Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

POPULAR REGION! A property was booked in Lake District 5 minutes ago

3 people have recently viewed this property

  • Carr House - (Ref. 958251)

  • Icon/Play
    Icon/Replay Created with Sketch.

    Replay

  •  
1 of 28 View Larger Image
  • Carr House - Lake District - 958251 - photo 1
close
  • PHOTOS
  • VIDEO

Carr House

Clayton Le Dale, Cumbria & The Lake District (Ref. 958251)

4.8

Excellent

Sykes rating

  • Sleeps 12

  • Bedrooms 6

  • Bathrooms 4

  • Pets No

  • Show on map

Features

  • Hot tub
  • Off road parking
  • Ground floor bedroom
  • Open fire
  • Garden / Patio
  • Cot available
  • Highchair available
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Games Room
  • Sky TV
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Cleanliness
Comfort
Facilities

50 Customer Reviews

  • "Carr House is a lovely property."

    We had a wonderful weekend celebrating a special family birthday, 10 of us including 4 children. We loved the outdoor space and were lucky with the weather. We used the hot tub and the fire pit for toasting marshmallows and played lots of games on the grass. The space in the house is fantastic and the pool table was used lots by my 14 year old son (and his Uncle and Grandad!). Carr House is so accessible to the main road and yet when you're there you feel as if you're really 'away from it all' which is wonderful. Highly recommended - we made some magical memories and really hope to be back as a family one day.

    Reviewed by NicolaJun 2022

  • "We were absolutely delighted with Carr House."

    There were 10 of us and there was plenty of space with lots of bedrooms and bathrooms. The big conservatory was perfect for dining and we loved the outdoor space with the hot tub and BBQ hut. The location is very handy for places like Blackburn and not too far off the motorway, whilst the house itself feels like it's in the middle of the countryside with fields and animals around. It was a really lovely weekend and I would definitely recommend this house for family and friends weekends away.

    Reviewed by EleanorMay 2022

  • "Lovely house and garden with plenty of room for the extended family."

    Hot tub, outside toys and pool table were used lots.

    Reviewed by SamanthaApr 2022

  • "Great facilities and the beds were really comfy."

    Big areas and the outdoor bbq was superb. Would definitely be coming back.

    Reviewed by ErenApr 2022

  • "There were 9 people in our family group."

    There was ample room in the property. We particularly enjoyed the hot tub! Carr House is well situated for visiting the places we wanted to visit - Skipton, Rossendale, Burnley, Citheroe, Lancaster, Blackpool, Lytham. We were fortunate to have some warm sunny weather in April. Sitting outside we were pleasantly surprised by the variety of birds including oyster catcher, curlew and lapwing. We also saw rabbits and a weasel. Perhaps worth mentioning in the house notes to bring binoculars.

    Reviewed by DennisApr 2022

  • "Loved the cottage, warm, comfortable, relaxing."

    The house was bigger than I was expecting and had plenty of room for all of us . It was very clean and tidy. BBQ hut is amazing, we spend half holiday inside:))) hot tub very clean. Owner very helpful, thanks for everything , we will book again definitely!!!

    Reviewed by TeofilApr 2022

  • "No complaints at all."

    Highly suitable for a family weekend.

    Reviewed by NigelMar 2022

  • "Only issue I have is didn’t sleep well in beds but other people who stayed didn’t have any issues so this might have been down to my personal preference."

    Also the house was a lovely place to be and helpful owners next door. We took 4 small children. Who all had a great time and wasn’t bored while being there give the space and facilities available. Would recommend to anyone

    Reviewed by MartinMar 2022

  • "Great little place to stay, owner was lovely and friendly, left you alone unless you needed anything."

    Games room was missing some darts as the last group had broken them so we just bought a set no problem. Really nice property. We did try to use the bbq but found it very smokey I think that would just be best for a fire to sit around. All in all great value for money.

    Reviewed by DeanMar 2022

  • "I would not hesitate to recommend this property."

    It was great for a family celebration. The kitchen was set up for cooking family meals and the conservatory dining room was ideal. The two separate living rooms worked really well. Everyone commented how comfortable the beds were. Limited use of outside facilities as weather was wild - hope to return when the weather is better !

    Reviewed by SharonFeb 2022

  • "A lovely weekend in house that actually felt like home Comfortable beds, well equipped house."

    I honestly think that the owner has listened to previous feedback and changed things accordingly. We spent our evenings in the hot tub with the 25 MPH. winds not being a problem as it is fenced round 3 sides . It was lovely to be outside enjoying the dark nights even in winter. We had a BBQ at night, this time of year it was novelty to be having a BBQ. My only small observations would be an extra light in the BBQ hut and some solar lights along the pathway. All in all we had a great weekend in a beautiful well kept property.

    Reviewed by JennyJan 2022

  • "We had a lovely break, 2 adults and 4 teenagers."

    A lovely quiet setting, and fantastic facilities, the hot tub and pool table were a massive hit with the teens!! Plenty of space throughout. The owners were very obliging and always on hand for help or advice etc which was really handy. Can't fault the property. Thankyou.

    Reviewed by JackieDec 2021

  • "The house itself was ideal for a family get together with plenty of room to spread out."

    The hot tub was good but the summer house and BBQ hut were disappointing and we didn't use the BBQ as it was too greasy. The Games Room was also disappointing, cold and uninviting and the heater didn't do much to warm the room so it wasn't used as much as we would normally do. There were two old freezers, a washing machine and an old washing machine also in the Games Room. The owner was really helpful and friendly but had to be called several times as the TV's/Sky weren't working, which he did fix. Overall a good weekend but the property was not as good as we were expecting. A few improvements would make Carr House a great holiday house.

    Thank you for the feedback. When I met you on Friday I asked you to let me know any problems. You told me about the TVs - which I fixed but I'm disappointed that you didn't give me the opportunity to clean the BBQ hut or provide extra heating for the games room which I could easily have done. David Property Owner

    Reviewed by RobertDec 2021

  • "It was a lovely spacious place plenty of rooms just a shame that the games room is a very cold room and the hot tub isn’t under cover for this time of the year for both ."

    There is also a downstairs toilet and not sure if they are aware that it leaked at the back but there was a tin foil tray put there maybe to catch the water not sure, we stopped using it , but on the whole it was nice thanks Janet

    Reviewed by JanetDec 2021

  • "Amazing place."

    It was absolutely perfect.

    Reviewed by KarlNov 2021

  • "Carr House is a wonderful place for a large group, warm and comfortable and well placed for exploring the area."

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2021

  • "Great house with everything you may need- We really appreciated the hot tub after long walks in the stunning surrounding areas."

    The owners were very discreet but happy to assist if needed. Looking forward to a return visit.

    Reviewed by JulieOct 2021

  • "We was a party of 10 , the house had plenty of space to accommodate us all with plenty garden for children to play safely ."

    The facilities meant there was never time to get bored as there was a games room complete with pool table & darts board and the big bonus was the hot tub which was well used. We couldn’t have wished for better hosts who was always kind & helpful.Thank you we had an amazing time.

    Reviewed by GillianSep 2021

  • "Ours was a big booking for our family meeting together for a celebration time for a 70th birthday."

    You were very good at understanding our reason for coming and the needs of our various ages. 7 adults, 4 children (age 3-7) and 2 babies. the accommodation was exactly right . Also when ever I had a question to ask about the detail of the house or about the general rules implied in the booking, the Sykes person on the phone was clear and kind and tolerant and extremely helpful, in that he paused the conversation in order to ring the owners and check for me, and return to the conversation in good time and with a positive answer and advice. Some of this was before we came and another example was about something one of the families had forgotten as we were traveling in our different cars! Thank you for that and for the use of phones - so much more helpful to be able to chat with someone where there is a problem. we weren't quite sure why the fee for booking is added to the fee for renting ? it was a booking we were were very glad to make and were happy to find the money for the rent. I would recommend your company and the owners of 'Carr House' clayton le dale who gave a polite and warm welcome, and was easy to ask if there was something needed. There was a lovely sense of safety and reliability inside and outside the house and the surroundings were beautiful and peaceful. It all fitted well for the children with plenty of space to run about and play games. Finally , the Dining Room was just right for us all as a family to start the day with a good Breakfast and family chatter and laughter.

    Reviewed by PatriciaAug 2021

  • "We have just been to Carr House for a week."

    There were 2 families (10 of us in total) with children ranging from 9 years old to 15 years old. We all had an absolutely fantastic time. The house is so spacious, the games room was brilliant as were the summer house, BBQ hut and hot tub. The enclosed field that you have access to, again was fantastic for us playing family sports. The photographs of the property do not do it justice. The owners next door (David & Julie) wwre always on hand if we needed anything or had any questions. Absolutely brilliant holiday had by all of us and we really didn't want to come home today.

    Reviewed by AlanJul 2021

  • "We had a fantastic stay at this lovely property."

    The outside space is exceptional. The property is well equipped and the owners ( who live next door) very friendly without being intrusive. location is quite remote but we were aware of this. local pub is lovely and food was great! Asda and Tesco both deliver to the property which we found really useful! Would absolutely return!

    Reviewed by MichelleJul 2021

  • "This was a celebration of our golden wedding with all the family, 6 adults, 6 kids and a baby."

    The facilities were close to perfect and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the time. The BBQ hut and the hot tub were a big hit, as well as the games room. The hosts who live on the farm were unobtrusive but always there to help if we needed any information or ideas. We'd love to go back.

    Reviewed by PhilipJun 2021

  • "8 adults and 2 children under 6 had a brilliant week."

    Great out door space and even indoors never felt crowded or without your own space. I would publish better photos of the kitchen you arent doing it justice and the conservatory is welcomed day or night. We loved the games room a very nice surprise, pool table is good. The owners were great very helpful when required and never saw them otherwise. Area was very quiet, lovely pub 0.7 miles away ate there twice, Mrs Dowsons farm 0.5 miles walk was a lot of fun the kids and adults loved feeding the animals! and the ice cream is worth the walk alone. We had a day trip to blackpool which was a 30 mins drive. One small improvement required is to upgrade the showers, otherwise would love to return one day but we do like to explore other areas

    Reviewed by DavidMay 2021

  • "Fantastic place, absolutely loved it"

    Reviewed by JoeMay 2021

  • "Beautiful house lots of room and the conservatory was lovely we spent most of our time in there - considering we were the first visitors the cleanliness was not good - the fire in the lounge was full of ash and it was all over the hearth, the BBQ hut was really dirty we couldn't use it, there was no sweeping brush for the lovely stone floors and the hoover was full and very heavy."

    The house was really cold for the first 2 nights - soon warmed up with the heating on - we had 2 babies with us and it would have been nice to have it warm for when we arrived. I think a fire guard would be a nice touch too for families with very small children. The hot tub was really lovely we all enjoyed it - the games room was bit underwhelming very cold and damp smelling - the washing machine leaked and with the uneven flooring and half plastered walls it could do with being finished off. Apart from the few niggles we all had a really nice time.

    We are sorry that our guests had reason to leave negative comments. They were here for eleven nights and we were on site and disappointed that we were not given the opportunity to sort out the problems. We were asked to remove their rubbish and that was quickly done. All of the other items could have been easily sorted if mentioned. Thank you for your feedback. Mr Wilkinson Property Owner

    Reviewed by AndreaApr 2021

  • "Had a really relaxing break at Carr House."

    Facilities and amenities are excellent, house is spotless, very spacious and nicely furnished. Hosts (live next door) are friendly and helpful whilst unobtrusive. Have already booked again for Christmas week. It felt like a home from home from the minute we stepped inside. Lots of interesting areas to explore locally, with some nice restaurants and pubs when dining out. Would recommend Carr House ++

    Reviewed by DesOct 2020

  • "We had an amazing stay at Carr House."

    The owners live next door but were not intrusive at all. Lovely family. We were told we could pick the fruit and made an amazing apple crumble. Not one of our group wanted to go home! You couldn’t ask for a better spot for the family to stay. We will be back.

    Reviewed by AirlieAug 2020

  • "Carr House is a fantastic place to base yourself for your big group get away."

    Beautiful old farmhouse with modern decor and comforts. More than enough space for 12 people... plenty of freedom for 6 kids to run around. Beautiful scenery, handy location (Blackpool, Beacon Fells, Mrs Dowsons farm visited) and fantastic garden area with hot tub, bbq hut and plenty of garden furniture. David the owner is lovely. There if you need anything but just let’s you get on with your break. He said he checks the hot tub pH every morning, but only time he ever knocked the door was to say it was bin collection in the morning if we needed anything taken to the bins by the main road.. other than that it was just a wave in passing while he got on with his everyday life. Everyone loved this fantastic house.

    Reviewed by StuartJul 2020

  • "What a lovely property!"

    We had a wonderful time and the hot tub was great with a fab addition of an indoor fire pit/BBQ. Only 1 issue, that was the owners living next door. The presence felt like we were being watched and observed. He even came round a couple of times! Not as private as we’d have liked. That aside, we did have a lovely time.

    Reviewed by HayleyJul 2020

  • "It was lovely and everything was set up ready, the owners were there if you needed anything."

    The facilities were great, hot tub and bbq pit just made it even better.

    Reviewed by LouiseNov 2019

  • "Booked this for my husband's 65th birthday with the children and grandchildren."

    Plenty of space for everyone. House was very cosy and welcoming. Everyone loved the hot tub and gardens. Log burners were made ready but we didn't need them as the house was warm enough with the central heating. Only very minor issue we couldn't use the BBQ hut as we weren't aware that we need to order the charcoal with the owners and owing to the time of year we couldn't find any in the shops. Would recommend Carr House and we will definitely be back.

    Reviewed by ChristineOct 2019

  • "This was a surprise pre 30th birthday for my daughter, shared with her friends and family."

    We would all recommend this wonderful house and its facilities and i am sure most will be back soon. This is a fantasic place, the hot tub was impressive and used regularly, we had a sport day in the ample grounds, the views are magnificent, truley recommend for an unforgetable wekend with friends and family. Thanks to you all.

    Reviewed by IreneOct 2019

  • "Superb place to stay, above and beyond expectations, something for all ages, lots of games, the kids loved it, the adults too."

    Mrs Dawson’s ice cream farm is just a walk away and Georgous too, Blackburn town centre just a short drive away if you want to shop , it’s got a shopping mall with lots of town centre shops, definitely recommend

    Reviewed by BarbaraAug 2019

  • "Hosts were very accommodating and the house itself was great."

    Reviewed by HarryAug 2019

  • "Carr house garden and surrounds was amazing, The house was very spacious and well equiped, Everything was thought of, There was nothing that we felt missing, the owner David was fab, The Dvd player was broken, A quick phone call and David came round and Brought a new one, Will certainly book Carr house again."

    Reviewed by WarrenAug 2019

  • "Carr house is truly a home from home, the most comfortable large holiday home we have been to for our annual family getaway."

    Clean and tidy upon arrival with lovely fluffy towels and crisp linen bedding. The beds were very comfortable too

    Reviewed by TraceyJul 2019

  • "Everything was there to make our stay comfortable."

    The owners couldn't do enough to make sure we had everything we needed plus a few extra's. It was extremely clean and welcoming. Everything was explained to us together with a well thought out book of instructions. The board games that were left was brilliant for the wet days that we had even though we still managed to get in the hot tub and have a BBQ. Would recommend this property to anyone, it gave us all the space and relaxation that we were looking for.

    Reviewed by JackiJun 2019

  • "The house was extremely well equipped with a fantastic hot tub, which the 3 boys loved ."

    There was plenty of space outside and the BBQ hut was great, especially seeing the weather wasn’t that great. Thanks to the owners for their help and friendliness. We as a family had a great time.

    Reviewed by MarionMay 2019

  • "Fabulous cottage."

    Everything you needed and more. It was pouring down with rain all weekend but that didn't stop us using the great facilities such as hot tub, barbeque hut and games room. The living rooms in the house are cosy and comfortable and the bedrooms are lovely and airy. There was 10 of us staying and it was great all sitting in the conservatory eating our meals looking out at the splendid views. We went to local pub on the Saturday night which was only a 5 minute taxi ride away. There was a rock singer on and we had brilliant time. Definitely recommend this place.

    Reviewed by JadeApr 2019

  • "Yes. The cottage was lovely and the outside area was fabulous, however the cottage is advertised as having 6 'deluxe' bedrooms, and unfortunately this is not the case."

    There are 5 nice bedrooms, and one room that is 4 foot wide in total with a single bed in that is 2 foot 6 wide. There were 9 adults on this holiday, one of which had to sleep in a 2 foot 6 bed. This was extremely uncomfortable and not really acceptable as we booked this cottage based on the information provided, which is totally inaccurate. I would like a response to this please. We also felt although the owners were very pleasant, they were very intrusive. Coming over to water plants, service the hot tub daily, and also cutting the grass. Surely if you rent a property, with the amount we paid we should be left in private?

    Thank you for your feedback; we are very sorry that you found the bedroom to be uncomfortable and can only apologise if you felt the owner's were intrusive during your stay; this is not feedback we have received before. All properties require maintenance therefore, the owner cut the grass while your party were out for a meal and for health and safety purposes, the hot tub needs to be maintained daily but again, we can only apologise if you felt inconvenienced by this. Thanks again for your comments. Property Owner

    Reviewed by MarcelleApr 2019

  • "Great family friendly location."

    Stayed here to celebrate our sons 40th birthdays. There were plenty of facilities which everyone enjoyed, especially the hot tub and BBQ hut. There were plenty of indoor games available for all ages. The owners Julie and David came to explain how everything worked and were on hand if needed but totally unobtrusive. They even supplied some goodies to welcome our arrival. The grand children enjoyed playing in the garden and were thrilled when they were allowed to see first hand how the digger worked.

    Reviewed by BernardFeb 2019

  • "The property is well located to explore the area which is both beautiful and historically exciting."

    It is in a quiet position but within a 15 minute walk of restaurants. The outdoor facilities with plenty of green space a BBQ hut and hot tub are great for families. The owners could not have been more helpful and pleasant. They went out of their way to provide a few extras we needed. I would certainly recommend Carr House.

    Reviewed by JamesDec 2018

  • "We had a fantastic weekend at this property."

    There was a slight problem with the heating and therefore some of the rooms were quite. Luckily we managed to get the fires going to keep everywhere warm! One member of our party left a bracelet at the house and the owners kindly notified us of this and sent it on to us which we are very appreciative of. An overall lovely weekend

    Reviewed by MelissaNov 2018

  • "We had a fab time at Carr House, we were a group of 10 ladies celebrating 50th birthdays - spotlessly clean, plenty of space, and very well equipped for the amount of people."

    Bed was super comfy, log burners set and ready to be lit on arrival and also a couple of nice gifts left by the owners. Julie and David are a lovely couple and we’re on hand if needed, they met us on arrival to show us how hot tub and bbq hut worked but then not intrusive in any way. We’ll hopefully be back next year.

    Reviewed by AngelaNov 2018

  • "Fantastic cottage, great facilities, easy booking."

    Would reccommend

    Reviewed by BethanyOct 2018

  • "Great layout of the house with plenty of toilets and showers."

    Some modern rooms, some traditional. Lots of space. Beautiful views. BBQ area is fantastic as is the hot tub. Only downsides were that it's not very clearly sign posted so a few of us drove past it! Also the hot tub is not covered if it rains and we couldn't really sit in it on our only full day and night as it wouldn't go any higher than 35 degrees so was quite cold. Overall though, a fantastic weekend!!

    Reviewed by LisaOct 2018

  • "Stayed here as a mixed male/female group for my boyfriends 30th birthday, we had everything we needed and enjoyed a lovely weekend."

    We made use of the map and tourist information kindly left by the owner and went on a lovely walk from the house to the river and back again. The hot tub and games room including pool table and darts board were a great touch. The indoor fire pit/barbecue in particular was a popular facility for us, especially now the nights get so cold. My only criticism was a loose paving slab that unfortunately I tripped over and sprained my ankle, I’m hoping this will be fixed soon to avoid further injuries.

    Reviewed by HollySep 2018

  • "The house was lovely, super clean on arrival and very comfortable."

    The summer house and hot tub are in a lovely space with great views. There were some extras in the house which were a lovely touch such as a full rack of spices to cook with and lots of magazines, brochures and suggestions of things to do in the area. Some things were missing, for example there was only one small frying pan but lots and lots of saucepans. I would definitely recommend for a family holiday!

