrooms with all the comfort you need to bring family and friends together explore the surrounding Lancashire area.

The conservatory offers spectacular panoramic vistas of the Ribble Valley countryside, which is an area of outstanding natural beauty, and includes a fine dining area, whilst the open-plan living area features deluxe, contemporary furnishings and handy appliances to suit your modern-day living requirements.

Outside boasts an impressive garden with verdant lawn, delightful summer house and games room.

The luxurious BBQ hut will seat up to 15 guests comfortably, and can be used in all weathers for BBQs or as a fire pit.

Why not get the family together and enjoy a meal alfresco style?

Views can be enjoyed from every direction, across the open countryside, yet is situated with easy transport links into the heart of Lancashire and beyond, with easy access to the Lake District and beyond.

Take the fun indoors with some games in the summer house or pop open some bubbly and have a nice long soak in the hot tub after a day walking around the shops or countryside.

The small village of Clayton Le Dale is located in the heart of Lancashire and offers a unique destination for arts, culture and heritage, amongst rambling country moorland.

Just a 30-minute drive away is the majestic Pendle Hill welcoming walkers and countryside enthusiasts to explore its ancient history and old legend myths.

This property is ideally located on the edge of the Ribble Valley, and close to the Forest of Bowland.

There is easy access to all that the Ribble Valley has to offer, including award winning restaurants, including Northcote Manor, a Michelin star restaurant.

Closer to home in the village, however, is Samlesbury Hall, a historic site well worth a visit to see the delightfully restored 14th century architecture and beautiful grounds.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CLAYTON LE DALE

Ribchester 2 miles, Blackburn 5 miles; Preston 9 miles.

Clayton-le-Dale is a quaint village and civil parish situated on the A59 road in the Ribble Valley near Blackburn, in the heart of Lancashire. With bountiful countryside and rambling moorland, the surrounding area offers a whole abundance of nature to explore. For things to do in the local area there is Wood-Sage Outdoor Education Centre offering a wide range of tailor made programmes & activities to schools, youth organisations, families and corporate groups. Its 47 acre site is situated in the heart of East Lancashire just a short drive from the towns and cities of Lancashire, West Yorkshire, Manchester and Liverpool. There is also Samlesbury Hall and Strydd Gardens in the local area offering beautiful architecture, stunning grounds and an abundance of plant nurseries and delightful tea rooms. If you love walking and cycling there is the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with expanses of sky above dramatic sweeps of open moorland, gentle and tidy lowlands, criss-crossed with dry stone walls and dotted with picturesque farms and villages, all waiting to be explored! There is no better way of escaping from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and partaking in some of the most peaceful and remote outdoor activities in the country. Clayton-le-Dale sits on the outskirts of the town of Blackburn, a vibrant, happening place to be for all ages with many shops, restaurants and cafes to make your way around.

Please note should you require the beds set up differently to 4 doubles and 6 singles please contact the office as soon as possible so it may be communicated to the cleaning team, thank you.

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas