Secure your holiday for £20.
Limited availability, could end at any time.T&Cs Apply.
Icon/Navigation/Chevron/Left Back to search

3 people have recently viewed this property

1 of 15 View Image Gallery
  • 8 Abererch Road - North Wales - 1016727 - photo 1

8 Abererch Road

(Ref. 1016727)

Pwllheli, North Wales & Snowdonia Show on map


Sykes rating

  • 4 Guests

  • 2 Bedrooms

  • 1 Bathroom

  • Pets Yes


  • Garden / Patio
  • Pub/shop < 1 mile
  • Seaside
  • Broadband / WiFi

Reviews & Ratings

Accuracy of the listing
Facilities and Maintenance
  • All reviews
  • no (8)
  • our (7)
  • all (6)
  • stay (6)
  • good (5)
  • bin (5)

14 Customer Reviews

  • "Everything was perfect apart from no food bin or recycling bins available to use"

    Reviewed by Paul4.4Aug 2023

  • "Good location for beach and town."

    House cosy and has all you need.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Aug 2023

  • "Lovely property."

    Very conveniently located. We had a lovely welcome basket of goodies that was a really nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Thank you.

    Reviewed by Natalie4.4Aug 2023

  • "Very good value for money."

    Very efficient booking system. Very good instructions as to how to get there.

    Reviewed by Robert4.4Jun 2023

  • "No infomation on bin collection."

    Bin still full from previous occupant,Wine and beer bottles still in back yard.

    Reviewed by Francis3.4May 2023

  • "We had a fabulous week staying at 8 Abererch Road."

    It was my 2 grown up lads both with disabilities, myself and our 2 dogs. I was apprehensive before due to negative comments but these were soon but behind us once we arrived. Lovely property, great location and couldn't have wished for a better holiday. Yes I agree stairs were steep and ceilings we're low but it certainly wasn't an issue to anyone of us. Negativity breeds Negativity and we certainly couldn't have had a better stay, absolutely loved it. Thank you Sykes Cottages and the owners of 8 Abererch Road you did us proud.

    Reviewed by Helen5.0Mar 2023

  • "There was 6 weeks' worth of rubbish that had been left rotting and stinking in the back courtyard."

    .No internet instruction so We couldn't get in touch with anybody because all info was on the laptop. Next door neighbor had informed the council on the Friday before we arrived to complain as there had been rats sighted. We had a phone call from the cleaner asking us to put all the rubbish in front of the house on Sunday. To do this we had to carry the stinking bags through the house so she could pick them up. We were then asked to put the green bin at the front of the house Wednesday night ready for the binmen 'This was heavy but we did it.(Through the house again). The friday night before we came home I fell down the steep narrow stairs bringing a bag down and have been in bed crippled for 2 weeks. Still in bed now. My husband kept hitting his head on the low ceiling going into the kitchen is 6ft tall. Sorry but would never stay at this property again. I have used Sykes for years with no problems but this property was terrible.I might have to claim on the personal insurance for the damage to my back, which is something I would never do. The beach is not on the doorstep and the pub is all boarded up

    Many thanks for your feedback, we do like to take onboard what guest feedback to us and have investigated the claims you have made. With regards to the rubbish, it was not 6 weeks but 3 weeks. This is due to the collection schedule of the council and is something that is beyond our control. We did previously have an issue, so this is why we now have a system in place where we text the guest to remind them to place it outside. I believe the guest before hadn't put the rubbish out so that is why we asked our cleaner to come and collect it for you. On collecting the rubbish our cleaner informed us that she sorted your wifi issue out and you were very grateful. We have however taken the comments on board and have had a manual printed for future guests. We are very sorry to hear that you have fallen down the stairs carrying your bag, and we wish you a speedy recovery. Yes the stairs are narrow and steep, but this is the nature and structure of the property and is something we are unable to change. We have advised Menai to make it clear on the listing that the stairs are steep. The ceiling is low into the kitchen, again this is due to the property being an old cottage. We do hope you had a chance to explore Pwllheli and once again thank you for the feedback. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jackie1.3Sep 2022

  • "The cottage is tiny and not reflected in the picture also people need to be good on their feet as the stairs are very steep."

    However for 2 people it is fine. The main issue was the cleanliness, the windows had not been touched for months and the shower base has a lot of mould on it and the floors cannot have seen a mop for months. The bedding was very well used and needs refreshing. The settee needs cushions and a couple of little tables for drinks etc in the lounge. Unfortunately the wheelie bin had not been put out for collection in August and was overflowing which required a call to Menai to see what they wanted us to do with our rubbish which required us to leave in bags in the yard-not ideal, bin emptying needs to be better coordinated. All this said with a little TLC and better housekeeping it would be perfect, it is in a lovely position in the town for beach, marina and shops etc also a great place for exploring north Wales. Would I recommend it- yes if the points were addressed.

    Reviewed by Julie2.8Sep 2022

  • "A perfect location for the beautiful surrounding area."

    The house has all you can need for a stay if compact. Such easy access to the sea, harbour and nature reserve. Less than 5 minutes to the nearby large Asda. I am already thinking of re-booking.

    Reviewed by Wendy4.7Aug 2022

  • "The cottage was perfect for what we needed, just a couple of niggles - the outside bin was overflowing on arrival making the outside area not nice to sit in as the otherside also suffered from laying water coming off the walls."

    Bin day is Thursday so maybe remaining rubbish should be removed at change over day. We appreciate this water issue is due to the landscape maybe a gravel floor or raised deck would hide the water make the area nicer to sit in as its the only outside space. The kitchen bin was broken but still useable & the TV remote missing (this was reported), but we found a digital solution to get us through. Cottage very clean & had everything you needed, sofa could have been more comfortable with extra cushions but appreciate these could have been removed due to covid. Overall we enjoyed our stay, the welcome basket, milk & butter was a nice touch. The cottage is a good base for exploring the area & an easy walk into town.

    Reviewed by Paula4.1Apr 2022

  • "Cosy, clean cottage."

    All essentials and a lovely welcome hamper on arrival. Walking distance to all amenities and the beach. We spent the majority of our time in Abersoch which Is located only a short drive away.(or hike) Reading the reviews below we had some reservations. However, the kitchen had a fully working oven, kettle and toaster. All utensils provided. Sofa was comfortable and Wi-Fi included. A few added extras which would improve the stay. Toilet paper and hand wash. ( however, we didn’t contact the owners as Asda is only a stone throw away so we purchased our own.) The only negative was the double mattress. It was a little uncomfortable.

    I would firstly like to thank you for your honest and lovely review and appreciate all feedback given, I have bought a new mattress and have taken onboard all comments. I hope you visit again in the future. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jodi3.8Dec 2021

  • "Beds very uncomfortable it felt like lying on boards mattresses were not good ..."

    Beds very uncomfortable it felt like lying on boards mattresses were not good enough settee and chair made our necks ache toaster didn’t work no coffee table

    I'm sorry to hear of the uncomfortableness you had whilst staying at my property, I would like to assure you that these issues have been resolved. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Vanda3.1Oct 2021

  • "As previously stated on the other feedback form, we were disappointed that there was no wi-fi despite the listing stating that there was."

    Nevertheless, your colleagues at the Menai Cottages office in Pwllheli have assured us that the owner intends installing wi-fi as soon as possible. Apart from that, the cottage was cosy and comfortable and was more that adequate for our needs.

    WIFI has now been put at the property, thankyou for your review. Kind regards A Toft Property Owner

    Reviewed by Jayne4.1Oct 2021

  • "WiFi was listed but not connected no WiFi all week wife not happy as required ..."

    WiFi was listed but not connected no WiFi all week wife not happy as required for work use needs to be more transparent on this

    Thank you for your feedback. the cottage now has a 4G box which works really well. Property Owner

    Reviewed by Paul3.4Oct 2021

Show more Hide all

This property is part of the Menai Holidays collection.
Over 700 carefully selected and perfectly located properties, helping you create your perfect holiday.


  • Two bedrooms: 1 x double, 1 x bunk
  • Ground-floor shower room with walk-in shower, basin and WC
  • Kitchen
  • Living/dining room with electric fire
  • Electric heaters and electric stove
  • Electric oven and hob, microwave and fridge
  • TV, Fuel and power inc. in rent
  • Bed linen and towels inc. in rent
  • Roadside parking available on a first-come, first-served basis
  • WIFI - is a 4G box
  • Enclosed rear courtyard with patio
  • Pet-friendly
  • Sorry, no smoking
  • Shop 0.3 miles, pub 0.2 miles and beach 0.4 miles
  • Note: Low ceilings on the ground-floor, please take care
  • Note: Steep stairs not suitable for people with walking difficulties.

The property

Nestled in the thriving town of Pwllheli is this charming, mid-terrace cottage, 8 Aberech Road.

A twenty-minute walk will bring you to the beautiful beaches or take a short walk into town where there are a selection of pubs and restaurants with a fabulous array of amenities, this cottage is the perfect base for a family escape to this scenic part of Wales.

Locate the cottage with its navy blue door, idyllically mirroring the coastal setting, and park up on the roadside to manoeuvre your belongings into the property.

Step into the homely setting with a snug sitting/dining room; an idyllic spot to put up your feet and enjoy a crisp glass of wine in front of the TV.

When dinner is ready, unfold the table and set up a fancy dining arrangement to enjoy a meal together, toasting to a splendid holiday at the coast before tucking into a tasty meal.

Moving through the property, you will find the compact kitchen, housing the necessities to prepare mouth-watering dishes; make use of the modern amenities provided to put together a picnic to head down to the harbour.

As the evening grows dark, find the convenient shower room, nestled on the ground-floor for your convenience, and indulge in a refreshing rinse and wash your sandy feet before retiring for the night.

Climb upstairs to the double bedroom, with a fitted wardrobe to hang up your clothes, and adjoining this room find the bunk bedroom, ideal for younger ones.

In the morning, enjoy a steaming cup of coffee in the rear courtyard to breathe in the fresh sea-air as you ponder the exciting things to do in Pwllheli.

8 Abersoch Road is a short walk into town where there are a selection of pubs and restaurants, get to know your local surroundings and take a scenic walk along the stunning coastline.

Treat your family to a day filled with fun at the seaside town of Abersoch, where you can lounge on the beautiful beach to admire the crystal clear water, backed by the colourful beach huts that decorate the sand, before indulging in a spot of lunch with gorgeous views at a beachfront restaurant.

Travel a little further afield to the seaside town of Criccieth, steeped in history with its unmissable Criccieth Castle, perched high up on the craggy hill; Criccieth also boasts stunning pebbled beaches with impressive views of Wales; be sure to get an ice cream and explore the coastal path to soak in the exquisite location.

For an idyllic retreat choose a stay at 8 Abererch Road.

Note: This property has a Good Housekeeping bond of £50.

View on map

About the location


Abersoch 6 miles; Criccieth 8 miles.

This busy market town is the unofficial capital of the Llyn Peninsula which is one of the most scenic regions of Wales, renowned for its outstanding scenery, stunning coastal walks, excellent beaches and golf courses. This traditional seaside town offers a variety of shops, pubs and restaurants and an impressive marina holding 400 boats. The town boasts two beaches, one with the Blue Flag Award and is renowned for its sailing and watersports. Close by are Criccieth, with its medieval castle, and popular Abersoch, a pretty harbour town also renowned for its wonderful beaches and watersports facilities. Much of the peninsula is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and a lot of the coastline is owned by the National Trust providing many remote bays, sandy beaches and exciting clifftop walks, as well as wildlife havens like Bardsey Island. Discover all of Snowdonia, the Isle of Anglesey, many medieval castles and N.T. properties and gardens, or simply relax in this beautiful part of Wales.

View more holiday cottages in Pwllheli

This property offers the following short breaks:

  • Winter
  • Off-season
  • Last minute
  • Christmas