    Reviewed by MichelleAug 2018

  • "Visited Carr House with our 5 children aged between 14 and 3."

    It was worth the visit for the garden alone despite the rain! All of them loved playing out in the various garden areas. There’s lots to do around the area too. Carr House is basic in design but it has everything you need for a comfortable, child friendly stay with lots of room inside and out to play.

    Reviewed by HayleyAug 2018

  • "The house was so spacious and comfortable and attention to detail had been made by the owner."

    The outdoor facilities are amazing and the house is in a great location with many places to visit within easy reach. It is also a safe environment for children. Ideal for a family get-together or friends meeting together. Top rate. Owner approachable and friendly.

    Reviewed by JohnJul 2018

Show more

Summary

  • Six bedrooms: 1 x ground floor double (zip/link on request) with en-suite shower room; shower, basin and WC, 2 x singles (zip/link on request), 1 x super king-size (zip/link request) with en-suite shower room; shower, basin and WC, 1 x double 5ft room, 1 x family room with 1 x double (zip/link or request) or can be set as 3 single beds
  • 1 x small 2'6" single bed
  • 1x bathroom with bath, shower over basin and WC
  • 1x shower room with walk in shower, basin and WC
  • Open-plan living area with kitchen, dining and sitting area with woodburning stove
  • Conservatory
  • Garden room with games room
  • Summer house & Hot tub
  • BBQ hut which uses charcoal can be used all year round.
  • Central heating with woodburning stoves starter pack incl in rent
  • Electric range oven and hob, microwave, fridge, freezer (outside), dishwasher, washing machine, highchair, TV with Sky/Freeview, WiFi
  • Pool table
  • Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Ample off-road parking
  • Enclosed garden with furniture, summer house with power points, lawns, patio and games room
  • Sorry, no pets and no smoking
  • Shop and pub 10 mins walk
  • Highchair available in house.Cot provided but please bring own bedding. Note: Property is on a working farm - The garden area can be made enclosed by closing the main entrance gate, allowing peace of mind for children playing outside. Please note should you require the beds set up differently to 4 doubles and 6 singles please contact the office as soon as possible so it may be communicated to the cleaning team, thank you.

The property

Carr House is a stunning detached farmhouse located on Carr House Farm in the little village of Clayton Le Dale, just 2 miles from the delightful village of Ribchester.

A heart-warming, homely farmhouse with extensive hallways, opulent bedrooms complete with luxurious en-suite bathrooms and a fabulous conservatory with a big wooden dining table and comfy seating.

This stunning property sleeps up to 11 people in...

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £150.

View on map

About the location

CLAYTON LE DALE

Ribchester 2 miles, Blackburn 5 miles; Preston 9 miles.

Clayton-le-Dale is a quaint village and civil parish situated on the A59 road in the Ribble Valley near Blackburn, in the heart of Lancashire. With bountiful countryside and rambling moorland, the surrounding area offers a whole abundance of nature to explore. For things to do in the local area there is Wood-Sage Outdoor Education Centre offering a wide range of tailor made programmes & activities to schools, youth organisations, families and corporate groups. Its 47 acre site is situated in the heart of East Lancashire just a short drive from the towns and cities of Lancashire, West Yorkshire, Manchester and Liverpool. There is also Samlesbury Hall and Strydd Gardens in the local area offering beautiful architecture, stunning grounds and an abundance of plant nurseries and delightful tea rooms. If you love walking and cycling there is the Forest of Bowland Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with expanses of sky above dramatic sweeps of open moorland, gentle and tidy lowlands, criss-crossed with dry stone walls and dotted with picturesque farms and villages, all waiting to be explored! There is no better way of escaping from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and partaking in some of the most peaceful and remote outdoor activities in the country. Clayton-le-Dale sits on the outskirts of the town of Blackburn, a vibrant, happening place to be for all ages with many shops, restaurants and cafes to make your way around.

Region Information

Please note should you require the beds set up differently to 4 doubles and 6 singles please contact the office as soon as possible so it may be communicated to the cleaning team, thank you.

Prices may be reduced due to the government restrictions on smaller groups

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas